Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Allegany College of Maryland Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/04/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who enjoy small colleges where everyone knows each other and the teachers are very hands on. Students who were not the college type but know that college is important and want to make the first step Allegany is great! Don't rush into the big universities and not be focused, Allegany is perfect for a starter school.

    Tips for prospective students

    For students who say college is not for everyone, they lied Allegany has something for someone. Staff at Allegany are there to help, all you have to do is ask for the help you need. Resources are everywhere on the campus and it

    Am enjoying being here

    I love being on campus with the many activities they have and programs they offer.

    Am learning a lot

    Classes are small and easy to focus. The teachers work hard to help you understand and are there to help you when you need assistance.

  • 08/16/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 2 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Outgoing, laid back, tight work schedule, dedicated, older adults, first time students, kids who need a good education on a budget,

    Tips for prospective students

    Never be intimidated by your teachers. Always ask questions, this is big. Don't think that a problem will fix its self. Keep a section to record your grades to make sure each class has the right percentage for you.( don't be afraid to do this because teachers can make mistakes and its ok to tell them about it. I promise they wont get mad at you.) Try to show up to your class early. Never put off your studies. Do not text in class.

    Bang for the buck

    There financial aid office is not the best. I have personally been having trouble getting help from them since the begging, but hopefully after this semester things will pick up. Don't be afraid to ask them questions though because they are always willing to give an answer and fix problems that may occur.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is just wonderful. They just renovated the library so it is nothing short of beautiful. Also the buildings are set up in an organized fashion that makes it easy to get to one class to the next. The only problem would be that sometimes they set your classes up for to close of time periods and getting to your next class can be a challenge. Another problem though is parking. Try to make sure you show up at least 10 min early to get parked and not be late to your class.

    Am learning a lot

    The education level is very nice. The teachers at Allegany are always willing to not only work with you on your assignments but in your everyday study routine. The offer great advice and amazing tips. I can personally say that just education wise, they provided me, so far, with a wonderful education in speech, math, and muscular skeletal anatomy.

  • 07/23/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 out of 7 people found this review useful. 3 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Open Areas Famous For Basketball both boys and girls

    Tips for prospective students

    Alot Of Open Area, Recommend Driving Or Some Other transportation

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    no visitors allow after 11p,

    Clubs and Activities

    pathway for success tutor

    Great for these types of students

    writing center for ESL students

    What to do for fun

    i go to the movies, and hang out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    the food at the cafeteria is good, but i mostly eat at home, or out

    Dorm Life

    meet great people got along with almost everyone

    Academic Rigor

    homework

    Tips for prospective students

    Always be in class on time Do all homework assign Ask questions when you dont understand a particular topic.

    In three sentences

    my first year at Allegany was amazing. The teachers were considerate, my classes wasnt that hard, and tuition wasnt as expensive as expected

  • 02/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 5 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very good security here. The campus security makes checks often and will even escort you to your vehicle. They also have e safe that sends alerts, delays and cancelations to your phone.

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone really.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This college has 3 locations. Cumberland, Bedford, and sumerset.

    Bang for the buck

    Very good prices. I am at out state prices and the tuition is still less then half what a state university charges a year.

    What to do for fun

    Go to Lavale. Excellent shopping there and a huge mall.

    Food and Dining

    Unless you are eating at the school owned restaurant the food is not great. The food at the restaurant is much better and the prices are about the same. Plus you get the experience of watching a student chef cook and prepare your food.

    Dorm Life

    I can't really say since I commute to and from campus.

    Academic Rigor

    You must take a placement test before starting. This will ensure that you are placed where you need to be.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a tour. They have several scheduled thought the year or you can schedule your own. Also, find the advisor for your major and speak to them; they can and will work with your schedule when scheduling classes. Get the colleges scholarship book. They have many many scholarships. Also, if you are going to be a culinary student like me you should get a tour if the culinary cafe. The college owned restaurant.

    In three sentences

    This college is just right. This may be a community college but you have the option of staying on campus. The classes are small and the teachers care. They do all they can to insure your success. They also have free tutoring, math labs, science labs, and writing labs. Your success is their goal.

  • 01/31/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Wisp Resort. Deep Creek Lake. Green Ridge State Park.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come for all the right reasons!

    In three sentences

    Wonderful programs. Great diversity. Professors are wonderful, office workers are not.

  • 01/05/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Wanting to go to school but be able to stay home

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always felt safe on campus, but there was one situation where my class was escourted from our night class.

    Bang for the buck

    It is super cheap and because of good grades you can get a scholarship that cuts your tuition in half.

    What to do for fun

    The campus provides many groups and programs. They have sports teams and events to attend and a large field and a track to run and play on. Also, some tennis courts and basketball courts.

    Food and Dining

    I did not eat on campus often, but when I did I enjoyed the food.

    Dorm Life

    I did not stay in a dorm. I was able to drive to the campus, so I cannot rate the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I got a lot out of my classes. I enjoyed most of them, and I think they will really benefit me in the future.

    In three sentences

    It is a very nice campus, and it is very easy to maneuver to different buildings. They provide a variety classes that suit your interest. They provide multiple services to help you (tutoring, transferring, etc.).

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Very cheap, $1,500 for 4 classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't overwhelm yourself, take advantage of the online classes, pay attention and study.

    In three sentences

    Has amazing teachers that actually care and strive to give you a true learning experience. The school offers many online classes giving you the ability to be flexible with school and a job, which is very important because it is a 2 year college.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    I did not live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    All the classes were challenging but I did not feel overwhelmed in the work that was assigned to me.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to go to the different advisors that are availble to help you. They are more then willing to help you on any education questions you need.

    In three sentences

    Acm is great for new students, the staff wants to help you achieve your goals. The professors enjoy there jobs and are always willing to give students all the time they need.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Cafe on campus is ok depending on what you like.

    Academic Rigor

    Its school you have to study!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Start getting everything taken care of before the first day of class, if you wait then everyone else who waited is going to be in the offices trying to handle everything all at once. Its just a better idea to be prepared.

    In three sentences

    Advisors and staff are willing to assist students with any issues pertaining to their class, tuition, tutoring or any other question students may have. The instructors are also very willing to work with students and assist them in ensuring they comprehend material. Campus is cozy and everything is easily accessible.

  • 09/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have an E-SAFE alert that will go straight to your phone. It's nice to have, because on the third week of school someone from a psychiatric care center was loose.

    Greek Life

    My Campus doesn't have really Greek Life; however, they do have a Greek Club. Nobody really attends the club.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have tons of clubs, and sporting teams. Also they have a really great club which focusing on keeping you on the right direction towards for filling your goals and helping you spend less.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that need a cheap escape to getting there general studies out of the way. You'll save a lot more before attending a four year college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There really isn't any traditions or special locations beside the cafe on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    tuition for a semester for a full time student is almost $3,000; where as, four year schools can be up to $14,000 per semester.

    What to do for fun

    Get involved with clubs.

    Food and Dining

    None really you have to go to LaVale, which is about a 15-20 min drive from Cumberland.

    Dorm Life

    I personally do not live in the dorms, but they are rather nice. Every dorm has four bedrooms, two bathrooms, a kitchen, a living room and a dining room.

    Academic Rigor

    It's easy if you put your mind to it.

    Tips for prospective students

    You won't make a lot of friends on campus, but you'll get what you need to get done.

    In three sentences

    It's not a fun campus, but it's cheap. You'll be able to save money and get what you need to get done before you transfer.

  • 01/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who did poorly in high school.

    What to do for fun

    Um, it's western Maryland. All people do out here for fun is get intoxicated, have babies or go to the mall.

    Food and Dining

    Have a car or you're screwed.

    Dorm Life

    I lived on campus at a 30,000 student university and dorm life was pretty good there. What I've heard and seen when visiting friends is horrendous.

    Academic Rigor

    ACM accepts everyone.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get in a program that requires work, it'll be the only way you're not in classes with a bunch of idiots.

    In three sentences

    A majority of the teachers I've had have been great. Many students are rather immature and not there to learn. Dealing with faculty can be a nuisance.

  • 03/31/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is much better than it used to be. We could use a couple more security guards to patrol the area during the nighttime classes, but it is definitely better to have at least one or two security guards on campus than none at all. You will find several security guards patrolling the campus throughout the day on golf carts.

    Greek Life

    There are sororities; however, I am not, nor have ever been, part of one.

    Clubs and Activities

    Again, this is an area I have to keep my opinion neutral in because I have never participated in any of the clubs or activities. I know several other students who do, however, and they seem to enjoy it. I think these clubs are great for people who want to get know fellow students better, and also possibly better their school in different ways. Some of the clubs I know about include: Student Government Association, Choir, Essence Dance Team, Science Club, Forestry Club, Honors, and many, many more.

    Great for these types of students

    ACM is great for anyone, from all walks of life, from all different areas around the world. There are many students who attend ACM who are from other countries. In fact, a lot of students are from other areas in the tri-state region. I have met several students from Africa, and their English was not that well spoken, and the teachers still worked with them, and gave them a chance, even though there was a language barrier. ACM tries to accommodate each individual's needs every time an issue arises.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am not aware of any unusual traditions or locations on ACM campus because I do not participate in extracurricular activities, nor do I really even hang out with anyone outside of school. I am there to get my education, not socialize, mainly because I simply do not have the time between being a mother & also working on top of it. However, there is nothing wrong with anyone who is interested in doing those things, or finding out more about them. The staff and most of the students are friendly, so I'm sure all one would have to do is ask around, and someone would gladly help them, or direct them to someone else who could help them.

    Bang for the buck

    In my opinion, I feel that my money has been well spent. The price for tuition is fair. After getting an education & earning a degree, that is something that is priceless, and something that can never be taken from someone once it is obtained. After I start working after graduation, I will have earned back every dime I have paid (and continue to pay) towards my tuition & other other school fees.

    What to do for fun

    ACM offers several different clubs & extracurricular activities for students who are interested, such as the Student Government Association, Choir, Christian Fellowship Club, Essence Dance Team, Forestry Club, Science Club, and many, many others. There are also different activities one can partake in around the area if extracurricular activities do not interest one. There are several parks one can visit, such as Rock Gap, which offers beaches for swimming, boat rentals, and camping sites. There are also many different historical sites to see & explore, such as the C&O Canal Trail, the C&O Canal Tunnel, and the C&O Canal National Historical Park & Visitors Museum. There is the Western Maryland Mountain Thunder locomotive that takes passengers on a round trip scenic tour from Cumberland, MD to Frostburg, MD. There are different museums one could visit as well, like the Thrasher Carriage Museum, the Allegany Museum, and the C. William Gilchrist Museum of the Arts, all of which have many interesting items. One of the most historical places to visit is George Washington's Headquarters. If one does not find History that interesting, there is also the Tri State Zoological Park that one can visit. The zoo houses a wide selection of animals, including tigers, lions, bears, snakes, monkeys, and many, many more. There are several local libraries to visit for various reasons, too.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the school cafeteria is decent, and also has a wide variety of food & drinks, so one is bound to find something that they like to eat. If one does not feel like eating in the cafeteria, there are several fast food restaurants right around the corner from the campus, which are less than 10 minutes away.

    Dorm Life

    I have to have a neutral opinion on the dorms because I do not live in them, nor have I ever been inside them. However, from what I've seen from the outside of the dorms, they seem very nice, and I've heard students that live in them only say nice, positive things about the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is decent. The workload will keep one busy, but is not too overwhelming to the point where one is not able to complete all assignments by the proper due dates.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be late. Always strive to be punctual. It's very important for all aspects of one's life, not just for school. Always respect your instructors, whether you always agree with them or not. Do not procrastinate when it comes to homework & studying!

    In three sentences

    ACM offers a diverse environment, where anyone should be able to find their niche that suits them. The staff at ACM is very caring, and strives to help students excel in their educations. ACM has an excellent learning environment, with just the right amount of students in each class, allowing the classes to be just the right size--not too big & not too small.

  • 06/24/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    When you live on Campus, lock your bedroom door and your apartment door. It helps keep your belongings safe while you are at classes.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs and programs are amazing at Allegany. Each one is fun in their own way. There are clubs for tutoring and all of are sports team.

    Great for these types of students

    Get a laundry card especially before the winter. Snow starts falling by the end of November and people who can not come home on weekends but have laundry, th e laundry card comes in handy.

    What to do for fun

    There are all kinds of clubs at Allegany. There is a Christian Fellowship Club and some sports club. There is always time to join any program or club at Allegany.

    Food and Dining

    The food is amazing. They serve hot and cold food, plus snacks for on the go people. They only serve breakfast and lunch, so people who live on campus have to find ways to make dinner. I recommend for the apartment getting the essential foods, like bread, milk, and eggs for everyday use, and have extra money for lunch.

    Dorm Life

    We have apartments with four bedrooms and two full bathrooms. Each person gets their own room. There is a kitchen, living room, a storage closet and a balcony where people can enjoy the evening when it's nice outside.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are great and some teachers are nice. Stay on the teachers good side and study hard, you will graduate college in no time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check your student email every day Try making new friends If you are a new student, sign up to be in the Pathways for Success program. They new students feel right at home and help with school

    In three sentences

    The professors and the staff are very nice. The students can be a bit shy but that is total normal. Everyone listens to everyone, from scheduling to Financial Aid