Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Adelphi University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/20/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 out of 35 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 1 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Want smaller classes. Teachers who know your name.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved. No matter what your interests are there is some club or group or organization that would be great for you and if you get involved you feel like your part of the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    college is always expensive but Adelphi offers a lot of scholarships and they have many on campus jobs available to students that make tuition more affordable

    Am enjoying being here

    There are a lot of events a on campus and if you put yourself out there and get involved you'll definitely enjoy the school.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are taught differently than they are in high school but its a more open forum that allows you to learn not only from the professors but from the students as well. It takes some getting used to but you do learn a lot.

  • 01/19/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 2 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students that are into there books and do not really care about much social events.

    Bang for the buck

    Any college is expensive, but Adelphi has many scholarships to offer and there is a career center to help students find jobs on and off campus.

    Am enjoying being here

    I don't enjoy the school because of the social scene. The students here lack school spirit and is a heavy commuter school. On the weekends everyone will go home.

    Am learning a lot

    The education here is great. The teachers that I have had so far are helpful and understanding. The work is challenging, but not extreme. If you ever need help, there is the learning center. This center helps students by tutoring them in subjects they need help in or help them write papers.

  • 05/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 8 people found this review useful. 3 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Nursing, Business, Math, Computer Science, Psychology majors and anyone who enjoys being on Long Island.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do well on your AP exams, they pay off dearly.

    Bang for the buck

    With all of the services offered to me the high cost seems very small.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have made many new friends, we have fun, party, and study together. The complete college experience.

    Am learning a lot

    The courses for Math and Computer Science majors / double majors are rigorous and require you to learn the material thoroughly to pass the classes.

  • 02/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 4 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they are sooo there for you! escorts, buses, extra lighting around campus, etc..., they have your back!

    Greek Life

    i haven't joined or pledged but they seem like a very close knit group.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are all kinds of clubs to join, expecially many culture based clubs like black students united, desi club and latin american student organization. adelphi in general is very diverse.

    Bang for the buck

    adelphi is very generous with scholarships, so i think it's a pretty great deal.

    What to do for fun

    tons of people go to clubs thursdays. dublins is a popular choice.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria staff is sweet as pie! the food is pretty good too, and they have plenty of vegetarian and gluten-free options.

    Dorm Life

    i don't live there but the weekends are practically dead, since this is mostly a commuter school.

    Academic Rigor

    manageable. just try to get a teacher with a good rating on ratemyprofessors.com. trust me.

    Tips for prospective students

    classic mistake- don't have class every day. i'm a freshman and i only have class 3 days a week. you have power now! also, if you're not a morning person, don't pretend to be. i have 8am class because i love busy mornings and lazy afternoons :)

    In three sentences

    in the end, it is what you make of it. adelphi really tries hard to make students feel welcome. the parties are not crazy, but again, you can make them fun for you.

  • 10/22/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 6 people found this review useful. 5 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Adelphi is RIDICULOUSLY expensive. Dorming in a two person bedroom without airconditioning is $5,000 a SEMESTER. It's unbelieveable. They keep renovating buildings, and adding this and that, but what they need to do is fix the things they already have. Yea, the campus is pretty and some of the free stuff (that we really pay for in tuition) is great, but there are still alot of quirks to fix. Improve the quality of the food, the conditions of the dorm buildings and actually FILL all the dorm buildings before you go and build a new dorming hall! Financial aid, in my experience, also doesn't seem to be incredibly helpful half the time. We're college students, we're broke, and we're frustrated and want to get through school in one piece. Atleast be nice to us and show us that you ARE trying your best to help us. Hey, we're paying you enough for that.

    Am enjoying being here

    Some of the reasons that I love Adelphi is that I love some of my professors, I love some of my classes, and I've made great friends here. The thing that sucks is that Adelphi doesn't have much school spirit, not that many people show up to events on campus, and the campus is a ghost town on the weekends - everyone goes home. If more people stayed on the weekends and there was more to do, I'd stay too. The dining halls are OKAY, but the food gets really repetitive after a while and I get sick of it, but that probably happens with most colleges anyway. Overall I feel like I'm getting a pretty good experience there, but there are definitely things that I wish were different.

    Am learning a lot

    Not all classes or professors are great, but I am happy to say that in some classes, I actually do feel like I'm learning something and I'm getting my money's worth out of it. I've had quite a few great teachers that make learning fun and actually do what they're supposed to do - they're helpful and they inspire you to learn more and try hard.

  • 06/01/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 6 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Small classes. Close enough to the city yet in a town setting.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be involved. Commit to your studies. Communicate with the professors and with the other students. Speak up if you need help.

    Bang for the buck

    Adelphi University puts a lot of effort to make sure a student receives a reasonable amount of financial help; whether it is a loan or scholarships.

    Will enjoy being here

    I hope I will enjoy my college experiences over there. I do think being involved in clubs I am interested in will help greatly in making new friends and expanding my knowledge.

    Will learn a lot

    The courses and majors appear to be rigorous and challenging yet doable. If I give my best effort and put in hard work into the courses, I will learn.

  • 11/18/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Adelphi is great for any type of student. Adelphi has a STEP program for education majors which allows studetns to recieve their masters degree in education in five years. They have a similar program for nursing and social work. Adelphi is an accredited business school. We are division one for men's soccer, and division two for the rest of our sports. Our woman's lacrosse team has been champions for three years in a row. Almost every building on campus is commuter friendly and there are commuter assistant programs to make commuters feel welcome on campus. Residents also have programs like this on campus. Basically every major is offered at Adelphi. There are clubs and organizations for every individual on campus. Adelphi has something to offer for everyone.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students most definitely should go on a tour of the school. Adelphi was my second choice school until I went on a tour of the school. Learning about Adelphi and seeing everything that would be available to me at the school changed my mind. On top of all of that the campus is extremely beautiful. When applying for Adelphi make sure you provide every singe activity and volunteer work you were involved in. The school might consider you for a recognition scholarship. Also in the activities that you are involved in try to gain a leadership position.

    Bang for the buck

    Adelphi is a private school which means it is more expensive than state schools, but they offer scholarships to most students and are generous with fiancial aid. Between financial aid and scholarships I pay less than I would for a state school.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am currently a commuter student and I spend every second I possibly can on campus. Since I love Adelphi so much I am actually going to become a resident next semester. There are always things to do on campus. We have clubs, organizations and greek life on campus. I am currently excited for the Holiday party which involves Build-a-Bear, a snow hill for sledding, and a dj.

    Am learning a lot

    The average class size is 21. The teacher to student ratio is 11 to 1. This is why the professors are able to give students specialized attention. Professors want their students to do good. The course work is manageable and paying attention in class makes the homework easy. Teachers are always available for office hours and will help with any understood work or revising a paper.

  • 05/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Accounting Society, Finance Society, Desi Club, Hellenic Society, Latin American Student Organization, Black Students United, Circle K, Student Activities Board, Commuter Student Organization, Future Teachers Association, Ballroom Dance Club, Badminton Club, Soccer Club, Muslim Student Association, Christian Youth Association, Greek Life

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and organizations active on campus that regularly have events. During every Monday of each week, we get an e-mail about upcoming events for the next two weeks. Some things include dance workshops, build-a-bear events, international foods and dancing festivals, fashion shows, carnivals, and free massages during finals week.

    Food and Dining

    Adelphi's campus provides various types of food, which is especially good for picky eaters. We have a buffet, native spice center, pizza shack, wrap-it-up corner, and burger and fries place. During the spring semester, our taco shop outdoors also becomes available for students.

    Dorm Life

    Although I am a commuter, many of my friends dorm. Students enjoy dorming because they are able to participate in activities that occur at night on campus, and they are able to become close to the people they live with. Many of the times when students go back home for the weekend, they take their roommate with them because of the close relationship they have developed with the roommate.

    Academic Rigor

    Many scholarships are awarded to students and Adelphi does this because each scholarship has a certain GPA requirement that must be maintained. This encourages students to work to the best of their abilities to keep the scholarship and I feel that the faculty members at Adelphi always promote scholarship in the classroom.

    Tips for prospective students

    If planning to attend Adelphi, come with a welcoming personality! People are always introducing themselves to others which builds strong friendships at the end. Take advantage of all the activities on campus because you will learn more about yourself and about others.

    In three sentences

    Adelphi provides a safe and comfortable environment for all its students. Students are motivated to learn more, participate in activities, and gain leadership experience through various events. I believe that this school would be a perfect fit for any student interested in attending.

  • 07/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who consider college a stepping stone to a fun, productive career. Not for students who want to live off their parents' money while they put off getting a job and becoming functioning adults.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to get into the Honors College; not only do you gain access to some of the best, most thought-provoking classes, but also to several amenities (free printing!). If you don't want to take the extra 35+ credits or didn't get the grades/test scores in high school, console yourself with the amazing fine arts resources (brand new Performing Arts building) and the state-of-the art laboratories in the science building basement.

    Bang for the buck

    Adelphi University is expensive - for some of my friends, prohibitively so - and the college only permits a student 17 credit hours a semester for roughly $14,000 in tuition. They are also rather stingy with grants and loans.

    Am enjoying being here

    Professors are always friendly and often willing to spend personal time with students who need a hand or who simply want to talk. I can't say that I'm enjoying the Long Island accent, but all of my friends are pretty much the best!

    Am learning a lot

    Advanced biology, chemistry, mathematics, and physics courses are both challenging (sometimes frustratingly so) but you always, always learn something both interesting and useful. Courses offered for the Honors College are also great.

  • 08/14/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    nursing, physical education, art, drama, and education majors, students worried about acclimating to college life easily, those afraid of residence life, and commuter students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you know exactly where you want to go before you accept any school's letter. The most important thing, regardless if it is at Adelphi or not, is to be happy where you go and to feel like you belong. Adelphi is definitely a good place for that because it is a small school and much easier to get used to than a massive state school.

    Bang for the buck

    I would say that you get exactly what you pay for. The professors are knowledgable, the campus is beautiful, and the facilities are great. The brand new fields, stands, recreation center (with a brand new gym and new equipment), and the new residence hall are all great additions and are totally worth the tuition to have.

    Am enjoying being here

    The way to enjoy yourself at Adelphi is to get involved. If you are not involved in college, there is no way that any school will be enjoyable. I am involved in Greek Life and several other clubs including Student Activities Board and a community service club. The best part is: every club gives you something free!

    Am learning a lot

    Most of the professors know what they are talking about, but some (like at many schools) do not know how to get it across to students. All of the professors I have had love to set aside time to make sure that you understand what is going on in class.

  • 12/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in as many activities and take as many ap and college credit classes as you can to fulfill an general education requirements that way you can focus on the courses required for your major and courses you find interesting. Also get a job that way you have experience when you want to apply to an on-campus job.

    Bang for the buck

    I'm broke because of tuition

    Am enjoying being here

    I love Adelphi. The most of the people are nice and really polite. There's so many activities to get involved in and always something going on around campus.

    Am learning a lot

    Most of the classes are really interesting but you really have to do a lot of work on your own, especially if you're taking any science courses

  • 06/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Performing arts students, dancers, actors, musicians ect.

    What to do for fun

    I go into New York City with friends to see Paul Taylor Dance Company and other dance company shows

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply on time or early and schedule a campus visit. The campus is absolutely beautiful and helps in deciding if this is the school for you.

    In three sentences

    Adelphi offers personal academic scheduling with an advisor for your specific major. The class sizes are small making it easy to have one on one discussions with the professors. There are many opportunities on and off campus to get involved with performing arts, community service, Greek life and pretty much anything you can think of to do.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus is very safe. There is always a public safety officer checking each residence hall numerous times a day. They are all mostly retired police officers or someone from that industry. They work 365 days and 24/7. That means they are there even during the holidays. We have blue boxes across campus and you can see at least one from wherever you are standing. These blue boxes have an emergency button on it and a public safety officer will arrive in 90 seconds. As for health insurance, the school provides them unless you waive it with your own insurance. If a student is in need of medication, the doctor on campus can prescribe it and the student does not need to leave campus to go get it because it gets delivered to Adelphi. In case if emergencies, Adelphi can provide a ride to the nearest hospital, Winthrop Hospital.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life definitely plays a role here on campus. A lot of people end up joining one frat or sorority. Some might join more than one if they plan on being in a social one and a formal one for their major. We have Kappa Sigma, Phi Sigma Kappa, Pi Lambda Phi, Zeta Beta Tau, and Lambda Upsilon Lambda as social fraternities. As for sororities we have, Delta Delta Delta, Phi Sigma Sigma, Delta Phi Epsilon, Alpha Epsilon Phi, Alpha Kappa Alpha, Delta Gamma, Delta Sigma Theta, Sigma Delta Tau, Sigma Lambda Upsilon, and Swing Phi Swing. The professional business fraternity (co-ed) is Delta Sigma Pi.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are over 80 clubs on campus so that is too much to name, but I am a part of Circle K, which is a branch of Kiwanis. The objective of this club is to do community service, attend service projects, and similar activities like that. I'm also a part of the Chinese Scholars Students Association, where it was founded by the international Chinese students of our school. The last activity that I'm in is the school symphony orchestra. There are other clubs like the Muslim Student Association, Student Government Association, Students Activites Board, Residence Student Association, an African American club, an Anime Club, and lots more. We also have Division I men's soccer. All other sports at this school are Division II, which are women's soccer, men & women lacrosse, men & women swimming, tennis, basketball, and more.

    Great for these types of students

    These majors are very good at Adelphi: Nursing Physics/Engineering Education Business Psychology Social Work

    Bang for the buck

    Adelphi is pretty expensive because it's a private school but they offer a great academic scholarship if you did well in high school on top of a scholarship for being a certain major. If that is still not enough, apply to private scholarships and get a campus job. When you apply for FAFSA, make sure you put down Federal Work Study. This helps you find a campus job quicker. If you become an RA on campus, rooming/dining becomes free, which is a huge chunk off your bill. If that is still not enough, then you would have to take out loans. Subsidized > Unsubsidized

    What to do for fun

    Like I mentioned earlier, getting involved on campus. Whether it be clubs /activities or a campus job, they can all be fun. A lot of students here like to be part of Greek Life, which are fraternities and sororities. There are social and non-social ones. The non-social ones for example would be the Business or Nursing greek life. Off campus, there is a train station 10 minutes away by walk and a lot of students take it straight into Manhattan for some city fun. Around Garden City, there are also restaurants and food places where people go for if they don't want to eat on campus. Roosevelt Field Mall is a shuttle bus ride away. Adelphi provides transportation to the mall, Stop&Shop, Target, Wal-Mart, Mineola Train Station, Nassau Blvd Train Station, and the Hempstead Bus Terminal. We're very lucky to have a selection of transportation just in case students don't have their own.

    Food and Dining

    The food provided for this campus is from the company called Lackmann. Our main cafe consists of a salad bar, Cheeburger Cheeburger Express, Native Spice (homestyle food), Chef's Corner (something different everyday), Mulberry Street (pizzeria), and Wrap it Up (wraps/sandwiches). We also have a second main dining hall where it's All-You-Care-To-Eat buffet style. Other small locations are Taco Stop, Legend's Cafe, Convenience Store, and Underground Cafe. Taco Stop is like another Taco Bell, Legend's Cafe has smoothies and healthy foods, Convenience Store is Adelphi's version of Seven Eleven, and Underground Cafe serves Starbuck's Coffee.

    Dorm Life

    This is something to be taken advantage of. If you have the chance to live on campus, you should definitely do it at least for one semester or year just for experience. This gives the students a sense of freedom. For me, being away from home was relaxing. This is better than me commuting by train every morning and evening. Plus, living on campus means students should get more involved with clubs since all buildings are only a few minutes away from each other. Residential life also gives opportunities to make more friends within your hall and get involved in resident activities or just eating together in the lounge.

    Academic Rigor

    The most kids there will be in a class room would be 40-50. Adelphi provides smaller classrooms so students can have a better relationship with their professors. The professors here will know all their students by their name since the average class size, 21, is very small. Students can ask questions when something troubles them. Every professor has different grading policies but most of them here are pretty fair with their grading system.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you are making your schedule for college courses, make sure to put them at times where they are convenient for you. I'd rather not have classes in the morning or on Fridays. I was very lucky to achieve that for next Fall, but this doesn't always happen the way you want. If you are going to be living in a residence hall, make sure you are on good terms with your prospective roommate by setting standards. If you can't get along within two weeks, make sure to switch to another room. One last thing is the most important. Since it is college, everyone should enjoy it. If you want to be part of something, join it, take initiative. No one will be there to tell you what to do and when to do it. Don't be one of those kids that just goes to class, grab some food, and go home/back to your room. This is a time for self-motivation and thinking for yourself. Hope this helps!

    In three sentences

    Adelphi University isn't just a small campus, it's also a small community. This is a place where professors will actually know students by name and not just a number. Students have a diverse amount of activities/clubs to join and lots of wonderful nice people to meet here.

  • 08/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun I joined a sorority and get involved in as many greek events as possible.

    Food and Dining

    The food at adelphi is very good. If given the opportunity I would suggest going to Post Hall for all you can eat breakfast.

    Dorm Life

    I cannot give an accurate depiction of the dorm life here since I do not dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The school definitely challenges the students to reach their true potential.

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students I would say get involved as much as possible. There is a lot to offer at Adelphi.

    In three sentences

    Adelphi University is an excellent school that provides personal attention unlike bigger universities. The school is equipped with an amazing gym that supports physical fitness. The school is also proud to help their students get into internships.

  • 01/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You will always feel safe here. The staff and crew is very protective and are always willing to help.

    Greek Life

    There are many sororities and fraternity's that you can be a part of. These people can become your closest friends for life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Get Involved because that will connect you more with the school. The clubs and activities are a great way to meet new people and expand your learning and skills. Adelphi has over 100 clubs that you can join. There are clubs for community service, honor societies, culture, faith, dance, athletics, and much more.

    Great for these types of students

    Nursing or Education majors

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is beautiful. There is a an underground part in the University Center that you can go to relax, eat, and watch t.v. between classes. It is great for those who commute.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is great in terms in education but the tuition and fees are a little too expensive. The financial aid helps out, but it is still a lot of expense.

    What to do for fun

    Join sororoties & fraternities, go to the indoor swimming pool or the gym for recreational activities. There are also events that happen on the weekends from time to time.

    Food and Dining

    There are not many options and the food is overpriced. A bottle of water alone is about $2.00.

    Dorm Life

    meet a lot of people and make some friends.

    Academic Rigor

    the courses are challenging and force you to think critically.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for something new. Try to make a few friends in each class and get involved in clubs or greek life.

    In three sentences

    Adelphi is a great school set in a beautiful town in Long Island, NY. There is an excellent program for education (STEP). The classrooms are very small and compact and the professors are very helpful.

  • 01/04/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security are always present and always keep the place in safe serenity.

    Greek Life

    It is offered and they are highly patriotic of their respective clubs. It seems like a massive distraction from the schoolwork but then again, it exists in full swing and many people do get involved in it.

    Clubs and Activities

    The glue of the school, the shining pearl of what is offered here. Classes are classes, a Diploma is a diploma. You are the one who makes a degree count with your time and effort, and this school lets you do that with freedom.

    Great for these types of students

    dedicated studious students, ambitious and serious minded athletes, international students seeking a small but effective private University, and good kids and achieving nerds who want to socialize with intelligent company.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I'll do way better then that, I'll ask you to find all of your own. Its a beautiful place to explore.

    Bang for the buck

    Very very expensive school, BUT if you ask for it, they will give it. I was flown to Ohio and paid to stay a weekend to enter a tournament for debate. This school asks for a lot of money upfront, but if you want to do anything at all, they take care of you.

    What to do for fun

    Anything and everything, but don't get lazy. This school has everything you could want, need, or desire. Unfortunately, that includes a beautiful campus and a whole lot of good people to do nothing with. If you keep active with your hobbies and interests, you will excel and enjoy them more then ever.

    Food and Dining

    A buffet is offered which is quite reasonable and there are quite a few other eating options offered on the campus. The sandwiches, pizza ,and a few other options are disgusting though.

    Dorm Life

    Many entertaining stories, great diversity in the school to broaden horizons, very nice campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Many of the Professors took their classes very seriously and were dedicated to teaching, although some seem to slip into the University who seem to teach as a hobby, apathetic to the integrity of their subject. Most of them are very very efficient though.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are going to live on campus, don't waste the opportunity; get involved in many organizations. If you intend to treat this college like a joke or party opportunity, you will likely find yourself falling far behind. Keep your head straight and this school will take you far, or at least help you get there.

    In three sentences

    Adelphi University offers a competent staff who is inclined to truly help and teach. The campus is beautiful and small, ideal for a laid back but studious atmosphere. The tuition price is rather high, if you aren't willing to get involved, then attend elsewhere.

  • 01/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public safety is incredible. They are on campus and available around the clock. They give out their number during orientation and ask you to put it in your phone so it's easy to get a hold of them in case of an emergency. They have checkpoints on campus that they must go to while they are patrolling, and there are little solar-powered poles with a button to push if you are in trouble or if you just feel uncomfortable and would like someone to escort you back to your hall. This campus has hardly any crime or vandalism so it is very safe and the campus is lit even at night so students aren't fearful of being out after dark. I'd give ten stars for this if I could.

    Greek Life

    We have, thirteen Greek organizations, I'd like to say. As a freshman, you are not allowed to join until you're second semester because the school and the organizations want you to settle in and focus on your grades for a semester. Two of my sophomore friends pledged this past semester, and it's competitive and time-consuming to get in, but they said they really enjoyed it.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have pretty much everything. I remember that on my tour of the school, my tour guide told me about the school fencing club. And if there isn't a club for what you're interested in, it's incredibly easy to start one.

    Great for these types of students

    If you're open, if you're versatile, if you love to be active in your community, if you want a close-knit community. If you enjoy professors who enjoy working with their students. If you need or like hands on work.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There aren't a lot of campus wide traditions, but every department has a few, and every club has a few. For instance, I'm a theatre major with a concentration in technology, and every year in the tech department the freshman go into the prop room and find a bunch of Christmas decorations, and we decorate the theatre for our annual Christmas party. Such a great bonding experience for all the freshman.

    Bang for the buck

    The staff at this school are very good at encouraging students to use all the available resources. Residence halls put on programs, the food employees will tell you that you have enough money left on a meal swipe to get a candy bar so you don't waste it. You have a free membership to the gym on campus. Free tutoring, access to counselors if you're having trouble in or out of school, access to a writing center, and a learning center. Not to mention all your professors are out in their field, and most of them will take you out there for a taste of it too.

    What to do for fun

    Well, ladies and gents. If you're a resident on campus, RAs and Mentors will run programs every week. These range from decorating the hall, to making food, watching movies, and playing games. Not to mention their are a bunch of clubs that have activities running all the time. We have tons of community service available, if you get in touch with the right people, and a performing arts center that always has a concert or show on. The beach is about 25-30 minutes away, and the mall is about 10 minutes away. The mall is huge and has a movie theater on the opposite end. And the train is just down the road for anybody wishing to venture into New York City.

    Food and Dining

    There are a few options for dining. We have a traditional all you care to eat dining hall....some days it's good, and other days you can't identify the food. Breakfast is a meal you will never have a problem with, and as a bonus depending on your meal plan you can get free brunch on Sunday. There is also a grilled cheese stand which is phenomenal and I highly recommend. You can build your own grilled cheese sandwich. The other option for dining is the University Center. The University Center has five stalls which all offer different types of foods. There is Picantes which is a burrito place, a wrap stand for sandwiches, Cheeburger Cheeburger which specializes in burgers, chicken fingers, and fries, a pizza place, and a stand that changes it's food item everyday (it ranges from wings, to chinese, to waffles topped with fruit). There is also sushi, salad, and ready-made sandwiches for people in a pinch. Kosher is available as well. The UC is usually the most popular place for students to eat as the food is typically much better than the traditional dining hall.

    Dorm Life

    For the most party, the residence halls are quiet. There are seven of them, and two are primarily for Juniors and Seniors. For my first year I chose to room in Eddy Hall because it offers a unique mentor program for incoming freshman to help us adjust to college life and keep us on our A-game. Residence halls are dry, meaning no alcohol, but naturally there are plenty of students who drink in the residence hall, and many more who come back from drinking elsewhere.

    Academic Rigor

    After my first semester, I wouldn't say any of my classes were difficult. I would say the content is challenging, but most of the professors are highly interested in their students and their class so the classes are in a way fun. The only difficult thing about them is balancing the workloads because there is a lot of work involved depending on your classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    The staff wants you to study something you're passionate about. So do it. Pick something you love to study, and professors will recognize your attitude, and internships and jobs will open up for you.

    In three sentences

    Adelphi is a close-knit school featuring numerous experts in their fields of study, and with that a number of opportunities for students to engage in their field in a working environment. Highly professional atmosphere and home to some of the most active and hardworking students out there.

  • 01/25/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus seems secure at all times. I always see security around. I have never heard or seen any incidents.

    Clubs and Activities

    Theres a decent amount of clubs on campus. Of course, you have to get involved. College is what you make of it.

    Bang for the buck

    Adelphi, as with all private institutions, is expensive. Yet, they can be VERY generous towards accomplished students. Do decent on your SATs, do some community service, and they can be very good to you with scholarships. They will go out of their way to get high ranking students.

    What to do for fun

    You will probably notice that the biggest complaint about Adelphi is the social life. It is somewhat dismal. Not too much goes on on-campus. There are some events from time to time and the university does make an attempt to plan fun things to do. The bottom line is if your looking for a crazy wild college experience, Adelphi probably isn't for you. With that said, its what you make of it and its not THAT bad.

    Food and Dining

    The food is decent but gets old very fast. They don't really change it that much. I feel like it is also overpriced, watch your meal plan and you will be fine.

    Dorm Life

    For the most part the dorms are nice. Nothing spectacular, but comfortable. Most halls make an attempt to plan activities and such but for the most part your on your own as far as entertainment.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of my classes I have found easy, sometimes a little too easy, yet at the same time I do feel like I am learning something. As I progress, my classes are getting a little more challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan ahead financially. This just doesn't go for Adelphi. For any university you should make sure you can afford it year after year. Explore scholarship options as well.

    In three sentences

    All in all I have enjoyed my start here at Adelphi.

  • 08/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you like quiet settings but love to be near some action.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep track of your Meal Plan money & get involved!

  • 11/27/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who thrive in small classes and who are willing to get to know their professors very well! Also great for those who are not afraid to ask for help -- you'll always get it!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know the heads of your department! They are all extremely friendly and want to help you any way they can! Also, if you can, apply for their honors college! They have a great program!

    Bang for the buck

    They give a lot of scholarships and really want you to succeed! As I mentioned before, I shadowed some of the big lecture classes.. less than 50 people and the professors knew everyone's name! Not to mention the campus is beautiful! They also give a lot of merit and need based scholarships, so make sure you check those boxes when you apply!

    Will enjoy being here

    The campus is beautiful and the people are very friendly! I would have loved to attend here, but due to some family misfortunes, I was unable to attend an out of state school.

    Will learn a lot

    When I shadowed, the classes were extremely small, which is nice because it means no one will get left behind! When I shadowed, I felt like I learned something, and the professor was more than willing to help me!

  • 11/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students interested in a small community would definitely enjoy it here. If you are looking for raging parties every night of the week or a huge crowd at the sports game every weekend, you won't find that here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you get involved. There are so many different clubs, intramurals, and sports teams to become apart of. Your college experience at Adelphi is only as great as you let it be and getting involved is extremely important, looks good, and a lot of fun.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, it does sound expensive at first - but Adelphi gives their students plenty of opportunities to earn scholarships or apply for campus jobs. Also, Adelphi is filled with facilities and services that are at no charge to you. Services you would normally have to pay for, such as the gym, tutoring, test prep courses, job resource help, just to name a few - are included in tuition.

    Am enjoying being here

    There are different activities and events going on everyday that are sometimes really fun. Its also a great way to meet new people.

    Am learning a lot

    Not all the classes I am taking necessarily pertain to my major, so I am able to learn a lot of new and different things I was never exposed to before.

  • 12/03/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    22 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Not sure.

    Tips for prospective students

    College is great-check out the different options that's available to see if you will like a specific college.

    Bang for the buck

    Eh, I would rather attend a trade school for another major.

    Did enjoy being here

    It was okay, I didn't feel too welcomed though.

    Did learn a lot

    The professors give you a lot of information (like any other school's professors would).

  • 01/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    soriority

    What to do for fun

    spend time with my family and friends.

    Food and Dining

    eat at home

    Dorm Life

    live at home.

    Academic Rigor

    final week is tough.

    Tips for prospective students

    work hard to get good marks. go the extra mile

    In three sentences

    its great, small classes. good teachers

  • 02/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there is always public safety patrolling as well as emergency buttons close to each step one takes.

    Greek Life

    very popular, a lot of fraternities and even more sororities - both social, business and even medical.

    Clubs and Activities

    a lot of opportunities for every taste!

    Great for these types of students

    - who like not very big but not very small schools - who want to be surrounded by good people and have calm college campus life

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    a starbucks cafe

    What to do for fun

    go to the various cafeterias, dorms, gym or just around the campus.

    Food and Dining

    could be better. it is good but when you eat it everyday it can become too much of it.

    Dorm Life

    lots of fun and interesting experience.

    Academic Rigor

    depending on the teacher and the classmates, there is competition but sometimes not as big as needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    apply at the honors college or the lgs program. be involved in campus life. ask questions!

    In three sentences

    pretty campus with good atmosphere. good professors always available to help. great opportunities to meet different people.

  • 02/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 60

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    adelphi university is a great school, i love it because it is a very small school where you can have a relationship with your professors. although it is a small school trying to find parking on campus can be a hassle especially if you have afternoon classes, but they do offer parking at the garden city pool where they pay you for it. there are a plethora of activities that you can become a part of so that you can get involved on campus, although the food there can be better it is an overall good school.

  • 03/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    safe

    Clubs and Activities

    best clubs and social life

    Great for these types of students

    nursing, preforming arts

    Bang for the buck

    there are better schools for cheaper, i wish i would have went somewhere a little more afforable

    What to do for fun

    there are many clubs to join, which i think is the great part.

    Food and Dining

    food is very expensive3

    Academic Rigor

    difficult but the teachers are very helpful and they want you to do well.

    Tips for prospective students

    work hard, and don't go and party too much, meet great friends and you will have a great 4 years

    In three sentences

    hard work, great people, success future

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is great. I feel very safe staying at the campus no matter where I am and what time of the day it is. I always feel safe.

    Greek Life

    They do have sororities and fraternities. However, Greek Life does not house on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    They offer over 80 clubs and organizations and it is very easy to start your own club if you wanted to.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for any type of student. Especially great for students eagerly looking to get involved.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The University Center is a big hang out spot on campus. There also is the Underground Cafe which is my favorite place on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    It is an expensive school but to me, it's worth every penny. It is a great experience and a perfect little private school.

    What to do for fun

    The city is just a half hour away by train and it is very easy to get to the train station. There is also always an event going on in the University Center and usually an event going on in the residence halls every night.

    Food and Dining

    They are always changing the food. There's always a new option everyday so you're not always eating the same food everyday.

    Dorm Life

    It is a big commuter school, but there is a lot going on throughout the week in the residence halls. You just have to look out for advertisements for the residence hall events.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are great. They really try to get to know you on a personal level.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a prospective student, make sure you get involved right away and try to get a job on-campus as soon as you get there.

    In three sentences

    Adelphi is an aesthetically beautiful campus and offers a lot of involvement for their students as well as a lot of opportunities for on-campus employment and career opportunities for after graduation.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    ALTHOUGH I DO NOT LIVE ON THE CAMPUS THE SCHOOL IS VERY INFORMATIVE OF SAFETY CONCERNS ON THE CAMPUS AND WILL CONTACT EVERY STUDENT VIA EMAIL OR UTILIZE AN AUTOMATIC VOICE MAIL SYSTEM TO UPDATE STUDENTS.

    What to do for fun

    I ENJOY TIME WITH MY FAMILY ESPECIALLY MY SONS.

    Food and Dining

    I TRAVEL WITH MY FOOD FROM HOME.

    Dorm Life

    I DO NOT LIVE ON THE DORM.

    Tips for prospective students

    THE PERSON TIP I COULD GIVE AN STUDENT IS TO STAY THE COURSE AND BE READY TO MAKE SACRIFICES.

    In three sentences

    ADELPHI UNIVERSITY IS A GREAT SCHOOL! AT ADELPHI SCHOOL OF SOCIAL WORK I HAVE LEARNED A LOT ABOUT MYSELF, MY FAMILY, AND MY COMMUNITY. I LEARNED TO FOCUSED ON THE PERSON NOT THE LABELS OR STIGMAS THAT SOCIETY PLACED ON US.

  • 07/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Adelphi offers a variety of events for students on campus and plus they have a shuttle bus that goes to and from the mall on the weekends

    Food and Dining

    The food at Adelphi isn't HORRIBLE but its not something I would want to eat all year long. BTW The UC cafe is wayyy better than Post Hall food. the also have a decent variety of foods.

    Dorm Life

    Honestly I don't feel like the dorms at Adelphi are as great as they can be . The walls are thin(so you can hear what your neighbor is doing) and if you live in Earle hall the laundry room is ALWAYS under construction or the machines are just plain broke!

    Academic Rigor

    Adelphi takes there professors serious, if you complain to the chair about a professor they actually will take the complaints to the professor and try and work something out.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused on your studies. The campus offers a lot of services for students so its hard to get bored on campus.

    In three sentences

    Beautiful campus and people are friendly. very quiet and serene.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    30 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is reliable, there are outside telephones for emergencies and constant security as you enter the campus

    What to do for fun

    For fun there are many clubs and groups to join.

    Food and Dining

    Food, during orientation was good, I am not sure if it is the same food that will be provided during the school year, but they accomidate to anyone's dietary need.

    Dorm Life

    Life on dorms or otherwise known as resident halls present ways for the halls to become a community rather then an apartment building.

    Academic Rigor

    Honestly i do not know how to rate this yet, I am currently in my summer, transitioning to my freshman year.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend orientation, you meet new people, orientation leaders who become friends and help out .

  • 07/21/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    31 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Easy as pressing a button, come right a way in a matter of seconds.

    Greek Life

    There is a bunch of Greek life , located on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    All types of clubs and activities are available too choose from.

    What to do for fun

    Sports, parties, clubs, student involvement, volunteer work, events held on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Food tastes great. Everything you possibly would want is located on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is amazing, easy going, come and go as you please.

    Academic Rigor

    Is important, high expectations are expected of you to do for you. No one will be hanging over you too do what you have to do. Pick classes you want to take.

    Tips for prospective students

    The orientation foe incoming freshman is amazing. Getting involved on campus is important for yourself as a persona and growing overall. The food here is actually good and tasty. Dorm sizes are great. New Halls A and B are the nicer dorms on campus.

    In three sentences

    This school is amazing.With a small campus and many involvement opportunities along with small class sizes this school allows for intimate relationships with other students and professors.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    32 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public safety is very serious about their job and what they do. They make sure that you feel as safe as possible on and off campus.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel the money is so worth it.

    What to do for fun

    The university plans A LOT of events and activites. It'll be rare to find a dull moment on campus. There are many club/sororities to join and crazy amounts of things to do on campus.

    Food and Dining

    There is such a variety around campus.

    Dorm Life

    Adelphi tries to make you as homey as possible. It truly depends on how comfortable you are dorming. If you hate it, it'll never be the best to you. If you love it, then it'll be amazing.

    Academic Rigor

    I am not exactly sure about how strict professors are with grades, but as any college/university would be, I'm sure this is how Adelphi is. What I do know is that you are never a bother to ask as many questions as you need to.

    Tips for prospective students

    If Adelphi is in your interests, go for it! You never know until you visit. It could have your name written all over the campus.

    In three sentences

    It is a very welcoming environment to be in. At first you are over whelmed by the change but the current students and faculty greet you with open arms and so much to do. It is truly the ideal university for me.

  • 08/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have lights on the walk ways with emergency boxes. Public safety will always be around to help.

    Greek Life

    Everyone loves their Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs do not get much publicity. I never hear anything of what they do.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is quite pricey.

    What to do for fun

    They do throw events and you can join clubs, sports, and do exercise classes.

    Food and Dining

    They have a lot of options to choose from. They even have a gluten free station.

    Dorm Life

    It is really what you make of it. I dormed for almost 2 years and I was kind of bored. But if you're active it should not be as bad.

    Academic Rigor

    Adelphi does have some great teachers, however, some are not so great. You will find this at any college though. They also try to take surveys about the teachers to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved. It'll make the experience so much better.

    In three sentences

    Adelphi has a beautiful campus. However, it is very quiet. Too quiet.

  • 08/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    We at Adelphi have a great selection of food for all kinds of people.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics is very important and at Adelphi that provide a wide range of help you can receive.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your looking for a college family that makes you feel like you belong this is the school for you.

    In three sentences

    I rate Adelphi a ten on a scale of one to ten. I am a transfer student and they make me feel very welcome. Very nice and friendly people there.

  • 08/26/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    35 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Adelphi is equipped with many lounges and entertainment that students can relax and enjoy themselves.

    Tips for prospective students

    The counselors work with the students in order to ensure that graduation is in order, therefore seek the counselors. Visit the campus and speak to as many people as possible in order to gain prospective of the university.

    In three sentences

    The campus fills students with positive and inspiration energy which invokes a welcoming environment. The faculty and counselors try their best to be helpful and assist incoming and current students. This accredited university has strong curriculum and knowledgeable professors.

  • 09/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Nothing crazy goes on for our safety to be threatened. Plus the school is in a pretty expensive neighborhood.

    Greek Life

    There are very few of the divine nine. All other Greek and social fellowships have a few as well. Check the website adelphi.edu for a list

    Bang for the buck

    The spring scenery lol

    What to do for fun

    Freshmen and other students that like it go to near by clubs and hang out spots. The school has a few meaning 3 parties during the semester and a variety of shows from the performing art and drama majors.

    Food and Dining

    It is eatable and has a few options only three of which are name branded eatery's. There is a grocery store near by.

    Dorm Life

    Students go home on the weekends and are pretty boring. The buildings except for the newly built residence halls are in need of remodeling.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on you, the professor provides the resources.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study and stay focused

    In three sentences

    I like Adelphi because it is an institution where you can focus on your academics. If you are looking for a social school with a variety of Greek orgs and football then this is not the place for you. The professors are well knowledgeable and are teaching classes that work closely with their current or previous career.

  • 09/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's lots of clubs and organizations to join!!

    Food and Dining

    Food is expensive!! Pack your own lunch

    Dorm Life

    3 dorm buildings, 2 new ones? i don't dorm so im not exactly sure.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics is challenging. so study, study, study.

    In three sentences

    It's an awesome school. It's a small campus compared to many others. Commuting is not too bad.

  • 10/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security guards check all the buildings and residence halls twice every 8 hours, and there are blue lights located all over the school. Public Safety has vans that constantly drive around campus, and between the hours of 6pm-4am there is a hall attendant on duty at each residence hall to sign guests in and out.

    Greek Life

    There is greek life on campus. A lot of people I know are in sororities or fraternities, and they seem to enjoy it. There are no greek houses on campus, however.

    Clubs and Activities

    Circle K, and C.A.L.I.B.E.R. are fun community service groups. Also, the Student Dining Advisory Council is a great thing to join if you want to have a say in the food on campus.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club! Try C.A.L.I.B.E.R., a community service based club that helps the surrounding town of Hempstead as well as goes to local events at Jones Beach and A. Holly Patterson nursing home. There are also shuttle buses that can take you to the Roosevelt Field Mall, which is a nice little trip to go on occasionally.

    Food and Dining

    I must admit, the food isn't the greatest. Post hall dinners tend to be flavorless, and it's definitely hard for vegetarians to find food at times (I'm a veg-head myself). However, the UC cafe has awesome selections for lunch (Picantes burrito bowls are the best!) and breakfasts at Post Halls provide awesome omelettes.

    Dorm Life

    I love my hall and my roomates! I'm in a converted triple with AC, and there's plenty of room between the three of us.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are the right amount of difficulty. Professors are willing to answer questions and help you as best they can, and since the classes are usually around 20 students, they know your name! It's a huge shift from high school, but it's doable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Post Hall is great for breakfast because it's buffet style, so you get more for your money (rather than just a bagel, you can get some eggs and cereal too!) Balance how much money you spend, it goes very fast once you realize all the different ways you can spend it. Also, get involved! It's the best way to make friends and keep yourself entertained, especially on the weekend when most people go home.

    In three sentences

    Adelphi is the perfect size, it's small enough where you can run into a friend on your way to class, but large enough where you'll always see someone new on campus. The location is spectacular, it's a simple train ride into the city which makes for a great day trip to take a break from studying! The resources available are super helpful too, with a writing and learning center at the palm of your hands.

  • 12/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always people patrolling campus making sure it is safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are a lot of clubs and activites.

    Great for these types of students

    Adelphi is good for people who want to be teachers, nurses or part of the business world.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have an underground parking garage.

    Bang for the buck

    study abroad is a great way to gain new experiences.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many on campus activities and sports teams.

    Food and Dining

    Food is pretty good, lots to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    I don't dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on what course you take will decide how hard it is.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early don't wait around to do it. Have fun on long island and it the city. Start learning time management

    In three sentences

    A compassionate and understanding teaching staff. The campus is small but very pretty. The classes are enjoyable.

  • 12/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Adelphi has been ranked one of the safest campuses in NY state.

    Greek Life

    If I'm not mistaken there are 6 fraternities and 7 or 8 sororities. Very big on our campus, but not intrusive. Greek life people are not cliquey or rude, and they don't judge you if you are or aren't in a fraternity/sorority. They are nice people :)

    Clubs and Activities

    Over 80 clubs and activities as well as Greek Life. There are 22 collegiate sports as well as intramurals and group fitness classes. We have ultimate frisbee and a parkour club.

    Great for these types of students

    All. Our largest majors are biology, education and nursing, but most of our BFA arts programs are also conservatory-style programs within a university. It's good for people who appreciate those who hold the doors open for them (everybody does that here). It's good for both Dunkin' and Starbucks people. It's good for people who love rabbits (they hop around campus) and for athletes (we are D2) and scholars (Honors program). Adelphi's location is also good for partiers, there are bars a cab ride away. Adelphi is good for focused, driven individuals who also like to have good fun.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a campus art deal where they put up works for 1-3 years around campus. Last year there was a circle of statues in the shape of thumbs, this year there's a giant disco-man made of pieces of mirror as well as a hand with an extended pointer finger labeled Accountability.

    Bang for the buck

    Adelphi was rated one of the Best Buy schools of America more than once. It was also #1 on Huffington Post's list of universities that don't get enough credit. They are generous in scholarships and give you SO many quality opportunities to work in the professional world (yes, even in the professional arts).

    What to do for fun

    The RA's in the residence halls put on little programs every week; trivia games where you can win cookies, Thanksgiving dinner, etc. There's also musical performers (AU jazz band, choirs, etc. as well as external performances like Ludacris, the Klezmatics, Jupiter String Quartet, Snoop Dogg, etc.) and so many things to do in Hempstead. It's also only a 40 minute train ride away from NYC.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not the greatest, but the good news is, there is a committee of students/dining services faculty that gets together and discusses what can be done to make the food better (I'm part of this committee). It's actually really easy to make changes in dining services and they're already heading in the right direction. The other day I had a greek spinach/filo pastry pie, they always have sushi on hand, and there are ALWAYS waffles available!

    Dorm Life

    It's 60% commuter, but it still has 5,000 undergrad students. There are 7 residence halls, and they are alcohol-free (which, for me, is a benefit because it allows me to not fool around so much and actually get the knowledge I'm paying for). Living on campus makes it so easy to student rush a theater performance or see Dave Coulier and Jay Fero do a comedy act, or even walk off campus to the many restaurants.

    Academic Rigor

    Not an ivy league school, but challenging. They push you to find your true potential. And for your interest, they have honors programs like the Honors College, Levermore Global Scholars, and while the workload is certainly challenging, they also make it doable so you can actually get your highest worth out of each class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a tour of Adelphi! Contact some current students. It's not really on the map; not many people know about it except locals. But it's a fine university, a beautiful arboretum campus, has plenty of diverse programs you can apply to, and is relatively cheap for all the fine things it has to offer! It is a modest university...it is absolutely wonderful and doesn't get enough credit!

    In three sentences

    Adelphi gives you more opportunities than it is popular for. It's a little bit expensive, but much better in price than other schools of its quality, and the school is generous in its scholarships. It has a beautiful, convenient campus and the students and staff are very welcoming and helpful.

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never felt safer anywhere else, but then again I don't come from the best area.

    Great for these types of students

    Nursing majors and business majors

    What to do for fun

    There are a bunch of clubs to join, from art club to debate club to anime club to attend during the school day/in the evening. There isn't much to do nearby the university, people usually go to some popular (but seedy) bars/clubs nearby.

    Food and Dining

    There are two dining areas- Post Hall and the UC. Post Hall's food is lacking and the silverware is dirty, and the UC food is overpriced, but does have good sushi and wraps.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic side is eh. Some classes are very hard, and some classes are a joke.

  • 01/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    VERY SAFE.

    Food and Dining

    There are a few options but they are not that good. The food isn't fresh and satisfying its more fast food.

    Dorm Life

    I do not dorm there but it is a big commuter school so I hear that the campus is not as busy on the weekends.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard this is not a school that gives out an easy A, but it will definitely be worth all of the hard work.

    In three sentences

    Adelphi is a very expensive school, but it definitely does give back to the students in many ways. The campus is very homey and there is always something going on there. The food is not that great but there are a few different choices which makes it a little easier to find something you enjoy.

  • 02/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public safety can be found 24/7 and easy to contact. Also, the school is generally a nice neighborhood so there isn't much crime.

    Greek Life

    Really great. There are six sororities and five fraternities and four multicultural organizations.

    Clubs and Activities

    Really great. There is a lot of things you can be a part of.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who live near campus and own a car. Those who like to be active in school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    An unusual location is the Earle Hall basement. There are various media rooms and classrooms that no one seems to use.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a fairly cheaper private school compared to other private universities. I believe it depends on how you make of it. If you utilize all the various sources and opportunities, it can be a great school for the price you pay.

    What to do for fun

    Clubs and organizations like Greek life. Not much to do on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Food is catered by Lackmann Catering. Honestly the food is not great. There is a Chee Burger Chee Burger and Starbucks. Coffee is from Dunkin Donuts. The buffet style dining hall is not great. It can be better but it also depends on the day.

    Dorm Life

    Adelphi University is a commuter school. However, we try our best to make residential students feel at home. I am personally involved with residential life such as Resident Student Association as well as the National Residence Hall Honorary. We also work closely with other organizations to help make dorming a memorable experience.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on which professors are teaching the course, the difficulty can vary. Overall, it is harder than high school and appropriate for a college level course.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a great nursing, business, and teaching school. Other majors are decent. Professors an advisors are helpful when you reach out to them. There are many clubs and organizations you can join. Campus can be very dead or quiet on weekends.

    In three sentences

    It is a commuter school with a decent residential life on campus. There are various clubs and organizations on campus.

  • 03/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is very present and doesnt tolerate drugs or alcohol since Adelphi is a dry campus and are friendly.

    Greek Life

    There is plenty of Greek Life spirit all over the campus and if that is what you plan on joining I am sure you can find the one that best suits you, do your research! There is no hazing so dont back out because of ehat you have seen on the television !

    Clubs and Activities

    Thee are many clubd to join, you just have to find the one that bet fits to your liking, but the csmous puts on many small activities that are usually free and enjoyable.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is 1 mail box on campus

    Food and Dining

    Campus food tends to be repetitive, but some o the workers are extremely nice and makes the experiencemore enjoyable. The UC tends to be everyones prefrence, but on the weekends we are left with eating at te all you can eat dining spot which is sometimes good, but again it can be repetitie. There are plenty of restaurants that deliever food to campus so thats an upside, and as long as they switch up the food options one should be happy.they also cater to vegans and glutten free diets, which is something thati think is an upside to campus dining.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at Adelphi can be a bit boring on the weekends because Adelphi is a commuter school, so if you have a car or dont mind taking the shuttle bus to the mall or into town you can find entertainment on the wekends. And the dorms try to et people involved in activites within the dorms which are educational and usually offer free food.I mean who f Doesnt enjoy FREE food!

    Academic Rigor

    Academic life on campus is not too bad once you have found your cup of tea, while some students have it easier than others, its all about the effort you put into your work. Some prefer to hang out and party and as a result their grades suffer but professors are readily available and the class size is optimal for learning. The library has plenty o resources available to students and is helpful especially for science majors.

    Tips for prospective students

    In order to enjoy your college experience you need to find what you enjoy and take courses that you would never have the chance to know about. If you want to excel, you need to balance your stuy habits and you free time because if not you will become overwhelmed. Ultimately you want to engage in your persinal likings

  • 04/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    exceptional faculty.

    What to do for fun

    not much.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dorm for the first year then move off-campus.

    In three sentences

    Adelphi is great University for your money if you live off-campus. The opportunities and personal attention is great. The on campus activities are not in great abundance to entice one to stay on campus.

  • 05/01/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    46 of 60

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    How do current students evaluate the atmosphere of this school?

  • 07/09/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    47 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    SPORTS

    Food and Dining

    COOL

    Dorm Life

    UNIVERSITY RESIDENCE

    Academic Rigor

    GOOD SUCCESS

    Tips for prospective students

    BEST SCHOOL

    In three sentences

    I STUDY IN BANK FINANCE AND I NEED A HIGH DEGREE

  • 07/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security on campus is everywhere. They drive around on golf carts and there is a central office you can reach by phone. They are always helpful and respond to trouble right away.

    Greek Life

    I was never involved in it but at adelphi there is no hazing and it is a great way to make a close group of friends.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a good range of clubs and activities to get involved in but you have to try to actually something out of it.

    Great for these types of students

    Adelphi is great for any kind of student. The campus is so divers that anyone can find their place here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Everyone hangs out at the UC or University Center. But thers a secret shake and burger stand on the side of CRS or Center for Recreations and Sports building. Everyone gets different kinds of shakes from there.

    Bang for the buck

    Over all I have loved Adelphi. In order to get your bang for your buck you must get involved on campus. That is the best way to make friends and prepare for a career. Take advantage of the offices for internships as well.

    What to do for fun

    For fun on campus most people just enjoy company with other classmates or professors. There are also many activities done by clubs on campus you can get involved in for fun.

    Food and Dining

    I do not eat much at school, but I have not heard great things. Mostly that the price is high.

    Dorm Life

    I never dormed here but I have heard it is very boring. Take advantage of the whole campus and clubs or you will get bored.

    Academic Rigor

    I always look on RATE MY PROFESSOR before i sign up for a class. I do not look for easy teachers, I look for good ones. So far i have taken two semesters here and I have loved all my professors except one. But all were very helpful and I did well in every class. THE PROFESSOR MAKES THE CLASS.

    Tips for prospective students

    You must get involved in the campus life. Getting involved in research on campus will also benefit you. Get to know your teachers and advisor, if you do not like your advisor it is very easy to change.

    In three sentences

    Adelphi has a beautiful campus. Many of the professors are helpful and want you to succeed. The student body is very divers.

  • 07/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Housing yet somehow, the Greek Life is very active on campus, which I find bizarre.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs are great, but there is always room for improvement. Due to the size of the campus, clubs do not have designated rooms and often have to share.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs, participate in open-mic nights at the cafe. and participate in Cat-Cup. Cat-Cup is a competition between Residence Halls.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a class with Professor Thaler if you can; he is awesome. Never buy textbooks at the school bookstore; they overcharge you. Keep careful track of your meal points.

    In three sentences

    Adelphi University is awesome. It has a warm, open, family-type environment. The campus is beautiful.

  • 07/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe, and at any moment, campus safety officers can be contacted and will be there to assist in a short amount of time.

    Greek Life

    Greek life at Adelphi University makes up a very large part of the population. All of the sororities and fraternities truly care for the philanthropy that they support. They aim for sisterhood and brotherhood and hold its members to high standards and values. Hazing is illegal, and if an organization is caught hazing, penalties and consequences are strictly enforced.

    Clubs and Activities

    There all so many types of clubs and groups. It doesn't matter what you are interested in, there will be something that'll catch your attention.

    Great for these types of students

    Adelphi is great for students who like quiet and reserved environments. Also it is more for students who are academically driven. If you are looking for a party school, Adelphi is not the place for you.

    Food and Dining

    The food is alright, but definitely isn't worth the price students are charged. Meal plans are the best way to go if you're going to be eating the food on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I don't know much about dorm life, but what I have heard from friends is that there isn't much to do on the weekends. Apparently, Adelphi is widely a commuter school and there aren't many interesting places around campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The grades you get are the grades you earned. The work load can sometimes be overwhelming, but at the end of the semester, its all worth it. Many professors make themselves available to students who need/want extra help. Outside of the classroom, there are centers to improve your writing and offer help in any courses that you may be struggling in.

    Tips for prospective students

    You should enter Adelphi University with the goal in mind to give it your all. Try your best to break any procrastination habits before starting the semester. If you are struggling, but doing your best, professors will see that and take it into consideration. NEVER sit quietly and suffer if you don't understand something. Most of the faculty have the students best interest at heart. The professors at Adelphi all have different styles and methods of teaching. You will quickly find what and who works better for you.

    In three sentences

    Adelphi is a small campus that allows close, personal relationships to develop among fellow classmates, as well as between students and faculty. There is something of interest for all types of personalities. The campus is very diverse, and unity is promoted through different clubs and organizations.

  • 08/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police really do an amazing job of patrolling the campus and keeping everyone safe. The area is pretty safe so no need for parents to worry.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs and groups for every major, interest, community service, etc. Don't have what you're searching for? Form a group! Anyone can find a club they feel they belong in!

    Bang for the buck

    Even with a scholarship, it's hard to pay for school. Wish college in general wasn't so expensive. Adelphi is a great school to study at and it is named a best buy in Fiske's Guide to Colleges for the 8th year, so that says something. You get a small school with tiny class sizes and teachers that know who you are. If you don't want to be a number, then this is the place to be!

    Food and Dining

    They try, but those with dietary needs such as myself need to work to find things. You can always ask for specially made food, but that takes time, which college students never seem to have enough of. Need a few more options, some of which need to be healthy...

    Dorm Life

    Some of the dorms a bit out of the way from classes, but the showers are normally clean, there is always toilet paper, people leave their doors open for a friendly pop-in and chat! Everyone who dorms are welcoming to others.

    Academic Rigor

    You can make it as hard or as easy as you want it. Different teachers have different teaching styles and different work loads.

  • 08/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have walked in the middle of the night all around the campus in various occasions and I felt very safe. Me and my friends were comforted by the security guards and the lights that illuminate almost every area.

    Food and Dining

    The food is excellent. There is a variety of plates to choose from and it was always satisfying. There are a few things here and there that weren't so good but overall the food is high quality.

    Dorm Life

    Although I am a commuter, I've had the experience of staying in the dorm for two weeks and it was a great experience. People are friendly and willing to meet new people and there's always some form of entertainment.

    Academic Rigor

    The work depends on how advanced you are and the effort is, of course, how much you are willing to put into each class. There are rigorous courses for every major but there's plenty of flexibility and opportunities for anyone who's having trouble managing their time or knowing where to start, etc.

    In three sentences

    Adelphi University is a close-knit community that makes you feel welcomed. It is a wonderful school with various academic opportunities for everyone. Furthermore, Adelphi's school spirit and social events are abundant and always open for everyone.

  • 10/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are parties off campus, on campus, there are local movie screenings, and club activities.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay, but it never changes at the University Center. The dining hall food is good, but it has its days.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms should look better if you're paying 42,000 dollars for it.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on the professor you get.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you'll are looking for variety and many options in terms of places, food or type of people, this is the wrong place. If you're looking for cozy, local, and a small community, this is the school for you.

    In three sentences

    Adelphi University is a small, cozy campus located in Garden City. In a matter of weeks, you'll be familiar with buildings and the same faces. The classrooms are small knit and attendance is important.

  • 12/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public safety does there best to keep everyone in a safe environment.

    Greek Life

    There is Greek Life on campus, but if you are not Greek life, you are not treated any different.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many things you can join here that it is overwhelming! Haha! There is even an organization for sign language.

    Great for these types of students

    They are known for their nursing program, but this school is great for anyone who is ready to learn!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Their orientation is an on campus orientation. You must dorm for 3 days!

    What to do for fun

    I have not really go too involved on* campus, but I did take advantage of the off campus activities such as the discount on Broadway tickets.

    Food and Dining

    Food is pricey, but tasty!

    Dorm Life

    Pretty neat!

    In three sentences

    Adelphi is cool. Adelphi is diverse. AU , Panther Nation!

  • 12/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our public safety officers are by far some of the best people on campus, they're so friendly, and they always make sure things are running smoothly on campus. They make their rounds, and they keep the campus safe. I have never run into a situation on campus where I felt unsafe, and I feel very safe on campus no matter what time (Yes, I've been on campus in the late hours of night).

    Clubs and Activities

    We currently have about 80 or so clubs and organizations, all putting on different events throughout the semester, adding onto the things to do on campus. I know joining clubs are a great way to meet people, and it's true, I've met a lot of friends through the clubs I've joined, and if Adelphi doesn't have a specific club you're looking for, you can always start it up yourself after following a simple process!

    Bang for the buck

    Honestly, for the tuition, Adelphi really does make it worth it. From the events that are put on throughout the semester, to the resources that we are offered as students, Adelphi really does do its best to accommodate its students and make sure they're as happy as they can be. I know from the small class sizes, and the amazing Career Center, I know Adelphi has the resources to make sure I succeed in my career. Hey, I even went to the Career Center just to ask a question about our internship program, and I walked out contacting Newsday for an internship possibility.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many events on campus, and our Center for Student Involvement (CSI) office sends out a weekly e-mail every Monday to the campus with a list of every event going on that week and beyond so you can see what is going on during the day. Adelphi is also located not too far from Roosevelt Field Mall, and in the event you have no car to get there, we offer a free Panther Express shuttle service to take you there and bring you back to campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is generally okay, after all, nothing compares to your good-ole' home cooked food. There are a lot of options, and Adelphi does its very best in order to provide for you in the event that you have any special dietary needs.

    Dorm Life

    I'm a commuter, so I'm not to solid on the dorm life here, but I haven't heard too many complaints from my resident friends. Adelphi does offer an ample amount of programs and resources that help students adjust to college life through the means of upperclassmen mentors, and your regular RA's.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics here are reasonable, I like to stress that the rigor of the academics depends primarily on who your professor is, as I've had friends taking the same class with different professors, but we've all had a different level of difficulty when it came to assignments. Additionally, if the difficulty of the work is getting to you, Adelphi has so many free resources available to the students to use such as our Learning Center and Writing Center, all staffed with the most amazing students and faculty. One important thing I like to mention is that classes are generally small, with no class bigger than about 40 (give or take a couple), and classes get to be very small as you progress. It opens you up to having individualized attention, and it's something great to have.

    Tips for prospective students

    I really recommend you get involved, and even if you do choose to attend Adelphi, I recommend getting involved here as well. In addition, I also recommend you contact the admissions counselors of whatever school you're looking at, and I also advise that you take a tour of the school. Applying this to myself, I was terrified when it came time to choose a college, but Adelphi seemed to be the perfect fit for me, and after spending just one semester here, I realize just how much I really enjoy being at the school.

    In three sentences

    Adelphi University has exceeded my expectations on what I envisioned college to be like. The atmosphere at the school here is amazing, and everyone I have met up to now have been incredibly friendly. It honestly is a school that I'm proud to say that I go to.

  • 12/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    56 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Saftey is Great! They are retired detectives. There are help stations located all over campus should you ever find yourself in trouble. There are also cameras all over the place, so you can always ensure your safety. Never has there been a major safety breach at adelphi.

    Greek Life

    Massive Greek Life population, great way to get involved on campus. If you are a freshman you cannot join greek life your first semester.

    Clubs and Activities

    Adelphi has a massive greek life population and over 80 clubs and organizations to join. The best part of the school! Adelphi is also very big on community service, there are tons and tons of community service projects throughout the year.

    Great for these types of students

    Make friends, get involved on campus Befriend your professors and the department you are in, they can help you a lot.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not really...

    Bang for the buck

    Veeerrry Expensive, if you are not here on a scholarship or do not get a feasible amount of finical aid, I would consider going somewhere cheaper

    What to do for fun

    Make Friends! There are malls, clubs, and the city is only 30minutes away! There are also great things on campus, clubs and organizations hold parties and events all the time as does the university also.

    Food and Dining

    Food is only good for the first few weeks, after that you will get tired of packman food. (Lackman is the company that runs dining at Adelphi)

    Dorm Life

    Very strict rules Dry Campus (no alcohol) Just built two new dormitories Dorms are great, they are expensive but they help your experience on campus a whole lot better, helps you to make friends

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on your major, the sciences are very difficult and rigorous. Buissness courses are feasible with the exception of accounting courses and MBA courses. The nursing department is one of the best on long island and also very difficult. It depends on your department, but as a whole the school takes academic seriously.

    Tips for prospective students

    Vist the University Search for all offers that the university has available to you Come in with an open mind Dorming is a great decision

    In three sentences

    Adelphi University is a small private University that has so many great offers available for students. The class sizes are small and faculty and administration work with students if you seek the help. Located in garden city, new york, the campus is beautiful and although student life isn't up to par, it is what you make of it.

  • 01/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    57 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Although there have been troublesome situations, public safety is always there to meet the student's needs.

    Greek Life

    Sororities and Fraternities especially have their own thing going on. They stand by each other and work as a team to be leaders in this community.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are various clubs available for everyone. From Badman Club to Physics Club, I'm sure there is at least one club that fits each student.

    Great for these types of students

    All types of students are welcomed here. There is definitely a great ambience surrounding this campus.

    Bang for the buck

    CAREER COUNSELORS AND INTERNSHIPS MADE AVAILABLE FOR ALL STUDENTS REALLY HELP YOU PREPARE FOR THAT DAY AFTER GRADUATION.

    What to do for fun

    TAKE FITNESS CLASSES, DO BALLROOM DANCING, ATTEND COMEDY SHOWS, JOIN BBQ AND CARNIVAL FAMILY WEEKEND EVENTS, CASINO NIGHTS, AND VARIOUS FUNDRAISERS.

    Food and Dining

    GREAT VARIETY AND HEALTHY CHOICES AVAILABLE PLUS THEIR IS A FOOD HEALTH ADVISOR AVAILABLE FREE FOR ALL STUDENTS.

    Dorm Life

    I HEARD IT WAS GREAT BUT NOT SO SURE. I'M A COMMUTER.

    Academic Rigor

    DEFINITELY THIS SCHOOL TRIES ITS BEST TO PREPARE STUDENTS FOR GRADUATE SCHOOL AND FUTURE CAREERS. THE SMALL FACULTY and student ratio provides students to meet one on one sessions with professors and meet their academic goals.

    Tips for prospective students

    LET YOUR MIND FREE AND BE WILLING TO BE SPONTANEOUS. TRY SOMETHING NEW AND LET YOURSELF TO BE DISCOVERED BY OTHERS.

    In three sentences

    AN EYE-OPENING AND EMBRACING COMMUNITY THAT ALLOWS STUDENTS TO DISCOVER THEIR MAXIMUM POTENTIAL AS FUTURE LEADERS. AS SOON AS YOU WALK INTO THIS CAMPUS, YOU ALREADY FEEL LIKE PART OF ONE BIG FAMILY. EVERYONE HERE IS READY TO HELP YOU TO SUCCEED IN YOUR FUTURE.

  • 01/23/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    58 of 60

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel relatively safe didn't have any major incidents since I've been on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    That is one thing i definitely cant complain about. Adelphi has a ton of different activities for students to participate in. Most of these activities are already free and the ones that require payment are fairly low and accessible.

    Great for these types of students

    great for students who enjoy a smaller campus with a private setting and who also want to focus more on academics.

    Bang for the buck

    The education you receive its amazing for the money but financial aid could do a little more to help out the ones that barely understand the system.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs, eat yummie food at amazing activities and of course hang out with friends around the campus (indoors or just outside with the beautiful scenery)

    Food and Dining

    Ohh Myyy Pizza. Yes! The food is pretty amazing. The different types of specialty pizza the different specialty food bars that come and spice things up in the cafe and you definitely cant forget about our buffet in Post Hall.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is standard. You get to meet and do alot of activities with the people in your dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are tough on you but for the right reasons! They strive to prepare you for the worst which in my opinion puts you at your best for the future.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't hesitate to look at scholarships, grants and etc. Come prepare to work your tail off while having fun with these cool activities we offer.

    In three sentences

    Adelphi is the place to get a great education while enjoying the journey and the hardship of trying to make a future for yourself. No one said that working hard was easy. =)

  • 02/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    59 of 60

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Adelphi is a great school to gain connections for future careers. There are a lot of services offered. The professors are very helpful and always available to help you.

  • 04/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    60 of 60

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are great shopping malls in the area and Garden City is fun place-a lot of culture and very pretty sweet town!

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is awesome! They have a Starbucks and lots of food options.

    Dorm Life

    I am not familiar with the dorm life, but my friends seem to say it is ok.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your major, the work load can be vigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you can afford it! It is expensive!!!

    In three sentences

    Adelphi is committed to integrity and making sure their students are successful. They put a great deal of stress on building connection with the professors. The professors and faculty are always arable and willing to help students out.