Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

AIB College of Business Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24/7 On Campus Safety with 24 hour live video recording and key card access to all housing. 24 hour front desk workers including students.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are six organizations of campus that are very active not only on campus but within the community. Students Government Association (SGA), Business Management Association (BMA), Hospitality Travel Management Association (HTMA), Institute of Management Accountants (IMA), Phi Theta Kappa (PTK), Sports and Event Management Association (SEMA) and Students In Free Enterprise (SIFE) are the six organizations. There are several clubs from international students to non-traditional students.

    Bang for the buck

    Best little non-profit private college in the nation. AIB graduates get better jobs and careers right after graduation than any other graduates because the city of Des Moines knows the graduates are extremely ready for the workforce. Graduates are prepared with hands on experience before they even graduate. Tradition of talented, intelligent students graduate from AIB.

    What to do for fun

    AIB Sports teams, Farmer's Market, Science Center with IMAX, Jordan Creek Town Center, Gray's Lake, Weekend Concert Series, 80/35 Concert, Home of the Iowa State Fair, Des Moines Buccaneers Hockey, Iowa Barnstormers Football, Iowa Energy, Basketball, best dining restaurants in the state, walking trails everywhere.

    Food and Dining

    AIB has their own diner but it is not real extravagant. They are adding a new bigger bookstore with an attached cafe in the main living hall.

    Dorm Life

    Apartments not dorm. You have your own kitchen with stove, fridge, and plenty of storage. You have your own room should you choose a one bedroom apartment. Plenty of space for living and having friends come over. Did I mention you also have you own bathroom with shower and tub!

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are extremely hard while others are not so difficult. The registrar gives you a schedule that makes your time at AIB challenging but not overly crazy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Three year Bachelor Degrees! Great student environment within a perfect city for obtaining a career!

    In three sentences

    Great price for a non-profit, private college. Teachers completely care about their students and with the addition of sports there are plenty of opportunities to get involved.

  • 01/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Having your own card to enter the campus and buildings is a good way in my opinion for good security. A security always on duty on campus makes me happy that the place is being monitored.

    Greek Life

    Contributing a little bit of your time in social clubs at AIB can go a long ways giving you a better outlook of college. We you stay connected at AIB you won't regret it.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many types of clubs and activities to attend and be part of. There is something always going on each month that is either a type of community service that gets you involved in the area.

    Great for these types of students

    Students or people who are thinking about a career in Business related are sure definitely to check this place out. It is focused on areas of business and are really detailed courses that gets your attention.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Hall decorating for each holiday gives us a little spark for the holidays. Grays Lake located near campus a awesome place to hang out in the summer with not only friends but family as well.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a very well established college. The expenses are a little high for me, but well worth the outcome.

    What to do for fun

    I personally like playing soccer, so being in the cold season indoor soccer is the option. There are pool tables to just relax for a while and just enjoy the company of one another.

    Food and Dining

    I gotta say I really like different tastes not only with the food but the decor of the launch cafeteria. Affordable food that I enjoy when I am in a hurry.

    Dorm Life

    It is not like a small cramped room like others, but your mini own fully furnished apartment. Having competitions with each hall lets us be more involved with one another even out of class.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are fun and entertaining considering it is a business school you get hands on with a lot of projects going around the campus you know you will do great.

    Tips for prospective students

    For any future students who have always had a passion or desire working and getting the education of business I say check this college out. It's location is perfect having attractive nearby places to go to.

    In three sentences

    I sure will say it is A+ in my book. AIB College of Business has one of the most nicest people (teachers, counselors) who are so willing to help me out on anything. I am enjoying very much my education, and the way classes are scheduled gives me enough time to get my studding done.

  • 12/08/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    3 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Will learn a lot

    I want to be successful in my future and I am looking for the best college that will give me the best education and knowledge.

  • 05/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 11

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The campus is located right next door to a park for outdoor activities. Also, its minutes from the downtown area.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging, but if you need extra help the professors are there. The college also offers free tutoring if needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not delay getting a college education. AIB will offers a 2 to 3 year program, that will get you prepared to start your career.

    In three sentences

    Caring and helpful staff and professors. many options for taking classes, i.e. day, night, and online. Focused on career development.

  • 07/29/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I can't really rate this effectively because I have only been there once or twice.

    Clubs and Activities

    I don't know I have not really checked into them. I know that the college has you give back to the community will you attend there for the community support of the school.

    Great for these types of students

    It tries to accomidate all types of students weather they want to be full time on campus or just online, or both. Being a nontraditional student I feel this makes it easier to go back to school.

    Bang for the buck

    AIB gave me the most bang for my buck because they took all my perevious college credits which will help me save money on my education because I will not be repeating classes I have already taken and passed.

    What to do for fun

    There is a park near by so you can ride bikes or walk. Plus it is close to the down town area. Which has shopping among several other activities to do.

    Food and Dining

    I have not started as of yet so I am basing this off there admissions people and Financial Aid people and the few teachers that I was able to talk to while I was on a college visit.

    Dorm Life

    I am a nontraditional student so I can not say anything about the dorms Because I will be living off campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to ask lots of detailed questions going into college and make sure the program will work for you.

    In three sentences

    I have not yet started attending AIB yet but I can say that they have taken the time to answer all my questions as I prepare for this journey. Which is part of the reason I have decided that they are the college for me.

  • 10/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is above and beyond at AIB. They have 24 hour security and also lock the doors at 3 p.m. everyday.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many organizations to join and intramural sports to play.

    Great for these types of students

    AIB is great for students who love business and want to get their degree earned in three years!

    What to do for fun

    AIB offers many opportunities for students to do fun things together. They have a foam tent party every year. They also play games like root beer pong. One other activity that AIB offers is intramural sports teams.

    Food and Dining

    There is a diner in the main building at AIB. I have never ate there because it is cheaper to go back to my room and cook lunch for myself. I hear that the food is good at the diner from other students.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life here is alright. I don't feel like I am a college student sometimes because it is quiet here. A plus side to AIB's campus living is that you live in an apartment instead of a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics here are the best part of AIB to me. The reason I came here is because they offer all business classes. They also have energetic professors who are good at what they do.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would try hard in all your classes because AIB gives out good scholarships based on GPA. I would also show up for class ahead of time because the professors like to see students excited to learn. The last tip that I would give students is to use their assignment books because they keep your life organized.

    In three sentences

    I would give AIB College of Business a 10 out of 10 because it is by far the best business school around. Every class that I take I learn something practical and can apply it to the real world. AIB doesn't waste its time with pointless classes, and the professors here do a wonderful job of teaching.

  • 11/04/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    7 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Be honest and ask questions.

    In three sentences

    There staff is very helpful. The advisers help with every step of the way in assisting you. They make you feel welcome to their college.

  • 01/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 11

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    School teams games, lots of events and chances of winning prizes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit, no regrets.

    In three sentences

    Classes schedules are great Instructors are well informed School is awesome

  • 07/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to have some free time to work or do whatever outside of school and enjoy small class sizes then this is the school for you.

    In three sentences

    It's amazingly personal, small class sizes, and the professors are always accessible. What you learn in class, you will use out in the real world. Always be done with classes by 2, no matter what, you always have time to get a job and make some money while in school.

  • 11/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is always being watched by the campus security and when there is any issue, students are alerted asap.

    Greek Life

    Again, wouldn't know what to say to this

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities but AIB has more athletics than anything.

    Great for these types of students

    AIB is great for any type of student but specifically those who are interested in the business field.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I wouldn't know what to day since I don't live on campus

    Bang for the buck

    Overall if you love a small campus environment, AIB is the place to be!

    What to do for fun

    AIB has a hall where there is lounge area, an area to play ping pong and pool, also you can hang with friends in other dorms (:

    Food and Dining

    Food looks and smells amazing!

    Dorm Life

    I actually do not live on campus but I have seen the dorms and they are small but comfortable. They have a living room, a kitchen, bathroom, and bedrooms.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are great! Instead of having to take classes like science, history, etc. we're specifically taking classes business related and related to our business major.

    Tips for prospective students

    My number one tip would be, don't be nervous and just enjoy it.

    In three sentences

    AIB is great when it comes to class sizes, the campus, and the administration. Class sizes are to a minimum of 30 per class which gives the student more of an opportunity to connect with the teachers. The campus is small but it also creates a safe and relaxing environment. The teachers and administrators are very nice and do all that they can to help with volunteering opportunities, scholarships, helping with resumes, etc.

  • 01/29/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There hasn't really been any incidents like other campuses and the dorms are even coed. So, I would say that the campus is really safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of clubs and we just got a few more sports on campus. Currently we have golf, basketball, baseball, softball, volleyball, and bowling. If you have a club in mind they are willing to look into it, just this year a club started called Pride Alliance.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is pretty cheap compared to other schools and you can go full-time year-round and graduate in three years. You only have a four day week and are out of class by 1:35 everyday.

    What to do for fun

    There is a ping pong table and a pool table in the lounge. Also since the school is located in Des Moines, there are plenty of malls, miniature golf courses, ice skating, watching hockey, and arena football

    Food and Dining

    The diner makes really good food and its not very expensive. The breakfast burrito ($3.50) and the cheeseballs ($3.00) are my favorites. It is nothing like middle school and high school lunch. Also there are plenty of restaurants close by to go and eat at.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus, however, the dorms are very nice. They are coed dorms and there haven't been any problems like other colleges.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors and staff are flexible. If you need to take day, evening, online, or blended classes depending on your schedule then it is easy to change your schedule to fit it. The professors keep in communication with you no matter what time your classes are they are always willing to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Everyone is here to become a business professional and the classes are all needed for your degree, not just fluff classes. The professors are always willing to help and there is free tutoring, so don't be afraid to ask for help.

    In three sentences

    Specialized classes that focus only on things you need to know about for your career. Also smaller campus and lower tuition rates than other colleges. Finally, there are many jobs opportunities in the local area.