Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Alabama State University (ASU) Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/04/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 out of 25 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 1 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    I FEEL AS THOUGH BECOMING A NEW STUDENT HERE AT THE REAL ASU, WILL BE A GOOD START IN LIFE FOR NEW STUDENTS BECAUSE U MEET PEOPLE FROM EVERY ASPECT OF LIFE. YOU HAVE TO BE DISCPLINE TO KNOW WHEN U NEED TO GO TO YOUR ROOM TO STUDY AND WHEN TO HAVE FUN. MOST OF ALL NETWORKING IS THE KEY!!

    Bang for the buck

    THE COST IS CHEAP COMPARED TO ANYWHERE ELSE BUT U HAVE TO BE MENTALLY PREPARED, ORGANIZE, AND MATURE TO KNOW HOW TO BUDGET YOUR MONEY WISELY!!

    Am enjoying being here

    I LOVE IT HERE!! WOULDNT TRADE IT FOR NOTHING IN THE WORLD BECAUSE THE SUROUNDINGS ARE THE CULTURELY DIFFERENT AND WHEN ITS TIME TO PLAY ITS TIME TO PLAY AND WE GET DOWN TO WORK WHEN IT'S WORK TIME!!

    Am learning a lot

    WITHIN MY FIRST SEMESTER HERE AT THE ALABAMA STATE UNIVERSITY, I HAVE OBTAIN MANY NEW THINGS AND EXPERIENCED MANY WAYS OF LEARNING BECAUSE OF THE DIFFERENT BACKGROUNDS I HAVE ENDURED HERE AT THIS INSTITUTION!

  • 10/26/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 out of 22 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 2 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    we have a great education program with a new education building also we also have a new life and science building

    Tips for prospective students

    your going to get your money worth and their fixing the school up so we can have more entertainment

    Bang for the buck

    my tuition is not that expensive so that's good

    Am enjoying being here

    Sometimes i don't i complain alot about some of the things like how we have curfews and i think the visitation rights are not fair but i wont leave because i made friends

    Am learning a lot

    Yes I'm learning alot but sometimes it can be frustrating because this is college and its so different than high school

  • 10/21/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 out of 13 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 3 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    keep your head up. dont let anything stop you or get in your way. achieve for something more than what you have now. so basically reach for the stars.

    Will enjoy being here

    i will enjoy being there because i havve friends there that are just like family to me.

    Will learn a lot

    i think i will learn alot because i am a very particular student when it comes to my studying....i am wise beyond my years have seen and learned alot...i just want to do better and be better.

  • 07/09/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 4 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    ASU is undergoing alot of transformation, we have a new Education and Life and Science building. Think ASU has alot in store for years to come.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focus, the party life is fun but can get you easily distracted.

    Bang for the buck

    I'm an out of state student so my tuition is higher but the key is to apply for as many grants and scholarships as possible. so my only concern is travel expenses and money for food.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy being here, think coming from a big city up north to the south is a culture shock but also a learning experience that alot of people should take note of.

    Am learning a lot

    I'm learning a lot, staying focus and studying is the only way to stay ahead. Talking to your professors helps alot.

  • 11/11/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 6 people found this review useful. 5 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students wishing to learn about themselves and there history, great for students who like cold climate, and for students with ,money!

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for lots of scholarships!! Stay focussed on your education! Study, study, study!!

    Bang for the buck

    Alabama State is too expensive! I dont believe we eat good enough, receive good teachings and live in good dorms for the amount we pay to be here! Its rediculous in my hionest opinion.

    Am enjoying being here

    It is wonderful here! Everything about the Civil Rights movement started here so its alot of information to obtain! It does get very cold however its fun being here! There is alot to do here if you have transportation!

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers here at Alabama State are great i must admit, some however, do expect you to know things already so they don't really teach certain lessons they just go over them.. And if yo aren't a focused person then you wont learn because teachers are not gonna beg you to come to class, and if you fall asleep that's your bad!

  • 08/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 6 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have real police officers who work 24 hours a day and 7 days a week to make sure ASU's campus is safe. They are always riding around campus whether it's in cars or on their automatic scooters. Plus we have the emergency polls posted all around campus just in case anything happens. Just push the buttons and help will be on its way.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is probably the epitome of every HBCU. On our campus the Greeks are very involved. Many students involved in these organization are also the top student leaders of the university. They enjoy succeeding on campus as well as in the world. Of coarse there is a friendly competition between them but that just makes everything int resting.

    Clubs and Activities

    I would say there is a club for every type of person on campus. From the band to the honors program, everything is offered. If you want to learn how to network there are different organization to teach you just that. The activities planned for student are exciting and rewarding.

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for all types of students. If you enjoy a campus with a rich tradition and a close knit family then it's great for you. If you enjoy small classrooms and having professors who actually know your name then it's great for you. If you enjoy working hard with like minded peers and enjoying activities planned for students then it's great for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The one location on campus that stand out is the equinox. Its in the center of the academic mall and it's essential to ASU's history. Another location would be Council Hall. This academic hall is the birthplace of the bus boycott. In that very hall the flyers for the bus boycott were printed, which lead to the Civil Rights Movement.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is starting to sky rocket all around the U.S. At our school we have a low cost of tuition. Since there is a 2020 vision set in place, a lot of new and exciting things are being enhanced on campus. We now have a new student union and a new football stadium is being built at this very instance. I assure you, you will see your money being put to use.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many things to get into on our campus. From joining a club or organization to playing intramural sports, there are so many things to do to keep you busy. The student government associations likes to plan out activities to keep students busy and other clubs always host forums all year long.

    Food and Dining

    Having a meal plan on campus can come in handy. The food is very fulfilling on most of the time. This is college, so the food won't be as good as your mothers but you will enjoy the variety.

    Dorm Life

    Living on campus is the peek to enjoying your college experience. Dorm life on ASU's campus can be very rewarding. You will always know about all student activities because everything will be posted in the residence halls. Even though you might have to share a bathroom with 3 or more other people, most of the dorms are in sweet style so it can be very personal.

    Academic Rigor

    When you think of college courses you might think of very large classes with a boring professor. At our school most classes are very interactive. They're smaller than most schools so it's easier to be 1 on 1 with the professor. The courses can be hard but the professors make time to help you so failure is not an option.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard in the class room so you can play hard outside the classroom. Don't always expect the faculty members to have all the answers, sometimes you have to help yourself. Take time to visit your professors in their office, they are there to help you. Most of all remember you determine your experience so join organizations and clubs on campus and get involved with campus life. It's a great time to be a Hornet!

    In three sentences

    It is very rich in history. It has an outstanding support system within the faculty. Student life is fun and teaches you life long lessons.

  • 08/03/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Alabama State University is great for Theatre majors. The Theatre Arts Department is directed by Dr. Tommie Tonea Stewart, actor from The Heat of the Night. Any student in this department will be taught the ins and outs of the acting life. I recommend Alabama State University's Theatre Department for anyone interested in this area of learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    Coming to Alabama State University will be one of the best decisions of your life. But, for any college, be ready to work hard and undergo and large amount of freedom. Learn, Love, and Enjoy!!

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is NOT expensive at all and the requirements for scholarships are not steep. I think that the education is well worth the money.

    Am enjoying being here

    I really do enjoy being a Hornet and I encourage everyone to come and be apart of the Hornets Nation.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning so much from Alabama State University! My World Geography class was so interesting and I can practically tell anyone where a country and its capital is located.

  • 12/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 8 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    A couple of tips for prospective students of ASU are: keep your grades up, and take the ACT as many times as possible so you can try to get the highest possible score. ASU will provide numerous scholarships for higher GPA & ACT scores.

    Bang for the buck

    ASU has a variety of on-campus activities that the students can attend, in which most are free of charge. This college campus also provides a great display of food, and many forms or food, such as vegetarian foods, and other foods consumed by all of people's liking.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have grown accustomed to the great life there is,living on-campus at Alabama State University, with all the fun people, activities, and programs offered by ASU. The campus is very cheerful and lively, the two things needed to keep a students day exciting and joyous.

    Am learning a lot

    I have Learned many things from all the variety of students and teachers attending Alabama State University. The mass variety of learning fields offered by ASU is phenomenal and will provide students with the teachings they're required to know in their particular field.

  • 01/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 9 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Is ok we have enough security, but they cannot stop everything that happens on a campus.

    Greek Life

    Is great they always have a function going on at least twice a week.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are activities everyday on campus you just to find out where they are located.

    Great for these types of students

    Study room for every major on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The gym is my favorite location because I can work out and blow off some stress from classes.

    Bang for the buck

    The school itself is great place to go and get a degree.

    What to do for fun

    Go to different events on campus. For instance you can go work out in the gym, go to basketball games, the lounge, and etc.

    Food and Dining

    Is ok its just food to fill you up before you go to class or back to your dorm room. There is nothing exciting about it.

    Dorm Life

    Is wonderful for freshman and sophomores because you just get that college experience. You learn how to live with a roomate so if you move off campus you will know their habits if pick another roomate again.

    Academic Rigor

    Is not that hard unless you make it hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you come to college to graduate and know that you have a goal to reach that you set when u finished high school. Study on your free time and join organizations to keep you active.

    In three sentences

    I rate my school as a B because we are a HBCU college and we are increasing each year in academics. In a few more years we will be an A school. We now have the # 1 economic professor of any HBCU college.

  • 06/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 10 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is questionable, but there are campus police that patrol the campus 24/7.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is everything at Alabama State. All of the divine 9 organizations are active on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many different activities in which to get involved.

    Bang for the buck

    Compared to many universities, Alabama State's costs are fairly reasonable.

    What to do for fun

    There is not much to do in Montgomery. I will say that there are many events that happen on campus, you just have to look out for them. Also, there are many organizations that you can become involved in on campus to make your experience better.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is not really that great. It gets very repetitive. Also if you do not eat meat, it is very hard to find things to eat.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is pretty decent.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is fairly average. This also will depend on the major that you choose as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend that all students visit the campus before attending the university. Also talk to someone who has either graduated from Alabama State University or someone who is currently attending the university. Lastly, I would advise all students to make copies of all documents that they submit to the university, for their own personal records!

    In three sentences

    Alabama State University is an HBCU and a school full of great history and opportunity. It can be a difficult adjustment for students, especially if they are coming from out of town. However, if the student arrives with a focused mindset, he or she will experience the great things the university has to offer.

  • 06/08/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 11 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I think that Alabama State University is great for any type of student really. College is what you make of it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Really do your research. If you are considering on going to and HBCU or any university for that matter. But for HBCUs in particular because of their rich history. I think that there is a basic understanding of history that has to be obtained before one makes a decision such as this.

    Bang for the buck

    I personally didn't pay for my education last year because I had scholarships. But for the money that it cost; I would say that Alabama State University is a pretty decent school. All of the money that is going towards the construction is helping to improve the school and the programs and to overall make the campus better for the students.

    Am enjoying being here

    Being at Alabama State University, as with any university there are bound to be things that you as a student won't like. Since I have been at this school I have found many of these things. But the longer I was here the more I began to appreciate my school for what it is. I really started to enjoy myself. I think one of the main determining factors though is the people that you surround yourself with. I don't think I would be enjoying myself quite as much if I hadn't met the people that I am friends with now.

    Am learning a lot

    I am a Biology major, so as far as me learning based on my major, I would say that I was headed in the right direction of learning a lot. I would guess that since I was just a freshman last year and hadn't really gotten into my major for real that that was the reason all of the 'real' learning hadn't begun yet. As far as the school's curriculum as a whole I would say that the school has decent programs, but again, I think that it really depends on your classification. As the years on on, you learn more.

  • 08/12/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 12 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Who are very outgoing and like meeting new people.

    Bang for the buck

    I am an out of state student and it is really expensive to go here. Thankfully, the better you do the more chances you have of getting a scholarship.

    Am enjoying being here

    So far i'm enjoying myself. There are a lot of activities on campus and organizations you can get into. There are also at least 3 or4 parties a week, so it is really fun.

    Am learning a lot

    So far the people here are really helpful and want to help you succeed.

  • 11/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 13 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All types of students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come here with an open mind. You'll meet so many different people!

    Bang for the buck

    It's not cheap (of course) but it's worth the money. Especially with all the renovations being made.

    Am enjoying being here

    There's usually always something to do on campus. Even if there aren't many events going on, I still find a way to make new friends by just walking around campus.

    Am learning a lot

    I am an honor student and I really enjoy all my classes and teachers.

  • 02/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 14 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    the only tips i have for future students are to come into college focused, and always place your school work at the top of your priorities.

    In three sentences

    alabama state university is a great institution for learning. majority of of the educators are very hands on with assisting their students guiding them to the next level. i would not choose another university.

  • 06/23/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 15 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there is campus police that is cool, really helpful, and great.

    Greek Life

    awesome only if you are really into it..

    Food and Dining

    lot of food chooses close and food in caf is pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    great they are remodeling alot of the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    always make sure that the school has more then major you are interested in.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't choose a school because of family or what you hear. if you get a great vibe from the school go for it.

    In three sentences

    great student body everyone is really nice. Small town alot of things are close. And great if you want to attend a school down south and a historical black college.

  • 06/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 16 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    productive and hardworking students

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you keep up with the stuff.

    Bang for the buck

    its is a good price.

    Am enjoying being here

    i just love the campus.

    Am learning a lot

    i am learning alot here at #myasu. its teaching me alot.

  • 07/20/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Open-minded

    Tips for prospective students

    Get ready for the heat!

    Bang for the buck

    I am an out-of-state student and compared to other schools I've researched, ASU is a great price.

    Am enjoying being here

    Even though there aren't many shopping places in walking distance, there are plenty of things to do on campus. Greeks are always hosting events and different organizations have events and activities for all students.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning a lot from both the professors and the students here. There's a good variety of people from all over the country and even the world.

  • 01/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the university police officers are always available when you need them.during the day and evening,they are always canvassing the campus to suspect any mischievous activity or acts of student violation.

    Greek Life

    the greeks are respectful and they are very active on campus.they have forums and events that informs students about financial and time management,professional wardrobe and the key to a successful career.

    What to do for fun

    always study and prepare yourself for any opportunities.take some time our for yourself by hanging out on the weekends.use the week to keep your academics on track!

    Food and Dining

    the food and dining is average.it sometimes can be frustrating due to the large capacity of students on a 11-1 eating schedule.overall, its a very social and fun place to be during your homework breaks.

    Dorm Life

    there are two new facilities on campus that are co-ed (male and female).they are very attractive and furnish well.it inclued a living room setting and kitchen.other dormitories are neat and are kept up to standard each year.

    Academic Rigor

    we have a honors day convocation that takes place in april of every year.its usually packed to capacity and each student achieves a 3.2 or higher.the academic rigor is always excellent and consistent.

    Tips for prospective students

    always know your eligibility.please consistently check over your financial aid and continue to apply for scholarships.it's never to late to get assistance on tuition and books.

    In three sentences

    alabama state university has created a variety of opportunities that will be of value in th future! i am currently a senior theatre arts major and ive had many opportunities to meet famous people such as vanessa williams,kim fields and many more.overall,alabama state university has guaranteed students to have a successful career and future.!

  • 02/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    greek life is huge on campus. the divine nine hosts a ton of events for both education and entertainment.

    Great for these types of students

    adventure seeking, spirit filled, down to earth people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    our homecoming is on thanksgiving and every year there is the annual turkey day classic were we battle tuskeege university.

    What to do for fun

    there is an endless amount of possibilities.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you are looking to become apart of the asu family look into all the different organizations on campus. affiliations will help you become more intertwined with the university and will help strengthen growth and development.

    In three sentences

    asu is a down to earth loving environment. the instructers are caring and the atmosphere is loving. hornet nation (asu) is the greatest place to attend college.

  • 04/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 20 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    These cops are a joke! Nobody takes them serious.

    Greek Life

    Delta Sigma Thetas run the yard!!!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    PROBATES!!!!!!!

    Bang for the buck

    Alabama State is known for their football. If you're not a football player of in a sorority/fraternity you're a NOBODY in their eyes.

    What to do for fun

    They're aren't really many things to do here so I just sleep and do my work.

    Food and Dining

    No....................

    Dorm Life

    It's horrible staying with 11 floors full of females! Especially when the elevators go out and you are forced to take the stairs!! I absolutely hate that!

    Academic Rigor

    They make you take unnecessary classes that has NOTHING to do with your major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make SURE Alabama State is the school you want to earn a degree from. Do not get caught up in your social life (greek life and sports) where you can't focus on your work.

    In three sentences

    ASU has the livest band! ASU has a great Psychology program. I love the enviornment, but I feel like I am paying too much and not getting the education I deserve.

  • 09/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. The campus police are always in a place to be found and at a certain time they start ID checks.

    Greek Life

    The sororities and fraternities are very involved (in a good way) on this campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and organizations to be involved in. Make connections that will last you a lifetime.

    Great for these types of students

    Alabama State University is great for students who like to get involved and meet new people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is an equinox in the center of the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    I think it is pretty good for the amount you are paying. I am learning and my living quarters are pretty good.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things to do on campus such as talent shows, open mic nights, parties, sessions that help you through college. They try to keep you active so there is always something going on.

    Food and Dining

    The student center is mostly where I eat they have the best burgers and their pizza is pretty good. There are 4 different places in the student center to choose from Subway, a chinese place, pizza place, and a place where burgers:), philly cheese steaks, and wings are served. I have not eaten in the cafeteria so I cannot give an accurate take on that, but it does look good.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is pretty good just remember everybody was not raised as you were so be prepared. Also remember common sense is not so common. Also don't take every body's opinion of how the dorms are I was expecting the worst but it turned out pretty good.

    Academic Rigor

    You will have work to do but you instructors give you ample time to get it done.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early so that you can receive scholarships available to you. Make sure you know what you want and don't be swayed by others.

    In three sentences

    Alabama State is a great university. I would recommend to anyone. Don't take my word for check it out yourself.:)

  • 12/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 22 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    make sure that they stay on top with what should be done because nobody is going to baby you through the process.

  • 02/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 66

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    their is always other organizations that have things on campus, but most of all attending a football game and supporting our hornet is the best.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria has wonderful food. you have variety of food choices to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    the dorm life is great. it is constantly growing. good way to meet new people.

    Academic Rigor

    when their is an assignment or test study. know your information. use your many resources around campus to get helped if needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    know what you want to get your degree in. the quicker you make your decision the quicker you will finish.

    In three sentences

    this university has outstanding staff. able to get one on one teaching with your teacher. this campus keeps students active, and allow stduents to partake in many different opportunities.

  • 04/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 24 of 66

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Get a group of friends [that think just like you]

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay, but i feel it can be better.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at Alabama State University is getting better than the past years.

    Academic Rigor

    You will get the same treatment as if you were at the University of Alabama.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you planning on attending Alabama State University, you need to be tone in with yourself and know yourself.

    In three sentences

    My experience at Alabama State University has been challenging. I have learned a lot from attending Alabama State University. The university showed me a lot of different things.

  • 04/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    ASU police are always here when you need them. There are also more emergency buttons around campus for those who need it.

    Greek Life

    Greek life at ASU is awesome! Each sorority and fraternity is known for having great individual qualities which we students love. They host many forums and mixers for students to get to know each other.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs for anyone at ASU. From music and entertainment to international students.

    Great for these types of students

    ALL students!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    ASU celebrates a lot of usual and unusual events on campus. It just depends on what it is and who's hosting it, but you're sure to have a great time!

    Bang for the buck

    ASU's tuition is easy to work with. However, take note that the price of tuition is rising (like it is for all schools). But with the help of financial aid and scholarships, you can make it work! ASU also offers federal work-study for students who need extra help.

    What to do for fun

    There is usually always something to do on ASU's campus. The Greek fraternities and soroities host a lot of events for all students. The Student Government Association and the Student Orientation Services are also known for random events held throughout the year.

    Food and Dining

    Food at ASU's cafe is good. You'll always get a taste of something different.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life as ASU is still progressing. Most of the dorms have been remodeled. There are only 3 out of the 13 dorms that are ready to be remodeled. All of the new dorms have a nice modern feel.

    Academic Rigor

    Alabama State has professors who take their life experience and merge it with their lesson plans. This helps students relate what they're learning with real-life experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Alabama State is full of people from all over the country. You'll have fun meeting new people. Most of the teachers here are easy going and love what they do. As long as you go to class and get your work done, you should have no problem. The school is still under construction. However, when it's finished (which should be soon, by the way), it will be BEAUTIFUL. Oh yeah, one more thing; get ready for the HEAT.

    In three sentences

    Alabama State is a very diverse school with even more diverse people. This school has so much history behind it. The teachers are very easy going and don't mind working with you.

  • 04/23/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    26 of 66

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    This school has alot of things for students. There are many programs there. Alabama State University is the School.

  • 04/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 66

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    During the week, there are activities posted around letting the students know the happenings that are taking place. We have activities that include forums, parties, talent shows,and even interest meetings.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't all that good, but we have those days where it can be. The food isn't really an issue because it was paid out of our tuition,so it's like eating for free now everyday. Also, another good part about the dinning hall is that the food is buffet style.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm Life on campus is pretty cool. You get to meet many different people from all over the world, and the next thing you know is that you all are the best of friends. When living on campus, you feel as if you are on your own simple fact is because you're away from home, and you can do whatever you want to do. So, in conclusion, the dorm life is AMAZING!

    In three sentences

    Alabama State is known for Education. Alabama State has a significant number of people that has graduated from there. IT'S A GREAT TIME TO BE A HORNET!

  • 04/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    ASU welcomes anyone willing to become a student.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Orientation sessions for new students is different from any other college or univeristy in the US because students get the feelings of what the college life will be like.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, I enjoy meeting new people, parties, and attend any of the events that are happening on campus (fashion shows, business conventions ,basketball or football games).

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining rate on campus would be a 2.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus; however, during orientation I did. I really enjoyed my time and I was able to meet and socialize with more people.

    Academic Rigor

    At ASU, I am postive you will learn and enjoy doing so. Being able to pick my classes and professors makes the learning process easier.

    Tips for prospective students

    To prospective students, I encourage them to stay ahead of their work. Don't wait til the last minute to do work and seek advice from upperclassmen for what professors to get. Lastly, remember to relax and have fun!

    In three sentences

    When Alabama State University, ASU, teaches the world takes note. Remember, it is always a great time to be hornet. It's different from high school and it prepares you for life!

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus seems to be pretty safe. I've never had any problems with my personal safety. The gates are locked at a specific time every night and an ID card is required to get back on the campus.

    Greek Life

    As with most Historically Black Colleges, Alabama State University has a thriving Greek culture. The Greeks are always having something going on.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of social groups integrated into dorm life and activities are always happening on the yard. There are informative forums almost every week.

    Great for these types of students

    Alabama State is a great school for students who are dedicated and driven to excel.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The home of Nat King Cole has been beautifully restored to its origional glory right on the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    You do get quite a big bang for your buck when choosing Alabama State University because its very affordable.

    What to do for fun

    There are many parks around the area, and the city, Montgomery, always has some fun activities for people to enjoy such as the annual Jubilee celebration.

    Food and Dining

    I hear people complaining about the Cafe food a ot. I don't have a meal plan so I don't exactly know about this part. There are however a few fast food places and a grocery store within walking distance of the campus.

    Dorm Life

    I have never lived on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The rigor for education is very high. The professors do a great job of making sure that the students are well equipped for post secondary educational studies.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you do your research before you come. The University is undergoing a lot of construction and may be a little tough to navigate. Immediately familiarize yourself with the campus. Talk to a few graduates if you can to see if the school is right for you.

    In three sentences

    From my experiences at Alabama State University, I would say that the University has a very nurturing environment. It seems that professors want student to learn and therefore open their schedules outside of teaching for students. I think this type of commitment to students' futures is very important because we are the future.

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The police officers here do not play games. If they have never seen you here on campus prepared to get asked some type of question.

    Greek Life

    I am apart of Gamma Sigma Sigma National Service Sorority and we do a lot of community service as well as have a strong sense of sisterhood. The Fraternities and Sororities are definitely something to get involved in especially if you want that long lasting friendships that lasts a lifetime.

    Clubs and Activities

    if you are interested in making a change in the community and just giving back some of the knowledge you've learned over the course of attending school or if you just want to lend a helping hand Gamma sigma Sigma national service sorority is the way to go this organization is not biased to males they accept everyone but most males usually go for Alpha Phi omega national service fraternity inc they also are a community service organization. I do not know too much about Greek life but there are plenty of business frats and sororities to get involved in around campus so don't limit yourself.

    Great for these types of students

    If your a type of student who likes to skateboard like myself then you would definitely enjoy the skate park five blocks from campus. Also there are always theater plays/shows going on throughout the year I definitely am a theater geek so this is where most of my time is spent.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Well the unusual tradition on campus to not get involved in is definitely hanging out on the Dummy Wall they call it this because most of the individuals either hang out here all day do nothing and not go to class or they just sit there and chill all day smoking and being very ignorant. They even tell you this on the tour during orientation.

    Bang for the buck

    Well we have a new student union that has a movie theater in it as well as a banquet and food court area very awesome place to hang out with friends and chill do homework etc.

    What to do for fun

    The clubs jump depending on what Greek organization is throwing the party. If you get in with the right crowd of people you will always have fun no matter what you do just sitting on the yard at night talking can be exciting. I prefer to hang with the QUES or Omega Psi Phi frats because they throw the best bbQues and they always show hospitality besides that they are a very intelligent group of young men who don't mind tutoring and helping you out with anything. They especially come in handy when its time to move out of the dorms.

    Food and Dining

    I am warning you be careful about what you eat in the CAFF because that food will literally make your stomach boil. The food could be better in my opinion but there are plenty of restaurants in walking distance and the new student union has food in there as well.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life could be better here, but we are in the midst of transforming the campus and building more better dorms for students but it is definitely coming along.

    Academic Rigor

    If you are interested in majoring in chemistry or biology be prepared to not have as much of a social life because the classes are very rigorous. Other than that other majors they do require a lot of work especially if you are interested in the field of education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always check with your adviser to make sure you are on track with the right curriculum and that you are taking classes that you need not excess classes. Get involved with the student Government Association Street Team to stay up to date about whats going on with your money and around campus.

    In three sentences

    We are family like a giant tree growing stronger, growing wiser, because it is a great time to be a hornet.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 66

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    hang out on the yard and experience the college life.

    Food and Dining

    need a better venue.

    Tips for prospective students

    my advice is to do all your homework , meaning make sure this is the college for you.

    In three sentences

    Alabama state is a college that gives everyone an opportunity to excel academically. I am grateful to be apart of an excellent institution, its a great time to be a hornet. Just like any college there is room for improvement , i love my asu!

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There are a few facilities on campus to choose from as far as dining such as the cafe' and Sports page.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life has improved due to new facilities being constructed on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at ASU are quite challenging but rewarding towards a successful future.

  • 06/17/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    33 of 66

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Fun, not sure if doctorate students know that the word is. But hanging out with family and friends

    Tips for prospective students

    Get everything in early. Stay on top of the admissions office because they dont put everything online that you need to know like most schools.

    In three sentences

    My department is great with working with students and their needs. The graduate school seems like they need to get there acts together. Overall so far love the school.

  • 06/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 66

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many things on campus that i find enjoyable. The Student center is brand new, it has a pool hall, movie theater, bowling as well.

    Food and Dining

    The at ASU is very different than what i am use to. Some days the food is great, but other days it can have you in you dorm all day.

    Dorm Life

    My dorm life at Alabama State was one of the most difficult challenges i would ever have in my life. Although the dorm where nice and clean, its hard to live with a lot of females. The are also dorms are spacious and bright.

    Academic Rigor

    The only Academic difficulties i had while attending Alabama State, is being able to adjust to the work after being away from any school for a whole year. But as far as the teachers, they help me a lot, now i am on the honor roll.

    Tips for prospective students

    New and prospective students, Being a Hornet is an honor. The day i enrolled into the university i was scared of what it would be like to live on campus, and if the work was going to be hard. Alabama State University has been the best choice for me and might also be the best for you.

    In three sentences

    Alabama State University has shown me a new prospective on continuing my education. Alabama State is clean, productive, and its easy to navigate around the campus. I love ASU and i rate this school a complete 10.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 66

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun at ASU we have different events through out the week as well as organizations parties.

    Food and Dining

    ASU just curently opened a new student union where they have more options of food, but before it was poor.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life isn't to good. I have stayed on campus for the past three years and wasn't to happy about it.

    Academic Rigor

    Alabama's academic rigor is fair, they are currently working on this though.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips for prospective students is to enjoy yourself and always put work work first.

    In three sentences

    Alabama State is a nice University. When teachers are teaching the world takes note.

  • 08/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The ASU police do a great job at keeping the student body safe. There aren't too many worries when it comes to your safety on campus.

    Greek Life

    All divine nine fraternity and sororities are on campus. Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity,Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Zeta Phi Beta Sorority,Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, and Iota Phi Theta Fraternity. At ASU you have to be a sophomore to join. The reason is you have to have a required GPA. Do research on the different organizations and pick the right one for you.

    Clubs and Activities

    The school offers a vast array of clubs. Student government,S.O.S,and Street Team are major clubs. S.O.S is student orientation services which help incoming students with registration and making them feel welcomed. Street Team supports all school activities. They will get the crowd hype at sporting events and travel everywhere that a school function is happening.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Our homecoming is on thanksgiving day against Tuskegee. The Turkey Day Classic is the longest black college classic in the world.

    Bang for the buck

    ASU has a reasonable tuition but is raising as we build new things.

    What to do for fun

    The school offers many activities to participate in. Talent shows,fashion shows, greek stroll off,sporting events,and comedy shows. Those are just to name a few. Everyday there is something going on.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is all you can eat which is a major plus. There are special days in the cafe when we will have music by a live dj. When there is a big event like the super bowl the dining hall will stay open later and have big projectors displaying the game. Also in the new union we have restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    All the dorms have just been renovated. We also have two new co-ed dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    There aren't any easy majors. All teachers will push you to the max and get your full potential out of you. This will better you after college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early because classes,housing,etc get filled fast. Stay on campus as long as you can. Staying on campus gives you that good college experience,saves time,gas,and money.

    In three sentences

    Alabama State is not only one of the best HBCU's in country but one of the best colleges in Alabama. On top of that the sports programs are the best in the SWAC. With construction going on to make the campus more spacious and beautiful it's hard to turn down this school.

  • 08/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 66

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Walk around campus. Go to the Theater Building where they have powerful and beautiful plays. Going to the Student Union is fun too.

    Food and Dining

    The dining experience is pretty good, it gives you a chance to be close to your friends. ASU has special days when they provide international food. ASU just finished our student union and it has so many different food options just in case you do not feel like going to the dining hall.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is so much fun, especially building a strong friendship with your roommate. I would suggest that you do not room with your friend, because your friendship may turn sour. ASU also offers dorm council which is fun,it allows you to become a leader within your residence.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics is very important to ASU. If you do not have your grades together you can forget about extracurricular activities. If you feel like your school work is too much for you, the school offers many programs that can provide Tudors.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would suggest staying on top of your studies. Always being on time for class. I would also suggest getting to know a lot of people.

    In three sentences

    I would rate Alabama State University as a perfect 10. I would rate it as a 10. because they believe in their students and they provide every opportunity for us to graduate and have excellent careers afterwards. Alabama State not only provides excellent opportunities for our education but also they allow us to grow into mature adults.

  • 08/12/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    38 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Awesome !

    What to do for fun

    Go to basketball and football games.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class. Don't playing around with your school work. Partying isn't everything.

    In three sentences

    The Alabama State campus is really nice and clean. The bessie benson dorm is one of the best dorms along with the new facilities dorms. The food is really good as well.

  • 09/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is a priority here at Alabama State and all occurrences are dealt with professionally and immediately.

    Greek Life

    Greeks are welcoming and proud as they allure potential pledges and appease the crowd.

    Clubs and Activities

    All activities are planned with 100% student satisfaction being the goal in mind.

    Great for these types of students

    Alabama State is a great institution for students looking for a comfortable place to call home. It is a cozy environment with a supportive community and humble students will feel right at home.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is a great secondary institution with just the right amount of students and plenty of learning experience to season the student body.

    What to do for fun

    School spirit is a virtue at Alabama State University and every athletic event is a treat. Students come together to enjoy sports events and Greek life here at the university.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should research potential fields of study ahead of time and take advantage of every learning opportunity provided by the institution and the community pertaining to that field.

    In three sentences

    This is a diverse institution with great opportunities to prosper in a variety of fields. Faculty and staff alike are equally supportive of the students. The institution is technologically savvy, which assists the students with accuracy and experience.

  • 10/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 66

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Foosball, pool table, special events that go on through the week.

    Food and Dining

    Three meals a day on the meal plan is okay, although I think it could be better.

    Dorm Life

    There are a lot of dorms very clean. Also a new CJ Dunn Tower hall. Also their are great coed dorms to attend.

    Academic Rigor

    All you teacher are willing to help even if you wont apply yourself. As I say, As you give up your teachers wont.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit this amazing school and you will see the new facilities.

    In three sentences

    Alabama State University Is a Awesome school to attend. As the school is in construction now we all will have a lot of new facilities to attend and socialize. Also Attending Alabama State University you will find out about the historical culture .

  • 10/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 66

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a plethora of clubs and organizations to be a part of. ASU has the divine 9, in addition to a boat load of sports teams.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the Cafe can be wonderful, but it can also be awful; it just depends on the day. However, there is nothing better than free.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life can be either wonderful or horrid depending on where you stay. I live in the Charles J Dunn Tower, and I have found my experience here both interesting as well as fun.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic Rigor depends on what major you are in.

    Tips for prospective students

    ASU is an HBCU, and there are virtually parties everyday, but do not get so caught up in the social activities that you think you must attend EVERY party. Stay in on the weekdays and study, and when the weekend comes you can have as much fun as you want.

    In three sentences

    ASU is a wonderful school for african american students that are searching for a school with a rich history as well as an academic program that is rigorous.

  • 10/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    For my major mathematics/pre-engineering, there wasn't a lot of clubs for me to do, but it's mostly frats/sororities.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is quick to give scholarships and they have a lot of grant money still coming in.

    What to do for fun

    Well, mostly parties. There is one almost everyday. Then, there are a few forums or small get together on campus for people who prefer smaller venues.

    Food and Dining

    It was hit and miss. Some foods were good and some were disgusting.

    Dorm Life

    I stayed in CJ Dunn towers. I hated it because you shared with 5 other girls and there were times when it was a lot of tension. It seemed like nobody wanted to compromise so we could live peacefully.

    Academic Rigor

    So far, I haven't found classes to hard. Most of them are a lot of work and the teachers do not play games. If manage your time, it will be super easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your game with important things like financial aid, scheduling, housing, and etc because this school is quick to screw something like that.

    In three sentences

    It's an okay school. I would not choose it for a first choice though. It's one of those school were it up to you how much you enjoy it.

  • 11/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 66

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    On campus, they offer a lot of events to attend to. For instance, sometimes they have the DJ mixer come out and play music on campus to keep the students entertained. It is college so of course there are parties. Also, in the student union they offer games to play such as: the wii, PlayStation 3, air hockey, and more.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is not so great. The cafe as we like to call it have its' days where sometimes it can be worth going to and others where you just want to stay in your dorm. The hours to eat are ridiculously short, but maybe if they expand the time more students would actually enjoy going to the cafe.

    Dorm Life

    Where to start about dorm life. Sure, it is very exciting leaving high school to start life on your own. Shopping and decorating your dorm is tons of fun. We do have dorm checks and bathroom checks which is a good thing because it helps most students stay organized. Furthermore, I love the dorm life, but you constantly have to remind yourself that you are sharing a room so have respect for your roommate.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes here are fair. They are not too hard and not to easy. Aforementioned, it is what you make it so do not fool around and take it for granted. I suggest to form study groups as much as you can because your grades are nothing to be played with.

    Tips for prospective students

    To all prospective students, keep your head in the game. As incoming freshman, there can be a lot of distractions because of all of the events and activities going on around campus, but it is up to you to stay focused. Moreover, college is a totally different environment than high school, so come here with your head held high and ready to learn.

    In three sentences

    Alabama Stat University is what you make it. You have plenty of freedom, which can always be a good thing. Also, many opportunities to enhance your studies in the choices that they offer here at Alabama State University.

  • 01/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus definitely needs to make adjustments in public safety. Incidents have taken place and will continue to take place unless the university addresses the issues and poses resolutions. Many students feel the campus police have turned deaf ears to our complaints and provided laziness and excuses in return. No money and a low a budget is a constant exclaim. Females, especially, are to be extremely aware and practice safety.

    Greek Life

    Quite a few Greek organizations, including the Divine Nine.

    Clubs and Activities

    ASU has SOOO many clubs, organizations, events. It's never boring and there is so much to offer.

    Food and Dining

    This university offers on campus dining included in housed students' room and board fees. The dining facility offers healthy choices in a large space. The only downfall is designated times for meals and the hours of operations closing before 7pm. Fortunately we have a food court in a separate building on campus that stays open until almost midnight; however, purchases are NOT included in students' meal plans.

    Dorm Life

    While only a couple of dorms have been newly built and are clean and comfortable. Most dorms, however, need work. Some are damaged, outdated, unhealthy. Furthermore, the university has failed to provide on-campus housing to all students due to over crowding...

    Tips for prospective students

    I encourage students to research the program of interest deeply at Alabama State. Tour the campus. Sit in on classes. While the school has a lot to offer, not every university (including ASU) is the best match for every prospective student.

    In three sentences

    Alabama State University is constantly growing: The campus is consistently expanding, the student body continue to increase, and more programs are being offered. However, faculty and staff are failing to acknowledge student needs and/or interests while practicing poor customer service and involvement.

  • 02/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 66

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Some of the things you can do for fun is to join an organization.

    Tips for prospective students

    One tip for Prospective students is to use time management

    In three sentences

    At Alabama State University you feel as if you one of the elites in the classroom

  • 02/14/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    46 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Research. The more research that you do on the schools that you do the more you will know about the school and will be able to make a decision as to whether you want to attend it more accuratly, and read student reviews because students inform you on how everything works and what to expect.

    In three sentences

    I think that Alabama State University has a beautiful campus and from what I have researched wonderful professors. I think being able to attend this school would be an honor.

  • 02/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    ASU is secured by the ASU Police and there are only a few entrances after dark.

    Greek Life

    There are many Greek Organizations here at ASU. Ranging from Alpha to Zeta. We also have service Fraternities and Sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    band,fraternities, sororities, clubs,and many other organizations. There's lots to do here at ASU. Check us out at www.alasu.edu. under student life.

    Great for these types of students

    For anyone pursuing a degree. Check us out at www.alasu.edu

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Equinox is a sculpture directly in the center of the campus. homecoming and football season are a blast. There are many traditions here at ASU.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition for in-state and out of state varies. Trust me, you are not wasting money coming to this fine institution of higher learning.

    What to do for fun

    A ASU there are many things to do on this campus. We have so much here. Come see for yourself. Band,choir,baseball,tennis,ect. You won't ever say you have nothing to do here at ASU.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe is on campus where most students with a meal plan eat. There are also many other places to eat as well. The Student union is also a place where students can talk and eat from subway and two other places.

    Dorm Life

    There are various dorms here on campus. If you want to see them all, come to ASU for a tour of the campus. I'm sure you'll like it.

    Academic Rigor

    We here at Alabama State take extreme pride in academics.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to ASU to fulfill you dreams of become a successful young man or lady. The faculty here cares for you. You are not just another number. There are many different organizations here on campus that will be glad to have you. It's a Great time to be a Hornet!

    In three sentences

    This university has a rich history,tradition, and an excellent teaching staff. The Campus is has lots of place near to shop and eat. While I've been at ASU, I've joined two of the many organizations they have here on campus.

  • 03/21/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    48 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    It all depends on what you are into...

    What to do for fun

    They have various activities going on so, you'll never be bored. But it all depends on what you are into.

    Food and Dining

    They have the best food it is awesome.

    Academic Rigor

    Stay Focused. The professors take time to make sure each student understands what's going on, and they really try to help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Focus on your education, and don't get to caught up in extracurricular activities, that make you lose focus of why you are in school.

    In three sentences

    I worked at ASU during the summer before my senior year, It's a great school. I also was able to speak during my senior year at ASU for Camp IT. I had the opportunity to sit in on classes, and the professors take out the time to make sure you understand what you are doing. The campus is very diverse, you have students from all walks of life.

  • 03/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are on patrol 24/7 , safety concerns are my least worry.

    What to do for fun

    There are many on campus functions and gathering, besides the media center; you should never be bored.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria staff work in a clean, friendly enviroment. Food is always served fresh and awesome.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus nut visited a dorm and I must complement that they are very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Very understanding; The teachers teach in a way to not only help you learn but also instructing you on new information. It's always great to learn something about your history that you didnt know before.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard, but also set aside some me time to enjoy yourself. Complete assignments on time, and be the best you can be:)

    In three sentences

    Great, friendly enviroment for any new incoming student; they make you feel as if you are home. The faculty and staff are very dedicated and willing to help you with any concern you may have. I love the fact of how the student body governs themselves in a studious manner.

  • 04/17/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    50 of 66

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The highlight of being a Hornet would probably have to be attending the ASU football games in their new stadium to cheer on the team and listen to the amazing ASU Mighty Marching Hornets play.

    Food and Dining

    Alabama State has three dining spots that serve quality, tasty food for breakfast, lunch, and dinner daily.

    Dorm Life

    Card Hall is one of the best halls to live in. The Residence Halls of ASU are well-built structures conducive to a positive learning environment.

    Academic Rigor

    ASU provides comprehensive, practical, challenging classes taught by experienced professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Budget your money well. Focus on studying more than partying. Keep yourself motivated by networking with students with similar goals.

    In three sentences

    Alabama State University is an excellent HBCU with a storied history of tradition. It is a great place to learn and prepare for lucrative careers. ASU's staff actually care about the students unlike the staff at other schools.

  • 04/23/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    51 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very strict

    Greek Life

    Love it

    Clubs and Activities

    A lot of clubs and activities too join.

    Great for these types of students

    Awesome

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Everything is close by and really easy to use.

    Bang for the buck

    Awesome school to attend and learn so much about African American history.

    What to do for fun

    Kickbacks, hang outside/ inside dorms, Party, school functions and a lot more.

    Food and Dining

    Great Food.

    Dorm Life

    Really good

    Academic Rigor

    Very well done.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply their you will love it as much as I did.

    In three sentences

    This University is really good with academics and very well organized. Had a blast time while attending. Learned how to network with Alumni.

  • 04/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 66

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Spend time with my family.

    Food and Dining

    The food has improved. It is of better quality but in an effort to provide a more nutritional diet it still needs some improvements.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life has changed dramatically. It is more organized.

    Academic Rigor

    The Academic Rigor helps prepare you for life as well as the field you intend to pursue.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attending college, what you put into your education, and what you learn from getting an education at Alabama State University starts with learning your role in each aspect.

    In three sentences

    Alabama State is one of the best HBCU's to attend. The faculty and staff are very helpful. The academic programs are worth your money spent.

  • 05/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 66

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    go to games, hang with your college friends and enjoy the student service center.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great. You are provided 3 meals a day. they have many selections to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    I haven't personally stayed in a dorm. My college friends have talked about how great it is to live on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    They will make sure that you get the education that you deserve

    In three sentences

    ASU is an excellent school. This school has shown me how to have fun in furthering my education. They are always welcoming students to participate in the many academic activites on campus.

  • 05/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus security are Montgomery Police Officers. I feel safe walking on campus at any time.

    Greek Life

    Non-greek and Divine 9 organizations are active are available to join.

    Clubs and Activities

    Community service, greek organizations, band, and athletics are good.

    Great for these types of students

    Fun loving and easy going students will enjoy ASU.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Freshman are called Fresh Meat, The Union is the chill spot, and watching the band practice is fun to watch!

    Bang for the buck

    ASU is what you make it! The opportunities are there for you, but you have to utilize them!

    What to do for fun

    Football and basketball games are so much fun! Student Orientation Services throws mixers and events as well as Greek Organizations. Homecoming week brings celebrity performances!

    Food and Dining

    The food is good and we have plenty of options on and off campus. You should be able to find good food between the Caf�© and The Union! Grocery shopping can also be done as well.

    Dorm Life

    The earlier you do your housing the better choices you will have! Housing goes fast! The best choices are on the lower floors.

    Academic Rigor

    You really have to push yourself to be better as a student! Your professors will not always be there to do it for you!

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your housing ASAP. Do your Financial Aid ASAP. Don't overload yourself with classes!

    In three sentences

    Alabama State is a fun experience! Hornet Pride is BEAUTIFUL. It's a great time to be a hornet!

  • 06/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always police riding and walking around campus 24 7. Seriously!

    Greek Life

    Greek life is crazy good. I've learned to accept other sororities and frats.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many things to do but its up to you on how to have fun and be safe.

    Food and Dining

    Its my opinion, i never like eating school food.

    Dorm Life

    Be prepared for things you may see and the people you may get as your roommate. Not everyone is clean.

    Academic Rigor

    There are many great teachers on campus that are willing to take time out of their busy schedule to help when needed. Please try getting to know your teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Please if you party the night before class make sure you are able to get up. Do not miss so many necessary days because some teachers will fail you know matter how good you are.

    In three sentences

    So far at state I've learned a lot and not just in class. There are a lot that can be improved with the campus. Your experience is what you make it.

  • 06/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    56 of 66

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is always something to do on campus.

    In three sentences

    ASU is a well known university located in montgomery , alabama. My freshman year at ASU went well, the professors were willign to help. and the campus is very active with the students.

  • 07/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    57 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Alabama State University campus police is ALWAYS on top of things and alert at all times. Not many incidents happen left unattended to and that's a good thing. I applaud the police department.

    Greek Life

    The greek life on campus is very hype. Although many of the sorority's and fraternity's don't stay on campus, you are well aware when they do arrive. They are always blasting music and strolling in the middle of the campus to attract potential recruits. It is very exciting to think about being apart of a sisterhood or a brotherhood.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and activities always happening on campus. There is a modeling group called Elite Models and they are always showcasing their models and upcoming designers. There's also student government which is very popular on campus. There's so much to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    Alabama State is known for their impeccable Theatre Department. If you are thinking about majoring in any areas of theatre, such as makeup, dance, lighting and design, or stage production, this program is amazing and will open up many doors as well as give you a fulfilling experience.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a new amphitheatre right in the heart of the campus where you can find students hanging out, playing football or blasting music from the built in speakers. Its very nice.

    What to do for fun

    Alabama State University is a historic place, however there are so many new things bringing it to life and to the modern era, such as the Student Union. This is where you buy your books, buy school merchandise and there are three mini restaurants. This is where you'll usually find most students hanging out, because across from the restaurants is a sitting area with tv and pool tables and games like that. We also have a brand new football stadium to win all the home games in.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is very nice. They serve breakfast, lunch, and dinner and usually different things every day. All of the staff in the dining hall are considerably very nice people and if you ask for more of something, they never hesitate to give you an extra scoop or two.

    Dorm Life

    I loved staying in the dorms my freshman year. This is the opportunity to practice your social skills and also practicing living with others. I stayed in a room with one other girl, but in a suite of six girls in all, and one bathroom. Even though there were six of us, we all managed to get along, and most importantly clean up when there were messes. It is an experience that all college freshman should have to go through; living on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Of course at any university you will attend, the work is what all students dread, however, the professors at Alabama State University will not bite and they are only willing to help if you're willing to help yourself. Ask questions and TAKE NOTES. Do not sit in the back if you are hard of seeing either. College is for learning and getting your education, so of course some of the courses may be a bit challenging, but if its not a challenge, then its not hard enough.

    Tips for prospective students

    For future students, the best advice I can give is to come here with an open mind. Although you're just coming out of high school, you have to realize that you're stepping into a new world. College is unlike anything you've ever experienced and I guarantee if you just stay involved, do your work, and study hard, you will have the best four years of your academic career.

    In three sentences

    Being a Historically Black University, Alabama State University holds a copious amount of historic value. Alabama State University has some of the best professors who are ready and willing to help you with anything you have trouble with. Alabama State University has great school spirit and the campus is always alive and there is never a dull moment.

  • 07/15/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    58 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are always around

    Greek Life

    Very important on campus

    Clubs and Activities

    Band very good theatre program you also have Greek life

    What to do for fun

    A lot of activities happen on campus Greek life is hot on campus

    Food and Dining

    It's ok could be better

    Dorm Life

    It's great

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers don't play you have to go to class

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep your gpa up better chance for scholarships

    In three sentences

    The best it is fun down there but you have to stay focus don't get distracted from your work there will be a lot of activities going on on campus

  • 07/18/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    59 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe, I feel that can lay my head down without any worries or sit in my class and don't have to worry about any uncontrollable outbreaks

    Greek Life

    There are many different Greeks, I haven't decide on which one as of yet

    Clubs and Activities

    I want to join the SOS Leaders(Student Orientation Services). This group of people are great, they go around helping new students to fine their way around campus, they discuss how to adjusted to a new environment

    Great for these types of students

    Unknown

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None that I know of

    What to do for fun

    From my understanding, their will be parties, football games and different kinds of entertainment going through out the year

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, but would get try of eating the same thing over a period of time

    Dorm Life

    I give it a 8, they are nice a little rooming, but I don't like sharing bathroom, but that's college life in a dorm

    Academic Rigor

    I give them a 10, they strive on excellence and following a plan on what you want to achieve, they encourage you to still have fun by getting involve in something, but at the same time remain focus on your goal

    Tips for prospective students

    My most important tip for any prospect, is you can't go wrong with choosing Alabama State University, is that they are there for you, that they want you to success and not fail they CARE!!!

    In three sentences

    1. They are very friendly and excited to have me their on campus 2. The dorm room I was in was very nice and clean 3. The campus itself is beautiful, the whole staff and professor's took the time to help me to understand everything that I needed to know

  • 08/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    60 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is best to befriend them first.

    Greek Life

    ASU currently has all Divine 9 sororities and fraternities, two service sororites, one service freternity, two business fraternity/sororities, and all band fraternities/sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty to do on campus the most well known is the Mighty Marching Hornets.

    Bang for the buck

    I would have to say the best thing about being a student at ASU is free admittance to all athletic events. Unlike other schools such as Alabama which makes you pay a certain price for tickets to all home games. At ASU you just show your student id and thats it you will receive your free ticket. Each student is entitled to only one ticket per event.

    What to do for fun

    Pretty much anything. The new football stadium is the main attraction so far, with the addition of the schools new student union that has a game room, cinema center, subway, a pizza place and two other eateries is the new hang out spot. If you like to party and go to clubs, there are shuttle that take you to and from the parties.

    Food and Dining

    Food on days are good.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at ASU could use a little help, but with the opening of the two new co-ed dorms things are looking up. Although most dorms are a little outdated, there will be so much to do on campus til the only thing you will do in your dorm is sleep.

    Academic Rigor

    Alabama State really has some good teachers is all about who you pick. You do have some that are student friendly and others who are not, but over all they only want one thing and that is for you to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Constantly check you Hornetsweb, Housing, and Blackboard information. The administration likes to post additional charges or make changes to your housing on Hornetsweb, and your housing information without you knowing. Teachers will post class information on blackboard without you knowing as well. Please stay up to date on everything and keep copies of everything you turn in such as receipts and excused abscences.

    In three sentences

    This school has great teachers. The student life is great and thier is always something to do around campus.The administration is really not there for the students.

  • 08/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    61 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are taking bigger steps to making ASU a safer place. there's always room for growth, but ladies be cautious when walking alone at night.

    Greek Life

    I Love the Greeks here at Alabama State University. its always nice seeing them step at Greek shows, probates, on campus, and in the café. They do way more than step. Most of the Greeks give back to the community in a major way.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many different clubs and activities to join. The first step you have to take is learning about them and figuring out what fits you best.

    Great for these types of students

    ASU can be a great fit for any student you just have to find activities that interest you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There this wall by the student and many people call it the dummy wall

    Bang for the buck

    Your college experience if what you make of it. Make sure you get your moneys worth and do more than just go to class and sit in your dorm! They don't call it the best four years of your life for nothing!

    What to do for fun

    There's always a party going on every other day and there are many student activities put on from time to time from many different organizations. All you have to do is look around or ask around.

    Food and Dining

    We have one café and many places to choose from located in the student center. Many students go to the student center when they do not feel like having café food.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life can be good or it can be bad. It all depends on where you're staying and who your roommate/suitemates are. As of now there are nine dorms to choose from. Card hall -Male dorm. Simpson Hall-Male dorm. Abercrombie Hall-Male Dorm. Bessie Estelle - Female Dorm. Bessie Benson, MGinty apartments C.J. Dun Towers - female dorm and Facility 1 & 2 - Coed Dorms. Card hall is a suite style dorm and 4 people are in one suite. Simpson hall is not suite and also has a public bathroom for all of the males. Abercrombie Hall is a suite style Dorm and 4 people are in a suite. Bessie Benson & Bessie Estelle are suite style dorms and 4 people are in a suite. The MGinty apartments have a small living area and a very small room that you share with a roommate, but many people like it. C.J. Dunn Towers is the talent building on campus. It has 11 floors and about 400 girls in total. Its mainly a freshmen dorm. There a people to a suite and those six people share one big bathroom. Facility 1 & 2 are the nicest dorms in my opinion and they have visitation. meaning you are allowed to have visitors of the opposite sex in your dorm. the other dorms do not allow that. (Except mginty)

    Academic Rigor

    The professors here are very caring. Most of them care about your academics and they want you to succeed. Make sure you always make a goof first impression because they can take you a long way. Always be respectful of your staff/professors because you never know when you will need a letter of recommendation. Academics here at Alabama State are not extremely challenging, but you should always stay on top of your academics. If you study for your tests and do all the things your professor tells you then you are guaranteed an A in the course.

    Tips for prospective students

    I have many tips for future students coming to this University in the near future. It is very imperative to have your financial aid in order, if not then you will become very stressed. It is always good to have fun, but do not forget that your main goal is to earn a degree. Make sure you attend all of your classes and that you are on time. Make sure that you surround yourself with the right crowd, because you are who you associate yourself with. There are many resources on campus such as the career center, the library, and much more. Be familiar of all of them because they will help you out, a lot.

    In three sentences

    Alabama State University is a growing institution. It is on the rise to becoming something great. There are many pros and cons about this university, but there will always be room for growth.

  • 11/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    62 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    ASU has many greek organizations. They contribute to all of the events on campus which are fun and enthusiastic.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am an Alabama State University cheerleader which in my opinion is the best activity to be apart of because you get to travel across the country to different universities and learn more about their culture and how the school is ran.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of events that go on around campus, mixers,sports games, and more. There are even talent shows and forums that students may attend.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the Dinning Hall is very delicious. It is a buffet style eating with many different type of food to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    The campus and off campus dorms at ASU are very comfortable, affordable, and most of all safe.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically, ASU is known with a wide range of having phenomenal progress in all of its departments.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always have a positive attitude at Alabama State. Most importantly get involved and be apart of organizations to better your student body.

    In three sentences

    ASU is an amazing school, where students of different cultures learn and have fun with one another. Alabama State is greatly know for its championships in sports ,and also for its extravagant theater department. Most of all State is a wonderful place to come and get an education, because the teachers are very helpful.

  • 11/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    63 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security seems to be very tight. There are always officers patrolling the area. During the evening the auxiliary campus gates are closed and you must present a student ID to get on particular parts of campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One unusual location I have noticed as a transfer student to Alabama State University is the individual student study rooms located throughout the library. Like clockwork, around noon, students flood the rooms to take naps. I do not know if the students are trying to relive kindergarten, slackers, or just mentally overwhelmed by the course workload and are taking a well deserved nap. In any case, I will be joining them come Tuesday.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on in the quad. Giveaways, live music, interest meetings, and poetry on the steps are my favorites. The student union also has pool tables,ping-pong, big screen televisions, and a lot of lounging space to just hang with friends.

    Food and Dining

    I am a commuter. During my commute I usually pick up breakfast or lunch, but the few times i have eaten on campus have not been awful. there are three shops to purchase food outside of the cafeteria, two of which are locally based in Montgomery and the other is Subway. The prices for the servings are great especially for a college student on a budget.

    Dorm Life

    I cannot honestly speak on dorm life since I do not stay on campus, but the school has recently constructed two new facilities that look lovely.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes at Alabama State are not particularly hard, but I would not say that the instructors are easy either. Staying focus and taking time out for studying can make the toughest course on campus seem like a cake walk. In the case that you do need a little extra help there are labs for each subject at your disposal.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are planning to attend state I would strongly suggest you get a parking decal, because they will boot your car! Another good tip is get to know the history of the school. I take a lot more pride in my HBCU now that I know the history and what it took to become great.

    In three sentences

    On a scale from one to ten I would give Alabama State a seven. Some parts of the school seem to be run down and there is a shortage of working computers and printers. The construction of the school may be worn but the instructors seem genuine.

  • 02/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    64 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    The divine nine are all on campus. The greeks are semi-friendly and are always throwing some kind of activity on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Students whose high school was not very vigorous, and need a lower standard.

    What to do for fun

    There are parties every Thursday through Friday.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure your high school gpa and act scare are high to get an entrance scholarship.

    In three sentences

    This is a historically black institution. There is a lot of crisis going on in the administration level that is currently affecting students. The education is sub-par.

  • 03/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    65 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus shuts down everyday at 8:00 p.m. so after that you have to go threw the main checkpoint in the front of the campus to get back onto campus and you have to show your student id.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities on campus to get involved in. We have various dance teams and also various organizations that you can join.

    What to do for fun

    There are not that many things that students can go and do on campus besides go to the game room inside the student union and or if there is a event going on like a talent show, a student mixer. or a movie night in the student union theater.

    Food and Dining

    There are not many food choices on campus like other universities we have a cafeteria that's open 3 times a day. Are cafeteria is all you can eat Monday-Friday breakfast opens at 6:00 a.m. till 8:00 a.m. Lunch opens at 11:00 a.m. till 1:30 p.m. and dinner opens at 4:00 p.m. till 6:30 p.m. Saturday and Sunday the cafeteria is open twice a day Brunch opens at 6:00 a.m. till 1:30 p.m. and dinner from 4:00 p.m. till 6:30 p.m. If you don't want to eat in the cafeteria we have a student union that has a subway, chicken place, pizza place, and also a place that sells soul food. The union closes at 11:00 p.m. everyday.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life on campus is overall good. There are only two coed dorms on campus and they are facility 1 and 2 which are the newest dorms on campus. The rest of the dorms are either a all boys dorm or a all girls dorm. All dorms are air conditioned except for one boys dorm. You are not allowed to have boys in the girls dorm except for in the lobby and its the same for the boys dorms. There are no dorms on campus that have community styled bathrooms. I would say that Alabama State has a slightly different dorm life than many other universities because I would say most dorms on campus are suite style except for one so that usually means that you really don't come out of your dorm for much except for when you going to class or going to get some food so you don't often really meet a lot of people with suite style dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor at Alabama State University is fairly overall easy. Your class sizes are not big at all so you no who your teachers are and also your teachers know who you are. The teachers here are actually here to teach you and they care about your education. At many large universities you have large class sizes and the teachers don't even know your name and trust me they don't care if you are failing their class. The work here is fairly easy you just have to make sure you do it. At Alabama State all students are required to do a QEP assignment and you are mostly going to do that assignment in your biology class the assignment is a challenge but its not hard to the point where you can't get it done.

    In three sentences

    Alabama State University is overall a very good university. Its not that big so all the dorms on campus are fairly close to all your classes. Also your classes are not large at all and usually you have teachers that will know your name by your face.

  • 03/16/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    66 of 66

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    I wouldn't know just yet because I haven't attended the school just yet.

    In three sentences

    I love the history of the school. I'm from this state also, and its an affordable school for a good education.