Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Allen County Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 03/21/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Allen County Community College is great for any type of student. They have a variety of classes with excellent instructors to push the students to excel in their class and in life.

    Tips for prospective students

    My only tips for prospective students have probably already been drilled into their head, go to class and study. It is hard to know what to study for without going to class, and it is hard to get an A on a test without studying for it. Plus, it is hard to make new friends without going to class.

    Bang for the buck

    Being an out of county resident, tuition is more expensive. Even with tuition being more expensive, I believe that it is quite affordable. The quality of education received here at Allen County Community College is second to none and is well worth the price of being an out of county resident.

    Am enjoying being here

    Allen County Community College has a very enjoyable environment. The instructors and other students are very friendly and helpful. The campus is fairly small and easy to get around. There are also numerous activities outside of class to get involved and meet new people. I would definitely say that I enjoy attending Allen County Community College.

    Am learning a lot

    I have taken a variety of classes while here at Allen County Community College. I have taken classes in biology, chemistry, business, history, computer technology, and physical education. While here, I have learned substantial amounts of information in a multitude of different areas. The instructors are great and make it fun to go to class.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is really safe. all of the parking lots are well-lit, the dorm doors are constantly locked and it is a short distance from the dorms to all of the buildings around campus.

    What to do for fun

    bowling and the movie theatre are the only forms of entertainment in iola, but getting involved in the campus activities is a great way to have fun.

    Food and Dining

    the food at allen is good for being a small school, with a small budget.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is great. the two older dorms are still in great shape and they are great living environments. the newer dorms and the red devil duplexes give you an apartment feel, but still living on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    as a prospective student, there are a lot of questions to be asked, ask them! the faculty at allen assists in any way they can to answer your question as completely as possible. be sure you find out everything you can to ensure you go to the right school.

    In three sentences

    allen community college is a great college for students looking to get started in their education. the staff is a great help in answering any questions you may have. they want you to succeed at allen, so anything they can do to help, they will.

  • 03/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    bowling, movie night, grocery bingo

    Dorm Life

    very fun activities.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure that you are able to handle the small town environment. being homesick is the worst thing here. i would suggest that you are an athlete or in theater.

    In three sentences

    allen is a small, good learning environment. the teachers all know my name and if i need help they are there to help me. going to allen before going to a 4 year was ideal.

  • 04/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    I am in Phi Theta Kappa!

    Bang for the buck

    I love Allen!

    What to do for fun

    I go to the activities that the school offers, and hosts. I go to the gym they have and work out. I go to the school plays. There is many opportunities at Allen.

    Food and Dining

    I take my lunch to school everyday.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms, I commute to school every day.

    Academic Rigor

    I am currently taking 18 credit hours.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always study and work hard! As long as you do that you will be fine at college. Also don't get caught up in drama.

    In three sentences

    It is a great college, that has more one on one teacher time than any other college. Every one that works there is very friendly and helpful. I enjoy going to this college.

  • 04/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feel safe at Allen campus and have never heard of anything bad happen. Everyone is friendly and it's a great environment.

    Clubs and Activities

    Allen offers plenty of sports, choir, band, clubs, and organizations for all kinds of students. Whether you like to play a sport, instrument, or sing or even great at academics there is always something for you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One Thursday a month our school has a $5 movie night that is at our local town's theater and students enjoy going to that for cheaper discount. Also there is a Dairy Queen Blizzard night that students love to join in on.

    Bang for the buck

    Allen offers great tuition for what you get. Teacher student ratio is great and you have several extra classes you can take for fun that may also benefit you in your future career.

    What to do for fun

    I am in the choir on a scholarship and have made friends in my choir class. We are a small group but we always have fun in any event we do. We go around the school and sing in the halls before performances for practice and get great feedback from faculty and students. As well as fun activities here and there in the public and our concerts.

    Food and Dining

    Again I do not eat the food at Allen but from what I hear it's very good and most students enjoy eating in the cafeteria with friends and even teachers sometimes.

    Dorm Life

    I personally don't live on campus but from what I hear it's a great experience and people make tons of friends and have good times.

    Academic Rigor

    I have had a great experience with my academics at Allen. The classes are perfect size with just enough students to teacher ratio making it easier to get one on one attention and help. There are also Academic clubs to join as well and be qualified to do activities and events.

    Tips for prospective students

    For future students at Allen I suggest have an open mind, even though it is a small school it has a lot to offer. There are academics, sports, student activities, clubs and other fun events that make the experience even better.

    In three sentences

    Allen County Community College has been an amazing experience and a great step into my future education. I have great teachers who help me get through my classes successfully. And the students and faculty are very friendly and always there to help if needed.

  • 07/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I did not have any issues with safety, but there are not security guards.

    Great for these types of students

    Goal oriented focused

    Bang for the buck

    I recomment Allen (Burlingame) if solely interested in attending school for the degree. There are not many distractions and classes focus on intended material.

    What to do for fun

    On the Iola campus sports are offered as well as school rallies.

    Food and Dining

    They have a small dining area with vending machines and free coffee.

    Dorm Life

    The Campus I attend does not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I felt the classes offered detailed information, but were not too difficult to pass if student applies self. The classes are 3 hours a pieceand require study time.

    Tips for prospective students

    STUDY and utilize tutors if struggling. Always ask the professor for help.

    In three sentences

    Allen is a great place to go if interested in smaller class sizes and campuses. Allen's office staff is extremely helpful, professional and knowledgeable. Allen County in Burlingame is small but still offers extracurricular activities.

  • 07/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Meet new students

    Tips for prospective students

    The college offers you an mobile app. Be sure to use it.

    In three sentences

    I like the course outline.The teachers are helpful.This is a great college.

  • 09/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Comfort of a small town, no worries about safety.

    Clubs and Activities

    Phi Thetta Kappa honor society is offered which is awesome because it allows students to automatically receive scholarships from most four-year universities.

    Great for these types of students

    All, international, athletic, small-town, bigger cities, computer geeks, etc. etc.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    In the middle of the main building there is a fish pond. Students tend to congregate there between classes and it actually has no fish. Supposedly this well known meeting place was not a part of the initial building plan but before the roof was out over the main structure a storm came though and caused the foundation in the middle of the building to sink. Myths have been said that the baseball team actually out fish in this accidental pond.

    Bang for the buck

    Almost every student I seem to talk to are at Allen for some sort of scholarship. The college is extremely generous to its students financially. The community members also sponsor quite a bit of money which allows students to receive endowment scholarships as well.

    What to do for fun

    The activities director, Ryan Bilderback, really shows pride in his job. Not only are there outdoor movie nights, pep rallies, dances, and various other events the community also helps the students have cheap entertainment. This includes $3 movie nights at the local theater, $1 bowling nights, and various restaurants around town offer deals and specials for Allen students.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is decent and the food is surprising tasty. Cereal is offered at all meals which a lot of students appreciate because it is quick. During finals time there food service manager has late night snacks available which is awesome for when a spout of stress munches kicks in.

    Dorm Life

    Though I do not live in the dorms I am in them a lot. One of the biggest perks is the free wifi campus wide. Also, Allen not only offers dorms but apartments and duplexes.

    Academic Rigor

    Because Allen is a community college it offers lower level course offerings. However, the staff definitely pushes students to use their minds and give them all they need to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to talk to the staff. Every single employee whether it be teachers, admisions office staff, or financial aid advisors are more than willing to help a student reach their highest potential. I absolutely love how personable the staff is.

    In three sentences

    Honestly, I was not excited about attending Allen because I assumed the student body would be incredibly bland. I was extremely surprised by the diversity at the school. Even though I am a local I do not have classes with anyone from my high school and it has given me the opportunity to not only meet people from the state but international students as well.

  • 12/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you love roadtrips, you'll love going to Allen County in Burlingame.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Allen County Campus in Burlingame, Kansas is literally in the middle of no where.

    Bang for the buck

    I know my GPA isn't all that high right now. I was a little foolish when I was younger, and didn't take college so seriously. Now that I'm 23, I look back, and wonder what if, if I would've taken it more seriously. You can't change the past, but you can start making change for the better, and your future will too, become better. I have a newborn son, work full-time, and go to school part-time because I can't afford to go full-time as of now. I got to get my GPA back up to a 2.0 to be approved for financial aid again. I'm getting A's instead of C's, D's, and F's now, and I'm more ready than ever to start, and become successful at being a Pharmacy Technician.

    What to do for fun

    I go to the other Allen County campus that is located in Burlingame, Kansas. What's great about Allen County, is that it's small, so you can make friends very easily, and get to know the staff and other students very well. It's also nice because you end up knowing a lot of the students that attend Allen County because you know them from going to high school with them, or you're friends outside of Allen.

    Food and Dining

    I don't live on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I started out taking General Education classes at the beginning. But finally decided to earn my Pharmacy Technician Certificate. I find it a difficult, but also a very interesting field that I love to study. I can't wait to start my career, and learn more as I work. After pursuing my certificate, I'm wanting to find a school a pharmacy to earn my Doctorate in Pharmacy. I'm just taking one step at a time for now.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't ever give up. I didn't do well at the beginning when I first started taking classes at Allen. But I have learned from my mistakes, and am making changes, and I'm ready to become successful with the career I have chosen. The professors and staff are there with arms wide open always when you need help with something, and they will do their best to help you meet your goal.

    In three sentences

    Allen County works with you in every way so you can reach your goal with the path you take. I know, because I haven't done the best I could when I first started here, but they haven't given up on me, and I'm slowly getting out of the the hole I have dug thanks to them. The professors, and staff have great influence on the students.

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    They challenge you but in a way that you learn and understand fully what is being taught. It's a great place to be challenged but also have time to take it at your own pace and learn in thoroughly.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend this to anyone starting out for there first time in college.

    In three sentences

    They have been very helpful. They have your best interests at heart and want you to pros pure and succeed in life. I couldn't be happier to have started out at Allen County Community College. I would recommend it to anyone who wants an easy going positive environment to learn in.

  • 01/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school just installed cameras in all the student parking lots and in every student housing hall. This campus is small so not too much goes on but if something does, the cameras usually find it and things are sorted out.

    Greek Life

    Although we do not have any sororities or fraternities here we do offer Phi Theta Kappa for the eligible students. This provides a great opportunity for scholarships and even career possibilities later on.

    Clubs and Activities

    Athletics is a huge part of the lifestyle at Allen and almost everyone is involved in them. If they are not, they are in choir, band, improv, or theater. Rarely is a student not involved in some type of activity or club here.

    Great for these types of students

    Agriculture students, students serious about their sport, students who are looking to take easy classes for a little amount of money.

    Bang for the buck

    Allen is one of the least expensive schools in the Midwest! Many students here are athletes on scholarship and there are huge opportunities for work-studies. Compared to bigger schools like KU and KState whose credit hours can cost up to $275, a credit hour at Allen is a mere $75!

    What to do for fun

    There is a swimming pool, a small skate park, and a rec center in Iola, but most students just hang out on campus. The red barn is perfect for a pick up game of basketball after class, or some kickball or indoor hockey after dinner. There are school offered activities like $3 movie nights at the local theater, $1 blizzard nights at Dairy Queen, comedians, the school's improve troupe, musical and dramatic productions, and there is always some kind of sport going on that student's like to go to a cheer on their fellow Red Devils.

    Food and Dining

    Most college cafeterias aren't the best eats, and Allen's also isn't exceptional. There is always something you can find to eat even if it isn't on the hot bar, though. The best part of on-campus dining is Stacy, the food service administrator. She gets to know almost all the students personally and she is the funniest! If you would like to see any type of food in the caf or have a food allergy let her know and she almost always comes through for you.

    Dorm Life

    I live in the Red Devil Duplexes and I have a far superior dorm life than almost any other student living on campus housing in the state. I have my own, large room, a full bathtub (so great for relaxing in after long practices) and a full kitchen and washer and dryer. I can walk to class easily and maintenance is always there to help when a problem arises in my duplex.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes here are simple, easy and often times fun. Teachers are very apt to help a student and most classes can be passed simply by going.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are bored here, it is your own fault. Creativity and fun friends will go a long way in this small town. The staff is so fun and you will grow to know each teacher, adviser, and faculty member on a more personal level.

    In three sentences

    Although there might not be much to do in Iola, Kansas, the people you will meet here will make your experience fun. I love my teachers and class sizes, as I can get to know my mentors personally and that helps me achieve even higher grades. Allen has a great sports community and all the athletes on campus have something to bond over because of that.

  • 06/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 13

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Spend time with my son

    Food and Dining

    snack machines and local places to eat

    Dorm Life

    Doesn't haven't dorm at the Burlingame campus but they have one at Iola.

    Academic Rigor

    10 stars

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your work and communicate with your teachers.

    In three sentences

    Allen Community College is a great school. It has small classes, caring and friendly staff members. The tuition is not that bad either. They also have free tutoring for students.

  • 12/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Burlingame campus is smaller and easier to navigate compared to a larger college that is divided into many buildings. There are staff members available to help students in need of assistance. While being a student here I haven't seen or heard of any violent threats and I feel safe when I attend class.

    Greek Life

    Students who attend the Burlingame campus are able to join the Greek life by maintaining a good GPA throughout their time at the school.

    Clubs and Activities

    Art and writing competitions are featured throughout the year at the Burlingame camps. I have not attended the Iola campus but I'm sure there are many activities and clubs are available.

    Great for these types of students

    I think the Iola campus is great for traditional college students who would like to experience the full college life style. The Burlingame campus is more ideal for nontraditional students who may have children, are full time employees, or simply want to avoid extra college expenses.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are two locations for Allen County. There is one in Iola and one in Burlingame. The one in Iola is more like a typical junior college in which students may live in dorms, play sports, and other activities. The campus in Burlingame is simply a location for students to learn course work and graduate. They offer Wild Weekends where a student may complete a class in 3 weekend sessions. This option really does come in handy when a student only needs one more class to graduate!

    Bang for the buck

    Allen is a very affordable school in which there are many opportunities for financial aide. All course information is equal to other 4 year colleges at a much lower price! Also, most credits do transfer to 4 year colleges so this is a great college for incoming freshmen who want less school debt at the end of their college career.

    What to do for fun

    The Burlingame campus is ideal for working students who may be parents or who are advancing their career.

    Food and Dining

    The Buringame campus provides free coffee and water in the lounge area. There are also plenty of soda and snack vending machines for students to use.

    Dorm Life

    The Burlingame campus does not have dorms. If a student doesn't live too far away from Burlingame they have the option to attend classes during the week or online.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are educational, fun, and challenging. Professors ensure to provide good course material and present the material in a way that is understandable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Speak with an adviser and speak with one often! They really do care about keeping you on track while you're attending the college. If you take classes online be sure to keep up or stay ahead of course work! It's even possible to finish classes a week or two early. One last thing, communication between you and professor is key to a great experience.

    In three sentences

    The Allen County Community College center located in Burlingame, Kansas is wonderful! I have taken classes both online and on campus. The staff is always helpful and understanding about individual student needs.