Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Adams State University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 9 people found this review useful. 1 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Athletes, Theatre Majors, Music Majors, Any students going into a science related field.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check into all of the scholarships offered through the school, especially if you are planning on living in the dorms. Pay attention to the activities that the school is putting on; They always give out calendars with the events going on so students can keep track. Always keep your syllabus! They could save your life later on!

    Bang for the buck

    Being the most affordable four-year college in Colorado, and offering many scholarships, it is definitely a good choice, especially for prospective students who are hesitant about starting college for the fear that they cannot afford it.

    Am enjoying being here

    While Alamosa doesn't have a lot of activities to keep students busy, the college itself constantly has activities and games going on to keep students active and entertained.

    Am learning a lot

    A good majority of the teachers here are highly qualified to teach the classes they are teaching. The teachers are more interested in helping the students and making sure that they fully learn the material, as opposed to just making the grade.

  • 04/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I am pretty ecstatic about how convenient the cost to go to Adams State is. It really is hard to find a quality college such as this one that has a low cost. ASC is really a hit when it comes to the financial matter.

    Am enjoying being here

    Coming from a the city of Denver, I have never been close to living in such a natural, small town like Alamosa. It is a big change coming from the city but I enjoy being here because there are a lot of outdoor activities to fill the day with.

    Am learning a lot

    I chose to rate my learning experience at Adams State College a four because all the professors that I have had classes with are more than eligible to teach in their fields. I am finding that I learn more everyday than I did back at my high school. I'm thrilled to return to ASC my sophomore year.

  • 03/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    Bang for the buck

    you get what you pay for

    What to do for fun

    again it all depends on 1. if you do sports or clubs and 2. how good an RA you have

    Food and Dining

    it's honestly pretty bad, it'll fill you for a bit but it's not that appitizing and leaves you hungry alot of the time

    Dorm Life

    it's ok, depending on how good an RA you have there could be alot of cool activities to none

    Academic Rigor

    it;s a pretty good edcation but the rigor also deoends on what kind of high school you came from,it's an average education

    Tips for prospective students

    Take general educations first, it really helps you get a taste for everything and it provides a pretty solid basis for your education. Also to avoid getting bored join a club or sport or something, get involved with the school.

    In three sentences

    It's a nice school with a really small close knit community. it's in the middle of no where but the school provides a lot of activities. It's also really great with financial aid.

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for student-athletes and students looking for the intimacy of a small town and school.

    Bang for the buck

    Although tution may be going up due to the change to university status, you will get a lot for your money. What you put in, is what you get out so making the most of it is definitely worth it.

    What to do for fun

    As a small school in a small town, you must be open minded in finding stuff to do for fun. The biggest and most enjoyable experience is attending athletic events. There are numerous sports teams and attending all events are free to students. Going to the nearby Sand Dunes is also a great deal of fun.

    Food and Dining

    You'll always miss those good home cooked meals, but eating in the cafeteria isn't as bad as it sounds. You must keep an open mind and be willing to switch up the options to get quality meals.

    Dorm Life

    New renovations are making living in the dorms much more enjoyable.

    Academic Rigor

    I truly believe that you get out of education what you put into it. Adams State has small classes sizes to help ensure you get one on one attention.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to stay on top of all your academics. This ensures that you can enjoy the great environment of the school has to offer.

    In three sentences

    Adams State is small, but growing, university that offers small classes sizes for a quality education. It has a great atmosphere and environment for both traditional students and student-athletes. Adams State is a great place to set roots to build a better future for oneself.

  • 02/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for as many scholarships as you can and just prepare yourself for the cold.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is pretty good. I came from a school that was less, but comparable to the education and other colorado schools, it is good.

    Am enjoying being here

    Alamosa has its ups and downs. For the most part life around here is good and even though there is not a wide variety of activities people find things to do.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned a great deal here. The teachers are knowledgeable and i actually have been challenged. It's a great thing to be able to ask questions and receive answers quickly and in a matter that i understand.

  • 05/18/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who are looking for a small town feel with an affordable price will prosper here!

    Tips for prospective students

    Even though some classes may seem easy pay attention and stay on track with all of the assignments.

    Bang for the buck

    ASC is one of the cheapest colleges in all of Colorado.

    Will enjoy being here

    While the city of Alamosa isn't very big there is always something fun to do on campus!

    Will learn a lot

    Not only do you learn a lot from the professors but you also learn more about yourself.

  • 09/23/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you don't care about all the hype from the big name universities, and your major has a program here, this could be the perfect college for you. The classes will teach you the subject materail and the student loans will end up being a lot cheaper in the long run.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stock up on the DVDs and take advantage of the on-campus cable. It's usually sunny and windy. In August it's really hot, but it gets cold quickly, really cold. Be prepared for professors to recognize you outside of class, they'll know when you're skipping.

    Bang for the buck

    Still one of the cheapest four year school in the state. And, they're doing a lot of renovations right now on the dorms, apartments, and academic buildings.

    Am enjoying being here

    Alamosa is a small town. But, There are plenty of things to do on campus, like free lectures, movie screenings, and clubs.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes here are taught by real professors, most with PhDs and the classes are small enough to actually ask questions. They learn your name here and care whether or not you understand the material.

  • 03/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always patrol cars around and with calling for the campus police, they get there quickly.

    Clubs and Activities

    As I said before there are plenty of activities as well as clubs on campus!

    Great for these types of students

    Students that like to have control over their schedules and help wherever they need it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Vistas is a resturant on campus that everyone seems to go to. They sometimes have a DJ playing some awesome music there while you eat.

    Bang for the buck

    Compared to most Colleges, Adams is pretty affordable and are great at helping with financial aid if you need help.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of things to do on campus from going to sporting events, to seeing a play. There is always something to do here!

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has plenty of food to choose from as well as a restaurant on campus with burgers, salads, and even steak!

    Dorm Life

    Depending on your room mates, dorm life can be quite relaxing and very homey.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors will definitely keep you busy with homework, yet at the same time it doesn't take long to finish; leaving plenty of time for yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dont slack on signing up for classes! Classes get filled up really quickly here but dont fret. You can always ask for a label to get an extra seat in a class if you really want it.

    In three sentences

    Adams is a great little college full of great professors as well as plenty of help. Everything is within walking distance but also has plenty of parking. Plus there are plenty of activities to do during the school year including; bands, hypnotists, competitions, plays, ect.

  • 03/11/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe campus. If you feel unsafe there are pillars about every twenty to forty feet. Press the button on there and a campus officer will be there within a couple minutes to escort you.

    Clubs and Activities

    I don't do many activities, but we do have a robotics club.

    Great for these types of students

    Business majors

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have a big habit of continuously improving the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Depending on your major, the school can be good.

    What to do for fun

    I mostly sit in my apartment and write programming code or play Tekkit, a modified version of Minecraft.

    Food and Dining

    Since I don't live in the dorms I can't rate the cafeteria. But there is a restaurant on campus in the new football stadium that is good.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    They have a pretty loose academic policy, but you still need to push yourself to maintain academic standing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for the country side.

    In three sentences

    Adams is a nice campus with a great community. they are located in the middle of the San Luis Valley, which has it moments of cold. All in all, it is very enjoyable.

  • 04/03/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 43

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I really liked the campus feel, students seemed to be very connected. Class sizes seemed small and the athletics dept was great

  • 06/18/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is decent. If someone gets alcohol poisoning in the dorms, the hospital is right next to the campus, so the ambulance is here in 0.5 seconds which is good. The campus police are actually pretty decent people. They avoid trying to give students tickets and trouble so they're good.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who love small settings, students born in Alamosa or around it, Students who just want to play sports. Students who are looking for a great Nursing program or students just looking for a very easy school to get into. I would not recommend African-American students though, because the town isn't very welcoming to us.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The football team is always losing. The seems like a tradition to me. Just joking, but there aren't any real traditions or anything on campus. It's pretty dull.

    Bang for the buck

    Seeing that they're raising tuition again, it isn't worth it. The school is broke so tuition will constantly rise. For them to be putting money into a whole new track they could upgrade some different facilities such as the Plachy Fieldhouse, family housing, even some of the academic buildings. It' a SUPER small school. My high school was bigger than this college. My girlfriend is in debt 20K for just 3 years of schooling and I think it isn't even worth it because the school is so small and irrelevant.

    What to do for fun

    Absolutely nothing. If you play a sport, that's the best thing to do. If you like nature then you're set, but it gets old quick. I [played basketball so I was set but if you're from a big city then you're coming to the wrong school. The town sucks, and so does the activities on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food sucks on Saturdays and Sundays. Sometimes they'll have days where they make good food other days are gross.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is good. The RA's mind their own business, so you have your privacy. They've invested a lot of money into re-doing the dorms so they look upgraded and nice. The Rex apartments are super nice, but the old campus apartments could use some serious renovating and so could family housing.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors don't care at all. You do have your very few that care though. VERY FEW.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find a different school to attend.

    In three sentences

    Not a good school at all. In-efficient and unorganized.

  • 10/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    It's a small town, if you want to press your luck, you can go explore The Devil's Playground, but if you want to be outdoors, the Sand Dunes or Wolf Creek is your best bet. There's always people to go skating with. There's also a hookah bar, and plenty of teams and clubs to keep busy though.

    Food and Dining

    Having worked for the Sodexo company which provides the food for the campus, I can say I am not impressed. The new management has made it very difficult to keep good staff employed, and aside from the gluten free food, most of it is very bland, and it's likely you can predict what you'll be eating for the next month.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is pretty easy going. The halls stay fairly quiet (for the most part), and if you are specific enough on your housing application they match you up very well with your roommates. The dorms are in good condition, and are fairly spaceous, depending on the hall.

    Academic Rigor

    All of the fields of study are fairly fast paced, and it's very easy to get behind of you do not keep on top of all your work. Lectures are also fairly fast-paced, and it behooves one to pay attention closely.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start filling out scholarships offered by the school as soon as possible. The deadlines approach quicker than you could imagine and it's important to get your applications and letters of recommendation in as soon as you possibly can; it makes all the difference.

    In three sentences

    Adams State is a small campus. The faculty is very friendly, This is a fantastic learning environment.

  • 10/23/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 43

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Adams is a nice small school. The community is friendly. The students have a lot of school spirit

  • 12/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 14 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None, thank goodness.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Certain program/department groups party hard. Not my kind of folk

    Bang for the buck

    You get what you pay for. Take that anyway you'd like.

    What to do for fun

    Really nothing. You have to be creative.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a tour first, and try to get some insider perspective.

    In three sentences

    It is pretty affordable. But as far as academics, I have seen better. The food is also questionable.

  • 02/03/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 43

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    adams is close and personal in the classes. it is also great for people who like small towns and local fun. i can't wait to go this fall!!

  • 02/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus has a safety feel. i have never had any problems.

    Clubs and Activities

    many activities to pick from, check out the web site.

    Great for these types of students

    if you like the small size call feel, this is the place for you.

    What to do for fun

    i love hiking, biking, reading.

    Food and Dining

    food is great.

    Dorm Life

    i don't live on campus, i commute every day.

    Tips for prospective students

    check out the website.

    In three sentences

    i love the small college atmosphere. professors get to know you on a first name basis. the quality of education for the price cannot be beat.

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    student who want an on line higher education program

    Bang for the buck

    its a great school and very affordable.

    What to do for fun

    i live at home it's an online program.

    Food and Dining

    i live at home it's an online program.

    Dorm Life

    i live at home it's an online program.

    Academic Rigor

    it's hard to balance life, work, and school.

    Tips for prospective students

    great school

    In three sentences

    affordable, great graduate program in a specialize field of higher education, geared towards the working professional.

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    creative and eager

    Tips for prospective students

    keep communication open and you'll be fine.

    In three sentences

    i truly enjoy the classes, instructors and the people.

  • 03/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    the spagetti is the best meal ever but the other dishes are ok. there are always a wide variety of meals to choose from

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are very nice. many of them are newly renovated.

    In three sentences

    the campus here shows a small town atmosphere which is really nice because everyone know everyone. the teachers here are very caring and will help a student out in any way they can.

  • 03/28/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is an adventure activity club, which organizes hiking trips and skiing in the winter, which is great if you enjoy outdoor activities.

    Food and Dining

    I also got to eat in the cafeteria while I was there, the food was mediocre, but they did have options for vegetarians, which was very nice.

    Dorm Life

    When I was there touring I saw the dorms, and they are all newly renovated, it was very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    I have heard from my friend who lives there that it is not extremely challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would say that it is definitely the place for you if you like a small campus environment! The small class sizes are ideal for transition from a high school to a college environment.

    In three sentences

    It is very nice school. The campus is very nice, and I have heard a lot of good things about both the music and business programs. The faulty seems friendly and is willing to help.

  • 05/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Of all the 4 year colleges (soon to be university) this college gets you the most bang for your buck! I really enjoy not having to spend $50,000 a year for my education.

    What to do for fun

    The sand dunes, movie theaters, shopping, and restaurants are all places that you can go for fun. There is an alligator farm about fifteen minutes away. There are always activities going on at the college itself. Bowling is another activity that is just down the street from the college. If you are of age, bars and clubs are here for you to attend on those nights when you feel like dancing/drinking.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't that great, but its not too bad. It's pretty mediocre.

    Dorm Life

    Amazing R.A.'s and R.D.'s. Very strict alcohol/drug policy that helps keep the dorms under control!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have Financial Aid lined out BEFORE you attend. Its hard the first few weeks to get your Fin. Aid. figured out with all the new students. Also, be prepared for classes at all times!

    In three sentences

    I think this college has an amazing choice of degree programs and I love the one-on-one attention you get with the small class sizes.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    What to do for fun

    The sand Dunes are about a half hour drive from campus. There is a movie theater near Wal-Mart. There's a bowling alley that has $1 bowling on Wednesdays. There are a few night clubs that are entertaining. Plus the college itself has an event going on every week.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay. I've noticed that at the beginning and end of the semester, the food is good. The middle of the semester however, the food is always the same and it gets a little boring after a while. The cafeteria should be open 24 hours a day, because some students have classes at night, that run through dinner hours, so they are forced to eat before class, at like 4, and be hungry later. Or eat after class.

    Dorm Life

    I love living in the dorms, yeah it sucks that some people don't follow the quiet hour rules, but other than that, dorm life is superb. Depending on your RA (Resident Assistant), there could be a Hall Event every month.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are more difficult than others or course, but the student to professor ratio is just right so that you can get one on one time with the professor.

    In three sentences

    I enjoy Adams State, campus, though small, always has events going on and students are always friendly towards you. The weather is almost perfect sometimes as well. The professors are always willing to help you, and clarify any material if needed.

  • 06/02/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    23 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    there are many unusual activities such as a mountain bike team and climbing team that you wouldn't find at most other colleges.

    Great for these types of students

    Adams is great for outdoor oriented students they have a program called ASAP which allows you to rent outdoor gear such as mountain bikes, camping gear and many other things just as long as you bring it back in 3 days.

    Bang for the buck

    Adams is around 14 thousand a year and if you have been looking around at colleges that is cheap. the classes are very small and you can talk to your professors at any point so you are able to get more class time then you would at a giant 50 thousand dollar university.

    What to do for fun

    Alamosa does not have many off campus activities except for the movie theatre but on campus there are many clubs and sports to get involved with.

    Food and Dining

    there are many fast food restaurants around town including several on campus ones. this creates many job opportunities for incoming students.

    Dorm Life

    there are many options for campus living. all of the dorms have been newly renovated and they have recently built upperclassmen apartments overlooking the football stadium.

    Academic Rigor

    Adams state is not a hard school to get into, but that does not hinder the quality of the school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus right away and set up an appointment with a financial aid office. they are very helpful to help you find other scholarships and explain everything there is to do about loans.

    In three sentences

    Adams state is a small campus with small class sizes and affordable everything. despite its chilly location the people are very warm and friendly and are very helpful and understanding to get you the help you need.

  • 06/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have campus patrol. But being in a small town to start with crime is low here already.

    Greek Life

    We do not have any here

    Clubs and Activities

    They offer many clubs and activities here and are adding more every year. This year they added Rodeo :)

    Great for these types of students

    Small town people or those looking to get away from the big city.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Summerfest on the Rio in June is a big hit with lots of music, food and fun. The school itself also does fun events monthly around campus like movie night, concerts and many more.

    Bang for the buck

    If you are a in state student you could not ask for anything more. Small town life with the University experience.

    What to do for fun

    We have many fun outdoor activities around Alamosa, like the Sand Dunes or Hooper swimming pool. The Rex also offers lots to do like rock climbing.

    Food and Dining

    With a brand new restaurant about the foot ball field the choices are endless. The food court has more options then town most days.

    Dorm Life

    I have not lived in the dorms but my daughter did. Said it was fun and she meet a lot of new friends. They replace appliances and paint each summer.

    Academic Rigor

    They have every class I need. No need to transfer later.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for small town living without a lot of daily excitement.

    In three sentences

    I love this school. It is close to home and very friendly. Wonderful athletic programs.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    25 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Athletic, people who love the outdoors, people who make their own fun.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends, go to the purple pig etc..

    Food and Dining

    From what i've eaten, it was pretty good. Not great, but good.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very small.

    Academic Rigor

    Several of the programs at Adams State are great!

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip to students is to make sure you have a car and can drive. Also, be prepared for the tiny dorms!

    In three sentences

    Adams state is a great school. I completely fell in love with this school as soon as I walked on the campus. The town, Alamosa, has qualities that you will fall in love with.

  • 09/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe, There is a police station on campus, and a hospital down the street. An RA is always available whenever needed.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs to chose from. These will help you get involved. Intramural sports allow you to continue your high school accomplishments. You can meet new friends and become involved.

    What to do for fun

    Adams State is located in Alamosa, which is know for their Sand Dunes, The Rec center is a great place to work out, rock climb, and play sports. There is a bowling alley in town, movie theater, and swimming pool in town.

    Food and Dining

    Adams State serves a variety of food. The cafeteria is a friendly zone. You are always able to interact with tons of new people.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm rooms are very nice. Co-Ed halls allow you to interact with lots of people. The rooms are extremely roomy.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes here are not difficult at all. The professors are well informed and they teach you everything you need to know. Adams State classes will challenge you, without all the stress.

    Tips for prospective students

    Adams State will help you meet your goals. If you are a little scared about going to college, the people here are very friendly. This college is fairly cheap, and you will be able to get the education you need!

    In three sentences

    Adams has a great variety of people. There are a lot of opportunities to follow your dreams. Adams State feels like home.

  • 10/04/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    27 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Reasonable price for what the school offers!

    Food and Dining

    Makes no difference to me since I have to cook, so it is a plus to have a stove in the dorm!

    Dorm Life

    Does family housing which I am looking for since I have a family to house!

    In three sentences

    From what I Have seen and read about this college I am just blown away. For the size it they have a lot to offer. Plus beautiful pictures of the campus!

  • 11/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I know the campus police and i feel safe, also with a small campus a strong athlete is hardly ever far away. Also with the friend you make you will hardly be alone.

    Clubs and Activities

    Something for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Out-going people who enjoy small class sizes studious behind need help funny athletic

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Library is three stories and finding a good place to study is fun, you never know where you will end up.

    Bang for the buck

    The wonderful teaching staff makes the money worth it, i mean the housing and food is debatable but the staff is amazing and so helpful its worth a little extra.

    What to do for fun

    Clubs, so many clubs. Sports are big here too so there will always be a game of some sort. Also this University is close to nature so hiking and camping is popular.

    Food and Dining

    Its school food, you have to get creative sometimes but as long as you eat somewhat healthy its ok.

    Dorm Life

    Leave your door open when you're in there and you will make TONS of friends. Its hard to keep a constant temperature so beware but the friends you make will be worth it.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes will vary but Gen-Eds can be difficult, time management is the biggest thing needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring a coat... or two. I would also recommend communication skills, with a small student body its best to be out-going and up for anything.

    In three sentences

    It is a helpful, and friendly environment. This is a University prized upon academic excellence. This small student body is very active in sport and the community.

  • 11/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    No Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is always something to do on campus and the more involved you are more enjoyable school will be.

    Great for these types of students

    Athletes, small town people, people that are trying to get away from home, people that enjoy the outdoors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There isn't any I can think of.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost of the schooling is fairly low for what you get. There are also renovations and additions being done every year so it is continuing to get better and better

    What to do for fun

    There are many on campus activities such as intramural sports and concerts and shows. Off campus there are activities such as hiking, climbing, camping, snowboarding, hunting, fishing, and the great sand dunes national park.

    Food and Dining

    There are not very many options in alamosa to eat out. The food on campus is terrible other than the new vistas restaurant that was buit inside Rex stadium (the football stadium) which also has apartments connected to it.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are getting better. They have been newly renovated and there are new campus housing units being built. The best way to enjoy dorm life is find a roommate you enjoy being around. The worst part about the dorm life is the cafeteria.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are not extremely difficult. As long as you go to class and get to know your teachers you should be alright. Many of teachers will give you one on one attention on assignments or questions as long as you ask.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you go to this school expecting to love the town of alamosa you will not enjoy living there. I have been going to Adams state because of the education I am getting as well as the friendships I have made. If you enjoy the outdoors alamosa is a great place. There is snowboarding in every direction, hunting, fishing, camping, hiking and the great sand dunes national park.

    In three sentences

    Is a great university for people that enjoy a small town atmosphere. The school is continuing to grow every year and renovations are being done all the time. It is a great place to meet new people and get a great education with small class sizes so that you get more help from the professors.

  • 12/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel that the campus is very safe with police-notification poles set up in areas that are far from the dorms and people.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a big variety of clubs and activities to join and get involved with. There are clubs that are based solely on volunteer work if that's is what you are interested in. Additionally there are clubs that run and set up social functions and activities around campus and also clubs based on what major you are going into to interact with people with your same interests.

    What to do for fun

    On campus I can play games in The Loft (a game room/chill room) or go to a ball game with friends. There are also other social events on campus like going to the theatre to watch a play.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is fairly good, some days more than others. When I get tired of eating there I can always go the food court or go to Vista's to choose my own meal for the moment using my flexi-dollars.

    Dorm Life

    Although I can't choose who lives down my hall, I think dorm life is a great experience for my first year because it is different and helps by giving me, along with everyone else, a sense of independence and another chance to meet new people and interact on a different level outside of the classroom.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes seem impossible, (depending on what your major is) but I find that they are easier to cope with and get through if I use my resources. i.e. stopping by my professor's office, getting tutoring, or finding better study strategies and habits. I find these challenging courses to be a boost and motivation to stay focused.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know what your priorities are and stick to them because it is easy to stray away from the original goal you had anticipated due to distractions.

    In three sentences

    Adams State University has a very diverse campus. Everyone here is very friendly. Athletics are taken very seriously and are top-notch.

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Alamosa is a small town. Therefore, limits activities for students. However, the leadership team at Adams makes a huge effort to keep the students entertained and involved. They host comedians, plan swimming trips to the local hot spring, and host numerous game nights. They're always encouraging students outside of academics to stay connected and creating that community feeling.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Adams was typical dorm food, yet provided plenty of different options for students. There was the Dining hall, which in my opinion always listened to their customers by changing plates, meals, and always being very professional. The grab n' go was another option for food that Adams provided. This gave opportunity for students in a rush to grab a balanced meal. Another option was the student lead restaurant called Vistas. If the Students wanted more of a restaurant experience, they went here. Vistas gave students a break from cafe and snack food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Adams were pretty luxurious compared to the other college dorm rooms I've seen. The suite set up (which most of the dorms at Adams have) made life easier and didn't seem as trapped as most dorm rooms. I believe that the Adams faculty truly cares about their residents.

    Academic Rigor

    I had amazing professors my first semester of college, and that helped a lot. Every day I was excited and eager to go to class and see what the professors had for us that day. They created a great environment for learning. I was blessed with such an amazing first semester at Adams.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would tell prospective students that Adams is a very close snitched community. This campus is small, but creates that wonderful community feel. The campus is beautiful with views of mountains where ever you look. If you're a student that needs more individual attention, Adams is the College for you. The teachers here really do care about your success and will work with you every way possible to achieve success.

    In three sentences

    The staff is so welcoming. There is always smiling faces waiting to help with questions or concerns. The students are lucky to be apart of a amazing institution.

  • 01/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do on campus and there is activities every weekend that the college does.

    In three sentences

    This school is a very good start if you do not know where you want to go to college. It helps you find your career path. The staff is very friendly.

  • 01/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are the Sand dunes, Hot springs. I rarely find myself bored there is a lot to do around the community and on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria food gets a little old, but its quality food and their is a large variety of food.

    Dorm Life

    Love the dorms, there all recently remodeled and the people are great.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging but the resources to succeed are available.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply and stick it out, dont give up after your first semester.

    In three sentences

    Great place to focus on education with less distractions. Atmosphere is encouraging. Great people. Small town feel is perfect for college athletes.

  • 01/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police right next to the dorms with safety posts located all around campus!

    Clubs and Activities

    So many things to do and such great diversity!!

    Great for these types of students

    EVERYONE!

    What to do for fun

    The sport games are always a blast to attend!! There are many intercollegiate sports to participate in. We have an awesome marching band! Many many clubs! A rec center, and something for everyone!

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria is great and so is the restaurant. If one prefers something else, it is right in town, close to many other places to eat!

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging, but the teachers are great! Nothing is impossible here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study, don't out anything off, and get out and be involved!

    In three sentences

    Adams State University is now bigger and more diverse. Adams State University is a personal school. Adams State University is wonderful for any college student!

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The small selection gets old.

    Dorm Life

    Small and people keep to themselves.

    Academic Rigor

    I like my classes its easy to get from one class to the next.

    In three sentences

    I enjoy the small campus and seeing people that you know more frequent, however coming over as a transfer student was beyond difficult. I was told that I didn't need to attend orientation and then the day before orientation I was told that it is mandatory. The staff is hardly professional, I spent my winter break trying to figure everything out before I transferred and I wasn't informed until three days before move in where I was living, turns out that the address they had for me was wrong even though I called several times to confirm my current address.

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Campus has activities year round. Alamosa has a movie theater, a miniature golf course, and the Great Sand Dunes are 30 minutes away and are beautiful to visit.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining on campus is pretty good. The cafeteria gives a variety of foods. Off campus restaurants are affordable and there are also several fast food chains in town.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life on campus is average. Freshman and Sophomores are required to live on campus. A meal plan is also required with the dorms. They are newly renovated and are nice.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic challenge here is very high. Professors expect top notch work and will help with anything needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Understand that Alamosa is a small town and does not have as much activities to do as a large city. Be prepared to bundle up! Campus is small and is easily accessible.

    In three sentences

    Adams State University is a small campus in a small town. The class sizes are smaller than a normal university and are very rewarding. The Faculty and Staff are friendly and know you by name.

  • 01/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Alamosa police are stationed on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs and activities for every type of person and lifestyle.

    Bang for the buck

    The price of tuition and living on campus is very good for a University.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club. Go to the school sporting events. Go to the Sand Dunes and the Alligator Farm! Also, there is lots of outdoor adventure. Bike riding, hiking and snowboarding.

    Food and Dining

    Very good food - impressed!

    Dorm Life

    Very small rooms. Nothing like in the movies. Plan on cleaning your own room when you move in because they seem to be very dusty. Other students like to talk out in the halls all night so bring ear plugs!

    Academic Rigor

    What you put into it is what you'll get out of it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your paperwork in early so you'll receive a better selection for the housing.

    In three sentences

    ASU has really made me feel welcome in the classroom. I really like all my classes and my professors are great. Everything you need from an educational institution in one location.

  • 01/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    As far as Tuition goes this is one of the cheaper schools to attend and you do get a lot out of the money put into it.

    What to do for fun

    For Fun in this small town we could either go to the movies or bowling. There wasn't a lot to do but with a creative mind there was always something fun to do.

    Food and Dining

    There are some choices to eat at throughout the town of Alamosa, but not as many as many people do like.

    Dorm Life

    I do not currently live in the dorms while I attend college because I do live close by.

    Academic Rigor

    The Academic Rigor is great and it challenges the students.

    Tips for prospective students

    For all incoming students be preparted to study and work hard in college it doesn't come easy.

    In three sentences

    Adams state is a great place to attend college. It challenges every student to reach the best of their ability. This would be a great choice for any student looking for a small town University.

  • 04/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 39 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's a safe small town. Nothing ever goes wrong here.

    Clubs and Activities

    I know of a couple, but I myself am not in any.

    Great for these types of students

    English majors, because the English department is absolutely fantastic.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    People here like to party hard, if that counts as a tradition, but I'm not giving those places away...

    Bang for the buck

    It is absolutely impossible to get scholarships here, so you're basically paying for the entire year by yourself. Granted, tuition here compared to other places is extremely cheap, but they're continuing to raise the cost of everything, so i'm not sure that's going to be true for much longer.

    What to do for fun

    It's a small town, but there are a bunch of things to do if you are creative. The Sand Dunes are close by, and Zapata Falls is always fun to go to.

    Food and Dining

    Sadexo (the food company on campus) is really bad at having things out on time, and refilling things when, or even before they need to be refilled. Also, it seems like every time I go for ice cream, they have not turned it on for the day, which I will forever hold a grudge about. It's just a bunch of bad service and mediocre food.

    Dorm Life

    The other students here do tend to stop going out and doing things in the winter, but as soon as it warms back up, the people are out and fun again. It's sort of like Alamosa goes into hibernation for three months. The RA's are really nice too.

    Academic Rigor

    It's about how I expected College to be.

    Tips for prospective students

    Grab as many coats and windbreakers as you can for the winter, because it gets COLD.

    In three sentences

    The teachers here are awesome. It's a bit small of a town and the people can be hermits at times, so sometimes it gets boring. The food also sucks.

  • 05/21/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    40 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    go to the sand dunes, go to the club join an activity

    Food and Dining

    very rarely do they serve a meal that is actually good and always check you dishes before using them!

    Dorm Life

    Most kids live in the dorm and there is always something going on in the dorms. you'll make a lot of new friends if you just walk around for a bit

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on what type of classes you're taking, they have many different levels

    Tips for prospective students

    Join something. get involved in a sport, join a club, go to the gatherings that the club sets up. The town is small but you can find plenty to do and people to meet on campus if put yourself into something.

    In three sentences

    A small, but close nit school located in southern Colorado. The town of Alamosa may be low-key but the students at ASU are always finding stuff to do. Class sizes and the sports are great and all around it has a great atmosphere.

  • 07/18/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    41 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Generally good, as it is a small campus, but girls have been followed and creeped on before. I don't think there have been many attacks, but just be careful, as you would anywhere else.

    Clubs and Activities

    If you stick with the kids in your major, you've got stuff to do. Otherwise, it's a little hard.

    Great for these types of students

    Sports kids looking for good teams (especially cross country) but a smaller campus with an easier vibe. Any other student with lower expectations and a need for a smaller safer environment.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Richardson Hall is supposedly haunted, and they give ghost tours there. They've also got a Christmas train in town, and the buildings all have some pretty legit architecture. The music building's especially cool.

    Bang for the buck

    Yeah, the education is fairly worth it. It's a little more expensive than some schools, but not too bad.

    What to do for fun

    Like I said, the sports, drama, and music departments are always active. The school has activities going on now and then. The art department puts on shows. It's all very basic, of course. Find some friends and then spend time with them, that's your best bet.

    Food and Dining

    Decent enough, as long as you have no food allergies. If you do, you're going to have a heck of a time getting food.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are good, especially the super suites. It's all pretty comfortable. Drunk people do like to pull down any hall decorations, and sometimes it smells like pot, but overall the dorms are nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Not very high quality academic school, but then, it is small, and accepts a lot of sports kids. The classes will cover what average-low level students need, and I imagine it gets better as you get into higher level classes. First year classes are really boring, though.

    Tips for prospective students

    The showers are backwards. Turn to the cold side for hot water. Some of the lower level classes are really boring, so be prepared for that. The drama and music departments are very active, and the sports are good. There are special dorms in A and D wing of Coronado, super suites, that are more expensive but allow you your own room. Go for them if you can. Jobs on campus are very fun and cool.

    In three sentences

    Adams State is a small but diverse school with a lot of heart. It's generally a safe campus, and thorough in its academics. A lot of great people go there, and it's really a good place to be.

  • 08/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 43

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are some fun little shops downtown and if you have time on the weekend there's the sand dunes. This school itself is the ideal example of having few distractions, though.

    Food and Dining

    It's edible, and the staff are nice. I'm not much of a fan of the meal plans themselves though, you might as well go with the unlimited plan and hope they serve something good.

    Dorm Life

    Most TAs are friendly and the dorms are near dining hall. If there's a knock, it's that the dorm halls won't be particularly quiet during the day.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of my profs have been easy-going folks but they still invite questions and strongly support student learning

    Tips for prospective students

    Avoid the campus police and there'll be much fun to have.

    In three sentences

    The profs are a lot fun. The campus police are as lame as all colleges. Downtown is a nice little walk.

  • 03/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 43

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Sadly there are done. The school is a bit small.

    Great for these types of students

    The campus loves students-athletes. They make up about 20% of the entire student population.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I've never heard of any traditions on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Lots of wildlife near and around the school. It's not uncommon to see a dozen dear relaxing during the day around the school.

    What to do for fun

    During the summer/fall the mountains and being outdoors is ideal for those who love being outside. During the Winter/spring, there trips for skiing and camping all the time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you take the classes you need first and not a class that doesn't go towards some requirement (Gen Eds, Graduation, etc). You can come out with two degrees in 4 years if you stay on track. Just stay on track and take the classes you need first!

    In three sentences

    Great place if you want no distractions and want to focus entirely on the school. I have never had a class bigger than 25 students. The Professors are there to help you succeed!.