Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Allan Hancock College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Frequently you see campus police, as well as public safety officers, drive by, ride a bike, or walk around ensuring people are safe and comfortable. Although there are no cameras present at the school, they have been doing a great job monitoring and keeping the school safe! They also make great conversations and are open to questions.

    Greek Life

    There's not really sororities nor fraternities present at this campus. Everyone is a family and usually people have their own hang out spot, though it is not THEIRS, since when other people hang out at that spot, people are tolerant.

    Clubs and Activities

    Yes, Yes, YES! Joining a club is a GREAT way to get to know students, staff, administration, student services, buildings, etc! Not only do you become more open and social, but you become more aware of how each student faces their challenges in school, at home, as well as how they balance their life and education. It's a great way to enjoy your college experience. so...GET INVOLVED!

    Great for these types of students

    Due to the school's large variety of student backgrounds, this is a school that is accepting of everyone's ethnicity. One doesn't have to worry about being judged, or being rejected, or being pushed in to a corner. It is a school for both shy and outgoing students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The events on campus (such as Spirit Week, Bow Wow, Diversity Day, etc), bring a change to the atmosphere by raising school spirit in several ways. One of the ways is by offering karaoke and talent shows, another way is by allowing students to participate by playing music (guitar, usually) to the students.

    What to do for fun

    There are several people that play guitar and they walk around on campus. Such people make the campus alive when things seem to be dull since they bring in a variety of musical genres to people. Also, in the music building (building E), there are piano rooms available to the public (or students), where people can come and practice and rehearse and just have fun; however, there are piano classes and sometimes they occupy them. There is always something to do at Hancock. Though, when things start to get boring, or when you enter into a boring routine, it's time to join a club!

    Food and Dining

    On taco Tuesdays, the Mexican-style tacos are awesome! If you buy the pizza...I recommend you get something else. I'd say 3.5 However, the food is a little bit pricy! (i.e. a bag of hot cheetos is $1.50)

    Dorm Life

    There aren't dorms--unless you sleep on a bench.

    Academic Rigor

    As a wise professor/counselor told me, You can go to the richest, top 'elite' schools and not learn anything. You can be a graduate from the best schools. All that will give you is titles. but it's how much dedication and effort you put into learning and advancing your knowledge to make it applicable to your life. You can do that even at the 'low quality' schools. If a teacher is giving easy grades, the true hard-working student will find a way to go beyond. However, I believe every school has both good and bad teachers. Here at Hancock, there are easy teachers, as well as plenty of teachers you wish You wouldn't have taken, since many think all teachers are easy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Speak with counselors. Don't just talk to them in a routine like you are accustomed to in high school. They can be used much more than just to tell you which classes to take next semester; they can help you with time management skills, coping with problems in your life, and they can be your closest friend whom you can trust.

    In three sentences

    It is a diverse school where many different personalities blend together to form a large body of students whom accept one another. Due to its semi-small perimeter, a wider opportunity is open for students to know one another as they see each other walk by. Even though it is a local community college, it does not mean the professors are simple; there are several professors and counselors whom truly care about each student that is willing to put in the time and effort to their studies.

  • 10/06/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Allan Hancock helps various types of students. The counselors at Allan Hancock talk to every student and they go over their education plan. The counselors help each student figure out what requirements they have to complete to meet the indivual's goal(s).

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advice future students to really consider attending Allan Hancock College because it is economical, the curriculum is great, and they really prepare you for a university if you wish to continue. Allan Hancock provides many educational plans and they will make sure to find the perfect one for each indivual. They prepare students as much as they can, and if students take their education seriously, Allan Hancock can help them achieve many goals.

    Bang for the buck

    Not only are the staff and curriculum amazing, but Allan Hancock also offers a lot of financial aid. The college offers various types of financial aid opportunities. Also, Allan Hancock offers all the general education classes just like universities do, except that Allan Hancock offers them for so much less money. They also offer degree programs at an amazing cost. The tuition and registration is very economical.

    Am enjoying being here

    I really enjoy attending Allan Hancock College because the staff is very helpful, especially to new students, like myself. The staff at Allan Hancock works as a team and they really make you feel at home. Every student is offered an equal opportunity.

    Am learning a lot

    Allan Hancock College is an amazing school. The curriculum is extraordinary. The classes offered at Allan Hancock really help students prepare for their careers by offering essential tools. The proffesors are an immense help. They can help students one on one if it is needed. Personally, I have learned a lot at Allan Hancock College because the personel is very curtious and they are very willing to help me with any problems that I encounter.

  • 01/14/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    3 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you didn't get the 4.8 GPA in High School this is a good place to make up that lost ground to the big universities. Also if you are low on money or completely zoned out on the SAT's Hancock is like the restart button where you can prove that you can do better.

    Tips for prospective students

    Show up to class. Do your homework. And most importantly get to know your teachers. They can help you get scholarships, internships, write letter of recommendation for jobs or colleges. This isn't High School the professors are your friends.

    Bang for the buck

    Hancock was like $26 a unit. I payed $500 for a 20 unit semester! I now pay that just for one unit. If you are low on cash and still want a great education Hancock is a great place to start out your journey.

    Did enjoy being here

    Hancock doesn't have all the social activities of the big colleges, but you will most likely be with high school friends and make new friends from nearby towns that you didn't always go to when you were in High School.

    Did learn a lot

    Hancock was a great transition school from High School into a four year University. I found many of the teachers very well read on their teaching topics and some even also taught at the local Universities like Cal Poly and UCSB.

  • 01/17/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students looking for a great community college

    Tips for prospective students

    Because community colleges are booming due to the economy, you just have to makes sure you register on time if you want to get the classes you need to finish. Also, if you need to see a counselor try and make an appointment. They often have drop in hours but they are only 10 minutes and you often have to wait behind a mass of people and your wait could be more than 30 minutes.

    Bang for the buck

    I chose Hancock for the specific reason of getting the same education I would get from a four year university just at a much lower cost. Its nice knowing that I'm saving money for when I transfer this fall and that I'm still getting a great education.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am a local so my commute to Hancock is not very long and I'm very acquainted with the area. The campus is very nice and is also in the stages of being even more improved. Hancock has great facilities from the library to the student center. What also makes Hancock enjoyable are the people. The great thing is Hancock has so many different types of people, from ages to backgrounds, but everyone has the same goal of continuing their education. I've met some great people at Hancock and that's what makes it enjoyable.

    Am learning a lot

    I've been attending Hancock for a year and a half and I would say that I have learned alot. For my experience, the teachers are great and willing to work with you if something comes up or you have a situation. There are tons of major fields you can choose from and for me, Hancock allowed me to explore different options with my educations which lead to finally making my decision of what major I would study.

  • 01/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Good for students who work.

    Bang for the buck

    Decent rates for classes.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    In three sentences

    Good class selection. Lots of students. Hard to obtain classes due to competition.

  • 02/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    i don't really like the food .

    Dorm Life

    no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    prospective students make sure you attend the orientation.

    In three sentences

    allan hancock college is a good school for people that live in the area, it has some amazing programs. the wait list for some of these programs is ridiculous, but the school is very affordable. the services they offer are good.

  • 02/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there seems to be a high presence of campus police; constantly patrolling the perimeter. other security features include emergency posts where, at the touch of a button, a guard will come to aid the situation.

    Greek Life

    i'm not capable of providing sufficient information concerning sororities and fraternities. although, they are available in this campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    i am aware that there are many, ranging from asb to mesa and music performance opportunities to dance and acting opportunities, like the prestigious pcpa program; these organizations and extracurricular activities provide the foundation for life skills.

    Great for these types of students

    if you interested in really finding out what your niche is, whether it be in the arts or academics then, allan hancock college is an ideal place to find yourself so that you can pursue a career. i believe i would not have discovered an important part of my future and life if i had not decided to study at a community college first.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the new patio area has become, successfully, an attraction to an array of students. the patio area is almost like the heart of the campus where students cross each other between classes and people will be eating, studying, hanging out, or hosting an event to support a specific cause.

    Bang for the buck

    there are many exceptional instructors who do care about the education and the success of their students. sometimes it's hindered by the shadow of the policies the school has to abide by because of the unfortunate situation with our state and the economy. all in all, if the student is willing then the outcome will be in their favor.

    What to do for fun

    there are, in fact, many activities and clubs to choose from. many, if not all, are brought into light at one point or another. especially at the beginning of every semester the college schedules bow wow week where most clubs and activities are advertised.

    Food and Dining

    the college offers a student center where, under one building, you can choose between eating a semi home cooked meal inspired by several different nationalities or relaxing a bit in the lounge area. i would suggest bringing something from home and warming it up in the microwaves provided, or bringing in a meal from another source, since it is rather pricey to eat from the campus; assuming because it's convenient.

    Dorm Life

    there aren't any dorms but, housing can be challenging depending on you financial situation. there are certainly many circumstances that apply to different people. i feel that the housing experience is what you make of it, considering you own personal situation.

    Academic Rigor

    i feel that the level of difficulty between each and every major, each instructor, and student, depends on natural skill, will power, and setting. there are many outside sources that affect students' ability and performance but, generally, if you're working hard to your full potential then, it's not a breeze.

    Tips for prospective students

    i would suggest putting forth effort in current activities and academics in jr high and high school, so that dependency is kept at a minimum but, determination and hard work are highlighted in order to become well adapted and ready in a college setting where you are solely responsible.

    In three sentences

    i believe it to be an above average community college. i give high ratings for the transition from high school to college, the classes offered, as well as the opportunities available. but i would give a less than favorable review for lack of connection between school hierarchy and the students' needs.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    i have never had a problem.

    Clubs and Activities

    the organizations i am a pat of are great.

    Great for these types of students

    any type

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    not that come to mind...

    Bang for the buck

    much cheaper than attending a 4-year and i feel well prepared for transfer.

    What to do for fun

    located fairly close to the beach.

    Food and Dining

    food is not all that great.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms...

    Academic Rigor

    classes are not too hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    try and join a student organization such as mesa or can.

    In three sentences

    great engineering program. great instructors. great programs.

  • 04/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Pricey food in my opinion, but very good!

    Dorm Life

    I live at home, but I know the dorms are right across from the school. It put three stars because I know they are kind of pricey to live there.

    In three sentences

    Hancock is a great community college. It has many knowledgeable, helpful, and respectful teachers to teach the students. I haven't had a bad experience yet with courses or teachers.

  • 04/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Hancock's security are some of the best. Although, sometimes strict when giving out parking tickets they are nice and work with you to get you out of trouble. Also, there is campus security for those who have night classes.

    Greek Life

    Allan Hancock College has no Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    As was mentioned they do have a variety of sports offered. They also have clubs and activities hosted by ASBG student government. They host university days and fun activities for students and teachers.

    What to do for fun

    Hancock College has a variety of sports. They have an exceptional Basketball , Baseball, Soccer, Volleyball, and softball team. They also have a pool that can be used for recreational reasons.

    Food and Dining

    The student center offers many different options for breakfast and lunch. Everything is very clean, and the workers are exceptional.

    Dorm Life

    At Hancock college there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Allan Hancock College has successful students. Every year a lot of students come to be on the Deans list for good grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    The tip I would give to a college student would be to stay on task always. I would tell them not to get side tracked because it is nothing like High School. You cannot expect to slack off and pass all your classes.

    In three sentences

    Allan Hancock College is a great campus, it has a variety of programs offered. The counselors are exceptional at helping students with their schedules. The teachers are very straight forward.

  • 04/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have campus police going around the campus.

    Greek Life

    I'm not sure if they have it on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a different variety of clubs on campus. They help out students with Scholarships

    What to do for fun

    Playing Chess and hanging out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    The Food is way too Expensive and the quality is very bad, and it doesn't taste very good. The Dining is OK talking with friends while you eat or other activities.You have

    Dorm Life

    It doesn't have any dorms that you can use.

    Academic Rigor

    You have a 60 Units requirement in order to get your Degree on a Major.

    In three sentences

    The campus is very neat, complex, and busy. They have a wide variety of Classes and Clubs, and student services. The instructors get hands-on on particular classes that might need help.

  • 04/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 61

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends or join a sport.

    Food and Dining

    The food students can purchase is good. There are a variety of different choices and brands available. Food prices are fair and affordable.

    Dorm Life

    I'm not sure what a dorm life feels like because I live with my parents. However, I've heard people enjoy living in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The Academic Rigor at Allan Hancock College can be defined as the set of standards for the students and expectations of the students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to Allan Hancock College and get involved as much as possible because it's a great environment.

    In three sentences

    I think Allan Hancock College is a great community college to start a college experience on.

  • 04/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is a biggie. I never fail to see patrol cars on campus and little golf carts with safety personnel in them. There are also blue emergency boxes around campus that help to alert campus safety in case of an emergency. There are quite a few extinguishers and fire alarms around campus, and safety routes on how to exit a building in just about every classroom I have been in. Lastly, the school is able to send out safety alerts, in case of an threat on campus, via text to students. I'll say it's a pretty safe campus.

    Greek Life

    I am not too familiar with campus sororities and frats, but i do know of one sorority on campus. They do not go by beauty and financial status to determine their potential members, but by academics and intelligence.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs are always putting on activities. It's nonstop! The activities never fail to draw the attention of people, and gets students to actively participate in school. Clubs and activities promote the interests of individuals that lead people to form friendships.

    Great for these types of students

    I believe Hancock is a great place for recent high school graduates, who live in the area, to start from. It is also a great place for adults who are seeking more out of life by starting, or back to college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I'm a first-year student and I still haven't caught on to the campus traditions. As for the unusual locations, I would have to say that the lounge is a pretty unusual location. I'm not saying that the lounge, or the people that hang out there are unusual. It's just neat how anime and manga fans/artists all seem to congregate there, it's amazing.

    What to do for fun

    Hancock clubs are always putting on events in which people can participate in. What's best is getting free stuff just to participate. If that's not your style, you can always spend time with friends, or spend time trying to make some new ones. Hitch a ride on a bus and go to Boomers with other students from AHC on their get together nights.

    Food and Dining

    The Student Center on campus is the place to be in between classes, or just to relax and spend time with friends. Inside the Student Center there is a lounge area, a cafe that serves awesome fruit smoothies, a student store, and cafeteria. If you are not into school food, there are other places within walking distance of the school. These include a Subway, Olive Garden, In-&-Out, McDonald's, and much, much more.

    Dorm Life

    I personally do not live in a dorm, so I would not know anything about the dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    If you really pay attention and stick to assignment due dates the class will be easier to accomplish with a desirable grade, it's as simple as that. The teachers are not there to trick you and make passing classes even more difficult, they just teach to their best ability, and it is the student's job to learn the subject as best they can to move closer to their goal.

    Tips for prospective students

    Hancock is a great place to start, if you are undecided about your major. Teachers are more open to talking to students and helping them out- just like in high school. The counselors at Hancock really know what they are doing and can be a big help. It also helps to make an appointment first that way you avoid the lines of student walk-ins.

    In three sentences

    Allan Hancock college has a nice laid back kind of feel to it. It has an atmosphere that high school graduates can easily transition to after high school, compared to heading straight into a fast-paced university. At Hancock you feel right at home with the amazing staff, students, and faculty.

  • 05/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are a handful of on-campus clubs and activities. Most of the clubs have specific requirements, but there are a few that gear toward just the positive aspect of surviving college, maintaining good grades, and meeting new people. However, there aren't enough heavily promoted activities through the semester to keep students interested in hanging around the college after their class is out.

    Great for these types of students

    The college feels more geared toward the mainstream studies, such as medical and science. They recently created an A.A. program for multimedia arts.

    Bang for the buck

    Textbooks and on-campus dining both leave a bad taste in my mouth - both are very expensive, especially if you're tight on cash. If you look elsewhere, you can find both for cheap and often better.

    What to do for fun

    Because of the location of area, there is not a whole lot of fun things to do. Most people go out of town for shopping, the beach, clubs, outdoor recreation, and dining. But, if you can manage to stay up-to-date with the events going on in the community (Santa Maria Sun paper is decent) and keep an open mind regarding the events, then you might find something fun or interesting to do for cheap.

    Food and Dining

    They have a variety of foods (hot and cold), however, the campus cafe is expensive for the portions and the quality of the food is below par, I would recommend going off campus for dining. The area consists of a lot of cheap over-played fast food, but if you drive down Broadway you can find those same varieties of food for better quality and often for the same price or cheaper.

    Dorm Life

    There are no on-campus dorms. The complex of apartments outside on the north side of the campus are fairly run down. Even though they are just a 5 minute walk to the campus, would not recommend rooming in that area. There are quite a bit of people throughout the city that have rooms for rent that are pretty cheap.

    Academic Rigor

    Each instructor teaches differently, I would advise getting recommended professors from people who've taken classes you are interested in. Some instructors are fairly easy, make learning the subject easy and comprehensive, and grade fairly. Others are strict, unpredictable, and make the learning environment discouraging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research the instructors before you commit yourself to any one class - If you do, you'll save yourself a lot of regret. The campus cafe is expensive for the portions and the quality of the food is below par, I would recommend going off campus for dining.

    In three sentences

    It's an okay community college. There aren't many on/off campus activities, and not many of the current students seem interested in making long term friendships, but the instructors seem dedicated to help in any way they can and give their students a positive learning experience. It's an overall okay community college if you're looking to get in, get out, and transfer.

  • 05/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe on campus at all times.

    Greek Life

    No greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    too little.

    Great for these types of students

    School is great for those on a tight budget and anything to do with nursing, dental, or emergency services.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There really aren't that many places to go or see in Santa Maria

    Bang for the buck

    The college is the most affordable in the state.

    What to do for fun

    There is no nightlife in the city. find a friend with an apartment or a home and party with them. Only 15mins from the beach.

    Food and Dining

    TRITIP! Find out what tri tip bbq is and eat it.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I was an honor student in high school without the resources to attend a four year.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get in and out of the college as soon as possible if you're transferring. The dental programs and emergency training programs are exceptional.

    In three sentences

    Very few teachers are qualified to be teaching at at college level by social standards, as evident by their lack of will to teach, simple critical thinking skills, and organization. It is however the most affordable community college in California. Some teachers are very good instructors and are part time instructor's at college such as UCSB and CALPOLY SLO.

  • 05/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The canpus is alway surrounded with sometype of officer . The time does not matter theirs always someone day or night. The parking among other spot around the school have some type of stand where you are able to press for help at any time, it has the best safety in town.

    What to do for fun

    Most of the students play sports for fun. Others like to spend time with their friends in between classes, this usually happens in the student center and out side the buildings.

    Food and Dining

    We have a small student lounge in which your able to get something fast to eat. For example chips, candy, sodas as well ordering made food burritos pizza . The food i great and the place is always clean and well maintain.

    Dorm Life

    The school is a community college not a university.. For that reason their is no dorms involve. They have plan to built some from coming out of state students but it is not yet set. I rate this as poor.

    Academic Rigor

    All intructors are fair when it comes to grading. They are able to see and acknowledge all the hard work put by every student. If something is not working as plan they will help and try to give you the best solution, i would rate this as great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely would encourage to continue school and considerate Hancock College as one of them. You can get a lot from this school if you put your mind to it. I also believe that the sizing of classes accommodate any students along with class schedules.

    In three sentences

    The best community school, always having counselors ready to help along with instructors. The class are small, and easier to communicate with your professor on one on one bases. The campus is easy to get around without a problem all students are all friendly.

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 61

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Santa Maria. Hahaha.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has a few good things from time to time. There is Applebees, Olive Garden, In n Out, Mcdonalds and a bunch of other good eats just down the street, walking distance also.

    Dorm Life

    Non-existent

    Academic Rigor

    There are a few classes that kick your butt. But really, its a community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    If a community college is what you're looking for this is a good one. I prefer it to Cuesta. Parking is not a nightmare. They have plenty of associates to choose from. Not bad at all.

    In three sentences

    Keep in mind its a community college. It's clean. People are helpful.

  • 05/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Haven't heard of any incidents in years. Parking lots are patroled constantly by campus police as well as city police. The parking lots are well lit and there are few, if any, dark places.

    Great for these types of students

    Computer geeks, drama freaks, engineers

    Bang for the buck

    Save some cash and get your core classes here.

    What to do for fun

    The Pacific ocean is 9 miles west and within 40 miles there is everything from mountain biking, hiking, horses, nightlife, farmer's markets, fisherman's markets and the occasional rocket launch from Vandenberg AFB.

    Food and Dining

    Eh, cheap and sustaining.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm exist. All housing is off-campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Not having anything else to base a review on, I can only say that the instructors are relentless in their mentoring. Helpfull when you need them and exacting in their standards.

    Tips for prospective students

    Major construction of new classrooms is underway and should be completed by Spring of 2013. Hancock is quickly becoming a hub for students continuing on to engineering, viticulture and performing arts.

    In three sentences

    The atmoshpere is studious, yet laid-back. Great weather and it's an easy campus to get around in. It's a great location to start from on your way to a 4 year school.

  • 05/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe!

    Greek Life

    Rock n Roll Diner in Oceano. Greek food is the business!!!

    Clubs and Activities

    Small Business and Entrepreneurship Center Club.

    Great for these types of students

    Entrepreneurs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Ball or hustle. I choose to do both.

    Bang for the buck

    awesome!

    What to do for fun

    Learn lol.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, especially the rib eye steak sandwich.

    Dorm Life

    I've lived off campus so pretty coo haha.

    Academic Rigor

    Connect with each professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't ever give up.

    In three sentences

    This institution is above grading. A++++++++ is almost near the grade I may possibly give.

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always campus security as well as city police officers patrolling the campus which makes students feel extremely safe while they attend school at Allan Hancock College.

    Greek Life

    There are plenty of historical resources in the library and on the school computers that will provide great information and background on any culture one fells like exploring.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of culture presentations on campus which gives the campus a diverse and unique feel.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who appreciate music will enjoy hanging out in front of the campus because there is always someone playing the guitar or talking about their favorite music band.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I enjoy siting underneath a big tree in front of the campus and eating my lunch because there is always someone knew that you will meet with unique stories about there academic endeavors.

    Bang for the buck

    Taking ones education seriously will yield positive results and will build ones confidence in what they can accomplish.

    What to do for fun

    I enjoy talking to students about classes their talking and getting tips on what it takes to successively complete the course.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has a wide verity of healthy food and drinks at affordable prices.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus but there are plenty of near by apartments that one can live in while attending Allan Hancock College.

    Academic Rigor

    Starting off strong is key to having an enjoyable semester. Also, putting in the time to finish all assignments will pay off when taking tests.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay in touch with instructors throughout the semesters and know where you stand in the class. Also, take advantage of the resources that Allan Hancock College like; the math center, the writing center, and the free hour of tutoring for any class you might be having trouble with.

    In three sentences

    Allan Hancock College is extremely supportive in facilitating my educational needs. Also, Allan Hancock College staff members are helpful in answering and directing me on any questions I have about my major and the university that I plan to attend. Furthermore, Allan Hancock College provides a positive learning environment.

  • 06/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    On the Central Coast there is an extensive amount of networking to be had, and a variety of people attend Allan Hancock. Through Hancock I was able to intern for KCOY (a news station) and I was paid as well. As long as the student makes a conscious effort, the school has much to discover, and a heap of opportunities.

    What to do for fun

    Allan Hancock has several events in the science center year round. For the transit of Venus across the sun they had their high powered telescope set up from three to eight in the afternoon for anyone to view once a century passing. In May the school also has a very engaging Film Festival, and students get in free both nights of the festival. There are several other events the school produces, usually through specific classes (such as field trips depending on the field of study).

    Food and Dining

    There is a humble dining area and kitchen in the student center. The food is cooked in front of you and delicious, however the selection is not as extensive as it could be. Hancock has a coffee shop as well, which you can text before you order, that way your coffee will be ready right as you leave class and attend another.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    There is of course no tolerance for cheating. The instructors will check to see if you have been honest when citing sources, and they will see if you plagiarize on any paper. Also, it is required to properly format your papers in most classes, and deadlines are vital to your success.

    Tips for prospective students

    In order to get an A in your classes, miss next to no classes. There is usually an attendance grade and one missed class can set you far behind. Do your assigned reading, and with the majority of teachers at Hancock you'll pass with an A. The material is not incredibly easy, however Hancock has great instructors that will help you when the book cannot.

    In three sentences

    Located in Santa Maria, Allan Hancock College continues to impress me with their more than adequate professors. Hancock's tuition fees are not outrageous and the school contains some very sophisticated equipment. The campus is humble, yet rich with possibility.

  • 06/13/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    22 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    I am sure there some but I attend online so I dont know.

    Great for these types of students

    I don't live in Santa Maria but I was would say there very small mall that there have. From what I heard they have a few night clubs. Its not to far away from SLO or Pismo.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I have only been there once so I am not the right person to be asking this.

    Bang for the buck

    There are a few things are always a great way to have some fun but not spend a lot of money. One is the beach. Going on hike. Going to taco Tuesday in SLO. Always making sure I getting my meals from the deil section at super markets. I don't drink or party.

    What to do for fun

    When I am not working I find myself talking walks on the beach. Spending time with family. Going on camping trips. Watching my favorite T.V. shows. And every once in a while I will find my self in a tattoo shop working on my body suite.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel like for me being an older student and still working full time. AHC had all the classes I need in order to complete my AA. And on top of it on of there sister school has what I would like to get my BA. I feel like the are really staying with the times.

    Tips for prospective students

    School is like anything especially life if you want something done and you wont it done right. Its important that you know when you can sign up for class. And where to look if you have hold on your accounts. And most importantly who are you going to talk to you if something does not plan out. Life happens but try not to make this a habit.

    In three sentences

    I rate them a very user friendly towards there online students. I feel that when I need to address something with them there are always getting back to me faster then any other college I have been to. Lastly I would like to say that being on the Central Coast and not having the option to transfer into large four you university has the thought of I will ever get is an AA to know I wonder how far I could go.

  • 06/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 61

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    online student....don't know...join clubs.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn how to use internet.

    In three sentences

    Great online application for blackboard. Easy to use. Very organized.

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is only $46 per credit so if you don't recieve financial aid then the tuition cost is pretty low and there are many resources that you can use to make sure you pass all of your classes.

    What to do for fun

    There are beaches close by and a theater on campus and a movie theater within walking distance. There are parks and skate parks and a mall close by as well.

    Food and Dining

    The food is actually not half bad and I love their choices. The only bad part is it is college so it is way over priced. The good news there is an in and out burger and olive garden within walking distance of the campus!!

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorm there, most students have roommates and rent apartments.

    Academic Rigor

    This is a laid back but challenging school. You will get the grade you work for, so if all of your effort is not into it then your grade will not be as good. Also if you don't understand then you should schedule a meeting with your instructor or go to the lab, they are always more than happy to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always rent books when possible and if not then go to e-bay it will save you a ton of money. The bookstore is extremely helpful and always keep your receipts for your taxes. Other than that make sure you read the material and the teachers will do the rest.

    In three sentences

    The education is excellent and the teachers want students to learn and communicate. Most classrooms are not a normal setting, there are usually discussions and debates instead of note taking. The only problems is the admissions and counseling department, they are very unorganized and frequently give wrong information

  • 06/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe with on cite police officers. They are there until the night classes are over which is great because walking in a dark parking lot is a bit frightening.

    What to do for fun

    They have dances and lots of school clubs and activities to attend. They always have new events posted.

    Food and Dining

    They have an excellent cafe!! but the food, in my opinion is expensive and you're better off walking a few blocks to get a subway or hamburger.

    Dorm Life

    Hancock does not have dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Hancock is a perfect school to attend if you plan on transferring. But it is important to go in with a goal and have a plan of which classes you want to take and when. Its sad, but a lot of students get stuck taking classes they don't need.

    In three sentences

    The teachers there know their information well. It is a friendly environment and easy to learn in. What I like is that the classes are small and it gives the teacher enough time to give there students individual attention.

  • 07/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 61

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Take fun elective classes. I am currently signed up for a dance class that I am really excited for and I get units.

    Food and Dining

    They have a cafeteria on campus but I have never eaten there.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I have only been in my class three weeks and I have learned so much already. The days are always filled with lessons and there is never a time when we are not doing anything in class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Getting a good teacher is key! Go to Ratemyprofessors.com and find out what teachers at your school would be most helpful for you. Another key thing in college is not to procrastinate. You can't afford to wait until the last minute on anything.

    In three sentences

    Allan Hancock College has a very helpful staff, and being a new student that was important to me. My teacher now is amazing and truly wants all of her students to succeed and does her best to make sure they do. College can be overwhelming, but going to Hancock definitely made it easier for me.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Eops asbg car club many others

    Great for these types of students

    A culturally diversified college and in top five in the United States

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Bulldog Days many fun filled activities

    What to do for fun

    activitys off campus are great many things to do here

    Food and Dining

    Great food

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life here all off campus

    Academic Rigor

    Awesome

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to instructors and students walk around and look at all possibilities for advancement in education

    In three sentences

    Good instructors who are very encouraging and caring of students. The support services in place are very well implemented. A variety of majors and transferable units to accomodate everyone

  • 07/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have very rarely felt unsafe on campus. It's in a nice part of town, and the campus police are always around.

    Great for these types of students

    Artists, dancers, nursings students.

    Bang for the buck

    It's pretty cheap per unit, although the price is going up.

    What to do for fun

    There are many places to sit outside and study or hang out on campus (the weather is almost always allaowing), and there's a mall down the street.

    Food and Dining

    There is one cafe on campus, where the food is overpriced, and not much is healthy. You're better off going to Trader Joes or Costco, which are just in the next block.

    Dorm Life

    There isn't any on-campus housing, but there are several apartment complexes nearby.

    Academic Rigor

    It's a community college, so mostly everything is very general. You don't really get into much detail in anything.

    Tips for prospective students

    The school is currently under construction, so that is a little bit of a hassle. When it's completed, it will be magnificent. If you're looking for arts or dance, this is the place to go.

    In three sentences

    Allan Hancock College has been a great place to go to school. The campus is clean and easy to navigate, and the instruction has been excellent. It also features a superior arts department, and the best community college dance program in the state.

  • 07/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are located in the middle of the campus and can be found roaming the campus assisting students with there safety concerns.

    Greek Life

    I don't know much about the Greek life of campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs to join at Allan Hancock College that help students become involved in the learning process and work towards success.

    Great for these types of students

    Are a student who likes Art? Allan Hancock has a great Art program that helps you step outside the box and shine.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Hancock has a Wine making program that many older adults enjoy.

    Bang for the buck

    Allan Hancock is a great place to shine and a good price. They have a variety of financial aid available for students to apply. The school is very spacious and the students are extremely friendly.

    What to do for fun

    The PCPA Theater is a great place to relax and be entertained.

    Food and Dining

    The Hancock cafe has some great food prepared by the student employees.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life

    Academic Rigor

    The courses at Allan Hancock College are challenging and extremely informative.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you apply for your financial aid early to allow time for processing. Register for classes early they fill up fast.

    In three sentences

    Allan Hancock has a wide variety of classes to choose from. The instructors at Allan Hancock are very informative and strive to help the students succeed. They have two campuses continently located within 20 miles from each other.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are on campus security but they are all pricks that ticket vehicles like crazy.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of clibs and activities but I personally have a life so I don't join them.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is good for getting your GED out of the way so you can work twards your actual career or maybe finding out what you want to do for a career.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    What to do for fun

    I go to class for fun because I am a film major but also love making art. If I'm not doing either of those then I am usually with my girlfriend or best friend working on a art project of my own.

    Food and Dining

    The campus cafeteria is okay but they honestly try to make a quick buck with asking you if are you eating in or taking out. They charge more if you say eat in.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home so I can work and save money rather than loose money.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take your GED classes but don't over do it. Have some fun with it with taking a fun class every now and then. The Fun class should be a class that relaxes you.

    In three sentences

    Allan Hancock College is a nice place to get your GED done with and to start finding your major that will hopefully turn into a career. There are very cool teachers that are there to teach you and learn with you but there are some teachers that are just dicks. You don't really know what kind of teacher your going to get so it's all by luck. Other than that the college is pretty nice.

  • 08/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    In-n-out

    Academic Rigor

    I do my best.

    In three sentences

    It has good programs. It is close to work/home. It has great teachers.

  • 08/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel pretty safe at this school, many staff members around campus with a small police headquarters on the campus

    Clubs and Activities

    I know the college has many clubs and activities but i do not partake in them

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Majority of the students chill around the cafeteria area, which has plenty of seats to stop and relax, eat in between classes

    Bang for the buck

    Prices for tuition are average for a community college, if you are a CA resident for more than a year you qualify for BOG which waives tuition fees.

    What to do for fun

    Not much, when im not working or attending class or homework i try to enjoy time with my daughter and friends

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is very nice, has plenty of food of all kinds and also has a coffee shop as well

    Dorm Life

    No dorm rooms, must find room and board elsewhere

    Academic Rigor

    I give it a three only because I've only been taking general ed. so far but close to core classes, hoping these classes push me harder.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to have an idea of what degree you want to major in if you plan to transfer, as you want to minimize the amount of classes and time taken and wasted

    In three sentences

    This community college is a great place to learn, many great teachers. Current construction for new buildings, in turn more classes. Many different degrees to choose from to get you started on the right path.

  • 08/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The Bulldog bookstore gives you the option to rent books. This amenity is so helpful, especially since text books seem to change every year.

    Food and Dining

    Unfortunately, I did not experience the fine dining of Allan Hancock College

    Dorm Life

    Allan Hancock College is a Community College.

    Academic Rigor

    The Science classes are difficult, yet you can achieve the grade you want if you work hard. Do not expect to do well in a class without studying, the instructors have high expectations.

    Tips for prospective students

    For new students definitely choose wisely what classes you take in the Summer semester. Certain classes should be taken over a full semester, do not try and cram in a difficult class into six weeks.

    In three sentences

    Allan Hancock College was a wonderful, new experience for me. I was a first time student and I could not have had a Chemistry teacher that cared more about his students passing the class. The Science Department is well taken care of, with all the equipment one would ever need.

  • 08/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Mexican Food, Pizza, cheese burger,etc.....

    In three sentences

    One of the best community collages in California. Lot of programs that help you succeed in collage like EOPS, CAN, MESA, etc.... Tutoring from 8.00am-9.30pm.

  • 10/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Even though everyone is peaceful, there's also a campus police patrol and station.

    Clubs and Activities

    Plenty of each.

    Bang for the buck

    Compared to universities, this is very affordable and offers, basically, the same classes minus the graduate degrees.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs here and there and plenty of places to hang out. Also, there's the theatre PCPA program that puts out plays and the school band having shows now and then.

    Food and Dining

    There's a cafeteria and a coffee shop in the Student Centre with a nice area to eat, drink, and relax.

    Dorm Life

    Allan Hancock does not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I, personally, just do what I'm required to and put effort into it so that's it's good, but the average person here seems to be doing well. I haven't heard anyone complaining about not doing well.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's a great place to begin college if you can't afford or are not ready for universities.

    In three sentences

    A small and friendly community. The teachers are professional and are passionate about their subjects.

  • 11/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    School clubs are faculty is always creating free events for students on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Good. Fresh and delicious!

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging acedemics, but teachers are supportive

  • 11/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have police on the campus 24/7.

    What to do for fun

    There are clubs and organizations, we have a professional theater and a bunch of electives for everyone's liking.

    Food and Dining

    The food is decent tasting and proportionate, if you don't like the food the college is close enough to nearby fast food restaurants and the mall.

    Dorm Life

    This is a community college, there are no dorms at this school.

    Academic Rigor

    They are all about academic excellence and if not keeping up a 2.0 GPA cumulative or otherwise you will be put on academic probation.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do all your work and study often. you bought the books, read them before your class begins so you know what the topic being covered is about.

    In three sentences

    A relaxed and comfortable environment. A bunch of staff willing to help you with the right schedule and career path. A lot of clubs and organizations to choose to get involved in.

  • 12/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never had any issues.

    Great for these types of students

    Working adults, parents, and beginners

    Bang for the buck

    Classes are one of the lowest in the nation, without sacrificing quality.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of events going on all the time, sports, and etc..

    Food and Dining

    nice cafeteria I suppose.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms as far as I know.

    Academic Rigor

    Great class options, and programs

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend here, save money.

    In three sentences

    Great school, and affordable. Took me years to qualify for any type of Financial Aid, so I had to wait until I was 25 years old to finally attend college. Now that I've been there for the past 2 years, I love it. Classes are small enough to get the attention you need from your professor.

  • 12/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Police are always patrolling the school campus day and night. This is great for people who have a night class and have their car parked on the other side of the school. This school is a safe place to be

    Clubs and Activities

    Not many clubs, but there are clubs available on campus. Joining a club is great way to meet new people.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for returning students, working adults, and any college student in general who are looking to go to a community college at a low price. A great school for people who want to be a: nurse, policeman, firefighter, welder, dentist assistant, medical assistant or human service worker.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is rising, but it is still more affordable than a university. Allan Hancock College is a great place to finish your General Ed. at a low price. Their rental textbook program saves students a lot of money each year. The school offers many resources such as the writing center, tutoring, math lab etc.

    What to do for fun

    The PCPA is a great theater to watch a play with some friends.

    Food and Dining

    Pro's: I love their daily specials. The school is nearby many fast food restaurants. In n Out is a walking distance away. Cons: Some food are overpriced.

    Dorm Life

    No Opinion.

    Academic Rigor

    All professors are different in which some will push students into a new level of thinking. Some are more demanding than others, but overall it is a great school that will prepare students to do well at a university level.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do Not Procrastinate.

    In three sentences

    An awesome Community College that offers many programs and transferable classes that are accepted at a U.C. and C.S.U. level.

  • 01/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 61

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For I fun I draw and read.

    Food and Dining

    I eat at home, but the food i have eating is good.

    Dorm Life

    Do not live in dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes needed are there.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to a counselor about what classes are good for you, and be determined about what you want.

    In three sentences

    The campus if is great.The teachers try to help students as much as possible without doing the student's work. The library is fairly big and contains what the students need.

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have always felt safe on the Hancock Campus. I have really only taken classes during the day or online, however, I have never had any problems with safety issues.

    Bang for the buck

    This is definitely one of the most inexpensive ways to receive an rewarding education from a high quality school. It's worth it to invest in your future. The education you receive here is really comparable to other university, and it doesn't hit you in the pocket book nearly as much!

    What to do for fun

    Being a Hancock student allows you the ability to buy discounted tickets to the amazing theater productions at PCPA. Every show is unique and exciting! There are also dance shows to see and sports events to watch.

    Food and Dining

    There's great food spots close to campus. In-N-Out Burger, Olive Garden, McDonald's, Taco Bell, and Costco are all close by. Plus there is a Trader Joe's in the same center as Costco for the students who are more health conscious.

    Dorm Life

    Off campus living is the only option for this community college. But I have had a great experience living off campus so I don't feel like I've missed anything by not having dorms available.

    Academic Rigor

    Hancock is not as rigorous as 4-year universities, although the standard of the school is just as high. The instructors have a good balance of pushing their students to success. My experience has been rewarding as my teachers have inspired and challenged me to go beyond what I thought I was capable of. They do help prepare you for 4-year university level classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to go for your dreams and major in the field that you love. Register early as classes fill up fast. Figure out the best way you learn, whether it is in class or online, and then do that. Apply yourself, study hard, make new friends, and enjoy learning!

    In three sentences

    Hancock is the way to go. It is a great school with amazing instructors and an ever-growing campus. You can achieve your educational dreams by starting here and then transferring to a 4-year university if you prefer to continue on with your education.

  • 03/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 61

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There isn't much to do in Santa Maria but theres the beach in Pismo as well as the club up in SLO. Always fun to go dancing.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafe is great and cheap. Good way to grab a quick bite before class.

    Dorm Life

    There is no on campus living so make sure you find a place to live close to school. There are members in the community who open their doors to college students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to use the math, english and writing centers. They are very helpful and have instructors there to help you at all times.

    In three sentences

    Allan Hancock is a very friendly place to go to school. All of the professors are there for you and will take time out of their schedule to help you. Definitely made the right choice by attending school here.

  • 03/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Hancock is a great place for local students to get an education for less than a 4yr university or trade school. Most can attend class without any out off pocket expense if they have financial aid.

    What to do for fun

    I do not have time to enjoy all of the activities but once in awhile I use the gym and run on the track.

    Food and Dining

    I never had a chance to eat there so I can not give it a good or bad review. But Hancock is found near fast food chains and local resturants so its not bad if you have transportation.

    Dorm Life

    Hancock does not provide any dorms. All students live in Santa Maria or the surrounding areas.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are understanding of students outside life. Its great if you are a full time student with a full time job.

    In three sentences

    Allan Hancock is a great place to learn at a university level without all the minor problem such as parking. Hancock has a flexible course hours for all students. Financial assistance is easy to obtain with the help of the financial aid office.

  • 03/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus cops are constantly cruising around, there are emergency call boxes in almost every parking lot, and the parking lots are fairly well lit.

    Greek Life

    � �¿�¹�± ���»�»�·�½�¹�º�® �¶���®; ;;

    Clubs and Activities

    I don't know as I didn't really look into them, and none of the ones I saw caught my eye.

    Great for these types of students

    All Types...

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have the Bulldog Bow-Wow which is a school pride day. And the mascot cruises around the student center, food is free, and there is live music. Nothing too strange really though.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition costs are low and quality of teachers is high. I got my AS without breaking the bank.

    What to do for fun

    I didn't sign up or take part in any of the schools clubs as none of them really caught my attention. As far as fun, I tried to get together and hang out with friends on my breaks as much as possible. If I had a lot of time to kill, and no friends were out of class I typically did my homework, or messes around on the computers in the lab.

    Food and Dining

    The food is decent, I only ever ate there once or twice at most. I usually either brought a lunch or got food off campus. The dining area while not huge is sufficient, and is well laid out. There are outlets and wifi set up there as well.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms...

    Academic Rigor

    Most of my classes were in the middle of the road as far as difficulty. That being said Theories of Personality, Chem 150, and Calc with applications were very challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the EMT Academy, you won't regret it. All of the life and physical science teachers are very pleasant, and will help you.

    In three sentences

    I have really liked going to school at Allan Hancock. The teachers are all very knowledgeable and some are incredibly pleasant to be around. The EMT Academy that they have is incredible, and should be taken by anyone who is interested in getting into the medical field.

  • 03/23/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    45 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Only one cafeteria is present, but there are a few options within it. Not bad, but certainly not the best.

    Dorm Life

    A commuter campus. There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I took an art class, but it still wasn't easy. Not the hardest, but not incredibly easy.

    In three sentences

    I've only been to one class, so far, but Allan Hancock is good from what I've seen of it.

  • 05/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Pretty safe, a lot of nice people.

    Clubs and Activities

    One event every semester for fall and spring about clubs come together in the student center and talk about their clubs. Wished it was more than just one day.

    What to do for fun

    Clubs, classes, events, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Several different meals and snacks to choose from, but not most healthy things in the student center.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms, living arrangements must be made by the individual.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the teacher, they decide the difficulty of the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are a lot of classes to choose from. A lot of great teachers to learn from, but choose wisely as some teachers are better than others, but all in all you'll have a blast at this college. Theres a lot of friendly people and people who like to participate in their school's clubs and events.

    In three sentences

    Allan Hancock College is a great community college, there many students and teachers that are passionate about their subject. There are a lot of friendly people who love to participate in school events and clubs. Allan Hancock College has been a great experience for me.

  • 05/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 61

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    In Santa Maria, there is not much to do for fun. 30 minutes north is San Luis Obispo, a city that offers college town feel. 1 hour south is Santa Barbara, also another college town feel. The beach and other nature activities are essentially at your back door here in Santa Maria. Many hiking trails, biking trails, etc.

    Food and Dining

    They just built a new food court, and the food is pretty tasty. Mexican food, subs, breakfast items, chips, etc. It's a small food court.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging and fun! There is something for everyone.

    Tips for prospective students

    Parking construction right now is difficult. Get a bicycle and a u-lock for it. The theft rate is medium. Santa Maria is about 7 square miles. Public transportation is efficient, but not like a big city. Use your resources. There is a health center for free doctoral assistance, admissions offers counseling for transfer students and graduates alike, financial aid is knowledgeable and willing to help, PCPA (our Theatre program) is wonderful and professional.

    In three sentences

    Allan Hancock College is a community college located on the beautiful central coast. The classes are challenging and fun, and the school offers the resources needed to obtain your Associate's degree or to transfer elsewhere when you have completed your studies. Teachers have a passion to help their students, and the arts community is bursting at this school!

  • 06/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    no dorm life

    In three sentences

    I have had an amazing college experience! I am being added to ASB this fall and am a current cheerleader. I have met a lot of awesome people and taken many wonderful classes this year.

  • 06/21/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    49 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are plenty of those Alarm Towers in the parking lot and the campus police are around quite a bit. I never had night classes so I'm not sure how it is a night.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    All types.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The smoking tree. It's where all the smokers go and no matter how many times they try to make us move we just move the ash trays back. We've been limited to only a few places to smoke with the smoking tree being the only one with any shade.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a community college so you aren't paying much to begin with. It's a good school to go to just to get those general education requirements done with.

    What to do for fun

    The mall isn't far from the campus and there is a shopping center a short ways away.

    Food and Dining

    Food on the main campus is good with lots of choices and a coffee bar. The Lompoc campus has an area for food but it's never open.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Going from high school to college was a wake-up call. This is definitely harder then high school but I feel it could be worse.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are two locations for the campus. One is in Santa Maria and the other is Hancock. The Hancock campus is just a collection of concrete buildings and a lot of the staff there aren't..... the best. Santa Maria campus is the main campus and beautiful. Always use Rate My Professor when looking at perspective classes.

    In three sentences

    The campus is very nice, currently there is a lot of construction going on but that just means more room later on. The school seems to be moving towards more online classes, which isn't awesome at all. The majority of teachers there rock, but there are some there that shouldn't be.

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 61

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I play soccer, so anything sports related is always a good thing to do for fun. Join the on campus groups, and go to sports games.

    Food and Dining

    I have not had any of the cafeteria food yet.

    Dorm Life

    I have not seen the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I haven't token any actually classes besides PE, but I always here about how great the teachers and classroom environments are.

    Tips for prospective students

    Sign up for classes early to get the classes and teachers you want. Don't stress yourself out, you have time, so don't take all your classes at once.

    In three sentences

    Allan Hancock is awesome. So far, all I have taken is the PE class to get to know my future soccer teammates and it has been so much fun. It is a very relaxed and fun environment.

  • 10/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    You end up getting more for your money at Hancock, before you transfer or find a career.

    What to do for fun

    About 30 miles of beach within 15 minutes of campus where you can go off roading in the dunes, and rent bikes and carts. Also a couple local clubs and miles and miles wineries along with a casino.

    Food and Dining

    Great food! Many local Mexican spots along with some famous Santa Maria style BBQ in town and in other local towns.

    Dorm Life

    Many apartments around school, very calm generally.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically competitive school, ranked amongst the top 10 community colleges in California. Many out of state students attending along with students from out of town and different counties.

    In three sentences

    Great school located on the central California coast between LA and SF within 15 minutes from the beach and wine country. Awesome instructors skilled in their field willing to work with their students. Hands on training in basically every field along with research based learning.

  • 10/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is quite great their is always police patrolling and making sure everything is under control At night their is a lot of light in most of the parking areas.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a variety of clubs, sports, and activities so surely everyone can find something to entertain themselves with.

    Bang for the buck

    Class wise you are getting a fairly good education, I have not gone to any other colleges, but I am sure Hancock is a great school education wise.

    What to do for fun

    Santa Maria is a small ut growing town. There is not much to do which in a way is a plus because as a studnet you have more chance to study and less of a distraction. Entertainment is not far though we have the beach and the outlets at less then 30 minutes away.

    Food and Dining

    The food court I must say really needs some major improvements.Its a real disappoint to be paying for such terrible food. A wider variety of quality food is needed.

    Academic Rigor

    I believe the great majority of the Professors challenge their students and make them go the extra mile to get them to understand the concepts being taught thoroughly.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would say to prospective students learn not to procrastinate. Make it a habit to do things far in advance before they are do. i think that is one of the most valuable things one should have mastered before entering college.

    In three sentences

    I believe Allan Hancock College is a great junior college because it has so much to offer to it's students. Hancock is an expanding college and is creating new and better ways to help the students that attend. I find the Professors to be very helpful and understanding and that is a major plus because you feel like you are important, at least I do.

  • 10/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I don't have any experience.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    I have no experience.

    Great for these types of students

    Unsure students and frugal ones alike will appreciate the cost of this college.

    Bang for the buck

    Community colleges are amazing at determining if college is right for you; also, it is a great place to get your required classes out of the way.

    What to do for fun

    The school attempts to host events, but I have never attended.

    Food and Dining

    I have no experience with the dining.

    Dorm Life

    None

    Academic Rigor

    I never found the school to be entirely difficult; that being said, keep up to date on the work.

    Tips for prospective students

    As always, stay up to date on the work assigned by the professors and you should be fine.

    In three sentences

    Allan Hancock exhibits the epitome of what a cheap, however effect college can be. I am very content with the experiences I have had thus far, and I am more or less happy with the staff as well. Community college exists as a great starting off point for any prospective students.

  • 11/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 61

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are beaches about 20 minutes away, so it is fun to lay out at the beach or go surfing.

    Food and Dining

    We have a Student Center and inside we have a dining area. Many people hang out in there and I heard there is good food. We also get local food to sell.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life, but I heard through the grapevine this might be a plan for the future.

    Academic Rigor

    I am able to get all my classes and I am also at the counselors office a lot because they are good at answering all my questions

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not get distracted because most people are there to ttransfer and do not want to stay for for many years.

    In three sentences

    This is a school that allows you to get your studies done. It has rooms, great professors, and a nice environment. Also, it is super easy to get involved whether it is a club, sport, or ASB.

  • 11/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police Patrolled Campus

    Clubs and Activities

    Many Clubs, not a huge amount of College ativities, but for a community college its excellent.

    Great for these types of students

    Nursing, Fire Tech, Law enforcement, Electronics, Athletics, Mathematics, Film and video, Acting, Stage Craft, Sound Design, and Graphic Design.

    Bang for the buck

    Bang for the Buck is right, Well priced to be able to finish up all you CSU required GE's,. For the price, Ive gotten everything I needed out of a Community College from AHC.

    What to do for fun

    Parks, Sport Fields, bars and restaurants. The best part, Nice beaches are close by, Y mucho mucho mas.

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria is simple but effective. General snacks, Mexican food station, Pizza station, etc.

    Academic Rigor

    Comes down to how many classes you plan to take and how hard you wanna work. Community Colleges are what you make of them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take your time, definitely take your GE's, but explore the different electives. AHC has many programs available that lead to lucrative job fields. Nursing, Fire Technologies, Law Enforcement, Nursing and Social Services programs.

    In three sentences

    The best community college on the Central Coast. 95% excellent professors and councilors. Good grades and personal direction will give you almost a guaranteed transfer to a California State University.

  • 11/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    56 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    THERE IS NO PLACE TO HANG OT OTHER THAN THE CAFE THAT HAS NOTHING REALLY!!

    Tips for prospective students

    ASK ALL THE QUESTIONS YOU WANT!! VERY IMPORTANT TO STAY INFORMED BECAUSE IT'S NOT HIGH SCHOOL ANYMORE.

    In three sentences

    Great school with good choices of different classes and programs that one can take. The hours are good as well. Staff here is very helpful with everything an anything.

  • 11/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    57 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Great food in the cafeteria.

    Academic Rigor

    Love the teachers here. All the ones I've had have been very understanding and focused.

  • 01/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    58 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus cops are always available for emergencies. There are emergency call posts on each section of the parking lot and campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    The Alpha Gamma Sigma Honor Society rocks!

    What to do for fun

    There is a pool, a new running track open to the public, PCPA theater of the arts.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria available with it's very own coffee shop. Food is made fresh and many choices available.

    Academic Rigor

    Rigor is dependent on the course. The teachers have high expectations but always willing to help if you get confused.

    Tips for prospective students

    Contact your teachers _before_ buying your textbooks and before the start of the semester. You can usually buy the cheaper previous edition of a textbook if a teacher allows it. This will save you lots of book costs.

    In three sentences

    Allan Hancock College is a great starting point for transfer. They are inclusive to all students and have services ranging from learning assistance to career counseling. The staff is knowledgeable and courteous and haven't met a bad teacher yet.

  • 03/25/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    59 of 61

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    On campus, the student center is always filled with interesting people. AHC clubs' are always hosting activities to participate in. Off campus, there are nearby theaters, a bowling alley, geocaching and much more to do in the area.

    Food and Dining

    AHC has its own cafeteria, complete with cafe. Really nice place to grab a snack in-between classes, or just to hang out with friends.

    Dorm Life

    Being a community college, the campus does not have its own dorms, but there are still plenty of nearby and affordable living accommodations-if you look for them.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes will challenge you and provide a nice transition from high school academics to university ones.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply, even if you're undecided on what you want to do. AHC has earned it's spot at the top of the list for community colleges. There's no shame in starting at a local community college. It prepares you for the big leagues.

    In three sentences

    AHC is a great community college to start out at, or earn a degree at. The atmosphere of the campus is really close-knit compared to the booming size of big universities. Even though it's a community college, AHC really offers a lot of services for its students.

  • 05/14/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    60 of 61

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone willing to learn!

    Bang for the buck

    Allan Hancock College is like giving yourself a break. Instead of paying inordinate amounts of many for a class, you can take pretty much the same class at AHC and save money. Also the notebooks, pens, pencils, scantrons, etc. can be bought inside the Bookstore for very low prices.

    Food and Dining

    Allan Hancock has a decent sized cafe inside their Bookstore and you will find pretty much any snack a college student would eat. Such as chips, trail mix, muffins, breakfast burritos, pizza, and so on. It's great to stop buy and pick up a snack if you want to avoid the stomach orchestra in class.

    Dorm Life

    Allan Hancock does not have on-campus dorms. However there are apartments/rentals that are near the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on the class you take, for instance the difference between taking a math class and an english class will depend on your academic inclination. In any case, you will learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on going to Allan Hancock College, first become acquainted with the map of the campus, it's not too confusing, but it takes out some of the stress of getting to your classes, especially on the first day. Remember: the teachers want to teach you! If you put in the effort, you will definitely reap the reward of a good grade. Also keep in mind to be realistic about the hours you can devote to each class, especially if you have a job, kids, or other responsibilities. Register as soon as possible because the classes you may be set on may run out of room, however there may be students who drop out early so if you are really set on a class get on the wait-list. Reading the textbook material and taking notes will save your life, don't be a passive student and expect the highest grade.

    In three sentences

    Allan Hancock College is a great gateway into the college realm, especially for the high school graduate, busy parent, and or working full time. The classes are generally small so there is more personal connection from teacher to student which makes it great if you need help. There is also the College Now! program which allows high school juniors and seniors take up to 6 credits per semester, and its great for getting ahead.

  • 10/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    61 of 61

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Some people like to go work out. There's the gym and the swimming pool. We also have a football/soccer field and tennis courts. whatever floats your boat.

    Food and Dining

    Very nice dining area where you can buy food and a coffee shop in the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    I've never had to room in Allan Hancock but I bet they're nice.

    Academic Rigor

    It all depends on the teacher. Some teachers like to give out a lot of homework but all they do in class are notes. Some teacher give you all semester to turn in homework. Others like to make it nice and short and give you time in class to get help. So it all depends on the teachers but they're all great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make a goal and work towards that goal and don't let anything get in your way. Do great in classes and you'll exceed. You should also have a specific counselor that you can always email or have an appointment to talk about your future.

    In three sentences

    Allan Hancock is a very spacious college and very welcoming. Buildings are labeled by letters and are easy to find. Totally would recommend this college to people wanting to still study for less money.