Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Alabama A & M University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/23/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 out of 34 people found this review useful. 1 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    I honestly would have to say just stay focused I think it's no reason for you to fail because I participated in activities and still went out with friends and finished my freshman year off really strong. I know everybody's attention span is different but I truely believe Alabama A & M University is a school you can learn and have fun at. Good Luck to all the incoming freshman and transfer students!

  • 07/30/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 out of 19 people found this review useful. 2 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Well at Alabama A & M University you can certainly tell that you are no longer in high school. You are now the one responsible for you future, you can lean on your parents for advice and that's it. At this school you have to stay on your toes and make sure everything is done corrrectly and keep copies of all your incounters with any advisors,professors, and financial aid advisors. I am definately happy to have all of those experiences because now I know how to handle myself.

  • 01/19/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 out of 16 people found this review useful. 3 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who enjoy historical features should consider AAMU.The school is very historical and it makes you feel enriched with knowledge. Also, any student who wants to succeed academically would love AAMU because of the classes and the support they get. Students who love to have a good time would fit in perfectly here, there is always something fun going on.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students who are thinking about coming here should definitely come to the High School Senior Day. This day is set aside for any high school senior that is interested in attending AAMU. I went and it really helped me lock in my decision about this school. The students get to eat free, get a detailed tour of the campus, and get to watch a free football game. It is really exciting!

    Bang for the buck

    AAMU is actually an inexpensive school and people get what they need from this school. I am an in-state student and my tuition is under 13,000 this year. Out of state students have told me that this was a wise choice financial for them.

    Am enjoying being here

    I really love my school! Although the campus is small for a University it is very nice and historical. The people here are very helpful with the transition from high school to college. I love the activities there are on campus, there are so many things to do on campus its overwhelming. I am really getting the college experience.

    Am learning a lot

    I would honestly say that I am learning a lot of new things at AAMU. I came here thinking that college was going to be extremely hard and that I would fail. But in reality I have had the best classes and very helpful teachers. This is my second semester here and I am very excited about my new classes.

  • 12/15/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 out of 11 people found this review useful. 4 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I will be completely honest to everyone reading this review. If you are looking for an exciting college experience where you meet many people this school is not for you. If your going to college for the sole purpose of learning and improving yourself AAMU is for you. This is a historically black university so expect not to have the best of everything given to you. Its up to you as a person to make the best out of everything.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is not and has never been known for its vibrant student life so it is up to you to become involved. Make sure to get involved with two or three organizations your first semester because that will help you meet people and build your network. Having good friends is a key to success at AAMU. There are no real campus stores and communication of events can be non existent sometimes so trust me friends will greatly improve your time here. AAMU is fairly small so teachers will know your personally and the people around you will know your face.

    Bang for the buck

    AAMU is the least expensive University in the State of Alabama and is definitely worth the price. Because of the schools size there are also many ways to obtain scholarships if you take the time to look for them. Also Huntsville by far is also becoming one of the top cities in Alabama due to all the economic growth and having Redstone Arsenal. AAMU is worth every penny if your looking for a school you wont be struggling to pay for.

    Am enjoying being here

    Complete honesty in my review, I did not enjoy my first semester here because I was one of those people who liked to keep to myself and my group of friends. Key to enjoying your time is networking, go to every single campus event, study in the library, and develop relationships with your teachers. The athletics can be a little, hard to watch at times but things are what you make them out to be.

    Am learning a lot

    Academics in my opinion is the crown Jewel of AAMU. Your teachers will make sure you understand what they are teaching and will also help you understand. Class size on average is about twenty people but you will from time to time get classes with six people or even over thirty. There's study areas located throughout campus so its fairly easy to find a quiet area if you prefer not to study in your dorm.

  • 12/08/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 5 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    AAMU is great for all students and anyone who comes to this university will fall in love with it and its history.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you attend AAMU get involved in at least one of the many organizations or sports teams on campus, establish relationships with your teachers, and have fun. Also remember to have good time management skills or you can fall behind or off the success train. Also talk to financial aid about working on campus with either work study or bi-weekly.

    Bang for the buck

    AAMU is not a very expensive school and every penny you pay to attend AAMU is worth it. There are lots of scholarships and grant opportunities available for students who attend or plan on attending AAMU. You just have to meet and talk to the right people. For example, any students who plan on having a career in the medical field can join this organization called HCOP and receive free MCAT,PCAT, and DCAT exams tutoring as well as a $2000 scholarship for the fall.

    Am enjoying being here

    Its great on campus and I love being here. I would not trade universities for nothing in the world. There is always something to do on campus. If you are not studying then you could always go to the greasy spoon and get a bit to eat and upstairs to the student center to see whats popping on campus.

    Am learning a lot

    The University has a lot of different resources on campus and off campus that are near. The professors really know their stuff and enjoy teaching the students. I have learned a variety of things from attending this university, educational and non-educational.

  • 04/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 6 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security enforce things that go against the rule book and/or anything that they see is harmful to the university.

    Greek Life

    This university offers different amount of Greek life that any student would be interested in joining.

    Clubs and Activities

    This university has a great amount of clubs and activities such as band, science clubs, math clubs. Those are just a few.

    Great for these types of students

    This school offers different types of scholarships if any student is willing to apply.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The wellness center located on campus is a great spot to work out or play basketball.

    Bang for the buck

    This university offers jobs around campus if a student is looking for a part time job just to keep some extra money in their pocket.

    What to do for fun

    This university has a lot of activity around campus. Each organization offers party or gathering for everybody to have fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food life at this university is ok. I believe it could be better due to the fact the food that is being consume doesn't last long in your body. Meaning that it goes right through you.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life at this university is decent. The RA's (room assistance) provide help for you when there is a problem.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor at Alabama A&M University is decent. The university provide tutoring service when needed. This university doesn't want anyone to fail and that means a lot to each and every student.

    Tips for prospective students

    For the incoming students I would say put your priorities first then your wants later. Enjoy your college life. Be mindful of your school work and going to class.

    In three sentences

    This university has a great learning environment. It offers assistance when their is a problem such as; tutoring, financial aid, and security. It feels great to be in a area where I don't feel like a outsider.

  • 09/23/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 7 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    the ones that are serious about getting a degree

    Tips for prospective students

    stay focus on your goal

  • 12/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 8 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People that like socializing and getting to know new people.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have A&M on your list, be sure to visit so that you can check out the atmosphere. Just be prepared to attend school for work, and don't get distracted!

    Bang for the buck

    The price to attend A&M isn't too pricey compared to most universities.

    Am enjoying being here

    For the most part, I enjoy the A&M campus. I don't really hang out much because I'm usually in my room doing my work. I really enjoy my classes though.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned a lot at Alabama A&M. The professors that I have are very concerned with the student's ability to be able to learn, and they are always willing to help students out. There is no reason why a student should not be able to gain a knowledgeable learning experience unless they do not attempt to try to learn.

  • 02/04/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 9 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This university is great for those who like meeting new people. SOCIABLE.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on attending be sure to have your business in order. I would strongly advise you to take a campus tour and see what the vibe is. Also apply for as many scholarships as possible, especially within your department. Come with a PLAN and know how to balance business with pleasure/leisure.

    Bang for the buck

    The pricing, in my opinion is very decent, as you will not have to burn a hole in your wallet just to attend.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am very much enjoying myself!!! Part of that is due to the fact that when I first arrived I was extremely introverted. However, as the time wore on and I began to meet new people and become acquainted with the campus, attended events, indulged in the school spirit, etc. I was able to not only experience a level of social freedom but also personal development.

    Am learning a lot

    I can honestly say that I have learned quite a lot of new materials, especially considering the fact that I challenged myself in high school. even though I was ahead of the rest I found that there is MUCH to learn. For example, once I got into my major courses it was as though I stepped into an entirely different school!

  • 10/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 10 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It's a HBCU so if you need some one on one attention this is for you. if you seem like a lazy, layed back person also for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find scholarships early. Don't get caught up in social activities.

    Bang for the buck

    They have there own bus system. That's great because these hills are a killer when walking in rain, heat and cold. Lowest tuition in the state as far a university of its size.

    Am enjoying being here

    Lots of things to do.

    Am learning a lot

    I'm learning is all i can say. Surivial Skills is the only down fall about college. There is nothing you can't learn there that you didn't already know, don't care about, or just could have found out on your own time. Other classes teach the actual thing.

  • 04/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 11 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is very enforced. They walk around campus all day and ride around as well. There are also emergency buttons located all over campus. They also escort people to their cars when the sun is going down,or if they just need to feel safe walking to a certain area.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is a spark on campus. The Greeks have a divine love and respect for one another. They are very active in the student body and gives the students a show during events hosted.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities to be involved with. It is so important that people join clubs and attend activities. Their are interest meeting being held all the time, so everyone can receive a chance to join.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do for fun on the Campus of Alabama Agricultural and Mechanical University. Many events are hosted to relax and talk with fellow peers such as Every Sunny Wednesday, talent shows, forums, Greek events, concerts, and many more.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is fairly well. They provide breakfast, lunch , and dinner. There are different choices of food to choose from to nourish your body.

    Dorm Life

    It really depends on which dormitory that you stay in. All of the dorms provide somewhere to make your own and feel safe. It also helps making that transition form home to college.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic Rigor is made very clear. It will be challenging, but any focused student can do well.

    Tips for prospective students

    When attending any college, approach it open-minded and ready to work. Do not settle for less, and push yourself to succeed above all means. Campus life is what you make it, so getting involved is very important.

    In three sentences

    It is a really good experience. Life on the hill is very warming and accepting. The student body is close knitted.

  • 04/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 12 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    With our new Police Chief our campus has taken campus safety to a new level from Police SUV's to a fleet of new officers.

    Greek Life

    We have some of the best Divine Nine Organizations here on the YARD. From The Alphas to the AKA's.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for anyone on campus. All you have to do is look.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are always wanting something to do and always want to be involved with campus activities you should definitely join SGA.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The candlelight ceremony for the freshmen class is a tradition rich here at Alabama A&M University. It makes you feel as you are now apart of the University.

    Bang for the buck

    The bowling center in our Wellness Center is great. It is very inexpensive and some days its only a dollar.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of intramural activities that you can take part on campus from horse-back riding to fishing to tournament football and basketball.

    Food and Dining

    The food is ok, by the end of the year everything tends to be the same, but I am no one to complain food is food.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great. I recommend staying in a traditional dorm your freshmen year. You build bonds that last a life time.

    Academic Rigor

    The academia here at AAMU is not to hard, but it does prepare you for work life and graduate school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you get involved with campus activities and organizations. Also make sure to network while you are here.

    In three sentences

    AAMU is a great institution where students come first. The teachers care about us and were not just a number. When I have kids my kids will attend this great University.

  • 02/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 13 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    the only things people mainly know about are the parties and the basketball/football events. they do a bad job at promoting stuff. most of the activities don't even start on time unless there's food involved.

    Great for these types of students

    smokers, drinkers, thugs, thieves, and the people who like them.

    Bang for the buck

    Maybe for an in-state student. my out of state tuition is $27,000+. in my acceptance letter it said that my tuition was going to be $11,000. this school isn't even worth that much. they make the school seem large with the pictures they have on their website but its seriuosly small. before you enroll here make sure to take a campus tour.

    Food and Dining

    i was excited at the fact that the cafeteria is a buffet when i started school, but now i barely feel like going. they serve the same food everyday. they try to get creative with the desserts sometimes. and they'll have special dinners like Mardi Gras or Nugget Night. when i compared the dinings halls here to my friends it just made these halls even worse. there's two dining halls and they're both in the high class dorms. Knight is the bigger one. Foster closes at 6 and Knight closes at 7.

    Dorm Life

    before i started college, i was always told that freshman had the crappiest dorms, upperclassmen had the best dorms and that there were fraternity and sorority houses. when i came here there was none of this, except for the part about crappy dorms. upperclassmen are in the same dorms as freshman. When you come to S.O.A.R. they play you by making upcoming freshman stay the night in the high class female dorm, then when you see what your dorm actually looks you get kind of upset, well i did. Compared to my friends dorms who go to other colleges, my dorm isn't worth what i have to pay. if you don't live in the high class dorms or at Normal Hills(Campus apartments) your college experience can be kind of irritating. the cafeteria closes at 7, my RA said that we're lucky to even have a microwave on the first floor. we can't bring microwaves or refridgerators because if we do the power will go out because the building is so old. there are A LOT of empty dorms. There's 6 dorms for guys (Foster, Stephens, Morris, Hopkins, Walker Wood, and Grayson), but only 4 of them are open (Foster, Stephens, Morris, and Hopkins). There's 7 dorms for girls (Knight, Thomas, Hurt, Terry, Palmer, Thigpen, and Buchannan), but only 3 of them are open (Knight, Terry and Palmer). Thomas Hall is open but they're not using it as a dorm, they're using it as the place to teach ORI 101(Survival Skills), tutor, and to talk to your advisor.

    Academic Rigor

    the teachers here care about the education they bestow upon their students. they want you to pass their classes and graduate.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a campus tour. that was my mistake for not taking one. be sure to explore the whole school while your on the tour. If you are into smoking and drinking then this school is made for you. if you like small time schools and can afford the tuition. then this school is for you.

    In three sentences

    This place is small and boring especially if you don't have a car. The dorms here are not worth what ypu have to pay. This school is not worth $20,000+ if your an out-of-state student.

  • 02/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are lots of emergency sigils located around campus that are illuminated with blue lights and when you press the button, it connects directly to campus police.

    Greek Life

    greek life is very very huge at a&m. greeks throw parties a few times a week.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are plenty of clubs and activities going on every semester at aamu.

    Great for these types of students

    people who adapt well! you have to be a people person. a lot of the classes only have about 30 students in them, so you really get to know people and you get a more intimate relationship with your professors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    definitely visit the wellness center, it has a bowling lanes and swimming pools, and lots of work out equipment and other goodies!

    Bang for the buck

    it's a cheap school to attend compared to most schools, and the education you get there is decent. however, if you major in any sort of engineering, you will be at a huge advantage. a&m has an amazing engineering program.

    What to do for fun

    participate in all of the on campus events. there are always tons of fliers posted on every wall you walk past. read them!

    Food and Dining

    the dining facility isn't the best, and the food isn't amazing, but it's food. the cafeteria hours are bad. there is a 2hour slot in the morning for breakfast, a 2hour slot for lunch, and a 2.5hour slot for dinner. if you miss that, there are no other alternatives for food other than going out to get some.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is what you make of it. you can choose to be active and participate in all of the events, or you can choose to keep to yourself.

    Academic Rigor

    most of the classes aren't hard, just do your best and be nice to the professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you get your financial aid (fafsa, loans, grants, scholarships) done before you get to school. make sure you're in good standing, to avoid long lines.

    In three sentences

    although this school has an extensive negative history, it's really what you make of it. if you come to this school with the a positive attitude, you may enjoy it. patience is key: especially when dealing with the financial aid office.

  • 04/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Walk around campus and socialize. Getting involved will definitely ensure a great and successful college experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    College is what an individual makes it, but remember history can repeat itself so make sure your achieve it to the highest degree

    In three sentences

    Sense Alabama A&M University is a Historically Black University I feel it really lives up to the historic name. Alabama A&M is different from most universities simply because our history evolves within the students, that way our knowledge is shown to others. This historic university remains prestigious throughout the community for the education efforts from students as well as faculties.

  • 04/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Many campus events and concerts go on each month.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is not all that great but the restaurant on campus called thje greasy spoon is awesome and cheap.

    Dorm Life

    Extremely fun but you will out grow it and want your own apartment.

    Tips for prospective students

    A tip for a prospective student from me is to come with an open mind and stay strong you will make it through.

    In three sentences

    Alabama A&M University is a wonderful school where many doors are opened so that dreams may be met. The teachers are great, and the teacher student ratio is small so that the student may get more one on one attention. At Alabama A&M University you are a student not just a number.

  • 05/19/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Huntsville does not offer too much however there is a Arts District that offers food and free music.

    Food and Dining

    I have not tried to the food.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prepare to do make a lot of phone calls and write a lot of emails to get simple questions answered.

    In three sentences

    Program advisor is very helpful. Administrative departments difficult to get in touch with and get answers to questions. Hard to get information from Admission Office.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 18 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police are always on the lookout for A&M's students. If it seems like someone is missing everyone will immediately know and the search will start. You can to set all of your electronic devices to receive alerts on weather and news that happens around campus. Even your parents can set up their electronic devices too.

    Greek Life

    Greek life isn't something I partake in but friends I have say it's fun. Especially if you're outgoing and love to meet new people.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs and activities can be manageable with your class schedule. They require certain academic standards and behavioral standards. Some help you get internships and jobs or receive eligibility for scholarships.

    Great for these types of students

    The best thing for any type of students is to follow all of the rules, don't go anywhere alone, keep all of your documents in order, go to class on time, and have fun!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Traditions on campus are the quad. Ceremonies, cookouts, and small gatherings are usually out there. Or you could relax with a significant other or friend on late nights after dormitory curfew.

    Bang for the buck

    A&M is very safe o me. People will meet nd free you ifou feel uncomfortable. Also it's not tht hard to make friends nd the staff will always be there if not.

    What to do for fun

    The things you can do for fun is isi the wellness center nd o o th mall, movies, and more. The buses on campus takes students every Friday o the mall, Walmart, target, ect. The wellness center has a movie room, bowling, swimming, racket ball, basketball, weight lifting, and much more.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining area gives me a welcoming feeling. I'm invited I sit at any table and their are many choices for my liking. The old is always hot and runs out not too often,

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is inviting. You really do not have problem itch the people you live around and curfew is agreeable. The space more than enough and it's clean

    Academic Rigor

    There academia charts for me are awesome. The academic advisory helped me find some of e best teacher on their campus o insure that receive the best education. Also thy helped pick th right classes for me.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips to prospective students is to make yourself and our name known before you even become a student and that will cause your benefits to kick in quicker.

    In three sentences

    Alabama A&m is a great university to attend. It's diverse and has a lot to offer. The campus is safe and the staff treats you as if you're one of their own!!

  • 08/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 19 of 65

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    5 stars the best HBCU ever

  • 06/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school has 24 hour onsite campus police who are very visible. It is really a very safe place.

    Greek Life

    The Greeks on campus helped us to move all of our stuff in on move-in day. They performed a street show for us during our first week on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a lot of recruiting for clubs and activities on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Introverts looking for friends. The school sort of forces you to mingle and network with others.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a tomb, located outside the old cafeteria, of the founder of the school, William Hooper Councill, and his wife. From orientation, we learned that Mr. Councill was sold as a slave on the spot in which he was buried.

    Bang for the buck

    You have the opportunity to meet many people from different background. There is always something going on. I'm really getting a quality education for less money than most of my friends who chose larger institutions.

    What to do for fun

    We usually hangout on the Quad since most freshmen do not have cars.

    Food and Dining

    Not quite just like home, but pretty close. Fried chicken is a staple for lunch and dinner. We always have choices of pasta, salads, pizzas, hamburgers and other items. With your meal card, you can eat as much as you want.

    Dorm Life

    Other than the weekend the air conditioners weren't working, the dorms are great. The RA has activities scheduled weekly for meet and greet. I'm lucky because the cafeteria and student center are also located in my dorm complex.

    Academic Rigor

    The classrooms are small and there is plenty of interaction between the professor and the students. The University uses Blackboard, which makes it easier to review classroom material on your own time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take your time making new friends. Use your social media networks, if needed, to help you navigate around campus and classrooms.

    In three sentences

    This school is for young people wanting to study hard and having a relaxing experience at the same time. There is always something going on. If you are the big city type used to 24 hours entertainment, this school is definitely NOT for you.

  • 06/20/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 4 people found this review useful. 21 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Am learning a lot

    about the school

  • 09/25/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    22 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Will learn a lot

    I have always wanted to attend a HBCU because I never learned a lot about my culture, will I learn a lot about African American history and culture?

  • 10/07/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    23 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Alabama AMU is great for students that want southern hospitality and warm weather as well as a chance to experience the benefits of a Historically Black College/University.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard for the act test and do lucrative activities throughout high school to stand out to your admission council.

    Bang for the buck

    Since im from Chicago, Illinois, the out-of-state tuition is a little steep but since I qualify for financial aid, I'm on that worried about college costs.

    Will enjoy being here

    Great weather as well as southern hospitality will always win me over.

    Will learn a lot

    I feel that I will blend in with all of the student body as well as know all of my teachers.

  • 01/26/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    24 of 65

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    i think that it is a beautiful school. it seems to have a great learning environment , and i can't wait to attend in the fall!

  • 02/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    for fun here they often have events such as basketball games and other sports. their are also many parties and talent shows going on on campus.

    Food and Dining

    the food however here is horrible.the food here is often repeated daily and sometimes they run out. it is also very unhealthy.

    Dorm Life

    the dorm life has its ups and downs. one of its downs are having visitation after a certain time. some of the dorms are also old and in very bad condition. some don't have wifi or air condition .in the dorm life you feel safe because every visitor has to sign in and they make announcements to inform you if their is an man on the hall.

    Academic Rigor

    the teachers are always available to help you. they often stay after class or in their offices for long periods of time waiting to help students on anything they may not understand. they also respond to your emails or calls quickly.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you apply for as many scholarships as possible. also get involved with activities and have a good relationship with your teachers.

    In three sentences

    the teachers here are very helpful and they care weather you learn or not. they also have many events going on around campus to help students get involved. they also provide transportation to help you get to places if you do not have a car.

  • 02/18/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    26 of 65

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    i enjoyed going there. great school. i have credits there and would like to get online degree because i live in arizona now.

  • 03/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are always around, very safe environment.

    Greek Life

    Many different fraternities and sororities. There is a place for almost anyone to fit in including band and dance.

    Clubs and Activities

    Cheerleading, basketball, football, bowling, soccer, volleyball, softball, baseball, track, student government, dancing divas, marroon mirage, band, ward modeling troop, VBB, and much more

    Great for these types of students

    Students intrested in learning more about their heritage while learning and striving to succeed.

    What to do for fun

    On campus gatherings such at the Quad (the campus' court yard), and a health and wellness center

    Food and Dining

    There are 2 cafeterias and also an on campus restaurant. There are different choices of food every day and salad bar, cereal bar as welll as an desert bar.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life has strict limitations and the opposite sexes have a curfew to be in each others dorms there are only 2 dorms with their own bathrooms within the room. the others are community style.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are great and even offer free tutoring if need be.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to walk up hills to classes and also get involved in on campus activities.

    In three sentences

    Alabama Agricultural and Mechanical University is a beautiful, activity filled campus filled with a warm atmosphere and many different types of people. Even though the campus is a historically African American university, many ethnic groups attend the college. Alabama A and M believes the service is sovereignty and is the ideal college for many.

  • 04/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The jury is out on this one, my mom thinks it sucks

    What to do for fun

    hangout

    Food and Dining

    It could be better considering its a southern black college

    Dorm Life

    Interesting to say the least

    Academic Rigor

    Not so bad, High school prepared me well

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure your aid is processed correctly

    In three sentences

    Its a different world than where I come from. Yet fun and exciting all the same.

  • 04/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always someone watching

    Greek Life

    Wonderful

    Clubs and Activities

    Tooo many to name. ome see for yourself.

    Great for these types of students

    Every

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    Bang for the buck

    YESSSSSSSSSSSSSSss

    What to do for fun

    Sunny Wednesdays, Quad, Wellness center, gym, swim, zumba......etc.

    Food and Dining

    Normal and experimantive

    Dorm Life

    Normal

    Academic Rigor

    As hard as you make it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be aware that AAMU is not perfect but who is..

    In three sentences

    AAMU is a wonderful school with wonderful programs and gives youths and older people a chance to get their education and achieve goals. They have organizations that help you excel and be all you can be. You are never limited on the Hill.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I sing and put on shows.

    Food and Dining

    I am not used to all the soul food but it tastes great.

    Dorm Life

    It is on you to wake up or party but your grades will show it wither way.

    Academic Rigor

    Working and class can be a tough balancing act. Enjoy college because you will work the rest of your life when you get out.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dont make college high school the next level. Come to college with goals and an expectation. Remember some is paying for it either your parents, yourself, or scholarship so take the opportunity seriously.

    In three sentences

    AAMU is a great place to find yourself. Its a nurturing environment. I an glad I was sent here from California.

  • 05/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Track and Field

    Food and Dining

    The food isnt quite tasteful.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms need to be upgraded they're too old.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    all you can eat

    In three sentences

    The college is a very friendly environment. The campus is really beautiful. Also they have wonderful teachers.

  • 06/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    every wednesday their is a quad party called every sunny wednesday it is a party in between classes

    What to do for fun

    many on campus activities to participate in

    Dorm Life

    needs new buildings but there is much worse

    Tips for prospective students

    keep up with all documentation you recieve. Participate in on campus activities and have as much fun as possible but also stay focused on your work

    In three sentences

    good school, just needs to be more organized and needs to improve finnancial aid office.

  • 06/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school has on-campus police officers 24/7.

    Greek Life

    Greeks are the most respected organizations on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Hurt Hall was one of the most unusual and talked about dorm on campus.

    In three sentences

    On a scale of one to ten i would rate my school a seven. Overall the school is a decent one. Going to Alabama A&M University gave me a new outlook on life.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and activities you can be apart of at Alabama A&M University. You can even start your own club if you can find one to join. Between SGA,sports,Greek Life their are endless clubs to join.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a unusual tradtion for every wednesday it is sunny outside. Everyone gathers at the quad and we have almost like a day party. Greek step, artist preform, and SGA host games and giveaways

    What to do for fun

    There is so much to do at Alabama A&M University. Everyone attends the awesome football,basketball,and baseball games. We have movie nights during the year, were everyone watch a movie outside on the green. We have weekly stepshows and hangouts. Also we tend to have party host by our campus SGA.

    Food and Dining

    Alabama A&M has meals cards you purchase to eat in the cafe. The food is good ,and you get three meals a day. If you get hungry while the cafe isn't open ,they have eat placed inside the girls dorm where can eat or purchase snacks.

    Dorm Life

    Alabama A&M dorm life is fun,wild and crazy. Dorms tend to have pizza luncheon, movie night,and meet anf greet days. If your lucky , you dorm will throw a party. Make sure you dont lose your key, cause its going to cost to replace it.

    Academic Rigor

    Alabama A&M University is a great place to get an education. You have no chose but to advance your understanding in your studies with the well-qualified professors that teach the classes. Alabama A&M offers tutoring to help you as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students looking to attend an HBCU college would love Alabama A&M University. Dorm life is a little crazy, so make sure you dont leave you door open. If you plan to attend the University, you will not need a car as a freshman, plus you arent allowed to drive on campus during school hours anyway.

    In three sentences

    Alabama A&M University is a great place to learn and realize your full pontiential of what you can achieve in the real world. The University has a strong academic and athletic programs designed to develop the student. The University feels like its own community, and everyone there is family.

  • 07/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there are a lot of organizations here on campus to join, you just have to join what fits you best.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe has good food but it gets very predictable and boring quickly.

    Dorm Life

    As a freshman dorm life was not good. I stayed in the resident hall Terry . The rooms here are very small, the heat here ran during spring months which made it very uncomfortable & also the community bathrooms were very nasty.

    Academic Rigor

    The materials i learned this past year i felt were challenging just as it would be at any other college.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are preparing to come here, come ready to be focused & with an open mind. Use the small class sizes to your advantage, get to know your teachers and remember if you need help ask your teachers.

    In three sentences

    Alabama A & M University is a good University, though there is room for improvment. With it being a smaller University you get a chance to have a one on one relationship with the teachers. At Alabama A & M you are not just another number but a student .

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    If there is something going on, the on sight police department is there. We don't have security at Alabama A&M University we have our own Police department on campus.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is so much fun, the parties, the events, you will enjoy yourself! Don't forget Pledge, we have all Devine Nine on Campus

    What to do for fun

    The yard is essential to the campus it's always a DJ every Wednesday, and they clubs at school, that you can participate in! It's so much that goes on in! There's no way you will be bored!

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, and the campus is located exactly 2 miles from a street called University blvd, where all different food shops are.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm Life is fun! Your roommate just might become your best friend. When you pay the startard fee for housing and you haven't received your housing assisgent within 3 weeks you can call the housing department & they will tell you what's going on right then & there! I had to do it myself so I would know!

    Academic Rigor

    When it comes to Academics, Alabama A&M is one of the best! The teachers work with you, they have free tutors that are whenever you need them, all you have to do is pick up the phone!

    Tips for prospective students

    When your applying for Alabama A&M University, stay on top of dates you send paper work off, who you talk to, what you have already paid, an keep important numbers saved into your phone with the correct name .

    In three sentences

    Alabama A&M is built on a beautiful hill in Normal Alabama. The campus is the most outstanding campus's among HBCU's. The people are great, the teachers are great & that's what makes Alabama A&M Univeristy a wonderful place.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Normal is a small city that is located approximately 5 miles from Huntsville, AL. There are all types of fun things to do, also campus life will keep you entertained.

    Food and Dining

    There are several varieties of food and dining available on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is AWESOME!

    Tips for prospective students

    First time students usually are overwhelmed with the initial task of getting enrolled in class, please be patient and don't get discouraged. This part is only temporary.

    In three sentences

    Alabama A&M University is a great school. Students come from around the nation to experience this social and academic opportunity. Also, many of the faculty members are committed to building successful professional confident students.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    It's cafeteria food. That's it.

    Dorm Life

    For freshmen, I recommend staying on campus because there are so many opportunities to meet new people and gain comraderie among your fellow students. The dorms are by no means Hilton Suites, but, when your shower curtain falls down, there's someone there to help you put it back up. LOL

    Academic Rigor

    The coursework can be a bit challenging at times. Don't be afraid to ask for help! There are plenty of professors and students that are willing to help you out, whether it's with a particular subject or even studying for a test. The resources are there. Use them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look for scholarships!! Free money is the best money!! And for entering students, start going to the Career Center in your first year, that way, you can work on getting internships and co-ops early, which gives you a better chance of being employed when you graduate.

    In three sentences

    I feel that I'm receiving a great education here at A & M. I have excelled so far, and it's not because the courses are easy. The classes offer a challenge, but my professors have given me an immense amount of help in meeting those challenges.

  • 08/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There's a campus safety patrol here, i think in every dorm complex.

    Bang for the buck

    The weather is very weird, it can be 70 degrees outside but raining and lightening. It's the weirdest thing. Also to get somewhere they have shuttles, you would need a get a schedule also a ticket for that. Thats whit best if you know someone with a car.

    What to do for fun

    They have a lot of parties, I'm not into that type of stuff. You should join clubs or some type of sport to keep you interested. Also get a television.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay, it isn't as much healthy. But there's a line not a long weight. Also i guess during registration period boys & girls eat in the same cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    I suggest any female to live in the knight complex it cost $2,100 but its way better. You have cable, a mini fridge, a semi kitchen & you don't share a bathroom with the whole floor so its more convenient. The part that sucks is the fridge is too small to share with 4 girls.

    Academic Rigor

    I don't really know much about this yet because I'm currently waitingto get my classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make friends because you may not know where anything is or how to get someone. Also there's many people with cars so they can help you get around. Don't get caught up in the college life, your not here to party but enjoy yourself. Be careful & be safe, watch who you come across.

    In three sentences

    I guess since a lot of new students just am in that its very hectic. I would say go to orientation it helps a lot especially if your a new student. Also be on top of your stuff, this is college there's no one here to tell you what to do.

  • 09/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 65

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Alabama A&M is a good school. The faculty is very loveable, respectful, and trustworthy. The campus is pretty.

  • 10/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    I am currently in the marching band.

    Great for these types of students

    At Alabama A&M University, we are great students and we are screaming for success.

    What to do for fun

    I like to study and work out for fun.

    Food and Dining

    Food is not very important for me ,but I love chicken.

    Dorm Life

    I stay in an apartment.

    Academic Rigor

    My academic life is good. I have a 3.09 GPA.

  • 10/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is pretty safe. There have been a few occurrences of bad behavior, but for the most part it is a safe campus.

    What to do for fun

    I attend games. If I'm not hanging with friends, I'm in my room drawing or sleep. For the most part, I'm never in my dorm because I don't want to be there.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good. They have a variety, but the variety is the same everyday. The food does not settle with your stomach at all. There is only one on-campus eatery that is call the Greasy Spoon. It's on the female side of campus and really isn't convenient. There aren't many places to eat unless you have a vehicle.

    Dorm Life

    When I first arrived to my dorm there were preexisting problems before I even got into my room. My roommate and I had to change rooms because of the problems. The public showers and restrooms are disgusting. Everyone is always loud and disruptive in the halls throughout the night. Maintenance is slow to fix occurring problems.

    Academic Rigor

    I actually enjoy my classes. I learn a lot in every class, except the mandatory orientation class. I believe that is an irrelevant class that a waste of time and money. The class environment is very nice. Teachers know your name and are willing to help you in any way.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply to this school early. Get your spot to make sure nothing has gone wrong.

    In three sentences

    Everything is ran sort of slowly. It appears that they are unorganized when it comes down to the financial department. Dorm life sucks.

  • 10/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is definitely something that you shouldn't take lightly. You're going to be on your own and away from home with little supervision. On The Hill, we have these emergency buttons you can press if you don't feel safe at your present location. An officer will respond in less than 60 seconds and they can even escort you back to your dorm. I would advise that no one, especially the ladies, walk by themselves at night. Stay with at least 2 other people who you feel safe around. You can usually find a young gentleman to walk you back even.

    Greek Life

    The Greeks are very much alive and well on campus. Appropriately named ESW, or Every Sunny Wednesday, is where you will see most of the Greeks. This event is on-campus right by the bookstore from 12pm-2pm. You will see not only Greeks, but Non Greeks as well. Both types of organizations host events, especially around homecoming week. As a freshman, you won't be able to pledge until your sophomore year, but don't let that deter you from still becoming a member of a Non Greek organization.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many opportunities to join in on the fun on The Hill. For example, we have game and movie nights in the Ralph Lee Student Center. Not only can you enjoy all the activities offered, but you can also help plan them by joining the Program and Activities Council, or PAC. This committee makes all the activities possible because these members are students just like you. Feel free to offer insight to fellow members that you may know and see if one of your ideas can be brought to life on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Alabama A&M is great for students who want to engage in anything having to do with agriculture or mechanics, hence the A and M in our name. A&M offers outstanding classes for students with those majors since that was what we were founded upon. Not to discourage any other possible majors, but it is very possible that you might consider changing your major once you explore what A&M has to offer.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On The Hill, there are many historical locations because of our rich history, but how many schools do you know of that actually have their president and his wife buried together? Not many, I'm sure. The president's house is also located on campus. The land our school is built on was originally used for slave auctioning. We even have the slave bath that was used to bathe the slaves before being sold to white slave owners. Our campus locations are far from unusual, but offer a glimpse of the past to its students.

    What to do for fun

    There is ALWAYS something to do on campus. Most events are held at The Quad, which is right in the middle of campus where most student like to hang out anyway. Some of these events will be announced, whether via email, word of mouth, or posted flyers around campus, but some won't. It doesn't hurt you to just explore campus during your free time. You never know what you might run into.

    Food and Dining

    Everybody thinks that any food that comes out of a cafeteria is gross and has some kind of mystery meat aspect about it. At Alabama A&M, however, there is a variety of of options in the cafe. They even offer vegetarian options for lunch and dinner. I would advise you though, especially incoming freshmen, to get food for your room. There will be days that you will not want to walk down to the cafe considering how crazy the weather gets on The Hill. Some dorms don't allow refrigerators or microwaves, but usually the dorm will have one for everyone to use.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at Alabama A&M is what you make it. I think the females are more worried about the living situations than the guys. Living with other females cant definitely be an experience. In most dorms, there are community bathrooms and showers. There is going to be little privacy considering the fact that you will be living with someone else for the next 10 months. If you and your roommate are comfortable enough around each other, it will work out for the better. Make sure to invest in a shower caddy to carry all your bathroom essentials, a bathrobe as you will be having to walk to and from the shower, and shower shoes because you can never be to sure in community showers. Also, make sure you and your roommate set up a cleaning schedule because there will be UNNANOUNCED room checks every week and you do not want to fail.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic courses offered at Alabama A&M have some rigor to them. The rigor of your courses you will be taking at first will depend on your COMPASS test scores. Take this test very seriously because this determines how your classes will be set. If you feel that you need a little more rigor than what you have, you can always join the Honors Program offered on campus. For one, it looks good on your resume, but it also better prepares you for those upper-level courses you will soon be taking after your freshman year.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would definitely encourage prospective students to do their research on this school. You don't want to be one of those students who just applied to where you thought you could get in. You need to be prepared to be asked what brought you you to A&M? or what made you choose A&M?. Anyone can ask you, even the president whom you may see around campus. Be knowledgeable of our surroundings. Also, be prepared for numerous due dates and deadlines, sometimes one right after the other. Get a planner or something to write in to keep yourself organized. Your phone calendar or notepad is no longer a reliable source because it is very likely that your phone battery will die during the course of a day and you are nowhere near your dorm or charger. Time management is also a vital skill that you will need to master. Being on your own and making your own schedule will make you realize that you will have a lot of free time that you can either waste or use productively. Lastly, even though this is college and it is to be taken seriously, HAVE FUN. In college, you will experience things you probably won't ever experience again in your lifetime. These next 4 years will be the best of your life, enjoy them!

    In three sentences

    It's in my blood! I cannot lie! I'll be a bad, bad bulldog 'til the day I die!

  • 01/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I purposely go during the day, no night classes. Crime happens at any university but I do not want to chance it.

    Bang for the buck

    You pretty much have to be self-sufficient here.

    What to do for fun

    Huntsville is a big city, so there is plenty to do.

    Food and Dining

    There is really nothing to eat on campus, you have to drive off campus for food.

    Dorm Life

    I cannot say anything but what I have heard from other students living in the dorms. Run down and unkept is what I hear, with window units that usually do not work.

    Academic Rigor

    Again, great classroom-horrible administration.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep everything from transcripts to grades. They tend to lose these, and I know a couple of people who were told they weren't going to graduate because of lost grade/transcripts/descrepancies in accepted transfers. They really need to clean house.

    In three sentences

    A&M offers wonderful classroom environments; however, administration WILL cause you trouble. I chose A&M because I am getting a science related major. Otherwise, I would have chosen another school after my first semester.

  • 02/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus is very safe. I have had no confrontations, and at no point have I felt threatened.

    Greek Life

    The fraternities and sororieties have a strong presence on campus. They are very active in community service,parties, etc.

    Clubs and Activities

    Our Greek organizations throw many events. There are also many parties around graduation and homecoming weekends.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who enjoy being around intelligent people of color.

    Bang for the buck

    Alabama A&M allows you to get a quality education at a very reasonable price.

    What to do for fun

    Alabama A&M is located within reasonable distances of Malls, Theatres and proffessional level sporting events.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard to to excel at your studies.If possible develop a rapport with you proffessors. Most proffessors are more than happy to help those who show a willingness to help themselves.

    In three sentences

    Alabama A&M is a school with a strong community aspect and it houses many talented students and instructors. The Administration and faculty work hard to serve their students. Our professors are some of the best at what they do.

  • 02/26/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    47 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    Math and Science

  • 02/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Stay in my room and study.

    Tips for prospective students

    study, study, studyyyy

    In three sentences

    The school is a great school to attend. The classes are very easy if you do what you are suppose to and study. The only problem that I have had since I have been in attendance is the financial aid.

  • 05/12/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    49 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are awesome, there are issues as with any other gathering of over 5,000 people but overall I felt extremely safe

    Greek Life

    A lot of fraternities and sororities to choose from, plenty of parties and fun activities

    Clubs and Activities

    something for everyone

    Great for these types of students

    Just about anyone really

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are several weird things that are done during homecoming week, also there is usually an annual water fight on the quad and other strange things

    Bang for the buck

    For about 5 grand a year you can earn a degree from an accredited school! There really isn't much comparison, the cost of living in Alabama is already low and tuition is low too.

    What to do for fun

    There are parties, sporting events, museums, art shows, comedy shows.... really whatever interests you is available

    Food and Dining

    Food is good just not a huge assortnent of choices on campus

    Dorm Life

    The traditional dorms leave a lot to be desired, the apartments and apartment-style dorms rock.

    Academic Rigor

    you will definitely be challenged

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early and visit campus. Meet your advisor prior to enrollment and let them know you are serious about education.

    In three sentences

    Great place to matriculate. Family like environment and caring faculty.

  • 05/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is very safe. We have security 24/7. You don't have to worry about safety.

    Greek Life

    Awesome...!!!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs and activities like Volleyball, softball, SGA, Football, etc. What ever your major is, we have clubs for all of them.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that are very focus on their work. Students that love to study. Outgoing students. Nice Well dressed Intelligent Students that like to have fun.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have this one special place called the quad, this is the place for everything like meeting your friends, meeting new people, music, parties, etc.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is great. On our campus we do a lot of studying and learning but when it's time to have some fun trust me you will have the time of your life.

    What to do for fun

    Here we have places where you can go and chat with your friends, workout room, bowling, volleyball, etc. There's a lot of things you could, it's just to many to name.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great. You will never have to eat out unless you really want to.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is so awesome, you almost never want to leave to go home and you'll have a wonderful roommate.

    Academic Rigor

    One Word, Wonderful!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have a respectful attitude, like talking to people, ready to learn, you are well prepared, and like meeting new people.

    In three sentences

    Alabama A&M University is a wonderful school, the students that attend are very nice as well as the teachers. The teachers here are very helpful and will always be around to help with anything you need. Here they assign you advisors, to go to when ever you have questions abotu your major.

  • 06/27/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    51 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police are always around making sure everything is going well

    Greek Life

    Very nice i love the step shows

    Great for these types of students

    House arrest is good for the dancers

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Homecoming is really fun.

    What to do for fun

    They have alot of things todo on campus

    Dorm Life

    Get a clean roommate

    Tips for prospective students

    STAY FOCUS

    In three sentences

    A&M to me would be an 7. It have a lot of great experiences. You have to stay focus or your grades will show.

  • 07/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Outgoing

    What to do for fun

    Go to University activities, they almost always have free food.

    Tips for prospective students

    Focus on your school work, this University can be very fun.

    In three sentences

    Alabama A&M is a very Encouraging school. The campus life is great. There is always something to do or join.

  • 07/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is secure at all times. The secure and police are always around, they have any situation under control in a matter of minutes. If there is an emergency A&M contacts you via messages or call to let you know what happened and the procedures to take.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs for students to join, it varies from dance teams, intramural teams, clubs for specific majors, band, and many more.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a campus activity called Every Sunny Wednesday. Every Wednesday that it is sunny everyone meets on the quad or the block to enjoy activities and music. Every week it is hosted by a different organization.

    What to do for fun

    There are always activities for students to participate in. There are meetings spots for students to interact and get to know each other. We have plays, talent shows, step shows, comedy shows. and games. Students have the opportunity to join campus organisations.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay, it could improve.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is wonderful. The dorms are very clean, spacious, and the people are friendly .

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers make sure you have materials and proper instruction for any assignment.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips I would give to prospective students would be to come into college w/ a mind to always put academics first and to stay true to themselves.

    In three sentences

    Alabama A&M is a great school, I would rate it a 4 out of five. There are somethings that could improve but nothing is perfect. It is a great learning environment and the resource centers are very helpful.

  • 07/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Academic and extra-curricular activities! Whether it's athletics, band or choir, Ward Modeling Troop, ManUp, House Arrest 2 Dance Inc. or any other organization that suits your interest, you'll definitely enjoy yourself on this campus.

    Food and Dining

    The Cafe has some decent food, but there's an on campus restaurant that has some very good food, however, it isn't included in the tution.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is what you make it. Campus life is lively, but if you don't get involved, then you may think it's a bit drab.

    Academic Rigor

    We have awesome professors who sincerely care about our success. All you have to do is apply yourself! Alabama A&M provides you with the resources and tools to be an A student! We have great opportunities for instant after graduation jobs in your field, internships, co-ops, and preparation for graduate school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come prepared! Make sure you have all of your information updated and on hand for an easy registration process. Don't be afraid or timid! Get acquainted with the campus! Know what buildings are where, who's over what department and ESPECIALLY your particular school of major. Finally, visit the different dorms to see which one suits your best or if you want to live off campus.

    In three sentences

    I love my university! As any other school, it has its ups and downs, however, the good outweighs the bad! We have a beautiful, historic campus, encouraging and caring professors and school spirit that will get anybody to feel honored to be an A&M Bulldog!

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police and local police do an excellent job of maintaining peace and safety on and around campus

    Greek Life

    Greek life is King/Queen on the Hill!

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs are plenteous and activities are more than abundant.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who are looking for a quality education and want to also enjoy life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Our campus is known at, The Hill because of the hill the school sits on

    Bang for the buck

    School is very affordable compared to other schools that are in the state of Alabama.

    What to do for fun

    There are a couple things that you can do for fun. You can go hangout on the quad, have a picnic by the pond, go workout at the Wellness center, attend the sporting events, or just hang with your friends at the dorms. If you have a vehicle or a friend with one, you can always take a trip to a local mall or restaurant.

    Food and Dining

    Southern cooking is always comfort food. The food options are plentiful but the dinning hours can be inconvenient.

    Dorm Life

    Depending on what dorm you stay in and who your friends are will probably dictate how much you enjoy staying in the dorms. You can have a great time or be very disappointed with your experience.

    Academic Rigor

    If you aren't preparing for class like you should, you will struggle greatly during midterms and finals. Overall, just make sure you stay on top of things and you will be fine

    Tips for prospective students

    One tip for prospective students is to make sure you ask questions about things your don't know or understand. Another tip is to always engage your teachers and participate in class so you have more understanding of the subject matter.

    In three sentences

    Alabama A&M is a great university to attend. It has a beautiful campus and many different activities to keep you interested and enjoy your time here. The people here are very committed to the school and its great history.

  • 08/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    56 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Campus oriented students. Students who fall in love with their school and the people that go there. Students who will cherish this opportunity for the rest of their lives.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus was nicknamed The Hill because it was built on the side of a hill in Huntsville, Alabama.

    Bang for the buck

    Alabama A & M is one of the affordable colleges.

    What to do for fun

    The rec center is a nice place to hang out and get some exercise in. Also, there are many campus sponsored events.

    Food and Dining

    The food is excellent.

    Academic Rigor

    Join the Honors Program!

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply as soon as you can! Keep in touch with an admissions counselor. Complete your FAFSA early.

    In three sentences

    Alabama A & M University sits atop a hill. It's campus is beautiful. Alabama A & M is culture based and deeply rooted to its history.

  • 08/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    57 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The café serves great food. It is a all you can eat. Do not lose your ID that is also your meal card

    Dorm Life

    Stay in a traditional dorm your freshman year. You will be able to make more friends. Being a freshman it is great to get to know people.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't join to many activities on campus. Make sure to keep up with your financial aid. Please do internships! Not only are they a way to make money, but they also are a guaranteed job offer after graduation.

    In three sentences

    Alabama A & M has so much to offer. The small class setting and the on campus free tutoring are a big help.

  • 10/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    58 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Their is a lot of activities to do on campus. The people here are friendly and most of everybody gets along.

    Food and Dining

    The food is better than high school cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    At first you'll be surprised at living standards, but at the end its a great experience.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic program is spectacular.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and party less.

    In three sentences

    Their engineering program is great. Teachers help you stay focus.

  • 11/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    59 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of things I do for fun. The Wellness center is open basically all day long. Hanging around campus is always intriguing.

    Food and Dining

    The food could be much better, but it is very satisfying.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is amazing. The suite style dorms are way better to reside in. Great cable and free wifi.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are challenging. Professors actually encourage you to become a better student and person.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Get in involved on campus 2. Show school spirit 3. Have a great open mind to learn and make new connections.

    In three sentences

    Alabama A&M University is a very good school. The campus is amazing. The atmosphere is very open and friendly.

  • 11/30/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    60 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Party?

    Food and Dining

    Great food.

    Dorm Life

    The boys dorm's suck, no visitors after 11 pm.

    Academic Rigor

    If you are focused and actually working on your studies you'll strive

  • 01/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    61 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safely has improved but there are still issues needing to be solved. Guns still manage to manifest itself on campus. They have installed emergency phones in key areas.

    Greek Life

    A blessing and a curse. They can either help the group of the community or hinder true growth of men and women. Some focus more on their social status than they do on what they've done to achieve it.

    Clubs and Activities

    A few years ago the student life was phenomenal. There were clubs for everyone, however currently we have a very scarce line up.

    Great for these types of students

    Students whose family has been attending here for years. Students more concerned about pledging than their degree. Students who need a temporary school but plan to transfer elsewhere.

    Bang for the buck

    No, go somewhere else. Seriously, if you're looking for the HBCU experience I would strongly encourage going to Howard or Hampton. Unless, your family has been coming here for generations I wouldn't advise attendance here due to personal experiences and experiences shared by other students.

    What to do for fun

    There are a plethora of organizations, honor societies, and Greek life (when not suspended) that is offered here. As a student, you have the right to bring organizations that aren't there to the campus under certain guidelines. I strongly encourage it even it you're given the runaround.

    Food and Dining

    You're paying close to if not more than 2,000$ for horrible food. You'll be eating yesterday's food in unfathomable combinations. The meats aren't fully cooked and extremely greasy. They do not have diet nor allergy friendly options; no gluten free, vegan, peanut free, nor other healthy options aside from a salad bar.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are falling apart. Your roommates are of either extremes: godsend or spawns of Satan. However, dorms are extremely convenient to the campus and campus life.

    Academic Rigor

    Every major is different. Time management is key. There's no such thing as a perfect schedule.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do everything weeks in advanced. Stay on it, especially if it involves finances. Scholarships are your friends.

    In three sentences

    This school has came a long way, when I first started school here we suffered numeral issues like unprofessionalism, lack of funds, and scandals. I do not recommend this place, but your experiences may be better.

  • 03/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    62 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    On the Campus we have security everywhere and if you are in danger there are security poles all over campus. All you have to do is push the button on the pole and the police will be on there way.

    Greek Life

    On the campus you will always see the Alphas,Kappas,Aka's,or Q-dogs, walking around showing off there Greek colors. In the Fall we have step shows and a block party, and at the block party you will see all the Greeks strolling.

    What to do for fun

    If there isn't a party going on, some fun things to do would be going to the movies,the mall,bowling, or just hanging out on the block which is located on the campus of Alabama A&M University.

    Food and Dining

    At AAMU the Cafe is the place I like to hang out the most, not just because they serve good food,but because you get the chance to relax and meet new people or just hang out with your friends and talk about anything while your eating your delicious meal. Every month they always make sure they serve ice cream and cake to celebrate anyone who has a birthday during that time of the month. On holidays when you go to the cafe, they always have a big dinner and music playing and decorations everywhere. The Cafe is a place where any student can take a break from anything and just have fun.

    Dorm Life

    Throughout all the dorms Ernest L.Knight Complex is the best female dorm to stay in, your room is like an apartment, you have a computer lab,cafe,and small restaurant in the building.If you want a place just to hang out you will see everyone outside or inside of knight Complex.

    Academic Rigor

    Education is very important and at AAMU the teachers are very nice and always make sue that your grades are good. As a Freshman to be on academic good standing you must have a 1.5 to be on the deans list you must have a 3.0 and higher.

    Tips for prospective students

    Going to class and remembering that you went to college for one reason, and that's to get your degree is a good tip for prospective students.

    In three sentences

    Alabama A&M University is very exciting, you get the chance to meet many friendly people everyday,and it's like a second home to me. If any student attends this school,I'm sure they will feel the same way as I do.

  • 03/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    63 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are probates, step shows, poetry readings, parties, home coming events, football games, pep rallies, and the list goes on! You should never be bored!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get ready to walk up hills.

    In three sentences

    Alabama A&M (aka The Hill) is a place where you want to be. There is always something to do on campus. The band is the best!

  • 05/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    64 of 65

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police officers are heavily enforced on campus day in and day out. Along with security towers in case of an emergency, Alabama A&M does a great job for campus safety.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is slowly becoming more exciting everyday on campus. New lines of greek sororities are on the come up, so I am looking forward to a live campus in the fall semester.

    Clubs and Activities

    Alabama A&M makes it easy to join different clubs and organizations no matter who you are and what you like. There is literally a club for any individual seeking something to get involved into. Both fall and spring semesters the club and activities board is always hosting some form of excitement .

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Quad is pretty much the go to hot spot on A&M's campus. From cookouts, to step shows, meet and greets to block parties, the quad is where its at. Being in the center of the entire campus is what makes it so convenient and popular by many students.

    Food and Dining

    Personally I gave the cafe service a three because I dislike the food served. There aren't really a lot of options to choose from during the week which is an inconvenience. Coming from the Midwest to the South is a very big change when it comes to food.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at A&M is really how you make it from beginning to end. Typically their might not be any hot water which is beyond ridiculous, but as a student you have to know how to maneuver around it.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic's on campus is very high, students are very studious when it comes to academics.

  • 05/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    65 of 65

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Campus life is amazing. That is the only fun you will have. The students look forward to homecoming, classic weekend, and spring week!

    Food and Dining

    Honestly, the food is nasty. I got tired of eating the same food every week. Can't complain of a free meal though!

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is alright. Pick your dorm choice wisely!

    Academic Rigor

    The academic challenge that you're looking for is here. The professors are friendly and love to work with the students that actually wants it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for prospective students are become a people person and join a club/organization. Participate with the events on campus to get out of the dorms. Have school spirit! Everyone loves being a Bad, Bad Bulldog!

    In three sentences

    I rate Alabama A&M University a 10 out of 10! I am so glad that I decided to attended my future alumni college. I would encourage anybody that I come in contact with pertaining to college to attend this institution!