Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Alfred University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 04/05/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 out of 10 people found this review useful. 1 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    My tuition at Alfred (which is out-of-state for me) is the neighborhood of 19-20k a year. Compare that to a tuition of 25k a year for Penn State (which is in-state for me). You decide which is a better value.

    Am enjoying being here

    It is true that Alfred is in the middle of nowhere, and at times may seem remote, but this does not mean that the people here aren't friendly or engaging. Your college experience is what you make of it, and I can say that for the short time I've been at AU I've enjoyed myself.

    Am learning a lot

    This review is being written in complete and total contrast from 'Tulane Tom'. I am not sure if he is even describing the same university. Tom says that the ceramic engineering program, regarded as one of the best in the world, is built up to nothing. Not to mention the engineering program as a whole that offers a very unique and challenging curriculum that is ABET (accreditation board for engineering and technology) certified. Very few other institution offer outstanding ceramic, glass, and materials classes, research opportunities, and expertise from established professors in a smaller classroom setting. And fewer places offer the ability to use lab equipment (SEMs, X-Ray Diffraction machines, etc) as early as your first/second semester. As for getting stuck in a 'crummy town' with a job in ceramics, I can tell you this will not happen. As a sophomore materials science engineering student I have landed a paid research co-op in Albany, NY (not a crummy place in the midwest) at a company called Ceralink (www.ceralink.com)

  • 05/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who like a relaxed atmosphere, and do fine with seeing some of the same faces everyday.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check it out on multiple occasions, especially one day when the weather is not perfect. Alfred is absolutely BEAUTIFUL when the weather is nice, but because it rains so often, that beauty is sometimes overlooked.

    Bang for the buck

    Alfred was voted one of the best bang for you buck schools a couple years back, and I would definitely agree! If you come from a family with a relatively low income, or you did pretty well in high school, Alfred's financial aid department does a very good job in making sure you have the proper funds in order to attend. If you are out of state, they do a pretty good job in providing out of sate housing grants, which helps to suck up the expensive housing/dining plans at Alfred.

    Am enjoying being here

    The students are also very diverse at Alfred, and it is not what I was expecting at all. You'll meet people from all different backgrounds and with all different beliefs. It is neat because the school is very supportive of everyone, and everyone is their own person. Some things I like about Alfred are: The small physical size allows for getting around to be very simple, it has a very relaxed atmosphere, and the students have a say in pretty much everything. There are a few things I dislike about Alfred though, and some of those are: with only 2000 undergrads, it makes it slightly tough to meet new people after the first few months, it rains a lot during the fall and spring and snows all winter, and there is a huge number of football players (which you can interpret in your own way).

    Am learning a lot

    Alfred University has a very distinct and different learning community. It is definitely not like a Harvard or MIT learning environment (or at least what you picture when you hear them), it is much more student based. I wouldn't say that Alfred is an easy college, but it being a small school gives students more opportunity to learn in the way that suits them best. I would definately say that certain programs are focused upon more heavily than others (by the school itself). Being an engineer, I notice that a lot of the focus is given to ceramic and glass engineers because that is what the school is known for, but they do have neat mechanical/materials/biomedical/etc. engineering programs.

  • 05/13/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Art students and Engineering students are likely to succed at Alfred University.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out the campus before and after you apply. If you liked it before you applied you will love it after too.

    Bang for the buck

    There is so much space at the University. Its never too cramped and the campus is beautiful.

    Will enjoy being here

    Alfred works hard to not keep their students crammed into class rooms. For art many of the students get to go to Stony Brook within the first couple months of school.

    Will learn a lot

    There are so many courses to take at Alfred University. Its not all studying either, many of the classes are fun.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Students and faculty leave their car doors unlocked open without fear. You do the math. Crime levels are at 0.5% compared to Buffalo's school, and I can only imagine a parking ticket being the most severe.

    Greek Life

    They have no Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Everything. Seriously, I don't even know if a could list the number of clubs in the next life, let alone now. They have a club that BUILDS and FIGHTS with ROBOTS! ROBOTS I TELL YOU! Ask them if it's true! Go ahead!

    Great for these types of students

    If you're trying to actually focus on studies and be laid back rather then partying this is your place.And even if you want to party a little you can go and visit Alfred State, which is quite literally, across the street. DON'T APPLY IF YOU HATE HILLS. I warn you now, you will be in the shape of your life walking from class to class and dorm to dorm.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It is essential to dress up the King Alfred Statue as a graduation requirement. They will withhold your diploma until you do. ...Okay just kidding, but they do dress King Alfred up. It's pretty funny.

    Bang for the buck

    It was a bit pricey for my economic situation but they most certainly tried to bridge the gap. They we're neck and neck with my first choice school, which was pretty amazing. The only real draw backs where the location and my not wanting to take extra loans.

    What to do for fun

    They are in the sticks so don't go expecting night clubs. Still the admins and students do make ever effort to bring the fun to campus. Concerts, theater, art shows, parties, festivals - they have a little something for everyone and if you're wanting for more, they work with you to make it happen.

    Food and Dining

    I ate dinner while I was there and my host (who was but far the nicest person I've ever met) made it a point to warn me about the food. Apparently it won some of the Worse campus foods or something and they sometimes had thing on the menu that was meant only for the pregnant and starving to the point of obliviousness. ... But I tasted the food and it was fine. Really - it was totally average. And it was also pretty clean. Plus the entire place is covered in awesome student made artwork (but I'm weird so mind me not for that comment...).

    Dorm Life

    They show you the dorms on the tour and yes, the hallways are a bit narrow but the rooms are a very nice size. The walls are concrete so no, you can't really use thumbtacks, but you can dress it up if you're creative. Plus they will never place more than two students in one room as they're policy. They really care about your living conditions.

    Academic Rigor

    I sat in for two classes during my overnight stay (they really want you to get a feel of the campus so feel free to ask about it). The professors were really cool. The professor of the gerontology course remembered her students by name and really connected with them if her jokes were anything to go by. She was engagingly and made sure student were not just writing, but listening to what she was teaching and form they're own opinion and get actual experience with the elderly. The Art History professor was someone to be admired to. Her class started with the breaking down of former conceptions of art and society and builds it back up with the addition of new information. The classes actually seem challenging and stimulating.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look at your financial aid packages from all the schools you've been accepted to and don't be afraid to ask Alfred's admissions and financial aid offices if there is any way to even out the differences. They do want to see you there next year as part of their family. Also - ASK QUESTIONS! See if you can stay the night to get a feel of the dorms. Ask if you can speak to professors or even students about the campus, classes and yes even the quality of food. They WILL be honest in their answers. Professors get paid regardless of their opinions and seniors get their degree in May - they have no reason to lie to get you there.

    In three sentences

    It was a very beautiful campus. Students were friendly, professors were informative and clubs were abundant. All around, a wonderful University.

  • 11/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It would be five stars but Alfred has a lot of fires in the town. It's weird and so the school is crazy about fire safety.

    Greek Life

    We don't have one.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am the captain of the quidditch team! We have tons of events. If you want to know more about the team you can email quidditch@alfred.edu Also we have a medieval club that wear armor...

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a castle!

    What to do for fun

    Quidditch

    Food and Dining

    Ade is awful but powell is awesome. Ade doesn't care if you are a vegetarian and they rarely are serving. Also their dishes are zero percent functional. Powell always has something yummy plus Tuesday is taco day.

    Dorm Life

    My whole hall is friends and generally people love each other. The rooms are small but cozy. FYI the washers won't clean if you use those laundry pods.

    Academic Rigor

    Go to class and recopy you notes and you will be fine. Don't fall behind or you will never catch up.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to visit. Also Alfred like it if you have a recommendation letter from a teacher in a class where you didn't do well but tried very hard.

    In three sentences

    There is something at Alfred for everyone and therefore I love it. The people who don't like Alfred don't try very hard to look for things to be active in. Even if Alfred doesn't have something you love it is very easy to make it happen (as in create your own major or club).

  • 12/22/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Alfred University is a great school for students who don't mind a rural environment and small class sizes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Student who are interested in attending Alfred University should bring an extra snow suit.

    Bang for the buck

    Alfred University offered me a great financial package.

    Am enjoying being here

    Yes I am enjoying my time at Alfred University. Not only does Alfred University have a beautiful campus but they have many school sponsored events and performances.

    Am learning a lot

    Yes I am learning a lot at Alfred University. Most of my classes are small and some even have teachers assistants so no question goes unanswered.

  • 05/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The standard blue light system is in effect all across Alfred, and campus safety patrols the school regularly. Don't park your car in an unspecified parking spot or you'll get a ticket. They'll withhold your diploma if you don't pay them.

    Greek Life

    There are no sororities or fraternities at Alfred University.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's almost every type of club available, and if we don't have it - we can make it. The Student Activities center is always willing to set anything up so long as you have a faculty advisor. The range goes from international club to golf club to ski club to outdoors (hiking) club. There's a medieval society for people who like to LARP and then there are those who simply like to play Quidditch. There's a club for just about anything.

    Great for these types of students

    Ones that work hard, take a lot of notes, and do their homework. You're not going to get far here if you don't do your work, and there are no easy A's. Teachers are willing to work with you, and will give you extensions if you need them, but you need to talk to them and explain the situation. If you know you're going to be absent due to a prior commitment early on, tell them as soon as you hear about it and they won't mind at all to help you. Be prepared to spend time with your teachers if you want to do well. You need to speak up in class, participation is a must.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are hidden tree-houses around campus that you can find and crawl up in. Once a year there's Hot Dog Day - a big celebration that encompasses all of Alfred in late April.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely the best school I could have chosen for myself, I have enjoyed being a student here for all four years and will miss it when I leave. It is expensive, but it's worth the extra cost.

    What to do for fun

    Many sports teams and activities on that regard, there are local events all the time. Movies are shown at the personal theatre every week. Bands, comedians, and carnival-eque events are constantly rotating to help entertain the students.

    Food and Dining

    I make it a point not to try to eat there. The food's rather poor and if there's one downside it's that.

    Dorm Life

    Some dorms are fantastic, others aren't. It's a hit or miss. The freshman dorm, obviously, isn't as nice as the senior dorms. Locations of the dorms can be frustrating and far away from your classes, but if you wake up early enough you shouldn't have too much trouble.

    Academic Rigor

    I study in the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences and it is only as difficult as you make it. Some teachers, obviously, will be more challenging than others, but overall it's not overly hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always go to your classes on time, and spend the extra time to speak with your teachers. They're all willing to speak with you and help you if you need it, but you need to show the initiative to go to them first. There aren't a lot of assignments, but when you do have them - do them punctually. Due to the local bus, you don't need a car to get to the nearest town.

    In three sentences

    This school has very interactive teachers that are always willing to spend the extra time with their students. The small class sizes enables a more focussed and relaxing learning environment. Campus life and activities are all very active and well thought out - a truly fine institution.

  • 07/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have yet to have any issue on campus. If there is an incident the campus safety takes care of it quickly and warns the students if need be. They are also very open to help from the community if there is information they need about an incident.

    Greek Life

    Alfred University does not have a Greek system.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am currently in the psychology club but a lot of the members graduated!

    Great for these types of students

    If you are into the outdoors there is so many places to go hiking. If you are into art the art school is constantly opening new gallery exhibits to check out.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Having been at Alfred for one semester, the only place I know of is The Grange where everyone goes to listen to live music and dance.

    Bang for the buck

    Yeah, Alfred is expensive but the quality of teaching is exceptional and worth it.

    What to do for fun

    I like to longboard and skateboard, but biking is huge on campus. There is so many places to go out and explore by wheels or by walking.

    Food and Dining

    The smaller cafe's and shops are great for snacks. Powell and Ade are great buffet style places to go and eat.

    Dorm Life

    I never had the dorm experience at Alfred as I am a commuter.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers have given me the opportunities to test myself and push myself to the limits. There is help for when you need it and always the ability to further the study outside the classroom.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enjoy the campus and the area. It is beautiful no matter the time of year. Bring a good winter coat and if you like to ride a bike or a board be sure to bring it as there is so many places to check out.

    In three sentences

    Alfred has made me much more sure of myself as a student. Being a transfer from a large school was hard at first but Alfred University staff and teachers made the transition simple. Having the ability to be more one on one with teachers and staff has lead me too become the best student and worker I can be.

  • 09/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is like the silent older brother that is always watching out for you but you don't see them. (Ladies, you are allowed to carry pepper spray!!!!!!) I feel safe in my campus but I don't recommend walking by yourself at night; that's just a sketchy situation and regardless of how safe the campus can be, there is always that one creep. It seems dumb, but the buddy system can save your life.

    Greek Life

    There isn't any greek life that the campus recognizes, however we did used to have a greek life and the houses are still available to live in for students.

    Clubs and Activities

    THERE ARE SO MANY CLUBS AND ACTIVITIES. Seriously, there is a club for absolutely everything. You think of it, it's already here. And if it isn't, if you get five people to sign up saying they want to join, you can make your own club!! The University funds the club and there you go, boom, a club! As previously mentioned, there is always an activity to do!!

    Great for these types of students

    Alfred is great for every type of student, it has an engineering school, a liberal arts and sciences, a business school, and a school of the arts (which is world-renowned!). The football team is excellent, and there are tons of intermural sports if you want to be active but don't want so much commitment. It is a small town, but Hornell is right down the road and that has Walmart, Wegmans, Applebees, Maurices, Game Stop, and a bunch of other stores if you want go shopping. The coffee shop at Alfred is a little pricey (in my mind) but they are delicious! The Jet and Fox's are both great restaurants for you if you want some amazing food. The Jet sells diner-type food while Fox's is your typical pizza & wings.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Equestrian Center is something that everyone should visit, at least once. It doesn't matter if you are an Art student or a football Jock, the Equestrian Center has so many awesome attributes about it that it's an awe-inspiring experience. You can also minor in Equestrian, with all the classes being held at the Center. You can learn to ride western, english, learn how to properly show a horse and much, much more. There is a challenge for everyone at that barn. Go check it out!!!

    Bang for the buck

    I'll be honest, I'm paying $43,000 a year for Alfred. That's really steep, but I am very happy with my choice. Alfred is very high up in the Nation's best colleges and it partners with good graduate schools, like Cornell and Yale. There are so many fun and free events to go to that it is worth it, AND Alfred is a private University so on top of all the government aid that you receive, Alfred gives out grants and scholarships left and right! Really I only ended up paying $2,100 after all my grants and scholarships =) (That's including books!)

    What to do for fun

    There are so many clubs and activities planned for every second of the day, that if you say I'm Bored in Alfred, then you're a lazy bum who just sits on their butt all day. Between concerts (Alfred had the Black Eyed Peas!!!) comedy shows, magicians, 5k Zombie Runs (which I'm participating in!) and so much more...there is always something to do! There is also bowling only 10 minutes away if you would like to bowl =)

    Food and Dining

    Ade dining hall is right next to Barresi (all freshmen) dorm hall, with Midknight express. Midknight express is open from 8pm-2am and it cooks all the greasy fast food that you love. It also has over a dozen flavors of ice cream, lots of different beverages, and salads/yogurts if you don't want the greasy-ness. Ade serves Breakfast, lunch and dinner, with a buffet-style serve-yourself type meal system. There is also a sandwich and soup section if you want a sandwich (someone makes it for you!) Ade also has a dessert bar...the gellato is fabulous!

    Dorm Life

    It's so cold in these dorms...although Barresi is the best hall to live in, the bathrooms are newly renovated and the RA staff is really nice! Be prepared for freshmen orientation...you will be dragged out of your rooms to participate in activities.

    Academic Rigor

    Personally, I feel that my first semester of college was like the last two years of high school, however later on in the next four years Alfred will challenge you, no matter what your major. Be prepared for a LOT of home work and a LOT of studying!!! Take classes seriously!

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring a lot of blankets, and a mattress pad or two, as the mattresses are really hard. If you think for even a second that you and your roommate won't get along, then bring your own fridge and microwave! Establish boundaries early, and take the roommate agreement seriously!

    In three sentences

    Alfred U is a very personal college; the professors learn your name quickly and they offer you so much help. The meal plans are very convenient, although I wish Dining Dollars were available for purchase. It is -freezing- in the dorms, however, and I don't know when they're turning the heat on!!!

  • 01/18/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    10 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The off campus restaurant called Collegiate is so good! Great price- perfect for college students.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not too great, but it's college food.

    Dorm Life

    I have stayed in the dorms and they are big, roomy, and the people make the dorms so much better.

    Academic Rigor

    From what I have heard, it will be amazing.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is quiet but fun. There is plenty to do. The school is a beautiful campus and the people are amazing. Everyone is so different, but they all seem to be amazing and become great friends with eachother.

    In three sentences

    I have visited this school 20 times and I cannot wait to attend. Everything about it is so enjoyable, and I cannot wait to be apart of the class of 2016.

  • 05/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 19

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Alfred University has very little to nothing to do in town. So you have to be creative! Hang out with your friends, get a cup of coffee at terra cotta, and then at night go for a night out on the town.

    Food and Dining

    HORRIBLE! When something is listed as vegan -DON'T BELIEVE IT! Furthermore, if something is listed as vegetarian, ask every question in the book. There was an incident that has occurred twice now with a Sheppard's pie that was listed as vegan, but was admittedly filled with ground beef and cheese. When asked to take the sign down that said vegan, they refused to.

    Dorm Life

    The rooms are small and there is little to no effort to pair you with someone that you would be most likely to get along with. The RAs were often unreasonable during my freshmen year, making unfair rules and penalties that I'm at least 90% sure they couldn't actually do.

    Academic Rigor

    The school of art and design at Alfred University is a program not to be messed with. The student who come out of this program have been through it all. Basically, if you survive foundations (the first year of college), you will make it throughout the rest of Alfred University's art program.

    Tips for prospective students

    While you're studying at Alfred University, make sure you make time for new opportunities. These include studying abroad, taking classes in areas you have little to no experience in. Don't be shy, make friends in a variety of majors - it will give you a broader view as you all move through your college careers.

    In three sentences

    As a student in the Art program, the program is very efficient BECAUSE it forces students to teach themselves with guidance. However, the studio spaces are small and the jobs are slim. The food is also highly over priced and disgusting - not vegan or vegetarian friendly despite advertisements.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Small town atmosphere in a college town.

    Great for these types of students

    Serious students who do not want distractions will do well here.

    Bang for the buck

    Great graduate program for my field (School Psych) which is both reasonable, funded, and has a great history.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of nearby nature trails to hike, there are a few local hangouts (like the coffee shop and the Collegiate). There is one small bar. For a village, there is a reasonable amount of things to do. For a college town, there should be more.

    Food and Dining

    There are limited options, but what is available is reasonable and should suit a wide variety of pallets.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are college dorms. However, the off-campus housing is plentiful, close, and inexpensive.

    Academic Rigor

    The programs (at the graduate level) are very focused and strong (as they should be). I can't speak to the undergraduate level.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely check out the village of Alfred. If you like night life and lots of things to do, this may not be a fit. If you prefer a serious academic approach and want to avoid distractions, this is a great location.

    In three sentences

    The program I am attending is a PsyD in School Psych, and has a very strong reputation. The school is known for a few things, particularly the art programs it has. It is a very quiet location in Upstate, NY.

  • 10/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    All over the campus you will see art work. This school is big on creative minds and we like to see all the different perspectives that these minds bring to our University.

    What to do for fun

    Every term there is a brochure with all sorts of activities for students to enjoy on the weekends and during the week there are often forums or other lectures from all sorts of professionals. There are also all sorts of sports both team, intramural sports, and clubs that students can join to occupy their time. The clubs offer activities and events that purpose a lot of interest in all sorts of fields.

    Food and Dining

    Just recently the school upgraded one of the two dining halls. It looks very modern and has that cyber cafe feel. The food is already set in bowls/on plates and ready for you to pick up. The down side to this is that you can't serve your self, but the up side is that you can get up and get more like and all you can eat buffet.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nice, but they can be a bit sketchy. For example I am living in the suites right now and you can hear every step that anyone makes and you can hear people singing in the shower from the floor above you. For your first year you the school places you in a set dorm which is nice because it sort of forces you to get out and make friends. After your first year you are eligible to live anywhere else on campus depending on your grade status. You also have the option of who you live with after your first year.

    Academic Rigor

    You have to put in the time and effort in homework and in studying. You have to want to do the work or else you fall behind. It's important to find majors and courses that you're interested in because that will drive you to putting in the effort you need to read you're life goal.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep up with your work and study hard and you will succeed in getting further towards you're goal. The professors want to help you succeed as long as you are willing to help yourself. This school can be rather expensive so I suggest looking for scholarships way ahead of time so that you don't have to take out loans like I had to.

    In three sentences

    This school offers a great program in Early Childhood Education. They give you hand on experience with children and in elementary schools. Alfred University has a 90% job placement rate after graduation.

  • 02/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is basically about one mugging per year on campus. One. Look at any other school and it's hundreds. Everyone knows everyone here. When school isn't in session, there is a population of 300 people. It's a small and tight-knit community.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In the sort of quad in front of Powell Campus Center, there's the statue of King Alfred that people often dress up, or do silly things to depending on the time of year or the event coming up.

    What to do for fun

    There's not as much to do around here, but there is still a lot to do considering it's a small campus. There are parties of course, but there's also tons of events. Comedians, bands, fashion shows, dances, movies, etc. There's always something to do on the weekend.

    Food and Dining

    I've always liked the food. They always listen to advice and try to find out what you like or want to see in the dining halls. One of ours just got a huge upgrade.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are alright, but they are kind of expensive. You're required to live on campus for the first three years but it's not a big deal since there is so much campus housing and Alfred University practically is the town of Alfred. There aren't many other places to live so it's not a big bother.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a private college, and the curriculum is very intense. But I feel like I'm getting the best possibly education here. It's why I came all the way from Florida. But the class sizes are usually smaller so there is more time and availability for one on one time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be friendly and open. Everyone else is.

    In three sentences

    It's one of the friendliest and nicest places I've been in my life. It's far away from the city but it's very relaxing and even though I don't like the outdoors much, it's soothing. You will never be short of friends here.

  • 12/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Public Safety has help buttons around campus, do regular patrols, and offer escorts for students to get around campus at night. Email and text alert system available that alerts as soon as something happens on campus.

    Greek Life

    None at the University

    Clubs and Activities

    Nerf, painting, print making, clay, medieval, Quidditch, Hillel, GSA, student activities board, gender equality, middle eastern dance, international students scholar organization, astronomy, archery, multiple other equality based clubs, Model UN, Campus radio, newspaper, literary journal, yoga, much more...

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    During finals week there is a midnight breakfast/party, free massages, and therapy dog available. It is not uncommon to see the statue of King Alfred dressed up in something unusual. and much more. Also every year there is a big weekend event called Hot Dog Day. big event celebrated throughout Alfred. Usually a decent known musical group will perform. Lots of food and activities. Hot dogs.Some Locations that are popular around campus include the Collegiate restaurant, the Terracotta coffeehouse, and Nana's Japanese restaurant all downtown. In the months that the weather is decent there is also a small farmers market every Sunday.

    What to do for fun

    Not much is available in Alfred but the University has a huge selection of fun clubs to join and there are always events being held to entertain and keep students busy. Common events include comedians, musical acts, and club hosted parties. Alfred University does not have any sororities or fraternities but is by no means void of partying.

    Food and Dining

    A wide variety of options are available for dining. If you have special dietary needs they are more than happy to assist when possible. There are not fast food places on campus, the nearest is the next town over. There a few decent restaurants in downtown Alfred that are good alternatives to dining hall food. Not 5 star restaurant quality food but edible and for the most part they try to have healthy options.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are not 5 star hotels but they are cozy and provide an space to relax, study, and make friends. Freshman dorms do not have full kitchens available. Bathrooms are not amazing but they serve their function.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are known for being rigorous and you definitely need to be prepared to study and even ask for help if needed, as help is easily available.

    Tips for prospective students

    Despite being in a small town that is out of the way Alfred has a lot of fun activities available every week to keep students busy. Very understanding school when it comes to the stresses of final and every day life.

    In three sentences

    A small and friendly campus. Professors always available too help. Lots of fun activities to keep busy.

  • 12/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is right on campus and quick to respond, and incidents are relatively few, but I still recommend being careful if out at night. Walk the well-lit path, even if it is slightly out of your way, and be aware of your surroundings at all times. Do not walk at night with your ear buds in and try not to walk alone.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life. Sororities and fraternities are prohibited.

    Clubs and Activities

    You could not find a wider collection of clubs or activities. Where else can you find an Archery Club, a Boffer (foam sword fighting) club, a Defensive Boxing Club, an Engineering Club, a Belly Dancing club, a Psychology Club, a philosophy cub (Lyceum), a Fencing Club, a swing dance club (Swing Society), and a Nerf Club all on the same campus? There are organizations for all majors, interests, and hobbies. Moreover, creating a new club for your specific interests is easy.

    Great for these types of students

    LGTB students have created a strong community on the Alfred University campus. With organizations like Spectrum working year round to produce events promoting awareness and equality, and with a campus-wide policy for acceptance and tolerance, students who have come out or will come out will find a home here.

    What to do for fun

    Alfred is the middle of no where! is the cry of many prospective students, but fear not. Firstly, Alfred is filled with clubs and organizations for every interest, from writing and drawing (Militant Illustrators Association) or combat, tradition, and skill (Medieval Club) to diversity (Poder Latino) or equality (Students Advocating Gender Equality). Secondly, Alfred University's Center for Student Involvement is proud to provide events all year round, building community, innovation, and inspiration. Concerts for musicians like OKGO, performances by famous magicians and comedians, and large events like the spirit day Hot Dog Day will keep you entertained all semester. You can even catch movies on the weekends for two dollars!

    Food and Dining

    Alfred University food is offered through AVI Foodsystems, Inc. Since my freshman year a great deal has changed: two dining halls and two cafes have become one dining hall, one cafe, and one food court. While I miss Powell Dining Hall (renovated into Knight's Den food court) and Li'l Alf (a cafe being renovated into student business space), Ade Dining Hall has greatly improved (I feel) in talent and skill. In short, no student should go hungry.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are fairly spread out on campus, so during the winter wear layers and scarves as you head to your classes. Alfred University provides a range of dorm building options, including classic dorm buildings with community kitchens, apartment buildings, and suites. The Alfred Honors Program proudly hosts the Honors House, where a certain number of students from the Honors Program are allowed to live together. And if you're interested in meeting people from around the world, the International House may be for you.

    Academic Rigor

    Students attend Alfred University to learn with a passion. At times the academic expectations can seem heavy to bear, but the rewards are worth it. Even if you feel a course you are required to take has nothing to do with your vision for the future, give it your best; you may be surprised by what you learn. If you are still struggling with courses, the Special Academic Services are accommodating for all your needs, whether it be a tutor, group tutoring, or special testing arrangements. There is even a Writing Center on campus. Academic writing is required for nearly all courses, and this center is the perfect resource to help you improve your skills, edit your essays, and increase your confidence.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are not considering the Honors Program - do. Instead of adding tough, demanding courses to your academic load, the Alfred Honors Program offers 2-credit night courses that take place once a week and offer learning for the sake of fun. Courses from this past semester (Fall 2013) included The Doctor in the Police Box, a course on the science and ideas of the hit show Doctor Who; Wiseguys, Whackos and Whiners, which studied the radicals of every field and the grain of truth in their statements; and The Aliens Did It?, which explores the theoretical role of aliens in human history.

    In three sentences

    Alfred University is a school of diversity, acceptance, and passion. If your desire is to meet people from all over the world, from every faith and belief, this is your school. Please only attend if you can see everyone as an equal, because Alfred accepts all races, faiths, sexualities, and gender identities.

  • 01/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None, and we like it that way.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's something for everyone. I'm personally involved in Outdoor Club, Martial Arts Club, and Swing Dance Club. Alfredian Dramatists, and Creative Writers are just a few of the other clubs we have on campus. The Honors Society is pretty awesome too. If you qualify, apply, and get accepted, you get to take some really awesome seminars for 2 credits. I took one last semester on Doctor Who, and next semester I'm taking World Domination for Beginners. How much better can it get??

    Great for these types of students

    Art students and engineering students

    What to do for fun

    Alfred is a tiny little town, not a whole lot there honestly. Yet there is always something to do in your downtime. We get a lot of comedians coming through. There are shows of that sort every few weekends. There are dances and parties on campus. Movies are shown in the Powell Center theater on weekends for only $2 (or sometimes free if you know the person working the ticket booth). The place to eat in town is the Collegiate, aka the Jet. It's a nice diner with good food. That place or Terracotta are the two best options for a date. Terracotta is a coffee shop. Pretty cool place. They've got lots of room upstairs with comfy chairs to sit around and play games with friends. Chess boards are provided if you're into that.

    Food and Dining

    There are two dining halls on campus: Ade and Powell. Ade is the best place to go during the week if you have unlimited Ade swipes in your meal plan. I highly recommend that plan for your first year at A.U. Ade is not open on weekends, which can be annoying, but it's not bad. Powell food is the same every day. You can get pizza, soup, salad, chicken wings, tacos, nachos, pasta, fries, and a variety of other foods. It's pretty tasty. A lot of people I know prefer Powell over Ade. Personally, I think Ade is pretty good too. There's something different every day. Occasionally they'll try something weird, like jalepeno in the mashed potatoes, but usually it's good stuff. Also, at lunch and dinner there is a sandwich station, and a dessert station that always has gelato.

    Dorm Life

    People are generally quite friendly in Alfred. The RAs and RDs are peppy and enthusiastic. Dorms are kept clean and neat. Most residence halls have a kitchenette (except, ironically, the one I was assigned to).

    Academic Rigor

    Everybody I've met at Alfred is highly intelligent. Even the least intelligent students are pretty dang smart. The courses are demanding enough to be a rewarding challenge, but they are not so difficult that you'll get burned out. When it comes to an Alfred education, you get out of it what you put in. If you're interested and hard-working and willing to ask questions, you'll be just fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't go there if you're a theater major. Trust me.

    In three sentences

    Alfred is an itty-bitty western N.Y. town containing two colleges (A.U. being the better of the two). Alfred University is where you will be accepted for who you are and supported in your quest to become something better. I love it.

  • 04/05/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are tons of clubs. I believe they said there were about 90 clubs on campus and new ones are always being created. There is also an equestrian team that competes for those that are interested in riding in college.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that want a quiet and peaceful area will love Alfred. Also, there is a beautiful equestrian center for any students that are interested in horseback riding.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The students love to dress up the statue of King Arthur.

    Bang for the buck

    Alfred is a little expensive but they give away good scholarships.

    What to do for fun

    Alfred may be in the middle of nowhere but the students and faculty have plenty to do. There are concerts and sporting events to go to. The theater students perform and there are fun clubs to join.

    Food and Dining

    There are two places to eat on campus and many small restaurants near the college.

    Dorm Life

    The halls are a little narrow but the rooms are a good size.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors seem like they are really interested in your learning and want you to succeed. They challenge you and help you reach your full potential.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tour the campus before applying or deciding to enroll in the school. Keep an open mind about the campus and try to picture yourself studying there.

    In three sentences

    The school is in the middle of nowhere but has an amazing atmosphere from what I picked up. The students there seem very nice and hardworking. It is a wonderful university with plenty to do.

  • 05/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 19

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Arts students and athletes

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Hot dog weekend. A lot of fun

    Bang for the buck

    School financial aid is generous.

    What to do for fun

    Sports and the school puts on events on weekends (plays, dances, rollerskating etc)

    Food and Dining

    Food is not good.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are ok. Honors dorms are nice. Suites are spacious but not updated.

    Academic Rigor

    Engineering and Arts programs are well respected. Classes in both are time consuming and difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring a car to campus because there isn't much to do in Alfred and other towns are quite a distance away.

    In three sentences

    The athletics are good for d3. The campus is nice. The weather is horrible.