Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Albany Technical College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who love to learn and get things done.

    Tips for prospective students

    When it comes to going to college always come with a open mind and a passion for learning new things, trust me you will learn a lot that will help to be successful in your career.

    Bang for the buck

    I don't know about the other students at ATC, but the main things I see wrong with this school is the cost to attend. I feel the price should go down.

    Am enjoying being here

    College feels a lot better than high school because I'm doing what I love and not going to a bunch of classes that makes me fall asleep. Albany Technical is not like other colleges were you have to do your core classes first then get into your major, you do what you love day one when you step into the classroom!

    Am learning a lot

    I love Albany Technical because of all the hands on work I get to do. Hands on is the best because it helps me to retain all the information I learn and it helps a lot on test and quizzes. My teachers are very helpful and will break things down if you don't get it.

  • 12/10/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Invest you educational funds else where!

    Tips for prospective students

    GO SOME WHERE ELSE unless you need a lot of remedial classes. I unfortunately I have seen non readers and just plain ole' did not belong in college students survive classes here. This is something that I did not know. If so I would have not came to ATC! I just wanted to get a GOOD DEAL, on my education. Well you get what you pay for. I did however have some great instructors Dr. Itoe Valentine BUS MGMT & Frederia Sampson ENG. Other than that I really did not like the instructors. I simply felt like they did not teach. I value every dollar I pore into my education so the play around instructors I did not like them.

    Bang for the buck

    At first the price was good I was getting an education for 45.00 a credit hour. When the system switched to semesters the tuition went up to almost 80.00 per credit plus the high fees.

    Am enjoying being here

    Not really this school is really weird and setup like a middle school. The school serves food however the food is cooked almost two buildings away. SO THE FOOD IS COLD. Socially F- Their is nothing to do! As I said earlier go to ASU or Darton if you want something to do. No fitness activity's no student recreation at all but I get charged a activity fee....

    Am learning a lot

    ATC is a rip-off! I graduated in Summer of 11' and I have still not received my degree no one on campus has. The excuse from Ms. Culpapper the registrar is we have not received the printing paper yet. I have been given five different dates, to pick up my degree none of them where valid! I have let ATC know that I have contacted an attorney. Then I was told yet another date. I was also told that the winter graduates may not have their degrees, printed either. Try ASU or Darton! Don't waist your time at this school no one really wants to take their credits anyway. Unless you graduate from here and that's just some schools.

  • 12/10/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Am learning a lot

    Not at all!

  • 12/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    safety is here and there, they have security, but i never really see them unless they are up front.

    Bang for the buck

    i think sum of the cost is to much for programs.

    What to do for fun

    theres a basketball team, and they have many activities on campus for students.

    Food and Dining

    fodd is great for cheap price,with in college kitchen.

    Dorm Life

    i dont live in dorm

    Academic Rigor

    i enjoied most of my classes being that i am a health major. Just a lot of hard rememberance.

    Tips for prospective students

    cover all bases or forms of payment. Keep up with your own records. Make sure you cover any problems with teachers they will help.

    In three sentences

    not to many different payment options. Very helpful with school work. Teacher are very hands on with students.

  • 12/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 10

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Nothing really

    Food and Dining

    It is ok , but need better menus and food to eat /

    Dorm Life

    None

    Academic Rigor

    OK i guess .

    Tips for prospective students

    Be Prepared. Pay attention in class. Do your own work.

    In three sentences

    It is a small college . A great experience . A friendly enviornment.

  • 05/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I would rate security as a five.

    Food and Dining

    The staff in the dining hall is always friendly and professional. The service that I received was good. The was hot, well prepared and tasty.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at Albany Technical College.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Take your work serious. 2. Always be on time to all classes. 3. Always consult your instructor when you don't understand your work. 4. Last always be a team player.

    In three sentences

    Albany Technical College have an excellent Early Childhood program. The instructors go all out to teach the students and to make sure that they understand the material. I would strongly recommend this program to others.

  • 05/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 10

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    It is one of the best schools around. The staff is always friendly and caring and it just makes the process smoother. The advisors are excellent as well and even call sometimes to check on you.

  • 05/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always a police on campus when needed.

    Greek Life

    We really dont have this at the school but I would be interesting if we did.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many things such as cheerleading and basketball activities to participate in.

    Great for these types of students

    The school is great for students who sometimes need things a little more simpler than what the books gives you. The teacher will break subjects down to where anyone and everyone can understand the concept.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school cafeteria is one of the best places to hang out and enjoy lunch.

    What to do for fun

    I go to school functions such as the spring Fling and just mingle and get to know more students.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria prices are very reasonable considering most of the studies are living on a budget.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes that where difficult for me to pass and understand at other colleges, were more understandable at ATC.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be patient and open-minded. Come to school with the intentions of learning and not hanging out or just receiving a school check.

    In three sentences

    It is a great enviroment. The teachers are always willing and available for you if you need help. I feel safe at school because of the secruity that the school provides.

  • 12/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 10

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I would say hanging out and the cafe would count as fun at this college. Of course you can attend basketball games and the different activities the college may have.

    Food and Dining

    Albany Technical College has a wonderful cafe with great food at affordable prices. The cafe atmosphere makes you feel as if your in a restaurant hanging out with friends.

    Dorm Life

    This college does not have dorms just yet.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is like most colleges. You have to stay above a 2.0 in most majors, some may require staying above a 3.0. The classes can be hard but nothing that you cannot complete. The teachers are caring and compassionate so they make things much easier.

    Tips for prospective students

    One bug tip is to know what you want to do and stick with it. Things are not going to be easy but the reward of a degree will be more than the hard work you will but in to reach success.

    In three sentences

    Albany Technical College is a wonderful college because of their care for the students! This is most important because you have to care about the people in which you are trying to help to be able to have their best interest at heart.

  • 04/02/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are on-site Security and Police officers to ensure the campus safety.

    Greek Life

    NA; I do not think Greek life is an option at ATC at this point.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am a member of the E club, which is for Engineering majors. i am sure there are other options, however, I have not explored any at this point.

    Great for these types of students

    High School Students; Students who are unsure about attending college; Students who are afraid to go away to school initially

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    NA; I have none to share.

    Bang for the buck

    Great Opportunity for High School students through the ACCEL or Joint Enrollment Program.

    What to do for fun

    Sports teams or cheering available.

    Food and Dining

    Excellent on campus food choices. Reasonably priced!

    Dorm Life

    NA, I do not live in the dorms. Not even sure if Dorms are an option.

    Academic Rigor

    I find my classes challenging enough, and I have learned a great deal during my 2 and 1/2 terms attending here. I find the teachers helpful and willing to go above and beyond to ensure their students success

    Tips for prospective students

    Good place to begin your college tenure, especially if you are unsure of whether you want to attend a 2 or 4 year school. Good place to decide what you want to major in as your take your Foundation courses.

    In three sentences

    Great Technical college with good atmosphere for learning. ATC offers many opportunities for those wishing to get a collegiate foundation. I am using this as a stepping stone to build upon as I seek to get my 4 year degree.