Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Alaska Pacific University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 05/10/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Outdoor enthusiasts and naturalists.

    Tips for prospective students

    Live in the dorms! Great community atmosphere with a wonderful student support system. You will make friends for life!

    Bang for the buck

    I received good financial aid when I applied right out of high school.

    Did enjoy being here

    The univeristy is very small, which I though was great! It was very easy to make new friends and a lot less intimidating that other schools I had visited. The campus is surrounded by walking trails that double as cross-country skiing trails in the winter time.

    Did learn a lot

    Lots of hands on learning! The outdoor education classes are amazing.

  • 06/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Open minded, willing to learn things outside courses and take initiative in discussions and who learn better by doing and talking about the topic at hand.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open and expressive

    Bang for the buck

    Fairly high tuition but very much worth it, professors will answer any questions you have and advisors, teachers, staff, other students always have an open ear.

    Am enjoying being here

    Great welcoming atmosphere, friendly people. Professors always welcome questions even if they're not precisely on topic they will do their best to answer and if they cannot figure out an answer (i.e philosophical type question) students are asked and it becomes a discussion usually

    Am learning a lot

    Very open and largely discussion based courses

  • 10/13/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Bring alot of winter gear.

    Bang for the buck

    Affordable.

    Will enjoy being here

    If you like the outdoors this marvelous place filled with mountains, streams, etc.

    Will learn a lot

    Attended this school and the professors are great, they are very welcoming and good teachers.

  • 10/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    Its active learning bullshit, meaning you dont do anything but talk about how you feel

    Tips for prospective students

    DO NOT GO HERE

    In three sentences

    It is the worst experience of my life

  • 01/23/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you want to be an outdoor study major or something with biology you should defenitally check out this school. What better place to learn about these things than in Alaska.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go and check out the school and see if it is for you. I did and that was the final selling point I knew that I had to go there. They have programs for people interested in going to this school. Go to their website and check them out.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is not cheap but the education that I am receiving is worth it. I just have to try and get some scholarships and finicial aid to help pay for it. They are rated tops in their field for Marine Biology.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love it here. The scenery is just gorgeous. There are moose walking all over campus. The mountains are visible when you walk outside. The people are all very nice and helpful that work here. You can just take a tent and hike out from campus to be totally in nature and enjoy this beatufil state and all of its natural beatuy.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning a lot from this school. The small class size is excellent to receive one on one from the teacher of your class. You get help when ever you need it from them.

  • 07/19/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Adventurous, those involved in organizations, environmentally friendly, hands-on, active learners

    Tips for prospective students

    GIve it a shot! Request more info and learn what you can gain from a degree at Alaska Pacific University.

    Bang for the buck

    You definitely get what you pay for! I also went to a private school for my undergraduate degree, which is why I stuck with APU when I moved to Alaska.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is beautiful! The summers are sunny and the winters are great for snow sports.

    Am learning a lot

    So far my classes have been taught by people who have really gone far in their fields, so they have a lot of experience to draw on. Our classes tend to be discussion oriented. Group projects not only allowed me to get closer to my classmates, but to also really think things through and to draw on my own experiences and knowledge.

  • 07/26/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    APU is very outdoors oriented. Alaska can be a bland and boring place if you don't utilize the natural elements it provides such as: fishing, kayaking, rock climbing, hiking, etc. Anchorage, where APU is located, is the biggest city in Alaska. However, it's really just a tourist trap and the urban aspect gets old fast. Nature's where it's at here.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a little pricy, but the financial aid program is fantastic. If you stay comitted and constantly call, the office of admissions will do everything they can to help you. Upon receiving my first financial package I was not able to attend APU, but after expressing this to the Admissions Office, they bumped my scholarship up just enough to allow me to attend.

    Will enjoy being here

    The small campus has a homey feel and the outdoor opportunities are immense. Housing is pretty decent and the free student bus pass is really convenient to get around if you don't have your own car and you need to have a night out.

    Will learn a lot

    It appears that the professors are very knowledgeable and they are also very flexible. Class sizes are smaller which allows for more individual time and a personalized learning agenda.

  • 02/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i have never had any reason to worry here.

    Bang for the buck

    alaska is a great place to live and you will definitely see a moose :)

    What to do for fun

    snowboarding, summer sports

    Food and Dining

    there are some small coffee shops but i am not familiar with a good place to eat here.

    Dorm Life

    i have not lived in the dorms at this campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    take your studies seriously and strive to be the best at what you do. spend time and consideration to choose the career field that fits you best.

    In three sentences

    alaska pacific is a place where students get to know their professors. alaska pacific sets students up to be employable. alaska pacific students know what it means to be professional.

  • 02/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    great security around campus ensuring the safety for everyone.

    Clubs and Activities

    whether you are online or on campus, you are always welcome to join clubs and activities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    local community members utilize some of the finest corridors and rooms of apu to present to the members of anchorage.

    Bang for the buck

    join, join, join. an experience you will never forget!

    What to do for fun

    kayak, swimming, yoga, rock climbing.

    Food and Dining

    cafeteria is an awesome place to meet new people on campus and make life long friends.

    Academic Rigor

    i rate apu at 10. do your best to exceed. the sooner you put your time in completing classes, the sooner you will be done. get going, be motivated, and look forward to graduating!

    Tips for prospective students

    come and join us at apu! an awesome school with great instructors. the environment is friendly and everyone benefits being a part of apu.

    In three sentences

    a magical place to learn and get to know people from all over alaska. a campus with awesome professors who thrives to see students finish college. an experience you must seek to get the full alaska knowledge!

  • 02/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    quaint campus, removed from the city bustle.

    Greek Life

    no greek life here, thank heavens.

    Clubs and Activities

    tons of clubs and the ability to create your own is always an option! for example, the supernatural club formed last year...

    Great for these types of students

    independent, maybe shy, maybe extroverted, nice, ready for a challenge, excited about being in alaska, and loves the snow!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    slack lines set up in the forest! ski trails surrounding the school.

    Bang for the buck

    higher tuition for a higher education. i've been closer to finding myself here than i have anywhere else i could imagine.

    What to do for fun

    hiking, snowboarding, skiing, running, kayak water polo, any sport you fancy in the mosely sports center, swimming, dancing a few times per year, any musical interests can be fulfilled as well.

    Food and Dining

    i have never been on the meal plan

    Dorm Life

    i have never resided in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    especially in the hard sciences, apu has stern education policies. dependent upon the professor, of course.

    Tips for prospective students

    consider strongly whether or not you are the 'type' of person for a small school setting. social standings are not an issue at apu. everyone cares and everyone is kind, so you form a sort of family here, whether you want it or not.

    In three sentences

    tight-knit community provides a more personal education. opportunities to individualize your degree or travel abroad are endless. my professors genuinely care about my progress and what i want from life.

  • 02/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    it's right in the middle of anchorage so there are lots of places to visit and see while there. they also plan fun events and dances on campus.

    Food and Dining

    i've only eaten there once and it was good. they have nice options.

    Dorm Life

    i wouldn't know, i don't live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    the courses so far are very involved which is good

    Tips for prospective students

    know that funding can be difficult to come by at this school.

    In three sentences

    alaska pacific university is a tight-knit group of faculty and students all aimed at accomplishing the same goal; further everyone's education.

  • 02/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    trail running, soccer, yoga, kayak water polo, swimming.

    Great for these types of students

    students who are looking for a unique college experience that's not like your typical university. it's definitely more homely.

    Bang for the buck

    i like apu.

    What to do for fun

    outdoor sports, other sports, movie theatre, live music, festivals.

    Food and Dining

    i've heard mixed reviews about the food. i don't have a meal plan, but i think the food is ok.

    Dorm Life

    so far more of the people i have met are chill than not. there are options beyond the dorms after your first year. there are apartments and duplexes.

    Academic Rigor

    depending on your major, you'll get a lot of hands on experience. instructors and staff have alot to offer, but you have to know what you want and get it.

    Tips for prospective students

    visit if possible to make sure it's where you want to be. it's colder than you might expect in the winter, but you will adapt to it better than you might expect. anchorage is not urban, if you're from a city. there's things to do , but it's limited to certain interests.

    In three sentences

    apu is different, not your average school. apu is small, but has a lot to offer the right people. apu is very science and outdoor oriented.

  • 06/14/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    13 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Anchorage is big city, but not very big.

    What to do for fun

    Have a great outdoor program because this Alaska.

    Food and Dining

    I have never eaten there yet.

    Dorm Life

    I am not at the dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a older person returning or going to college I would recommend APU.

    In three sentences

    Very helpful for adults returning to school. Less students so more time with your teacher. Very affordable.

  • 10/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Got campus safety.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Im part of the dive club. It is amazing, I am a scientific diver because of APU and its for my major!!!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus woods are a great hit. Many students roam them at night.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is expensive. You wil be in debt by the time you graduate.

    What to do for fun

    Nothing really, alot of students drink and do drugs to destress from hetic school life.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining suck as well. The only thing that you can eat is the salad bar that actually taste like food instead of trash.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life sucks if you live in North or South Atwood. It was my worst experience at this school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you turn in all your paperwork before applying for classes. Make sure you got a good advisor who listens to you and points you in the right direction. Most of APU teachers are really old and old fashion, so know how to handle that.

    In three sentences

    Alaska Pacific University is a really great school. It is the only school in Anchorage that offers a marine biology program. There are many other amazing majors and even some minors that look intresting.

  • 01/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always a campus safety officer on campus and the RA's do nightly rounds to make sure there is nothing wrong in the residential areas.

    Greek Life

    There are no fraternities and sororities on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is always something going on. There are trips every weekend and lots of activities. You are never board.

    Great for these types of students

    People who love the outdoors and snow.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a little pricey but I think you get what you are paying for. The classes are great and you can take classes here that you would never get to take somewhere else (i.e. Dog Mushing).

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot to do for fun. You can rent games, movies and sleds from the student rec room. The outdoor programs offers bikes, skis, snowshoes and many other kinds of equipment for outdoor adventures. You can walk 5 mins to University Lake and ice skate or spend some time at the dog park. There is a lot to do and there are many people willing to do fun activities with you.

    Food and Dining

    The food services is not run by a big cooperation. Students work in the kitchen so you know everyone who is fixing your food, and you can even suggest meals for upcoming days. The food is of really good quality too.

    Dorm Life

    I live in the dorms and I love it. The dorms may be older but you build a close knit community. I know everyone who lives in the dorms and we have lots of movie and game nights.

    Academic Rigor

    APU is based on active learning, which means the classes are required to engage you. The teachers are very knowledgeable in their fields, which means they can be a little intimidating at first but they are willing to help and answer questions.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up early for a class you need to graduate or you really want to take. Don't be afraid to talk to teachers or other students; talking to other people on campus is how you find out about events and new classes.

    In three sentences

    It is a great school. The classes are small and challenge you to think in new ways. Everyone, both teacher and students, are extremely kind and helpful.

  • 05/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    On top of it and keeping us bear aware.

    Greek Life

    Kappa Delta Pi

    What to do for fun

    Anchorage is nestled up against the Chugach Mountains which offer plenty of hiking, skiing, snowboarding activities.

    Food and Dining

    From Carnivore to Herbivore, they've got you covered!

    Academic Rigor

    Amazing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your advisor, they can be your lifeboat!

    In three sentences

    The best opportunity for emerging leaders to learn.

  • 05/18/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Running

    Great for these types of students

    Liberal students

    What to do for fun

    Anything outdoors. Sports. Lots of Running club.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask a lot of questions about tuition and housing

    In three sentences

    Alaska Pacific University has friendly staff. They are a very small campus so it's more close knit. They are very expensive

  • 12/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    awesome college for older students

    In three sentences

    great student support

  • 03/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very!

    Greek Life

    Not any

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm a workaholic.

    Great for these types of students

    You really want to master the material rather than just pass a course.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    4 0f the 14 2014 USA Olympic Cross Country Ski Team are from APU!

    Bang for the buck

    They just dropped the tuition significantly. It costs about the same as UAA but APU is a much richer experience.

    What to do for fun

    learn how to cross country ski. Go to one of the dinner party murder mysteries - great fun!

    Food and Dining

    Pretty good for an institution

    Dorm Life

    Never lived in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Follow directions, do what is asked, and turn it in on times.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in the school and community events.

    In three sentences

    The active learning component makes it way more fun. The small class size is great. Wonderful people who will work with you to succeed.

  • 04/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Alaska is full of amazing things to do. Ice climbing, skiing, and kayaking are just some of my favorite things but there is a place for everyone.

    Food and Dining

    The Cafeteria really does try but there are only about fifty people on the meal plan so its hard for them to make ends meet.

    Dorm Life

    There is a lot of space and the dorm director is reasonable, but housing on campus is really expensive and the freshman dorms are old.

    Academic Rigor

    Like I said, the professors are there for you, to challenge you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be ready for a small campus, we're not a real party school, but if you engage with others you can learn a lot.

    In three sentences

    The best school I have ever been to. The professors are there for the students and students are there because they love it. Everyone is really reasonable and there is nowhere else I would rather be.