Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Allen University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/05/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Will enjoy being here

    enjoying the college lifestyle

    Will learn a lot

    i am so ready to attned allen university!! i hoe that it will get and learn everythng that i need to know.

  • 01/28/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    i would love to get a full year scholarship

    Will enjoy being here

    I think i would because its out of state

    Will learn a lot

    i hope i get in i really think this school would push y full potential

  • 04/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek life was awesome.

    What to do for fun

    I went home every weekend. There are clubs and many eating places. I just would like to go somewhere else.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to visit the campus and do as much reasearch as possible.

    In three sentences

    I did not like my experience at Allen University. I dislike the location and the fact that anyone can roam around campus.

  • 07/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have the campus police.

    Greek Life

    They have those on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Brother and Sisters in Christ, etc. Not to sure of anything else. Honestly most thing do not stay together to long, unless the students themselves or the teacher over it has a strong drive to complete it!

    Great for these types of students

    Hardworking, independent, Head on straight kind of kids, young adults, and adults that know what they want and will to ignore the bad to get to the good.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have C.A.R.S. every Tuesday, once a week.

    Bang for the buck

    Work Study is first come, first serve. Tutors if you are good in a subject to help others and you can get the best scholarships if you apply first. Make sure everything is in order and be positive you have everything together.

    What to do for fun

    Leave Campus! They have free museums, 4 story library, and parks to go to if you do not mind walking and need something free to do.

    Food and Dining

    I have been here for three semesters and the cafe food was the best during the summer. The food honestly is not good everyday, but I have a good strong stomach so it does not bother me. We do not have a selection to chose from. The samething most of the time and the cafe closes at 6pm on most days.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is okay. We do not have Co-ed dorms. You get fines for being the the opposites dorm if you go upstairs. It could be better if they trusted us a little more, but what can we do. You have to share a room with three other people or maybe even five in a rare case. The only ones who have a room to themselves are the RA's and this is in the new dorm, the other two could not tell you about, but Wilma is the dorm to stay in I believe. Our Dorm Director that is in the Girl's Dorm which is Wilma is the best though, 2012! She keeps us safe and out of harms way, but you have to listen to learn!

    Academic Rigor

    Turn your work in on time, if you can get started and finish before it is even due, do it because your teachers will make you think they are your only teacher on campus. Yet, it still depends on the teacher you have because some of them are easy, but hard to understand. You also have a teacher and student language barriers so be careful who you get as a teacher some of them do not speak English or they are still learning how to speak our language. The language barriers brings down the academic side if the stars.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring a fridge, and snacks. Be sociable, chose your friends wisely, and keep your head in the books (Remember what you are going to school for your education, #1 to anything else) Do not be weak minded, Do not let others talk you into anything you do not want to do, have your own beliefs and stick to them, keep your focus and mind strong, enjoy yourself, do not go anywhere off campus with anyone you do not know like that, get to know people, talk to your teachers, dorm directors, etc. and do not leave off campus alone! Love yourself first is the biggest one if you are female or male! Challenges will come up to see if you are a Child of God, but that is anywhere!

    In three sentences

    Allen University is a good school academically, the school has kinks in it that can be changed if the people over everything really puts in the time in to change it, and it is a school the has some amazing teachers and people there, just not all of them. This is realty!

  • 09/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Don't play you will feel safe

    Greek Life

    Amazing

    Clubs and Activities

    Not that many but Allen always looking for someone to start a club

    Great for these types of students

    All types

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None

    What to do for fun

    School activities are always fun and you are surrounded by three other college so you will meet someone new everyday

    Tips for prospective students

    Use all the resources that Allen gives you. Apply for jobs a head of time plenty of business walking distance

    In three sentences

    I give Allen university 8 on a scale of 1-10.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    My parents got to meet the Chief of Security and he is very interested in the students and the campus safety.

    Greek Life

    Will be checking into that when school starts.

    Great for these types of students

    The school would be great for students that are not sure if they are really ready to go a large university, a smaller university should be embraced and the student does not have to ashamed of the school they graduate from.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I have not found any as of yet.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel that the tuition is good, because the school has not out of state fees and the cost is affordable for parents and many scholarships are available, the student should apply to assist with the cost for the parents.

    What to do for fun

    When my family and I visited the city, were advised by the faculty that there was plenty for the students to do in the area, because the business in the local area cater to the students.

    Food and Dining

    I can not rate the food as of yet, but I will when school starts August 6, 2012.

    Dorm Life

    I will say a 4 for now, the building I want to move into is a rather new and once I am completely moved in will I be able to change the status of the living there.

    Academic Rigor

    I will rate the academic rigor as 4 stars, because that is their main goal, it is not just sports oriented, and it also has a great Alumni and Sororities that you will be able to network with will be a part of life.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advise any prospective student to come and look the school over and see if it would be a good fit for them and the family, and once it is what they are looking for to encourage others to check out the facility.

    In three sentences

    I have been accepted at quite a few schools, Allen kept in contact with me and my family, when my family and I visited and I liked the campus, it is a small quaint university and I feel that I will get the personal attention I need from my professors and that the environment of the city is like my home town.

  • 07/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Allen has AKAs, Alpha Phi Alphas, Kappas, Omegas,Deltas, Sigmas, Zetas, and Sgrhos.

    Great for these types of students

    Allen University is great for students who like a small environment.

    What to do for fun

    For fun there are stores to shop at, restaurants and bars that you can walk to. There are events that happen around campus so you always have something to do.

    In three sentences

    Allen University is a HBC that is well rounded. The university is small which is good because students can get more time getting to know the teachers and help with class/homework. Last but not least Allen University has the best people and surrounded by a good community.

  • 07/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus have trained ready to go security staff. They walk around campus throughout late nights. They are fully equipped with weapons. Security are strictly enforced at Allen University.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is far most the best life! We have over 20 different sorities and faternities. From Delta sigma Deta to Omega Si Phi. The livest moments on campus is the greek probates nights.

    Clubs and Activities

    Allen University has many different clubs and organizations. Down to the music club to the men of distinction club. You can even create your own club or activity by getting it approve from the student government association

    Great for these types of students

    Allen University is great for students who wants to learn. Students who needs that one on one attention in class.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    No usual things on campus. Very private college at the most.

    Bang for the buck

    Allen University is not an very expensive college to pay for. The school helps out with majority or all of your financial aid. It's worth every dime.

    What to do for fun

    Our campus is located in the city near downtown Columbia. There's a strip down the street called five points close to USC of Columbia. The lovely shopping center the village of sand hills is located miles away.

    Food and Dining

    Food and Dinining is very good, more so acceptional. Our cafeteria is large enough fit majority of the students. Food is varities are good from sould food to healthy salad bars.

    Dorm Life

    At Allen University dorm life is seperate boy and girl dorms. The dorms are brand new, neatly cleaned and organized. Living in the dorms is a great experience, play games with each other to learn about one another.

    Academic Rigor

    Allen University has very small class room sizes, its easier to learn. Professors are always there to help you. The library stays open later than most colleges libraries for you to have access to all the things you need.

    Tips for prospective students

    Allen University will make you feel right at home. At Allen University you will learn to be independent but at the same time enjoy your college experience.

    In three sentences

    Allen University is above average college. The school is very unique in its on ways because it is an private institution. Allen University teaches students to learn, think, and grow.

  • 08/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety patrols the campus and do their job of making us fee safe.

    Greek Life

    I cant speak too much about the Greek life because I'm not Greek but they also have had separate events for this semester.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs and organizations are on campus and I can say by it only being the third week of school they have already been having events.

    Great for these types of students

    Allen University is great for all students. As long as you have a desire to do something great you'll be fine.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Allen University is an African Methodist Episcopal based church so the rules are Christian based.

    Bang for the buck

    Allen University strives for the excellence of every student and it shows.

    What to do for fun

    Everything is fun of you make the best of it.

    Food and Dining

    I have yet to eat in the cafeteria, but I hear the food is worth eating.

    Dorm Life

    Allen University recently built new dorms and they are really nice and most of all, safe.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers make sure everything is understandable and that they are available after class hours to give additional help to those who need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want a small, homey atmosphere, Allen University is the place to be.

    In three sentences

    I am new to Allen University, so far I have no complaints. The Faculty & Staff are very friendly and helpful. The students seem to have pride and confidence in theirs school making me look forward to developing the same confidence and pride!

  • 09/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    ok, could be better, anyone could come on campus.

    Greek Life

    All of the Fraternities and Sororities. they have their own dorm.

    Clubs and Activities

    Student Afairs, Sororities,Cheerleading, sports, and you can start your own club. (if you have the time)

    Great for these types of students

    Faith driven, and dedicated to their education, friendly and out going.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None.

    Bang for the buck

    I appreciate the fact that Allen University is NOT a Community College, but the prices are descent. My mom took out the loan for my first year, I'll take out the loan next year. Plus they have scholarships.

    What to do for fun

    Shop at the mall, we go out to the movies, it's somewhat like being home w/out time restrictions-but you don't want to be out in the street all the time. I haven't really took advantage of going to far from campus- I just got here, but I plan on venturing out real soon

    Food and Dining

    I try NOT to eat too much of the food because it's so good and yes you can easily pick up the pounds.

    Dorm Life

    We Share our the television in our room, but we have our seperate refrigerators. The rooms are descent in size, but our dorm rooms have a private study hall in our room.

    Academic Rigor

    Good, 2 girls per room-Jack and Jill bathroom (4). Each suite houses 4 girls, yet 2 share the rooms. But all (4) share the rest room, shower included in the restroom-I don't like that but it's ok (sometime) we make it work.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips that I would give, make good friend choices. This may be the first time, we are given our independance, but you have to make the right choices of who you hang with. Make sure you stick to your schedule that you set for yourself, because you still have to study and pass your classes.

    In three sentences

    Allen University is a Historical Black College, this college is a faith based University. As far as my classes, the professors are excellent. They are always open to explain an issue and have been great with giving me the personal attention I may need to push me to stay on top of my grades, it's working and I appreciate them.

  • 09/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    We have a party every once

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining at Allen University is very tasteful.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is full of excitement and adventure to explore.

    Academic Rigor

    Allen University challenges you to work hard and succeed in life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you make a lot of friends. Also make sure you go to class and study hard.

    In three sentences

    Allen University is the best school ever. Allen is a very active school to be at and enjoy. The environment at Allen University is a calm atmosphere to be in.

  • 03/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You are covered...security is never too far away . Get to know your officers and who they are accountable to...they work for you.

    Greek Life

    Many sororities and fraternities, Alpha Kappa Alpha, Alpha Phi Alpha, Zeta Phi Beta, Deltas, Sigmas etc, etc. There are even music fraternities, business student fraternities, and many others that you may choose.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many Acitvities too numerous to mention. Contact the school for a tour. I am sure that you will find a club that fits the unique you!!

    Great for these types of students

    Studious Service minded Social All types except the not too serious./ you know the ones who want to play.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't think that there are any unusual traditions out of the ordinary but there are always surprises. There are so many activities that you will not be able to attend or participate in all of them.

    Bang for the buck

    Get in touch with financial aid. communicate extensively. Whatever you do not understand, please ask questions. There are no dumb questions. Some one else may have the same question. Don't be afraid to ask questions. Get clarification on topics that you do not understand.

    What to do for fun

    Watch your Bulletin Boards, get in to it , get involved. Frats, sororities, social clubs, sports...religion, service minded individuals, this is the place to be.

    Food and Dining

    Excellent! Something for everyone. They have well balanced meals and you do have a choice. The cafeteria offers a wide variety of foods to choose.

    Dorm Life

    As in life in general, your dorm life will be what you make it. Get to know your Dorm directors, they are there to help you. Form good strong alliances with other students. No one student is going to be proficient in everything. What you know may help other students in their studies and by the same token, what they know may help you get over the rough spots.

    Academic Rigor

    Work , be on time with assignments, be ahead of schedule if you can...always meet deadlines if at all possible. Know your administrators, talk to them, ask pertinent questions and get answers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be serious Be studious Be diligent

    In three sentences

    Allen University teaches the mind to think. The University teaches the heart to love. This university teaches the hands to work through work study programs ,off-campus workshops, and service group opportunities.

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    13 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Workout Work Study Study Groups Different Greek Organizations throw different events Enjoy the life of Columbia

    Tips for prospective students

    In coming to Allen just make sure you know for sure early, and get the application process started early.

    In three sentences

    Allen is very religious shcool. Allen is very dedicated to academics. Allen is a very safe shcool.

  • 08/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It is a good tution!!

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of things around the city to do

    Food and Dining

    Cafe is great

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are good

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are so caring and will give you the one on one help you need.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come to Allen with the determination to learn.

    In three sentences

    Allen is a great place to learn. It is small so you know all the people around you. All the teachers nice and caring

  • 10/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The new cops have horrible attitudes as if your a criminal on the street not a student trying to walk past and get to class on time. They take their time to investigate any sort of matter and speak to you as if your irrelevant to them although they wouldn't have a job if it weren't for you being on campus. This school could do so much better with campus safety because I do not feel safe at all.

    Greek Life

    Allen is huge on Greek life it is everywhere you turn. The professors, the faculty, your RA's, the police officers, almost everyone is apart in some way.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is always some type of club to join, also since there is no football team we have nothing but clubs, volleyball, choir (which is a VERY big thing on campus), and basketball

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every Tuesday you MUST go to CARs because apparently it is mandatory and if you do not go you will not graduate because it is worth credit. CARs is overall like a big school meeting where representatives speak about what is going on around campus, upcoming events, what could be better. Sometimes we have service and you must dress up although personally I don't, some people do. I only go because I have to write a reflection paper on it for my class every week or else I would not bother. If you do not go you can not stay in your room because they do room checks to make sure everyone is out. Everything is shut down classes, cafe, dorms, everything so you have to go off campus or stay in your room but when you hear them knocking hide. They check your bed and the bathroom.

    What to do for fun

    For fun on Thursdays a lot of the students go out clubbing down by five-points because students get in free. On regular days you can go to five-points, the MLK park, Finley park, or head downtown.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe food is actually pretty good with a variety of things to choose from. It is set up buffet style so you can jump in the line as many times as you want and eat how much you want. They serve vegetarian foods as well along with fish and salad and pizza. There is a salad bar with fruit, cereal bar with different types of cereal, they also offer three types of milk as well as soy milk. At breakfast their is an omelette bar where you can watch your omelette being made right on the grill in front of you, waffle makers so you can make your own waffle, coffee machine, espresso machine, and a lot of other things to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    When I say I can not WAIT to have my own place, you don't understand. The rooms and the way they are set up are nice BUT you can not have microwaves which you will find out becomes so important not to mention someone keeps breaking the microwave in the lobby. Curfew is midnight Sunday through Thursday and two in the morning on Fridays and Saturdays. If you think like you'll consider those hours reasonable with Sunday being an exception because that is still a weekend. If you are late, say twenty minutes past curfew you will be locked out and if someone lets you in you as well as that person will be written up for a twenty-five dollar fee. The fee rule is not always in effect due to the who your RA will be and who you are, favoritism will get you a lot remember that. You must share a bathroom with your suite-mates which would be okay but sometimes you get stuck with females or males that are not as clean as you would like them to be. There is a BIG problem with stealing especially in the male dorms and no one does anything about it.

    Academic Rigor

    I can only speak for myself with classes. I have to take a religion class due to this school being an all christian school but apart from this I love my professors and the schedule I have. It is not crammed together, not too early (I wake up at 8:30 am for my 9:00 am classes), and I am not restless. Yes I have a good amount of work to do such as an 8-10 page essay plus a power point with ten slides excluding the introduction, works cited, and pictures for my Intro to New Testaments Class. Study for a quiz in Health although she will not tell us what day the quiz will fall on, study for a test in Music Appreciation, and study for a test in Biology.

    Tips for prospective students

    Please study study study, I know it is such a cliche saying but as a freshman getting through my first semester I found out very quick how true it was.

    In three sentences

    Every school is what you make it, some more then others. It is not the school you attend but what you put into the school to get what you want out of it. No school is perfect.