Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Alexandria Technical & Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 11/17/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Law Enforcement is the biggest major here. For those of you who want to become a Law Enforcement Officer, this is definitely the college to choose.

  • 12/22/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Alexandria Technical and Community College is great for students who want to save money, or if they are simply unsure of what they want to go into.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always ask for help when you need it, because there is always help available.

    Bang for the buck

    Alexandria Technical and Community college offers many services, such as Support Services.

    Am enjoying being here

    Although I am eager to go to Chicago to complete my degree, I am enjoying having access to a transfer degree close to home.

    Am learning a lot

    Alexandria Technical College is an excellent place to complete the first two years of a bachelor's degree.

  • 03/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Alexandria Technical and Community College has had no problems with safety. It is a great community.

    Great for these types of students

    The types of students that would enjoy this school is those you like one on one help. It's great for those who also like smaller class sizes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have something called Grocery Bingo, which is free to all students. If you win bingo, you get a bag of groceries.

    Food and Dining

    I usually just eat at home, but the food that I eat at college is wonderful.

    Dorm Life

    I can not say because Alexandria Technical and Community College does not have any dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is amazing. The teachers are willing to help you one on one. They also have a smaller class size so it is easy to talk with the teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure if you have any questions, just ask them. They are wonderful in getting back to you with any questions as well. It's a great school.

    In three sentences

    On a scale from 1-10, I believe that Alexandria Technical and Community College is a 10. They have a great hands on system for Law Enforcement and wonderful teachers. They are willing to help people with their problems and questions.

  • 04/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is safe, of course any campus has its dangers. I have not heard of or seen any issues that would be a concern. The college is located next to a high school; the streets are regularly patrolled.

    Clubs and Activities

    The college offers many clubs, there are too many for me to keep track of.

    Great for these types of students

    This college will be perfect for anyone who is trying save money on college, and is looking to major in the art program.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Often the college staff will get together and host a game in the cold winder months. They will hide a small transparent medallion somewhere outside and they will give a clue each day to help us find it within the week. But, here is the catch. The person who finds it first will receive a cash prize—last year the person received $200.

    What to do for fun

    Between classes you are free to roam the halls. The cafeteria has a game room to pass the time; it has a pool table and a few computers which you are free to do whatever you want on. The halls are filled with great pieces of art, it passes the time quickly when you take the time to look at them.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is not like a high school dining hall at all. The atmosphere is very friendly and not too noisy, it's a great place to go to if you want to study. The food is just as good, it is prepared fresh and made to be delicious.

    Dorm Life

    Recently a brand new dorm has just been built right across the street from the college. The rooms are like owning your own house—a small house anyway. They are comfortable, roomy, and will make you feel right at home.

    Academic Rigor

    This college challenges not only your education but also your personality. In order to be successful, you need to realize who you want to be, and how willing you are to challenge yourself to be that person.

    Tips for prospective students

    Procrastination is not an option at this college, you are either learning or flunking and the teachers won't let you forget that.

    In three sentences

    Alexandria Tech is a great 2 year college. It offers a wide variety of Majors at an affordable price. So you get a 4 year education in half the time and half the price.

  • 04/25/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 of 9

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    there is many clubs to be involved in

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus!

    In three sentences

    I like the high school feel of the campus. Everyone seems very welcoming. Everyone wants you to succeed.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    on site security

    Clubs and Activities

    lots going on all the time!

    Great for these types of students

    graphic, any mechanics classes and police.

    Bang for the buck

    great people and education!

    What to do for fun

    go to the movies, sign up for a club, go to the race tracks, bowling, and many more.

    Food and Dining

    Food is great a lot of choices.

    Dorm Life

    great people and security.

    Academic Rigor

    They strive for excellence.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply sooner than later spots fill fast. Also call in to check about Fafsa.

    In three sentences

    Its a great community, and a very nice place to live. The people there are all friendly and try to help. And its a great place to get your technical degree or just start out at college.

  • 08/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Alex tech has an incredible safe campus and the teachers are there to protect us if needed.

    Great for these types of students

    Alex tech is great for any kind of student that is willing to put in some time and is willing to learn.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Alex Tech doesn't have many traditions, but there is always room for some!

    Bang for the buck

    Alex Tech is a great school for and its affordable for almost all students.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities that Alex Tech has like flag football, softball, basketball, and also have many clubs to join for students with all sorts of hobbies.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm.

    Tips for prospective students

    Alexandria has a great law enforcement program if you are looking to get into criminal law studies.

    In three sentences

    It is a great school, it is full of awesome teachers and students. I could not ask for a better place to receive my education.

  • 05/30/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    8 of 9

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is pretty safe - there's only like a gazillion law enforcement students constantly roaming around! I never felt at risk for an attack or anything, except when I had a class that let out at about 8pm, but that was more likely my overactive imagination than anything else. And the parking lots are pretty well lit at night.

    Food and Dining

    I actually took to making a pot of soup or hotdish every week and took a lunch sized portion to school every day because it was so much cheaper. The cafeteria has great food, but if you eat there every day, you'll definitely be spending a lot of money. An average meal cost is around $5- $6.

    Dorm Life

    I didn't live on campus - I lived at home with my family, so dorm life was great!!

    Academic Rigor

    I was home schooled, so I'm not sure if that's why the academic rigor didn't seem much harder than high school, but the amount of homework was definitely in the 'plenty' category. For me, the classes that seemed more challenging were the subjects that I either struggled with in high school or didn't know much about, like Intro to Organic Biochem.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely don't be afraid to ask for help with any questions you have about anything! The teachers are great at being available for answering questions on assignments/subject matter or finding you a tutor if you need one. If you need info about transfer credits or financial aid and don't know who to talk to specifically, just ask the people at the Help desk or in the Admissions office and they'll be able to direct you to the right person. Alex Tech also has a slightly confusing hallway system, so don't be afraid to get a map!

    In three sentences

    Alex Tech was great because it was close to where I was living and it was fairly easy to navigate Alexandria. The large number of computers and quiet atmosphere in the library made it easy for me to complete assignments. And, there were Subway restaurants easily accessible!!

  • 08/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 9

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is the bowling alley and a bar everything else closes at 10

    Food and Dining

    there are also some town eateries, again all close at 10

    Dorm Life

    not too bad

    Academic Rigor

    when you take classes outside of generals the teachers are great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Treat your classes as a job, your teachers as bosses.

    In three sentences

    the classes aren't too difficult, but the city is a bubble.