Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Albion College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/06/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who like smaller schools with smaller classes and more personal attention. Students who want a great education.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on going to Albion, visit the school. You have to be a small school person, because it is very small, but that's what I love about it. You also have to be willing to put in a lot of hard work because it is a very academic school, but if you are willing to put in the work you will find that it's not bad and the fun you have, the friends you make and the education you receive will be well worth it.

    Bang for the buck

    It is an expensive school because it is private but because it is private they are able to give out a lot more scholarships which make it almost the same as a public school. It's also good if your from out of state because its the same cost as instate tuition. The education and personal attention, not to mention fun, you're getting makes the price worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    I loved being at Albion so far. Everyone is really friendly, it's a lot of fun. There are a ton of free activities put on by the Union Board. It is a small campus but it doesn't mean you can't have fun.

    Am learning a lot

    I'll be a sophomore for the 2009-2010 school year. The classes I took last year were mainly the basic classes for starting your science major and I felt like I was learning a lot and it was challenging but manageable.

  • 07/22/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    For those students who want a small college where there will be a lot of students and staff who you will become very close with. Albion is a family, not just a college teaching kids. It's a great school for students going into Business Management. They have a rigorous program to help you achieve. And one of the bigger degrees being sought at is biology and biological studies. It's one of the toughest departments in the Albion. However, Albion College does have a Honors Program that give student smore opportunities as well as other institues to look into.

    Tips for prospective students

    After completing my first semester at Albion I wasnt' really prepared for what it was really like. I mean i knew it was away from home and that i would be on my own but i never knew what it felt like until my parents left after move-in day. I did well in high school and was surprised by how hard to classes were. Albion's standards are a lot higher then most schools and they expect you to achieve it. It's a wonderful opportunity and it will help you with all your future endeavors.

    Bang for the buck

    Being on the most prestigeous schools in MIchigan i consder my education worth what i have been paying for. In most classes i am one of twenty kids and the attention and level of difficulty of classes was hard and still is. However, every profesor pushes you to strive for your personal best and I think it's worth it. 100%!

    Am enjoying being here

    After adjusting to dorm life and being away from home, I love it. The campus is beautiful, during any season, and the people are incredible. I have meet people from all over the United States and it's amazing how close I have gotten to some people. I couldn't ask for more!

    Am learning a lot

    Albion isn't like any other school I have visited. Some of my friends go to big public schools and aren't getting attention from staff or anything else. At Albion I can talk to any and all of my teachers. Whether it's to discuss a grade or to gain more information my professors are always available to me and I couldn't have been learning more.

  • 01/01/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are looking for a one-on-one college experience; ones who will enjoy a small, personal campus and who will want to form lasting bonds with the students, professors, and college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go on a personal tour around campus. The tour guide can cater to your interests; for example, if you think you will be interested in the honors institute, they can take you to the observatory, where many of the honors classes are held. Also, overnight visits are great. The overnight host can answer any questions that you might not think of on a tour and you will get honest answers back.

    Bang for the buck

    The main downfall of many small, private colleges is the cost. At Albion, however, they realize this and give you many opportunities for scholarships. There are academic scholarships that everyone receives depending on GPA in college etc. Personally, I had a 4.0 in high school and I received $17,000 in academic scholarships. With only this scholarship (not including any other personal or need-based scholarships), the Albion experience has a lot of bang for the buck. The quality of the education there and the many opportunities on campus overshadow any negative aspects of the college.

    Am enjoying being here

    Besides the academic success, there are so many ways to get involved at Albion. This is probably one of the main things that Albion is known for; students there are well-known for being over scheduled because of all of the activities available. There are many different organizations that cover many topics. From volunteer groups like Habitat for Humanity, to diversity groups, there is a club (or two!) for everyone at Albion. There is also great school spirit at Albion. Since the population size is close to 2,000, everyone gets very close on campus. Knowing so much of the population helps everyone feel comfortable and at home on our small campus!

    Am learning a lot

    The amount of information presented to you in one semester at Albion is significantly more than I expected coming into college. The great thing about this Albion, however, is that the quality of information is excellent. Because of the one-on-one attention given to each student, when someone has questions, teachers do not hesitate to help you understand things. At Albion, no one has to worry about not being taught sufficiently, all of the teachers I have encountered have personally taken an interest in their students and have wanted everyone to exceed, rather than bigger schools where a teacher does not even know their student's names.

  • 10/12/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This is definitely a smaller college, so if you're interested in going to a large college in a big city, Albion college may not be for you. However, there is still a lot to do on this campus, from Union Board hosting comedians and entertainment nearly every weekend and speakers coming in almost every week. This college has a very community-type feel to it, so if you would like to go to a college where you have a good relationship with your professors and know your fellow students, then this is the place for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to join clubs, IM sports teams, Umbrella groups, or Varsity sports teams; those are the best ways to make friends. Make sure to go to Union Board events and the speakers the college presents. For incoming freshmen: make sure to bring a fan, but a microwave or dishes aren't really necessary. Don't be afraid to ask your academic advisers if you have questions about classes or registering.

    Bang for the buck

    Though the price may be initially daunting, do not let that stop you from applying to Albion. Scholarships are awarded to nearly every student based on academic ability or financial aid, and these scholarships are probably larger then the scholarships you may receive from a bigger school. And all Varsity sports teams, IM sports teams, football games, Union Board events, speakers, and clubs are totally free. Tutoring or private help in the Academic Skills Centers are also free.

    Am enjoying being here

    Though this college is small, there is always something to do. Free Union Board Events, shuttles to Ann Arbor and Lansing, clubs, speakers and comedians; you get all the entertainment of a larger college with the feel of a smaller one. Making friends is easy as you get to know the other students in your classes well, and clubs help you meet people with similar interests.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are very small, which means you get individual attention from the professors. Discussion and questions are encouraged, and because of the smaller amount of students, your questions will be answered. There is no chance of being lost in the crowd here. And you get one-on-one help with advising; your First Year Seminar teacher will also be your first academic advisor, so you'll know the professor who will be guiding you through your freshmen year of college. And the Academic Skills Center is available if you are ever struggling in classes.

  • 12/25/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are into small campuses and small class sizes, then Albion is the school for you. with classes being so small you are able to communicate with your professors better. You are able to get along with your graduating class better and also able to make new friends all over the campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out the school first. See if you like the feel of the school. Follow a student around. You can get a better understanding of the school if you come and visit.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost of tuition is way worth it. Once you fill out the FASFA though your tuition may not cost a lot at all. the tuition that you are paying is well worth it. you are paying for a good education.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being here. The campus is so much fun and exciting. Even though the campus is small, they always have something fun planned for Albion students. They sometimes plan bowling events, the students get to go to a certain theater not far from the school for free, sometimes we have comedians come to entertain us, and if you are in a club then they plan things for you, too.

    Am learning a lot

    This school is a great school academically. The professors here really try to make their lessons easy for you to understand so that you can learn more. Certain subjects that I couldn't do well in high school before, I am now able to understand the subjects more clearly. For example, biology was my hardest subject. But when I got to Albion, the subject was more clear and I was able to understand the material better.

  • 12/29/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are not trying to be too competitive with other students in school, who want to learn but still want to have fun and not have either control their life. Students who want to have the college experience but also get career experience for their future job.

    Tips for prospective students

    Albion loves well rounded students. A GPA is not the only thing the school looks for. Make sure you have something such as sports, volunteer work or extracurriculars. Come for a few visits, during different seasons to see the weather and get to know some students when you come. The people make the college. The college may be perfect for you, but you need to be able to connect with the students and teachers.

    Bang for the buck

    Albion is very expensive. Thankfully, you can get a scholarship to help pay. You will be getting a good education for what you pay for.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being at Albion. There are a lot of free events, such as comedians, fairs and food carnivals that are put on. There is a great gym and the frats are a lot of fun on the weekends. Greek life is very big at Albion as well

    Am learning a lot

    I have not learned a lot thus far just because I took a lot of AP classes in high school that I had to re-do this year. The work load is manageable. I am not just re-learning what I learned in high school, I am going more in depth which is good. I am sure I will be learning a lot more as the years go by.

  • 01/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you enjoy a small, close-knit school and classroom, you'll love it at Albion. The professors care personally and are there to help you, and they teach themselves--not using Teacher's Assistants. You'll also make so many wonderful friendships and meet people very similar to you, but also very different from you. It's wonderful.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you aren't sure what type of student you are (prefer a big or small campus, large or small class size, etc.) as I was, make sure you visit the schools you're considering. I ended up winding down to two schools and visited both of them before deciding Albion was the place for me. It's small campus and kind, caring students and staff won me over, along with the small classes and personal attention from professors. But for some, that isn't the ideal learning environment, so make sure you decide what's best for you before choosing a school.

    Bang for the buck

    Money is tight, especially nowadays. Most everyone knows the feeling of struggling with money. Although the price of tuition and fees is rather exuberant, Albion does offer numerous scholarships to compensate. If you do well in high school, they reward you for that. You can also apply for so many other scholarships that money shouldn't be a huge issue.

    Am enjoying being here

    I feel at home when I'm at Albion. I have made so many wonderful friends and there is such a calm, friendly atmosphere on the campus. The Union Board offers a lot of different activities for free and I've enjoyed all of the activities I've attended. Besides that, spending time just getting to know my new friends has been some of the most fun times I've had. I love it here!

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned more in one semester at Albion College than a year or more in high school. As long as you're willing to put in the work, the professors and staff are willing to put in the time to help you. Any time I had a question in class, the professor was more than willing to explain it until I understood. They also make learning fun and interesting, unlike sitting in a class and listening to lectures. Although some classes are lecture-styled, I have not had a single class that was strictly lecture. All of my professors have included fun aspects and interesting ways to learn the material.

  • 08/12/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you come from a small community or a small high school and enjoy the small town life, this college is for you. If you want to take a course where the professor knows your name and you are more than just a number, Albion is a great choice. If you want an awesome education and opportunities to make a name for yourself while on campus, I recommend Albion College.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to get involved in the groups and organizations on campus. Trust me when I write that there is a club for everyone. The groups I joined not only helped me to make new friends and get to know others on campus, but also gave me volunteer experience and many leadership opportunities as a freshman. Also, get to know the people in your dorm hall and those who live around you. I came to the college not knowing any incoming freshman, but by the end of the year the people in my hall were some of the best friends I could ask for. Don't be afraid to ask professors here for help on a topic; though some of them seem mean during lecture, they are actually really kind and thoughtful and they're more than willing to help you.

    Bang for the buck

    The courses and professors are amazing. Our gym (The Dow) is has every piece of equipment one could want to use, including a pool and indoor track. We have a nature center that's perfect for relaxing walks and a very nice updated science center that is a great study spot if you ever want to study outside of your dorm. The free events are more than I expected and add a nice touch to the college experience as well. Any complaints that students may have are taken into consideration by the college and the college works to improve the campus to create the best experience possible.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus community is really nice and small; chances are that you will know about half the campus by the end of your first year. The atmosphere is relaxed, but studious at the same time. However, I can usually find something to do to occupy my down time. Albion college has an organization called U-Board that schedules weekend events such as Tiger baseball games, bowling nights, comedians, and Cedar Point trips that are free for any attending student. My friends and I often attend these events and have a great time in doing so. I am very happy with my choice of college and couldn't imagine attending college anywhere else.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors here make sure to attend to the needs of students and will often ask at the end of a lecture if everyone understands the material. They make sure to give us the resources needed to ensure our success in the course. Many of the professors will even schedule as many one-on-one meetings as needed to help a student understand what is being lectured.

  • 03/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there's nothing too extravagent about them, but they keep things under control and campus while also understanding that college kids just want to have fun :]

    Greek Life

    i'm not greek, but about 50% of campus is. it's a big thing on campus, but you don't have to be greek to be cool or accepted by everyone else.

    Clubs and Activities

    they have just as many clubs on campus as the average big leauge school.

    Great for these types of students

    pre-med or science, business, education, athletic training, and art students. also offers a lot of other great majors and programs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    albion is full of traditions like painting the rock, festival of the forks, and the io triumphe!

    Bang for the buck

    they offer great scholarships, and alumni are always coming on campus to recruit and offer advice and mentoring.

    What to do for fun

    participate in the union board activities (comedians, trips, ect), go to the bogar theatre for free movies, hit up the dow for im sports, or go to sporting events.

    Food and Dining

    they have really made an effort to improve meal nutrition and variety.

    Dorm Life

    nothing fancy, but certainly does the job. ra's are all great.

    Academic Rigor

    classes can be difficult, but the professors are always there for you if you are falling behind.

    Tips for prospective students

    visit campus and see it for yourself. (take a tour too!)

    In three sentences

    albion college is a small school that offers it's students great opportunities. it's campus life is nothing compared to a lot of much larger schools, but there's definitely enough going on to keep you busy. the faculty and staff are great through, and they all help you work toward achieving success.

  • 06/15/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school provides rides for everywhere anyone wants to go. The security is great and so kind. Anyone would feel safe here.

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive, but for the top rated college in Michigan it is well worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Albion the city is very small. So there isn't much to do, however, Albion has many planned events that are all free. And there are large cities near by.

    Food and Dining

    OH MY GOSH! Freshman 15 here I come, the food is so amazing you don't want to stop eating. Albion does provide a very healthy menu, I was shocked.

    Dorm Life

    I personally haven't seen the dorms. However, I have seen the virtual tour, they are huge! The only down side is it's a public restroom.

    Academic Rigor

    On the day I picked out classes I already received homework, as did every other freshman. I really liked it though, all of the incoming students will have one thing that is the same.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be shy everyone has been were you are. Talk to everyone, you never know where your new best friend is. Always put your best foot forward.

    In three sentences

    It is so beautiful. Everyone is super friendly and helpful. I would give the school 6 out of 5 stars.

  • 08/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is pretty helpful if you don feel like walking somewhere they will take you. If you call them for something they can tell you who to talk to.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs to do at Albion i'm sure you can find one that fits your needs. If you don't you can always get some people together and start your own.

    Great for these types of students

    If you like small towns and smaller schools, Albion is the place for you. You can get to know your teachers names and they will know you by your name instead of a number.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The only traditions i can think of right now is painting the rock and the school chant, but will learn more about that when you get here.

    Bang for the buck

    Albion my cost a bit of money but its all worth it. The college has so many opportunities for you and with the Albion advantage plan in place it will always be worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    At Albion there is always events going on the are entertaining so you can aways go to those. You can also go to the Gym if you like to work out or like to plays sports. You can rent a bike and ride around town, or if you have a car you can go to the surrounding cities to hang out. There is also a theater close by that Albion students can go to for free.

    Food and Dining

    The food is OK at times, but i will admit it is not the best. After a while you will actually grow to like or at least be OK with the food. It gets better. If you get tired of the food Albion has a place called the Eat Shop that has pretty good food.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is great. All the freshman stay in one dorm which helps you get to know everyone and meet more people. Although there isn't much to do in the town of Albion, being close to everyone keeps you from getting bored.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not very hard but not to easy either. If you do find some of the classes challenging than you can always talk to your teachers and they will be more than welling to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are not a big city person and are looking to attend a smaller school, Albion is the place for you. I believe that everyone who is thinking of attending should visit the college first to get a better feel of the college life in order to be sure that Albion is right for you.

    In three sentences

    Albion has become my dream school. I could not think of going somewhere else. I think everyone who likes smaller schools should think about going to Albion.

  • 12/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    If it is after dark and a student would like to get somewhere but does not feel safe walking. campus safety will escort them anywhere on campus. They are very helpful.

    Greek Life

    Greek life was the best discussion I made at Albion thus far. It helps you meet new people and makes you feel a part of something. The Greek life is very involved in the community. For example, Greek members mentor the students at the local elementary school.

    Clubs and Activities

    If there isn't a club that you want to be a part of... then start it yourself! Totally possible

    What to do for fun

    Greek life is huge at Albion College. Majority of the campus is greek and i love it. The Greek community is very close and they all help and support each other to raise money for each fraternity or sorority's philanthropy event and/or charity that they support. There are competitions and awards for competing houses and it is always a lot of fun. There are also mixers between sororities and fraternities that help expand social groups and help students meet new people.

    Food and Dining

    There is one cafeteria called Baldwin and it could be better. There are usually various options but it seems as though sometimes they forget to feed us, especially on the weekends.

    Dorm Life

    I loved how freshman year because all the first year students live under one roof. By the second year you are already allowed to pick where you want to live, with whom you would like to live, and in which room you could like to live. A lot of choices!

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging but prepare you well for whatever you may choose to do after Albion College.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prepare yourself. Albion College challenges you but it is only for the better. The teachers there really care about their students and help them excel.

    In three sentences

    Albion is a great place to go and focus on your studies. There are minimal distractions here, providing it with the perfect work environment. Albion College has a very tight knit community.

  • 01/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They will drive you around campus if you need it. They are always making sure people are being safe. But they like to give out parking tickets, so be aware of where you park.

    Clubs and Activities

    All of the regular sports teams: cross country, volleyball, basketball, football, soccer, lacrosse, swimming, track and field, baseball... Clubs: sororities, fraternities, choir, band, religious groups...

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want a small campus and are really focused on education, as well as some fun. Most students are involved in sports, or other clubs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Our chant is the Io Triumphe. Good luck trying to figure it out.

    Bang for the buck

    Very expensive to go here. There are ways to take advantage of it though, with lots of giveaways and activities. But the education is worth it, although maybe not the dorms and food.

    What to do for fun

    The Union Board provides free activities to students on most weekends. There are a few comedians that come throughout the semester. Lots of student group activities, like choir. There are free shuttles on the weekend to the movie theater and shopping in Grand Rapids. Along with the free shuttle to the movie theater, you also get to see the movies for free.

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't actually that bad. There is always the Eat Shop, but it takes a long time to get food. Baldwin is actually getting remodeled soon, so it will be even better than it is now.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are just alright. Everybody has to live on campus, but you can live in apartments on campus once you are an upper classmen. But we don't go to school for the dorms do we?

    Academic Rigor

    There are high expectations for the students. But the professors don't make class boring, and they are always willing to help you out.

    In three sentences

    The campus is very beautiful and modern while still retaining it's original beauty. The professors are great, always willing to help you do the best that you can do. The Union Board plans lots of free activities for students, which is really great!

  • 06/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is available 24/7. There is always a car driving around and rides to different places on or off campus are available as well.

    Greek Life

    About 49% of campus is involved in Greek Life. The main focus of each sorority/fraternity is phalanthropy.

    Clubs and Activities

    With over 100 clubs and activities on campus, there is no reason any student should ever be bored!

    What to do for fun

    Although Albion is a small community, it is filled with family owned restraunts and stores that are fun to visit. Also local cities are within a twenty minute drive that include movie theaters and malls.

    Academic Rigor

    Albion College surely keeps you on your toes academic wise, but it will pay off in the long run.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit campus, the most important part about selecting a college is having that feeling that you will fit in and can see yourself attending that college or university.

    In three sentences

    The small sized classes and close knit campus is perfect for anyone looking for one-on-one attention in college. You will often hear people refer to Albion as a family. The professors are willing to put the time in outside of the classroom to help you succeed if you are willing to work hard as well.

  • 11/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The Pre-Med program is awesome. Also there is a really good program for Business and Accounting students. I would also strongly recommend Albion to anyone looking for a small school because it is the perfect size.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not come in to Albion thinking you can skate through. The classes are tough and you will have to work even if you didn't in high school. Also don't be afraid to just start talking to people. Everyone on campus is really friendly and helpful. I would also strongly recommend the Greek system. It is really large on campus and is a great way to get involved and meet a ton of people.

    Bang for the buck

    Albion is expensive. However, it is really worth it. The school is really helpful with working out scholarships and payment plans. Also the level of education and how much I love being on campus is wholly worth the money I am spending.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the community in Albion. The school is small so if you are looking for a bigger class size Albion definitely is not for you. The small class size is a benefit though. Everyone on campus is really friendly and it is easier to get more out of classes when there aren't 500 people in one room with one professor. There is always something fun going on too. There are a lot of groups to become involved with. Really there is something for everyone.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes at Albion are challenging but not burdensome. I enjoy all of my classes and my professors are very helpful. After just a year and a half at Albion I gave grown so much academically. You must be willing to put a lot of work into your courses though, otherwise it isn't really worth it.

  • 11/28/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    16 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Studious, happy, ready to learn!

    Tips for prospective students

    Well, I was just accepted and I would just say to study hard and really focus on those essays!

    Bang for the buck

    They have an awesome scholarship program! My cousin competed for a full ride!

    Will enjoy being here

    I got to sign my name on the rock and even talked to a few students that went there. It definitely seemed like a lively (yet studious) atmosphere! You will probably spend a lot of time studying if you come to this school!

    Will learn a lot

    I think that Albion is a great school with a staff that seems to be really into the students.

  • 12/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Albion College is a college where the teachers really push to expand your mind academically and socially. The people here are friendly but when challenged, are ready to defend their options with prior knowledge and/or research.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are a prospective students planning to attend a college, make sure you do your research open that college's campus. Attend an over night stay to really observe the teachers and the students. In addition, do research online about the school reputation and the their academics compared to your other choices.

    Bang for the buck

    Albion College is worth being here, and is worthy every penny. Good colleges are hard to find, but when you finally found that school, it can truly change your life.

    Am enjoying being here

    Activities at Albion College are endless. Every week there is something new to participant in. The organizations are always coming up with new ideas to keep Albion students on their toes.

    Am learning a lot

    Albion College as really opened my mind to new possibilities in life. Albion is one on those colleges that is not afraid to push their students to excellency. I am really happy with my decision.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i always feel safe

    Greek Life

    a lot of frats since guys can live off campus. also, a lot of sorority girls.

    Clubs and Activities

    it is really easy to become involved in organizations at albion. it is also easy to start them if you have the student support. some clubs are just for fun like the geologu club, eco club, karate club, college radio, and others like the student senate are more serious.

    Great for these types of students

    like the outdoors

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there is a rock in the middle of campus that groups paint to advertise.

    What to do for fun

    walks in the whitehouse nature center, canoeing, swimming at the dow, union board events, cascarelli's bar and restuarant, gina's pizza, little red lunch box cafe (great home cooking and prices), frisbee golf, tubing down the kalamazoo, and volunteer for organizations like the student farm.

    Food and Dining

    bon appetit is a new catering service for albion college but has been a great addition. they try to buy local organic produce and also natural beef and chickens. it is a lot better than the old menu of fried everything. as a vegetarian i can find something to eat there everyday

    Academic Rigor

    albion is best for science majors, comm, pre law, and pre med

    Tips for prospective students

    come to albion with a pretty good idea of what you want to go in. or make sure when you're taking your first classes to have them cover needed credits

    In three sentences

    albion college is a great place for you if you want to get involved in or be a leader of one of its many organizations. the smaller class room size allows you to get to know your professors personally which then can lead to research opportunities. albion college is very hands on, not only will you learn in the class many teachers will try to show examples out of the classroom.

  • 03/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety can be frustrating some times but overall, they do a good job.

    Greek Life

    There are a lot of students on campus involved in Greek Life.

    Bang for the buck

    The classes are great but in my opinion the appearance of the buildings on the inside and the customer service, or helping the students find answers to any questions, is not that great for a school that costs $44000 a year.

    What to do for fun

    There are things going on around campus most of the time. However, when there is not an event goes on, there is really that much too do.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is horrible.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorms have really thin walls so its very easy to hear whats going on around you and that can make it hard to study. It can also be very irritating at night if you want to sleep and people are out and about.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are really good and the classes are challenging. You learn a lot from the professors and take out as much as you put in.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advise prospective students to do an overnight visit to get a feel of what the school is like. Also, I would advise asking any questions that you may have.

    In three sentences

    The classes are great and the professors know the material. However, the some of the departments on campus that oversee life outside of class are not great.

  • 04/02/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    20 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek life place a large role on Albion's Campus. There is not much to the town of Albion and Greek life provides the social setting for philanthropy events, volunteering activities or gatherings with other members of the Greek community.

    Clubs and Activities

    lots to get involved in.

    Great for these types of students

    The over- achiever types, the head of your class student council types. People that are willing to sit in the front of the class room and ask questions.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a private school, so it's expensive. However, your education is an investment and a tool to better yourself. With that being said why wouldn't you invest in an experience where you will receive a superb education?

    What to do for fun

    Get involved. Going to a small school allows you to fill your week up with clubs, sports, volunteer opportunities and Greek events.

    Food and Dining

    It could be better and last that I heard it was improving.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is small no matter where you go. Good thing about the small rooms at Albion? It forces you to meet all sorts of people, just one of the great experiences of college.

    Academic Rigor

    Albion has the resources for you to excel. As a Albion student you are given academic opportunities and responsibilities that other students at a state college would not receive until there upper level course work.

    Tips for prospective students

    You are not a student number at Albion. If you are wanting to get lost in the crowd, it won't be a place for you. You can't escape the smallness and that's what so great about it. You build relationships from the first day of class and your involvement does not go unnoticed.

    In three sentences

    You will receive a personalized college experience at Albion where you work side by side with Professors on research, know the names of your classmates and grow academically, personally and professionally during your four years of attendance.

  • 04/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is quick to respond and has an easy to remember extension (x1234). They are fair, helpful, and friendly, and they suffer no nonsense.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is a major part of campus life, in part because it is a small community. There are many fraternities and sororities, some strictly social, some academic. I, for example, am a member of the Beta Beta Beta biology honors fraternity. Not everybody is part of Greek life, however, and if you choose to opt out, there is no pressure or scorn for doing so.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs are wide ranging. There is something for everybody, ranging from IM sports, varsity sports, knitting clubs, anime clubs, charity clubs, Student Senate... the list goes on

    Great for these types of students

    Albion College is great for students who want an institution that will challenge them and help them get the jobs/grad schools they want. It's great for students who want a small campus and involved professors.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One major tradition is the rock on the quad - it's a billboard for all the organizations on campus, essentially. Anybody is allowed to paint it at any time.

    Bang for the buck

    Albion College is renowned for its rigorous academics, and success here will look incredible on a resume. Rates of employment/acceptance to grad school after graduation are in the nineties.

    What to do for fun

    There is a huge range of campus organizations to get involved with - something for everyone. There is athletics, there are numerous clubs for almost everything you could want. There isn't much in the town of Albion to do, but Marshall and Jackson nearby have anything you could want - shopping, restaurants, etc. In Marshall, there is a movie theater that gives one free movie a day to all Albion College students.

    Food and Dining

    In the past, Baldwin Hall (the cafeteria) has not been so good, however the college has brought in a third party company to run the food service. Since this, the food has improved tremendously, and there is a wide range of food items, including options for vegetarians and vegans. Baldwin closes relatively early, but there is an eat shop and a coffee shop that are open late should you need a late night snack.

    Dorm Life

    Residential Life is very fair with its policies, and the RA staff is well and thoroughly trained. In general, dorm life is relaxed and co-ed. There are no curfews, but there are quiet hours (usually after midnight). The dorm buildings are, by and large, dated. They could use some renovation.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging, but fair. Professors hold the students to a very high standard, and so the classes are often quite challenging, but since class sizes are so small, professors are almost always available to help out if you need a hand outside of class. Classes are not taught by TAs. The liberal arts requirements put you in classes and disciplines that you would never think to be involved in, and so your education will be very well rounded.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid of the price tag! When you apply, your initial financial aid statement will be VERY frightening. Don't forget, though, that you haven't been awarded aid yet. IT WILL COME! You have to be accepted before they can offer you aid awards! Also - do not underestimate your classes. This is not high school; you cannot breeze through it anymore. I had to learn this lesson the hard way.

    In three sentences

    Albion College is an academically challenging institution that values its students. Professors are involved in the students' lives and class sizes are small. It is world renowned and campus life has many opportunities.

  • 05/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    huge greek life

    Great for these types of students

    serious students

    What to do for fun

    night life small but fun

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open minded about school size and you will love Albion.

    In three sentences

    great one on one relationships with professors. Serious students. Excellent class sizes.

  • 06/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always patrolling and making sure it is a safe area for students and facility.

    Clubs and Activities

    Over 100 different kinds of clubs and activities!!

    Great for these types of students

    Social and serious about their career students.

    Bang for the buck

    Everything the promise is a guarantee at this school. They will not make promises they cannot keep.

    What to do for fun

    I go to the beach, walks, volunteer, work, sew and help out those around me.

    Food and Dining

    Great

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorm

    Academic Rigor

    There is plenty of one on one time to get help and they are always willing to help you through each step of your college life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to take a tour of the campus, meet with everyone that will be helping through out your time there, such as advisers and instructors in your major. They help you find out the right path and how to continue through that path.

    In three sentences

    Albion College is very welcoming and informing about what you need to know for your career as well as the campus.

  • 08/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe...the town, not so much.

    Greek Life

    Lots of Greeks....Frats and Sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots to do around campus...

    Great for these types of students

    ALL TYPES!

    Bang for the buck

    Overall, the school is good, but the town isn't. It's a small school but is definitely known for being a good college. I plan on staying there four years just like lots of other students, so they are doing good things there.

    What to do for fun

    Campus activities mostly, the town of Albion is not very nice and isn't a place for people to be hanging out. But there is plenty to do on campus if you get involved.

    Food and Dining

    Food isn't very good.

    Dorm Life

    Nice places to live.

    Academic Rigor

    Just like with anywhere, depending on your major, classes can be difficult or easy for some.

    Tips for prospective students

    The town sucks but campus is beautiful. The food is not good so far. The school is great and I love it. I am staying here all four years despite the negatives....which means that the school, campus, activities, and everything else is that good.

    In three sentences

    Albion has a great community atmosphere. The faculty and professors are great and class sizes are small. The town/city of Albion is not so great, kind of shady and is not very nice looking, although campus is BEAUTIFUL.

  • 12/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe and they are always patrolling. And if anytime you need a ride, you can call and they will take you anywhere.

    Greek Life

    I am not interested in Greek life but sororities are not allowed to live together but do have houses for meetings. Fraternities are right on campus on a block and have house parties almost every weekend.

    Clubs and Activities

    They all kinds of clubs, and what is nice is, if you want to start one it is easy to ask the board.

    Great for these types of students

    I feel Albion is great for students who actually study and learn quickly. For someone who likes to talk to your teachers, get right into action without hesitation and for someone who has money.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a restaurant in town called La Casa, that is like a tradition to go eat there and well-known on campus. Also, painting the rock in the quad.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel Albion's tuition is so overpriced. I get the small classrooms but I feel I might not get out what I put in.

    What to do for fun

    Not much unless you join clubs or teams. I have my horse at the barn on campus and so for fun, I go ride.

    Food and Dining

    Albion has updated their food, but is still just ok to eat at.

    Dorm Life

    Not very social and not much to do. The freshman dorms have no air and is super hot in the beginning. Also no cell reception and is old.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel Albion has very hard classes but that is what separates the easy schools from the most difficult ones. This is why Albion graduates get hired more than others.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would say make sure you're willing to dedicate enough time to your studies, not just once a week like in high school. Also, when deciding I would actually do a sit-in on a classroom.

    In three sentences

    Very small school with only a number of people in the classrooms. Very orientated with faculty and meetings with advisers. Overall, seems to have a good education system.

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety does a phenomenal job keeping students safe. With multiple cars and vans patrolling the campus and shuttling kids out to town and the movies, they really keep up a high standard. Outside of the campus can get a little uncomfortable, but Campus Safety works with Calhoun county police to keep the area safe.

    Greek Life

    There are six fraternities and five sororities on campus. About half of the student body is a part of Greek Life. Greek Life is different here, because the school is so small, we focus more on philanthropy and raising money for good causes. Each frat or sorority is made up of a group of students that become family throughout four years at Albion.

    Great for these types of students

    Albion has a highly ranked equestrian program.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are free movies at the Bogar Theater in Marshall, a short drive from Albion, for students with their ID card.

    Bang for the buck

    Albion is a great resource to use when you attend the college. The career office helps to find internships and jobs while at school and after graduating. The academic rigor is designed to make students think out of the box. Faculty is always there to support and back students for whatever they may need.

    What to do for fun

    Students on campus are very social. There are hundreds of clubs to join from biking to BSA to squirrel watching club. Many students join greek life and participate in D3 sports. There's something for everyone at Albion.

    Food and Dining

    Albion College's cafeteria is being updated in the summer of 2013. The building will no longer be outdated, but they're still working on the food. Students tend to give bad reviews about the food being served recently. There's not many places to eat in the town of Albion, either. However, the Eat Shop, a school dining facility, has great snack food for study breaks.

    Dorm Life

    Albion students are expected to stay in campus housing all four years. The first year, freshmen stay in one building together which allows for students to connect during their first year away from home. From then on, students have a choice to live in multiple suite-style buildings. Upperclassmen have the opportunity to apply for campus apartments which are spacious and updated.

    Academic Rigor

    Albion College holds their students to a high expectation. Each student should expect to go above and beyond what the professor wants, and participate in class discussions. Professors make material fun and interesting but present the information needed to fulfill the curriculum.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go into your freshman dorm blind; don't choose your roommate. School always comes first; find a quiet place to study where you can concentrate before going out and being social. Join as many clubs as you can and sign up for things, the worst they can do is e-mail you information.

    In three sentences

    Albion is a small, community based school. Students can do everything from a sport, to a club, to joining the greek system. Faculty here really cares about the students and they're always enthusiastic.

  • 03/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Wish there was more available.

    Clubs and Activities

    Fraternities and Sororities. Sports Music groups

    Great for these types of students

    Students that have either parents that can afford to pay for school or a lot of scholarships.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Rock

    What to do for fun

    Larger towns with movie houses and shopping within 30 minutes of driving east and west of school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for studying. Have many scholarships lined up before attending.

    In three sentences

    Academic challenging school that is extremely expensive. It is an older school with old buildings. Somewhat friendly staff and faculty.

  • 03/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety goes above and beyond the call of duty to keep you safe.

    Greek Life

    There are plenty of greek fraternities and sororities to join!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of clubs and activities to get into!

    Great for these types of students

    Studious and partying students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Victory Park is a great spot on campus to hang out. Just don't drink out of the natural spring!

    Bang for the buck

    You get rewarded for every cent that you put into paying for this college.

    What to do for fun

    Not much to do for fun in Albion. Your best bet is to head to Marshall or Jackson for some fun activities.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good. However, some improvement could be made.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is excellent. You will easily make new friends and have a fun time.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging and will certainly put you in perspective of where your interest level lies.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to check out the Eat Shop and Read Between the Grinds cafe! They are excellent spots to hang out in.

    In three sentences

    Albion College is an excellent place to learn and grow! If you are into a fine liberal arts education, then there is no better place to attend. The campus is small and provides a unique learning experience like no other.

  • 05/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Responds quickly and efficiently.

    Greek Life

    HUGE part of campus

    Clubs and Activities

    Extensive and all inclusive

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to work hard, want to play a sport/find a club that suits them, students interested in Greek life

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Town is a bit questionable but has some real gem restaurants

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive but if you can make it work, it will be worth it

    What to do for fun

    Sports, clubs, and more!

    Food and Dining

    Has improved a lot.

    Dorm Life

    Can be a bit crazy

    Academic Rigor

    Very difficult, but not undoable. Your degree is worth something!

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard in high school - Albion is expensive but they give good scholarships to those who do well!

    In three sentences

    Albion is a fantastic community. The professors get to know you and genuinely care about you. The administration is approachable and reachable.

  • 05/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Fantastic, will drive you anywhere.

    Greek Life

    GO GREEK!

    Clubs and Activities

    Many, many clubs and activities available.

    Great for these types of students

    Anytype

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Day of Woden

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is much too high, but Albion tends to give out many scholarships.

    What to do for fun

    Party

    Food and Dining

    Dine out if possible

    Dorm Life

    good

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on the classes you are taking.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to your professors!

    In three sentences

    Small, yet convenient campus. Friendly people. Extremely helpful professors.

  • 07/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is actually pretty healthy and surprisingly tasty for dorm food. The only down side is that since we are such a small campus, there is usually only one option for a meal, so if you don't like it you will be eating salad, a bagel or cereal most likely.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are pretty old and have not been re-done in a while. Although the old-time feel is cool, I do think the dorms could be a little more modern.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors expect a lot out of their students. As long as Albion students keep up with the work and studies, they should not have a problem. Some classes seem a bit over the top though.

  • 08/14/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    32 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I aim to join several existing clubs and start at least one of my own. Other than that, there does seem to a bevy of on campus entertainment option throughout the semester. Outside of that, I'll run to Kalamazoo, Lansing or Ann Arbor!

    Food and Dining

    I ate at a buffet that was being presented in the (at the time) temporary dining hall on campus. There was a decent selection, including gluten-free options, which impressed me. The food and drink itself was good, definitely well above merely palatable and in the range of tasty.

    Dorm Life

    I visited a dorm on campus, but will not be living there myself. Been there, done that. It appeared to be a clean, not overly spacious shared two person room with attached bath (shared by the adjoining two person room) and conveniently located near most class buildings and on campus dining.

    Academic Rigor

    From what I understand, Albion expects a lot from their students in terms of academic effort and integrity, but provides support and encouragement for all paths of investigation. It is in many ways the epitome of the private liberal arts college in its small, interconnected community, multidisciplinary faculty, and campus wide volunteerism and academic programs. Instructors actively challenge students to develop their own projects and present them as part of their curriculum at the Elkin Isaac Research Symposium at the end of the Spring Semester.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to campus and set up interviews with as many faculty members in areas that you might be interested in. I have found nothing but active, friendly and helpful faculty members willing to guide prospective students toward their goals.

    In three sentences

    Albion has the perfect major for me and the ability and faculty willingness to allow me to/assist me in engineering my own approach to my studies. It has taken me a long time to find my best fit intellectually but I think I have found it now. I only wish I had found the Sustainability Studies major 14 years ago when it began!

  • 11/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 35

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The Union Board has an event almost every weekend (free for students!). They also have a free shuttle to the local movie theater which offers free movies and cheap popcorn to students. Partying at the frat houses is also pretty big.

    Food and Dining

    The options around town are pretty limited, but there are a few local gems. The dining hall is pretty good most days, and always has gluten-free, vegan, and vegetarian options. If you have a dietary issue, you can talk to the manager, and they will always have something for you. Also, breakfast in the dining hall is awesome. Even lazy college kids get up before their 8am classes to enjoy it.

    Dorm Life

    All freshmen live in the same dorm, which really helps you meet people and form friendships. Options for upper classmen are pretty good, considering that Albion is TINY. Of course, no dorms are glamorous, but that's college, right? *note: it's really hard to get off-campus housing unless you live nearby or have a serious medical condition.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are pretty tough (though it varies by major). But it prepares you for the real world (or graduate school!). And professors are always available and willing to work with you, so definitely take advantage of their office hours!

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit! I knew as soon as I visited that this was the school for me. You really get a sense of the community and life at Albion.

    In three sentences

    Albion is a small, liberal arts school with excellent science and pre-health programs as well as psychology, education, business, and others. The professors are mostly all wonderful, with a few not-so-great. Greek life is huge, and there's always something going on on-campus.

  • 01/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Open people, people who have difficulty making friends, and those who want to be close while going to a good school.

    Bang for the buck

    QUITE expensive. Don't attend unless you're sure you can pay this much. But I came here because I knew that it would good for me to be in such an open atmosphere where the students know you by name, as long as you introduce yourself!

    What to do for fun

    Join a club or intramural sport, attend the many events planned by the Union Board (Free everything: concerts, snack parties, comedians, etc.), go to the pool, tour the beautiful campus, explore the multi-storied library, or just chase the unusually docile squirrels!

    Food and Dining

    GREAT SELECTION. I'm a vegetarian, and I usually have no problem finding stuff to eat. It's like eating in a family restaurant, buffet-style. Environmentally-conscious, sometimes health-minded, and diverse food will test your natural tastes and the delicious food will make you excited for mealtime. They have an Asian food bar, American classics, soups, vegan area, and the menu varies significantly every day.

    Dorm Life

    Expect to know the names of the people in your hall. You may not be best friends with all of them, but you'll get to know them by name and you can have a casual chat with any of them. There's a bit of community policy for the health of living areas, so if stuff breaks and nobody is found to be the culprit, the cost is dispersed among students. So we all take responsibility, which encourages us to call an RA or step in when messes are being made. It's casual and homey with lounges and it's totally okay to walk around in PJs.

    Academic Rigor

    As a Freshman, I'm not extensively experienced with the classes, but I know from some upper-level students that there are a fair amount of hard classes. But the profs are reasonable and there is plenty of help, with after-hours meeting times with the teachers, study-sessions, and smaller class sizes.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's a fairly selective school. Not crazy-hard to get into, but being a private school, you're definitely gonna want some scholarships. Remember, with inflation, tuition is likely to go up. Be open, join stuff, and make friends. Friendships here can be worth gold.

    In three sentences

    A beautiful little campus, the people are friendly, the classes small, and the faculty invested. It certainly focuses on the Liberal-Arts program, combining a world-opening view and more concrete skills. Definitely expensive, but if you value community and knowing everybody and creating relationships throughout campus, Albion could be for you.

  • 06/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 35

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    People always paint on the rock, but I don't get what the big deal is lol.

    What to do for fun

    Play on your computer, hang out with friends. Theres not much to do around town. If you have a car you can head into jackson (15 minutes) and there is lots to do there.

    Food and Dining

    Foods pretty good, next year i hear that they are upgrading to more meal options. There is a Mcdonalds, Pizza place, KFC, and ice cream shop nearby.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are pretty good, wifi isn't the greatest (use the ethernet). They won't let you live off campus unless you live within 25 miles (i think) or have a disability. However people usually lie in order to live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are all over the spectrum (not that surprising). Some are more lenient and some are more strict.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you Think you want to go to a bigger school where you see new people daily, chances are you do.

    In three sentences

    Schools seems alright. Teachers are good and bad. Albion lacks a lot that other schools offer, but is pretty renown reputation for it's education programs.