Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Adrian College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/17/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    There are many very intelligent people here, but I have yet to meet the student who delves into 22 credit hours and does nothing but his/her classes. People here are into extra curricular activities, athletics, music, and meeting new friends as well as performing well in classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are people from all walks of life here at Adrian. I strongly believe that anyone can fit in and be accepted on this campus. We have people from inner-city Detroit, to people from different parts of Canada, to people from the cornfields in Ohio. You will not get lost in the crowd, and you will see people you know everywhere you go on campus...and I really do mean everywhere. It might not sound that appealing, but it's so nice to see so many friendly faces when you go out for a walk or have to grab a quick lunch. But, if you need to get away from the college, the city of Adrian has a lot of different things to do, or Ann Arbor is only a short 35 minute drive away. My number one tip to prospective students would be to keep an open mind about the school and the town's size. For me and for almost everyone here, the size is perfect...about 1,500 students. You know a lot of people everywhere you go, but everywhere you go there is an opportunity to meet someone new. There is also a lot to do on and off campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Thirty thousand-something dollars is a lot of money. Many people on campus complain how they feel that they are paying too much to go here for what we get but what they don't understand is that our tuition is really not much relative to how much many other private schools cost. Some other small private schools cost upwards of $45,000 a year. Adrian also gives good scholarships to the best students. I believe that the bang for the buck here at Adrian is excellent, but could always be better. You will get a solid education in a great learning environment, and you will have a lot of fun along the way.

    Am enjoying being here

    For being a small school in a medium sized town, there is a lot to do. There are many greek life organizations, which are an excellent way to get involved. There are also many religious life and special interest groups. One of the biggest things on campus is athletics. We have very nice athletic facilities and about 85% of the student body is involved in athletics in some way. There is almost always a game, varsity or intramural, to watch or participate in. Best of all, admission to all athletic events on campus is free to students!

    Am learning a lot

    Almost every professor here at Adrian knows their stuff and is very willing to work with you to make sure you thoroughly understand the class material. They will stay after class, meet with you during or outside of posted office hours, and help you find a tutor. We also have a very good Academic Services office, which provides tutoring, note-taking for the disabled, time management counseling, and many other helpful services at no cost. Also, the classes are small; as a freshman, my largest class was 110, my freshman biology class. It was a lecture and the labs were split up into groups of about 15. My sophomore biology class will only be 30. My smallest class as a freshman was 10 students. Adrian provides an excellent learning environment for anyone willing to put forth the effort required to succeed in the collegiate academic setting. Another thing to add would be that Adrian has a great music program. It's not like some schools where you can't be involved in music unless you're a major or minor. I am pre-med and I have had time to be in the marching band and jazz band and to take guitar lessons. I have been able to learn a lot about my academic program and music, which has nothing to do with my future career. Here at Adrian, you are welcome to try many different things, and that really broadens your knowledge.

  • 01/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Athletes Hockey Players People who like cliques People who like UGG boots.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay the night before you come here, and request a Freshmen hall like Davis, or Stevens. Don't let them tell you that is not available, everyone has a futon you can crash on. You will get the real experience that way.

    Bang for the buck

    They give WONDERFUL scholarships, however don't expect much. The living situations are awful, and you can never live off campus unless you win the housing lottery your senior year. The dorms are awful, and hardly fit to live in. The classrooms are just as bad, no air conditioning, and the heat is shabby. The only nice buildings house sporting events...go figure.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the Greek Life, if you come here at least check it out. Everyone in my sorority is wonderful. Everyone in Greek Life are really connected. For as athletic as the school is, school spirit is NON-EXISTENT.

    Am learning a lot

    In coming to Adrian College be prepared to share the classroom with those who are more interested in Competition than Composition. By this I mean, there are mostly jocks here.

  • 01/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Nothing bad ever happens in this town. Seriously. I've walked around campus by myself at 5 AM and nothing happened. That's probably because the campus is so well lit. We have a safety office that does more than just guard the campus -- they also will drive you to the doctor's or the pharmacist's for free if you get sick.

    Great for these types of students

    Art Students. The campus is well kept but the whole town kind of runs on used and unusual goods... if you've ever wanted to experiment with the arts, this is your chance. Lots of funky people.

    What to do for fun

    Adrian is a really small town that's just picking itself up after the recession, but there are actually a lot of weird places to check out if you walk downtown. There's a New Age gift shop, a Pool Hall, a used books and media store, and a bunch of thrift stores... A lot of the store owners work are older folks who work behind the counter and run the whole store, and some of them will talk your ear off if you make conversation -- in a good way. There's a Family Video right around the corner, and they're dirt cheap. There's also a small cinema. A bus service (dial-a-ride) will take you anywhere in town for $4 round trip.

    Food and Dining

    Anyone who says that the food in the dining hall is awful is either eating the wrong things or has never really had bad cafeteria food before... it's not gourmet, of course, but you get a huge variety of options. They have a salad bar, fresh fruit (next to the cereal dispensers), a sandwich deli with 5 types of bread, a breakfast bar, an omelette stand, cheese and pepperoni pizzas, pasta, 4 to 7 different kinds of ice cream depending on the day, burgers, fries, hot dogs, grilled cheese, and a mongolian grill. And that's only what is guaranteed to be there! They also have hometown lunch specials (regular cafeteria hodgepodge... usually good, occasionally not) and each day there is a new international meal option, which has in the past consisted of shrimp alfredo, tropical stir fry... and every friday is Nacho Friday. WARNING: The pizza has weird spices on it. It's not bad pizza, but you need to get used to it.

    Dorm Life

    Being a freshman in the quad is hot, uncomfortable, and LOUD. That is because you are in dorms with only freshmen, and you inevitably will run into the people who came to college to party. This is NOT a party school. Those loud, obnoxious types who stumble into the hall at 1 AM drunk every Friday night will be almost completely eradicated by the time you move into the upperclassman buildings. Yes, the dorm buildings are old and there is no AC, so be sure to bring at least one large, powerful fan. However, all the dorms are heated individually and have HUGE windows that you can place your fans in to circulate a good breeze around the room. Merillat Sports Center, Richie Dining Hall, Caine Student Center, Valade Hall, and the Shipman Library DO have AC... you do not have to worry about sweltering all day!

    Academic Rigor

    Be prepared to study. HARD. The classes can be very demanding! However, almost all of the teachers are willing to lend a hand outside of class if you need it, and many of them even give you their home phone and cell phone numbers in case you REALLY need help outside of class! Tutors are even available to students for FREE. (The tutors are fellow students who recieved an A in the class and are paid by the school, so it's a win-win situation)

    In three sentences

    This is a great little college with a beautiful campus. Grocery stores are literally just around the corner so there is no need for a car, just a good, comfy pair of sneakers. Most of the staff is pretty great, too.

  • 01/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There very aware of what goes on on campus. Very much on top of things.

    Greek Life

    Lots of Fraternitys and Sororites. TKE, SAE, Theta Khi, and others.

    Clubs and Activities

    Greek life, varsity sports, band, color guard, Kinesiology club

    Great for these types of students

    Hockey players, music majors, study abroad program

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    College bingo night before the end of first semester.

    Bang for the buck

    Way to expensive (unless youre getting scholarships) for the experience.

    What to do for fun

    Honestly whatever you can find. Chill in the dorms and play video games or go the Merilot and workout or play basketball. Some students like to go to the Cafe down the street on Thursday and Saturday nights, and others will chill at the greek organizations on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Ritchie is nothing special. Average meals includes grill serving burgers fries and hotdogs. Best part is the Mongolian Grill, wish is like a mini Mongolian Barbeque

    Dorm Life

    Small 2 and 3 story dorms for freshmen and sophomores. Lounge in basement and ping pong table in tv room

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are certainly difficult, but stay on task and don't stray from studying and anyone can keep up with the work

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're from around the area, it's a terrific school to consider. If you're an athlete, you won't find a more competitive school in the area. If you're looking to study abroad, Adrian has a ton of options to choose from.

    In three sentences

    Small campus filled with majority of athletes. Beautiful campus equipped with athletic stadium, newly designed student center, and ice arena and workout facility/gymnasium. Really small class sizes promote great student professor relationships.

  • 02/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus safety is always there for students who need walking to their cars or dorms after a late night class, ensuring their well-being. adrian college is a safe place to live and be thanks to campus safety.

    Bang for the buck

    adrian is a private college which can create a larger tuition due to no outside state funding. even though the tuition is much higher at adrian, the cost is worth it. more students will come out ahead being at a small campus with higher costs where they are a name, not a price tag; that's why adrian college is the best choice of all.

    What to do for fun

    there is a numerous amount of clubs, organizations, and sport teams students can join to build stronger friendships and to enjoy college life. aside from clubs, adrian college constantly has campus-wide events open to everyone, such as super bowl parties, live concerts, dances, and so much more. when students want to get away from the workload of classes, adrian is there to offer up a multitude of fun and exciting options.

    Food and Dining

    adrian college offers so many different ways to get a bite to eat. from a normal dining hall setting to relaxed restaurant-style eateries, adrian college has it all. students also have the opportunity to eat on campus or order out using bulldog bucks through their meal plans. busy college students won't ever have to worry about going hungry at adrian college.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is tough to get used to, but at adrian students are welcomed in and made to feel like they belong. instant friendships are formed the minute one moves in and meets their neighbors.

    Academic Rigor

    adrian college offers more advanced courses for those who need a challenge, but still takes the time to offer help to others who may need more help adjusting to the college experience. adrian also offers an array of major and minor choices for students who are still undecided or for those who need a solid start for longer degrees.

    Tips for prospective students

    come visit adrian college and check out the beautiful campus, wonderful professors, and energetic students. choosing a college is a tough decision, adrian college eliminates the worry and doubt 100 percent.

    In three sentences

    adrian college is a great place to attend. from the students to the professors, adrian college is my home away from home. i am glad i chose adrian as my college of choice.

  • 11/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Usually pretty friendly, does their job well.

    Greek Life

    Greek life here at Adrian really helps with students focus and grades. It helps them get out a little more and to participate more on campus. I love it.

    Food and Dining

    You really get tired of the food, better than a lot of colleges though.

    Dorm Life

    It all depends on what dorm you are in.

    Academic Rigor

    The difficulty of the classes seem appropriate.

    Tips for prospective students

    Consider the field you want to major in. Have your parents come with you whenever you talk to financial aid, you may be an adult but financial aid doesn't seem to want to see us that way.

    In three sentences

    It can be a very organized school. Although Financial Aid has a tendancy to mess up pretty much every semester. I would say that Adrian is a four out of five on a scale.

  • 12/06/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 35

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Adrian College has a great music program. Their Music Composition and Music Education programs are some of the highest ranked in the country.

  • 03/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek life is pretty big here. I am in Tau Kappa Epsilon fraternity. Greek life is a lot more than what the media makes it out to be: partying. It is an opportunity to increase your leadership skills as well as life skills that prepare you for the workforce and life after college.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs on campus. For example, I am a member of the Green Action Club. We have brought recycling to campus and work to make the campus more environmentally friendly. Other clubs include feminist club and the International Student Organization.

    What to do for fun

    Now that I am a senior, I am not as social as I used to be because I am more focused on my studies. But because the campus is small, it is a lot easier to go hangout with friends in their rooms. The ice rink has public skating sessions that are free to students (pay to rent skates, unless you have your own). It is also free to students to enter into all athletic events.

    Food and Dining

    After four years, I am not a big fan of Ritchie. The main entree has a cycle of a few weeks, and the other sections of the cafeteria stay the same the whole time. I wish there were MORE food options.

    Dorm Life

    This is college. People party. But don't feel like it is a requirement. There are roughly 1700 students here, and probably 500 or less actually party. Don't think that you need to get drunk all the time. The dorms are nice, but the apartments and theme houses are better. The dorms are really great freshman year for helping you get to know your classmates.

    Academic Rigor

    Adrian College is definitely not the hardest college in the nation, but it is mentally challenging and pushes you to strive for excellence. After your general requirements, you can take more generalized classes for you career. Mind you, these classes are designed to make you not only intelligent, but intellectual as well. If you are not meant for something, these classes will let you know. I wanted to be a biochemist; I applied myself as hard as I could, but I was not cut out for it, so I was able to drop the major before getting to far into it.

    Tips for prospective students

    The tuition DOES increase every year, and it is NOT cheap. Adrian offers financial aid, but make sure that you participate in Campus Employment in order to apply some of your earnings to your tuition.

    In three sentences

    Adrian college is a great liberal arts school where you are pushed to strive for excellence. It's mission statement includes five ribbons of excellence which cover the different aspects of learning in college it expects every student to cover. These ribbons are crucial abilities and aspects of intelligence and personality that every college graduate should have.

  • 12/17/2010

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    9 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Athletes, particularly hockey players.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study in the library. You won't get much done in the dorms.

    Bang for the buck

    You don't get what you pay for, you get less. You're paying for is the small size,quality athletic facilities and little more.

    Did enjoy being here

    The dorm and roommate situation was barely bearable. The food in Richie was awful 99% of the time. I was mainly ignored or mistreated by my peers; a few people were nice, however. The class sizes were much larger than I expected of a college Adrian's size(about 1,500 students) and since one of the reasons I came to Adrian was for the small classes I was not pleased. With the except of the dorms, the facilities are nice and fairly easy to navigate. My experience got worse as the year wore on and, all in all, it was not an enjoyable one.

    Did learn a lot

    I took some of the distribution requirements, and they were essentially review from high school. The only courses I learned from were ones I took for my major and minor. Nearly all the courses I took were poorly planned, which was a factor in my failure to learn from them.

  • 09/19/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Athletes Artists people wanting the smaller town feel.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you choose Adrian make sure you join clubs and get out and do things go to events and meet new people, and go out on Friday nights and Saturday nights go to the themed parties they are a lot of fun. I would recommend getting in the honors program if possible I am in it and I currently am able to live in an on campus house through the honors program for the same price as a double room in a dorm, and our house is way better.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is a little higher but they do help you out with need base grants, and scholarships, and the on the flip side you get a beautiful clean campus.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy it here at Adrian I love the smaller class sizes and being more than just a student the teachers know your name and recognize you outside of class. I have met some of my best friends here and I am still making more

    Am learning a lot

    Most of the teachers here are willing to help you out, and willing to work with you if you miss class. There are a few teacher who just lecture but most of them are really there to teach you.

  • 01/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Exercise, get a job, play sports, town-life.

    Food and Dining

    Decent food service

    Dorm Life

    Decent dorm size

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging but worthwhile

    Tips for prospective students

    Prepare to spend a lot of money. Attempt to get as much money as you can from scholarships.

    In three sentences

    Amazing students and teachers. Very welcoming and warm campus that fosters a great learning environment. A great choice to go to college.

  • 05/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is on constant patrol! Whether it's parking, to campus events, to housing services, Safety can and will take care of it as quickly as possible. From experience, I know that safety will go the extra mile to help sick students as well with check-ups and mobility. They also offer a Campus Caravan service for legal students who plan to drink off campus to prevent drunk driving and a safe return back to their housing.

    Greek Life

    Adrian hosts a variety of fraternities and sororities, including national fraternities (Phi Kappa Sigma, Sigma Alpha Epsilon, Theta Chi, Tau Kappa Epsilon), national sororities (Alpha Phi, Chi Omega, and Alpha Sigma Alpha), as well as a local sorority (Delta Nu Kappa). Around 20% of the student body is Greek!

    Clubs and Activities

    Adrian has clubs for nearly every sport, including equestrian, synchronized figure skating, hockey, broomball, football, and soccer among many others. It also has clubs for art majors, music studies, and other categories.

    Great for these types of students

    Adrian College is perfect for students who enjoy doing a little extra digging in their research. The multitude of accessible databases in the library is impressive and highly useful. Students can easily reference credible and extensive sources in all their work. This college isn't really for the lazy student, though everyone enjoys sprawling about the campus on the sunny Michigan days.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It is hard to find a day that there is not SOMETHING going on at Adrian. My favorite activities, however, are during exam weeks where the college hosts Pancakes Under the Stars and other stress-relieving activities open to all students.

    Bang for the buck

    The private campus, food, classes, and overall quality of Adrian College is well worth every cent. The college is constantly trying to better itself internally and externally for the well-being of the students. Sometimes, this school may seem a little pricey, but we all realize how much space, resources, creative freedoms and comforts, and extensively knowledgable teachers we students are given in return.

    What to do for fun

    Adrian, though it may seem small, has many shops, restaurants, and activities for students and even family to enjoy. On campus, there are many school-wide events and even an ice arena which often hosts public skating every week. MJR Cinemas has a rather large theatre complex that offers students discounts. I'm still discovering more surprises everytime I'm drive through town!

    Food and Dining

    Great variety on campus with Quiznos and student grill in the Student Center, or a home-style meal at Ritchie Marketplace. Students use their IDs and meal plans to purchase meals. Dining Dollars/Bulldog Bucks can be bought through the school to use at select restaurants nearby. The number of meals and Dining Dollars you get is dependent on the meal plan you choose at the beginning of the semester, which can range from a set number of meals per semester or a set of meals per week.

    Dorm Life

    The Freshmen Quad holds four halls (female, male, or co-ed), upper-classmen have slightly nicer-looking halls (also male, female, or co-ed), and apartments for 1-4 students. Some rooms are on the smaller side, but not too small. The apartments contain kitchen, living room, bathroom(s), and individual bedrooms. (Dormitories have community bathrooms on each floor.)

    Academic Rigor

    Adrian accepts only the best work from students, but professors also keep in mind the individual learning pace and style of each student. Each class, no matter how seemingly insignificant, challenges the student to think outside the box and draw on experiences from the world around them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't over-think! Private colleges seem like they are a lot more complex than other colleges or universities, but they really aren't. Aim to embrace community life and you will thrive. If you are a party-goer, looking for greek life, an art or music major, or striving to become the next biggest face in media, Adrian has it all. Do not apply here if you aren't intending to work for your degree. Adrian only accepts the best!

    In three sentences

    Adrian College is balance of peace and excitement; privacy and community; and academics and athletics. A gorgeous campus houses an intelligent group of both students and faculty that go the extra distnce in everything they do. Becoming an AC Bulldog means being open and willing to push yourself and others to heights you've never met before, even if you don't realize you're doing it.

  • 06/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They saved one of my friends when he was contemplating suicide and I cannot thank them enough. They are truly amazing individuals who are constantly on alert and willing to go the extra mile to keep their students safe.

    Greek Life

    I'm not really interested in it, but the frat parties are fun every once in awhile.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm the President of Pen & Ink Society, the creative writing club on campus. I'm also a member of the literary magazine staff, the Oxcart. Furthermore, I am a member of ISO (International Student Organization), which is always interesting.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Don't use trays at Ritchie. Everyone will know you're a freshman. Hanging out on the terrace outside Caine is a great thing to do on boring nights, especially when the fires are lit and good dance music is playing!

    What to do for fun

    Morning Fresh Bakery has great doughnuts and coffee for cheap. Also, Applebee's always has halfitizers. The movie theatre isn't too far; I go there a lot. And there are a few great parks nearby too!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't pack as much as you think you need, pack way less. Don't eat at Ritchie too often at first; you'll get sick of it fast. The coffeeshop will be your best friend.

    In three sentences

    Adrian College is a private liberal arts school: perfect for anyone who loves theatre, writing, music, or any other creative activity. So many of the students are accepting of people who are different. It's a place you can easily call home.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Ritchie Marketplace Annex is the main building to get food, there are many options there. It features a mongolian grill, a deli area, salad bar, pizza & pasta bar, a regular grill, breakfast bar, as well as the international side, which features a different dish each night. Another location you can use your meal plan is at Caine Student center, it features Jazzmans (a coffee/tea/smoothie/baked goods type of place) and The Scoreboard Grill (burgers,chicken,hot dogs, veggie burgers, fries, onion rings, etc.)

    Dorm Life

    Community bathrooms in most dorm buildings. The newest dorm building features apartment style rooms for four people that include a bathroom and common area, as well as two bedrooms that sleep two in each. There is a community kitchen located in each dorm building, usually located in the basement, as well as a common area for everyone to hangout and get to know eachother, as well as a space for hall meetings.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors at Adrian really make an effort to help you understand course material to ensure academic success. Classes can be difficult and grueling, but it's college!!

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I enjoy going to the gym for fun and just hanging out getting to know people by going around dorms and walking around. Sporting events are always fun too!

    Food and Dining

    Food is good but learn to expiriment with everything. they have a huge variety and do change things up a bit to give you something else to look forward to. we also have other means of food which you can use bulldog bucks for.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is always exciting. choose from coed or male/female dorms. you can also choose from a single, double, triple or quad room.

    Academic Rigor

    We are an Academic school and proud of it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you accept about all awards you receive because it is a lot of money to go to college here.

    In three sentences

    Adrian is a very small exciting college. Theres always a lot going on and everyone gets involved making events even more exciting. We are also very good at about every sport.

  • 07/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have our own campus security that has both adult and student workers. They are available for contact at all time, even in the summer.

    Greek Life

    Since I am in Greek life, I am kind of biased. At the beginning of the school year we have Greek Week. During this period, we go through a recruitment process and have events for any non Greek to attend. We have our own housing for each Sorority and Fraternity. Joining Greek Life is also an excellent way to meet people and be apart of something bigger than yourself.

    Clubs and Activities

    There a numerous amount of clubs available to join at Adrian. There is usually a club dedicated to each major. Last semester, I was involved in over five on campus activities along with working an outside job.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Homecoming is super big at Adrian. Tailgating, parties, and all other sorts of entertainment fill the air. Football is a very big sport at our school. In the fall, everyone tries to attend the games or at least be involved in all the events held on campus during the season.

    Food and Dining

    This one receives an average score. Adrian has a enormous dinning hall with a buffet style set up. All the food is pretty good. We also have dining dollars and bulldog bucks that can be used at outside locations near campus for dining. The only problem I can see with dining is that it is very expensive!

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are not in the best condition but the fulfillment I get when I live with people my age is amazing. I enjoy being able to walk across campus with someone. Most students need to take out loans to live in the dorms. In my opinion, it is totally worth it to live in the dorms. It is almost my absolutely favorite part.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at Adrian are excellent. With over 40 different majors, Adrian allows for me as a student to double major and minor. The professors make sure to know you by name and help you with whatever you need.

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students, Adrian College is a wonderful place to experience college. If you choose to come to Adrian, taking part in sports is a great way to meet people. Joining a club or just hanging out on the terrace is plenty of fun and entertaining. Adrian is not only a place to learn but it is a place to enjoy the best four years of your life.

    In three sentences

    Adrian college not only offers a well-rounded education but a fun filled atmosphere. Adrian College's environment helps me as a student to reach my full potential. Within itself, Adrian is an amazing place to spend anyone's four years of college.

  • 08/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Usually pretty cool, just cooperate.

    Greek Life

    Fraternities throw parties, Sororities live in dorms.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many, do something while you're at school, might as well.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    FOOD FIGHT ON ST. PATRICK DAY!

    What to do for fun

    LA CAFE on Thursdays, Skate nights, sporting events, working out, and Meijer night.

    Food and Dining

    I prefer Caine over Ritchie, i always find myself spending too much time in Ritchie, as Caine is a get it and go type of deal.

    Dorm Life

    Friendly, loud, crazy. Weekends especially, everyone interacts, especially the first weeks!

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are people to, and with that I would take caution. Some will let you do what you want, some wont. It all depends on your schedule. Remember they went to school as well, they know what it consists of, you're still expected to be in attendance to classes.

  • 08/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is always something to do at Adrian College!

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining at Adrian is pretty good. Besides the cafeteria, you can also use your Bulldog Bucks to eat at several other places like Domino's and Quizno's.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Adrian are older and a bit smaller than those at the newer/larger colleges but they are located within easy walking distance from everything on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the courses at Adrian College can be tough, but not impossible. The education you will receive is well worth the effort.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your professors! Adrian College isn't like the big state colleges and universities so it's easy to establish a student/teacher relationship here. Once you have, don't be afraid to ask for help or guidance.

    In three sentences

    Adrian College is awesome! I am in my third year and there's no place else I'd rather be. The staff and students are some of the friendliest people on the planet.

  • 08/25/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    19 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of clubs and opportunities to get involved.

    Food and Dining

    Cheapest Meal plan would equal about $16 a bagel.

    Dorm Life

    Don't be late getting your dorm information in, or you may get stuck on a mattress on the floor. Also, the double dorm costs are equal to the local apartments just down the street. You can have your own place for the same cost they charge to share a room.

    Academic Rigor

    Good in the sense, that the classes are small, and you will get one on one attention.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look at what your intended Major is, and what the school actually has to offer.

    In three sentences

    Not too good for those looking for Medical Accommodation.

  • 09/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have safety officers on duty 24/7 and I always feel safe walking alone late at night. The whole campus is very well lit up.

    Clubs and Activities

    They do have a club or organization or sport for everyone. Nearly ll the students are involved in at least one club or activity. They all seem fairly well funded too.

    Bang for the buck

    For the large tuition amount paid, I don't understand where all the money goes to. I think it should be lots nicer and have lots more accommodations for the about they charge for tuition and all the stupid ways they nickel and dime you here.

    What to do for fun

    There is next to nothing to do around here for fun. And, anything there is to do is off campus and several miles away.

    Food and Dining

    As a freshman, I am required to purchase a meal plan from the school. This too is incredibly overpriced and there is no variety what so ever. There are only 3 restaurants on campus and the cafeteria, which serves the same things every day. Also, because they are drastically and rapidly increasing the size of the student body, without making accommodations it is nearly impossible to get a meal and eat it in under an hour. There are always looong lines and too much crowding.

    Dorm Life

    I am pretty dissatisfied with life in the dorms. They are incredibly overpriced, it would be cheaper to live in an apartment off campus. Also, everything seems to always be broken, the internet never works, the locks on bathroom doors are broken, toilet paper and paper towels never gets replaced and the showers are terrible.

    Academic Rigor

    If you are looking for a challenging academic life, then this is the school for you! The professors are all very helpful and always make sure you have the help you need to reach your full potential.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you look at other liberal arts schools if that is the reason you are interested in a school like Adrian. Also, they are planning to drastically increase the size of the student body in the near future, so if the small size is something that appeals to you, be aware that it is going to change.

  • 02/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for people looking to stay physically active and active in the community. There are an amazing amount of collegiate teams and groups that one could join.

    Bang for the buck

    No matter where I go to college I know it will be pricey. But, Adrian is well worth the price tag. The classes, professors, athletics, and close-knit community make me glad I chose Adrian.

    What to do for fun

    One of the things I love most about this school is it's athleticism and enjoyment of sports. One can jump in on a workout or game at any given time in the Merillat. If the sport/activity you enjoy isn't an official team, it's most likely offered as a group that could be joined

    Food and Dining

    The food at Ritchie Marketplace is always great; I'm never disappointed. I don't venture to Caine that often, primarily because I'm a vegetarian and there don't seem to be as many meatless options there.

    Dorm Life

    I love living with my roommate! I believe it truly does teach people how to live among others and to overcome differences that may come about. There are so many different types of people to get to know and to share commonalities with along with differing opinions.

    Academic Rigor

    My classes have been extremely accurate in terms of difficulty for the academic level rating (ex: 300 level class).

    Tips for prospective students

    Know your interests and what you want to get into ahead of time, so by the time you arrive at school and get adjusted you'll already know where to be, what to do, and who to know.

    In three sentences

    The small town atmosphere makes me feel at home, no matter how far away home is. Athletics and extra curricular groups always make for a fun, busy, and interesting time. I want to look back on college as a great time filled with great people, and Adrian will allow that to happen.

  • 02/26/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    22 of 35

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I really enjoyed the environment and area the school was located in. Everyone seemed very friendly and I enjoyed talking with all of them. The programs and teachers seemed really great also.

  • 04/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe and staff is always available to help

    What to do for fun

    There is a movie theater in Adrian, and some good resturants off campus

    Food and Dining

    the food is better than any college I have been to and WOW above the ice rink is has very good food.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus but a few of my friends do, and they really enjoy it and feel safe. Dorms are small but clean

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you come visit the campus and take a tour

    In three sentences

    The staff is very helpful and always available

  • 05/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety does a decent job. There could be more traffic of officers in areas like the dorms where most of the damages take place though. Other than that they are pretty helpful.

    Greek Life

    When I started college I was very anti-greek because I imagined the stereotypical frat house with guys I don't mesh with. But, I was pleasently surprised to see the fraternity houses all had their own personality. Although there are frat houses like the one from Animal House, there are houses that are nothing like the stereotype. I am proudly in a fraternity now.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs are ok. I'm involved with a couple but they could be better if more people participated.

    Great for these types of students

    Dedicated students and athletes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are not really any unusual traditions that come to mind.

    Bang for the buck

    Depends of the individual. If you want a good education, come here. If you want to have an exciting social life, go elsewhere.

    What to do for fun

    Like I said, this college is for someone who is going to be spending most of their time studying or playing sports. Social life is not the best. There is the L.A. Cafe, but the experience there is a bit shady.

    Food and Dining

    Someone who has a pool thinks a pool is great for a while, but sooner or later the pool gets boring. Adrian has a very wide selection of food and it is not the worst quality. But after a while you get sick of the food and everything starts to taste the same.

    Dorm Life

    As with many colleges, the freshmen dorms are a bit shaky. With anything from ripping drinking fountains out of the ground to vomit in the hallways, the dorms are anything but dull.

    Academic Rigor

    As I said before, there is a decent amount of work to be done. It is easy to coast by if that is what you want, but if you want to try hard you wont be sorry with what you learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a small college with a good education, this is for you. On the other hand, if you are looking more for a social atmosphere geared more towards going out and doing things, this might not be the college for you. It is a nice town but not much to do in it.

    In three sentences

    It is very academically challenging if the student wants to do well. Athletics is a very big part of the college. It is a very nice small college.

  • 05/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Yes.

    Greek Life

    A big deal on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs, greek life is big, and a large population of students are athletes.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who know how to balance academics and a social life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Rock painting is big, greek life and athletics run campus. Hockey games are huge on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Very expensive, but your experiences make it worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Not much to do in the town so you have to make your own fun. Eating is pretty much what everyone goes to.

    Food and Dining

    Leaves much to be desired.

    Dorm Life

    Interesting. People can be crazy, but they'll be your best friends.

    Academic Rigor

    Courses can be challenging, and professors challenge students.

    Tips for prospective students

    The people make the experience. Join clubs and organizations and meet everyone possible.

    In three sentences

    A great place to go to school. Price tag is a bit high, but worth it.

  • 06/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always checking parking lots to make sure everyone has the parking permit, always available in case any danger

    Greek Life

    ATO, TKE, Theta Chi, PIKE, SAE, for frats Omega Chi, Alpha Phi, for sororities

    Clubs and Activities

    Theres intramural sports at all times of the year. and a bunch of different clubs

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    WOW cafe is the best spot on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Somewhat

    What to do for fun

    Watch any sports games on campus, Play sports in the Merrilat. Or theres always a party of some sort at the frat houses.

    Food and Dining

    Ritchie is big and they have a lot of different sections of food. It gets old quick though

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are small and theres barely enough living capacity on campus. But there are quiet hours so you dont have to worry about people being loud late at night

    Academic Rigor

    Its challenging but not too hard to want to give up

    Tips for prospective students

    Its expensive. It is nice. Take advantage of tutoring, its free.

    In three sentences

    Its really expensive, but its nice. Campus is small and you get to know a lot of people really quick. It is a good college

  • 06/10/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    27 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    looking forward to football and track nice field and track very clean.

    Food and Dining

    nice clean good food.

    Dorm Life

    haven't seen dorm yet will see dorm june 12,2013

    Academic Rigor

    seems like good place for an good education.

  • 08/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Adrian is not known for their on campus food or dining.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus but the little I have seen looks rough.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you are looking for personal attention from your professors, this is the right place for you.

    In three sentences

    Adrian has a great athletics program. class sizes are small. a lot of academic support from the school if you need help.

  • 08/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Really pricey but is really nice and the classes are worth it

    What to do for fun

    There is an ice rink and a gym on campus. When weather is nice there is also an outside volleyball court in the freshman quad which is open to anyone. There is also a bowling alley in walking distance, or you can rent a bike from the student center and ride around town.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is perfect if you like a small campus and small classrooms. The professors are always so helpful, so take advantage of it.

    In three sentences

    I love this school. The teachers are so nice and the classrooms are small. I don't like, however, the high prices, and they just keep on raising

  • 09/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's not like Adrian is like 8 Mile, but I still feel really unsafe walking back to my dorm at night. There's literally nobody around to call for help, or a button to push for security. If someone jumps you while you're walking around campus you had better hope a friend is walking by, because otherwise you're screwed. I never see Campus Security outside of their office...ever. So far I haven't heard of any crime on campus, but I definitely don't want to be the first case.

    Clubs and Activities

    There aren't very many clubs here. Some of them would be fun to join (like the anti-human trafficking club) but otherwise...

    Great for these types of students

    If you are a super-jock, this is the school for you. By super jock, I mean that your parents are ridiculously rich, you ONLY dress in Nike and Abercrombie, you think you're better than everyone else, and sports are literally all you do. This place should be an Olympic training ground, not a college. Remember those people in high school who were really good looking, popular, and were on the varsity EVERYTHING? This is where all these people go. On the other hand if you're artsy, an oddball, creative, or fit into any sort of stereotype other than air-headed football player or preppy cheerleader, then this is not the place for you. You will be a fish well out of water. I've been living here four weeks, and so far I've only made friends with my roommate. People around here act like you're not worth anything unless they want something from you. So if you're stuck up, you play a sport, and the gym is like your second home, this is the place for you. If not, run like hell.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    ESPN is literally playing on every single TV here. They don't know any other station.

    Bang for the buck

    It's 40,000+ to go here, and it's not close to being worth it. The education is great, but the student life, dorm life, and overall experience just isn't worth your dollar, especially when you can go somewhere more well-known for cheaper.

    What to do for fun

    There's nothing to do for fun here. Schedule a lot of things, because 90% of the time you WILL get bored. Not a very dynamic campus, so commute if possible.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't absolutely terrible, but you start to get tired of it after awhile. Some stuff is edible; some is tasteless. It depends on what you get (mongolian grill, pizza, and chicken patties are always good) but all in all bring some extra money to eat with because you're going to want to eat somewhere else sooner or later.

    Dorm Life

    The showers are TERRIBLE. They literally only drip water. The dorm rooms in the freshman quad aren't absolutely awful, but they look like barracks in a prison and have no air conditioning. People run by your window and door screaming at 3 AM, so hopefully you're a heavy sleeper.

    Academic Rigor

    This school is HARD. Classes are difficult, but you will definitely learn something. The only really redeeming thing about this school is the academics, so at least you know you'll be getting a good education. Prepare to study and to earn your grade. I haven't taken an easy class yet.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you can live off campus, its definitely worth it. The academics are tough, but you will learn if willing.

    In three sentences

    Definitely not what I was hoping for.

  • 10/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Adrian College has been determined one of the safest campuses in Michigan. Each residence building requires entry via key or key card, and each dorm room has an individual lock. Campus Safety officers are trained intensively and are overseen by former police deputies and current reserve police officers. Their are also resident assistants in each hall to promote a safe environment. According to the Annual Security Report, in 2012 there were only 4 total reports of aggravated or sexual assault and 8 burglaries on campus among 1700 students.

    Greek Life

    Adrian College oversees a total of 11 Greek Life organizations. There are 3 sororities, plus one local sorority, and 5 fraternities. Greek Life is very popular on campus and is a great way to meet people and get involved on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for everyone! And if you can't find the club you are looking for, it just takes 3 people and some paperwork to make one yourself! We have organizations within every academic department, including honorary academic organizations. We also have sports clubs, intramural sports, community service groups, religious life groups, and more! There are Feminist groups, Pride groups, gaming groups, and political groups!

    Great for these types of students

    Adrian college had a variety of majors and programs; our most popular program is our Athletic Training/Exercise Science program. Adrian College is one of few schools in Michigan with a Human Science lab complete with bod pod, motion cameras, and other equipment to aid with learning and research. AC also has a fully functional and fully equipped Athletic Training Lab just for instructing AT students. Finally, our Exercise Science program received a grant to purchase plastinates from Body World and the University of Toledo. These are the tops when it comes to teaching anatomy and physiology.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Adrian College was founded as an abolitionist college. Two of the buildings on campus are connected via an underground tunnel - which is now blocked off. These buildings stand the test of time and help students remember where our roots are. Groups such as Not For Sale continue the fight against slavery.

    Bang for the buck

    You get all the bang for your buck at Adrian College. With the top-of-the-line facilities, knowledgeable staff, and plethora of organizations, AC is a wonderful institution. You will get the experience and education you need to succeed, and who can put a price tag on fulfilling your dreams?

    What to do for fun

    Adrian College has over 60 student groups and organizations. There are academic, religious, special interest, and service-oriented groups in addition to Greek life. We have clubs from art to biology, from equestrian to student government, from Christian to Green Action Club, and everything in between! We also have many sports from Men's and Women's Hockey, to bowling, to Track and Field, etc. If you can't play, it's free to watch! With all of the organizations and teams, there is never a dull moment on the AC campus!

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is wonderful at Adrian College! Ritchie Market Place is the primary cafeteria. This is a buffet-style cafeteria with options such as Mongolian barbeque, pasta, pizza, soup and salad, and international dishes. Caine Student Center is also a popular eating place; it contains a Starbucks, ZeBi's, and a fast food grill style restaurant.

    Dorm Life

    The housing and student life departments are fantastic at Adrian College. The dorms are a variety of styles from traditional dorms to suite-style to apartments to themed houses, AC has what you want in a college experience. The atmosphere is friendly; the resident assistants and safety officers have extensive training. You will feel safe and welcome in our halls!

    Academic Rigor

    Many of our professors have the highest degree in their field. They have the collective knowledge and experience to teach students all they need to know to be successful. As a result of this, the classes are challenging. However, the professors are also willing to work with you and free tutoring is available to all students. The academics are challenging so to teach you, but not so challenging that you cannot succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid of the price tag - AC has excellent financial packages. Introduce yourself to the faculty - the professors here have a desire to see their students succeed, don't be intimidated. Come on a visit!

    In three sentences

    Adrian College is a top-of-the-line school. Although we are D3, our facilities and staff succeed many D2 and D1 schools. AC is a liberal arts institution that prides itself on giving students a well-rounded experience and education.

  • 10/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    We have phenomenal greek organizations! There isn't one that is bad!

    What to do for fun

    Adrian tries to put on events for us students to do!

    Food and Dining

    Like any college dining options.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms need to be updated, but the atmosphere is cozy so thats good.

    Academic Rigor

    Just because it is a small liberal arts college does not mean it doesn't teach you what you need to know!

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to students who are not assigned and paid to talk to you! Adrian is a great school but you wont know if it is the right fit if you dont talk to other people.

    In three sentences

    Adrian offers a great education. It teaches you graduate level experiences at the undergrad level. Has its problems like any college.

  • 12/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Awesome!!

  • 12/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and things to join on campus! You are not restricted to just sports and Greek life! Clubs for almost every major/minor anything you can think of! Get involved!

    What to do for fun

    Sporting events is a great way to meet new friends, and weekend festivities at fraternity houses, apartments, and many more!

    Food and Dining

    Adrian College offers outside meal plans to apply to our food and dining expenses. Dominos Pizza, Caine Student Center, Country Skillet, WOW Cafe, Starbucks, all the works with the complementary Ritchie Market Place for typical eatery experiences which is a buffet, everyday.

    Dorm Life

    Community bathrooms -- they're the worst no matter where you go! Adrian offers suites and apartments to comply with those, like myself, who do not like to share a bathroom. All the dorms are in older looking buildings but they are maintained and well-kept.

    Academic Rigor

    It's college, you are responsible for your academics; although some teachers might keep you on top of what assignments are due and when, it is your responsibility to do them. A lot of classes have group discussions, take the time and do the outside criteria not only will it help you participate better it will allow your teachers to see how dedicated you are as a student. Make these choices and become close with multiple teachers they're great references!

    In three sentences

    At Adrian College you are more individualized with your professors, with smaller classroom settings professors are able to have one-on-one interaction with their students often, as a student it is very much appreciated. Campus life is very close-knit, most people are in sports or sororities, it is a very easy place to find where you fit in. In essence Adrian College has everything a college student is looking for with extras!

  • 01/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety always sends out mass texts to students to let them know if something dangerous is going on on campus, although Adrian College is an extremely safe campus. Campus Safety is very friendly and is always willing to help out, even if it is to unlock your dorm room because you got locked out.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life on campus is an amazing experience. All of the fraternities and sororities are very close to one another, and offer many great opportunities to get to know other people as well as give back to community.

    Bang for the buck

    Adrian College is a private college and takes around 40,000 dollars a year to attend. However, the college tries its best to offer scholarships to students who would like to attend. The knowledge you get out of the money is very valuable as well.

    What to do for fun

    The college itself tries to offer its students many fun activities to participate in. My first month in college we had an event where they brought in a Zip Line and other fun things to try out. As for fun things to do off campus - Adrian is a smaller city, so the mall isn't huge, but it still exists and can be visited. There are also other shops and stores to visit and plenty of restaurants to go to with friends.

    Food and Dining

    There are not many choices of places to eat on campus. However, the school tries to make up for it by giving each student 100 dollars that they can spend on restaurants in the city of Adrian. The main places to eat on campus are the Ritchie Marketplace, which serves three meals a day and is all you can eat. Then there is Zebis and The Grille which makes flat bread sandwiches and meals on the go. Adrian College also has a coffee shop in the student center that serves Starbucks coffee.

    Dorm Life

    I lived in a single dorm room, and I loved it for the most part. My RAs were very caring and communicated well with us. I found that some of the dorm halls on campus were very small though, such as Jarvis and Estes Hall. My friends lived in these halls, and although the space was manageable, it was very limited.

    Academic Rigor

    Since I had many small classes, my professors kept me very involved, and in turn, helped me learn more. Professors expect you to work hard, but in the end, you will end up learning a lot out of the class and feeling good about yourself after completing the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come and visit the college and make sure to talk to the Academic and Admissions Offices. I spoke often with my Admissions Adviser and she helped me discover more opportunities to help me pay for college. It is a great private college to attend if you are looking for a small campus and community.

    In three sentences

    Adrian College is a small community of athletically and academically driven students. With small class sizes, students can easily make connections with caring and intelligent professors. Adrian College is an overall great college for those looking for a challenges and opportunities.