Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Adventist University of Health Sciences Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/21/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are interested in the Health Field. Students who are not slackers. Students who enjoy learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would have to say come here and be focused. If you are serious about what you want and have no time to waste, then this is definitely the place to be. Do not slack because that would put you behind, but at the same time have fun and enjoy learning because that is the only way you will still have a passion to learn.

    Bang for the buck

    It is on the expensive side for me since I am an international and cannot get financial support but it is worth the money.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the fact that this is a small school and you get all the attention you need. The professors are respectful and the students are very adaptive of new comers. The only factor that I did not like was that the financial advisors did not make an effort to help me with scholarship for international students even though I went and requested it.

    Am learning a lot

    From the day I started at FHCHS I have been so inspired to do you my heart is set on, and that is to be a Labor and Delivery Nurse. I have learned so much since I started. I learned to think outside of the box and to have different perspective of everything.

  • 12/31/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Self learning, Self taught learners

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are Seven Day Adventist then you might like this school, but if you are used to going to a public school all of your life then you might not like this school.

    Bang for the buck

    They are too expensive...$300 per credit hour. $900 for 1 class.

    Did enjoy being here

    I did not enjoy being there. My expectations about the school changed once I start attending there. Because they are a christian institution and one of there core principle is Nurture I expected a lot more from the college considering the fact that it is so expensive. I am not a hater just speaking the truth. I did not receive the Nurture that they had to offer. I actually left the school with a bitter taste in my mouth. I will never step foot back on that campus again. Plus some of the staff (not all) were extremely rude and disrespectful to not only myself but other students as well. You are being judged from left to right if you are not seven day Adventist. It was a horrible experience it left me traumatized!!!! In addition, there are no activities for student's to do other than their home work, and if you do decide to go there don't stay in their housing because it is like you are in prison, and they treat you like you are a child. With the drama comes an expensive tuition. It's not worth it! I would rather be on some community college's waiting list for 2 years than to have gone through what I did and to walk away in debt.

    Did learn a lot

    I learned a lot while in my prerequisite classes. I also Learned a lot in my program classes however, the teachers within the program did not do a good job of actually showing students and telling them everything they need to know. If you need to know specifics you have to hunt for the accurate information or hope another class mate knows it. You are on your own with learning, so if you are not a self taught learner this school is definitely not for you!!! It definitely does not cater to all learning styles!!!1

  • 05/11/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    3 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 3 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Don't go here

    In three sentences

    This place is HORRID. I did CRNA program. Awful awful people, especially Dr Wren the PD

  • 07/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's a hospital!

    Greek Life

    Don't think there is much of one.

    Great for these types of students

    Students truly focused on medicine and open minded about their belief in faith.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    7th day adventist church, so expect a lot of christian talk on campus!

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth it. High technology. Although some of the prerequisites seem a little pointless.

    What to do for fun

    If you're really involved in church, there's plenty to do as it is a very religious school

    Food and Dining

    I'm a vegetarian and they have a a lot of variety for me and for normal people. No pork though!

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms as far as I'm aware.

    Academic Rigor

    Hard to say since I've only taken a couple classes here so far.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get all of your paper work in really early and talk to an adviser as soon as possible.

    In three sentences

    FHCHS is a wonderful, small school to attend for nursing. It's extremely convenient and I always feel welcome. All of the teachers I've had so far have been amazing too!

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    really well

    Greek Life

    none

    Great for these types of students

    medical/premed/health administration/nursing

    What to do for fun

    It is in winter park area so plenty of stuff to do. Student services also do certain activities a year for students to take part of

    Food and Dining

    there caf�© serves some really good food. French fries are awesome!!! there is also a lot of great fast food and restaurants nearby

    Dorm Life

    I never lived in there housing areas so would not know

    Academic Rigor

    It can be hard if you don't do your part in studying.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a small university so If you want the feel of big university this is not the place for you. Only aimed toward people interested in pursuing medical professions It is a private school so expect to pay more It is a Adventist based school so if you are offended by religious practices this may not be the place but you can request to leave the class if you do not like this part of the class.

    In three sentences

    When I first saw and heard about this school I did not expect much from it. My first semester here change everything. I love the setting its small so the class size is just right. The faculty and students all know each other so its a great family setting. I wasn't much of a religious person, mind you this is a Adventist school, but the praying and words of advise before class makes you feel like they care and good on the inside. I love that is aimed towards health professions and they are also getting some great graduate programs soon with the new building which include a PA program, Physicial Therapy, and much more. So if you are into the healthcare field rather it be nursing, radiology, sonography, physician assistant or even premed this is the place for you. Overall I really like it here and its a break from being in the big universities and I feel like an individual instead of a number. I look forward to continuing my education here.

  • 10/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    5, campus security

    Great for these types of students

    The information desk

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I like the to go in the stairway sometimes and read.

    Bang for the buck

    4,The books are reasonable prices especially on free tax week.

    What to do for fun

    I go to the Library and read , I am a big reader or hang with friends. I also write poems in my spare time.

    Food and Dining

    4, I go their almost everyday to eat lunch. I also sometimes go to the hospital because they give discounts.

    Dorm Life

    5,I do not live on campus because I am a mother so I have an apartment.

    Academic Rigor

    4.5, This college is a five rated for me.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just dont give up and keep trying even when life gets hard . God is always their for you.

    In three sentences

    This school has helped me identify and encouraged me to discover my weakness and strengths. This school has helped my realize the importance of God and how he has helped me in my life. This School helped me has made my dream come true by accepting me into their radiology program,and has helped me sustain my future.

  • 11/12/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Rate my professor.com

  • 01/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is definitely great for people interested in the medical field. Nursing, radiology, sonography that kind of stuff. Really nice school, I love it!

    Bang for the buck

    This is a great school and in the long run it really is worth it but FHCHS is expensive.

  • 02/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    located in a gorgeous neighborhood, near florida hospital. constant patrolling of security guards and students and staff everywhere.

    Clubs and Activities

    very few if any at all.

    Great for these types of students

    goal-oriented recent graduates from high school and working adults

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    numerous free lunch events throughout the year, welcome back lunch, international food festival, veteran's lunch, etc.

    Bang for the buck

    its decent education for the money that is spent. some of the programs will give you more than you bargained for.

    What to do for fun

    located near winter park and downtown orlando. very close for entertainment and the night life.

    Food and Dining

    poor choices of food, only 1 cafe on the whole campus, and the prices are a little expensive for college students.

    Dorm Life

    they have a curfew, no alcohol, no members of the opposite sex in your room. very conservative dorm life, which reflects the college's mission.

    Academic Rigor

    you will earn your grade in most of the classes, if your lazy and procrastinate you might find yourself a college drop out.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you pick a program and get in, stick with it, it could be costly to change to another program.

    In three sentences

    outstanding staff will help you when needed. small classroom sizes allows more of a 1 to 1 learning experience. affordable through grants.

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    always a security guard on staff

    Clubs and Activities

    not too many options

    Great for these types of students

    who like to study and are spiritual

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    very spiritual

    Bang for the buck

    great staff

    What to do for fun

    they have sports equipment available at the library.

    Food and Dining

    the cafe is not open later than 5.

    Dorm Life

    i do not live in a dorm, but have friends who do.

    Academic Rigor

    professors make you widen your horizons.

    Tips for prospective students

    study. do you work on time. talk to the professors as much as you can.

    In three sentences

    great staff willing to offer help for anything. could use more night class availability. would be best if online classes were offered to all students.

  • 03/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe, security all around college

    Clubs and Activities

    tons of things to do!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    it is and SDA religion college and has a chapel, and vespers on Friday nights with free food and worship

    Bang for the buck

    the college is pricey but is well worth it.

    What to do for fun

    It is Orlando! there is tons of things to do! theme parks, malls, sports, downtown is not far from the college.

    Food and Dining

    it is orlando! the food and dining is great! for those on a budget the hosp is right next to the school and the cafeteria gives you a student discount every day!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is good, 1 roommate and 2 sweet mates. 4 people per apt. Not too crowded. Nice little kitchen, and tennis court. There is an office that provides several comp. printer. Internet resources to residents.

    Academic Rigor

    Great academics here!

    Tips for prospective students

    When I started here I was taking 14 credits, this was way to many classes all at once. Each required so much of my time. Dont take so many all at once.

    In three sentences

    This college is great, it is special in that it focuses on health sciences. I took my ASN here and am currently taking my BSN here. Though the cost is high, the teaching is high quality.

  • 04/30/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    12 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Orlando offers many theme parks, outlet malls, and plenty of attractions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard.

    In three sentences

    Florida Hospital College of Health Sciences is a small school with a warm atmosphere. Although there are only about 1,300 students that attend; it is a well demanded, academically, school. This school seems very reasonable to attend.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    13 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus safety was awesome, there was security all around which gave you the sense of tranquility and relaxation knowing there was an on campus guard at all times.

    Greek Life

    The Greek like was not mentioned.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs and activities were not spoken about due to the amount of time we were able to spend touring the campus.

    Great for these types of students

    The school is great for the type of students that are well driven, motivated and going to school for Nursing or Diagnostic Medical Sonography.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Since the school is religiously related there is always someone to speak with and if you need an individual prayer that is optional as well.

    Bang for the buck

    Over the last year I have toured many schools, Florida Hospital was by far the most beautiful, affordable and hands on program that I've yet to see. Clinicals are closely located and jobs are closer than you think with a short amount of schooling.

    What to do for fun

    There are programs and extracurricular activities to do for fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining was exceptional, there were a few food/dining areas on the campus and very easy to access with flexible hours.

    Dorm Life

    I was unable to take a tour of the dorms only because housing was already offered.

    Academic Rigor

    The program I am interested in is very competitive and makes the students strive to be the best.

    Tips for prospective students

    A tip for prospective students would be to take a tour of the campus if a program that interests you is provided, the hands on atmosphere is unbelievable and a strong education will be provided.

    In three sentences

    The Florida Hospital College of Health Sciences in Orlando, FL. is a beautiful school with many career opportunities available. The advisers couldn't have been more polite and also were very informative during the duration of my tour. Overall the school is a wonderful Christian environment and there is nothing negative to say.

  • 06/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those not looking for the typical college life. There's definitely no partying and drinking on this campus. Most of the students are very professional and conservative. There are no sports or fraternities - just education.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is higher than average. However, the class sizes are extremely small (think 30) and it's worth every penny.

    What to do for fun

    It's a beautiful campus! They host several outdoor activities every year - from food festivals to health fairs.

    Food and Dining

    They have a small cafe on campus - Ness Cafe'. Most students bring their lunch or just buy small items - cookies, chips, fries, etc. There's also a Wendy's across the street for those who don't mind the walk.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are tough but you definitely learn a lot! As long as you are a dedicated student you will do great!

    Tips for prospective students

    Highly recommended! Be sure to get in all your required paperwork early - they take the deadlines very seriously!

    In three sentences

    Florida Hospital College of Health Sciences is an excellent school; they offer small class sizes and a variety of degree programs. As a Seventh Day Adventist School they have a lot of spiritual guidance to offer. The only negative thing about this school is the off campus parking - all students must park on a separate lot and ride a shuttle over.

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 26

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I have been there an I love it! I'm looking forward to be there and hardcore study.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    shop

    Tips for prospective students

    Plan your time wisely.

    In three sentences

    The advisor's are very helpful. The online atmosphere is easy to understand. The instructors are very knowledgable!

  • 11/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is average: nothing extraordinary but the food is decent. There is only on cafe in the Ness Cafe but the International Food Fest is held every year and is free for everyone. Dorm students usually prefer to cook for themselves being that it is more financially convenient.

    Dorm Life

    There are four people in on apartment: two for each room. The apartments include a kitchen, two bathrooms, a dining room, and a living room. Outside the apartment complex are recreational structures such as a basketball court, tennis court, and softball field. The serene environment gives a very peaceful feel to the area.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the small student-to-teacher ratio. Take brief walks outside to clear mind and to think thoroughly with studies. The university is a Seventh Day Adventist based so respect the denomination.

    In three sentences

    Adventist University has a small student-to-teacher ratio which enhances the learning experience. The campus is very peaceful and serene with lots of places to engage in studies outdoors. The caring and pleasant staff give an encouraging environment to students.

  • 12/19/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students interested in the medical field. Also great for students who will love to be in a place where they can be spiritually connected with others but also with God.

    What to do for fun

    Morning prayers, sit under a tree, meet new people, enjoy the amazing view of the lake, relax, study, get tutoring. There are lots of things to do.

    Food and Dining

    I have not tried the food yet, but the caffeteria is very organized and has a great view.

    Dorm Life

    I will not be living in a dorm but they do have apartments for students and they look amazing.

    Tips for prospective students

    I definitely recommend this school to everyone. Do not worry about the money, they will help you with scholarships, grants and loans if needed. Good education for a good price.

    In three sentences

    The school campus is beautiful and surrounded by trees and a lake. The counselors are amazing, they have helped me trough every step. Everyone in campus is nice and professional, I'm so excited to start.

  • 04/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    safe

    Greek Life

    nope

    Clubs and Activities

    No clubs really.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Clubs are close!

    What to do for fun

    Nothing......

    Food and Dining

    Its ok, id rather eat at the hospital.

    Dorm Life

    HORRIBLE!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have financial aid because it is pricey. Do not move into the dorms because you have no privacy and they are very strict, they go room checks and they don't let you leave at a certain time. if youre not religious think about it because it gets pretty annoying all the praying and conservative close minded people.

    In three sentences

    I would give it a 5 out of 10, its great for people interested in medicine since its an all medical/health school. The only bad thing about this school is religion, they are so into it. Its awkward for students who are not Adventist, I am transferring because I cannot take it anymore.

  • 06/04/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Take advantage of the small class sizes to ask the professors your questions.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Studying outside is a great place to focus.

    What to do for fun

    Enjoy nature.

    Food and Dining

    I have not ate there yet. There menu looks delicious. They have sushi!

    Dorm Life

    I have not dormed there yet.

    Academic Rigor

    Make sure to focus and study hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Remember that school comes first;do not forget to study.

    In three sentences

    Adventist University of Health Sciences has a beautiful campus. It also has small classroom sizes making it easy to focus. Lastly, ADU is affiliated with Florida Hospital.

  • 07/28/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    21 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Clubs, volunteer, work in the hospital.

    Tips for prospective students

    Save as much as you can, work hard to maintain a high GPA to be accepted.

    In three sentences

    It has been my dream school to become the best nurse I can be. I value the ethics and teachings of this university and want to further my education at this university. Best in the state to become a Nurse.

  • 03/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready to read a lot and do assignments on your own! You will not succeed if you don't read ahead before each class.

    In three sentences

    It's a great online school. Very well organized and helpful. They are very accommodating and treat you like a person, not a number. They have staff for all of your needs and the instructors are well-educated in the classes they teach.

  • 03/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 26

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    ADU is based in Orlando, I attend classes at their Denver campus. Denver has a ton of wonderful things to experience. If you get bored, you're just lazy.

    Food and Dining

    I live off campus.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging but that's kind of the point of getting an education. Professors are always available to help and answer questions.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you decide to attend ADU, start looking early and often for financial aid.

    In three sentences

    The school is very expensive and there don't seem to be many scholarship opportunities through the financial aid office. Expect loans- lots of them. I attend classes at the Denver, CO campus.

  • 03/29/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    Great for these types of students

    hard working , plenty of time to study

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    religions courses

    What to do for fun

    on campus not much but it is near downtown area with great restaraunts to meet with friends

    Tips for prospective students

    know requirements for programs and watch submission dates for apllications

    In three sentences

    I love this school, best thing to happen to me thus far.

  • 05/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Adventist University is very safe. There is always adequate security for all students.

    Great for these types of students

    Adventist University is great for students that are willing to work hard and can be independent in studying.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The University is nestled in a very unique are in Orlando which is partially surrounded by a lake with the most wonderful and peaceful view.

    What to do for fun

    The University always has very interesting activities to offer to the students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Listen to your academic advisors because they know how to direct you. Seek to make friends with students that are really interested in learning. Make very good use of all the resources that the school has to offer.

    In three sentences

    I rate Adventist University at one of the top Universities in Florida. The faculty and staff is very helpful in helping students to choose the right study field. The classroom size is small enough for everyone and the Professors are very knowledgeable about the field in which they are teaching.

  • 05/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 26

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe. Winter Park, FL is a very nice area.

    Clubs and Activities

    None

    Great for these types of students

    Very hard working, very diligent, loves to learn, doesn't have a job, has full financial support from parent or other source.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Prayers before every class. You are dropped from your class if you miss class more than twice, as per school policy.

    Bang for the buck

    It's pretty expensive, but you get what you pay for. I'm from out of state so I would be paying just as much for tuition at any other schools in Florida.

    What to do for fun

    Orlando has great nightlife, shopping, and theme parks.

    Food and Dining

    I don't eat on campus

    Dorm Life

    Terrible. I would not live in the dorms, they treat you like a child with all of the rules. The dorms are located right next to the freeway, not a very pleasant location. However, the shuttle will take you to and from the classes so you would not need to worry about parking.

    Academic Rigor

    Be ready to work hard. I have a degree from a public university and I thought that was tough to earn, boy was I wrong! This two year DMS program may be the hardest thing I've had to do. Do not plan on keeping a job while in school, you will find yourself falling behind in your classes!

    Tips for prospective students

    You need to be comfortable with prayer and reading the bible as part of class. Plan on living very close to campus, as it is not a commuter friendly area. If you prefer online classes, this school is not for you. If you tend to be late for class or miss classes from time to time, this school is not for you. If you are a very diligent student who loves to learn and you want to work very hard and learn a lot, this school is for you!

    In three sentences

    It's a very rigorous school with strict attendance policies and deadlines and a very heavy workload. Very inconvenient location as well, you have to park 10 minutes away and take a shuttle to the campus! All but a few classes are not offered online and have very limited selection of class times. I had to take A&P at 8am and the lab at 6:30pm on the same day! This school is in a busy (and expensive!) area and is not commuter friendly. The staff is very nice but they are a little overwhelmingly hands on. I didn't realize when they said small class sizes they meant 10-15 students with two teachers in the class. I honestly feel like I am in high school again, when we are lectured about cussing and pseudo-cussing and we get in trouble for having our phones out and being tardy. For a school that video tapes all of their lectures for their distance learning program, I don't understand why they can't just offer online lectures for the students who have to commute. I would not recommend this school if you are not very religious, because they pray before every class and it's a bit awkward if you are not used to that. Honestly, you would save yourself a lot of stress and money if you just went to a public school.