Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Alcorn State University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/20/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 out of 18 people found this review useful. 1 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Just because Alcorn State University is a historically black institute does not mean that it is just for black students. Students nationwide should want attend this school because of minority opportunities and for expansion of exposure to different cultures.

    Tips for prospective students

    I am a prospective student myself. I will be attending Alcorn State Univerisity in the fall. Tips I would provide to other prospective students would be as follows: be prepared for the college world and be prepared to learn. If you want to attend a school that will be of assistance to you in any way, Alcorn State University is the place to be/

    Will enjoy being here

    Not only is Alcorn State University a great school-it is like your home away from home. The staff is friendly and willing to support you in anyway. The staff as well as the students welcome you with open arms as an Alcornite.

    Will learn a lot

    Anybody who is pursuing an education at Alcorn State University will be in a positive learning environment:full of fun and a better understanding about careers all in one.

  • 11/10/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students interested in pursuing a science degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    It gets lonely here sometime so disobeying the rules is likely. Do your best to follow rules here or anywhere.

    Bang for the buck

    For being an instate student, it is not that expensive to attend. The cost of attendance is not as high as it seems and refund checks are lovely. :)

    Am enjoying being here

    My time at Alcorn is spent studying and with the band. I have fun also and the people are very helpful and friendly.

    Am learning a lot

    Especially if one is pursuing a career in any science program.

  • 02/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 3 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Alcorn is a great school for students who love the country.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you expect to go to a school in the city and party all the time do not come to Alcorn. If you expect to just party do not come to Alcorn because education comes first and the administrators will not mind sending you home because you flunked out.

    Bang for the buck

    Alcorn does not have the best dorms, buildings, etc., but it is a great school.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being at Alcorn. It is in the country like my home is, so I feel right at home. It is really nice at Alcorn and everyone seems like family.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning about how to live daily, but more importantly I am learning about the profession I am pursuing.

  • 07/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Alcorn is a great school for people who want to lead and become successful in life. Alcorn prepares you for the real world.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would like to tell all prospective students to go to Alcorn focused on their goals. This simply means to have fun but not too much fun where you won't be able to achieve your goal that was set before attending Alcorn.

    Bang for the buck

    Alcorn has great new dormitories and an amenities building. The dorms may be expensive but they are amazing. The amenities building is equipped with a gym, lounge area, and a game room.

    Am enjoying being here

    Alcorn is a place to obtain an education as well as have fun. Although it is in the country events such as parties,probates,games, and concerts will definitely keep you entertained.

    Am learning a lot

    Many of the teachers at Alcorn State University are extremely educated. They will let you know what they expect from you that very first day and are very helpful to their students. For example, if you don't understand something they will take the time to explain. They want to make sure their students are well-educated.

  • 11/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Good with helping you...

    Greek Life

    Excellent.....

    Clubs and Activities

    Good programs....

    Great for these types of students

    Smart and willing to work....

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Union...

    Bang for the buck

    Good environment to live in....

    What to do for fun

    We have parties and games...

    Food and Dining

    GOOD!!!

    Dorm Life

    NICE!!!!

    Academic Rigor

    GREAT!!!!!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Come and experience a good time at our school you will really enjoy it.

    In three sentences

    It's a great school to attend.We have a good time learning.They are so helpful when ever you need them.

  • 06/03/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Fun,

    Tips for prospective students

    JUST BE YOURSELF! Alcorn is a small school, you will know just about everyone..

    Bang for the buck

    Being an out-of-state student is really expensive! apply for the grants...

    Am enjoying being here

    THERE IS NO PLACE LIKE THE YARD! ONCE AN ALCORNITE, ALWAYS AN ALCORNITE!!!

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers are well educated, and know what they are dong.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Alcorn has ccampus police on 24 hour watch. A key card is needed to access dormitories after 11 pm. Campus entrance gates are monitoried 24/7.

    Greek Life

    Alcorn is home of the Divine 9 African-American fraternities and sororities.

    Bang for the buck

    At Alcorn you receive a high quality education at a lower price, so there is no need to worry about an enormous student loan debt after college.

    What to do for fun

    There is never a dull moment at Alcorn. The huge plot of grass and oak trees, nicknamed the yard, next to the cafeteria serves as a popular social hangout for Greek organizations, student groups, and barbecuers. There are concerts and parties with big celebrities, like Gucci Mane and Travis Porter, throughout the year that is sponsored by the school.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria here at Alcorn is buffet style and serves a wide variety of food. There are many different stations for pizza, hamburgers, pasta, etc. However, one thing that will never change is the southern tradition at Alcorn of serving chicken on Wednesday and fish on Friday.

    Dorm Life

    The dormitory life at Alcorn is one of the best. The new dormitories include many amenities such as a full size refrigerator, a sink, microwave, and a flat screen. Room assistants also set up social activities with everyone on the floor on different occasions.

    Academic Rigor

    One of the best advantages about Alcorn is that your classes are relatively smaller than classes at larger schools. This means that you have a better opportunity to meet with your instructor and receive help with objectives you do not fully comprehend.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advise prospective students to be active and involved on campus. Do not just go to class, join organizations and develop a network with other students in your field or in your areas of weakness, so that you do not just develop academically but socially as well.

    In three sentences

    Alcorn is a true academic resort, lying beneath the shade of the great oak trees, to quote our Alma Mater. Alcorn's campus is flourished with vast amounts of these huge pristine trees, making it a true southern paradise. On closer inspection one can observe the highest quality of education being taught by the brilliant and excellent instructors of our university.

  • 06/29/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Alcorn is generally safe, mostly because of how far it is from anything. The campus police could patrol more and enforce more but really there arent that many issues of safety. There are always instances of breakins and robberies, etc, but that's everywhere. Alcorn is no less safe than any other place.

    Greek Life

    The greek life, particularly the probates are the most visited campus events. Everyone comes out in support though there is rarely enough room in the old gym to hold all of the people. It is filled really beyond its capacity for these events, but if you're lucky enough to get there early and get a seat at the top, you'll be able to see a lot. Don't sit in the front because people who come late will just stand in front of you and you wont be able to see anything at all.

    Clubs and Activities

    Athletics are another good thing about Alcorn. I personally think that athletes have it better off, particularly if you were recruited because your coaches and your teammates look out for you.

    What to do for fun

    Since Alcorn is so secluded there honestly isn't much to do for fun unless you drive 30min to Vicksburg or Natchez, and 90 min to Jackson (the state capital). That's why I feel if someone attends Alcorn, they should really have a car. Of course students will always find ways to occupy their time, though I personally found many of their pastimes to be immoral. Fun is to each's own.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Alcorn State University has really improved over the past couple years. My freshman year there was only fried meat and potatoes at every meal. Now there are vegetarian options, a salad bar equipped with hummus! Sodexo seems to be improving every year so despite the fact that there are mainly burgers fries, and pizza and every meal, I know that they are working towards improvement. I can at least get healthier options now that wont lead to heart disease or high cholesterol.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are probably the best thing about Alcorn State University, as long as you stay on one of the Medgar Wiley Evers Buildings. The older buildings like Revels, Girls' Honors, and Burrus are dilapidated. One of them even smells like mold. The newer dorms though are quite nice. There's air-conditioning and a mostly functional elevator. The rooms are nice and clean and the handicapped rooms have so much space. The only bad thing about the new dorms is the frequency that the fire-alarms are pulled in the middle of the night. If that problem could be solved, I would have no issues at all.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor at Alcorn State University is actually one of the more appealing aspects of the school. The school offers a variety of majors and special programs, though the support system in place for struggling students could use some improvement. Once you get into classes specific to your major, the teachers really try to help you and support you because they want to see you do well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Only choose Alcorn State University if you are comfortable with a very isolated campus and secluded lifestyle. I grew up in a highly populated city, so it was quite a shock for me to be on a campus that is 40 miles from a walmart or mcdonalds, and 30 miles from any type of convenience store or gas station. Thankfully there is a gas station on campus, but as I said, only attend this school if you are ready to drive those long distances or else be simply cut off from the rest of civilization.

    In three sentences

    Alcorn State University is a small school in a very rural and secluded area. While I found the academics to be up to par, I thought that the organization of the administration could use some major improvements. Most things are just so unorganized that it takes much longer to get anything done, like if you were to change your major or home address.

  • 08/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    it's a great school

    Am enjoying being here

    beacause it's the right school for me

    Am learning a lot

    about agriculture

  • 12/30/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    All type of students

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and don't be afraid to ask questions.

  • 01/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students with ACT scores 26 and above- full scholarship Students who have low test scores around 18 can get in Students who are used to rural environments and are not from urban areas.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your finincial aid applications and scholarship applications early. It is a hastle to get people in financial aid to help and you will get the run around very frequently.

    Bang for the buck

    I think tuition is a bit over priced for what the students recieve but the new dorms are amazing and the cafe food is really good on most days.

    Am enjoying being here

    There is not much to do because the school is not near any close cities. It is about 45 minutes from a walmart or a movies, or mall. But it is a very friendly environment and the people you meet there are all nice and caring.

    Am learning a lot

    Some classes are challenging some classes are not. Many students have to go graduate school before being offered job opportunities.

  • 02/25/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 12 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i was most alarmed by the fact that security was so lax. anyone can come on campus! the security guards at the front gate wave every car in without so much as taking down the tag number or asking for identification. 24-7 people come in and out as they please through the front gate because there is no curfew. there's a back gate as well and i've never seen anyone there. after a certain time the back gates are closed. police officers are seen riding around handing out tickets left and right throughout the day, i will say that.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are a number of activities hosted at the student union building, but the space is very limited. there is also a block party to raise money for the various organizations. this was the highlight of my time here.

    Great for these types of students

    students who don't mind a laid-back, rural setting.

    What to do for fun

    fun is not a word i would use to describe this campus. every single, solitary party is held at the campus night club called illusions. there is no air, and if there is you will most likely pass out before you get wind of it because it's such a small space over-capacity with students. any other parties are held at the another club about twenty minutes away called sensations. without a ride, you most likely won't be attending. flyers for parties in jackson float around campus but that's an hour and thirty minutes away. again, without a ride there isn't much to do. if you come here i suggest you make a lot of friends or make your own fun by picking up a hobby.

    Food and Dining

    i will say that the eatery in the student union building was nice. there's a pizza hut/ wing street and a sub connection resembling subway. i never tried the sub connection but the pizza hut was always appetizing, everything but the prices. the students are getting ripped-off and they know it. the personal pan pizzas are literally the size of my hand with my fingers out-stretched (i have a small hand). this item costs $5.99 before tax all by itself! the meal with tax is somewhere around $8.50, including a drink and bread sticks. the bread sticks are delicious and reasonably priced. their hot wings aren't bad either. food in the dining hall or cafe as we called it is mediocre. there's a burger and fry line, a salad bar, a hot meal line, a cold cut sandwich line, and a pizza line. if they underestimate the number of students eating lunch/ dinner that day, then two of the lines may be shut down causing ridiculously long lines and you may be late for your next class.

    Dorm Life

    the dorm life was the best thing there. i liked my roommate and we got along most of the time. our room was very spacious and we shared a bathroom with the girls next door. though the resident directors were fairly nice to me and everyone else, they stayed to themselves downstairs and if you didn't need anything you'd never see them. my dorm had two floors and a back door. it was addressed in a meeting that no one should use the back doors, but they never actually checked. girls had grown men coming in and out of our building and well into daylight hours like they lived there. some of them were regulars, going to class and coming back without a doubt in their mind that they would not get caught and to be honest, they wouldn't.

    Academic Rigor

    my english professor was the best teacher i had while i was there. he was efficient, gave decent assignments, and was clear and precise in his instructions. the work wasn't hard at all but it was his desire for teaching that made the difference. one of my other teachers lectured us about what was going on at the various award shows and the happenings on tv more often than not. when we did actually learn in his class, our notes never seemed to correspond with anything on the test. after we brought this to his attention he altered his approach but we were nearing our final exam.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you've always lived in a rural area and are focused solely on school work, then i say this may be the place for you. if you're coming from a big city like i was, you may experience culture shock seeing as though the closest walmart is almost forty-five minutes away. the campus is a ghost town on weekends so if you have a car, i suggest you make haste because the dining hall serves brunch both saturday and sunday during lunch hours and at dinner. another thing that i didn't understand is that the dining hall will sometimes run out of food on weekends, but they insist on bringing young children there as a field trip and feed them knowing there's barely enough food for us. one last thing is the construction and rebuilding the dorm facilities. at least three times during the first semester the water was shut off for hours at a time in my building (the honors dorm), the dining hall, and many other dorms.

    In three sentences

    it wasn't what i expected at all. teachers that motivate the students are few and far between, and the coursework is mundane and repetitive. the morale of the school as a whole is very low.

  • 03/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    going to the sporting events on campus. participating in activities that organizations throw.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria has a wide range of different foods to give variety.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are clean with good living conditions. they have four new dorms that are really nice including a refridgerator and microwave.

    Academic Rigor

    class sizes are fairly small with the professors that are ver knowledgable about the information.

  • 03/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    I really can't say much about Greek life since I am not part of a fraternity.

    Great for these types of students

    Alcorn is great for any student who wants to go to college and succeed. The teachers & staff there all have 1 common goal and that is to help the students do whatever it takes to be successful.

    What to do for fun

    For fun I like playing video games.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for prospective students: 1) The campus is in a place of it's own, which allows for plenty time to study, 2) The student-teacher ratio is at the student's advantage allowing good communication between the student & teacher & 3) There's an open door policy that is truly in effect with all of the professors, faculty & staff. This is an important policy to have set in place for students who may encounter situations that might require privacy.

    In three sentences

    Alcorn State is like a diamond in the rough. I have a cousin who along with his wife who are Alcorn alumni. My cousin talked to me about Alcorn and at first I was hesitate about going visit the campus, but when I did I was taken away instantly by the Spirit of everyone encountered.

  • 03/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I believe safety is left up adults to present themselves as adults. However, when such situations occur, authorities are there to resolve issues in a respectable manner.

    Clubs and Activities

    Students can get involved in just about any club or activity they are interested in.

    Great for these types of students

    This university is great for people who nature. Also, for those who like great social environments, this is the place to be. Most importantly, anyone who wants to be successful and pursue a career, come to Alcorn.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a lot of historical sites and buildings near and on the campus. We have chicken Wednesdays and Fish Friday's, were the mentioned entrees are served.

    Bang for the buck

    We have programs that significantly prepare students for which ever field they choose to go into. We have people from various careers who come and give us insight on what it take to be in their profession.

    What to do for fun

    I like play volleyball, read,go bowling, walk the campus, and enjoy the beautiful trees.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafe is good. Based on what type of meal plan you choose, you will have other options. There is a Sub-Connection,Starbucks and a Pizza Hut.

    Dorm Life

    I live in the newer dorms and the experience has been great. You share a room with three other people. It has a full bath area, a fridge, sink, and TV in the living area. You also have your personal closet and desk area.

    Academic Rigor

    Come with the intentions to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students should make sure they are ready for this type of environment. We are in the country and it brings about a different experience.

    In three sentences

    Alcorn has a great mentors. The campus is a safe environment. The professors here make sure that you learn the material.

  • 04/04/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    16 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Depending on what type of person you are will determine the things that will actually entertain you out there during your free-time.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe food is okay, sometimes it is a repeat but there are times where they try different things. And the flex dollars are the best part of the meal plan.Where you can spend them in Starbucks, Pizza Hut or SubConnection.

    Dorm Life

    The New Dorms in my opinion are the best dorms out there. Yes they are a tad bit more expensive then the renovated dorms but I think it is well worth the extra money.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are so big as to where your a number, the classes are smaller in size especially your major classes, where as your teacher will know you on a first and last name basis.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you a city type of person, it's going to take a while for you to get use to your surroundings. But you will meet all type of phenomenal people along the way.

    In three sentences

    Alcorn is a great learning eviornment for all students. Alcorn teaches you survival skills that you would have never known you possessed. It just takes time getting use to the location.

  • 05/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police force and security protect the students from any dangers. They respond immediately and fully take care of any issues on campus.

    Greek Life

    There are many Greek organizations on campus. Too many to list all of them. There are enough Greek organizations on campus to match any similar views of students.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities. One to meet each of one's expectations. If there is not a club that you believe should be on campus, it is easy to start your own club with other like-minded individuals.

    Great for these types of students

    Academic students will be excited and will feel at home at Alcorn State University. Athletic students will also have a place and opportunities to express themselves accordingly.

    Bang for the buck

    The costs are definitely worth it. You get what you pay for: Excellence. Alcorn's academics are worth every penny. There is no price for an extremely useful education.

    What to do for fun

    Alcorn offers many exciting and busying forms of entertainment. In the campus union, there is a game room where students can play pool, cards, ping pong, and even bowl in the bowling alley. There are also many other events that will occur over the semester that will be posted on bulletin boards or sent to each student's Alcorn email address.

    Food and Dining

    Aside from an excellent dining facility, Alcorn State also offers a Pizza Hut Express, a deli, Wingstreet, and other restaurants just outside of the gates of the campus.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is exciting. It's nice to meet other students and build friendships. You never know who will end up being one of your best friends on campus. It's definitely worth a try.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic process is challenging to some, and easy to others. It is possible to become an honor student for those who want an extra challenge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused on your studies! Avoid clutter with paperwork. Stay in touch with your teachers via email or phone calls. Turn in all assignments. And continuously study to stay updated in all of your classes.

    In three sentences

    Alcorn has a very beautiful campus. The educational facilities are up-to-date and helpful. The faculty is friendly and willing to help a student in need.

  • 05/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Not many bad things happen on campus, but we do have campus police and security in case any dangerous incidents do occur. They aren't the best at actually responding to the things that go on, but we have a very small force so I assume that they do as much as they can.

    Greek Life

    We have eight of the Divine Nine fraternities and sororities of the Pan-Hellenic Counsel on our campus. We also have numerous community service and academic Greek organizations on our campus that students may join.

    Clubs and Activities

    At Alcorn, we have various clubs for students to join based on their major and their interest, and if there is a club a student would like to start they can do so. We also try to have different activities going on every month to keep students active and interested in campus life so we don't all get bored and feel like we live on the most boring campus ever. Some examples of our clubs are the Interfaith Choir, Gospel Choir, Men's Chorale, Math and Computer Science Club, Poetry Club, and the Student Government Association. Some activities that we are used to having every year are Homecoming Week, the newly included Unity Through Diversity Week, Courageous Conversations which is also new, Brave-Fest, Purple and Gold week, as well as many other unique and exciting activities that go on as students and staff come up with ideas.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who are focused, simple fun-loving, do not mind being on their own and finding things to do on their own. It is hard to survive out here if you get bored or discouraged easily, or if you aren't very friendly.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year, we have a bon-fire before we leave for Thanksgiving break. Also, when it's hot out, some students play in the fountain on the campus plaza if it is turned on. We're not supposed to, but hey, it's fun! Students always hang out in many places on campus when they aren't in class, such as the yard also known as the campus green, where most of the trees are, or on the bike trail, at the park near the campus entrance, or at the parking lots and sitting ares of each dorm. Traditionally, first year students are taken by other first year or upperclassmen students to the Windsor Ruins, which is a former slave mansion and plantation, as well as an old historic church that is down the street from the ruins, and to the ghost-town Rodney, Mississippi. All of these places are spooky at night, and are even said to be haunted by former slaves, so it is always interesting to take people who haven't been before, and give them a scare.

    Bang for the buck

    Overall, if you are independent and optimistic-minded, then you will enjoy your time at Alcorn. It's rough at first, but it is easy to adjust once you gain friends and get to know the staff, instructors and other campus faces. As long as you keep an open mind and stay focused on your work and balancing it with fun, you will absolutely LOVE this school, despite the seclusion of the campus.

    What to do for fun

    What we do for fun at Alcorn is hang out with each other. Students participate in campus activities as well as just hanging around with their own friends in their personal times. Outside of campus activities, there isn't much to do, so we make our own fun, whether it be by playing card or board games, hanging outside at the park or on the bike trail, or figuring out some type of adventure to go on as I would say. Off campus, you could go to either Vicksburg or Natchez and go to the mall, Walmart, the theater, bowling or other things you could find to do. Or, you could go so far as taking a trip to Jackson if you have the time, because that's the largest city in Mississippi and that is where the best of everything is, as far an shopping and other forms of entertainment.

    Food and Dining

    The food in our dining hall is not good. Some days we may have something that taste good, but overall, you never know what kind of madness you will be served when you come into The Caf. But, fret not! We also have a mini-Starbucks right next to the cafeteria in our dining facility, and we have a Pizza Hut/Sub Connection that is down the street from the dining facility. And even if you don't wish to eat at those places, there are a few good places to eat that are less than 5-10 minutes off campus. Students also cook in their rooms from time to time. I feel like we could have more options on campus, where we would be able to spend our flex-dollars, but as an Alcornite, you make due with the options that you have.

    Dorm Life

    Alcorn has four new dormitories, two for males and two for females. We also have three older dorms, Revels Hall for males and Burrus Hall and the Honors Dorm for females. The older dorms are okay, but Revels, the males dorm could use some renovation. The Honors Dorm is in it's own area on campus, therefore it is quiet and a great place for female students who don't like noise while they study. Burrus Hall is a renovated dorm and is also pretty quiet, but is in a busier area on campus so there will be some liveliness in that area. The rooms in each of these dorms are not very big, but they provide enough space for two roommates to live in with their necessities. The new dorms, known as the Medgar Wiley Evers Heritage Village, were built a year or two ago & they look nice. The rooms in these four dorms are smaller than the rooms in the older dorms, but are suit-style with four students to a suite, two to a room, a small living/kitchen area and a bathroom. Also, each floor of these dorms are equipped with study rooms. Each dorm is equipped with student i.d. access.

    Academic Rigor

    The difficulty of the courses at Alcorn really depends on a person's major as well as the instructor teaching a course, as it probably would at any school. Overall, compared to bigger universities, the courses here aren't very difficult, but you WILL learn something if you apply yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some tips I would give to prospective students is to prepare yourselves for being at a school in the wilderness, because Alcorn State is literally located in the middle of a wooded area. Have a creative and optimistic mindset, because many times you will have to grab a couple of friends and create your own fun, since the city areas are at least thirty minutes away. You might not want to come to this school if you get homesick very easily or if you feel like you would not be able to handle going to school somewhere that is not in a big city.

    In three sentences

    I really love and enjoy going to Alcorn. Over the years, I have experienced many up's and down's, but overall I believe Alcorn is a great school. Here, students will experience culturally diverse learning and campus activities that will surely prepare them for any obstacles they may face in the real world.

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One tradition that everyone from the Alcorn family knows is that Chicken Wednesday is the one day where everyone, literally everyone, comes to the cafe.

    Bang for the buck

    Alcorn is in a location that is a little far from rural civilization which causes vendors to be located on campus to supply everyday needs. These things range from hygenical products to food. You can be certain that every dollar spent in the stores or restaurants located on this campus is a dollar well spent.

    What to do for fun

    At Alcorn, you can be sure to see groups of friends hanging outside and enjoying each other's company as well as the beautiful scenery of nature that Alcorn possesses. If you are not one of outside engagement, the student union houses a game room where people gather to play ping pong, bowling, pool, or classical card games.

    Food and Dining

    Alcorn State has a dining hall that serves foods of all types. The area is a place of not only eating from a choice of an all you can eat menu, but also a place to connect and interact with students and faculty from all over campus. Alcorn's Cafe is the one place where you will definitely see the brilliance of diversity at Alcorn State University.

    Dorm Life

    Residence life at Alcorn has a recently added complex that houses four to a suite, two to a room. Television, furniture, refridgerator, microwave, etc. are all equipped upon arrival. The facilities of all dorms are kept clean and neat by the students as well as the custodial staff of Alcorn State.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics at Alcorn are challenging but not too difficult to where the students are not able to succeed. The subject area and/or course varies in difficulty along with others, but teachers, professors, and tutors are always willing to assist in helping learn material.

    Tips for prospective students

    To prospective students of Alcorn State, it is essential that you begin to prioritize your life at Alcorn. Managing time wisely is the key to success at Alcorn. Adequately balance both academics as well as social.

    In three sentences

    Alcorn State is a very diverse school with a close bond with everyone on campus. The teachers are available and caring, and there are many opportunities in many different areas to be involved in student activities.

  • 07/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have our own police on campus. They do their job very well.

    What to do for fun

    Anything that the school is doing join. But, besides that people party

    Food and Dining

    Really great food, except you will eat the same thing every week, different days.

    Dorm Life

    Its not grade one dorm, but its very unique in its own way. Nothing to really complain about.

    Academic Rigor

    Before anything else, work is far most the important thing at Alcorn.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips are always short and sweet. Remember just be yourself.

    In three sentences

    Alcorn is a very exciting HBCU school that is on the rise here in Mississippi. This school has a very family like setting, in which it makes you feel at home away from home. We currently have the title for HBCU of The Year, I'm so excited.

  • 07/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    The greek life is always reaching to new and old student for support an they love doing events that involves all of the student body.

    What to do for fun

    The school always has some type of events going on so there is never a down moment at Alcorn State Univeristy.

    Food and Dining

    the food is pretty good you have so many different types of foods to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    the dorm life is great everyone is friendly, and you will feel right at home.

    Academic Rigor

    when needing help go to your teachers for help first it will save you from a lot of confusion.

    Tips for prospective students

    To make sure to keep in touch with the school during the process of getting ready to attend Alcorn State University so that you will save time to worry about other things when you arrive at Alcorn.

    In three sentences

    Alcorn state university is a university that is welling to help their students at any cost, no matter what the problem is.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Since Alcorn is fairly isolated, the SGA as well as other sororities and fraternities hold many different events for the student body.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall isn't the best, but you are able to get 3 square meals a day, and may return to the line as many times as you please. We also have Pizza Hut, C.J's, Patton's, and Sub Connection.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life, overall is fine. With the renovations being made, everyone will be living in luxury.

    Academic Rigor

    Classwork isn't all that hard. The teachers are pretty relaxed and down to earth. They may be cool, but they still expect you to do your assignments.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Stay focused, it's not hard to get of track. -Build a relationship with your instructor -Handle your business!!

    In three sentences

    The classes are small,therefore you're not just a number, you're a student. The teachers and staff are always willing to help. There are many activities for students throughout the year.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    23 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    AKA,Delta, Kappa, Theta

    Clubs and Activities

    Marching Band, key club.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    laying under the trees to talk

    Bang for the buck

    Kmart is the place for deals

    What to do for fun

    Go to the local town to the mall.

    Food and Dining

    The Cafe' has great food for all types of eaters.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very comfortable and high end.

    Academic Rigor

    There are mentors that will help freshman adapt.

    Tips for prospective students

    To make sure all financial documents are completed on time

    In three sentences

    Alcorn State has a very user friendly website. They have very helpful recruiters. Most importantly they answer all your phone calls.

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safe to an extent but not completely. We need new trained officers, that oppose as a threat not lazy. They suppose to check id's but often times they get lazy.

    Greek Life

    Is Live! A lot of Greek but they don't really do much work as far as advancement or showing leadership . There active but only to say there doing something. It seems more like an elite club but no leadership no one really stands or recognize issues that matter. Only do something if its big on News like Trayvon Martin. Most people do it for the love and some do it for popularity. However, some students see that and join to make a change and few do or remember to.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs are lazy but the music department is awesome. Recital is great to go to, and the Christian Music Choirs are amazing too. A few more organizations are coming this year so it should be great.

    Great for these types of students

    If you want to make an impact come on, but if you want to be a follower... then you should readjust your mindset. You will sink slowly like a small rock. Me and a few other students started an unoffical poetry club and we're making our imprint on campus too.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Its pretty fun and the multi-cultural event are awesome to me.

    Bang for the buck

    You will feel better if you came here on a scholarship but don't lose it. Refunds are slow coming.

    What to do for fun

    Truthfully, some of the more active students, play basketball, work out, play games and we go to some of the events on campus. Some students go to the club and parties and some students

    Food and Dining

    Some days are good and some days are bad. the weekends its terrible mostly we guess because the main chef leaves then. The hours need to be changed or readjusted. Its not working according to the students, in our opinion. On terrible days most of the student body go eat off campus. Best time to eat is when special events or when the alumni comes. They will fool you at the beginning but its not terrible in the latter more. Its better here then at other colleges so we heard. The cafeteria is big but since we have a steady increase were going to need another built in a decade if the rate increases.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is expensive and the choices aren't that great. For guys the choices are slim to none, sorry. Wi-Fi varies and its not a strong connection campus wide. However, they are SLOWLY making renovations to the dorms but also campus wide. Parking is terrible because of the burst of students we get yearly.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your major, depends on how rigorous it can be. Like Nursing, Chemistry, Music, Education, Agriculture and there related fields are pretty intense. Mass Communications, P.E., Recreation those departments don't have as much money so there not as up to date. The Psychology department is not that strong we need better teachers most change there major because the departments are lazy and not that active.

    Tips for prospective students

    Being level headed is vital! If your easily impressed and persuaded then you should be on the look out for evil persuaders because you will crash and burn. However, that can be at any college, we have a great facuality in counseling and testing and they're amazing. Don't let the upper class-men get you, just be strong and do what you have to do to survive and on the top of your game. Get involved for betterment its not about being accepted but how YOU impact. The campus is doing a lot of big changes so hopefully a lot more stuff will seem positive next semester/year.

    In three sentences

    I'll rate Alcorn State University a 3 and 1/2. Financial Aid is a head ache but you'll learn eventually after trial and error. Its becoming more diverse but slowly. We are the first HBCU(Historical Black/College and University) and strong in school pride.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is one aspect that is honestly the best. There is an on campus police station, fire department, and ambulance for student need. There a campus police always around to lend a helping hand to any student on campus. Since there are policemen on campus, it makes it much easier, and it makes students feel safe.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is a very popular part of the university. The Greek Organizations on campus are extremely friendly, and they participate in a lot of community service throughout school terms. They are very good role modles to younger students.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and organizations on campus it is hard to keep track of them all. New students will not have a hard time finding a club to get involved in.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Traditionally, Alcorn is known for their awesome band and every year during the band camp and tryouts the band marches around the campus' Horseshoe every night after dusk. The horseshoe is just the main road on campus that leads to most buildings on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    The bang for your buck is fairly decent! Like many universities, everything is not as cheap as students would like, but in our case the prices are not always steep. Saving should be the main priority in this case.

    What to do for fun

    For fun on campus, there are a huge amount of social events that happen regularly for students to attend at their leisure,and there are also sporting events throughout the year. In addition, there is a small on campus bowling alley, pool hall, and recreation space for students on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The University has an awesome dining facility that meets every one's health needs and wants. There are a couple of fast food restaurants on campus as well. In the cafeteria students have a wide variety of options to choose from. The choices cater to everyone including vegetarians.

    Dorm Life

    The dormitories are beautiful and very well kept. In addition to the appearance of the dormitories, each dorm has separate programs for residents to participate in during their free time to help everyone meet other students.

    Academic Rigor

    University academics are challenging, but when you are very dedicated it can become easier.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should take the location of the university into consideration because it is in an isolated area. They should be open minded and friendly as well as dedicated to class.

    In three sentences

    Alcorn State is a University that makes you feel comfortable with its calming educational environment. The campus is lively and filled with fun personalities. The Professors really care, and they want to make sure that you learn.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is affordable.

    What to do for fun

    I watch movies and hang out with a friend.

    Food and Dining

    I do not eat on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I do not stay on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers help students to do their best and keep them challenged.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused and don't get caught up with all the parties.

    In three sentences

    Alcorn State University is a good school. There is a great Ag, Science, and Nursing program. The teachers care about the students.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Intramerial sports is aLways fun for students. Football, basketball, baseball is the most common sports played on the campus. Alcorn host different events like dances and concerts for fun. Alcorn students enjoy when the band plays for them in the afternoons.

    Food and Dining

    Alcorn State University serve a variety of fine foods which include healthy and nutritious fruits, and vegetables. Also, they have hamburgers, fries and pizza if students enjoy that type of thing. On a scale of 1 to 10, Alcorn rank about a 7 in the food category.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is one of the most fascinating opportunities for students at Alcorn State University. They live by the three golden rules responsibility, respect, and productivity. Even though these key elements are important, communication is most vital.

    Academic Rigor

    Alcorn State University have a strict policy when it comes to grades. Every oncampus student must be a full time student and maintain a grade point average of at least 2.0. Instructors expect students to have all assignments in on time. No excuses!

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should gain a lot of knowlege about Alcorn State University history. Prospective should communicate with their advisors consistently. All prospective students should be inquisitive during orientation.

    In three sentences

    I give Alcorn State University a 10 for there business in student services. Instructors, professors and administrators get a 10 for excellent comprehension and socializing with the student. Alcorn State University gets a ten for creativity and character.

  • 07/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun I attend school sponsored events on the campus.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is okay sometimes although I would rather not eat there.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is okay, if you want the best you have to pay for the best.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics mean everything, if you don't have academics what do you have?

    Tips for prospective students

    I would give them the tip to keep their grades up and don't slip up.

    In three sentences

    Alcorn State University is a great school. I couldn't ask for more. I love this school.

  • 08/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food is good.

    Dorm Life

    The Dorm are brand new just like apartments.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes and Tutors are great.

    In three sentences

    Alcorn State has great faculty/professors. They welcomed my family and I in a very personable manner and extremely helpful with my Freshman Orientation.

  • 08/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who look forwarrd to escaping the city life and people that are used to being surrounded by trees and different type of wildlife.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out at the union. They have bowling lanes,billiard tables, chess and checker tables, and much more to offer.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just make sure you have every thing situated whenever you get here on campus so that you won't have to wait in the office lines.

    In three sentences

    Alcorn campus is so beautiful. The dorm rooms are very comfortable and cozy. Here at Alcorn, all of the staff and students are very friendly.

  • 07/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security does a pretty good job far as I'm concerned. There are also security post located around the campus.

    Greek Life

    Most of the Divine 9 is present on the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many extracurricular activities one can get into. The options are limitless from Jazz Ensemble to Diversity Clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Students looking for a family like atmosphere.

    What to do for fun

    Alcorn has a student union which has many activities. There is also intramural sports that go on throughout the year. One can always attend the varsity sports also.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is nice the only problem is as now is the hours aren't very considerate to students. There is always a variety of choices to choose from which is always a plus.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms especially the new dorms are very comfortable and convenient..

    Academic Rigor

    Teacher will challenge you but it's always for the improvement of one as a student.

    Tips for prospective students

    The best advice for prospective students would be to prepare and get every thing completed early. This will help things flow very smoothly.

    In three sentences

    Alcorn is a great university. They are very accepting and helpful to students. Also the concern for students seem to be very genuine.

  • 09/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 37

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Swimming, pool, bowling,etc

    Food and Dining

    Tastes just like home.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get used to being around hospitable people.

    In three sentences

    Great teacher-student ratio. One on one relatioships with students are excellent. The campus has a wide and diverse amount of activities.

  • 11/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Currently, safety precautions are more prevalent and the overall atmosphere of this institution is suitable for living, visiting, educating, and graduating.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is comprised of 8 organization of the Pan Hellenic Council: Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity, Inc., Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc. Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc. Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc. Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Inc. Sigma Gamma Rho Sorority, Inc.

    Clubs and Activities

    Geek or Greek? There is an event for EVERYBODY.

    Great for these types of students

    Alcorn is great for those who are not easily influenced, have strong work ethic, talent, and who love to network. I have grown socially, mentally, and spiritually because of those I have come to know and who have motivated me to think past my college experience and look to my future and purpose.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    THE RUINS! THE HILL! THE UNION! That is all.

    Bang for the buck

    Overall-the overall cost to attend this university is average. It was affordable for me through various scholarship offers. The institution is MILITARY and MINORITY friendly. With that being said, the campus is multicultural and diverse.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something to do depending on your personality. If you are the party animal-by every bit of the phrase-prepare to spend at least $10 for events (inclusive of gas money and admission fee!) Lol.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is diverse in the savory and the sweet. Alcorn State University is expanding the variety annually. There is always something new to try-very considerate of vegans and people with food limits based on religious or moral preferences.

    Dorm Life

    Your home is where your heart is. Whether it is the rural side of campus living in Burrus Hall or the suburban area of Medgar Evers Village, there is a place for everyone.

    Academic Rigor

    I would say that it may not seem to be difficult course work. However, the academic rigor, per se, does prepare you very well for world outside of college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enter Alcorn State University with an open yet solid mind-meaning let your YES be YES and your NO be NO; but, always respect the opinions and values of other individuals.

    In three sentences

    Alcorn State University is THE epitome of an academic resort. It is secluded enough to promote academic excellence as well a familial environment. I would not trade my experiences nor my time spent at this dynamic institution for anything in the world.

  • 12/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is average. You wont have to worry about any gang fighting, shooting, or anything of that nature.

    Greek Life

    Greek is a major thing at Alcorn. We are a HBCU. (historically black collage university) we only have the Divine 9

    Clubs and Activities

    its plenty clubs and activities to choose from ethnics clubs to poets clubs from soccer to tract from Spanish club to biology and chemistry clubs end etc.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every freshman class each year is taken out to the Ruins by upper classmen and out to Rodney. Its supposed to be hunted. Its very fun though.

    Bang for the buck

    The Alcorn experience is what you make it out to be.

    What to do for fun

    its plenty of activities planned every week so you can socialize and meet your Alcorn family.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria is excellent. they have a desert bar, entrée line, grill line, stir fry line, pizza line, salad bar, sandwich line, taco line, and ethnic foods, and vegan bar.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are like mini condominiums. there are sweets and private rooms. they have two rooms a mini hallway, a half living room and a mini kitchen, except for a stove.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are stressed. Always try to be the over achiever. The work load is tolerable depending on the classes of study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work comes before play. Stay focused. Always talk and get to know your teachers personally.

    In three sentences

    Academics, social life, and diversity are stressed here at Alcorn State University. The Alcorn family is very kind, nurturing, and caring. Its out in the woods, but its always something to do on campus.

  • 12/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is very strict. They have rules that are to be followed by students .

    Greek Life

    I'm not so sure about Greek life because I'm not in it , but I do know they are very helpful. they are always opened to answering questions by any means. They are good leaders for the future Alcornites

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs of Alcorn consist on extracurricular and academic. These clubs are provided so students can get a glimpse on life and beyond there major.

    Great for these types of students

    They have clubs for all type of majors .

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have a club for cultures of America . Where people from different races join and embrace themselves .

    Bang for the buck

    The university helps give back to local schools. They also encourage other children to seek our school in the future .

    What to do for fun

    I like going to football games for fun. The band and the football team gets the crowed ready to rumble.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Alcorns could be better but the school gives you flex dollars which could be spent at 5 of the restaurants on campus.

    Dorm Life

    The dormitory life is one of many reason while students choose Alcorn. With a safe environment around there are no reason why you should fear your domain.

    Academic Rigor

    The difficult and challenges of learning at Alcorn would be the time in which your class is set up. If your class is set up in the morning and your really a evening person, then maybe that schedule isn't for you. Try getting classes that fut you that way it will be easier to attend.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard because if you don't you will fall behind on education . Become more involved with your major. If there are things your department is offering become more familiar with it.

    In three sentences

    Alcorns State University is an school for higher learning . Everything we need is in our range. There's nothing I can't Amount to do at Alcorns because there is always support and help available.

  • 01/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek Life is awesome. They are very active and entertaining.

    Clubs and Activities

    Its a big variety of Clubs and Activities to get involved in.

    What to do for fun

    I am a member of the Sounds of Dynamite marching Band as an Golden Girl dancer. I am also apart of another Dance organization called The TRENDing Topic. Lastly I am secretary of the modeling organization The TREND.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit This campus before you consider attending.

  • 05/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 37

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Understaffed and easily avoided. The campus is basically as safe as the students allow because they are the only thing stopping things from happening on campus.

    Greek Life

    This is one area I will say is lacking when compared to many other universities. There are no fraternity or sorority houses, and the presence of most of the Greek organizations is almost absent.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for just about every department and group mentality you can imagine, some free and some with a small fee for joining.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like quiet environments or people who get easily distracted. On this campus you have to look for things to do or make them up, so you have plenty of time to do your work and no excuse to not have it done.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    If anyone asks you to go to the ruins at night..... run to your room and lock your door!!

    Bang for the buck

    The school is relatively inexpensive all things considered went comparing to other options.

    What to do for fun

    Imagination is key in this area. There is plenty of fun to be had if you have the correct group of people and mindset. The vast areas of land limit your fun to your imagination.

    Food and Dining

    In my opinion not much variety and extremely over priced. Walk in meals are around $6 and though it is all you can eat, the food leaves much to be desired.

    Dorm Life

    Unless you stay in the overpriced newer dorms, expect cold showers and wired internet unless you have a system to try and catch the water while its hot.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the major I have come across some very challenging classes as well as a few push over classes graded by signing your name.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are either prepared for long inclusive weekends, or make quick friends to make off campus plans. The nearest town is about a 20 minute drive.

    In three sentences

    Quiet and nice campus. Not much to do if you don't have imagination. Friendly teachers and staff.