Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Agnes Scott College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/10/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 out of 10 people found this review useful. 1 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Women (of course!) Girls who know how to balance school work and free time. Because you will have to put in some hard work and you need to know how to take a break.

    Tips for prospective students

    VISIT!!! Visit the campus, especially if you are undecided! Talk to students (we are all on facebook and would love to chat). But do your homework, are you sure you want a women's college? Is it to close to/too far from home? If there is a program you are interested in talk to a professor. Don't be afraid to ask questions!

    Bang for the buck

    Agnes really is worth the money you may (or may not) pay. For the most part the Financial Aid office is really generous and helpful. I don't know anyone who didn't get some form of help, be it merit or need. Because of the quality of the education and the reputation at Agnes, your degree can really take you places, be it grad school or the workforce.

    Am enjoying being here

    I absolutely love Agnes!! At first I wasn't sure about an all women's college but it was a great choice for me. The campus is beautiful, the dorms are amazing, the people are fantastic and it seems that everyone is happy to be there. There are lots of activities off and on campus so you never have to be bored. Having Atlanta so close is really great; there is never a lack of stores, restaurants, and attractions!

    Am learning a lot

    I have never been exposed to so much information in one academic year! Because of the distributional requirements you are exposed to a multitude of subjects and you learn a little bit of everything. My first year, I took classes in History, Biology, Math, Spanish, English, and Political Science. All the professors really know their subjects and are excited to teach. Its impossible to not learn something interesting everyday!

  • 07/16/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    5 out of 7 people found this review useful. 2 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This women's college will make everyone in the campus feel welcome and enjoy the faulty and social life. Once the female students step in the campus and touring around the school they will feel right at home.

    Tips for prospective students

    More comfortable space, because it's a women's college that every women will feel comfortable and enjoy around the school. The academics are excellent! The faulty encourages the students to succeed.

    Bang for the buck

    I will do anything to go a women's college whether my family is poor or not, because i don't like the environment I've been experience here at Bellevue and going to the female school is my biggest dream than any other of my dreams.

    Will enjoy being here

    I always wanted to go a women's college when i grow ever since and i know my experiences will change more than I have at my school experiences here. Plus, I saw the video in the website that holds loads of information that made me realized that this kind of college would be the perfect college for me till I graduate from high school.

    Will learn a lot

    I saw the academics in the website and there's a lot of departments that i really want to study. The departments that I've chosen will encourage me to do my best and take good notes on in class, everyday.

  • 04/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Although the campus is in Atlanta there is NO crime. Our public safety officers are highly trained and super friendly.

    Greek Life

    There is none

    Clubs and Activities

    There is literally a club for everyone and it is obtainable to reach a leadership position.

    Great for these types of students

    dedicated students that want to be successful.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are a lot of beautiful places to study if you are looking for a quiet place to study.

    Bang for the buck

    You really pay for great education.

    What to do for fun

    Go out to GA Tech. There is ALWAYS something to do in Atlanta! I am never bored!

    Food and Dining

    It's okay but Mollies is the campus dinner and is fantastic!

    Dorm Life

    Beautiful dorms!

    Academic Rigor

    its very rigorous but they really prepare you for graduate school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply on the Common App. Its free!

    In three sentences

    Its a perfect school if your dedicated student. Its a perfect school for students that are interested in sciences. Its also a beautiful and very helpful campus.

  • 11/07/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone looking for a new and unique experience. I would have never considered an all-women college before, but I hardly notice the lack of male students. If you need to party, there are always GA Tech boys and parties. As for the campus, it is just enjoyable and peaceful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't stress out and enjoy your time here. Come visit. Before I came here to look around, I had my heart set on another school, and I was definitely going to go there, but when I set foot on Agnes Scott, the cool breeze rustling through the trees and the sight of actual grass made me fall in love with this campus, and I'm sure it'll take your breath away too.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a liberal arts school, so not much on the science bits, but it does have a wide range of subjects to study. It's expensive, because they take very good care of the grass and have high-tech study rooms that students can use. They make us feel comfortable and feel like a student, rather than a number on paper.

    Am enjoying being here

    I sincerely wish that I lived further away from Agnes Scott, so my parents would require me to go home every weekend. There are a lot of things to do, needless to say, and there is at least a fun event or two going on every month. Black Cat week was amazing, and I'm sure you prospectives will think the same when you come to it.

    Am learning a lot

    The first-year seminars are very informative. I never thought I would look at food this way. There are a lot of different FYS topics offered for first-years in order to expand the way we think and promote the way we write. The wide range of classes offered is just amazing. All of the professors are nice, and the workload is never too much.

  • 03/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    we have an excellent public safety team on campus, and while i have never needed them, i am positive that if i did, they would be there.

    Greek Life

    none. agnes believes that greek life would separate the student body.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are so many clubs to join and so many activities to participate in. from the anime club to the gaming club, to the daughters of gaia.

    Great for these types of students

    active learners, open minded observers, people who love to laugh and experience new things.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    black cat! a week long celebration of sorts.

    Bang for the buck

    this school is expensive, but it is absolutely worth it. it is glbtq-friendly, and the educational experience inside and outside of the classroom is unparalleled. there are also many clubs to be a part of, and all kinds of religious events on campus.

    What to do for fun

    go into the city, ride the train into atlanta, sunbathe on the quad.

    Food and Dining

    the food here is acceptable, but not really spectacular. when i can, i go off campus to eat.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are a good size compared to other schools, but some buildings don't have a/c.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are tough. most of them, anyway. because the class size is so small (13-20) students on average, the professors have the freedom to be thorough with their instruction, but on the same token, the professors will help you out if you need them to.

    Tips for prospective students

    be yourself. come prepared for strenuous classes. don't be afraid to participate in activities on campus. this is not a party school.

    In three sentences

    this school has a diverse student body and diverse fields of study. the class size is small, so you have easy access to your professors. all in all, the school has a friendly, open feel to it.

  • 03/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Black Ring Mafia! Every year, the sophomore class has a ring ceremony that is well-known. They receive gold or silver rings with an engraved black panel with the graduating year. Once they receive the rings, they are officially apart of the Black Ring Mafia. This is how you can spot out any Alum of Agnes that you might run into.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is kind of high, but it's worth it. The campus is beautiful, the faculty is extremely helpful, and we have tons of activities and panels to participate in.

    What to do for fun

    Agnes always has some sort of activity to do. We have TGIF parties in the grill which include free food, drinks, and music. The programming board sends out emails and post flyers with the info. There aren't many clubs in the area, but Georgia Tech and Emory throw parties on the weekends. Having a car would be useful if you enjoy partying!

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is better than most schools. We have plenty of vegetarian and vegan options. In addition, every week we have Fried Chicken Wednesdays! It's definitely the most popular day. We have a grill that is open until midnight on weekdays. They have great typical American food.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorms are pretty typical. You get a bed, desk, chair, bookshelf, and a dresser. The closet space is decent, and we have kitchens. You have to participate in a housing lottery for your sophomore, junior, and senior year which involves a fee. The upperclassmen dorms are very pretty and we offer apartments for students who don't mind coughing up an extra thousand dollars.

    Academic Rigor

    Agnes Scott will challenge your typical way of thinking. We have common courses that most schools offer, but we also have courses that are unusual. Agnes is a great option for students that enjoy challenging themselves.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't let the College for Women motto discourage you. There aren't any men on campus, but we view ourselves as one, huge sorority. As we say, It's not a girl's college without men, It's a women's college without boys!

    In three sentences

    Agnes Scott is a great place to find yourself. The College offers a lot of liberal majors and is very community oriented.

  • 06/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I was looking for a diverse school, one that has a strong study abroad program, and access to the city. Because of the size of the school, I know most everyone or know of them--which I think is comforting. If anything ever happens, I know a handful of students who can help as well as deans and professors. I didn't want a school with huge lecture halls and being seen as a number. Most of the classes here are under 20 people and discussion based which I love. 30 people in a class is huge here and typically is only for introductory classes. After the intro classes, classes can be as small as 8 people!

    Tips for prospective students

    I do recommend visiting. I actually visited one day just because I didn't want to go to school and I fell in love with it. I love the traditions we have, the interesting class selections and the diversity of the campus (its unbelievably diverse). You learn a lot just while being on campus surrounded by people with so many different values and beliefs--you learn to be more accepting and respectful of others.

    Bang for the buck

    While the Agnes tuition may seem a bit much, the Financial Aid office is great about giving scholarships. Agnes ended up costing about the same as the other schools I was applying to (after the scholarships).

    Am enjoying being here

    Agnes is located just 10 minutes from Atlanta, so its not uncommon for us to go spend our weekend over there but Decatur also has a lot to offer. Agnes is also really good about the events we have on campus, whether its a block party, cultural events or guest speakers. And I also feel very safe on campus (which is beautiful; it kind of has a Harry Potter feel to it).

    Am learning a lot

    At Agnes, we can take any class from any department regardless of our major (as long as we have pre-requisites). I have a friend at UGA who is a business major and over there they will not allow her to take any art classes! Also, for most of our assignment at Agnes we get to choose our own topics of interest so it makes the work more exciting.

  • 01/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is extremely safe. The crime rate is low. Our officers do a very good job.

    Greek Life

    Agnes Scott does not engage in Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a number of clubs and activities for everybody's liking.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Since we don't have a football team our homecoming week called Black Cat is a fun-filled experience. Another tradition is sophomore family week where the sophomores get rings showing that they've made it thus far.

    Bang for the buck

    Although Agnes Scott is expensive I could not imagine myself at any other school. It is definitely worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    With many clubs and organizations there is always something going on, on campus.

    Food and Dining

    I often hear that the food is better then that of other schools. There are options for vegetarians and others with special food needs. It also tastes delicious.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice. Some people don't like the community style but the dorms are close to everything on campus. There are options such as double and single. Residence life is amazing.

    Academic Rigor

    Agnes Scott is very big in academics. While the classes are challenging they are definitely doable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the alternative options to submitting SAT scores. Set up a visit to the school at some point in time.

    In three sentences

    Agnes Scott has an amazing atmosphere. The campus is beautiful. I give Agnes Scott an 8.

  • 09/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We may have an open campus, but our security is top notch. Public safety is always around and you need swipe key access for the dorms 24/7. Once campus centers and buildings are closed, the only way to get in is with your i.d.

    Greek Life

    No sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's something for everybody.

    Great for these types of students

    It takes a special young woman to be here. These young women are usually hard working,

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We've got Black Cat week which is our equivalent of homecoming. Freshman keep their mascots a secret from other classes 'til that week.

    Bang for the buck

    They really try to help diminish the cost as much as possible. Just keep your grades up and work hard. The financial aid packages are awesome.

    What to do for fun

    Agnes Scott actually has the perfect location for someone looking to have fun. We're right by the MARTA train station if you want to go a distance. But, Decatur square is super close, they're are great coffee places, fro-yo places and just regular restaurants.

    Food and Dining

    Evans is the dining hall and it's pretty good overall. If you get tired of the norm, take a trip to Molly's, they've got burgers, fries, wraps and more. You can also stop at the Black Cat Café, they sell actual Starbucks beverages and also smoothies, service is great!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is pretty much what you make it. Just try to be an agreeable person, learn to give and take with your roommate.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes can be challenging but you're typically well prepared for them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Grades, grades and more grades. keep your grades up because there are so many merit based scholarships. Definitely come take a tour and an overnight visit!

    In three sentences

    It truly is a world for women. The campus is beautiful and the people are so friendly and helpful. This is everywhere you'd want to be.

  • 11/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Each stdent is equipt with an ID which enables them to get into buildings after hours. This ensures that no random people can walk around the buildings unknown. There are visable Agnes Scott police on campus 24/7 and on the back of everyone's ID is their number. Freshmen dorms require a student ID to enter them regardless of the time of day and all visitors for any student in any building must be chaperoned.

    Greek Life

    Agnes Scott does not have a Greek Life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Agnes Scott is known for its Black Cat week which is a frendly competition between the classes to see who has the most spirit. Each class has a designated color (yellow, blue, red, or green) and a voted on mascot, both of which they keep for all four years. Various competitions such as decorations, field day, original song and dance, and dinner themes allow for the classes to earn points to determine the winner at the end of the week. Another very import tradition is the class ring tradition. The Agnes Scott ring has not chnaged for almost 60 years. There is a large cermony and dinner that occurs when sophmores recieve their rings in their Spring semester.

    Bang for the buck

    Despite Agnes Scott's hefty price tag, 90% of students have half or more than half of their tuition covered by the school. A degree from Agnes Scott looks very impressive to graduate schools and the college has a 98% accptance rate.

    What to do for fun

    Agnes Scott is located in Decatur, Georgia and is literally right across the street from downtown Decatur. There is easy acess to public transit for students with out a car. The school hosts many events free to students as well. If one wishes for a bigger setting, Decatur is less than 10 minutes from Atlanta and the colleges located in Atlanta (Emory, Georgia Tech., Spelman, ect.).

    Food and Dining

    Agnes Scott has three different places to grab food on campus and each place accepts food plans to pay for meals during the respective meal times. The main dining hall has a long food rotation cycle which ensures that certain main dishes don't repeat too often which allows for a larger variety of options. There is always a vegetarian/vegan station and each station will list whether of not their food has gluten or dairy and whether it not it falls undert the vegan or vegatarian deits. The next largest food place has grill-styled food and is meant for students ho need a grab and go type of meal. Their food is cooked as it is order and is known for its serving speed. It also sells smaller grab and go snacks such as cereal bowls, chips, candy, and trail mix type snacks. This food option also has a freezer which sells Ben and Jerry's icecream and frozen entrees. The final food option is the school's coffee cafe which sells Starbucks coffee and smoothies as well as a variety of pastries.

    Dorm Life

    Agnes Scott has communal styled dorms the include two to three students to a room with each hall sharing two bathroom/shower areas (usually with 4 showers and 7 toliets/sinks each) and a half kitchen (all of the normal appliances found in a kitchen except a stove and oven). There is always the oppertunity for upper classmen to live off campus in the school's appartment complex where up to four students share a 2 bedroom appartment that is fully furished and includes a full kitchen.

    Academic Rigor

    Agnes Scott is known for producing students who have achived high success in their careers. This is because Agnes promotes student research and ensures students are able to handle large papers and projects that they might experience later in their lives. The school doesn't have an honors program because it is assumed that any student able to get in is considered an honors student which is why the school's course work and grading scale is so rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you are on top of your game when it comes to getting work done on time. The semester may start off easy, especially for first year students, but it gets progressively harder as time goes on so students have to be time conscious and not leave work to the last minute.

    In three sentences

    A college that is accepting of students from every background possibly imaginable. The possibilities are endless for what you want to study with classes that include a variety of interests and programs allowing students to create their own majors if they want more than what Agnes Scott offers. With a beautiful campus and a close proximity to Atlanta, Agnes Scott packs a lot of punch for a small school.

  • 01/29/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    they have relatively inexpensive on-campus food with a good variety of items.

    Academic Rigor

    from what i've heard from attending students the academics are challenging but interesting.

    In three sentences

    the campus is beautiful and so are the people who are all unique women pursuing various goals. the counselors take the time to talk to prospective students and make sure their programs are right for you. it's very easy to fall in love with this school.

  • 03/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    we are one big sisterhood :)

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    we have black cat, which is a whole week in october that started a long time ago because of a prank. on sunday at midnight, students rush the quad and decorate it with props of their class color. each class has a party day where they decorate the dining hall for dinner. on thursday we have bonfire where all the classes dress up in their class color and sing songs that we made up to our sister class. friday is junior production where the junior class puts on a show. saturday is the black cat formal which is held at a classy location.

    What to do for fun

    programming board does a great job planning events for the campus. georgia tech and georgia state are also very close.

    Food and Dining

    the dining staff does a tremendous job. the food is great and they're open to suggestions.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life isn't too bad but it isn't anything to really brag about. the most enjoyable part is getting to know new people.

    Academic Rigor

    academically, agnes scott is very challenging. the professors push students very hard because they know agnes scott women are capable of accomplishing many things.

    Tips for prospective students

    come to agnes scott with an open mind, so much can be learned about others from doing this. know how to manage your time wisely! be able to speak your mind. call the first year students first- years instead of freshman talk to current students about their experiences.

    In three sentences

    agnes scott is a great school for those who are wishing to continue their education after college. this school has the type of environment that will accept you no matter what. all in all, you will feel like a well rounded, independent woman for attending agnes scott college.

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    13 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I hear it's top-notch. Security on the scene at all times, and will walk you around campus if needed. You should be fine.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's plenty to choose. You'll fit in to at least one club or organization.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who want: a smaller size college to be near, but not in, the city tolerant of females wants to be challenged open to try new things/broaden horizons well-rounded all ethnic backgrounds intellectual

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's plenty that you learn from campus tours: jumping into fountains once you're engaged, Pancake Night, costume-wearing to support your year (every four years share the same color, also), etc.

    Bang for the buck

    Though on the pricy side, it's been to said to be worth attending. Lots of scholarships are available, so pricing drops to a more feasible price. Still more pricy than the average school. Prepare to look for jobs.

    What to do for fun

    Located near Atlanta, there's plenty to do. Many on-campus activities available.

    Food and Dining

    So far so good. There's varieties to choose from everyday. Food tastes good, mostly made fresh. Suitable to all types of eating habits.

    Dorm Life

    Known partially for it's large dorm room, Agnes provides basic furniture, but allows you to personalize to an extent. Dorm rooms mostly shared by about two people, some have for just one, also apartment complexes, and theme houses.

    Academic Rigor

    It's supposedly challenging, but not impossible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early. Don't be afraid to call and ask for help. Stay organized.

    In three sentences

    It's an all-girl school, so it's private. It's located near a city. It's an accredited college to those who have heard of it.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The ASC tradition that is most honored is Black Cat week and well...you just have to see it to understand it.

    What to do for fun

    The campus is located in Decatur and is only a short drive to downtown Atl, so there is never a shortage of stuff to do for fun around the college!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work hard to earn your degree, because ASC expects a lot out of its students.

    In three sentences

    The academics are outstanding. The faculty is very helpful and has the best interest of the students at heart. The tuition is extremely hard to afford.

  • 09/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's almost too safe. We have a police force for a school that's only 100 acres... They do EVERYTHING they can to protect us, trust me.

    Greek Life

    There isn't any but we're all sisters anyway so its not needed. Want to go to a frat party? No worries. We're ALWAYS at ga tech.

    Clubs and Activities

    If you like something, there is a club for it. Scottie's honor.

    Great for these types of students

    Social girls, students who are above average, girls who are a little weird and those who are all of the above!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is full of tradition from bell ringers to school hymms.

    Bang for the buck

    Totally worth it. Just... It's worth it. just apply. Apply and see how much they offer you.

    What to do for fun

    The school itself hosts many fun events, then we're right in downtown decatur which is pretty cute and we're ten minutes from atl so there's plenty to do.

    Food and Dining

    While it can be a little repetitive, it's so good.

    Dorm Life

    Once you find your niche, dorm life is great. Even if you rarely leave campus, you'll hae fun here. Plus visiting hours and policies are way better than that of other schools.

    Academic Rigor

    It's pretty challenging, this coming from a kid who took only honors and aps in high school. But it's very rewarding and worth the effort.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ignore that it's a women college, it's really not bad at all. Remember that they gives pretty great financial aid packages and that if you really wanna go to school with boys, there's always grad school.

    In three sentences

    It's very accepting and progressive. The campus is beautiful, the girls are great the teacher's are wonderful. There is plenty to do here if you're willing to look.

  • 09/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    nonexistent

    Clubs and Activities

    Anything you can think of

    Great for these types of students

    If you consider yourself politically liberal and environmentally conscious

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Black Cat Week is an exceptional week on campus in October where each class expresses its class pride. The week includes a concert, bonfire, parties, and even a formal dance,

    Bang for the buck

    Great Financial Aid! They definitely are willing to work with you.

    What to do for fun

    Its Atlanta! The possibilities are endless!

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to one of many campus tours and sit in on a class

    In three sentences

    Agnes Scott College offers an exceptional liberal arts education for young women. With the feel of small close knit community in a big city urban environment, Agnes Scott provides the best of both worlds.

  • 04/07/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Sophomore year you get your class ring. They also throw you in the pond if you get engaged.

    What to do for fun

    Go to Atlanta.

    Dorm Life

    They have an honor code, and no one has reported anything stolen in over 100 years.

    In three sentences

    It is an amazing college that produces amazing women. It is a tad pricy, but it is a private women's college with a fair amount of financial aid and scholarships available. This college builds strong, assertive women who are going to rule the world.

  • 05/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    Great for these types of students

    open minded

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    BLACK CAT

    What to do for fun

    SPORTS! There are also plenty of clubs to join, and plenty of on and off campus events!

    Food and Dining

    Some days are good, some days not so much.

    Dorm Life

    They have upgraded many facilities recently: new dorm, new mattresses, better washer and dryers. By the way, washing and drying laundry is FREE.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are tough, but when you pull out good grades it is well worth it!

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus to truly know if it is a good fit for you.

    In three sentences

    Agnes Scott is a wonderful college. It helps its students grow as women and as leaders of the future. The Agnes Scott culture is not for everyone.

  • 06/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe on campus. Luckily everything is very close together so even when I'm walking alone at night I do not feel unsafe.

    Greek Life

    As far as I'm aware, Agnes Scott doesn't offer any opportunities to join a sorority.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many different groups at Agnes it's insane. Most of them advertise themselves through emails so be sure to read them!

    Great for these types of students

    Agnes Scott is a safe environment for a variety of students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One tradition: girls who get engaged are thrown into a fountain by their friends.

    What to do for fun

    Take the MARTA to a movie theater or take a walk to Starbucks or to get frozen yogurt. There are also a lot of cool one of a kind shops within walking distance. The college itself also hosts parties, academic talks, and plenty of events with free food.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Agnes is a cut above most colleges. For the first month you will be incredibly impressed. Once the meals start to repeat, the glamour fades but the food is still very good. I personally love the salad bar and delicious desserts.

    Dorm Life

    Our RAs often put together little events for all of the floors of my dorm room to get together and watch movies or make Valentine's day cards. I often ran into friends in the halls and we would make spontaneous plans. Groups of girls sometimes gathered in the lobby on the first floor to chill on the couches and talk.

    Academic Rigor

    Agnes Scott's professors often require essays and a good bit of reading. If you keep up on the reading and visit the Center of Writing and Speaking to help you better yourself as a writer, you'll be fine at Agnes. From my experience, a healthy amount of effort has earned me A's.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you come to Agnes Scott, don't worry about getting lost--you will seldom be more than five minutes away from any class since the campus is pretty small. Don't be afraid to ask your teachers for help or advice when you're struggling with an assignment, even if you're simply having trouble finding the right way to start your essay. My professors have always been willing to help with even my smallest hang-ups. Thirdly, don't stress out if you don't make friends right away. My closest group of friends were girls I ended up living across from. During the first few weeks sit down at different tables during meals and be open to meeting new people--you will eventually meet people you click with! Don't be afraid to have fun with your elective classes either. Agnes Scott is very supportive of exploring all interests, so go ahead.

    In three sentences

    Agnes Scott has excellent professors that will respond to your emails within hours and always make time to speak to their students after class. The campus is one of the most beautiful across the country and the dorm rooms are homey. Agnes Scott is also conveniently located right outside of Atlanta so there's a wealth of things to do a MARTA ride's away.

  • 06/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They're always around!

    What to do for fun

    Go to Georgia Tech!!

    Food and Dining

    There's lot of restaurants in downtown Decatur to eat at!

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are a little old. And some of them do not have air conditioning.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are definitely challenging, but if students focus they will be able to do well in school.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Know who you are/want to be before you come to college. 2. Make friends from different social groups. 3. Become involved in campus activities!

    In three sentences

    Agnes Scott is a College where women can get a great education and truly focus on perusing majors which give a well rounded education due Agnes Scott being a liberal arts college. The college is full of all different types of people. So new students will easily find a group of people or niche to fit in with quickly.

  • 06/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Black Cat Week is like our Homecoming Week at other colleges. It commences at 12am on Monday morning where each class decorates their respective floors with their class colors and ends with the Black Cat Formal Dance at the end of the week. Each class has opportunities everyday to earn points for their class. The class with the most points at the end of the week wins.

    What to do for fun

    Walking around Decatur Square can prove to be an adventure within itself.

    In three sentences

    Agnes Scott is a great all-women's college. Despite being a Christian (Presbyterian) college, it is very open and accepting of the LGBT community. The small size of the college allows for easier access and better relationship building between professors and students.

  • 06/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is lots to do on campus. There are various clubs to join and there are always event held on campus

    Food and Dining

    The food is great. There are two dinning halls and it's buffet style.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are the largest I've seen on any campus. We have walk in closets and there is always something fun to do on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    You will be challenged but you'll leave with a great sense of pride knowing you completed all your work

    Tips for prospective students

    The teachers are always willing to help. Utilize office hours and the tutoring centers are always helpful.

    In three sentences

    There is a great sense of community on campus. The campus is very beautiful and is in a very safe area.

  • 06/20/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    23 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Has to be on of the most secure campuses I've been on. The crime rate in the city of Decatur is low.

    Bang for the buck

    Agnes Scott has to have one of the best values for a Private Institution. Almost every one admitted receives some kind of financial aid.

    Food and Dining

    The food is delicious! When visiting, I had never eaten anything that I did not like from the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    Although Freshman have to stay in the community styled dorms, they're actually really nice. One of the advantages is that the dorms have walk-in closets. The bathrooms are clean and the dorm rooms are pretty big.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are rigorous, but the professors are very helpful and the classes are small. This usually makes students feel comfortable about asking questions and seeking the help that is needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your admissions counselor before you are even admitted to the school. They are very helpful and encouraging. Agnes Scott literally looks for the well-rounded student, so make sure you are versatile. Lastly, show leadership and dedication.

    In three sentences

    Agnes Scott College is a small liberal-arts women's college with a gorgeous campus! They truly care about their students, and strive to create leaders. I recommend this school for any young woman.

  • 07/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus is small and is in Downtown Decatur, it is basically closed but people can just walk on campus and you will see people exercising on our grounds especially in the evening. There have been a few incidents off campus with robberies but for the most part our campus is very safe. Police are always at our big parties and security can get anywhere pretty fast considering the size of the school.

    Greek Life

    No Greek Life.

    Great for these types of students

    Anybody but you should definitely be open-minded

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Black Cat is like homecoming. People get crazy, there are class competitions and a semi-formal dance.

    Bang for the buck

    If you have great scholarships, this is a great school. If you don't have great scholarship definitely be smart about your decision and don't put yourself in hole of debt after graduation.

    What to do for fun

    There are always events put on by different student organizations. Even though it is a small school there are things that everyone will find enjoyable. Being in downtown Decatur there are plenty of restaurants and with the train so close you can get around Atlanta pretty well.

    Food and Dining

    Food is pretty good. Staff can be grumpy sometimes though.

    Dorm Life

    Community style bathrooms are not cool, The dorms could definitely be better compared to the other buildings. But the rooms are pretty big and juniors and seniors do have apartment options.

    Academic Rigor

    I am only going to be a sophomore but I have not had any really hard classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely think about how you are going to pay for this school. Get as many scholarships as you can.

    In three sentences

    Agnes Scott is a great place for young women to grow into themselves and open their minds. Students and staff are great here and make you feel welcome. If you have good scholarship, I definitely recommend coming.

  • 08/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Agnes Scott Police is AMAZING! They go out of their way to make sure you feel safe at all times.

    Great for these types of students

    If you plan on working very hard during the week and reaping the rewards over the weekend, this school is perfect for you.

    What to do for fun

    You'll be less than fifteen minutes from downtown Atlanta. The social atmosphere is very large and exciting.

    Food and Dining

    The food is delicious, but it can become boring after awhile. Luckily, downtown Decatur has many different restaurants that are cheap.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is alright. The bathrooms can get nasty, but that's the only drawback. It's very exciting to live in dorms during the weekend, especially when a big event or party is coming. Everyone will be in the hallways, putting on makeup. Some females will be doing their friends hair (which was my role, as well as makeup). Overall, dorm life is what you make it.

    Academic Rigor

    As a freshman, I didn't struggle with the academics, but they were very challenging. Many days and nights, I had to hang out in the library to finish a paper or finish studying for an upcoming exam.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not come to college, in general, with a complete mindset. Be open to different people and opportunities.

    In three sentences

    Not only is the campus beautiful, but so are the faculty, staff, and students. Here at Agnes Scott College, you will meet some of the greatest people. These people will turn into great friends, who ultimately push you into working ten times harder than you ever have before.

  • 09/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always an officer on campus at all times.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who are interested in Liberal Arts, Science and Mathematics, and Writing.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One tradition we have is Black Cat week.Which is pretty much a week of partying.

    Bang for the buck

    You get total use of all the facilities on campus. The faculty and staff is very nice and helpful when you need them.

    What to do for fun

    There's always some activity or fun club meeting going on. So get involved but not too involved!!

    Food and Dining

    Food is really great. They have a dining hall where you get buffet style food and theres a grill where you can get wraps and sandwiches and fries. The dining hall sometimes runs out of food and dessert fast so get there early. The Mollies Grill has great curly fries though.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus, but I'm always in the residence halls. Girls are really nice and friendly. The bathrooms are clean but some rooms have had problems with air conditioners.If you don't like community bathrooms then dorm life at Agnes is not for you.

    Academic Rigor

    There is good academic rigor. Classes are on a higher level with more discussions and papers. If you don't read you will be left behind.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look for scholarships!!! Stay on top of your game and do all your work.Don't break honor code.

    In three sentences

    Great college, like a big sorority.Love the women and the professors. The campus is also beautiful.

  • 01/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have our own campus security, they can be seen patrolling the campus or in the student parking lots. Because the campus is so small and such a tight nit community their is really no crime.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for everything here. Interested in biology, there's a club for that. Love anime and manga, there's a club for that as well.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for women who want a more intimate class setting where the professors know you by name. Great for those of you who want rigorous but rewarding classes. If you're the studious type there are plenty of quiet places to study.

    Bang for the buck

    Agnes Scott is worth every cent you put into it. The teachers are first rate, campus life is great. There is always something going on, whether it be on campus, in Decatur, or Atlanta every thing is really close by.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club, visit Downtown Decatur for shopping, go to the Decatur Library for non-academic reading. Catch a concert or go see a guest speaker.

    Food and Dining

    There are two places on campus to eat. Mollies and the Dining Hall. Both provide good food. Mollies is the campus diner and I love the food, while the dinning hall is more buffet style.

    Dorm Life

    I have no idea about the dorms as I am a commuter/day student. Which means I still live at home or in my own lodgings. But commuters are provided our own lounge that has a t.v, and a little kitchenette area.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are pretty challenging, but you have nothing to worry about if you study and talk to your professors about concerns or concepts you have trouble grasping.

    In three sentences

    Great environment you feel welcome from the minute you step onto campus for your first tour to your first day of class. The beautiful campus shows you just how much work goes not just into appearances but the whole experience for it's students. There's always plenty of shopping as it's near Downtown Decatur, so you have the shops here and the MARTA train and bus station as well.

  • 02/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 29

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security does a great job keeping us safe. Decatur is perfect because it isn't as dangerous as completely living in the city but it has all its perks.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    We have about a million, trust me you will find a club for you

    Great for these types of students

    ALL WOMEN!!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Black Cat is amazing!! But its more fun if you experience it first hand then me telling you about it.

    What to do for fun

    If you cant find something fun to do in Decatur or Atlanta every single day you are doing it wrong

    Food and Dining

    Small schools just aren't going to have as good of food as big public schools but for the small selection it is good.

    Dorm Life

    The buildings are old so you cant have your own mini fridge or anything like that but they are beautiful!

    Academic Rigor

    Agnes is definitely not an easy school but the small class size as well as all the tools they have here make the burden very manageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Turn in application early for the best chance at a good scholarship because you can get a lot of money if you just try.

    In three sentences

    Agnes Scott is wonderful! I absolutely have loved my time here. It is very accepting and welcoming.

  • 06/01/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    29 of 29

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I heard going to Atlanta is always an option for fun.

    Food and Dining

    I am a picky eater and I find the food excellent

    Dorm Life

    Dorms and restrooms are clean. Each student has a good amount of space.

    Academic Rigor

    This school is known for their academics and it is important to study and do well.

    Tips for prospective students

    keep grades up, read and study a lot but not too overwhelming.

    In three sentences

    Agnes is a very strong academic school for women. A beautiful campus with very friendly people. Everyone helps each other and all you have to do is ask.