Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Alderson Broaddus College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 03/11/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to work hard to get ahead

    Tips for prospective students

    You're going to staying up late working on homework most nights.

    Bang for the buck

    Kinda expensive, but the teachers make sure that students get what their paying for.

    Am enjoying being here

    Its is a small town with little to do but the college does have events every so often for students to do on weekends.

    Am learning a lot

    Teachers are really one on one with students.

  • 01/16/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    *someone who lives fairly close to home *a person who wants the personal connection with their instructors *someone who wants a small, intimate atmosphere for a campus and classroom

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is really great about giving financial aid! And the music program offered here (as well as the nursing program) is well beyond what a school of this size would be expected to offer. Do your homework about the school and visit a few times. Weigh the importance of being nearby to any activities and location of the college. Enjoy your time if you do decide on AB. It really is someplace special-- just not the best fit for everyone.

    Bang for the buck

    It is an expensive institution; however, because of the professors and unique learning opportunities, a larger price tag can be accepted.

    Am enjoying being here

    The town is very small for me. I prefer larger cities. You can make friends, but this place isnt for everyone.

    Am learning a lot

    At Alderson Broaddus, the professors are very knowledgeable within their specific fields. If you put your effort in, what they know will greatly spill out onto you.

  • 01/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security officers, but no cameras or anything like that.

    Clubs and Activities

    Like I said before, not a lot to do.

    Great for these types of students

    If you want a school that has classes that are small where if you want to ask a question during class you can, then this is a good school because it is very small.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none that i can think of

    Bang for the buck

    could be better....more things to do, more help with homework, more technology

    What to do for fun

    not a lot to do....small town

    Food and Dining

    very good food and variety

    Dorm Life

    kind of boring

    Tips for prospective students

    Get close to your teachers. Get involved.

    In three sentences

    It is a nice school physically, but with it being so small there aren't a lot of oppurtunities. The teachers and advisors are very hard to get a hold of and do not communicate very well. I like being in smaller classes, though.

  • 11/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is ideal for students who prefer a small campus.

    What to do for fun

    Sports, clubs and intramurals

    Academic Rigor

    There's a variety of courses offered here.

    In three sentences

    I like the small campus and the student to teacher ration. The classes are typically small so that's always a plus.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    as much as i hate to say it, this campus creeps me out at night. we do have campus security, but they do not carry any weapons with them. if the need for a weapon arises, we have to call the philippi police department and have them come onto campus. the numbers for security are often a mystery as i have been here for almost a full year and still do not know their number.

    Greek Life

    as of right now, there are 2 local sororities and one national sorority. as for fraternities, there is only one, but another one is in the process of being chartered at this very moment.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are so many things to do here, which is a surprise with such a small school. most are baptist affiliated, as we are a small, private, baptist college, but there are others such as the outdoor club, and things of that nature.

    Great for these types of students

    this is great for people who love the small town setting. with less than 600 students, we are very few but it honestly seems smaller than that. you'll get to know just about everyone, and even if you don't get to know them personally, you'll probably hear something about them.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    well, one old tradition that my mom told me was to go to the local arden state park and sit on the rocks by the river to do homework in the nicer, spring weather.

    Bang for the buck

    with all the changes happening, we are lucky that they have frozen tuition for the next few years. the price we pay is funding our new athletic teams, which people have mixed feelings about. i do think the price is quite steep, but in the long run, i know it's worth it.

    What to do for fun

    this is philippi, wv, finding something fun to do is often difficult. it's about a 20 minute drive to the bigger cities to find movies, malls, and things of that nature. after being here for a few months or so though, you find fun things to do that are closer.

    Food and Dining

    this is also a difficult subject to review. every day there is a new special. there are the options of pizza, burgers, sandwiches, and a salad bar everyday. along with this are the specials of the day and the hot station where the food is prepared directly in front of you.

    Dorm Life

    this is a terrible subject to review after the recent changes that have occurred. during the middle of this semester, some of the students were forced to move into another dorm because the one they lived in was deemed unsafe. they are working on fixing these problems now and are creating new dorms within the next few years. space can be limited at times but if you get along with your suite mates/roommate, everything ends up fine.

    Academic Rigor

    this all depends on the program that you will enter. some students have around 12 credit hours a semester, while others are cramming in 21. however, those with 12 usually pick up the work load around finals time, while those with 21 have much easier finals.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you ask current students what the program you're entering is like. ask many different people. some will be brutally honest, while some may sugarcoat their answers. just be prepared.

    In three sentences

    the education you will receive here, for the most part, is fantastic. there are a few programs that have their flaws. however, the school is undergoing many changes at the moment that could jeopardize the integrity of the school.

  • 03/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is very secure. the security can be seen circling campus at all times of the day and night. security also has a buliding located very close to two of the dorms and can be reached by phone at any time of the day or night.

    Greek Life

    greek life is not a huge part of the campus, but the members that are on campus are very close. there are three local greek organizations. two sororities lambda sigma phi and phi kappa delta, and one fraternity kappa xi omega. there is also one national organization sigma alpha iota.

    Clubs and Activities

    there is a huge range of clubs on campus, and new ones can be created at anytime if there is a group of at least eight students interested in the club. some clubs include the urban gaming club, true colors, cab, and bcm.

    Great for these types of students

    the college is great for all kinds of students. it has an amazing music program with the center of it being the west virginians, but it is also a great school for science majors as well. there is also a physicians assistance program at the school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the campus is a dry campus. which means there is a 0% tolorance for alcohol posession on the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    small class sizes are a huge plus. all of my teachers know my name and i have never been in a class with more than thirty people. they also have an international studies program which allows you to study a semester abroad for only an additional $2,500 for the current semester.

    What to do for fun

    cab which stands for campus activity board is always hosting different events on campus. today on campus there is going to be an icecream social and also bingo. there is always something to do when you are bored. i think the variety of campus activities comes because the school is located in a small town, and outside of the campus there is not much to do. so, the college makes a conscious effort to entertain the students.

    Food and Dining

    the food provided on campus is great. there are always a variety of meals throughout the week, along with a salad bar and hamburgurs everyday. there are two other places to dine on campus as well. the cave serves diner like food untill 10 pm each day. jazzmines serves a variety of coffes, pasteries, and smoothies. at all of these places you can pay using the battler bucks that are included in the price of your meal plan.

    Dorm Life

    kincade is the best dorms to live in. they have apartment style living available. priestly is also a great place to live in. there are suites that have four rooms, a common room which is like a living room and a private bathroom. benudum is the other doorm on campus the rooms are small and the furniture is bolted in place, there are also two public bathrooms on each floor. the good news about benudum is that it is only underclassman housing, so after the first year you will not have to live there any longer.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are difficult, but the teachers are very helpful and tutoring is readily available.

    Tips for prospective students

    the college will be greatly expanding in the next few years with the addition of many athletic teams. if you are looking for a sports scholarship then this is a great place to look.

    In three sentences

    the staff if very helpful and are very dedicated to your learning experience. the town is small but the campus family is very close. everyone i have met has done anything in their power to help me be successful.

  • 05/06/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for people who need to be secluded to focus.

    Bang for the buck

    If you are looking at tuition, A-B has a freeze rate on their tuition right now. This means that the tuition is staying the same for the next three years.

    Food and Dining

    I have ate here on multiple occasions. Get the pizza!

    Dorm Life

    There is one dorm that does not have air conditioning. That same dorm does not have movable furniture. Other than that, I am sure that they are fantastic.

    Academic Rigor

    I have heard that the hardest course is religion and I know it is a requirement. I am sure every class will be difficult seeing as though it is a private school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Wear your walking shoes. Oh, and when it snows, it snows.

    In three sentences

    It is a beautiful campus. It has a lot of things to do on campus. I have really enjoyed every time I have attended a visit and I look forward to attending for school in the fall.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety are on campus all day and night making students feel very safe.

    Greek Life

    There are a couple of fraternities and sororities on campus but with the expansion of the college more will be available for students who enjoy the Greek life of college.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, students who are in charge of activities are always preparing many activities keeping students busy. Also, there are many great restaurants nearby and a bowling alley for those who love to bowl.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is very good. Not only is the food great but the chefs and students who make the food are very nice and serve you with a smile on their face.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is an awesome experience with many activities and a chance to meet friends who will be your best friends forever.

    Academic Rigor

    The faculty at Alderson Broaddus College are very supportive in helping students succeed and are available at any time. They are very laid back and down to earth teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    A tip for prospective students can be to visit the campus and become familiar with the campus so that things can go smooth for the year.

    In three sentences

    Alderson Broaddus College is an amazing environment to learn. This school is expanding very fast and will be one of the biggest schools in the state of West Virginia. Alderson Broaddus College is a college where, as our President puts it, you can do that here talking about your pursuit of a career.

  • 09/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There are two choices for food everyday. You can either go to cafe and have whatever they are serving, it's usually good. Or, you can go to the Cave which has chicken tenders, burgers, fries, wings, and pizza. Both are amazing.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are so nice. They are willing to help you with whatever you need. The classes are a little tough, but that's college. If you need help there are tutors, plus the teachers to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you do not want to go to a small college, this college is not for you. We currently have under 1000 students. My class, the freshman class, has been the largest class, 450 students, in AB history. So we are upsizing but slowly.

    In three sentences

    Alderson-Broaddus College is a small, rural college in Philippi, West Virginia. It is in the middle of nowhere, yet only 30-60 minutes from cities and major stores like Wal-Mart. This college would be a great transition for any incoming freshman.

  • 01/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a few things to do right now but they are putting a lot if new activities into affect this semester which will be fun

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't lock your self up in your room and don't be afraid to meet new people.

    In three sentences

    AB has a very nice atmosphere, I love it here. There are going to be major improvements over the next few years so if you decide to come here you'll have an amazing time!

  • 01/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is pretty safe, they have security on duty pretty much all the time.

    Greek Life

    There are 4 sororities to choose from and 6 fraternities to choose from.

    Clubs and Activities

    Alderson Broaddus offers many clubs, and sports to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who do not want to attend a huge school. Class sizes are a decent size, and you pretty much know everyone on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    The sports at Alderson Broaddus are very good, mens basketball being one of it's best.

    What to do for fun

    The college hosts little parties and get togethers to entertain the students. This campus is a dry campus so alcohol isn't allowed. Morgantown is about 45 minutes away, which has clubs and other things for college students to do.

    Food and Dining

    I mean college food is not going to be the best food you have ever eaten, but our food isn't that bad. They do serve some things that i do not like, but it's not that bad. We also have a dining place called The Cave which offers chicken, burgers, etc...which is pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    As of right now there are three dorm buildings. Two of them houses suites, and the other is a regular college dorm. They are all pretty nice, the maintence and cleaning is very good. Also the dorms always have little get togethers to get people to know eachother.

    Academic Rigor

    My classes for my major are pretty hard because my major is Nursing, but the general classes are not that hard. Your main classes will be decently hard, it depends how much you study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring snow clothes with you! When it snows, it snows bad. Also bring supplies in case the power goes out, because the power tends to go out sometimes.

    In three sentences

    Alderson Broaddus is a very small school in a small town, so I like that you know everybody, but it is a little too small for my liking. I do not really like the weather, it either snows or rains. All together though, its's not a bad school, but i would prefer somewhere else.

  • 03/07/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    12 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never heard of anything happen that the security wasn't on top of.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is not as extreme as the movies say. They are trying to add new ones and grow.

    Clubs and Activities

    Not many to choose from but they attend to be a lot of fun.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for small town life style people and people that can make their own fun.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    On Halloween night students like to go to the old hospital on campus and see there is any ghost in there.

    Bang for the buck

    Its a little expensive but they give out a lot of scholarships.

    What to do for fun

    Sporting events has a good atmosphere for a D2 school. Other then that its all about making your own fun.

    Food and Dining

    Not a lot to pick from. But there is a Sheetz right off campus.

    Dorm Life

    Depends on which dorm you get. As a freshman I got apartment style which is normally for seniors.

    Academic Rigor

    The less studying the harder it is. The teachers are good at pointing out what to study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved as much as possible.

    In three sentences

    Great caring teachers. Small town life style. Growing in students and athletics.

  • 04/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security guards are on patrol at night, but that is the only form of safety on campus.

    Greek Life

    There are only a few fraternities and sororities, but they are each open to anyone who wants to pledge.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am in many clubs here. It gives students the opportunity to really get involved.

    Great for these types of students

    It is a great environment for anyone who likes small classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Because it is a small campus, classes are very small and teachers are very personable.

    Bang for the buck

    A-B is generous with their scholarships.

    What to do for fun

    It is located in the mountains of West Virginia so outdoor activities are unlimited. The city of Morgantown is about an hour away. There are also campus activities available.

    Food and Dining

    The food options are limited, which is on of the biggest downsides of A-B.

    Dorm Life

    Current dorms are quite old, but new dorms will be open for the fall of 2013.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor depends on your field of study as well as what type of student you are.

    Tips for prospective students

    Alderson-Broaddus is growing in size and prestige. The number of athletics and facilities being added will help it become more well rounded.

    In three sentences

    A-B is one to watch. It is growing into a much larger school with more opportunities.

  • 06/07/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    14 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very secure and I feel very safe there. There is a no tolerance on campus for alcohol, and that makes me very happy. They're pushing to make it a tobacco-free campus as well.

    Greek Life

    I don't know much about the Greek life on campus, but there are some opportunities to get involved there as well.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a variety of sports and clubs you can get involved in like swimming, football, basketball, and newly formed marching band.

    Great for these types of students

    If you're in to Liberal Arts Studies, this is the school for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's this one statue in the middle of campus called Apollo and I have yet to figure out the meaning of it.

    Bang for the buck

    Although it is a more expensive school, you have so many things to do-not just school work.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things you can do for fun. They have sororities you can get involved in, there are many athletic events you can attend, and one of my favorite is just looking out at the town of Philippi. It's such a beautiful sight.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great and really isn't that expensive per semester. The cafeteria can get a little loud, but it's like any other schools-it will get loud.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice. There are a few that incoming freshmen can choose from. There are a total of seven dorms, four of them are mostly for returning students.

    Academic Rigor

    You're expected to do 2 hours of work out of each class a week. If you have 6 classes, that's 12 hours a week. But, there's more time in a day than you think. You can spread it out all over the week. And the best part-no classes on the weekends!

    Tips for prospective students

    Come prepared to learn, always do your work on time, and if you have a long-term project, start early on it so you aren't stressing about it later.

    In three sentences

    Alderson-Broaddus is such a beautiful campus. The staff is friendly and very helpful. With the soon to be name change to Alderson-Broaddus University, there are many opportunities for everyone at Alderson-Broaddus!

  • 07/18/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    nothing is around

    Greek Life

    so I hear

    Clubs and Activities

    a lot of variety

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    on a mountain side

    What to do for fun

    the college has a lot of different activities for the students

    Food and Dining

    good selection

    Dorm Life

    New dorms this year

    Tips for prospective students

    If you like small schools go here

    In three sentences

    Great locations there is no distractions around. Small size which means good class size. Private college

  • 11/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very safe, there are a few problems every now and again, but what college doesn't have those? There are rarely any incidents where the cops need to be called or any type of violence happens. Very safe!

    Greek Life

    Plenty of greek life going on on campus! They are very involved with all events going on on campus and are very friendly.

    Clubs and Activities

    Decent amount of clubs and activities going on. It's as if there's something going on everyday.

    Great for these types of students

    If you like small schools and the outdoors you should definitely come here! You are surrounded by almost nothing, just a small town. The weather is a little crazy, so if you're up for that, have at it! AB also has a great nursing program if you're interested in that.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is kind of cheap; they refuse to fix half of the things that are broken, there are a lot of problems in the buildings, they're old, and it's kind of gross. There are a lot of things with the school that could be fixed but aren't and it makes it seem like our money is being wasted away, but at the same time, there's a lot that makes it worth it; especially with sports.

    What to do for fun

    Philippi is such a small town, there isn't too much to do on the weekends. You can always go hang out with friends, but a lot of the time, if you want to leave campus, you have to travel 20 minutes to an hour to get to Clarksburg or Morgantown to be able to do anything fun. But a lot goes on on campus; many events are held and they're a lot of fun! A great way to meet new people and make new friends!

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay. It's college food, you can't expect too much from it.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorms are rough to live in. People are loud and obnoxious at ALL hours of the day. Sometimes it's hard to sleep. The air conditioning sucks in the freshman dorms; all of the units are either broken or will break. They take forever to actually come in and fix anything; I had a work order on my air conditioner for months -almost the entire first semester- before they came and fixed it! The new dorms are nice, though. They're very fancy-looking and they seem to have better quality rooms. But there aren't enough washers and dryers!

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are fairly challenging and the professors are great at teaching the information. I've heard that in comparison to public schools, Alderson-Broaddus has a much more rigorous academic program.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join clubs! It's hard to make new friends sometimes and joining clubs is the easiest thing to do in order to make friends. Don't be afraid to try new things! Don't let people get to you; there are a lot of people that want to bring you down, but avoid them and focus on you. College is about growing as a person, so what everyone else thinks doesn't matter, as long as you're happy with what you're doing. Make time for homework! Professors will not baby you; there are professors who are nice and can be lenient, but they will not tell you to study and can easily throw you under the bus if you don't keep up with the work load.

    In three sentences

    The campus is absolutely beautiful and the professors are wonderful and caring. The school is small and the people here can be rude, but overall it's a great place to go to school. The school is also very athletic-centric, but a lot of emphasis is placed on academics.

  • 01/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 20

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is much to do on campus. Many groups host school activities such as dances, pep rallies, etc. You can even work out in the work out rooms provided. There are tennis courts, football/soccer field, and other sports related areas.

    Food and Dining

    The food is buffet style and good. Hosted by Sodexo.

    Dorm Life

    There are only 2 to a dorm. The dorms vary on price and also student year. You get to choose your roommate.

    Academic Rigor

    All depends on the program the student is entering. For Nursing or Music Education majors it is very rigorous. You have to keep up with all of your assignments and study. That is recommended for all majors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to make new friends when you arrive. Freshman orientation will be a great opportunity. The campus is small but full of school spirit and activities so get involved. The school offers free tutoring services if you think or are struggling in classes, so do not be afraid to take advantage of the help.

    In three sentences

    Alderson Broaddus is a great school for a student entering into performing/fine arts. The teachers work with students and it is a school where you are not just a number in the classroom but an individual student. At Alderson BroaddusCollege, You Can Do That Here!

  • 06/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Good

    Greek Life

    there is also greek life, which is fun

    Clubs and Activities

    tons of clubs and activities going on

    Great for these types of students

    quiet

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Town is really small

    What to do for fun

    There are always parties on weekends

    Food and Dining

    Food is ok

    Dorm Life

    Its cool, meet other interesting students.

    Academic Rigor

    If you do all your homework and pay attention you should be fine

    Tips for prospective students

    Pay attention and do homework

    In three sentences

    Very peaceful place, nice people. The professors always want to help. Student life is good

  • 06/22/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    19 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I have gotten multiply scholarships and it is a great place for anyone to come.

    Food and Dining

    not full buffet but great food

    In three sentences

    Very small campus with great people. Get to be with not many people. Very small and great class sizes.

  • 08/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 20

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is getting better, however the school still needs to improve on their night time lighting.

    What to do for fun

    There are enough athletic teams at AB to keep it interesting but other than that, you have to make your own fun.

    Food and Dining

    Sodexo is improving but there aren't much dining options.

    Dorm Life

    After your first year you'll know where you want to room. There are both new and old dorms, however the newer dorms were't built to last long but they are still nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are hard but they aren't the hardest. Most classes are small so it makes it easier to communicate with professors and advisors.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you feel at home when you visit ABU and are looking for a small campus, this is the place for you.

    In three sentences

    Alderson Broaddus University is a tight nit community. There isn't much to do in Philippi but the campus makes it exciting. And the school is trying to improve what it needs to in order to be better.