Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Alfred State College (SUNY) Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 12/23/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    4 out of 10 people found this review useful. 2 people found this inaccurate. 1 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    My major programs

    Tips for prospective students

    I will do my best in everything to be an excellent student for this school.

    Bang for the buck

    This will really help me financially and i will appreciate it.

    Will enjoy being here

    I will be glad to be accepted to this college. I will really enjoy coming here.

    Will learn a lot

    about newest technologies and learn more about computers and how to use them more.

  • 03/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Nursing, Geeks, Greeks, alfred is awesome but not for everyone... you have to be open minded if you want to love alfred

    Tips for prospective students

    ITS COLD BRING WARM THINGS ! Don't think winter is over until the sun is out and its 80 degrees... its almost April and its still snowing and very cold... its going to be like this for a while.

    Bang for the buck

    Dont get me wrong i love alfred, but to be honest i wish i was in a college with almost more funding so they could better support their students. Res life here is awesome and all but the dorms are not that great. its a bang for you buck if you put yourself in the position to enjoy it all.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love Alfred. i have met so many Amazing people that it blows my mind. its one of those weird places you just meet so many amazing people. there are many activities and clubs to attend, and Alfred state students activities are always trying to make their students have a great time , for instances april 13th 2011 we are having Sick puppies CONCERT WOOT :D. and last year this time Kevin hart came and technically beta tested his jokes on us LOL.

    Am learning a lot

    If you put yourself out there there is a limitless amount of knowledge to learn in Alfred. its a small town so its quite but there is so much to do and learn. professors are Very helpful if you put yourself in the position to bother them for information.

  • 06/21/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is nothing to worry about on this campus. Every building has multiple locked doors you have to get through with people at them for safety reasons. if you are visiting a friend you will have to have that friend let you in. there's no way anyone can just walk in the door.

    Clubs and Activities

    From cheer leading to basketball even soccer they have it all. The school spirit is outstanding.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for those students who want to experiences collage but don't want the feel of a huge new strange place. The campus faculty and students are extremely friendly and fun to be around.

    Bang for the buck

    With one of the lowest cost to attend i would say this is defiantly worth it. Even if your commuting you still get use of the gym and meal plans. I surfed through many schools trying to find the best one and for the cost i couldn't pass it up. It was a steal!

    What to do for fun

    The dorm rooms have rec areas with pool tables and large rooms with flat screens with surround sound to hook up you Wii or Xbox and have a blast with friends. But my favorite spot to be is the gym, its good equipment and good people there for help and encouragement.

    Food and Dining

    The verity at the dinning room is awesome. I love eating there for every meal. Everything is good too, not just certain things.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms I've been in were of great quality. I loved hanging out with my friends who already attend school there.

    Academic Rigor

    Alfred has so many different courses and everyone is amazing. I can't wait to start class. The teachers seem to be so fun and loves their jobs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make a list of question to ask your adviser, they will go question by question until they've answered every one until you understand. Take advantage of their great gym for a student membership of only $45.

    In three sentences

    Alfred State has been incredibly helpful and kind. I couldn't believe how easy it is to get help. Every visit i have had was exciting and fun!

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    top safety !

    Greek Life

    many to choose from

    Great for these types of students

    students that likes the country side

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Amish family around the community

    What to do for fun

    join may groups like civic engagement where you help the community and much more its a fun way to meet people and learn how to give back to the community.

    Food and Dining

    the foooooooooood is goooooooood =]

    Dorm Life

    the Dorm rooms are very nice i'm living in shults =] . The school 21 and over life style and quiet life style.

    Academic Rigor

    Students in EOP and ASOP receive help with any classes. And the school provides help for every student not only EOP and ASOP students

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring warm clothes. & if your from the inner city it is a long drive by bus. Go their with a open mind and try to make as much friends as possible. Diversity on campus is very important.

    In three sentences

    It is amazing the staffs are very friendly.

  • 02/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I don't really see why anyone would go out to commit a crime in this god forsaken weather.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs on the campus actually aren't that bad. They're actually the most organized things here on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    No one.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Hotdog weekend home of the freshmen 15 with all of the food that's been out for too long.

    Bang for the buck

    Not worth all the money with the bad internet service FOR A TECHNOLOGY SCHOOL!!!

    What to do for fun

    Clubs I guess... Its the only thing here to do.

    Food and Dining

    So fat with more fat then...

    Dorm Life

    Nothing but the sounds of students having a wonderful time making loud noises and sex. The RA's are nice and all but the people here need to grow up.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are just sad. Nothing but an endless supply of work to keep you busy for the NEXT 4 years. 2 if your going for an Associates Degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't go here. This place is seriously bad. The food is terrible if you like fatty foods. The professors just sit on their asses all day and teach you stuff that can be easily found on the internet.... even though most if it is. The people are not bad though so there's an upside. Oh and ITS COLD!! I mean its always snowing here.

    In three sentences

    Nope. Nope. Nope.

  • 05/30/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I would refer ANYONE to Alfred State College

    Tips for prospective students

    Focus on your career. This school has a lot of activities to offer which is a great thing for student looking to get involved in the college community

    Bang for the buck

    Great SUNY school!

    Did enjoy being here

    I loved every minute of Alfred.

    Did learn a lot

    This school is really focused on helping you 'Hit the ground running'. The school has an extreme scope on what you will be doing the moment you graduate with a degree. Not only that, but while you are there they prepare you for your future career and provide many internship and job opportunities.

  • 09/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Apple early, some programs can be hard to get into like the digital media and animation program

    Bang for the buck

    It is defiantly worth every penny

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the small town feeling, i am from a small town so i feel like I fit in

    Am learning a lot

    I didn't think i could learn so much at one time! this is crazy!

  • 04/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Hotdog day. It is fantastic. Each student will have a different story to tell after that weekend

    Bang for the buck

    It is a great school

    What to do for fun

    Alfred is a small town, but nothing is too far away.

    Food and Dining

    The food is FANTASTIC!! The terrace won an award this year for their food.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in dorms, so this does not apply to me.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your professors! They have so much to offer to the students.

    In three sentences

    I love the small campus. I feel like I belong here!

  • 08/02/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    you would want to join

    Clubs and Activities

    alot

    Great for these types of students

    everyone

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    hotdog day

    What to do for fun

    hang out friends

    Tips for prospective students

    if you are considering one of the best schools in NY, consider Alfred state college.

    In three sentences

    Its a safe environment. Its a neat environment. Its makes one feels at home.

  • 12/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus security is unbelievable. you defiantly feel safe and secure. campus security is also on top of things.

    Clubs and Activities

    Alfred state has a number of clubs to join, you think of any club we have it here. including a lumberjack club.

    Great for these types of students

    Alfred state is a great place for any type of students. it`s what you make of it that makes Alfred a great place. it`s a small town no lie but with the friends you make and school your bound to be doing something.

    What to do for fun

    Walmart trips BB shenanigans movies

    Tips for prospective students

    - get help if you don`t understand something. - don`t be scared to make new friends - find a balance between your social life and academic life

    In three sentences

    I would give Alfred state a A because it is a great school to meet friends. classroom size is around 25 people. if you apply yourself and get the help you will succeed at Alfred state.

  • 07/20/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Althought the price my be, its worth it with all the programs that they have here.

    Will enjoy being here

    The campus is very nice they have sports teams. Great gym, the food is nice, and everyone gets along great because it is small.

    Will learn a lot

    When i first went to visit alfred, i thought it was just going to be another boring campus, but it tends not to be. The professors there are friendly and they are very helpful. The staff are as well. The program that i've been accepted into closed down, but alfred offered me a deal that i could still enter another program and still get my degree in that area. Alfred is also flexible in helping students set up there schedule.

  • 02/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    great for students who like hands on work. especially the wellsville campus.

    What to do for fun

    go hiking behind alfred university's campus! or join the orc and go on biking/skiing trips. allegany county has so much to see outdoors.

    Food and Dining

    this is the best school dining hall food i've ever had. they have a lot of variety at the terrace buffet, as well as many chain restaurants around campus.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are adequate. the vary in size significantly. don't pick mackenzie if you like to bring a lot of stuff with you.

    Academic Rigor

    the core science courses are really challenging. the teachers are engaging and encourage students to get in the labs outside of class.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't come into this school feeling like you might be overwhelmed. it's a great place to start.

    In three sentences

    this school has great food, average dormitories, but excellent, caring teachers who are willing to donate a lot of time to their students. this school is great for hands on learning as well as a great community to be a part of. the greenhouse and farm need a little work, but that is in the process of being done.

  • 03/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    there is greek life. i don;t know anything about it though.

    What to do for fun

    there is a lot of clubs and a dance club and restaurant and walmart near by.

    Food and Dining

    the food gets old after awhile. they need more place to eat.

    Tips for prospective students

    be prepared to be in a rural area

    In three sentences

    it's a good place to go. the environment is quiet. im glad i choose to go here.

  • 04/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    As long as you think about it, it is very safe. The people who aren't safe are the ones that don't think they have to think about it. Everyone has to think about it. I have never felt unsafe here.

    Greek Life

    Literally, the best thing I have ever done. My gpa is 10x higher because of it. I have learned how to become a better leader and overall better person.

    Clubs and Activities

    Greek Life WINS ASME ASHRE

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like to get involved Students who are open to trying new things Students who like to be challenged by professors

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Hot Dog Day is the best tradition from the school that I have seen

    Bang for the buck

    Generally, I feel that I am getting the most out of what I paid for.

    What to do for fun

    Greek Life is a huge part of my life, sports, video game clubs, working, becoming an RA, and so many more.

    Food and Dining

    Overall, I feel that Alfred offers a wide variety of food.

    Dorm Life

    I do not like that I feel like I am constantly being watched by RAs and RDs. I also do not like that it is so hard to live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I am challenged every single say. I feel like I am always working on something and never have a week to just take it easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    The most important thing is to make sure they have activities you are interested in. Education is important but it isn't everything. If you aren't involved in other things, you'll go crazy.

    In three sentences

    Alfred offers a wide variety of activities to get involved with. Extracurricular activities are what make me focus on wanting to be in college because I have to have grades to be involved. Overall, I enjoy Alfred and am glad I picked it.

  • 04/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Not much Greek life

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Hot Dog weekend

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the two years of automotive before taking a specialty such as auto body, motorsports, or diesel.

    In three sentences

    Great school, I learned a lot of very valuable information regarding the automotive field.

  • 05/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Church, go to wall mart and eat of course

    Food and Dining

    For people that like TacoBell and fatty foods, this is the place to be. Sadly, there are no healthy food choices.

    Dorm Life

    Some dorms need renovation, but the dorms for the most part are nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors are knowledgeable and willing to help students individually.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be involved in the wrong groups/ crowds, and study- do not leave studying to the last minute.

    In three sentences

    Great College, very comfortable place to be. The staff and faculty care about the needs of the students. Tis college is where learning is improved.

  • 06/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    good local greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    lots of clubs and activities to join

    Food and Dining

    lots of convenience foods.

    Dorm Life

    its nothing fancy but not the worst ever.

    Academic Rigor

    Its difficult at times and not at others just make it what you want it to be.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved with campus activities and clubs it helps to pass the time.

    In three sentences

    Alfred state is fun. The Teachers are good and they care about there students. It would be a better environment if there was something more to do in Alfred.

  • 06/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 18 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    With some le-way.

    Greek Life

    Fail

    Great for these types of students

    Not much

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Mudding

    What to do for fun

    Nothing much.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are not female, do not come, we are trying to fix the male to female ratio.

    In three sentences

    Alfred is a very small town. Alfred is not a social town. You will have plenty of time to get work done.

  • 06/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Non traditional

    What to do for fun

    Study and work on academic challenges.

    Food and Dining

    Some of the best food available is at the central dinging hall.

    Academic Rigor

    Be prepared to work hard and study hard in order to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to except adult responsibility for your own actions academic and social.

    In three sentences

    I feel that for the money invested you can not find a better school for the human services major. The instructors are well versed in their field and have first hand experience.

  • 06/14/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 person found this inaccurate. 20 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I hear there's a cute little plaza that Alfred students can catch a shuttle to . I hear the coffee shop is to die for and there's good pizza.

    Food and Dining

    I can't really say, I haven't been there yet, but do I really need an 8-meal plan? I don't eat much. .

    Dorm Life

    I can't really say because I haven't been there yet, but I hear the dorms are basically in a big circle. In the center is the school and a bit off from the dorms is a gym for working out. Good for people who work out or want to start working out.

    Academic Rigor

    Everyone is very helpful and willing to help you. You can tell the professors care.

    Tips for prospective students

    BRING WARM CLOTHES! It's really cold! I went upstate for a good minute before I high-tailed it out of there. And I thought New York City was freezing!

    In three sentences

    Wish the financial aid support was a bit more but hey, what can I say? The professors are very helpful and the students seem really nice. Animation professor is especially awesome!

  • 06/30/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    21 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Overall Good

    Greek Life

    Seems ok

    Clubs and Activities

    Don't really know, im just there for football, but the students in the clubs and activates look like they're having alot of fun

    Great for these types of students

    great for athletes, because the coaches and fitness facilities are great

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty Good, a lot of options

    Dorm Life

    I'm just happy the Single Dorms are pretty Big lol

    Academic Rigor

    the classes seem good, and have a lot of Majors that are helpful for students

    Tips for prospective students

    Have an open mind when coming in, it's people from all different races attending the school, and they seem like cool people

    In three sentences

    Over it seems like a pretty good school, Big campus considering its just junior College

  • 07/20/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    22 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are polite and very helpful. One of my friends had a stalker at the beginning of the year, and they helped take care of it. Some of them come into the residence halls every once in a while to talk to the RAs and see if there's any problems (especially on Wednesdays, Fridays, and Saturdays). There were a few mishaps on campus that I was aware of, including one assault during Finals Week in May; the male involved was/is okay, he only needed a few stitches.

    Greek Life

    I was not a part of Greek Life, but I have several friends who are. Greek Life here is, for the most part, very respectable. They have required study hours in the library, they handle issues within the Greek Life Community as needed, and they do various acts of civic engagement (which is a higher level of community service). The sisters/brothers I have encountered are very friendly and typically don't say anything bad about the other fraternities/sororities. Also, their pledging is about becoming a better person, not forcing them to do dangerous things.

    Clubs and Activities

    I was a part of Rainbow Union (SUNY Alfred's Gay-Straight Alliance) and Tap Dance Underground. Rainbow Union were very involved in campus life and community service. Several of the members were also members of Greek Life. We played games, talked about current LGBT issues, and had many community service/civic engagement events. Tap Dance Underground is a tap dancing club and you don't need to know how to tap dance to join. I had never tap danced (or done any dance) before, and I went to some of their meetings because my friend was in it. I helped them run their December show that they did, I was in control of music. Then I joined in January, worked as hard as I could to learn their routine, and we went to NYC in March to perform. I had a lot of fun during the trip and with the club in general. The president during this time was a Greek Life student, and he balanced school-work, a job, Greek Life, and this club well.

    Great for these types of students

    Nursing and/or Vet Tech students. I have heard and witnessed many great aspects about these majors. However, if you don't like hard work, plan to cheat, or expect/want an easy course, they are not for you. These are demanding courses, but if you put the work in, the degree is worth it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Locations-There is one spot behind Shultz Hall called Heaven, it's the parking lot for the buildings in that area. From this spot, you can see all of campus and a lot of the town and surrounding area. I only was at this spot once, during the day, and it was beautiful. Traditions-Wednesdays, Fridays, and Saturdays are party/drinking days. Wednesday is Wasted Wednesday. In April, there is Hot Dog Weekend, which is a weekend devoted to drinking. There are some drugs done on campus and a lot of drinking done in residential halls.

    What to do for fun

    For those that like to, drinking and partying are a big thing on and off campus. For those that don't (or like other things than just that), there is a skating rink in Wellsville, a bowling alley in Hornell, a movie theater in Hornell, many clubs and activities on campus, and some places to shop in Hornell and Wellsville.

    Food and Dining

    At The Terrace, the pizza is greasy and a lot of the food didn't interest me. There are many other choices of dining areas: Pizza Hut/KFC, Friendly's/Taco Bell/Freshens (which is a smoothie place), Peach Pit (which is now closed for good), and the Exit West Cafe (or Mack Shack, which is the common name). However, eating from the same places all the time can be boring. In town, there are a few pizza places, a sub shop, a Chinese place, and a few stores that you can buy food at.

    Dorm Life

    There are quite a few parties in the dorm halls, including the Mackenzie buildings and the townhouses. RAs have their work cut out for them a lot of the time, in all buildings. In the first building I lived in, there were 6 washers and 8 dryers, and more often than not, one or more of the driers were broken, and if you didn't do laundry at the right time of day, you could be waiting a while for laundry. In the second building I was in, there were many parties, many rulebreakers, and occasionally drugs. In all of the buildings, there are a lot of drinkers, and they have many ways of hiding their alcohol.

    Academic Rigor

    Wellsville-Extremely focused on attendance, many of the majors (including the electrical one) are very demanding. Alfred-Some of the courses are very challenging, others are not. All of them have a strict no plagiarism policy. The major you pick depends on the difficulty of your work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't procrastinate, don't cheat, don't join the drug life. Stay in your dorm room at night, especially on Wednesdays, Fridays, and Saturdays, this is when all of the drunks are out. If you are in any major that involves science, study hard; this includes forensics, nursing, and vet tech majors.

    In three sentences

    SUNY Alfred is a party college in a small town; there are many wanna-be rednecks, you can see their trucks everywhere. On the Alfred campus, a few majors have higher standards and better students than other majors. On the Wellsville campus, you have mostly all of the redneck wanna-bes, and the curriculum holds the students at a high standard.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is a very safe environment. It is no joke keeping everyone safe especially on the weekends when things get crazy.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs are formed in order to bring together a sort of family in college and since it is hard at first to relate to other people, finding out and joining clubs that you can relate to is a start for connecting with other students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Hot Dog Day in the town Hog Wild Day in Wellsville Spaghetti Dinner in Wellsville Mardi Gras Dinner in Wellsville

    Bang for the buck

    Not really much to the school except focus on school during the week and relaxing on the weekends.

    What to do for fun

    Anything with a group, play your favorite sport whether it's basketball, football, swimming, exercise, or other social activities. Chill in the library whether it is to study, do a project, or hang out.

    Food and Dining

    A lot of variety but the quality of food could be better. Also you get tired of it after a while.

    Dorm Life

    It's fine if you are okay with your surroundings, but if you are someone who values privacy, get a single!

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on what your major is. Culinary Arts major is a very knowledgeable basis, but they have a long way to go.

    Tips for prospective students

    Focus on your school work. Keep away from the wrong crowd and be careful of your surroundings. Find something that can occupy your mind productively. You are now becoming college students, a big step into adulthood bearing much responsibility and maturity so please act accordingly and leave the stuff that was acceptable as a child behind.

    In three sentences

    It is a very small community. Very Outdoorsy area full of trees and mountains. Peaceful. Winter starts early here and ends late.

  • 02/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safe but there has been a few assaults

    Greek Life

    Really good lot of local faternitys and sonority

    Clubs and Activities

    lots of clubs up to 100 now

    Great for these types of students

    architecture, nursing, vet tech.

    What to do for fun

    Hang with friends, play sports, and go out

    Food and Dining

    great they have taco bell, pizza hut, friendly's, terric, and a cafa

    Dorm Life

    Its great most people love the dorm life some of the dorms have small rooms.

    Academic Rigor

    don't really know

    Tips for prospective students

    Just work hard and listen to the professors and even get close to professors they can be very helpful.

    In three sentences

    It wasn't my first pick but i would choose it again.

  • 11/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    University Police are always on duty

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a large range of activites to choose from

    Great for these types of students

    People who like to focus and are not looking to hang out all the time

    What to do for fun

    you have to make your own fun , just get involved and the fun will come to you

    Food and Dining

    you get tired of eating the same things , but the food is really good

    Dorm Life

    The rooms are really large

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers care about all there students so it is good to build a relationship

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay Motivated and Focused

    In three sentences

    An Amazing School

  • 11/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    University Police and plenty of Res-Life staff around to keep you safe. The dorms are secure 24/7.

    Greek Life

    There's Greek life everywhere! I'm friends with people from different Frats/Sororities and they're pretty friendly.

    Clubs and Activities

    They're all very involved and awesome.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's a lot of Ammish people. And a set of tents in the back woods past the football field....

    What to do for fun

    Go out and join clubs and do events. There's always something to do and no one will judge you here.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay. Be sure to watch how much you eat because the Terrace dining is a buffet setup. I packed on 25 pounds my first year and just got back down to 113 in my second year. You'll start to get sick of the food after awhile.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are so-so. Nicest dorm is Braddon. Burdick is undergoing renovations and is equally as nice. Depending on where you live, your dorm experience will vary.

    Academic Rigor

    Every teacher I've had has been very helpful. They're a funny lot and easy to get along with. The Nursing, Interior Design, Engineer and Animation majors are heavy with coursework, so be warned!

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring very warm clothes! And keep an umbrella handy. Alfred weather is pretty unpredictable. Also be prepared for the hills. After awhile you get used to them, soon they'll feel like nothing.

    In three sentences

    Everyone is friendly

  • 12/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Alfred is located in a small town with a few clubs and bars to hang out at as well as pizza shops. The campus does a great job at providing students with clubs and activities to keep them occupied. They are also located right across the street from Alfred University. The two will sometimes come together and offer activities for students on either campus.

    Food and Dining

    Alfred is great for food because they have a buffet dining hall as well as Taco Bell and Friendly's options. The other great thing about Alfred is that there are various sub shops in the town that will take your meal plans so that you can eat outside of the school cafeteria as well.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter to Alfred State. I got an apartment because dorm life is not my preference. However, from the friends I have made that live on campus, they all enjoy the dorms. The dorms are good sized, clean and the housemates all share common interests usually.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not difficult if you are prepared for class. The professors do very well at covering necessary information. The key is to study and learn the information for the exams

    Tips for prospective students

    I advise prospective students to tour the campus and search for their specific interests. Living on campus can be detrimental to earning a degree since the school is dominantly men; they have a tendency to work less and play more. Dont forget why you are there.

    In three sentences

    Alfred State is a great school for various majors. They offer flexible classes with knowledgeable professors. The campus is set up in a way that allows you to work in one general area, rather than having to move across the whole campus for your following class.

  • 01/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety here is not bad there has only been a few incidents since i have attended Alfred State

    Greek Life

    Greek life on Alfred State campus is not great in my opinion because they do not offer more then local fraternity or sonority.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of clubs and organization at Alfred if you get involved you will have lots of stuff to do.

    Great for these types of students

    Great place for country people to enjoy a place like they have at home because it is located in a tiny town that share two colleges.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A tradition at Alfred State that people come to is Hot dog day which is hard to describe but its a weekend that everyone seems to enjoy.

    Bang for the buck

    Over all the price is not bad for the education you receive it keeps getting better so over all i would say Its worth what I pay to go to Alfred State.

    What to do for fun

    Like i said before not a lot to do theirs activity that go on threw out the year on campus that some people go to and different events like relay for life and other fun activity that a lot people go to. Also hanging with fraternity brothers is another big thing people do.

    Food and Dining

    The Food is not the greatest but there are lots of options and is always getting better. There is dinning where all you can eat, fast food like taco bell and friendly's.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great. Being an RA i have the privilege to know that dorms are great i would recommend Pete hall, Burdick Hall, and Braddon Hall to anyone.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics is not bad here depending on major and it is improving. For students that have been going here and changing of programs are kinda of messing up students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Before coming to Alfred State look at your program and see how it compares to other colleges. Think about what kind of college you want to attend. Talk to older students to figure out what professors to take.

    In three sentences

    Alfred State college is a growing college but not really anything around there to do. Its good for people starting out college and trying to get an associates degree. I would not say this was a bad choice.

  • 01/28/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Lots of on campus groups for just about anything.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dress warm.

    In three sentences

    Great place to go for 4 year degrees. Has lots of options for food. Has lots of things to do on campus.

  • 02/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I fell at least 3 times when coming back here from January Break.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs are far ahead of their years.

    Bang for the buck

    Pardon my french, but no.

    What to do for fun

    Besides the fraternity parties, you'll have a bag of fun whilst listening to your neighbors having sexual intercourse. In the winter, you can't even make a snowman Thats the best part of winter!

    Food and Dining

    While rarely good tasting, the food is really unhealthy. This is practically home of the freshman fifteen. Also it costs money to get into the gym they're like mosquitoes when it comes to money.

    Dorm Life

    You can literally smell the STD's in the air. they turn the heat on when it's not cold and vice-versa.

    Academic Rigor

    Availability of the teachers is almost non existent.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Please don't come here. -If you're not white, you get accepted no problem. -The credit system is seriously messed up.

    In three sentences

    This school is mediocre at best. The food in the terrence has laxatives in it so if you get sick, it'll pass so you can't sue the place. Worst of all they make it impossible to transfer credits.

  • 04/06/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    31 of 31

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I have several friends attending here who have shown me the campus and say i is a good school, but the location is no ideal if you are planning on going out on the own