Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/10/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 9 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 1 person found this inaccurate. 1 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    rural hands on outdoors type

    Tips for prospective students

    For a 2 year college, I would day this would probably be one of the best choices out of the other 2 year colleges in Georgia. This is a good choice if you want that 4 year college feel without actually being in a 4 year college, but going to Georgia Perimeter would probably be the best bet if you want to save more money. The campus is gorgeous and big (they have cows and horses!) and the dorms are basically perfection (for a 2 year college), but, please, do NOT let the beauty of the campus fool you into going here like it did to me. The campus is pretty and the teachers are enthusiastic, but the students- I repeat, the STUDENTS- are HORRID. These are the most close-minded people I have ever met in my life. They are nice and friendly, but ignorant. All the stereotypes about southern people are true. Their minds are as closed as the bible. Ok, some of the students are open minded and intelligent, but please keep in mind that this is a school where I have actually heard someone say I don't think dinosaurs are real. They weren't mentioned in the bible. and other people didn't vote in the presidential elections because they claimed the candidates were the actual, literal anti-christ (they were serious). Being at this college makes me feel intellectually deprived. This is not a good college for the artsy types- this college will not allow you to spread your wings and stand out from the crowd. Don't get me wrong, the students are smart (mostly) and politics are a big thing down here, but they just seem to be closed off in their own opinions

  • 12/06/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 6 people found this review useful. 2 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All types.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come and take a tour and visit. You'll love it when you step out of your vehicle and greeted by the ambassadors here.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes you get more than what you paid for when you attend this college. The food is great and it's all you can eat.

    Am enjoying being here

    This college is for everybody. Only been here for one semester and already loving it. The staff and faculty is nice and they will do anything to help you. Love the activities. Enjoyed especially the social events.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned a lot from the student here by just talking to them. Everybody here will talk with you like they known you for years.

  • 10/09/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for anyone - there's no one specific group of people that enjoy this place more than others.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you enjoy a campus where you can just be yourself - ABAC is that place. Bookworms, outdoors-lovers, athletes, equestrians, artists, and those just looking to better themselves all mingle without issue on this campus. If you want to go to a college where, regardless of who you are or where you come from, you can enjoy yourself... look no further.

  • 08/15/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    I love the ABAC campus, its absolutely great. I come from a small town so I am terrified of leaving home, but from what I have seen and heard about ABAC they will welcome me with open arms! (:

  • 01/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    play basketball and hang with friends.

    Food and Dining

    it is really delicious

    Dorm Life

    great

    In three sentences

    i love abac. the teachers are great. i love their food also.

  • 02/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus police at abac is seen throughout the day and night, but do not hassle students who are just having fun. no worries are needed if you need to go to your vehicle late at night or anywhere else on campus for that matter.

    Greek Life

    the greek life at abac is not a prominent as it might be a bigger colleges or universities, but it does have two fraternities and one newly chartered sorority.

    Clubs and Activities

    abac has many different clubs and activities around campus. whether it's the abac forestry and wildlife club, or the student government association, abac has the right club for you. also, abac's students put on a variety of different activities for students to participate in.

    Bang for the buck

    abac definitely gives you more bang for your buck. it was listed among america's most affordable colleges this past year, but still keeps its high reputation for producing quality, professional students.

    What to do for fun

    tifton, georgia is a small city with a big city feeling. it's not too big, but also not that small either. tifton has many recreational activities to choose from, whether it's swimming at the local ymca or shooting a game of billiards at the on-campus town center.

    Food and Dining

    the food at abac is delicious. they provide you with a variety of different choices each day and different ethnic foods to choose from. the food is always hot and fresh, and the staff are the nicest people around.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms at abac are great. they're very spacious while keeping your individual privacy. with great community assistants on hand 24/7, it really feels like home.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes at abac are not as difficult as classes might be at harvard, but they definitely challenge you to do your best and teach you what you need or want to learn for your major.

    Tips for prospective students

    for prospective students, give abac a second look. they may not have the most diverse degree choices, but they have some of the best programs available in the southeast. along with a beautiful and student oriented campus, abac makes a great all-around college.

    In three sentences

    abraham baldwin agricultural college, or abac, is a great place to get a higher education. it's a big college with a small college atmosphere and in a great town. i love abac and i plan on staying to get my bachelor's degree once i finish my associate's degree.

  • 04/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are many emergency boxes around campus. Campus Police are very helpful if you have any trouble and is always looking out for you.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for everyone would take a-lot to say how each one is.

    Great for these types of students

    Agricultural Majors, Nursing Majors, and Music Majors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    George Scotts Day it is a jazz festival in the spring semester where jazz bands come around and play for the day. Pre-K day is where the pre-k schools around tifton come and have a Field Day at ABAC.

    Bang for the buck

    You get your money worth from ABAC.

    Food and Dining

    Fried Chicken Thursday will become you favorite day when you come to ABAC. The Dining Hall also offers commuters a meal plan. The Connect is great if you need a quick meal and head to class just grab a sub or pizza and go on your way.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are really close to the dinning hall and walking distance from the class buildings. Lakeside is the freshman dorms and is always having events so students get to know each other and have a fun experience.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging but since there is small class sizes you get more attention from the teacher so you are able to understand the material much better.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want small classes ABAC will be great for you.

    In three sentences

    Teachers gets hands on experience with students since there is small classes. The academic support center is great if you are having trouble in a class they have great tutors in the center.

  • 04/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Campus is really safe. We have a police department on duty throughout the day and night which makes the students feel secure, even though nothing dangerous happens.

    Greek Life

    There are currently one sorority and two fraternities on campus, but there are other interest groups that are trying to become sororities and fraternities. The Greek Life at ABAC is expanding.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm currently in the Cultura Latina Club, an organization that promotes diversity. It was honored as the club of the year because it's usually involved in every activity that goes on and out of campus.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for the students who like to have fun but at the same time have their own space.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year, we have the Hispanic Heritage Day festival in September where organizations perform different Latin cultural dances and representations of Latin American countries.

    What to do for fun

    There are always different fun activities going on on campus. The different organizations get together to work on projects like the Arts Fest and it is really fun. We also have a pool, soccer, basketball, baseball, and volleyball courts.

    Tips for prospective students

    Incoming students should go out and learn about the different organizations on campus. It is really fun to get involved and helps socialize and meet other students.

    In three sentences

    This College has the perfect size of classes. It permits the students to have a one-to-one relationship with the professors. I really like it here because not only are the faculty and students very social, but the campus is also really pretty.

  • 04/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There is a lot of clubs that you can do. From what I'm in is called the Cultura Latina Club, you don't need to be hispanic to join and it's a lot of fun. There is other clubs to join in as well and it's a great place to be in if you look for a college that is small and nice.

    What to do for fun

    There is always a lot of things that you can do for fun. If you are interesting in agriculture, there is rodeo, horses to go out (if you have your own) then there is the pool, playing pool, soccer, jogging, tennis, anything that you can find here you can do. Also there is always events going around to have fun.

    Food and Dining

    If you want to eat healthy, then just get a salad and water. Most of the food there has to much grease or not very good at all. But its not at all bad, eating the right amount of food is good. The best food I like is the fried chicken, we call it Fried Chicken Thursdays.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is great. There are some CAs to help you around the dorms in the beginning. Always have things to do in Lakeside maybe Place as well. Everyone is friendly and you enjoy living in with your roomates.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor, depends on the teacher that you have. I'm sure that every one of them would like to have there students passing and that's good. Some classes are tough like: biology, anatomy, and other science courses. It depends who you have and how much effort you put in your work.

    Tips for prospective students

    To become a great student, you would have to study hard and earn your way to get your degree. There is a Academic Achievement Center (AAC) and it's helpful for the students because there will be tutors there to help you on your school work. You just have to study and do your best. Finde time management in everything, and NEVER procrastinate!

    In three sentences

    Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College is great place to learn. It's a small college, but there is a variety of things that you can do to have fun. Also the college is friendly and supportive on your school work.

  • 04/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are readily available for the students and there is adequate mediums to reach them.

    Bang for the buck

    ABAC offer it's students money for printing and copying. It has a free clinic that is paid for in your tuition. From my experience the things they offer you for the price you pay is excellent.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall has a wide and ever changing selection for the students. It is very adorable and well worth the money. The staff are also very polite.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus so I can not honest rate the dorms. But from what I have heard they are very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    The class are challenging but the teachers will work with you to ensure success.

    In three sentences

    They have a very well versed education selection. The curriculum is extreme on target with the classes and each class you take teaches you something new. The staff are helpful, polite, willing to work with you and dedicated to the students.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police patrol around the clock. They have these cute little mini cars; it's hard not to notice they're there.

    Greek Life

    sorrorities and fraternities

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs to join from music and concert choir to STEM related clubs

    Great for these types of students

    want to live close to home, don't want to live on huge, spaced out campuses, or just want a chill-lax environment.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is about $4,000 dollars and the cost of living in the area is plenty reasonable.

    What to do for fun

    There's a student center for lounging around on campus with snacks and a coffee shop inside. There is also a pool room, media room, and lounge in the freshman dorm.

    Food and Dining

    Best pizza on campus...and there's a Pizza Hut on campus! Many variety of foods. You can even have breakfast at lunch.

    Dorm Life

    Living is pretty good. The only downside is the wi-fi. There may be a strong signal on your roomate's side, but not on yours.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are not at all like high school, but there are many opportunities for students to get tutored. There is the Academic Achievement Center with tutors from all academic subjects, and you can also schedule conferences with your teacher.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your research for majors. Now that the school has been upgraded to a 4 year, there are many majors to choose from.

    In three sentences

    Great class sizes. Great atmosphere. Close knit community that encourages learning.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The ABAC Police are always patrolling the campus and keeping an eye out for the students and staff.

    Greek Life

    There are 2 Fraternities and one Sorority on campus and both are located in the 100 building of ABAC Place. The Sorority is on the 2nd floor while the 2 Fraternities are on the 1st and the 3rd floors.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a variety of clubs and activities for students on campus. Clubs range from Cattleman's to C.A.B. to FFA and there is always something new going on around campus for students to get involved in.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Polar Bear Plunge into the pool in the middle of January. The water is always frrezing but it's just a fun thing to do and a good way to meet new people!

    What to do for fun

    There is a swimming pool on campus as well as two fitness gyms that are free to the college students. There are also horse stables on campus and a lake for fishing. The school has many events and activities going on for students to do in their spare time. There is also a bowling alley in town and a fair in November.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall isn't the best in the world and it sure isn't momma's cooking, but the student and faculty always look forward to Fried Chicken Thursdays every week.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is very relaxed and friendly. The rooms are spacious and comfortable and your peers are very helpful and friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are slightly difficult but if you study proper;y then you can succeed at anything. Do NOT go out and party or slack off, the school can and will kick you out for that.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always study no matter how difficult the class and even study before the next class, you never know when the teachers bring up a pop quiz. Attend class everyday, ABAC has an attendence policy where when you attend class you get grades and when you don't go to class, you lose points off your next test/exam.

    In three sentences

    The school is small and in a beautiful part of South Georgia where there are plenty of activities in around the community for college students, even at the school. The students are friendly and very kind as well welcoming. The faculty and staff help with any and all problems that one may encounter.

  • 12/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police can always be found, but really not a lot of crime happens on campus. If something major is happening on campus the school lets the students know by email. They are big on giving parking tickets, so make sure you park in the right parking area.

    Greek Life

    ABAC has 2 agricultural fraternities, a sorority, and a fraternity for Latinos.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are always new clubs popping up on campus. We have a club that traps and neuters the stray cats on campus so the catering company won't have them euthanized. There is an anime club and a variety of other clubs too.

    What to do for fun

    There really isn't much to do in Tifton for fun. Thursday nights is the ABAC night at the Gin, the local bar. Also on Thursday nights Applebee's hosts a karaoke night and a lot of the ABAC students go. Also if you're into rodeo the fraterinties often hold barrel races at the arena and the Annual Homecoming Rodeo is in March each spring.

    Food and Dining

    Campus food is always mediocre, this is no different. Besides the dining hall you also have the choice of Pizza Hut and Sub Connection which is like Subway. Although there are some great places to eat off campus like Asahi, the local fast food Japanese place.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at ABAC can get a little crazy. In the upperclassmen dorms, which are apartment style- super nice if you get a clean room, the fire alarms are pulled every semester during finals week. The walls and floors are so thin you can hear someone's cell phone vibrate on a desk.

    Academic Rigor

    In my personal opinion I don't find my program of study, Psychology, very challenging. Even the core classes aren't too terribly hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're interested in rural degrees like agricultural, and the new bachelor's degree in Rural Studies, or Biology you will be suited for a small college life, also they have a really great nursing program.

  • 02/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    ABAC is a great place for students who are interested in: Agriculture Nursing Math and Science History Criminal Justice/Human services. There is a wide range of options as far as what you want to do. This is just a few choices that ABAC is mostly known for.

    Food and Dining

    ABAC has many options as far as eating. We have a on campus Pizza Hut and Sub Connection. Here is where you can order a hot and ready pizza, wings, breadsticks, sub sandwiches and more. ABAC also has the Cafeteria where there are five different options which vary from day to day. What is unique about the cafeteria is that there is a Fried Chicken Thursday, where you have the option of fried chicken or baked barbeque chicken. Both which are really good. For people who aren't really favorable to chicken there is a salad bar filled with a wide variety.

    Dorm Life

    ABAC has two amazing housing location of campus. New coming freshman there is Lakeside, which has a beautiful view of Lake Baldwin and the horse pasture. Lakeside is were all the freshmen get to bond and interact with each other. Lakesides friendly environment allow you as a freshmen to really see what college life is all about. ABAC Place is more for the upper classmen and some Freshman. Which houses the Greek life and the non-Greeks. Place offers the apartment style of living where there is a full kitchen accompanied by a living room as well.

    Academic Rigor

    ABAC has a very challenging curriculum which helps to mold you as a student for your secondary college of choice. ABAC also has a staff that is willing to help you reach your academic goal of excellence. With this being said if you enjoy challenging yourself academically ABAC is the place to be.

  • 04/14/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 49

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    It sounds like a great school with a small town feel. My friends say they love it.

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is good. There are a lot of different options. They always have hamburgers, pizza, and sandwiches.

    Dorm Life

    I loved the dorms. There is always people hanging out in the lobby, and it's a happy environment.

    Academic Rigor

    ABAC has a major for everybody. They're starting to get more 4 year degrees, so you don't have to transfer.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study. If you try your best, then your professors will be more willing to help you.

    In three sentences

    I love ABAC. It's a small campus, and easy to get to know people. You're more than just a number at ABAC. You're teachers actually care about you, and try to help you as much as possible.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have 24 hour ABAC police and the campus is well lit and feels very safe.

    Greek Life

    There are two fraternities at ABAC, Alpha Gamma Rho and Kappa Sigma. The new sorority is Sigma Alpha.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for everyone at ABAC. There are campus ministries, clubs for hunting, fishing, and horse or cattle clubs. Other clubs of interest are FACS, FFA, SPECTRA, and many more.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student could find something to do at ABAC, but it is very oriented towards agricultural-minded students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    ABAC has its own rodeo! Throughout the year there are barrel races and other rodeo events. Another tradition at ABAC is Fried Chicken Thursday, which will have students lined out the doors every week!

    Bang for the buck

    ABAC is one of the most affordable colleges in the United States. It has great teachers and classes, as well as on campus life, which are definitely worth the cost!

    What to do for fun

    There are always campus activities available. There are occasionally rodeo events, and Campus Activities Board has sponsored things like campouts, concerts, spring flings, and more. Off campus there is plenty of shopping, movies, and restaurants.

    Food and Dining

    ABAC's dining hall is very nice. It is an unlimited buffet style dining hall. There is a hot meal line, subs, grill, salad bar, and pizza. There is also a Pizza Hut and Sub Connection on campus. And ABAC is famous for Fried Chicken Thursday!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at ABAC are great! Freshmen live at Lakeside with two or four person suites. Each suite has seperate bedrooms, a bathroom, and a kitchenette. ABAC Place is the upperclassmen dorm. It includes full apartments. The staff at both dorms are very helpful, and on campus living is fun and convenient.

    Academic Rigor

    I believe academic rigor depends on each students work and study habits and how much effort is put forth. However ABAC's classes are fairly easy and the teachers are very willing to help you succeed if you ask and try to do well in the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check to see if your degree is a two year or a four year degree at ABAC so you can make plans to transfer if you need to. Make sure to get your paper work turned in as early as possible! Ask about opportunities to get involved on campus. It may look small, but there's alot to do, you just have to go after it!

    In three sentences

    Although ABAC is a small agricultural college, it is full of opportunities for students. The atmosphere is great, the staff and faculty are friendly and personal, and there is always something fun to do on campus. If you're looking to do something to do off campus, ABAC is not far from Tifton, where there are plenty of shops, restaurants, and more.

  • 06/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is one of the safest campus there is because it is a dry campus. Since people can't drink on campus then there isn't drunk people running around causing a big ruckus.

    Greek Life

    We have a greek life but I am not involved in it. But they do host a good bit of events like the rodeo we had on campus and it was entertaining.

    Clubs and Activities

    I love the clubs on campus they always have something planned to do so that you don't get bored even on the weekends.

    What to do for fun

    I am in a clubs on campus so we plan fun events to do so the students have fun like the hide n seek we did to try and break the world record.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall food got really repetitive and is full of carbohydrate. But if you aren't a freshman you don't have to eat there all the time. If you do eat there it is good just very repetitive.

    Dorm Life

    I really enjoy the dorm life they always have something going on and if you are bored it is because you are doing anything that they have provided for you to do. It is really secure for the most part it is like living on your own so you take responsibility for you stuff and manage you living life.

    Academic Rigor

    Well like any school if you don't do you work you will fail. Most of the classes to me aren't to hard because I can go to my professor and asked them questions one on one if I need to understand something and they will be there until I understand it.

    In three sentences

    Abraham Baldwin Agricultural college is a really great school. I love the involvement with the students the activities on campus and how close you are with the Community Assistants. I like that the teacher student ratio isn't overwhelming and I can go to my professor to get help instead of an assistant. No matter who you are you will always fit in and they make you feel like family.

  • 06/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    We are just getting them!

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for any student who fears getting lost in the crowd in a big univeristy.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Campus rodeo

    What to do for fun

    There's a college pool, intraumural sports, and fishing!

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring a comfy bed top!

    In three sentences

    It's a small-town feel with great student-teacher interactions. The dorm rooms are better than most freshmen dorms (no community bathrooms!). Also, the campus is made for incoming freshmen!

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a variety of clubs and activities for all.

    Food and Dining

    They offer different meal plans.

    Dorm Life

    They offer several different types of rooms and try to match up each student.

    Academic Rigor

    I have been looking forward to starting to eduction that I have been dreaming of. The Game Warden classes are hard to find classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Pleasant atmosphere, helpful staff

    In three sentences

    Eye appealing, small student ratio to teachers. The dorms are on campus and everything is in walking distance. They have a lot of different careers to offer.

  • 10/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None

    Great for these types of students

    Country small town living

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Tractor pulls

    What to do for fun

    Clubs, student activities, fishing and hanging out with friends

    Food and Dining

    2 stars on food on home cooking you are used to eating

    Dorm Life

    5 stars

    Academic Rigor

    4 stars

    Tips for prospective students

    do your research, the size of school you want to attend. Do. You play sports, research the coaches. Do they have all I am looking for and not the larger school prices.

    In three sentences

    The school is more like family life. The teachers and staff are very helpful. It is less than 2 hours from my house and allows me to obtain my degree in Criminal Justice and Wildlife Management.

  • 10/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus police are always on patrol.

    Greek Life

    Not very many options but it is growing.

    Clubs and Activities

    Several really great organizations to get plugged in with.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for pretty much any type of student.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not really. Its like the 13Th, and 14Th grades for a lot of people in the South Georgia area.

    Bang for the buck

    Very cheap but it is a small college.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something to do. Lots of people play intramural sports and frisbee!

    Food and Dining

    Just remodeled the dining hall. Very nice and the quality of food is good too!

    Dorm Life

    There is always something to do when living on campus. However, most of the planned activities are cheesy.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging classes that are small and the professors care about the students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do everything early. There are always students missing payment deadlines because of the lack of communication. Don't get caught in the crowds of people. Register early and do all of your financial aid stuff as soon as possible.

    In three sentences

    A very affordable college option for people in the local area. A great starter college for people to start at if planning to transfer. Not very organized and extremely unhelpful at times.

  • 10/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is well lit and safe.

    Greek Life

    There are greek fraternities on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    The have a wide array of clubs a student can join. Rural Studies Club, Helping Professionals Club, and Spage clubs are available to join.

    Great for these types of students

    ABAC is great for students who don't quite know what they want to do with their chosen careers yet.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Traditions are mainly created by individual students. Some like to sit in or around the chapel to study.

    Bang for the buck

    I can remain at ABAC and get my bachelors degree, instead of having to drive 45 miles away to a college to finish.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do for fun. You can attend plays and concerts, walk around the campus, or go bowling.

    Food and Dining

    There are several options on campus. Subway, Pizza Hut, and dining hall.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms, but they are very beautiful.

    Academic Rigor

    Keep your grades up. Ask for help and/or tutoring.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what you want to study. Don't take out too many student loans.

    In three sentences

    I rate ABAC a 9. It has a beautiful campus, and teachers who are always encouraging us to go beyond getting our Bachelors degrees.

  • 12/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Even though this college doesn't have a football nor basketball team, they do have activities such a flag football and a gym where you can play basketball

    Great for these types of students

    Students who enjoy making friends and those who are as well would like to accomplish their dreams of graduating college and doing a job they love.

    What to do for fun

    There are varies things to do for fun at ABAC. You have different activities through out the semester like Casino night, movie night, and much more.

    Food and Dining

    There are various places you can enjoy a nice meal. You can either grab a plate at The Cafe or even order yourself some pizza from Pizza Hut.

    Dorm Life

    Living at Lakeside is a great way to get the hang of living on your own as an adult with guidance from your CA's. There are computers in the lobby just in case you do not own one yourself. There's also a kitchen downstairs so you wouldn't have to eat The Cafe food all the time. Let's not forget the mini grocery store. There is also a t.v. room where you and your friends can all get together which a game or movies together instead of wrecking your dorm room. No the dorm hallways are co-ed but you can still visit the opposite sex but only before 12 a.m. Lakeside has a nice view of the lake.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes at ABAC are not hard as they would be at an university. The professors were approachable and very nice. ABAC offers tutoring

    Tips for prospective students

    Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College, also known as, ABAC, was an amazing experience.. As a freshman I was welcomed with open arms. They guided me into the adult world learning how to manage a busy schedule and enjoy my young adult social life. I was a young woman from a small, town and I fit in very well at ABAC. The students I met through out activities were the type of people I like to be around. You get to meet a lot of hard working students who are most likely reaching the same goals as you.

    In three sentences

    Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College is a great college. Only down part about ABAC they do not have basketball nor football team. The curriculum is excellent.

  • 12/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe. I have never heard of any problems. Nothing has happened while I have attended. I have also known about ABAC for a long time and never heard anything before attending either.

    Bang for the buck

    Tifton is not a very big town, but it is still decent size. There are many places to go out to and visit.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of clubs and activities that one can get involved in on campus.

    Food and Dining

    I don't eat there a lot, but the times that I have the food is phenomenal.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus. But I have been to the dorms. They have new buildings for freshman and they looked great.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have any questions do not hesitate to ask. I always had a problem with asking people for help, but I had to get over that. Now, if I have a question I simply ask someone, and they answer it or direct me to someone who can answer it.

    In three sentences

    Staff is really attentive and willing to help out. It is a very friendly and homelike environment. Everything is very accessible here.

  • 02/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety is very good.

    What to do for fun

    There is clubs one can join. And here you really get very close to the people you meet.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay, nothing special.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is very nice. One can choose if they want to have a private room, or if they want to share it. ABAC really looks at your application and they try to room you with somebody that matches your personality.

    Academic Rigor

    There is many opportunities here at ABAC and they have good academic classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    The only tips I will give, is that it is a hard to school so one has to study really hard to pass the classes.

    In three sentences

    Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College is a small college. The professors have more time to speak with students. Also, the classes are small and the students have more opportunities to ask questions.

  • 03/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has police officers cruising around 24/7. The dorms and buildings are protected with an alarm system. Only students that have a student ID card are allowed to access the buildings on the campus.

    Greek Life

    ABAC has many fraternities and sororities offered. The Greek life is very diverse and active. They are always having many activities around campus for the student body.

    Great for these types of students

    ABAC is a great college for students that are adapted to a smaller size high school.

    What to do for fun

    At ABAC there are many activities offered to the students. CA's or Community Assistants at ABAC are in charge to make everyday activities that will relax the students and take them away from college homework, such activities include: Dodge-ball, Soccer Tournaments, Talent shows, Picture games, Tag games, and Meditations.

    Food and Dining

    ABAC offers a variety of foods during eating hours. The food is coordinated by a chef. The best food is made on Thursdays as everyone calls it Chicken Thursday!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at ABAC are very spacious. The freshmen have their own building on their own with secured alarm system and Community assistants that will serve you for anything you may need. The freshman have the privilege to stay in a two bedrooms shared with four partners to gain that college feeling with a roommate or a two bedroom shared with only one roommate but with your own room for privacy.The upperclassmen building has a more luxurious bedroom with a living room and full kitchen.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the students at ABAC pass their classes. There is no excuse for those that are failing their classes. ABAC offers free tutoring at the academic center with tutors that will help in any kind of subject you may not understand.

    Tips for prospective students

    For future students it is necessary for them to adapt themselves with a time management log, to help them manage their time properly. He or she will also need a calendar, to help them remind them about their upcoming tests or quizzes. Last but not least have a communicating system with all the teacher, that will help for future references.

    In three sentences

    ABAC campus has a friendly environment. It is small and you can get the chance to meet many people and began long lasting friendships. It is easier to communicate with your teacher and have a one on one session with them.

  • 06/21/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    28 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No issues

    Greek Life

    Frat life is small but still real Greek life.

    Bang for the buck

    Best value in Georgia

    What to do for fun

    Things my mom shouldn't know about!

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria is tasty!

    Dorm Life

    Nice size and private.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit early and get involved events focal to your area.

    In three sentences

    Extremely impressed with campus, facilities, and personnel while visiting and throughout the enrollment process.

  • 07/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Amazing buffets with top notch southern cooking!

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are tough. Professors challenge each student and push them to do their absolute best. When you are done with ABAC classes you are prepared to step into any University and run with it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students, if you are looking for a small rural community college that is compassionate and cares about your future then ABAC is the perfect place for you. Classes are rigorous, and the professors challenge you to do your absolute best because they personally know how life is after college and want each of their students to be prepared.

    In three sentences

    ABAC is by far a great college, that strives to provide quality education and opportunities for students. The professors are compassionate and care about your future from day one, and even after you have completed there class. My number 1 choice in community colleges!

  • 07/08/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    30 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus provides its own police department and its a campus that makes its students feel really safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    A ton of activities and clubs to join. I don't think there is enough space to list them all.

    What to do for fun

    Go swimming, softball fields, soccer fields, baseball, tennis, and many more

    Food and Dining

    Great food and a gorgeous dining hall

    Dorm Life

    Pretty dorms. And are very roomy.

    Academic Rigor

    Wonderful teachers and they have wonderful tutoring services. They even offer an online tutor at 2 am if needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you choose a program of study that you will enjoy.

    In three sentences

    ABAC is a great school, and the campus is beautiful. The teachers are nice, and the students are mostly local and are very sweet. The campus is well designed and I am very ecstatic to attend.

  • 07/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Every type!

    Bang for the buck

    The pricing of everything is excellent. Compared to other colleges the prices are great!

    What to do for fun

    Campus life is great, the clubs are very active. I would always suggest to someone to join some sort of activity at ABAC.

    Food and Dining

    Dining hall is excellent, the people are great. A pizza hut express and sub connection is on campus. This is great for in between classes. The price is also reasonable. This is a huge deal for a college student.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are beautiful, tours are offered. It is perfect for someone who wants a little freedom but still want the comfort of home.

    Academic Rigor

    Expect to work hard and learn. Do not expect everything to be a piece of cake.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not rush, enjoy college but work hard. You have your whole life a head of you. Take the time to get to know your fellow classmates and the professors.

    In three sentences

    Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College or for student ABAC would get a rating of 3 out of 5 stars. It is great for those who live in Tifton or surrounding counties a short drive is great. One aspect that is impressive for someone who walks on the campus is the beauty of the campus: beautiful buildings, scenery, and people.

  • 08/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Fishing in Lake Baldwin, hanging out with friends and just going to town hall and see who u may met or see.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is decent at best. most of the time its not really packed, except on Thursday at lunch because it is fried chicken day and it is delicious.

    Dorm Life

    The small town atmosphere is really great because you will meet friends fast and meet a lot of people quickly as well.

    Academic Rigor

    You will have to study but if you pay attention and take good notes you will do fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't do something stupid the first week because chances are everybody will remember it. also, remember college is where u can be yourself so find people like you and make new friends.

    In three sentences

    I love ABAC it has a small town feel that I was raised in. The teachers are always more than willing to help u during their office hours and during class. It is very safe and sound with on campus police and a completely dry campus.

  • 08/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Several fraternities and one sorority to choose from. I believe they are mainly agricultural based.

    Great for these types of students

    Students looking for a college that isn't super large and fast-paced should definitely come here. I would recommend it to students coming from smaller towns and high schools to get used to the college setting, then transferring to a larger college would be easier later on down the road.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of the neatest traditions I have seen so far is the annual freshman cardboard boat race. Contestants can use cardboard and tape to build any type of boat and oars they want, and then race across Lake Baldwin. Most boats end up sinking, so it is quite a funny event.

    Bang for the buck

    For what you are given at ABAC, I would say it is well worth every penny you spend. The only problem I have is book prices being outrageous, but you will run into that at every college. However, for the warm, at home environment, I would gladly spend the money again.

    What to do for fun

    There are all kinds of clubs and activities you can get involved in. The campus also offers several fraternities and one sorority you can join. Students also always have activities going on outside to join in on.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great. They offer a wide variety of meals every day/night, which you can usually custom order. They also have a very nice sub and pizza place for cheap prices.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great here! You don't have to deal with nasty community showers or share a bedroom with another person if you choose a private suite. The dorms are kept very neat and clean at all times. They also offer study rooms if you need them.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are all relatively small, so you are able to get a more one-on-one atmosphere with the teacher, and make yourself be heard. Classes are also not terribly difficult. The school also offers free tutoring which can come in very handy if you are having problems.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do as many welcome week activities and get involved. It will make your experience so much better. It will help you make more friends and be more comfortable.

    In three sentences

    As an incoming freshman, ABAC has been a home away from home to me. It has such a homey, close-knit atmosphere, that makes you feel welcome loved at all times. To make it even better, the teachers and staff are all super friendly and helpful at all times!

  • 10/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is not much to do in Tifton. For fun there are movie theatres and a bowling alley and club activities (dances, rodeo, etc.)

    Food and Dining

    Great food, lots of choices, hours of the dining hall could be longer.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are clean and very safe. A key is required to enter the building and your assigned hallway. The RAs are very fun and helpful. We have a lot of events right in the dorm building.

    Academic Rigor

    Courses are rigorous but not too much so, there are tutors on campus and teachers have office hours and many hold study groups.

    In three sentences

    ABAC is small, rural school in Georgia, as a freshman my largest class has only 32 students, all the teachers, staff and administration are very helpful. The freshman housing is clean and safe, the RAs are great, the dining hall food is amazing. There are many clubs and organizations to participate in.

  • 11/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    A lot. There is a great balance between study and play at ABAC.

    Food and Dining

    Excellent.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never be afraid to go to my professors and talk with them about any problem that I am having or something that I do not understand.

    In three sentences

    Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College has a warm, welcoming, and inviting atmosphere. The staff and faculty here really show you that they care about you. I can always find assistance or help with any problem that I have.

  • 11/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Smart and intelectuals. Those who are focused on their carreer.

    What to do for fun

    Clubs and oraganizations. Community services and more.

    Food and Dining

    Very economic.

    Dorm Life

    Very economic.

    Academic Rigor

    Biology majors are can get you in many programs .My goal is to go to dental school with this major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study and choose small schools for better teacher help.

    In three sentences

    Great Learning Environment! Abac has small classrooms wich is perfect to learn. Abac teachers are very helful.

  • 11/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police and security everywhere. There is a police training program on campus.

    Greek Life

    Nuring school can be Greek to me at times. Not too familiar with the Greek life on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plentiful. I have even seen cattlemen clubs, coon hunting clubs and various agriculture clubs not easily found at other schools. Nice, but kinda strange to see those types of organizations.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for anyone serious about nursing or any type of agriculture/farming type career. Anyone who wants a nice college campus thats not that small and not that large with a little slower pace.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    ABAC, as an agricultural college, has farm land everywhere. As a nursing student in their really nice nursing building, it's kind of strange to see cows grazing just feet from the building. Even stranger to see 18, 19 and 20 y/o students working in the fields and gardens around the campus in todays modern times.

    Bang for the buck

    Easy to get to know the instructors and everybody seems so down to earth and relaxed. Great learning environment.

    What to do for fun

    Tifton and ABAC is fairly large and full of all sorts of things to do, but as a nursing student, my time is consumed with studying for now.

    Food and Dining

    Food in the dining hall is O.K. but there are alot of restaurants to choose from near the college.

    Dorm Life

    Not a dorm student, but everyone I've talked to that is seems pleased.

    Academic Rigor

    The nursing program is not the easiest and will require alot of effort on the part of the student, but the instructors are always available for extra help if needed. Requires alot of study time and understanding the concepts, not just memorizing.

    Tips for prospective students

    If pusuing a nursing degree is your choice, ABAC's program is not easy to get in to, but worth the effort. Be prepared for countless hours of reading/studying/sleep deprivation.

    In three sentences

    I am a third generation ABAC student and have loved every minute of it. I am a current nursing student and feel ABAC has one of the best programs in the state.

  • 11/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    ABAC is a safe place with no trouble

    Greek Life

    Greek organizations at ABAC include Alpha Gamma Rho, Kappa Sigma, Lambda Sigma Upsilon and Sigma Alpha.

    Clubs and Activities

    4H Agri-Business Agricultural Engineering Technology (AET) Alpha Beta Gamma Alpha Gamma Rho Ambassadors Anime Club Baldwin Players Baptist Collegiate Ministries Bass Fishing Club Black Student Association Brother 2 Brother Campus Activities Board (CAB) Campus Cats Canterbury Club Cattleman�¢����s Association Christian Student Fellowship College Democrats College Republicans Collegiate FFA Criminal Justice Club Cultura Latina Club Entrepreneurial Society Equestrian Club Family and Consumer Science (FACS) Fitness and Health Club Forestry Club and SAF Student Chapter Forestry & Wildlife Club Future Farmers of America FFA (Collegiate Chapter) Georgia Association of Nursing Students (GANS) History Club Honors Club Horticulture Club Kappa Sigma MASDA Pegasus Phi Theta Kappa Political Science Club Pre-Vet/Animal Science Club RacCooners Club Residents Hall Association Rural Studies Club Shooting Sports Club Sigma Alpha SPAGE SPECTRA The Stallion Student Government Association Turf Club WPLH

    Great for these types of students

    Here at ABAC we welcome diversity.Everyone and Anyone can find someone with their same interest!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On Thursdays we all cant stop thinking about FRIED CHICKEN THURSDAYS!

    What to do for fun

    ABAC really tries to provide fun and not make college a boring experience! This freshman year I have seen a variety of activities here! There has been a zombie tag, casino night, laser tag, movie night,hypnotic magic show,slip and slide with ice cream , and provided a Halloween dance.These are just a few events ABAC has coordinated.

    Food and Dining

    The food at ABAC is buffet style. You pick what you would like there is a pizza, hamburger, salad, and sub line always available. There is two lines with the special meal of the day. If you do not like the meal of the day , you can go to one of the other lines. Everyone anticipates Thursdays here at ABAC because it's Fried Chicken Thursday!

    Dorm Life

    As a freshman, we live in Lakeside which is a building which provides a lake scenery. Lakeside always has fun activities to do during the week and on weekends! There are two different types of dorms at Lakeside. Four person dorm,as in two people in each room with bathroom, and all four people share the same kitchen. Same concept applies to two person dorms at Lakeside. If your a upperclassman you live in ABAC PLACE. You would share a four person apartment style dorm with living room, two bathrooms, and kitchen. This is a much larger dorm than Lakeside.

    Academic Rigor

    Do not let the name of our college fool you! ABAC is not a school only for intended AG majors. ABAC has great biology, nursing, education; business program!

    Tips for prospective students

    ABAC is a great small college to attend. Teachers are always avaible and go out there way if you need help. The people who attend ABAC come from a wide range of America. Its not a southern only school.

    In three sentences

    Abraham Baldwin Agriculture College is great if you want a small environment and personal 101 connection with teachers. There is a great diversity of majors and student population. The small environment provides a home feeling as you interact with everyone!

  • 11/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on campus. There is a police academy on campus and there is someone on patrol at all times.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several clubs and organizations for all kinds of students. There are clubs ranging from raccoon hunting club to a diversified culture club. There clubs for any kind career or just interest and they always say that if there is not a club you are interested in let them know and they will try to find one that will or help you to start your own.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The main unusual tradition and location is in the Bowen building. They say there is a ghost there but I have never personally seen or heard anything.

    What to do for fun

    Usually I just hang out with friends. ABAC always has some kind of activity or program going on to give everyone a chance to have fun and get as much enjoyment as possible. There are also many different things to do in Tifton as well. There is a bowling alley and little shopping mall. Plus Valdosta is not to far away.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall has very good food. It does become some what repetitive at times, but they offer such a variety that it is easy to switch up and make things different.

    Dorm Life

    I am currently in the freshmen dorm and love it. I have met all kinds of people and many have become very close friends. Although every now and then there may be some contentions, they are few and far in between and they almost always blow over with little to no damage.

    Academic Rigor

    While there are a few activities that can capture a student's focus, ABAC is a very academically focused school. There are teachers and staff that will do whatever it takes to make sure that the student gets the most out of their learning experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to study and meet new people. ABAC is a very diversified school with more to offer that just farming. People come from all over the world to get a higher education so be ready to meet people from all kinds of cultures.

    In three sentences

    ABAC has a community college feel with the academics of a university. The teachers and staff are very helpful and make you feel at home. It has many career opportunities and advisors to make whatever the goal a reality.

  • 12/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a police station located on campus for ease of access. They hang out all around campus so they are easy to find when needed!

    Greek Life

    I don't know much of anything about this.. But I'm sure its radical!

    Clubs and Activities

    We have a skateboarding club that's super fun and everyone can join!

    Great for these types of students

    ABAC is great for every kind of student. Just because its mainly an agricultural college, doesn't mean that's all they offer! I'm an art major and the courses are everything I need!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a big beautiful chapel located on campus. Its normally open 24/7 and sermons are held every Sunday

    Bang for the buck

    I love the library. Its three stories high and full of every kind of book you could ever imagine. Just below the library is the academic achievement center. You can go there for tutoring or to print or even use the computer lab!

    What to do for fun

    The things I do for fun include hanging out in the lobby playing guitar with my friends, skateboarding around campus with my friends, playing games on laptops in the dining hall with my friends and going to the 24 hour gym that's located on campus

    Food and Dining

    The food in the dining hall is really good quality. You can either choose from the unlimited plan with 85 dining dollars or you can choose the 200 dining dollars and have the 12 meals a week plan. The dining dollars can be used to by things from the convenience store, the sub connection or pizza hut that are located on campus, and the dining dollars can even be used to purchase items from the vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at ABAC are the best I've seen so far! There is plenty of room for four people. In one dorm there is two bedrooms, two baths, and one kitchen. Then there are the ABAC Place apartments, which have two rooms, two baths, one full kitchen complete with stove/oven, fridge, sink, and dish washer. The apartments also have a living room area. The dorms at Lakeside have a connivance store on the first floor of the main lobby. The laundry room and game / entertainment room are also on the first floor. Each hallway on each floor has a CA. they are students as well, but they are in charge of each hallway to keep order and they are there for any questions and they are very helpful!

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not difficult, but they do have a lot of work. Studying and coffee have been two major things in my college career, especially through finals! It can be very stressful at times, but as long as you don't procrastinate on any work, you'll make it.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you don't like much walking, the best suggestion is to get a bike. What ever you do, do not procrastinate on any school work. It may seem like you're juggling a lot at one time, but it will get more and more difficult the longer you wait! The unlimited meal plan is your best choice for food! The dining hall stays open from 7 am to 7 pm, Monday through Saturday. And on Sundays its open from 9 am to 6 pm. You get as much food as you want at any time of the day!

    In three sentences

    ABAC is a big, beautiful college. The classes are both challenging and rewarding. Everyone I meet, both faculty and students are very friendly and helpful.

  • 12/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    ABAC has sororities and fraternities you may join if you choose. ABAC also has many clubs to get involved with or intramural sports and also religious groups.

    Food and Dining

    ABAC offers many different food styles, from the cafeteria to the zippy stores to the sub and Pizza Hut. However, all the foods at ABAC are great! Well cooked and served and very good tasting!

    Dorm Life

    While dorm life at ABAC is better than most, it's still a small dorm. Unless you stay at Place, which is a nicer, spacier, more apartment type dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    ABAC offers many different classes with certified teachers;however, most of these classes require a lot of self study/teaching and pre-knowledge. Contrary to popular belief, ABAC is one of the hardest schools in the state.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work hard and do your work. ABAC may be easy to get into, but the classes are by no means any easier than any other school.

    In three sentences

    ABAC is a good starter school. Very few majors are offered full term here so a transfer is almost mandatory, but to get core done it is a very nice environment. ABAC is a good place to start out for those who want to stay close to home but still experience a university life, rather than technical school.

  • 12/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 49

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I hang out with my friends and we go to the activities: band concerts, art shows, documentaries, fun active programs to support our communities. We also go off campus and head to the movies, mall, or just grab a bite to eat.

    Food and Dining

    The Dining Hall is amazing and has varies of food. It gives off a relax and fun mood as the students rest and eat with their friends. The food depends on the day of the week. For example Thursday is very popular in ABAC because it is Fried Chicken Thursday. Students are always satisfied with the food.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are amazing, and the perfect size. A.B.A.C offers dorms for two residents and four residents and even single rooms. The college gives each hall a CA who help the students get settled in and inform the rules and safety procedures.

    Academic Rigor

    Every field in study depends on the students. The classes are not difficult, and teachers offer help outside of class if needed. The classes are a fair size and the professor know who their students are.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always be aware and study for test, and finals. This college is very fun and will always make you feel at home. It provides study rooms, and tutors for those who need aid or a peaceful place to themselves for their studies.

    In three sentences

    Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College happens to be an amazing college filled with a community of staff that take interest and commitment towards the students. It gives the student a very home-y atmosphere and is surrounded by different opportunities. It gave me the chance no other college could ever offer and I would never transfer, because I consider this college like a second home.

  • 12/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I consider ABAC to be a safe capmus with a full time police department right on campus.

    Greek Life

    There are two fraternities on campus, Alpha Gamma Rho and Cappa Sigma. There is one sorority, Sigma Alpha. Then there is one that is a fraternity/sorority combo called Upsilon Lamba.

    Clubs and Activities

    ABAC has a large array of clubs on campus suited for any sort of interest, and if you don't see one that quite fits your liking, ABAC will work with you to set up any sort of club that you would like.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At the beginning of every fall semester during what we call welcome week, there is a cardboard boat race where residents can team up and make a card board boat to try and sail across Lake Baldwin.

    Bang for the buck

    ABAC is a great school at a great price. Not only is it less expensive than most, they are also willing to work out payment plans with you.

    What to do for fun

    The housing department offers many programs each week for the students to do. There are full time gyms on campus, and off-campus there is a bowling alley that offers a student discount and a movie theater.

    Food and Dining

    What food isn't on campus, is only a five minute drive away.

    Dorm Life

    I have lived on campus the whole time I have been attending ABAC and I wouldn't have it any other way. The dorms here are leaps and bounds above other dorms at other schools, and the people that run the housing department are great. They are always ready and able to help you with any problems that you have.

    Academic Rigor

    ABAC may be an agricultural based school, but a lot of the classes offered really allow for students to gain critical thinking skills.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't count ABAC out just because its small, or because its an ag school. ABAC has a lot to offer for many types of degrees and interest.

    In three sentences

    The school is a great choice to go to especially if you are interested in an agricultural or rural based degree. The campus is lovely and the staff is very helpful. I would recommend this college to others looking for a good small school.

  • 12/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt unsafe while on campus at ABAC.

    Great for these types of students

    ABAC is great for students who like a small town feel. The campus is not as small as it may seem at first, but majority of the people there are similar in beliefs and lifestyle. It's great for someone who enjoys the small things. Students who are not willing to put in effort towards there classes should not attend. However, you do not have to be a genius to pass, you just have to try your best and the teachers will be willing to work with you.

    What to do for fun

    ABAC is located in Tifton so there's not a whole lot of activities off campus. There is a small mall and a movie theater with pretty good prices. There are also a lot of shops in downtown. Other than that, everyone usually comes up with their own fun like muddin' or dirt road ridin'. There's also campus activities and a volleyball court.

    Food and Dining

    ABAC Dining Hall is amazing! They have tons of options and great hours. No other college can beat Fried Chicken Thursdays!

    Dorm Life

    The ABAC dorms are much nicer than other college dorms. I do not have any friends from other schools with as much space and included items.

    Academic Rigor

    ABAC is a challenging school, but not at all impossible to succeed at.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know everyone around you, you never know who may be able to help you out. Speak up in class and keep a good attendance record. Do not wait until the last minute to figure out financial aid.

    In three sentences

    ABAC's staff is incredibly helpful and make it very easy to situate financial aid and other academic issues. The campus is both clean and safe which allows students to enjoy living on campus. All of the teachers are very knowledgeable in their field and always willing to help any student.

  • 12/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have campus police and our own police academy.

    Greek Life

    We have 1 sorority and 3 frats.

    What to do for fun

    Play beach volley ball, ping-pong, pool, WII, XBOX, softball, soccer, baseball, basketball, football watch a movie, or swim in our Olympic size pool.

    Food and Dining

    Dinning hall is open from M-F 7:30 am to 7:30 pm, S-Su 11:30 am to 6:30 pm. Food is delicious salad bar, sandwiches, pizza, and hamburgers all day.

    Dorm Life

    There are always programs going on in the dorms to involve everyone. You have a full kitchen and living room with furniture provided.

    Academic Rigor

    You will work hard and study harder. Nothing is freely given, but the professors make sure you understand.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not make an excuse for why you do not do something. There is a time and place for everything. Your parents are probably paying good money for your education, do not waste their money because you rather be partying. Learn first then party!

    In three sentences

    I think Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College (ABAC) is a wonderful college to attend because its just a little bigger from your average high school class. We have an open door policy that allows students to visit their professors any time. We also have a 25 to 1 ratio, 25 students to 1 professor.

  • 12/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    it is great the campus police and CA's are very nice and are great.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of clubs and activities such as intramural sports, forestry club, cooners club, and criminal justice club.

    What to do for fun

    Well there is a pool room, a pool, a 24 hour gym, and a tv room. Out in town there are the movies. There are dirt roads to ride. There is also a huge pond you can fish.

    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is ok, but I have to say the places out in town are pretty good too.

    Dorm Life

    I like it a lot; I really can't complain if I have a place to sleep. There are plenty of great people down there.

    Academic Rigor

    Well I will tell you this you have your professors that will help you if you put forth the effort, but then if you don't put forth any effort then you don't have a chance of passing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard, keep your grade point average up, and pass your compass test before you enroll.

    In three sentences

    Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College is an outstanding college. It is a great place to go to learn. Also, has plenty of opportunities and options.

  • 01/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus at ABAC is very safe and has its own personal police force patrolling the campus at almost all times.

    Great for these types of students

    ABAC is the perfect school for anyone interested in agricultural, farming, or animals, but can still be a great school for students who have no interest in these things at all.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition at Abraham Baldwin is pretty reasonable and considering how beautiful the school is and how helpful and supportive the faculty and staff is, you definitely get more bang for your buck at ABAC.

    What to do for fun

    Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College is located in Tifton, which is a rather small south Georgia town whose heart is planted at the intersection of Highway 82 and Interstate 75. At first glance, there doesn't seem to be much to do in Tifton for fun, but it just takes some imagination. ABAC hosts rodeos, musical events, sporting events, etc. that will keep many students busy for the most part. ABAC students also enjoy fishing, hunting, atvs, riding around, going to the bars downtown, and the list goes on. No matter how boring Tifton may seem at first, you can almost always come up with something fun to do.

    Food and Dining

    ABAC offers a few different options whenever it comes to food and dining. A Pizza Hut is located on campus and the dining hall serves a wide range of foods; it has also been rumored that we are also getting a StarBucks on campus too.

    Dorm Life

    I have never personally lived in the dorms, but I know people who have. Lakeside seems to be the dorms that most people have a problem with because they are small and older. On the other hand, the dorms at ABAC Place are really nice and look just like any upper-scale apartment complex.

    Academic Rigor

    ABAC is known for being harder than many other academic institutions, but as long as you study and ask for help whenever you need it, you will be just fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and have a plan for what you want to do with your life.

    In three sentences

    Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College not only offers its students the opportunity to learn on a beautiful historic campus, but the college also offers a diverse range of degree programs in which almost anyone can receive a high quality education. In my experience, ABAC's teaching staff has always been extremely helpful and kind; giving us students the support we need to achieve our academic goals. I would highly recommend Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College to anyone looking for a great place to start their college career.

  • 05/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The police are awesome. All the cops are really friendly and patient. The only thing they do to really hurt the students is the occasional parking ticket.

    Greek Life

    This semester a lot of members of a sorority called Kappa Sigma got caught drinking underage, 30 students in all were arrested in a single night. When the college newspaper reported on the incident members from Kappa Sig and their fraternity counterpart threw away all of the newspapers (they are free and placed out in the open) and made threats of violence against the editors online. I was really angry with them because of this.

    Clubs and Activities

    A lot of the clubs listed on ABAC's website are inactive but there are few good ones. Campus cats and the anime club are interesting and student media is active on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Country People and Agriculture Majors

    Bang for the buck

    When part time professors are only on campus for 2 hours a day and you don't have the opportunity to speak to them outside of class it makes you want to demand a refund at the end of the semester.

    What to do for fun

    Tifton is not the best college town. There is not many things to do for fun so on the weekends everyone goes home and the campus feels dead.

    Food and Dining

    The food is very tasty at first but you soon get tired of eating the same thing everyday.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are just OK. Only having to share a bathroom with one person is nice but there is no real sense of community in these halls.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are very difficult and this is before you get to all the problems with the school that make it worse. Professors take their time grading your assignments so you have no idea how you are doing in the class for the first 9 weeks of school. When the deadline is near for dropping classes you do not have a lot of material to make a decision on.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not come here unless you are an agriculture major. Take your core classes like English and Math at another college first.

    In three sentences

    ABAC is a school that puts quantity before quality. Everything is underfunded, lots of teachers are only part time and the academics are a sad state of affairs. I had a good GPA in high school and ABAC ruined that. Now I am transferring and seeing how these other schools are it just makes ABAC seem even worse.

  • 05/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 49

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus felt safe. I never worried about anything going wrong.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many way to get involved. Many ways to show your school spirit. Not only can you attend games for the campus sports but you can be a part of competitive sports like ultimate Frisbee.

    Great for these types of students

    Easy going, laid back, traditional and non traditional. Pretty much anyone can find a fit.

    What to do for fun

    There are campus activities you can get involved in. You can attend a softball, baseball, soccer, or basketball game.

    Food and Dining

    The food was good. There are many different choices and if you do not want to go to the dining hall, you can easily make something in your dorm.

    Dorm Life

    I think the dorm life was a good experience. You have your personal space and although you share a bathroom with a roommate, it is way better than a public bathroom. There are also entertainment areas and a weight room. The only thing I would complain about is PARKING.

    Academic Rigor

    If you do not study you may or may not pass, it depends on the class and the teacher but for the most part, I found that I did have to put forth more effort than high school. That was to be expected though, this is college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in campus activities. Study when you can and stay motivated. Remember, your GPA is very important.

    In three sentences

    Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College is a great choice for students who are looking for small class sizes, a laid back and inviting atmosphere. There are many student activities and a lot of school spirit among the students. The teachers are easy to contact and post grades in a reasonable amount of time.