Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Albright College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 03/19/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Albright is great for students who want a smaller place to go, where they really can get to know the people. It is also a great place for those that want to be well-rounded people or do not have a declared major. Albright really helps students figure out what they want and where they want to go. Albright is also great for students that are serious about school. It's a private school and we know how to have fun, but there are no sports scholarships so the students that come here are mainly here for studies not because they got a sports scholarship. We do have great sports teams though and many which you don't see at other schools like girl's rugby and frisbee along with the other major sports like football, soccer, and basketball.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep your grades up and study hard. Albright is a great place and loves diversity, but if you want to succeed care about school. Also get involved there are a lot of things to do and it looks amazing on your transcripts. I would also suggest doing an over night so you can get the full feel of Albright before you attend. There's a lot of people you can meet before you even come as a student! Finally ask lots of question the students and staff of Albright are there to answer them all.

    Bang for the buck

    Albright is extremely expensive to attend. There are some areas where it shows that you are getting what you paid for like the buffet style caf. and extra bonus bucks you get for your meal plan. It also shows in the gym and the renovations currently take place like in the science building. In other areas there is definitely room for improvement, like a face lit for the dorms and bathrooms, but Albright is working really hard to improve these areas and there is a student club that allows people to voice their opinion about the school. There are also a ton of student jobs that can help you pay for tuition like at the coffee place, the caf. the smaller restaurants, public safety and many other areas. Although it is an expensive school they give out really nice scholarships and the homeless and education you receive definitely make up for the losses.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love Albright. From the moment you step in you feel completely welcome. The first week freshmen arrive a week before classes for orientation. You are put in groups with two very peppy leaders and you spend the week attending events that break the ice, get you used to campus and where your classes are and exposes you to all the other freshmen. This time is pack full of fun and learning and it really introduces and acclimates you to Albright life. As you start going to classes you get to know a lot more people and the environment is just really welcoming. There is a lot to do on campus like the gym, concerts, coffee places, poetry readings, experience events, plays, sports event, dances, trips ect. and there are always people around to hang out with. It's like a little family. Personally I miss everyone when I am on break even if it is just for one week. I can't wait to get back!

    Am learning a lot

    All of the professors are extremely helpful and they really want you to succeed which is great. Many of the tests have reviews beforehand that tell you exactly what is on each test and most of the time there are no tricks when the actual test comes around. If you are confused professors have office hours or you can go to the learning center for tutoring with students who know the teachers and how to manage the class. The teachers also know how to teach because they use multiple methods in their classes at once to aid each student. There are lectures, powerpoints, hands-on, visuals, projects,, papers, textbook readings ect. It is all very comprehensive and you actually feel like you are getting the education you are paying for. The curriculum also allows students to learn about other topics other than their major. This may seem a pain but many of the classes and experiences that are required of you are valuable for future classes and the future in general. It exposes you to other mediums and gives you a well rounded perspective on life.

  • 12/29/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 7 people found this review useful. 2 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Extra curricular people, intramural sport lovers, students looking for a tiny campus and who don't mind being in what I call the middle of nowhere.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're looking for a small, close-knit community, Albright is a good choice. It's a liberal arts school, so expect to take a course is just about everything. So far, the art program is okay; I'm not impressed or anything. There are many organizations to be involved in though, if you're one of those extra curricular types.

    Bang for the buck

    Very expensive school! I'm only here on scholarship and so are most of my friends. For the price of room-and-board, the dorms could be more accomodating. The meal plan is a good deal, since it's buffet-style, all-you-can-eat. The bookstore is a rip-off, naturally, so go to the nearby Dollar Tree for basic essentials!

    Am enjoying being here

    The location is for someone looking for a small, suburban campus. Not much to do and not many places to go if you don't have a car. I prefer the city life, so Albright's location is definitely a con for me.

    Am learning a lot

    This past semester I took Spanish, Life Drawing (I'm an Art Major), an English Writing course, and a seminar on Experimental Fiction. All of my professors obviously knew what they were talking about and I did learn something in every course. I can honestly say that I learned a tremendous amount uduring my first semester.

  • 12/22/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 6 people found this review useful. 3 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are really good in science (the pre-med program is extremely difficult), don't like to party, want a career in music business, digital media, or play on a sports team.

    Tips for prospective students

    The people you meet during tours and visits represent the majority of Albright's population so if you don't like them you will probably not get along with most of the students.

    Bang for the buck

    It is overly expensive and tuition increases every year. It is not worth the money at all. In addition people on sports teams receive more scholarships than anyone else, but the school disguises them as academic scholarships.

    Am enjoying being here

    The school is full of cliques and most of the students hardly have time for friends outside of academics and clubs so it is definitely hard to make friends after freshman year. In addition, there is not much of a party scene. However, the small campus is nice because it never takes more than 10 minutes to walk to class and the small class sizes are nice.

    Am learning a lot

    I am a sophomore and have learned a lot and enjoyed all my courses at Albright. However, the upper level courses are very difficult and demanding. I got 3 As and 1 B this semester, but I worked harder than I ever have for a grade in my life.

  • 01/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    liberal arts people, everyone

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    you get thrown in the pond for your birthday by your friends

    What to do for fun

    Mall monday, target tuesday, walmart wednesday! transportation to these places for free

    Food and Dining

    Food is ok, but vegetarian selection could be a bit better.

    Dorm Life

    You can choose your roommate or let Albright choose for you.

    Academic Rigor

    You earn the grade you receive.

    Tips for prospective students

    Save up!

    In three sentences

    I love it! It is kind of expensive, but everyone is soo nice. You actually have to work for your grade.

  • 07/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek life is everywhere you turn. So if you feel that is your thing, go for it those in Greek life are always willing to share knowledge of their own sorority/fraternity.

    Clubs and Activities

    Again, there are many, many clubs and activities at Albright, it is hard to not notice them. There are always messages or tables set up for activities or fundraisers or anything going on. There should be something for everyone, and if not, make one. They are very willing to allow in new student organizations just go ahead and talk to someone and get enough people interested.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The ponding tradition. On your birthday you WILL be thrown in the pond by friends. It is fun and everyone will take pictures, and laugh. Therefore be on the lookout because someone will get you.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition should be lowered, plain and simple. I feel tuition is too high and bringing it up does not make a good impression on students. Tuition should be something that we can at least not cringe at the thought of. We do cringe, and we feel trapped in eternally high tuition rates.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of clubs and activities for students. There are also random activities that are planned out around the school such as the ones for experience events, where you can go to an art gallery, Broadway show, or lectures if that's what you like. There will always be something to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food is alright. It is not the best food one will experience, not the worse either, but it definitely needs improving.

    Dorm Life

    Freshmen dorms are generally better from personal experience. However, they may get loud. Freshmen dorms are also the ones that are cleaned by the staff all days of the week, where upperclassmen are expected to know better and not make as big messes.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are good, I suppose everyone needs to find their niche. However, I cannot guarantee that anyone will enjoy all of their general studies courses. Some courses are just better than others.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should not be afraid of the campus life. There tends to be something for all, even if you are the shy type. So far I have found that everyone is very friendly and willing to help each other.

    In three sentences

    A sweet friendly campus. With helpful professors. Plus a friendly student body.

  • 01/09/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Students have been robbed at gun point multiple times, cars are broken into, stereos and such get stolen. Safety is worse if you live off campus.

    Greek Life

    Parties parties parties!

    Clubs and Activities

    Some clubs were alright. I was part of the GSA and whatever the environmental club was.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want the finical aid office to screw them over repeatedly.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They used to do the throwing people in the pond on their birthday thing, but the school discourages it now, probably for liability reasons.

    Bang for the buck

    We used to joke that we went to the most expensive school in the country in the poorest city in the country. The financial aid department is massively incompetent. I haven't attended the school in years and I'm still dealing with the mistakes that the school make. They took grant money for a semester I wasn't even attending making it difficult to get the grant I need now.

    What to do for fun

    You are in Reading, so nothing unless you enjoy drugs, which are easy to find. When I attended I knew several people who were doing heroin, so know that drugs like that are on campus and readily available.

    Food and Dining

    They have a new dining room since I have been there so I can't say too much. They food isn't too bad and the supervisors are nice. However I am a vegan and they promised to work with me before I signed up for a meal plan. I normally didn't have problems but at times it was frustrating. Also I worked in the dish room and witnessed several OSHA violations including employees standing on crates and putting boxed food out of a fridge directly on the floor. Also when I worked there the dish washing machine was terrible and wouldn't clean things properly to the point that I would use their disposable utensils instead of anything cleaned by that machine.

    Dorm Life

    Depends on the dorm you are in. I took a medical withdraw and came back for one semester, The semester I came back they could barely find a room for me and I ended up being assigned a room that was not cleaned before hand. The room was a mess and should have been checked before hand.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics aren't bad. I loved the teachers and they really do care. It's a shame they are working for such a bad school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find a better school. Albright is outright terrible. You don't want to be in reading anyway.

    In three sentences

    Albright is a terribly incompetent school. I haven't been there for years and I am still dealing with the incompetence of their financial aid office. I would like to warn anyone considering going there that they are massively incompetent,

  • 02/16/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 4 people found this review useful. 7 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I'm looking for an intense program in Music Business, and I wasn't too impressed by Albright's offer. You must double major if you want to take Music Business classes. Why would I do that when I can major in it somewhere else?

    Will enjoy being here

    A big turn-off was that the campus is in the middle of nowhere. They have buses on specific days that take you to the essential places (Mall-Monday, Target-Tuesday, Walmart-Wednesday. It's pathetic that of all things I remembered that from the tour....). it looks like its a very tigh-knit community with a very small student body. not what I'm looking for....

  • 12/28/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Who want personal relationships with professors. Who are not afraid to participate in class and exceed class expections.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take tours, even if you have to revisit a school twice or three times to make sure. Make sure you feel at home.

    Bang for the buck

    Albright is on the expensive side, just like any other private school. But there are several opportunities for scholarships which can cut the costs. Even though the cost is rather pricey, it is worth every penny I have put down on my education.

    Am enjoying being here

    As a first year student I commuted to Albright everyday. This year I am living on campus. If that itself does not say I enjoy being here, then I do not know what else really could. I love Albright SO much. Living in the area I never thought of myself going here, but when I stepped on campus for my tour I knew it was a place I would call home. Whether it be Albright or any other college make sure you have a sense of belonging there and can see yourself there walking to class and relaxing around the campus.

    Am learning a lot

    In general Albright has a lot to offer in academics. The professors are overall very educated in their area of expertise and are always lending a hand to students after class to review or make things clear if the students do not understand during class.

  • 09/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Not much to do here if you don't have a car.

    Bang for the buck

    Very expensive

    Am enjoying being here

    I have not had a very welcoming experience.

  • 03/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is excellent; however, the surrounding are is not so great. You just need to be careful and take notice of your surroundings. Use your head and don't walk alone late at night.

    Greek Life

    Has fraternities and sororities.

    Great for these types of students

    Great school for very bright students.

    Bang for the buck

    It is expensive, but financial aid and scholarships make it very affordable.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs to join, athletic teams, and parties on weekends. The theatre department puts out many excellent shows to see. The surrounding area has multiple food and entertainment places to frequent.

    Food and Dining

    The food is typical college food. Just be creative and you will have something good to eat. Recently the hours for the dining hall have been increased, which makes it easier to get to meals, especially for athletes with hectic schedules.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fun. There is always something going on to become involved in. The space in the dorms are adequate.

    Academic Rigor

    Albright's academics are very challenging. It is more difficult to remain here than it is to get accepted.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't take college for granted, especially Albright. You will work very hard and learn a great deal from professors.

    In three sentences

    Albright is academically challenging. Albright is a friendly environment. Albright offers many ways of getting involved in the community.

  • 03/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is always around seem the campus is in the middle of a residential neighborhood. There is emergency phone all around campus. 5 stars

    Greek Life

    There are several sororities and fraternities on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Any thing you might be interested in there is a club or group that share your interest. 4 stars

    Great for these types of students

    A student that wants want to be known to the staff on by their first name and not their student ID.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In the center of the campus there is a water fountain that is great for cooling off with friends. The campus is small enough that all building are an easy walk.

    Bang for the buck

    Well known small college. Expensive but worth it, the school has a great reputation.

    What to do for fun

    The basketball games are always fun, movie night is nice and there is a near by mall for us shoppers (the school provides a shuttle to and from the mall for the student).

    Food and Dining

    The food isn't bad. There are serveral cafes to choice from as well as the main dining room. There is even a cafe that is open late six days a week.

    Dorm Life

    There is always activities planed for the students to do in the dorms. There are game rooms, FREE washers and dryers and very caring RA's.

    Academic Rigor

    You earn the grade you get.

    Tips for prospective students

    A small college but large enough to help you feel like you belong and aren't just a number.

    In three sentences

    I really like attending Albright College for the following reason: * The instructors are always there for the students. They make sure you understand the main idea of their lesson. Their doors are ALWAYS open. * The class sizes are small. * Everyone is so willing to help you and has made the transition from high school to college life so easy and smooth.

  • 04/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 person found it offensive. 12 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Terrible and inexperienced.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have the tradition of ponding people on their birthday, but yeah.

    What to do for fun

    NOTHING.

    Food and Dining

    The food has actually made me sick to my stomach multiple times. Today I actually got some vanilla wafers, and they sold me stale cookies.

    Dorm Life

    I am a very friendly person, I'm also pretty outgoing, but the cliques are ridiculous. People judged me over my makeup, my looks, and all that! They all mostly drink and smoke, and they all judge you so easily, so it's a terrible environment.

    Academic Rigor

    You get no experience whatsoever and the classes are all about just staring at a blackboard. I like the class size and tutoring, but I hated how much I couldn't understand how this stuff will be used in my career path.

    Tips for prospective students

    Please, if you're out of state, do not go here because this college is so expensive and it really isn't worth your money. The academics are horrendous, the clubs are a joke, and it just isn't worth your stress.

    In three sentences

    Albright is full of cheapskates, I mean the tuition is still going up and it's all for construction, even though all of the buildings are antiquated as crap. It's a college that is full of judgmental cliques, so finding friends was a challenge for me. It's also a place that barely gives you any experience while also being stuck in the middle of absolute NOWHERE.

  • 04/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is pretty open and I feel very safe and comfortable during the day and at night walking. There are campus phones located in various spots on campus, we have public safety officers and there are cameras all throughout the campus.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life hosts a lot of events on campus and a lot of students are involved.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club and various activities for everyone. Rugby, an international student association, a ski club, theatre, religious groups whatever your interests may be, there's a definite chance you will find it. In addition, if they don't have it you can create your own club.

    Great for these types of students

    Albright's slogan is A different way of thinking, I have to say that the slogan can explain a lot. Majority of the students that attend this accredited school are fun, unique, some more artsy than other, free spirited, individuals all willing to learn new things with an appreciation for other people and their culture.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is an Albright tradition that if it is your birthday you Get Ponded. There is a pond man made pond on campus near our science center and friends throw a student in as a birthday celebration and tradition that has been going on for years. I had the experience of being ponded, It was a memory I'll never forget!

    Bang for the buck

    The college is expensive but my experience here has made me realize that despite the tuition the friends I made here are one of kind and the experiences I have had I don't think I would have had anywhere else.

    What to do for fun

    At Albright a student pretty much has to learn to make their own fun. Usually on weekends there are a few parties but since it is a small campus there really is not as much as there would be going on at bigger school. Its always fun to attend events that various clubs host, go downtown to the movie theater and spend time with friends.

    Food and Dining

    Food and Dining has been had a roller coaster effect in my opinion. The food is progressively getting better but there is less of a variety now that our services outsourced to Aramark. The campus cafeteria is soon going to be undergoing renovation, so I have high hopes that better things are coming. Majority of the workers have happy spirits.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms that are in the are of the quad are more feasible for underclassman because its easier for them to bond. Especially since they are all in the same general area and closer to campus. Walton Hall was my favorite dorm my freshman year. The dorm rooms are regular sized dorm rooms with a desk and chair, dresser, bed and microwave and refrigerator which is a plus.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically the curriculum gets more intense. I would definitely say because the college requires students to take general education studies included with concentration courses it allows the students to be more well - rounded and have experience in different areas. Such as, humanities, religion, etc.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look further beyond the financial assistance and find out truly why you believe Albright is a great place for you. Often people get caught up in how much money is offered to them and fail to realize what they really want to get out of their college experience. Think about Reading and if the surrounding area is a place with opportunity for them verses a city. The campus is very small, if you are looking for a community feel you will get that here.

    In three sentences

    Albright College is a wonderful liberal arts college for students who are interested in receiving a well-rounded education. Being involved on campus with sports, clubs or intramurals will help a student find themselves and enhance their college experience. As a student you will learn to create your own definition of a good time.

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Albright has security called Public Safety who drives everywhere and they have a phone number so students can reach them for any emergencies. Also, there are vans called shuttle buses that provides transportation off and on campus for students.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for everyone and it is very common for students to be part of more than one club or sports team.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is for anyone who is interested in any of the majors Albright has to offer because all are welcomed.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    For people who have birthday's during the semester, you will probably get ponded. Ponding is when people are thrown in the pond usually against their will. It's a lot of fun, nobody gets hurt, and all electronics are removed before being tossed in. In addition, students can be ponded for any particular reason like for just the fun of it.

    Bang for the buck

    Albright College is a private school which makes it very expensive but there is many ways to make the school affordable.

    What to do for fun

    It seems that there are always on campus activities like shows with an hypnosis, comedians and bingo. In Spring 2012, Albright had a concert starring Mike Posner. Students are the ones who vote on what activities they would like the school to present.

    Food and Dining

    This school is not perfect but there is a salad bar, a bar that serves pizza and there are a variety of other foods. What is really great is the different types of food they serve. for instance, I've tried my first dish of curry and chicken and this is one of my favorite meals.

    Dorm Life

    The best part of the dorm life is the people, the microwave and the refrigerator. The worst part is that there's a good chance you will make friends in more than one dorm but all students are welcome to each dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Of course, freshman year is the easiest year but once you decide your major and the longer you stay, the work becomes harder. As long as you truly like your major and your classes, there's nothing to fear but fear itself.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you really want to go to school for a better education because it is very difficult to achieve a high gpa with little to no motivation to work for a high grade.

    In three sentences

    My School most popular quote is A different way of thinking. This is exactly what Abright College provides but it's an understatement to everything they do. On campus students call Albright the home away from home because the school provides safety and many professors are very caring and helpful.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Every dorm building at Albright requires the student to swipe their I.D. before entering, and if the dorms on doors are left open for too long an alarm goes off throughout the whole building. However, public safety likes to take their time to get to dorms and respond to calls made to their office. But within the public safety office, they have a security camera system in place that shows the many locations throughout campus so that they can keep a close eye on campus activity. They do make their rounds everyday in the dorms and on the streets around campus to make sure nothing suspicious is happening. With that being said, Albright's campus is open to the public. Albright is a safe campus and it's located on the safer side of Reading, but students should still make cautious decisions when leaving campus.

    Greek Life

    Greek life has a good presence at Albright. There are three sororities and three fraternities on campus. Each Greek organization is involved with a philanthropy that they raise money for and spread awareness to the campus. Another fun part to Greek life is Greek Week in the spring. My freshmen year I joined Sigma Kappa and that was one of the best decisions I made at college. I'm sisters with many girls I wouldn't of had the chance to meet and become best friends. Albright requires that you must have completed one semester or three classes and have a 2.5 GPA.

    Clubs and Activities

    Albright has so many different majors from fashion to education to crime and justice. So why wouldn't there be clubs to match it? We have a fashion club and fashion newsletter for those fashion enthusiasts and PSEA for education majors to join. Caribbean culture club, African American society, Anime club, Gamers' Guild...anything you can think of Albright practically has.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It's tradition at Albright that you get ponded on your birthday. On campus there's a little pond that's about 3-feet deep. Your friends usually drag you to the pond, take your electronics, and toss you in.

    What to do for fun

    I would say definitely explore downtown Reading and everything it has to offer. There are museums, art classes, and great shopping! The activities council hosts many events for comedians and magicians to come to campus, and they also get discounted tickets for Broadway shows. There's a bowling alley five minutes away from campus, and S.G.A sponsors a Reading Royals game (hockey) and Reading Phillies game (baseball) for students to attend for free, and the annual Spring concert. There are parties you just have to hear about them through the grapevine.

    Food and Dining

    The good news is this summer (2012) the cafe is getting renovated. The school is changing the layout of the cafeteria plus adding booths and a private area for faculty and special guests. The renovations became a priority because the cafe was too small for the amount of students that ate lunch and dinner at peak times (usually 12 for lunch and 5 for dinner). Pizza, chicken, hot dogs, and hamburgers are served for lunch and dinner, but there are about 3-4 stations where the meals are switched. Cereal and bagels are left out for all three meals while the salad bar and deli meats are added at lunch. The soup flavors are switched everyday and the cafe offers hard and soft ice cream options, frozen yogurt, and selective toppings. Veggie burgers and gluten free options are available upon request.

    Dorm Life

    Albright has co-ed dorms and co-ed floors, so you're able to meet a vast group of people. When I was a freshmen, in the beginning of the year everyone would leave there doors open which was a great way to meet new people. The freshmen dorms are pretty spacious. There's a huge desk space, wall closet, dresser, and a mirror behind the door. I would suggest bringing your own lamp for more lighting in the room.

    Academic Rigor

    Usually the general studies courses require more papers and reading assignments while major courses are handled different for each department. I'm a fashion merchandising/communications major and for finals my professors assign final projects for our finals and sometimes a final exam. Also for each class at Albright, they require a 4th hour rigor to count for the hours we can't get in class. It's usually a simple assignment such as keeping a journal or a one-page paper. Time management it key to handle the amount of classes you have and with the extra activities you would like to do. Albright requires that students attend Experience events apart of the academic curriculum. Experience events are lectures, films, panels, etc. that allow the students to gain new insight on something they already know or learn something new.

    Tips for prospective students

    Begin freshmen year with an open mind to new people, clubs, teachers, and even the food. For many, college is a fresh start so reach outside of your comfort zone and make the extra effort to meet new people. No one knows how you were before college so you can be a new person! When you go through orientation, try to get to know your orientation group because they try to make it with other students that live in your dorm. Albright is a small school so it's like family; everyone knows each other. Since it's small, it's important to get involved with activities whether it's sports, the gym, a job or Greek life! Once you find something you like on campus the school won't feel so small and campus begins to open up. Also, time management is a key aspect in college. Find a way to organize your time so you'll be able to participate in activities while still achieving success in school.

    In three sentences

    Albright College is home. It allows students the opportunity to academically and socially grow through different clubs and organizations located on campus. You meet tons of people that you'll bond with and they'll be in your lives after college is finished.

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public safety is always on top of what is going on within the campus and surrounding area and to keep things safe.

    Greek Life

    Three social fraternities, three sororities, a service fraternity and many honor fraternities. There is such a long list for the social ones it is a case by case basis on your personal decisions.

    Clubs and Activities

    A wide array of clubs and activities to get involved and if there is something that doesn't match your style create your own.

    Great for these types of students

    The science program is really strong at Albright with a new building with new labs only enhances the program. Definitely the part of school where the academic rigor is the highest. As well as psychology and education is behind science.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a pond that we throw people in on their birthday. Made it successfully through without going in. (Knock on wood).

    Bang for the buck

    If you apply early and get the most information together you can have that sticker shock chopped right off.

    What to do for fun

    I got involved!!! I can stress this enough so many kids I went to school with did nothing and complained when they bored. I did it all I played a varsity sports was president of club as well as treasurer of another. Learned to manage a budget and increase my leadership skills. Also I took advantage of my work study with multiple different jobs and at one point have two of the most desired jobs on campus. I did intramural basketball when I could with my friends. Together we made our Albright experience a great one. Going to a small school sometimes things require you to be inventive.

    Food and Dining

    The dining experience is exceptional at Albright. For many years it was self operated but in recent years they have outsourced it to Aramark. The food is very filling and always wanting to go back for more. I had the experience before the outsourcing so I only can go off of other opinions. I have been to Jake's place and the food there is still great. The cafeteria is currently under renovations and will be added booths and increased space to even further satisfy the great dinning experience.

    Dorm Life

    Depending on your other residents can depend on your experience. I lucked out and had a core group of friends my freshman year which helped the easing process. Again improvements are to follow, but as of right now regular two person dorms, as well as apartments that house four people, and suite living for 4 rooms with one secure common room and bathroom.

    Academic Rigor

    I give the academic rigor five stars because at time it can reach such levels, but it is for good reason because there is so much substantial knowledge that you take in that it makes your critical thinking power. If you do struggle there is plenty academic support to help you achieve academic goals.

    Tips for prospective students

    When applying to Albright have other schools financial aid packages ready so that they could but your Albright one. Do every part of the admissions process to help you along the way. If you are student who seems to be on the cusp of admissions do an interview. See if you can get into the summer start program this will help you build a base the summer before freshman year. The school is currently on the rise with increasing financial support from alumni as well as make campus even more beautiful than before.

    In three sentences

    Inviting experience. Individualized attention. Generous financial support.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is amazing at Albright. There are numerous emergency call boxes scattered throughout campus. Campus safety officers are always patrolling the grounds in vehicles or on foot. Emergency numbers are located in every building and officers are available at all times through telephone or at the Public Safety building on campus. What I really loved was the RAD (Rape Aggression Defense) course that is held by Albright Public Safety officers and Reading police officers every semester. RAD is a free course for women that teaches self defense and safety-conscious thinking. I took the course and became very self-aware and much more confident. Plus, it's fun! You learn through hands-on training and at the end of the course you can opt to participate in a simulation attack against an instructor. I'll be taking the course every year as a refresher.

    Greek Life

    Albright College has a lot of Greek life organizations. The fraternities and sororities are well-bonded and have many traditions that display to the college community how close-knit the members are. Greek life members sponsor and participate in many charity and fundraising events that are always creative and extremely fun.

    Clubs and Activities

    As a liberal arts school, Albright College has an activity for everyone. Big tip: Get involved! I once joined a break dancing club, which is not a big deal except for the fact that I'm a 5'4 girl with absolutely no dancing skills. But is was fun! And I made some new friends. Don't be afraid to try new things.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On a person's birthday, he or she gets ponded. Friends and sometimes faculty capture the birthday boy or girl and throw them into Albright's Sylvan Pond despite the temperature or weather. Also, many organizations raise money for charities throughout the year by having members stand in the pond for hours in cold weather to urge students and faculty to donate.

    What to do for fun

    Albright College is not located near very many places to go on the weekend. Many students have to drive off-campus to find something to do.

    Food and Dining

    This fall, Albright College will be revealing its newly renovated dining hall. Albright has also changed its dining service provider and I believe the food has been much better since the switch. Albright has a restaurant/take-out service called Jake's Place that serves things like burgers and fried chicken. Also, there is Jake's Java, which is supplied by Starbucks, and Peg's Cafe, which is a smoothie bar located in the fitness center. Overall, I'd give the food a rating of a 4. The dining hall food still needs some improvements, however. Additionally, there is pizza and Chinese restaurants a block from the college if you're craving take-out.

    Dorm Life

    As an incoming sophomore, I have only seen the freshmen dorms and the honors dorm in which I live. Albright's dorms are not luxurious with huge rooms and windows. However, the dorms are always clean, safe, and laundry is free! Residence halls include recreational lounges, study lounges, vending machines, and kitchens. Dorm rooms have mini fridges, microwaves, AC/heating units, etc. Each residence hall has RAs (resident assistants), but they are generally very nice people and become friends with the residents. Did I mention that Albright dorms have free laundry?

    Academic Rigor

    Professors always expect you to complete your work and give your utmost effort on assignments and in class. Studying is a must! This is not meant to be strict. It is quite the contrary. Albright professors will push you because they want you to realize your potential. The faculty members at Albright are compassionate and brilliant and only wish to see their students succeed. You will not find more caring professors anywhere.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are going to attend Albright, be sure to search for a roommate in advance. You can do so on the Albright Facebook page that administration will create for your class. If you are comfortable allowing fate to take over, there is also the option to fill out a roommate questionnaire which matches you to someone with similar living, sleeping, and study habits. I chose this option, and my roommate and I are now best friends! Also, be certain to become well-acquainted with your faculty adviser. He or she will help you with any academic concerns throughout the year. Keep in mind: your professors are your most important resource! Oh, and I definitely recommend investing in rain boots and a sturdy umbrella; rainy weather is VERY common at Albright, especially in autumn.

    In three sentences

    Albright College is more than just a place to learn; it is truly a home away from home. I have never been to a college that is as warm, inviting, and caring as Albright. In all honesty, I am inspired by something or someone new every day, whether it is a professor, the beautiful campus, or the bond of the Albright family.

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe with 24/7 security and local police helping out as well.

    Greek Life

    We have good number of Greeks on campus. No matter what one does they always can find one Greek on the board or helping out and very active in the school.

    Clubs and Activities

    The school provides a large selection of clubs and activities that are easy to sign up to join.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for students that come from small schools, and that enjoy hands on learning.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It is tradition that every year on your birthday a group of your friends gets together and tosses you in the pond.

    Bang for the buck

    One really gets what their paying for at Albright.

    What to do for fun

    One can attend sporting events or even catch a play that is run by our award winning theatre department.

    Food and Dining

    Has a large variety.

    Dorm Life

    It is a very fun and enjoyable experience.

    Academic Rigor

    Albright excels in academics.

    Tips for prospective students

    If one is looking for a small class size and a more one on one atmosphere with the teachers; Albright is the place for you.

    In three sentences

    Albright is a excellent liberal arts school. After my years I have already attended Albright I feel already well rounded in my major. The Albright community makes me feel at home.

  • 07/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Taking the monday shuttle to the local mall, hanging with friends, experience events!

    Food and Dining

    Once in a blue moon food is ok, but hey, its college food, not your mom's home cooking! There are some variety such as Asian cuisine or Italian, but most of the time it is just the basic pizza, fries, hamburger or grilled cheese. Beware, might cause the freshman 15!

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are traditional: they are small and stuck in the past! Albright Court is the best hall but is the farthest away from campus.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on the classes you take, how motivated you are, etc. Use your resources, there are tutors who are very helpful and the professors are willing to meet you also.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want the whole college experience such as partying and a big campus, Albright is not for you. But, if you want to stay focused, and intimidated by a large campus, schedule a tour!

    In three sentences

    Albright is a school for introvert students who want to stay focused on their studies. It has a small campus, in the middle of no-where, but this can be a getaway from a city girl such as myself. Everyone is like family.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. We have red buttons all round campus and a bus that will drive around and pick students up to bring back to their dorms or where ever they would like to go.

    Greek Life

    A lot of students are involved in greek life. We have three fraternities and three sororities. There are also a few others such as a volunteer fraternity, and a multicultural sorority.

    Clubs and Activities

    There a ton of clubs to choose from and always something going on

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have the Pond on campus. On your birthday, your friends will drag you to the pond and throw you in. This either happens at midnight or unexpectedly during the day.

    What to do for fun

    Sports, Clubs, and a ton of different activities. The school always has something and if there is not anything, hanging out with your friends on campus is always fun.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is not the best, but they are renovating it this summer. We will see what happens next fall.

    Dorm Life

    I had the best time in the dorms. I loved my roommate and my floor-mates. The floors are also coed. Two of my best friends lived across the hall and they are guys.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are small and the professors are great. The level of difficulty depends on the class at hand.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved. Sports, clubs, anything. Let people get to know you.

    In three sentences

    The small community is wonderful. As well as the small classes and academics. The majority of the school is extremely involved as well.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public safety is always driving around the campus.

    Greek Life

    Greek life isnt big.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs and activities.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On your birthday you get ponded thrown in this fountain.

    Food and Dining

    The food could be better but they are redoing the dining hall.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are older and could become more modern but overall they are fine.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a strong academic school.

    Tips for prospective students

    They offer tutors that are very helpful. They also have a writing center that helps you a lot on papers.

    In three sentences

    I really like the school. I am getting a good education there. It is very diverse and I have become more well rounded.

  • 08/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We are well protected and assisted whenever we call our public safety. They are there for. us when we need them.

    Greek Life

    I am currently not involved with Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am involved in Football and Track and Field. I am challenged physically and mentally and i enjoy the mental toughness i have developed.

    Great for these types of students

    Willing to be challenged Like to have fun Enjoy interacting with the community

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On someones Birthday a student can get ponded, the student is tossed in to a small tiny pond by there peers as a way of saying happy birthday.

    Bang for the buck

    I get access to peer tutoring for free and public transportation day in and day out. The IT service is there to help and respond quickly making my technology use easy. I love my access to the facilities such as the weight room and the

    What to do for fun

    I am a Track and Field athlete as well as a Football athlete. I enjoy playing intramural basketball with a couple of buddies and lifting weights on my own time.

    Food and Dining

    There is a lot of variety in the food they serve which i love the most. I can also help my self to any special desserts to treat my self for my good behavior every once in a while

    Dorm Life

    The residence hall are well kept and cleaned often. The staff is friendly and always bare a nice good morning or afternoon smile when you do see them.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors are not afraid to challenge as well as help you as long as you show you are helping yourself. The courses are challenging and cover the specifics of the courses which helps keep you interested

    Tips for prospective students

    Pick a college that you enjoy and feel you will be most successful academically socially and physically.

    In three sentences

    Albright college is a 10 and beyond, because of the small campus makes it easy to maneuver to classes with ease in a reasonable amount of time. The students are friendly and active in the different clubs and organization they are in. The facilities are well kept and although the buildings have an old style look outside, inside is a modern look which is nice.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    23 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    With Albright you'll have to make you're own fun. So, make sure you find friends you can really be yourself around because Albright does not have an abundance of things to do. Every now and then there will be some performances by magicians or comedians, but on an everyday/every week basis you have to know how to make your own fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good in the first month maybe, but after that you'll get tired of the same burger and fires you've had every week, but talking to other college students from different institues they've had the same experience. So, it's pretty much just a college thing.

    Dorm Life

    Great. The only issue you might have is your roomate. There's nothing anyone can do about that. If you feel there is going to be a problem between you two in the beginning nip it in the bud by either talking to him/her about it or get your room changed.

    Academic Rigor

    Not hard at all. The teachers, well most of them, are very friendly and easy to talk to. So, if you find yourself struggling in any area see what your professor can do to help. Plus, there is a great tutoring program there, so don't be afraid to get involved with that.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be yourself. If you're trying to be someone you're not you will end up missing out on friends who you'll really have fun with. Never lose who you are: always be proud of the real you.

    In three sentences

    Albright is a place where a student can really call themself at home. The teachers become good friends and friends become family. The campus is small enough to feel loved and important, but big enough to be free.

  • 09/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 39

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is always some type of activity to do on campus. I like to hang out with friends in the commuter lounge, going to the plays, art exhibits, musical shows, and many other things on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    As a History Concentrator I must say the professors are some of the best! If you are someone that is interested in the History of the Holocaust there is an amazing Area of Concentration in Holocaust Studies.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a school that has small class sizes Albright is the place to be. If you are a Berks County native then apply for the Shirk Scholarship, Albright can be pricey but it is well worth the cost.

  • 09/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is great. The campus has it's own public safety. Yes, there are things that do happen, but its not frequently.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a huge diversity of clubs/activities here. They are very interesting and fun!

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for any type of student: social or not social.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Well, for a birthday boy/girl, they get ponded. They get thrown into a pond located on-campus. Now, I'm a freshman and my birthday is in June, so I am kinda lucky.

    Bang for the buck

    It does cost enough money to go here, but there is a lot of grants/scholarships, and financial aid to help pay for most of it.

    What to do for fun

    You can do anything here. Play around, whether it be sports or games, socialize (everyone is really friendly), or even attend activities/clubs here. I'm in a dance team here.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great. Even though the food is repeated, the usual, the food still rocks. Especially the cookies they make. Oh how I love their raisin, oatmeal cookies!

    Dorm Life

    I have no idea how the dorms are because I am a commuter, but I have some friends that do and they seem to enjoy it very much.

    Academic Rigor

    This university really does meet up with what it says.

    Tips for prospective students

    All I can say is study, stay determined, and BELIEVE. Believe in your school/university. Believe in youself most importantly.

    In three sentences

    Albright College is a very extraordinary place. It's has so many diversities of ethnicities here. I finally feel at home here.

  • 10/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    We have three fraternities Alpha Sigma Pi, Sigma Alpha Epsilon, and Pi Kappa Phi. We also have sororities Phi Mu, Sigma Kappa, and Alpha Delta Pi

    Clubs and Activities

    many different sports to choose from and a lot more clubs as well.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On a persons birthday it is an Albright tradition to throw the person in the pond.

    In three sentences

    It is a very personalized school, the teachers go out of their way to help you. The library is open late when you need to study in a quiet environment. Also there are various activities to do on campus.

  • 10/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    we have a text alert system that your parents can enroll in and there is always a presence of the school security as well as local police

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none come to mind

    Bang for the buck

    we have a plaza near the school (walking distance) with a dollar store and several grocery stores as well as a WAWA

    What to do for fun

    we have various malls near the school as well as bowling and the fitness center

    Food and Dining

    it's good food and always fresh

    Dorm Life

    It's all about being a family and getting together. Don't forget to be honest with one another these are people your going to live with

    Tips for prospective students

    be postive, be open to the new experience and ask questions all the time don't just assume

    In three sentences

    I attend the summer program in 2011 and football camp in 2011 that experience was the best experience of my life. I learned a lot about being away from home for the first time and trusting people you will live with that you dont know. I meet some great people

  • 12/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    all types of students..such a diverse population

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    ponding on your birthday...getting thrown into the pond, doesnt matter how cold out it is

    Bang for the buck

    my parents say its very expensive but worth the money

    What to do for fun

    always something to do around campus or you can just chill in your dorm with friends

    Food and Dining

    excellent food service. wide variety of choices.

    Dorm Life

    Love Love Love Crowell......Always fun

    Academic Rigor

    albright is a small private college but with an intense academic program. Class rooms are small which is excellent for learning. Professors are excellent,helpful and friendly

  • 12/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    We have several Greek organizations on campus!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are endless ways to get involved on campus!

    Great for these types of students

    If your outgoing and love people and new experiences this is the place for you!

    Bang for the buck

    Don't be discouraged by your financial aid! If you need more money call and ask! They helped me!

    What to do for fun

    Take a late night walk to WaWa or Giant! Also, the mall is a 2 minute drive from the campus! After that, head to Mama's Pizza for the greatest food of your life!

    Food and Dining

    Albright just got a completely new dining area and it is simply amazing! The food is great for every meal!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is amazing! There is always something to do! Think of it as a never ending time with friends! The rooms are also the biggest I've seen compared to other colleges I had visited.

    Academic Rigor

    Albright challenges you to think in ways you never believed you could. They push students to explore ideas outside of the classroom and expand their knowledge on almost everything! Also, Albright provides advisers and mentors that help you at anytime of day or night. Professors want you to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the school first. Albright wasn't my first choice but when I visited the campus I knew I was home. Also, if you're living on campus be sure to bring dress clothes! You might think you won't need them but you do!

    In three sentences

    This school makes you feel welcome from day one! At Albright everyone is a family! I love it here!

  • 02/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I am a student and a Public Safety officer here at Albright and we have Police Officers, State Troopers, and the local Police departments all working together and keeping our students safe!

    Great for these types of students

    Any and all types of students can come here. City kids, country kids, international students, EVERYONE!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    With construction everyday new locations are popping up every semester. At the current moment the best location to be in the small pond in the center of campus that is easy to study next to and right next to a chapel in case you need a quick prayer before that exam!

    Bang for the buck

    Any student can succeed at albright. You have evening programs, accelerated programs, day programs, an entire center dedicated to ensuring quality papers are being produced. Albright is worth every penny.

    What to do for fun

    The student that attends this college is in Reading, PA! There is the world famous Pike Cafe where you can watch sports and eat the famous wings. The Reverb dance club and the Reading Phillies Sports teams. All within walking distance!

    Food and Dining

    The food at Albright is fine dining! With short order cooks making food fresh, to convenient mini shops on campus for a quick snack, Albright offers many options for every hungry stomach.

    Dorm Life

    There are many dorms available and the rooms are clean with free wifi.

    Academic Rigor

    Albright presents its students with challenges academically and personally. There are programs to fill every need for every student.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you come to Albright don't be afraid to ask anyone on campus for help, directions, or just to make a new friend. People on campus are friendly and family like!

    In three sentences

    Albright College is a safe, clean, and welcoming environments for students from every walk of life. The college is centralized in Reading, PA so shopping and pleasure is available. Albright College has professors who are experienced, intelligent, and personable with students and faculty.

  • 03/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Albright has shuttles and a Public Safety Office. There are many things to go to incase of an emergency , like help buttons located all around campus.

    Greek Life

    Many chances to get involved in Greek Life. It's a great way to get involved and meet people fast.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and activities to get involved in. Anything you can think of there is a club for it. There is also the opportunity to create your own club.

    Great for these types of students

    Albright is great for outgoing or shy students. It offers many chances to get involved, so meeting people is nothing to worry about. Albright is for determined and hardworking students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Albright college has a Career Develpoment Center which offers help to students looking for jobs and internships. There's also a Study Abroad Center for those looking to study abroad.

    Bang for the buck

    At first glance, Albright is an expensive school, but Albright offers so many scholarships and financial help.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something to do on campus for fun, whether its a play, dance, off campus activity, or club meetings.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria offers a variety of foods. I love Jakes Place because it's quick if you just want something quick to eat. There's also Jake's Java where you can get a cup of coffee and a dessert.

    Dorm Life

    There are many dorms, and they're just the right size.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are great, and small classes allows the teacher to get to know everyone personally. Most classes are challenging, but fun and exciting.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved and shoot for your dreams. Getting involved will make you meet people fast. If you are passionate about something, go for it. You don't know til you try.

    In three sentences

    Albright is such a diverse and fun school and I love being an Albright Lion. Albright offers many majors as well as so many things to get involved in like clubs and organizations. Albright is a small campus which allows teachers to know you on a personal level.

  • 04/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 32 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    not applied to me, I am an older student and do not live on campus

    Greek Life

    not applied to me

    Clubs and Activities

    not applied to me, I am an older student and do not live on campus

    Great for these types of students

    not applied to me, I am an older student and do not live on campus

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    not applied to me, I am an older student and do not live on campus

    Bang for the buck

    For every 3 course you take, the 4th is free.

    What to do for fun

    not applied to me, I am an older student and do not live on campus

    Food and Dining

    not applied to me, I am an older student and do not live on campus

    Dorm Life

    not applied to me, I am an older student and do not live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    5 star

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are an older student, ask questions. Have a plan for studying and have a great support system at home.

    In three sentences

    I am a returning student (older than 40). I am in the accelerated program and I love it. I can be challenging, but it is worth it.

  • 06/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on campus. If you use common sense (don't walk outside by yourself at 3A.M.) you will be fine. Public safety offers shuttles that run every hour and will drive you around campus and to the local wawa and supermarket. They also have cars that patrol the campus constantly. It is generally a very safe campus.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is really what you make of it. I am a member of Phi Mu and I love it. I cannot speak for any other organization on campus but I was treated very nicely during pledging and was never hazed. My sorority encourages good relations among the sisters, academic excellence, respect for yourself and others. Phi Mu at Albright is a group of very diverse, intelligent and down to earth girls. These girls have been my rock in good times and bad. I'm still able to keep my friends that are not in Greek life as well. There's no harm in checking out Greek life and seeing if it is for you and maybe you'll even find your home like a lot of us do. I promise it is not like the movies.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm in about six clubs on campus and I love all of them. There have been many upperclassemen that I've met through different activities and they have been nothing but supportive. You can really be a big fish in a small pond on this campus. Definitley get involved. It will make you happier and motivate you to do well. And it'll help you make friends. :)

    Great for these types of students

    Creative, Motivated, Friendly, Down to earth, kind.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a pond on campus and on your birthday your friends find you and take all your electronics away, take you to the pond and throw you in. Sounds scary, but it's fun and we all laugh a lot.

    Bang for the buck

    It's expensive and I don't have a ton of money, but I love this school. I can't put a price on the friends, memories, connections, support, and happiness.

    What to do for fun

    The Activities Council brings free events (comedians, musicians, mentalists) to campus every month. The events are free and a great study break. Join a club, sport, or activity. Many groups hold meetings or events during the week or on the weekends. Get involved and make friends and you'll have plenty to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is pretty good. There is less variety on the weekends, but during the week there is a decent amount available. Cereal, bagels, waffles, and ice cream are available all day.

    Dorm Life

    Living on campus is a great experience. The freshmen only dorms can get kind of loud but it's easy to get used to. All freshmen dorms have a lounge with tables, chairs, couches, and a tv. Most students are very friendly and it is very easy to make friends with the people in your building. Mohn hall is the honors dorm and is generally very quiet. Mohn also has additional study lounges and computer labs. North hall is suite style (one roommate, about 12 share a bathroom with three stalls and showers.) Krause is community stlye (one roommate, bathroom at the end of the hall) for upperclassmen. The woods are on campus two bedroom apts (one roommate, four people total in your apartment, one kitchen and living room) Overall I feel safe in the dorms and I enjoy living on campus a lot.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes vary in difficulty level but if you stay on top of things, you will be fine. The professors really do care about their students so if you need help don't be afraid to ask. The writing center offers free editing for all your papers. You sit with them while they look over your paper so you learn not to make the same mistakes again. Peer tutoring is also free and available for most general education classes. Class sizes are rarely larger than 25. Professors count participation and attendance as part of your grade. You are not just a number here. Professors and your advisors also hold office hours for you to privately ask qustions and address your concerns.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved. Be friendly. Ask your professors for help. Go to the writing center. Study. Don't procrastinate. Make the best of your time here.

    In three sentences

    Albright gives you the chance to be a big fish in a small pond. Everyone always has a smile on their face and it is very easy to make friends if you put yourself out there. There is always something to do on campus and the professors really care about the students.

  • 10/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very Safe! Campus security will escort you back from places inside and outside the campus if you are stranded or do not feel safe

    Greek Life

    Awesome, a lot of fraternities and sororities to choose from and not to mention all the rush events!

    Clubs and Activities

    So many clubs for so many interests. Recently added was a Bronie club

    Great for these types of students

    Yes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On your birthday it is traditional that your friends may try to pond you by throwing you in the fountain

    Bang for the buck

    There are so many fun events and shows that you as a student can go to for free.

    What to do for fun

    I go to Improv club or go to the mall on mall mondays

    Food and Dining

    They have the best made to order pasta and a brick oven for pizza

    Dorm Life

    Amazing! The dorms are small and friends are easy to come by

    Academic Rigor

    It is pretty average on workload but may vary depending on your major

    Tips for prospective students

    Have a list of questions you have for tour guides Ask about puppies in the library and Broadway trips

    In three sentences

    Small but completely manageable with professors that really care and people that are very accepting! I recommend coming here If you want a quality education with small class sizes and great academic support.

  • 12/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe.

    Greek Life

    No African American Greek organizations at all on this campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Coaches are ok but follow the athletic director blindly. Athletic director and trainers are the worst. Do not treat injuries properly and then try to cover up by blaming the student. If you are a serious athlete do not go here.

    Great for these types of students

    Science or business majors that want a small environment. The enrollment totals online are not accurate because they include graduate and online students who are not on campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Ponding which means throwing students in a pond on their birthdays.

    Bang for the buck

    For the price and the amount I pay is a good deal because I got a lot of financial aid but I probably would at any other school too. The education is ok and the athletics are awful.

    What to do for fun

    Participate in on campus activities but sometimes this can be expensive so pick and chose wisely. Even though we are college students a lot of these activities are pricey and not every child is a Trump.

    Food and Dining

    Food selection is ok but I sear they put some type of laxative in the food because you constantly have to run to the bathroom after eating.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are old and even the renovated ones are not that nice, Rooms are extremely small and this year some kids were three to a room.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are challenging and you do earn your degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your research and ask staff and students a lot of specific questions. If you are being recruited for a sport as I was ask as many questions as you can like will your team and individual meetings with coaches interfere with your eating schedule and classes. Will you be expected to raise money for the team and why? Find out how easy/difficult it will be to get a red shirt if injured. Find out how many red shirts were given and what the students grade level and ethnicity was. Ask about majors and what types of teachers are teaching the courses and the chances of getting a different teacher in the same course mid session.

    In three sentences

    Do NOT go here if you are an athlete! Too small. Good with social events.

  • 12/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public safety does there job very well

    Clubs and Activities

    Caribbean culture club

    What to do for fun

    We do party and throw many cool fun experience event. Join clubs take public safety

    Food and Dining

    Breakfast is the best :) The food is the best during the weekdays and Brunch on sunday

    Dorm Life

    Once you get adjusted to sharing a bathroom with many people you will be fine.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors hold you to high expectations

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for many scholarships, stay on track and you will enjoy being here unless you are playing sports because it is D3

    In three sentences

    Albright college is a nice atmosphere which is really comforting especially when you are away from home. Although Albright is not a party school, if you really care about a good education it is a very good choice. Albright is dedicated to help you learn.

  • 01/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Students get thrown into a small pond on their birthday.

    What to do for fun

    Play a sport- basketball, football, soccer, track, tennis, baseball, softball, lacrosse. Join the Domino Players, a theater group. Go see a play. Join a sorority or fraternity. Join a club - tons of clubs. Play an instrument. Volunteer. Homecoming weekend. Get an on-campus job. Be a cheerleader. Get tickets to the bus trip to NY and see a Broadway show. Stop by the campus center and catch the latest musician, comedian, hypnotist, dancer or singer. Go to parties. Hang out at the local pizza place. Head to the mall, target, walmart, Imax theater.

    Food and Dining

    My opinion is that the food is good. It varies on the day. It's college so I don't expect 5 star meals. Sometimes the cafeteria will have a theme and do all summer foods or all spicy foods, ect.

    Dorm Life

    Never lived in the dorms so I would not know.

    Academic Rigor

    All classes have certain ranges of difficulty. It's not a breeze but most teachers are fair. If you do your best, you will get good grades. There's also free tutoring if you are struggling and need more help!

    Tips for prospective students

    Join a club and make new friends while either learning something new or enjoying a favorite hobby!

    In three sentences

    Albright College is a small liberal arts school in Reading, PA. I love the small class size because it allows more interaction with the teacher and your peers. There is always something going on whether it is a sorority/fraternity event, clubs, theatrical plays, performing musicians or sporting events.

  • 01/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Three sororities and three fraternities. Small but seem fun.

    Great for these types of students

    People who are going for art, theater, education, or fashion.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Ponding.. throwing people in the pond on their birthdays.

    What to do for fun

    I really only got involved in going to the gym and some sorority activities.

    Food and Dining

    Food is pretty good most of the time. I just wish there were more places to eat.

    Dorm Life

    It all depends on what building you live in. I was placed in North Hall which is typically for upper class men. It is a suite style building and as upper class men you would choose the 11 other people that you live with. As a freshman I had no saw in who I lived with. I unfortunately did not like any of my suite mates and I felt that I didn't have a full opportunity to meet new people.

    Academic Rigor

    My first semester was pretty great! I didn't have too much homework, I actually had a lot of down time. Nothing was far too difficult and if I felt it was then I contacted my teachers. I ended the semester with a 3.335!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in the beginning of the semester. Since it is such a small school it is easy to be the one person who doesnt make friends. I suggest joining some sort of group or finding a group of people.

    In three sentences

    Beautiful small campus. Really wonderful gym facilities! Great teachers who are nice and friendly.

  • 04/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 39

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Good considering the surrounding area.

    Great for these types of students

    Outgoing and hard working.

    Bang for the buck

    Very expensive education that you can get elsewhere for much less. Unless someone is paying your way through school I would suggest looking else where otherwise you will graduate with 80,000 + in loans just for and undergraduate. The 80,000 is what a year and a semester would cost attending here.

    Food and Dining

    They have many options for students. If you are vegan or gluten free there would be little to nothing to eat.

    Dorm Life

    Not good. Buildings are very old and showers in some of the dorms have moldy ceilings.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on your major. Some majors are not as rigorous than others. They do not offer many electives.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look into what you want out of your college experience. Albright does not offer the crazy college experience you would get at larger schools. Look into the curriculum they offer. Some of the majors may not be the best for what you would like to do.

    In three sentences

    The education you receive at Albright can be found at any other school. The only positive outcome of paying thousands of dollars and a constant tuition raise every year are the possible connections you might have depending on your major.