Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

AMDA Col. and Conservatory of theā€¦ Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/20/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 out of 26 people found this review useful. 1 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    AMDA is great for those students who can see themselves doing nothing else in life but performing, writing, directing, casting, or producing. If you can see yourself doing anything else in the back of your mind don't waste your time or your money with this institution.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your ready for the real world of professional show business don't delay audition and try your best to get in. This is a fabulous place to be, to learn, and better your art in order to make a foot print in the industry.

    Bang for the buck

    As a student if you put your best foot forward in this program your money will be worth all of that and more. As a student at AMDA you have to make up in your mind to how serious you are about this art, in order to receive all that you need to gain at this institution. The instructors will only push you so much, it's up to you to take the torch and run with it. One thing that we were always asked was Is this craft your hobby, or your career?. When you think of that question and exactly what it means this will drive you insane to put your best foot forward for your money.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am truly enjoying my time at AMDA the intensity of the program is what i need to learn as an artist. The atmosphere at the institution is great. You get to know the feeling of what true professionals deal with on a day to day basis. The city is AWESOME! Being in the heart of Manhattan is nothing short of amazing, you see your dreams right before your eyes each day.

    Am learning a lot

    The Training at this institution is incredibly educating. The instructors are industry professionals who have known this business for years. At AMDA you get the foundation you need as an artist to succeed in the industry. The coursework is very intense and is backed by a rigorous syllabus that is awesome for your artist development. You learn so much about your craft, and the business aspect of what we call SHOW BUSINESS.

  • 06/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 2 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Passionate people who care about the art of what they are doing. People willing to take risks and fall on their face then get right back up. Students ready to work and take everything they can get!

    Tips for prospective students

    Soak in everything! Take notes in every class and use your resources! It's not only the teachers you can learn from but the students. The least exploited resource at school is the students, they are full of fresh knowledge as well, learn from them!

    Bang for the buck

    The school is a bit pricey, at times you may find yourself wondering why you're paying that much. I look back on my personal growth over my past three semesters and I know I am certainly getting my money's worth.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have been lucky enough to experience both the Hollywood and New York campuses. The two cities both have countless opportunities for learning because you are in the center of everything. In New York you can walk to times square and get student rush tickets for a show which are very reasonably priced, the school even gives out free tickets on occasion. The New York dorms are two blocks from central park which is a great place to just escape and work on homework. The Los Angeles school is a block away from Hollywood Boulevard and the Pantages Theatre is right down the street. Theatre Row is also not far, it's a simple trip on the Metro or Bus Line. Being centrally located is a great advantage and a necessary asset for this career.

    Am learning a lot

    AMDA is a fantastic school to hone your craft. The faculty is full of outstanding working professionals who know the ins and outs of the business because they have firsthand experience. There is a copious amount of resources at your disposal. The course is intense and not for slackers. There is a lot expected from you and if you work hard to achieve you will be rewarded.

  • 06/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 3 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The residence halls have a strick no visitor policy after midnight until 8AM. Non-AMDA students have to be approved before they can visit. There is security all over the school which makes me feel VERY safe!

    Greek Life

    No Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are no clubs really at AMDA. There's no time!

    What to do for fun

    You live in New York City. There's fun on every street! Join a gym, see a show, go to the park, go shopping, explore the city!

    Food and Dining

    There is no dining hall at AMDA, probably its biggest flaw. The Student Store gets food from the neighboring deli which is excellent, but the option of a dining hall and meal plan would be a great addition. Don't worry, though. The grocery store is right near the residence halls!

    Dorm Life

    The residence halls are quant yet a great community! Be clean and the building will be clean. The RAs are there to help, and getting to know your hall mates is fun!

    Academic Rigor

    The program is intense since it is a conservatory! We have class all day with some breaks in between, and we are on our feet 80% of the time. You will be dancing, singing and acting in ways you've never imagined!

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard. Plan your time wisely with rehearsals, school work and outside life. Have a good attitude!

    In three sentences

    AMDA is not for those who don't like to work hard! The program is rigorous and challenging, yet it can be enjoyable if you work hard and enjoy performing. The hard work is rewarding, and teachers love to see students succeed!

  • 06/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 4 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know if this is indeed what you want to do with your life, you have to be extremely committed and want it more than life itself.

    Am enjoying being here

    New York is an amazing city. The teachers are engaging. You will enjoy the things they have to teach while spending your down time in the city.

    Am learning a lot

    I went into this not having any dance experience and came out of my first year with a better understanding of spacial awareness and myself. This program is all about learning about who you are and what you are capable of doing.

  • 06/12/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 5 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who love to perform more than anything! If you love to do something else or you are not 100% sure you want to be onstage or behind the scenes, then you should look at other schools.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the special classes and extra study reviews the faculty offer.

    Bang for the buck

    The dorms in NY are not the best I will say that, but again you are studying in NYC.

    Did enjoy being here

    I studied at the NY campus, which was extremely useful for this profession. I got to see a ton of Broadway shows, especially since AMDA always has free tickets to different theater shows.

    Did learn a lot

    My two years in the conservatory program were amazing! I learned so much about all three aspects of musical theater performance: singing, acting, dancing. The teachers are all phenomenal and are working professionals, which means they know what's going on in the business these days. The most important thing you need to know is that you get out of AMDA what you put into it! You have to be willing to work hard and you must be dedicated otherwise this is not the school for you!

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 6 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Both campuses are extremely safe. No one is permitted on campus without a current student/alumni ID or approved Visitor's Pass. And in Los Angeles, if you would like a security guard to escort you to your dorm after a late night of rehearsing, they are more than happy to oblige.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of extracurricular activities available for students to audition or and get involved in from the mainstage musical and play to the small blackbox productions, and the student directed project 15 performance. There is never a dull moment on campus, and if you aren't participating in a show, having the opportunity to see it is outstanding.

    Great for these types of students

    Dedicated, serious students willing to work, and those who want the aid of a teacher to grow and blossom into the best performer you can be.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Cafe in LA is such a great place to be, whether you're meeting up with friends or spending a late night studying.

    Bang for the buck

    College is a serious investment regardless of where you're studying, and even though AMDA is private, and the price is up there a bit, I believe it is completely worth it. With the faculty they hire, the connections you can make and the resources they offer The price is justified.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many things to experience in Hollywood and New York City! Whatever you enjoy most whether it be hiking, the beach, or a night out on the town, there are plenty of opportunities. I would definitely suggest to any student, after they have adjusted to the school to take the time to explore the city! Both campuses are located in such brilliant cities it would be a shame not to experience all they have to offer!

    Food and Dining

    There is no cafeteria at either campus, but in LA there is a cafe on campus that you can purchase food plans for or dine at occasionally. They offer food at a reasonable price, and have specials and a lower priced menu available weekly.

    Dorm Life

    There are several buildings you may be assigned to, but most of them are apartment style living, complete with private bathrooms and kitchens.

    Academic Rigor

    You really have to be dedicated and put in the effort yourself. No one else can rehearse for you or get your work done. Because this is a performance school most of your grades throughout the semester will be based on performances. They aren't looking for perfection, but they are looking to hard work, dedication, and improvement.

    Tips for prospective students

    At AMDA- LA you will succeed if you put in the work. Rehearsals are imperative, and if you aren't prepared/willing to put in the extra hours you may want to consider a different school. But don't worry about being perfect all of the time. The teachers know you're in school to learn, and they're there to help you in any way they can.

    In three sentences

    The Los Angeles Campus is absolutely inspiring. The faculty will push you in ways you never thought were possible and they truly want to see you succeed.

  • 07/14/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 9 people found this review useful. 7 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    I've just started but am so excited about being here!

    Am enjoying being here

    Right in the Heart of Hollywood!! Couldn't ask for a better place to study my main interest!

    Am learning a lot

    AMDA is made for those who want to mainly study the ARTS

  • 07/06/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 5 people found this review useful. 8 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If this is what you want to do then go into it with all of you.

    Bang for the buck

    They know how to buy a girl. that's all I gotta say.

    Will enjoy being here

    Its NEW YORK and LOS ANGELES!!!

    Will learn a lot

    I am so ready to start in the fall!!!! I have been researching this school for a year and and half now!!! I cant wait to get my foot int the door. And knowing that so many people that has attended this school has made a name for themselves makes me very hopeful!

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 9 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24 hour security and guards to escort you from place to place upon request.

    Clubs and Activities

    We just started getting clubs and organizations together last semester. Trust me, you will be too busy.

    Great for these types of students

    Like to personalize their training. Committed people not afraid of hours upon hours of rehearsal.

    What to do for fun

    You are in the center of Hollywood! What's not to do for fun? Beaches, shopping, and clubs.

    Food and Dining

    The campus has their own cafe. It's not as big as a campus cafeteria but it gets us by. It is, however, overpriced.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is overpriced but you have the option of living off campus like me. It's better if you find a few good friends first semester to move off with.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on the teacher really. Some classes you can skate through while others you will be holding onto your teeth for the teacher to even deem your work satisfactory.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to New York if you get the chance! For your third semester, you will be allowed to utilize the various expertise of the New York faculty. It is not a chance to be missed.

    In three sentences

    Life is great in Los Angeles when you are being taught by actual working professionals. That is the main bonus of AMDA is that you get specific and personalized experiences with people in the industry. You get out what you put in.

  • 05/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are plenty of security guards however, ID's are not consistently checked.

    Clubs and Activities

    The LA campus holds a cafe/cabaret series, BFA straight play and musical, student written one acts, student vision, gospel choir, student liaison/council. The NY campus, home to the conservatory program only, has the cafe series, dance workshop and showcases.

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for hard, independent workers.

    Bang for the buck

    It is quite pricey, but again. What you put into it is what you get out of it. There are great libraries at both locations and plenty of studio space to take advantage of.

    What to do for fun

    The NY campus is close to every theatre on Broadway and right across the street from the Lincoln Center/Met Opera/NYC Ballet. It's a fantastic location. The LA campus is in the heart of Hollywood near several parks, the farmers market, and the Arclight movie Theater.

    Food and Dining

    There is no cafeteria. The cafe food is good but a little pricey.

    Dorm Life

    The NY housing could use some work as far as cleanliness, however, there are single rooms available. The LA housing is cleaner and roomier, however, there are no single rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    The gen-ed credits are very much geared towards the performing arts student and in some ways, the classes are dumbed down.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're looking for a more 'vocational school' type experience, this is a great school to look into. However, if you're looking for serious gen-ed credits to balance out your schedule AMDA may not be the school for you. You get out of it what you put into it.

    In three sentences

    The teachers at both campuses are fantastic, with very few exceptions. However, the administration is a mess and could use some work as far as communication between departments.

  • 12/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 11 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security guards check IDs all the time to make sure only students are on campus and in campus buildings to make sure the students at AMDA are safe. You can also have an security guard escort you to your destination (AMDA building) to make sure you are safe.

    Greek Life

    There isn't a greek system. The school has about 650 students total so it's a very small school.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are shows that you can audition for towards the beginning of the semesters and student projects you can join to gain some experience. So at your time at AMDA, you will have plenty of opportunities to perform.

    Great for these types of students

    Driven people that love the arts.

    Bang for the buck

    At times I feel that this school is a lot of money but for only being in my first semester, I have learned so much about what it takes but also about myself. The knowledge of these teachers is phenomenal so soak as much as possible.

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot to do! Just at the school there are performances all the time. You definitely will make friends and with that will come good times. You are in the heart of Hollywood if you go to the LA Campus so depending on what kind of things you like, I'm sure Hollywood has it for you.

    Food and Dining

    The Cafe at the campus is nice. They have a variety of foods but I would definitely not recommend eating there for every meal because you will get sick of the foods but also it will drain your accounts at the bank.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are not so great at the LA campus but most the money you are paying for are for the teachers and that's the main reason you are there. You are there to learn what they are to teach you and get you prepared for this business.

    Academic Rigor

    This school pushes you past your limits at times. You definitely have an overstuffed Thanksgiving plate and your time management skills will definitely need to kick in right away once you get to school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not take on too much when you are first starting out. It may take a few semesters to get your feet on the ground. You may be the best in your hometown but be humble when you come to this school because there are a lot of talented people just like you.

    In three sentences

    If you are ready to take a huge step to get you prepared for the entertainment business, then this is the school for you. You will have a full plate but will have lots of fun. The programs are not easy but the knowledge that you receive is beneficial.

  • 04/29/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    24 hour security! You have a person checking IDs right when you walk into a residental building, they have police officers on bikes roaming campus and you can have an escort to class from apts or from class to apts.

    Food and Dining

    They have a cafe on campus that has literally everything and there is also grocery stores/drug stores close by for food inside your room.

    Dorm Life

    They have 6 different residental buildings that are like apartment style. You could have from 1-5 roommates depending on your room size and they all have something different about each building.

    Academic Rigor

    You will be required to take 5 classes per semester (15 credits) and you aren't allowed to miss 5 classes or you fail the class which includes being sick.

    Tips for prospective students

    You must have confidence in yourself and be ready to work. They don't want students that aren't serious. Too many talented people that are serious that you will stand out and make a fool out of yourself if you aren't ready to start your career.

    In three sentences

    It's a very small but interactive school and you will be getting lots of individual work which will make you excel in whatever performance based career you plan on doing.

  • 06/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is safe, but we live in Hollywood so people have to be careful of the people on the street. That is why we have guards to walk us to the dorms if we need it.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs and activities are awesome because any student can be involved in it. They bring you out of shell and show you something new.

    What to do for fun

    What we do for fun is we go to the movies/shops in Hollywood and Highland. Take the metro to The Grove and Universal Studios.

    Food and Dining

    They have a wonderful AMDA cafe. The food is absolutely tasty the only problem is the food is over priced.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms can crazy at times, but the dorm I lived in(Vine) we all became super close. The only problem was it only had a microwave to cook from and it had spiders.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes seem easy at first, but you have to keep up with the work load or you will get lost and have too much to do. The teachers are wonderful to be taught under and work with.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep up on your homework and DO NOT SLACK! Be well mannered and on time for every class. Also PRACTICE, PRACTICE, PRACTICE.

    In three sentences

    This is a good school, but it is not for all people. It has fabulous teachers and they do a good job at teaching each student differently. It also has a good atmosphere and surrounded around people that love the same thing.

  • 08/01/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Like I said, it's New York. Just take a walk and I'm sure you'll run into something. I for one enjoy the shopping. And Central Parks not too shabby either.

    Food and Dining

    AMDA does not offer a meal plan...It's one short-fall. But they do have a student store where you can purchase food and your in one of the food capitals of the world.

    Dorm Life

    It's New York. Don't expect a huge dorm to yourself. But do expect nice roommates and immersion in the great city. I've even heard some dorms overlook central park!

    Academic Rigor

    Be prepared to be physically fit and at the top of your game. Their training you to be the one person that beats out thousands of people scrounging for the same job.

    Tips for prospective students

    You get what you put in.

    In three sentences

    AMDA is a top notch training facility. I was ecstatic to see so many students adorned in dance attire and belting out notes in classrooms. It is a total change (good change) from my sunny Florida life.

  • 08/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This school takes safety very seriously. If you are stuck in a friend's dorm/building that you do not belong in and need to walk to your dorm late at night, a security guard is always available to walk you.

    What to do for fun

    There are clubs and parties all the time, but know that it's not always safe. You're in the Hollywood area so there are a lot of freaks out at night and the secluded dark areas are not safe. So party with a group of people. Universal Studios and City Walk are just a subway away. Clubs such as Rage, Level 3 and Saddle Ranch are all around you. Concert venues are a bus away, down on Sunset Blvd and many neighboring colleges have their parties too.

    Food and Dining

    The food is delicious, but not afforable. You will need to know where Food4Less and Vons are located if you want to make an affordable meal. If you donâ??t cook, there are fast food restaurants all around.

    Dorm Life

    There are different types of dorms that they provide. Some are set up as studios, bachelors or two bedroom apartment. The two bedroom apartment is miles off campus and a car would be great to have. The other dorms are walking distance and a couple of them are on campus. Some have kitchens and some do not. Security is strict unlike other colleges. You are only allowed to have students over until 11pm or 12 am. No none-students are allowed in the building ever! You can have family over, but only immediate family, such as parents, siblings, and grandparents.

    Academic Rigor

    Be on time and do not miss class! Most of your grade is based on classroom participation, so not showing up for any reason is unacceptable. Effort is most appreciated and respected by instructors so don't let them done. They want you to treat the assignment like a job and take your work just as seriously.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely, have money and know how to manage your time! Know that you will not always have time to relax on the weekends, so procrastination is not something you want to put yourself through. Be professional and respectful in class.

    In three sentences

    The teachers are great and know what they are talking about. The administration is the problem and seem to always misplace your information and forms. Aside from that, you can definitely learn so much and are many benefits.

  • 10/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has guards and is very safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are an insane amount of performance opportunities every semester!

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are tired of traditional academics and want to be surrounded by fellow artists.

    Bang for the buck

    AMDA is expensive and the administration can sometimes be frustrating, but the faculty and classes at the school make the problems that the school has worth it.

    What to do for fun

    For fun students can go to the beach, hiking in Runyon Canyon, go to the many restaurants near by, or go to the free performances at AMDA.

    Food and Dining

    There is the AMDA cafe in Los Angeles and the food is great but it tends to be expensive. They do not offer a meal plan.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms have kitchens and private bathrooms at the LA campus, but the NY campus has very small rooms without either of these perks. Many students choose to live off campus because in most cases it will actually save you money.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic classes offered all relate to some aspect of the arts. You won't take classes like math because it's a performance based school.

    Tips for prospective students

    The course load is very rigorous so make sure that you are ready for late nights, early mornings, and weekend rehearsals. It's performing arts boot camp.

    In three sentences

    The American Musical and Dramatic Academy is a great place for prospective artist to come and refine their skills. The teachers are amazing and there are plenty of performance opportunities!

  • 01/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Mandatory ID checks before you enter the gates or any building. It gets kind of bothersome at times, especially when running to class, but better safe than sorry.

    Greek Life

    Absolutely none, and it's amazing.

    Great for these types of students

    It's only good for people that cannot and will not do anything else with their lives but perform. If you're doing it cause you've always been pushed to, then you won't get anything out of it. Sure you'll get a great education and have amazing technique work, but without a true drive you'll never have as great of an experience as you can.

    What to do for fun

    The studios are open for use by students, so go there rehears a bit, whatever suits you. But also, it's Hollywood! Walk the strip, see a show, go to a club! The mall gets old after a while, but as long as you're always willing to try something new, there's an adventure to be had every day.

    Food and Dining

    The food at the Cafe is great, but there isn't really a meal plan for those of us who are low on family income. However, as long as you don't eat there every day, you should be just dandy.

    Dorm Life

    The people you will meet are amazing, however the dorms are sometimes a little to be desired. For freshman, it's all about the luck of the draw, but for upperclassmen it's all about getting your housing paper work in early.

    Academic Rigor

    The performing classes will rock your world, and it's the greatest feeling ever. Academia here is wonderful as well, although sometimes the workload is daunting, especially with outside rehearsals you need for performance classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have your scholarships and financial aid in order before you start, and always check up on your loan statuses.

    In three sentences

    This school teaches you how the real performing arts world works and how to efficiently deal with problems you are soon to face. It will teach you time management skills and will help you learn how to wake up more than on time. It's a great experience.

  • 03/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are guards at each building (dormitories included) that check ID and do not authorize entrance to anyone who isn't a student or faculty member. Security officers will walk you from your dorm to campus if you request it (no matter what the hour).

    Great for these types of students

    Students heavily invested in the performing arts, and those who want to make acting (in whatever medium) their profession.

    Bang for the buck

    The teachers and facilities are wonderful, but it IS rather expensive.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of national landmarks to visit (the Hollywood sign isn't too far away for a hike!), and no shortage of places to sunbathe. There are also a lot of workshops and performance opportunities to take part in on campus (or attend). Also, the beach isn't too far away if you have transportation!

    Food and Dining

    The only on-campus dining facility is the cafe, and although the food and drinks are pretty decent, the prices are pretty high for the portion size.

    Dorm Life

    Living in the on-campus dorms is a great way to make friends, plus you have the luxury (depending on what campus dorm) to access a computer room to do assignments for classes, and a gym/zen garden. However, the walls are paper thin, and the security guards and RA's can be a little too strict at times.

    Academic Rigor

    The programs at AMDA are very intense no matter what program one chooses, whether it's musical theatre or conservatory acting. The work load and curriculum is very heavy, but manageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have a comfortable cushion of money under your belt to acquire the supplies you need for classes. Always stay positive when it comes to the administration and financial aid faculty, as they aren't always up to date regarding your file and information. And you have to be able to have a good sense of time management, due to the fact that the number of courses is really high and the work is heavy and extensive.

    In three sentences

    The teachers at AMDA are outstanding, with their extensive knowledge of the industry and their techniques to shape and mold creative, risk-taking performers. The classes provided here give us a thorough education in different areas of the acting field, including stage combat, dance, voice production and speech, acting for the stage vs. acting for the camera, improvisation, and acting techniques from Stanislovski. What's missing from the campus is a nurse or doctor on staff, and real communication between the students and the administration regarding what we'd like our tuition money used for (less useless gadgets, more opportunities for performing or more scholarships!).

  • 07/02/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 22

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Depending on which campus you attend, there a lot of things to do for fun. If you're going to the NY campus then you have the whole city to explore and endless Broadway shows to see. If you're going to LA, you can go to the beach or try to see if you can spot any Hollywood stars to get their autographs.

    Food and Dining

    Again, I can't really say since I haven't started yet, but I heard they have pretty good sandwiches names after songs like Thriller by Michael Jackson.

    Dorm Life

    From what I saw when checking out the dorms in NY, there are one of two buildings you can stay in and both are great in terms of being close to the school and close to the city itself. Only a few blocks away is Lincoln center and central park isn't too far from your reach either. Both buildings also include a rehearsal space, computer room, and student kitchen.

    Academic Rigor

    I can't really say since I haven't yet started in the program, but from what I heard and what my friends told me, the academics are great and really one-on-one with all the students.

    Tips for prospective students

    I say as a tip, for you to personally check out the school and their programs to see if it's right for you before going through the audition process. Also go on their websites and watch their videos, they helped me get a sense of what the campus looked like before going and what to expect with the program.

    In three sentences

    I think AMDA is the perfect school for anyone planning to choose Musical Theater, Acting, or Dance as their major. They have all the tools necessary for anyone to be great, all you have to do is take advantage of it. I believe when I graduate from this school I will not only be a better performer, but a better person.

  • 03/02/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    academics at amda are of course based on your performance levels, self improvement, and dedication. you really have to start on top of your game.

    Tips for prospective students

    this school is for those who are only very serious about becoming a true artist. if not, then you are only wasting your time.

    In three sentences

    this school seems like the place for me! every time i log onto a digital media site, another student is being featured in some sort of production. i am so excited to start this summer.

  • 06/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Its a bit ridiculous, but the security is very strict. TOO strict.

    Greek Life

    none

    Great for these types of students

    Dance theater student, Musical theater students and Acting Majors.

    What to do for fun

    Its Hollywood, theres much to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Live outside campus.

    In three sentences

    Its a great school, with great teachers, but there's no nurse to assist you with any injures. Administration isn't that organized. And Dorms on Campus don't give you the full college experience.

  • 06/21/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 22 of 22

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The Cafe at the campus is nice. They have a variety of foods but I would definitely not recommend eating there for every meal because you will get sick of the foods but also it will drain your accounts at the bank.

    Academic Rigor

    This school pushes you past your limits at times. You definitely have an overstuffed Thanksgiving plate and your time management skills will definitely need to kick in right away once you get to school.

    In three sentences

    By the looks of it, this school will be prefect for me. I love performing arts and this school is a great place for performers like me.