Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Allegheny College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/11/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 out of 21 people found this review useful. 1 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone unimpressed by the glitz of brand-name Ivies and looking for the comprehensive college experience, who can brave the cold to savor a quietly breathtaking campus, who will study hard but always leave their door open for visitors, who gets as excited for an environmental conservation lecture or guest author reading series as a campus-wide game of Humans vs. Zombies, and who's ready to make the next four years of their life totally worthwhile.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to be completely, wholly, two hundred percent yourself. The college welcomes and embraces individuality, whether you're a double-jointed concert pianist, looking to double major in International Studies and Studio Art, or a left-handed unicycle enthusiast with blue hair. It's no joke when we say we like unusual combinations.

    Bang for the buck

    The only thing possibly more exciting than the acceptance letter is the followup envelope that details the copious amounts of money the school is willing to give in grants and merit scholarships. A liberal arts education isn't cheap, but Allegheny does its best to make tuition payments as painless as possible.

    Am enjoying being here

    It's not everyone's first choice, and it wasn't mine, but I have yet to meet anyone who isn't growing to love it. Loyalty and school pride are gradual but inevitable, as you find something new to love every day: the way the dining hall staff greets you by name at breakfast, that professors are more helpful and understanding than you could have hoped, how the President always pairs a college logo baseball cap with his suit and tie and greets every student he passes while walking on campus, the view of the Meadville lights through your window at night, the slight slope of the lawn between buildings that's ideal for sledding. Warning: After just a few weeks on campus, you may suddenly find yourself wondering how you ever could have pictured yourself anywhere else.

    Am learning a lot

    If you weren't a hand-raiser before coming to Allegheny, it just might turn you into one. Class discussions never fail to be compelling, and even lecture classes are stimulating and never too large to exclude anyone. There is admittedly a heavy workload, in terms of papers and required readings outside of actual class hours, but there is no such thing as busywork here, as every assignment in some way significantly contributes to the course. Interdisciplinary study is one of the pillars of an Allegheny education, and many professors will freely approach their subject from unconventional angles, ie. applying psychological concepts to literature, exploring the historical implications of the film industry, discussing the role of existentialist philosophy in French literature. Suffice it to say, there's never a dull class here.

  • 07/19/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 out of 12 people found this review useful. 2 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are interested in pre-med, students who do not mind living in a small town, and students who understand that studying is a top priority would do fine at Allegheny.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus; talk to the professors, but do not be wooed by the admission staff, because when you get into Allegheny you won't see these people very often, and them knowing your name and where your from will not really matter. Also I would not suggest staying over night, since it does not give you the true experience of living on your own.

    Bang for the buck

    Allegheny has a trustees scholarship that is very helpful, and most students get some sort of scholarship. But even with the scholarships, I feel that Allegheny is a little too expensive, and the financial aid department is not very helpful at times.

    Am enjoying being here

    Allegheny provides many opportunities to learn inside and outside the classroom. Right now I am part of a volunteer group that is based on campus, but helps the individuals within the community. Most of the students are open and nice, however there are some who seem to be here for the wrong reasons.

    Am learning a lot

    Small classes and really interesting and concerned professors make staying at Allegheny a pleasure.

  • 12/06/2009

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 3 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who loves to learn and is capable of working hard. Students need to understand the concept of reaping what one sews. It is also helpful to be eager to pursue a variety of ideas and opportunities as attendance at Allegheny College comes with almost endless potential - you just have to be committed to succeeding, and the school will help you do it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit campus - it's beautiful. There's a wonderful mix of hundred-year-old brick architecture with state-of-the-art modern buildings. Also, make sure you understand the credit requirements; especially that there's no core curriculum. Ask plenty of questions about the Senior Comprehensive project as well.

    Bang for the buck

    This is an expensive school, but the administration is eager to help support students financially. The overwhelming majority of students use scholarships and financial aid. Allegheny is an amazing school, but it just may not be financially feasible for everyone.

    Did enjoy being here

    I loved my time at Allegheny. I met amazing people, had incredible adventures, and learned as much outside the classrooms as I did inside them.

    Did learn a lot

    Classes are small, intense, challenging, and enlightening. Professors are usually eager to help and The Learning Commons is full of people who want you to succeed. The school takes a personal interest in your education, and if you commit to the rigorous curriculum, you can reap great rewards/

  • 06/18/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 4 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus and have a personal interview. Just be yourself.

  • 06/19/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 5 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students looking to reduce the amount of people they are around but still wanting to make many friends quickly.

    Will enjoy being here

    During my stay, it was amazing how nice everyone was, especially the staff. It was also very cool to talk to the admissions staff and realize that they remember everyone that applies...they pretty much new my life's story and that was impressive!

  • 01/18/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 6 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Independent, combination of interests, studious.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure that you like snow if you're considering Allegheny - there's a lot of it here! Also, be resourceful and check out as many of the links on the school's webpages as you can - sometimes, procedures for different things (like student employment and financial aid) aren't spelled out for you when you get here, and you need to do a little research. If you ever really get stuck, though, be sure to call someone and ask before it becomes a big problem - any person I've ever talked to is always willing to help with any problem or question. Also, if you have a roommate problem, try to talk it out with them. If you can't, get your RA involved; moving into a new room is an option, but be sure to try to work out any problems, because as this is a small school, you most likely will see your old roomie again, and having been kind and courteous before will make this much easier.

    Bang for the buck

    So far, I'm very happy that I came to Allegheny, and while I'm not completely broke yet, sometimes I wonder why I'm paying so much. The dorms are much nicer than some of the other schools I have visited, but some of them could still use a face lift - depending on what building it is, the carpets tend to be stained/smelly, the paint is starting to chip, and the heating systems seem to be barely working. Another thing that I have not been very happy with is the snow removal - for $44,000 a year, you would think that the stairs would be shoveled and salt would be put down. The bookstore is overpriced (although I guess it's no worse than any other college's) - I have never bought my texts there and will never (I buy my books and materials from eBay and Amazon, and usually spend half of what I would've spent at the bookstore). I really like the school's food programs, though - we use fresh ingredients from local farms, and both McKinley's and Brooks rotates meal items every day.

    Am enjoying being here

    The environment is fun, and the people here are awesome! Mostly everyone is very friendly, and the school employees are very kind and willing to help you in any way. The only thing that isn't my favorite is probably the weather - when it's warm, it seems to rain all the time and when it's cold it snows all the time (and there's quite a lot of it).

    Am learning a lot

    I've learned so much in the semester that I've been here. The professors are very helpful, and encourage you to visit them during their office hours if you have questions. Because Allegheny doesn't make you take any required freshman classes outside of an FS, I was able to pick classes in my intended major right away, and they have all been very interesting to me!

  • 12/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 7 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    My only tip is to come visit! You will absolutely fall in love with the gorgeous campus (unless you come when the weather makes the snow slushy or when it is incessantly raining). But campus really is beautiful and the people here are one of a kind. You think you are certain of the schools you have chosen, but once you visit, your mind can change. A school can be everything you want on paper, and once you visit, it just may not be right. Your gut feeling about your school options tells you a lot. If it does not feel right, it probably will not be. So come on out and visit; I have a feeling you just might fall in love with it!

    Bang for the buck

    I will not lie, Allegheny is a somewhat pricey school, and for some students, it is a real challenge. However, being a Liberal Arts college, Allegheny is able to provide many students with grants and scholarships based on merit as well as need. It does not take too much effort, and Allegheny starts handing you money. Obviously, we all wish we had a bit more money sometimes, or that the school we were attending was less expensive, but for the education and experience one can gain here at Allegheny, I would say it is worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    In all honesty, Allegheny was not my first choice, but not a day goes by where I find myself regretting my decision. I come from a very small town, so the small enrollment and small campus really are what made me the most comfortable. However, the level of diversity on campus gives it a somewhat more city feel. Nevertheless, the actually small enrollment and high student involvement provides the opportunity to get to know almost everyone on campus. You will definitely walk away with some lasting friendships and enriched attitudes from your experiences at Allegheny College!

    Am learning a lot

    Allegheny College provides small class sizes that ensure the most effective environment to foster a deep understanding of the class content and material. This small class size also allows for more ease in forming bonds and not only relationships, but also friendships, with faculty and staff members. However, even though classes are small, the education provided to the students is not cut short and compares with some of the top colleges in the nation – as Allegheny continues to be nationally ranked as one of the best Liberal Arts colleges in the country. I was always skeptical about these types of claims, even when the criteria are provided. But Allegheny has made me a believer. The courses and workload are rigorous, but you will always walk away having learned a lot and feeling enriched. It is often difficult for students to feel that what they are learning has any application to the real world. But here at Allegheny, the professors use a variety of teaching approaches that present you with the material in a way makes you understand and learn it, already seeing its applications.

  • 01/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 8 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is definitely a place where you can walk safely from place to place. During the first week of school students receive numbers for the RAs in the building and general security for the campus. If you feel unsafe you can call security and have a personal escort to your desired destination. Any time there is some kind of disturbance it is because a student forgot to lock his or her car or wasn't paying attention to where they were going.

    Greek Life

    I personally won't be part of Greek Life in the near future but it is prevalent on campus. Fraternities and Sororities hold school sponsored events that are enjoyable and safe for all students and there is absolutely no pressure to join.

    Clubs and Activities

    All clubs I've been interested in are extremely welcoming, you just need to be willing to go out and participate. I'm personally interested in theater and already in one semester I've been an assistant costume designer for a student run show and have done run crew for one of the large department shows.

    Bang for the buck

    The college is rather pricey and I certainly need plenty of financial aid to get by but I do appreciate what I get in return. Most professors are friendly and welcoming even if you are not one of their current or previous students. Also, from the beginning you are connected with ACCEL which helps push students into career and internship opportunities for the future and orchestrate study abroad programs. The college not only wants you to do well but also branch out to greater prospects.

    What to do for fun

    The town is small so there isn't a large social scene in Meadville. However the college has many sponsored events every weekend on campus and at times there are activities available in town to see. If necessary, an outlet mall is not too far away and Erie, PA is only forty minutes north of Meadville.

    Food and Dining

    When I first got there, the opportunity to eat as much as I want per meal swipe was appealing. Yet over time the food became rather repetitive and sometimes wasn't appetizing. Although the cafe on campus is a good alternative to the main dining hall some items sold there are way overpriced. However don't let my criticisms scare you away, overall the food is exactly what I expected from college food, some days are delicious and other days I'd rather fend for myself.

    Dorm Life

    I wish I could tell people about the typical freshmen dorm, but I was placed into the women's dorm because of my preference for a more quiet area. I personally enjoy my dorm because it is connected to the dining hall so I don't have to bundle up to go in search of food. Also, overall the people in other rooms are considerate of those sleeping or studying and friendly to those willing to chat. The only issue I have is that because I'm in a corner room with two windows, most of the time my room is too cold for my liking and the heating doesn't seem to kick in until I'm asleep. I plan on talking to my RA when I return if the problem is still there.

    Academic Rigor

    If I'm going to pay a large sum to attend a private liberal arts college I expect to be pushed and I certainly have been. Some of my classes have been fairly easy while others have made me work for multiple days to obtain a fairly decent grade. It truly depends on what your intended major is when it comes to the size of your workload but I know I will have some very long weeks ahead once I've decided what I want to do with my life.

    Tips for prospective students

    The one thing I would definitely focus on is learning how to balance your time. On multiple occasions I would hear many friends pulling unnecessary all nighters. Fortunately for me I never had that issue. The key to avoiding excess stress, at least for me, was to immediately start the work assigned in a class the day it was given instead of doing it the next day. Not only was there more time to work on it but by Thursday afternoon I had no more work to worry about until the weekend.

    In three sentences

    Allegheny will push you to work until not only the professor is satisfied but so is the student. The key to a successful life at Allegheny is to work hard during the week and then go enjoy a full weekend with friends. The opportunities are endless with not only programs on campus, but joint projects with the community, and larger cities to visit nearby.

  • 05/22/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are willing to work very hard and are intently interested in their subjects will thrive here, as well as students that enjoy a combination of interests. Students who are passionate about service and community-based projects will also love Allegheny. Allegheny is also great for those who appreciate a tight-knit community where your professors will know you as a person and everyone knows everyone else.

    Tips for prospective students

    Your academic record is incredibly important but don't forget to pay attention to extra-curricular activities! Also, visiting was very helpful to me. Try to visit when students are not on break to get a better feel for the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Allegheny is expensive and I initially had some issues with financial aid. However, if you show academic aptitude, Allegheny will give you more money so you will attend--being a small school, they are quite generous. Some students have issues with the EFC calculations and large loan amounts. Yet, I think Allegheny is worth the price, and a student should talk with the Financial Aid Office before completely dismissing the school based on money.

    Am enjoying being here

    Being a rather expensive liberal arts college, Allegheny has students who lack a genuine interest to learn but have the funds to attend. However, every school has this minority, and the amount of intelligent and incredibly enthusiastic learners far outweighs the rest. Students at Allegheny are involved on a community and national level--if you have a passion for service, you will adore Allegheny. The amount of extracurricular clubs catering to every interest (both academic and non-academic) is also enormous. While there have been issues associated with intolerance in the past, students have rallied together in many instances to prove that we are Gators, not Haters. Being quite tiny, everyone knows everyone at Allegheny. However, the town of Meadville is quite small and this deters some students. Yet, if you look hard enough, you will find some hidden gems for fun, food, and entertainment. Just ask any student and they'll be happy to tell you (and Erie is only a short drive away!)

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned so much at Allegheny--the professors and students alike are helpful, intelligent, and compassionate. At Allegheny, professors will know you by name and appreciate you for the unique combination of interests that encompass who you are as an individual. As far as work, every student agrees that the workload is intense. However, you will understand your subject(s) so thoroughly, and the workload is not unmanageable.

  • 01/14/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Allegheny's slogan is unusual combinations which is in every way true. If you're like me and you have an obscure path of study you wish to pursue then Allegheny is definitely your school! To put that slogan in perspective, I started college as a French Major, Biology Minor on the Pre-Med track which is not the most unusual combination that school has seen. So if you know what you want to do, or even if you don't, but you have some unusual combinations of interests then check out Allegheny. You wont be disappointed!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are determined to do well in college and are willing to take that extra step to achieve your goals then you will most certainly succeed at Allegheny. You must also be willing to brave the beautiful, snowy Meadville winters.

    Bang for the buck

    Allegheny is a bit pricy, but it also offers the most aid of any other college. Besides the numerous scholarships offered to incoming freshmen Allegheny will work very closely with you and your family to make sure you attend despite any financial issues. Also, as I said before, Allegheny professors are more then willing to take the extra step to help you understand everything, even outside of what they taught you. Also ACCEL, the career services on campus will do whatever it takes to help you achieve your goals after graduation. When you walk into anyone's office at Allegheny they give you their full attention, as if you are the only student they will be seeing for that entire day. They will help you 100% of the way.

    Am enjoying being here

    I wont lie, there is a lot of work here, but the work always has a purpose and there's also a lot of playtime. The school routinely has lecturers, concerts, and late night activities. Many professors also give credit, or extra credit to go see a lecture during the evening. If you keep up with work, you can easily go out and enjoy an evening with friends on campus or even downtown.

    Am learning a lot

    If your looking for a college where you simply learn the material for the test day and then forget it afterwards, don't come to Allegheny. If you want a college where you will remember what you learned months or even years ago, Allegheny is the place for you! Classes are never too big. Even in the biggest classes on campus (which are less than 80) professors still give students time for discussion and individualized attention. Professors work with you one on one in their office hours to make sure you understand everything they have taught in class and will not leave until they are sure you understand.

  • 12/28/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 11 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I received an amazing scholarship. The scholarship made the cost of going cheaper than going to a University of California school. Including the cost of traveling from Pennsylvania to California, its about the same price. I'd say that its better then a University of California school, though. There are a few issues with too many students at Allegheny, but that is related to housing, not academics. I've yet to be unable to take a class due to the number of students attending the school, and I haven't heard any stories of people being unable to graduate because they couldn't get a class for their major.

    Am enjoying being here

    The winter weather is a new experience to me. My freshman year, it snowed nonstop; I enjoyed the experience but quickly grew weary of it. This year, fortunately, the weather has been a lot kinder. There aren't a lot of exciting things to do in Meadville, the town Allegheny is located in. However, there's a new and old movie theater nearby and a live-performance theater as well. There are always parties on the weekend, but I rarely attend. I go to ARGO (the role-playing club) and LAG (the video game club), which meet on Fridays and Saturdays respectively. There are always a lot of people at ARGO/LAG events and I've made quite a lot of friends in it. Whenever my parents ask me what I enjoy the most about Allegheny, I say ARGO and the people in it.

    Am learning a lot

    I've learned quite a lot in my English and biology classes, and have enjoyed them a lot. I'd rate the learning higher if it weren't for my negative experiences with chemistry courses. The chemistry professors I've had aren't very good; they either are okay teachers but ridiculously tough graders or are bad teachers. I've struggled with chemistry and plan on taking a tutor next time I take a chemistry course.

  • 01/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 12 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are several call boxes around campus and there are always security officers around. if you need to be walked back to your dorm when it is dark out you can call and someone will walk you back,

    Clubs and Activities

    there are a lot of clubs and other activities on campus. there are a lot of different sports to get involved with.

    Bang for the buck

    this school is very expensive. but the academics here are great. i think they could spend a little more on the dorms though.

    What to do for fun

    there are lots of activities around campus and many groups you can become involved in. there is not too much to do off campus.

    Food and Dining

    the food here is okay but not like food from home. both dining halls pretty much have the same thing. so i would recommend bring lots of snacks and easy mac.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are alright. it takes some time getting use to being on your own and living with some one you do not know. but the residence advisers are very friendly and will help you with anything.

    Academic Rigor

    you are not going to get by without studying. most professors require you to attend class as a part of your grade or for extra credit. do not think you can just float on by with the bare minimum like in high school. this is a tough school.

    Tips for prospective students

    do not be afraid to be the real you. there are some very interesting people here and that is what they are looking for.

    In three sentences

    allegheny is great for academics. the social atmosphere here is great, everyone is very friendly. the staff on campus are very helpful.

  • 02/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    bring about five pairs of super warm boots.

    In three sentences

    allegheny college is cold, beautiful, and cold. the repetition of the chilly weather is crucial to emphasize the extremity of freezing temperatures. however, despite the weather, the classes are mind-blowing and the friendliness of people will keep you warm.

  • 07/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is never a moment where I felt unsafe on campus but when you do there are safety polls located all over the campus and they do a pretty good job at responding to emergencies.

    Greek Life

    The campus is 80% greek. There is no pressure to join for those who are not interested. But the campus is heavily Greek but they stay pretty inclusive to all students.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of Clubs and Activities. You find one that you like and fir into, the options are abundant. It's pretty overwhelming sometimes lol.

    Great for these types of students

    Creative Driven Fun Likes to explore

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    An unusual tradition at Allegheny is the 13th plank which also works as one of the special places on campus. The 13th plank is taken every year by an anonymous person. It is the bridge that crosses one section of the campus to the next section.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of things you can do for fun. The main thing is grab your friends and get creative (but safe of course). The next thing is to go to the Campus Center. There is always always always something going on in the Campus Center from Poetry to chocolate funnel, making ice cream, making hats, scarfs etc. You can also go out to a campus party and just dance your week off.

    Food and Dining

    There are two dining areas: Brooks Hall Dining Hall and McKinley's which is more like a food court. Brooks Hall is the main dining hall that is based on how many meals you have and it is an unlimited buffet. To be completely honest the food is not that great. There are moments when the food is really good but it's never consistent. The vegetarian options apply as well. But my favorites are the sweet potato fries, perogies, clam strips, corn, chicken strips, and mac and cheese Fridays. McKinley's has the grill, pasta area, and sandwich area. McKins is more of a popular choice and the food is pretty good but it works by what we call much money in which the ammoun of money you have is based on your meal plan. But of course you can use your own money but you got to buy your books right?

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fun. Like most campuses there are some dorms that have certain reputations and are know for certain things. But overall the Resident Advisers and CA's and Area coordinators try their best to create programs and activities for residents to enjoy and relax to.

    Academic Rigor

    Allegheny is known for its academic rigor. Since I last checked they fall in the top 50 liberal art schools so that may give you a hint of the work. My friends and I joke sometimes that our 2 credit classes should be considered the full 4 credit classes. But it's nothing that can't be done; however, I must admit that it can get stressful at times. But there are tutors for close to all subjects who can help you and cater to your time and schedule. The Professors are also helpful, some more than others but the key is to work hard and keep with it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you visit the school before you agree to go there. And make sure you like it because although the four years will go by fast, you need to make sure tour happy. It's okay to be nervous and it's important to be yourself. I remember missing my freshman orientation because of the New York Hurricane and I was so upset. When I finally got to campus I didn't know anyone, I felt lonely and lost. Even after I introduced myself to my floor mates I still felt left out. But after some time I got to know them and they got to know me and my freshman year was a blast! So I say all of that to say don't worry if you don't find your friends right away or have fun right away; give it some time and I guarantee you will figure it all out.

    In three sentences

    Allegheny College is a fun and safe environment that brings together 2100 students who will discover themselves along with their peers, learning to grow up, make mistakes and make more mistakes. There are many different resources offered by Allegheny that help students to succeed. It is a small campus in a small pretty weird town with the goal to have a close and valuable community.

  • 07/02/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Self-motivated, independent, and unique students will flourish.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make the most of every moment. Utilize campus resources for personal and academic success. Bring warm clothes, because the Meadville winters can be harsh. Get a lot of sleep, it really makes a difference. Try to keep organized and not procrastinate. It will make your time here a lot easier.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a private school, so tuition is steep. If you are on this site, you are taking the right approach. Do your best to get as many scholarships as you can, because the education here is well worth the money, if you can afford it.

    Am enjoying being here

    I absolutely love Allegheny. The size of the school creates a very familial feeling. It is not uncommon to see fifty people you know on your way to class or lunch. There are tons of clubs and student activities to keep you busy, and Meadville has more to offer than you think. You will make your best friends here.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors are amazing, and very personable. Classes are challenging, but manageable. You will get out of this education what you put into it. There are many opportunities to talk to professors outside of class, classes are small, and there are tons of on-campus resources to help you make the most of it.

  • 07/20/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those that actually want to learn will love it here. Anybody just looking for resume boosters or a four year party are not likely to enjoy their time at Allegheny College.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay overnight! The Allegheny Ambassador program connects prospective students directly with a host. Staying in the dorms, trying the showers, eating the food, and talking to future classmates is a much better indication of your happiness here than the 20 minute, sugar-coated admissions tour.

    Bang for the buck

    Being a private liberal arts school, Allegheny College sticker price is astronomical. The humorous part is that nobody ever really is forced to pay that amount. The Trustee Scholar Program especially helps in this area, and is one more prestigious group in which to participate. By paying this tuition, students are provided small classes, professors with an open door policy, and the ability to make unusual combinations in creating a major. The flexibility and uniqueness of schedules (classes include Creatures of the Night, Philosophy of Mathematics, The Economics of Discrimination and so many more) not to mention the fresh, local, delicious food included in the meal plan, gives you the most bang for your buck.

    Am enjoying being here

    It's not just about sitting in the library all day. Allegheny College is located in a small town, but don't be fooled; we stay busy. There are monthly Service Saturdays that are a time for students to give back to the tight-knot community at local places like the animal rescue farm, local library, or the home of an elderly citizen. Students are also encouraged to connect with the town of Meadville during First Friday. During this event the school partners with local shops and restaurants to extend business hours and host student activities like free movies or making your own sushi.

    Am learning a lot

    At Allegheny classes are extremely challenging. The school's giving an average course is worth four credits vs the usual three exemplifies this fact. The one thing that really allows you to learn though, is the environment. The great level of difficulty is compensated for by the dedication of the students and faculty. Professors at Allegheny fully understand and convey not only the subjects they teach, but also lessons outside these restrictions. Students here generally care about their learning environment and are encouraged to learn from one another. Because of the inspiring sense of academic enthusiasm at Allegheny College, I am falling in love with learning and plan to seek this type of atmosphere to continue the learning process throughout my life.

  • 10/01/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 17 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who like the more rural, college-town feel.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus to see if the location is for you.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is expensive, but it seems like a really good school.

    Will enjoy being here

    The campus is really nice and the dorms seem reasonable.

    Will learn a lot

    The academic programs seem very impressive and inciting.

  • 02/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    social sororities and fraternities sororities -alpha chi omega -kappa kappa gamma -delta delta delta -alpha delta pi -kappa alpha theta fraternities -sigma alpha epsilon -delta tau delta -theta chi -phi delta theta -phi kappa psi greek life on campus is nothing like that on tv or big universities. there is no superiority between the greeks and the non-affiliates. there are no sorority houses but fraternities do have houses on campus. the greek life does not haze here, but is rather a support group on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    -ambitious -hard-working -unique -open-minded -enjoys learning -responsible

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there is a bridge on campus called the rustic bridge. it has been rumored that if an upperclassman man kisses a freshman girl on the 13th plank of that bridge that that woman is ineligible to date anyone else the rest of their college career. each year, a group a freshman guys on campus steal this plank and hide it in their dorm building so that no upperclassmen can take their potential ladies!

    What to do for fun

    movies, fraternity parties, guest lecturers, game room, sledding (in winter), various club events

    Tips for prospective students

    bring heavy duty rain boots, bring a warm coat, stay organized and work on time management skills, get involved in several clubs, partake in community service whenever possible.

    In three sentences

    allegheny has exceptional employees who are always willing to help and always remember your name. the workload is sometimes unmanageable but i no doubt learn a significant amount every day. the campus is beautiful, but the surroundings are awful.

  • 04/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It is very expensive but in the long run, you will most likely leave here with a job or an acceptance into another school to further your education.

    What to do for fun

    Meadville is pretty small but they love having the college here and are very accepting. There are parties on campus on the weekends and many school sponsored activities.

    Food and Dining

    Not great but not awful. Look at the menus and find out whichever is most appealing.

    Dorm Life

    A lot of the dorms are older but new ones are being built all the time. Everyone in the dorms is really nice and helpful. I made a lot of great friends by living near them.

    Academic Rigor

    There is a lot of work to do but that is the point of going to a highly recognized school. Allegheny is a place to learn and explore what you want to do with your future, not a party school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not let any opportunities pass you by. Allegheny offers many research sessions with professors, internships, and organizations. Even though the course load can be overwhelming at times, make the most out of your time here.

    In three sentences

    Awesome school where the professors know you by name and attempt to help you in any way they can. People of all race/sex/gender/sexuality are accepted here. A great place to learn and prepare yourself for your future.

  • 04/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join a club!

    Food and Dining

    The food here is pretty decent, especially compared with other colleges in the area.

    Dorm Life

    Living in a dorm is not quite as difficult as one thinks, it is actually a lot of fun.

    Academic Rigor

    Make sure you study hard, classes here are very difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring warm clothes and boots.

    In three sentences

    Allegheny is a place for people who have varied interests come together. We are all friendly and outgoing and love building upon the Allegheny community. The professors are approachable and knowledgeable.

  • 06/14/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    21 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is extremely good. The campus experiences little to no problems with safety.

    Greek Life

    They have sororities and fraternities! Make new friends with the possibility of life long friendships!

    Clubs and Activities

    They're is plenty of clubs and groups to join, you can keep your self very busy!

    Great for these types of students

    Hardworking, focused, competitive, students who like the close community feeling will absolutely love this college!

    Bang for the buck

    The education achieved is worth the money!

    What to do for fun

    There is a lot of campus club events that go on and the college is located in the middle of Meadville where there is a movie theater and many place to eat!

    Food and Dining

    Allegheny's food is delicious! They have cooks so the food is fresh and they have a wide variety!

    Dorm Life

    It's a quiet campus. Dorms are somewhat small especially freshman dorms. The school offers different types of rooms such as singles,doubles,quads,and for your senior year if you'd like suites.

    Academic Rigor

    I personally have sat in on a class at the college and from my observation the students seem to be very focused in there studies. The students seemed to enjoy the classes and participation was big. Also teachers do what ever it is to ensure the students success,which include things like extra help. The school itself also offers free tutoring

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you turn paper work in on the given deadlines, it doesn't look good on your part if you turn in information late. Another tip for prospective students would be to visit the campus and if possible plan a meeting with a professor in the field they are looking to enter. Finally keep in contact with the college so you can stay aware of news concerning financial aid, fees, classes, etc.

    In three sentences

    Allegheny has that close knit community feeling.The teachers are very close with students and work hard to help the students achieve success. It's a small campus but quite beautiful.

  • 06/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    Since I have been away from college for quite some time, it is hard for me to judge the rigor, however I do hear many fellow students commenting on the work load as being large.

    Tips for prospective students

    I am a non traditional student so I do not have much advise as far as on campus activities. I do recommend taking at least one environmental science course.

    In three sentences

    Allegheny is a great school where the professors are helpful and really care about the students. I feel as though I am getting a great education at Allegheny and have learned many new things. Since it is a small private college, the student to professor ratio is manageable and helpful in better learning opportunities.

  • 07/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Allegheny is in a small town, so I don't think it's in a dangerous area. However, I have come back from the library at 1 a.m. wishing the campus was better lit than it is in some areas.

    Greek Life

    I'm not a member of Greek life, but they make up either one-third or one-fourth of all students on campus. The sororities don't seem as bad as stereotyping might have you believe. Sororities and fraternities both do lots of fundraising for their specific charities each year. In short, if you wanted to get involved in Greek life, you'll probably enjoy it.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't much to do in Meadville. There are a few cute little shops not too far from campus, but there is no proper nightlife. Usually, that can be found on campus. But activities programming usually has something planned for Friday and Saturday nights.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is okay. There are two places to eat , McKinley's and Brooks Dining Hall. The former is a cafe-type place with different styles of food (sandwiches, pasta, Mexican, general, vegan, salads, and other snacks). It has the better food of the two, but is somewhat over-priced. The offerings at the dining hall are not as appetizing--in my opinion--but it is possible to find a tasty meal sometimes.

    Dorm Life

    My dorm wasn't crazy because it was an all girl's building, but it was also old and kind of looked it. It wasn't uncommon for double rooms to be different sizes, even on the same floor or in the same hallway.

    Academic Rigor

    This place is difficult (from what I've seen so far). Don't come here and expect to do well without studying or doing homework.

    Tips for prospective students

    This might not be the best place for people who want a college with lots of options if they are undecided/end up changing their major. There are only about 30 or so actual majors, though they do allow students to design their own major.

    In three sentences

    The professors and staff here are very helpful. Really, don't be afraid to go to them if you have questions. Allegheny's campus is beautiful, and the small size is perfect if you like that sort of thing.

  • 07/04/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    24 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I found that even though tuition was fairly expensive, their financial aid office offered more scholarships and work study options than my old school did, which ended up being much more affordable than I ever would have thought. I paid less at Allegheny than I did at my old school that I transferred in from.

    Food and Dining

    When I went there the quality of the food was excellent, and has remained consistently excellent over the years. There were always vegan options and I could find some Kosher options as well. There is a wide range of dining choices and dining times are now flexible. The campus has a huge focus on recycling, and their cafeterias are green.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are really intense, so you've got to be focused. As a biology major my exams were all essay. Seniors have research opportunities with their Senior Comp project.

    In three sentences

    Allegheny has a beautiful campus, but it's a long walk to get into town. They've done a lot of investment in the building and technology since I graduated and everything is state of the art. The alumni network is strong in urban areas.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are weekly things today, for example; the first Friday of every month there are free movies at the movie theater, as well as activities on the weekends such as gingerbread house making. Inter-mural sports are also really fun to participate it!

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, especially the mac 'n cheese that is served on Fridays! There are a lot of different choices as of what to eat, especially in the various amounts of ice cream! There are even vegan, vegetarian, and gluten-free options.

    Dorm Life

    I lived in the typical freshman dorms (Baldwin Hall) my freshman year. The rooms were big and every hall seems to become really close. The college recently got new furniture in the dorm I was in last year so it was updated which was very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes were definitely hard and you do get a lot of work, but if you manage your time well, you will achieve all of your academic goals.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join a few clubs that you are interested in, it is a great way to meet people and get involved on campus. If you get the chance come to one of the prospective student overnight programs. You will get to stay with a student and attend classes that you are interested in and it will help you decide if it is the school for you. Also, don't worry, the host students for this program are all really nice and excited to have you stay with them!

    In three sentences

    At Allegheny College you are more than just a number, the professors really take the time to help you if you have questions. Though it might be in a small town, the campus has a lot to offer, you will be impressed!

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Two different places to eat, both with some variety.

    Dorm Life

    Livable with all the necessities you need to live for the semester.

    Academic Rigor

    You can't just always put little work into anything. The work handed to you needs a good amount of thought.

    In three sentences

    A challenging school that make you think outside of the box.

  • 08/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's a small town so I always felt safe, but there are call boxes on campus and campus police just in case.

    Greek Life

    For such a small school, there are many options!

    Clubs and Activities

    You name it, they have it!

    Great for these types of students

    If you're looking for a small school with a personal touch, this is the school for you. The academics are rigorous but if you apply yourself, worth it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Check out the little bridge on campus - it's picturesque and kinda romantic!

    Bang for the buck

    Allegheny is a very expensive school, and the tuition goes up every year. Make sure to schedule your classes wisely or you'll end up paying more than you need to. The professors, classes, and class sizes are great, but make sure you take advantage of what you have at your disposal while you're there.

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of on-campus activities and for a small school, students can party kinda hard. Whatever your interest, there's a group for it.

    Food and Dining

    Brooks is more of an all-you-can-eat, so for girls or light eaters I'd recommend going light on this option if you can. McKinley's cash is better and easier - more people hang out there and it's open late too!

    Dorm Life

    Some of the dorms are older and quaint, but some are brand-new. Do your research before you pick.

    Academic Rigor

    Take the time to complete your classes and take advantage of everything Allegheny offers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take your time exploring your options Take a class in anything you're interested in - you may surprise yourself with the majors or minors you end up with Enjoy it while you're there - it'll be gone before you know it!

    In three sentences

    Wonderful academics Gives students the freedom to explore their options Beautiful campus

  • 09/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe though not sure if it is because of the of the campus or the size of this little town. We do have occasional incidents with theft but nothing big.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is more than enough clubs for every kind of interest. Only down side is that it is hard to only pick the most important ones to you since you cannot possibly actively participate in all of them.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The thirteenth plank on this little bridge we have gets stolen.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a bit expensive but it will be worth it if you make sure to keep in mind why you are here. If you come to get an education and stay focused then go partying instead then you may want to think of a better use for those big bucks.

    What to do for fun

    There are usually late night events hosted by one of the many different clubs there are if you are if you are looking for something to do on a weekend. There is also school dances that are hosted by the fraternities every now and then as well as different clubs. If you are into theater or dance you can audition or go watch the shows when they come out. Most of the things that you will be doing for fun will be on campus since Meadville is really small with not much to do.

    Food and Dining

    Brooks is good for all you can eat and they have a good variety of things. If you are vegetarian or vegan they have options available in both dining halls though I've heard from friends that there aren't enough. McKinley's is what I usually prefer though I tend to eat the same chicken sandwich every time I eat there.

    Dorm Life

    The showers deserve zero stars on some days when they decide to go from freezing temperatures to burning in an instant. Most of the rooms are a decent size though there are some that are way smaller than others. It is my second year living in Brooks and if I had to live in a dorm again next year it would remain my first pick. The only other bad thing I can think of is that we are not allowed to live off campus though the college has houses for the students (upperclassmen get first pick).

    Academic Rigor

    There is a lot of work given by the professors but if you are good with time management it is completely doable.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan to study abroad you have to do a lot of the preparations a year in advance.

    In three sentences

    It is a small college which means small classes and a lot of attention and help from the professors. People are very friendly and there are many clubs and organizations for all kinds of interests though if there is one missing you can create a new club. I can honestly say I love my college on most days.

  • 10/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Honestly, since I have been here nothing majorly bad has happened. Campus Security is always just a call away! I feel incredibly safe on campus. Whenever we have a fire alarm go off security is there within seconds. They are readily available and will walk/drive you back to your dorm if you ever were to feel uncomfortable. This is my second home and it is a place where I feel safe thanks to security. It is great to feel safe as you walk home from anywhere at night. Overall this college is very safe, but there are always problems just as all colleges have. I am very lucky to be attending such a protected and safe college.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is a lot of fun! I am just now planning on joining a sorrority. They do alot for the school and community and best of all its another opportunity to make friends and become involved in the college. You can just see how much they have together as they do so many activities! I can not wait to joing Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many Clubs and Activities for every type of student. I have only been here a few months and I already joing several clubs and and intramural team. It is alot of fun to be apart of, along with just seeing how much fun everyone has together. The clubs do alot of amazing things and are always interesting! There are always posters hung up around campus for every kind of club possible. Everywhere you look there is something to do.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for the type of students who are willing to put in alot of time to studying. The student should be good at planning ahead because being organized is a top priority for being here. Staying organized helps you keep your room, your life, and your school work in order. The student should also be able to know how to relax and just have fun after a hard day of work. The student has to be dedicated and hardworking to enjoy this college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    At random spots on the college there are loud echos. At the senior circle, which is uniquely surrounded by green glass-like structures you can always here yours or a friends voice echo as soon as you reach the exact center. It is fun to test the area until you find the spot that echos and sometimes you forget about it and are surprised by the loud sound of your voice.

    Bang for the buck

    This college is expensive, but so worth it. With all the opportunties presented after attending this college you wont regret coming here. They do make sure you get your moneys worth one way or another. With all the academic help and activites you see your money being put to god use and to ways in which you will benefit from it.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many things to do for fun! They range from clubs to athletics. My advice would be to get involved! There is always something going on. Me and my friends always walk through the campus center and find something to join in on. The activity planning group always comes up with fun things to do especially on the weekends when you do have free time.

    Food and Dining

    I personally love the food here! There is a great selection and variety each and every day. I love being able to change it up, yet still be able to fall back on the certain foods I love. They are accomodating for vegetarians and vegan. The meat is not bad either! I find myself trying something new everyday, which is great.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms here vary depending where you get into. However, overall the dorms are suitable for the life being lived. Also, it is alot of fun! I have made so many friends with the girls I live with. It is tricky at first to adjust, but you can not forget you are all in the same position and that is what I think brings everyone close together. As long as everyone is respectable dorm life can be a breeze, but no one is perfect and there will always be random problems. These problems are not the end of the world so try and work them out.

    Academic Rigor

    Just recently Allegheny College made it on the top twenty rigorous schools. That alone implys that the rigor here is difficult, but possible. If you have the will to do it it can be done. However, with time managed wisely it wont be too bad. Also, the professors are good about making available time to be at your assistance, which is really helpful. There are so many ways to get help if you need, dont ever be afraid to ask.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to study alot longer and harder than you did in High School. However, you should never forget to have fun and relax. There are so many quiet places to go and study along with relax. There may be alot of work, but there is always time for friends and free time if you manage your time wisely.

    In three sentences

    Allegheny is a great college that is looked upon highly by many graduate schools, especially medical schools. The work is rigorous, but worth it because people will be impressed when they learn of which college you went to. Also, there are tons of extracurricular activities to get involved in, there is something for everyone to do.

  • 12/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Though very expensive, Allegheny College is widely known as a highly esteemed college. In addition, the student to professor ratio plays a huge advantage.

    What to do for fun

    Every weekend there are different activities around campus, which usually take place in the Campus Center. These activities are made known to students in a weekly newsletter called the Chompergram. Additionally, there is a game room that is open everyday with pool tables, arcade games, and DVDs to rent.

    Food and Dining

    The main cafeteria, Brooks, is all you can eat with one meal swipe, and has a lot of options catering to vegetarian and vegan students. There's always a well-stocked salad bar, various soups, made-to-order sandwiches, pizza, and cereals if you do not like the main courses. The other cafeteria uses a cash system, and there are always the same options, but food quality is somewhat better than Brooks.

    Dorm Life

    Freshmen year, the residence assistants try very hard to plan activities to unite the dorm halls so that students can get to know one another.

    Academic Rigor

    Though the difficulty of classes can sometimes depend on the professor, classes always will be time consuming and cannot simply be overlooked. Tests and finals require a lot of time put into for studying.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are thinking of attending Allegheny College, be prepared for a large amount of hard work. A lot of time and effort is expected to be put into studying for tests or doing additional work outside of class. Time management is crucial in order to ensure completing work on time. Take advantage of the professors' office hours for assistance on studying techniques and additional help for understanding topics.

    In three sentences

    Allegheny College is a small liberal arts college of about 2,100 people. The small size allows for small classroom sizes, which provides an excellent student to professor ratio. The professors devote a lot of time getting to know their students and working with them outside the classroom to ensure understanding of material, as well as assistance with academic or career driven goals.

  • 02/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who are smart but not focused on academics alone

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of local shops and restaurants near within walking distance and Allegheny-sponsored events all the time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to look up your professors before selecting courses.

    In three sentences

    Allegheny is a great place that accepts people from diverse backgrounds with diverse interests. It has great educational quality and decent food, plus the small campus means you will know a lot of people. I love this school!

  • 03/16/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    32 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    Just beware of the communal bathrooms. Bring flip-flops.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask Questions! the professors and staff are there to help, always.

    In three sentences

    Allegheny is beautiful, close-knit, and I hope to find it an easy transition from high school to college! My favorite part about Allegheny is the unrelated Major/minor requirement. It is the perfect place for open-minded students.

  • 04/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never once been concerned with my safety. The officers do their jobs.

    Greek Life

    Around a quarter of the campus is Greek and there is a lot for them to do.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is so much to do.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for everyone. Extremely diverse and open minded.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a rumor that if a freshman girl gets kissed on the 13th plank of the bridge by a senior boy, she is off limits. People try to steal that plank at the beginning of the year so that doesn't happen.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition may be high, but they are very generous with scholarships and financial aid. The programs here are fantastic so its worth it.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something fun if you want to go out or stay in.

    Food and Dining

    McKins is way better than Brooks. However, bringing a lot of friends to Brooks makes it fun. You go for the atmosphere, not the food. Except Fridays. Mac and cheese for lunch and chicken parm for dinner.

    Dorm Life

    I lived in an all freshman dorm my first year and it was fantastic. The people were amazing and we're all close today.

    Academic Rigor

    Allegheny is rated in the top of the country for academic rigor. Its hard, but not impossible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit. I fell in love the moment I set foot on campus. Also, don't be afraid to talk to people when you're here; we love to help.

    In three sentences

    Allegheny is a very diverse campus with a lot to do. The people are extremely friendly and the programs are fantastic. Its a lot of fun during the day and at night.

  • 06/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is extremely safe. It is located in a small town and the campus is relatively small located within. Campus security is also available all the 24/7.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are really focused on their academics and want to go to college for that reason.

    What to do for fun

    A lot of things happen on campus: join a club, intermural sports, varsity sports, greek life. In Meadville there are two movie theaters, a bowling alley, and plenty of restaurants. Just a short trip away in Erie there is all of that plus much more including a large mall.

    Food and Dining

    Allegheny has a large all you can eat dining hall and a pay as you go style type of dining. There are many different choices at both dining locations that will satisfy even the pickiest student.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are nothing special, but they serve the intention of housing all of their students and immersing them in a community. The friendships you form in your dorm help you feel immersed in the college.

    Academic Rigor

    You will be challenged in this school. Allegheny prides itself in the fact that their academics are top notch and students will receive a prestigious degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    Allegheny is a great school for those looking to be challenged in the classroom and receive a prestigious degree. Study hard, work hard, but never forget that one of the great things about college is just having fun. Chose the college that fits everything that you want, you will experience different atmospheres and pick the one that you feel most comfortable in.

    In three sentences

    Allegheny is a rigorous academic college that challenges students to excel inside the classroom. While the school promotes academics, there are plenty of options for just having fun as well, including division 3 varsity sports. The campus itself is gorgeous and everyone I have met is incredibly nice and helpful.

  • 07/25/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    35 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great campus safety. The officers accompany students to their appointments if it is too late at night or just because they don't feel safe.

    Greek Life

    It's awesome! I have vewry little information about Greek Life but, I have heard they give great parties for all the students each year.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs to pick from and some in which you would never think would exist. There is so much to do and so many people who can join you.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for undecided majors. This is a Liberal Arts school and it will be perfect for students who do not know what they want to become. They offer many options.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It gives students an opportunity to have unusual major-minor selections. They Provide Majors that other school donn't have like a Neuroscience Major.

    Bang for the buck

    There is a lot of job opportunities. There is always a job available for any student. Money will not be an issue.

    What to do for fun

    There is many things to do for fun! There is night owel fun nights. There are also sport and rallies that students can attend.

    Food and Dining

    They grow their own food! They are very ECO friendly and like to keep the environment safe. They also have their own source of carpool to pick up students from the airports.

    Dorm Life

    Depending on the dorm you would like to live in. Everyone is really friendly and would like to help. There is a free bus pass for everyone for the full 4 years.

    Academic Rigor

    It is one of the top schools in the nation. It has everything a student may need. They are also very strict but, give students a lot of help

    Tips for prospective students

    The tip I give to you is to take it slow. There is alot to cover but, you have time. It snows in PA.

    In three sentences

    This school is fantastic! It has the best student teacher ratio. It is perfect for undecided majors.

  • 10/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 45

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Allegheny College is a great place for those who learn in smaller environments. It is very peaceful and easy to get around

  • 11/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There's a lot of different clubs, and there are signs in the campus center telling you when and where they meet. If you can't find a club you're interested in, I don't think it's hard to create one.

    Great for these types of students

    If you need personal attention from a teacher, this is a good school for you. Class sizes are pretty small, so your professors will get to know you. There are some professors who know me and I've never had a class taught by them.

    What to do for fun

    Meadville is a pretty small, quiet town, but if you're willing to go meet people and be social, you can definitely make your own fun here.

    Food and Dining

    There are two places to eat on campus: McKinley's and Brooks, and the one you go to more often depends on your preference.

    Dorm Life

    There's a decent amount of choices for where you want to live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    You get enough work from your classes to feel like you're going to school, but not so much that it'll overwhelm you as long as you manage your time properly.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is definitely a college you should visit before committing to coming here. It's pretty small and the town isn't the liveliest, so you should come and see it for yourself before you decide you want to attend this school.

  • 12/15/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    38 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are hundreds of groups on campus and sports teams to fill any free time you may have.

    Food and Dining

    Dining options are limited but the food quality is not bad.

    Dorm Life

    Average dorms and living space. Not huge, but clean.

    Academic Rigor

    One of the most rigorous schools in the region. Work is very hard but will prepare you for the future.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard and you will succeed. Don't be afraid to ask for help! That is what your resources are there for.

    In three sentences

    If you find an area you are truly interested in, you will do very well. Allegheny has an incredible reputation and will get you the job you are looking for. Professors are amazing and want to help you do your best.

  • 12/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 45

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    greenhouse, theta chi, the bars, and whatever you really want to do.

    Food and Dining

    off campus food is best if possible

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are really big and spacious.

    Academic Rigor

    Attendance is everything and the school provide one on one tutors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do the overnight visit if possible, if nominated for Access Allegheny do it! Take FS foods for thought Weible always brings homemade bake goods to class when peer editing.

    In three sentences

    Allegheny is what you make of it. The food at brooks is gross and bland therefore muchmoney is everything. Regardless you will meets some of the best people their,

  • 12/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have security on duty all the time and emergency buttons throughout campus.

    Greek Life

    There are multiple Sororities and Fraternities on campus for all types.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is always something to do, between the sporting events and campus center activities from GAP (Gators activity programming). They always have something going on to keep the students active.

    Bang for the buck

    You pay for the Name and the GREAT education.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many clubs and opportunities to make friends and create memories. There is no time that is boring at Allegheny if you apply yourself.

    Food and Dining

    Mckinleys dining hall is great, but Brooks is a all you can eat dining hall with alright food. It is something that you have to adjust to when coming from home cooked meals.

    Dorm Life

    Sharing bathrooms and showers with the entire hall is hard to adjust to.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure your really like the small school atmosphere.

    In three sentences

    It is great for student who want to be in small classrooms. It is great for those going into the medical field as well. Many opportunities to pursue your career of choice.

  • 02/24/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are a ton of clubs to join. From japanese sword fighting to yoga to model un.

    Great for these types of students

    People who like small towns, snow, or rain.

    Bang for the buck

    The trustee scholarship is definitely helpful and everyone gets it. The amount varies and you don't need to anything special to get it, just apply for Allegheny using the leadership application. The financial aid and financial services offices are kind of helpful if you struggle to pay your tuition like me. They helped me get an increase on my perkins loan. But they aren't helpful with finding scholarships or other aid and they are kind of mean when it comes to not being able to afford college.

    What to do for fun

    I love the late night events that happen on Fridays. Concerts, comedians, even the random crafts night like making salsa or tie dye plates are fun and a great way to meet people and explore new things. Plus its free entertainment. There's always something new to do. I also love wingfest and basically anything with free food.

    Food and Dining

    At first the food tasted alright, but after a few weeks it gets old. There isn't much variety after a while. You get bored real quick. Brooks is buffet style and Mckinleys is like a food court with a pasta section, a grill section with hamburgers and chicken sandwiches, ect., a salad section, a mexican food section, pizza, and a cold sandwhich/sub section. The food is expensive for bad taste.

    Dorm Life

    Schultz Hall has the worst showers I've used. Every time someone flushes a toilet or washes their hands the shower gets really hot. The rooms are small and the beds are uncomfortable. North Village looks pretty nice though, but that is for upperclassmen. The wi-fi is good once you can get it working. Some rooms don't get certain cable channels ABC family. The laundry rooms have really small washers but really big dryers. You definitely have to get your clothes out on time or they will end up on the floor or on the table or on the top of the washer.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are hard but you learn a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join clubs and go to campus events to meet people. Meet with your professors during office hours about homework and just life in general, especially your adviser. It really pays off to become close with your professors.

    In three sentences

    It is a beautiful campus, rain, snow, or shine. There aren't a lot of choices when it comes to majors. The teachers really care about each student.

  • 02/24/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    42 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    One meal: it was great.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms I visited were old but comfy looking.

    Academic Rigor

    Looks to be high.

    Tips for prospective students

    I went with no preconceptions, but with a slight case of 'I do not want to go to college in the woods'. I was wrong; it is a nice but small town, and a beautiful and welcoming campus.

    In three sentences

    This college is welcoming in all ways. I attended an open house, and was really impressed by the faculty lecture on global warming. I was even more impressed by the students' sense of community.

  • 02/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have not once felt unsafe on campus. Just be smart!

    Clubs and Activities

    THERE IS EVERYTHING and if for some reason there is not the college will help you start it! The sky is the limit.

    Great for these types of students

    People that want a college with a tight knit community that is supportive, but that has the academic rigor of a larger prestigious university.

    Bang for the buck

    If you need financial aid they will go leaps and bounds to help you get the aid you need.

    What to do for fun

    If you get involved you will have no lack of things to do, even though, the college is a little bit off the beaten path. Some unique things that we have include the outing club (think hiking, canoeing, rock climbing), equestrian team, ski club, role playing club, video game club, and swing and social dance club. These are just a few clubs that provide great entertainment, but the college also puts on numerous activities that are fantastic. Some activities that I have seen happen at the college are survival Bingo (You have never seen bingo like this!), free movies at the movie theater, Ice Skating trips, Amazing Race competition, Humans vs. Zombies campus wide nerf battle, Fitness dance party, Decorate your own tumbler, and much more. The best thing is that most everything, (horse back riding is a $50 for the year) is covered in your tuition and is totally freeeeeee!

    Food and Dining

    The food is surprisingly good. You can chose to eat in two different places. One is buffet style with the food choices changing all the time, and one is a place where the food choices are constant and you pay by portion. The dining service tries to get most of the food locally when it is in season, and works to create healthy options for those students that are so inclined. The healthy options actually taste good but for when you just need to have your cheese covered nacho goodness, they have you covered as well.

    Dorm Life

    Compared to other colleges the dorms are nice! They are not like a hotel or anything but they are definitely passable.

    Academic Rigor

    I was Valedictorian and the science program here, while not impossible, is really making me work for my grades. The classes can be hard, but you will never do anything that seems to be busy work. The hard work that Allegheny requires makes so that you have mastered the material. Allegheny students also have numerous opportunities for research. This is fantastic for applying for grad school!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't look at the price tag and refuse to apply! Allegheny provides great financial aid packages and if for some reason you still can not afford the price call financial aid and send them a letter. For me personally the FASFA doesn't accurately show how much money my parents could afford. We pay out $20,000 to $30,000 in medical bills that is not taken into account by the FASFA. I wrote the financial aid office and showed them our tax returns and they made it so that I could afford Allegheny without putting strain on m parents. It was one of my most affordable colleges.

    In three sentences

    Allegheny provides a well rounded education of fantastic quality! It organizes internships and hands on experience for people in most all fields, has an exceptionally strong science program for a small liberal arts college, and Allegheny provides a flexibility in curriculum for people interested in various fields. Allegheny also is a college that simply has a faculty that is interested in you and how you are doing, and a student body that is genuinely friendly.

  • 04/02/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    44 of 45

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    They have a great food court style set up. Didn't actually get to eat there, but they at least seem to have tons of options. They even appeal to vegans!

    Dorm Life

    Can't say much for this because I haven't stayed. From what I've seen, they seem pretty accommodating and pretty roomy.

    Academic Rigor

    They claim themselves to be pretty top notch. They're rated number 22 in most rigorous schools if I remember correctly.

    Tips for prospective students

    My only thing that I would say tip wise would probably be to make sure you have money, a decent number of scholarships in line, or be willing to work. They do give a decent number of merit scholarships, but that does not make the college any less pricey.

    In three sentences

    The Campus is simply beautiful. The thing I love though is definitely how personalized and student centralized they claim everything to be. Just the right word to the right person can make a real change and make your whole experience better from my understanding.

  • 04/15/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    45 of 45

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I love the idea of unusual combinations. The campus looks gorgeous. Definitely applying here!