Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Alma College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/28/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The types of students that should go here are any students who wish to graduate with a bright future and a meaningful degree. This college really does push you as hard as it can academically, but please don't think that it is all academics. There are many fun things to do here. There are the fraternities and sororities than anyone can pledge to, just make sure your grades are above a 2.5 or you will not be eligible! Also, there are activities going on all of the time for different things such as charities, sporting events, or academic meetings. There is also a nice recreation center on campus in which it is free for students to work out or just get some people together and play tennis, ping pong, tennis or take a workout class! Since Alma College is so small you will get to know the people within your major quite well and most likely will end up being good friends with most of them! Since I am majoring in Political Science i know there is a Poly Sci Club to join but that is just one of the many academic clubs in your reach.

    Tips for prospective students

    The tips I have for you are to come prepared to challenge yourself. This college really focuses on academics and taking you places. There are always people to talk to and ask questions if you are unsure of what you intend to do or just have simple questions about classes. The advisers here are wonderful and are always available for all of your needs, I know this from personal experience! One time I sat in my professors office for three hours discussing my career path, and class choices. This is something that is really hard to find in a college - people who are willing to set their work aside and answer everyone of your questions no matter how small they seem. Also, be ready for a world of opportunity. Alma College offers many traveling spring terms and opportunity to research or even take a semester abroad. I might go to Scotland next summer and internship in parliament while doing research there for my senior thesis. Be prepared to have one on one contact with your professors and have study groups with your classmates often. They are there to help you and can be contacted easily. This is a small college, which is great for getting to know new friends, classmates, and professors one on one. This will help you immensely when you graduate and apply to grad schools or a career, their personal experience with you will make it easy to write you an amazing letter of reference. My biggest tip for you would be to be ready to work hard, but know you have a world of opportunities waiting for you at the end.

    Bang for the buck

    I do think that Alma College is quite expensive, but after weighing the pros and cons it is easy to see that in the end it is worth it. When I graduate with a meaningful degree and I am on to the next thing - such as a career or grad school of your choice - I know how much it really did help me and honestly was worth all of the money. Plus the great thing about Alma College is that they give very nice scholarships for academics, so make sure you apply for those!

    Am enjoying being here

    The people at Alma are so friendly and its easy to make close friends because of the size. I see the same people everyday and on my way to class I see at least 10 people I know that i get a smile and wave from. A small school is really the way to go.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes here are VERY intense. Be prepared to study A LOT. But also, be prepared to be intelligent and actually have something knowledgeable to contribute to conversations. I like being able to talk about something meaningful with my parents now like politics (Political Science major! lol).

  • 12/07/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is very good for the people who are determined to get a great education. If you are very driven and focused, this is a great school. No matter if you are an athlete or a studier, you will fit in just perfect on this campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    No matter what your intended major is, come here with an open mind. You will need to be prepared to study quite a bit. The 4 hours outside of class for every hour in class rule definitely does apply here. Some weeks you might not have to study as much, but there will be weeks where you have to study more. You do have time for friends and having fun though. There is always something to do on campus, whether playing beach volleyball with Mitchell Hall or watching a movie while swimming in the pool. You are sure to have a great time at Alma.

    Bang for the buck

    I know the initial sight of the tuition might be a little shocking, but trust me it is worth it. From the education you receive in the classes, the extracurricular activities available on campus, to the lifetime bonds you will make with new friends, every aspect of life on campus is worth the money. The college also offers many scholarships; take advantage of them.

    Am enjoying being here

    Everyone on this campus is really nice and is willing to help everyone. Whether you know the person really well or not, you are guaranteed to receive a smile while walking to class or just taking a stroll around campus. It is very easy to find friends you enjoy being around with the size of the campus.

    Am learning a lot

    This school is a very academically challenging institution. They are well known for their academics and stand up to it in every aspect imaginable. Alma challenges your way of thinking and makes you become a more well rounded thinker. Critical thinking becomes a main component on campus, whether in class or with your residential life. The classes you take will help you become that critical thinker you need to be in life and the lifestyle on this campus helps challenge your new found abilities.

  • 06/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Alma College is perfect for students looking for a smaller school where they can stand out and their unique achievements be recognized. It is a place for students who are ready to find a home away from home, and truly enthrall themselves in their college career.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to dedicate the majority of your time to studying, and remember that because Alma College is a smaller school, your professors are always pleased to see you and be of assistance in the study process.

    Bang for the buck

    Although Alma College is currently $38,000+ per year, it is important to realize that a degree from Alma College will set you apart as a prospective employee. The financial aid office is also very committed to assisting students in any way possible.

    Am enjoying being here

    Alma College balances its rigorous academic schedules with great student support programs, not only academically but also socially, physically, mentally, and spiritually. The campus becomes home to its students, and it's hard not to love it there.

    Am learning a lot

    The academic programs at Alma College are very rigorous. It is important that each student realize the level of commitment necessary to succeed at Alma College. It is a place for serious scholars who are committed to the future. Alma College is also committed to service learning, and the betterment of the Alma community and communities around the world.

  • 08/22/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    4 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Someone who is very focused and driven will flourish here. Like I said at the beginning, you get out what you put in. Your professors want to help you and see you succeed, but no one can make you a success unless you help yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask the professors for help. Seriously, I don't know a single one of them that bites. They are all the most genuinely kind, helpful people. Maybe it comes from being in a small town... Speaking of. Don't let the small town frighten you. There's plenty to do. And if you *do* get bored on campus, Mt. Pleasant and CMU are just 20 minutes away.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth the money. That's all I can say.

    Did enjoy being here

    By the end, I was getting a little tired of being stuck in the same rooms with the same people all the time, but that's more of a personal problem than anything. The classes were challenging... in a good way! And as I get farther and farther away from my time there... I miss it more.

    Academic Rigor

    Though I would quantify the majority of my learning at Alma as life learning... I will give the faculty a lot of credit. They are an awesome, caring bunch of people who will really listen and try to help you, if you let them.

  • 12/18/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    There is only one Alma. We are the best and brightest, the ones who worked hard to get where we are. You will be among the best of friends and the best of students. You will be pushed, you will be challenged, and you will succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit! We offer special overnight visits with a host student. You can shadow them and spend the night in their dorm. It really lets you see a behind the admissions desk view of how the college is run, treats its students, and gears you toward your future.

    Bang for the buck

    The price tag may seem kind of high, but roughly 90% of students at Alma are on scholarships. If you work hard and study, the bang for the buck is there. Otherwise, you're paying for a playground. Alma is a ton of fun and extremely educational.

    Am enjoying being here

    Alma is one of the best campuses for activities. Because we are such a small school, everyone gets to know everyone. Whether you go check out a play or work out in the rec, you will always run into someone you know. The college even has an organization, ACUB, to help bring and develop fun activities for students. This includes Alma's version of American Idol (Songfest), Halo style laser tag, and much, much more. Oh, and my number one favorite: exam treats.

    Am learning a lot

    I am a full-time student enrolled in 19 credits and the honors program. Alma is challenging, but with small class sizes, dedicated teachers, and TONS of resources to help you with classes, Alma can be a no-sweat learning heaven. I have only have one class in my career that I did not enjoy.

  • 01/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there's room for improvement. overall their efforts show and are appreciated.

    Greek Life

    there's a lot of greek life. however, there's no scrutiny if you're not part of the greek life. i'm not involved with the greek life. yet i am still content being a student here.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are loads of clubs and activities almost every week. new ones are added each year by students who take the initiative to suggest the ideas and get them rolling.

    Great for these types of students

    all who are willing to attend a small college where they can take advantage of incredible academic and travel opportunities (study abroad). the list is seriously endless.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    wearing a kilt. it's little scotland usa. we're the scots. bring on some scottish pride.

    Bang for the buck

    munch money at stucchis is an incredible new deal.

    What to do for fun

    anything outside, go to the recreation center, go check out mt. pleasant or sweet downtown alma, go to an athletics game or the highland festival, go to stucchis, go have fun.

    Food and Dining

    the variety and new efforts are great. many of us would like to have the meal plan be optional though, rather than required.

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are standard. it would be nice if there can be more off-campus living possibilities.

    Academic Rigor

    the small faculty to student ratio helps with professor availability for help. the guidance i get from professors even after i've had them for classes is incredible and very encouraging.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't be afraid to ask anyone questions. everyone here seems to be willing to help guide others around. also, get an advisor in your area of study.

    In three sentences

    alma college is a small community in itself. it is full of incredible opportunities that i would not otherwise be privileged to have in my lifetime. it's a good place to call home away from home.

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security on campus is not a serious threat, the students feel comfortable walking around by themselves late at night, in the dark. For that reason, the security's main responsibility on campus is to issue tickets to students who are parked in restricted parking lots. Alma is a quiet, small town and lacks any crime threat.

    Greek Life

    Greek life does have a big presence on campus, but in a positive light. Several of them help give back to society through women's shelters and other organizations. The Greek system also was a strong participant in the campus Relay for Life event, which together collected almost $20,000. As someone who did not join a sorority this year, I witnessed the bond between brothers and sisters of the same Greek house and it provides comforting friendships with others on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of different clubs and organizations on campus and plenty of opportunities to join and get involved.

    Great for these types of students

    Unfortunately Alma isn't very diverse, the majority of the population is Caucasian middle to upper class. There is a strong presence of religious activity as we are affiliated with the Presbyterian branch.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a strong appreciation for the Scottish heritage - our school's mascot is Scotty who is a big, hairy man in a kilt. Our marching band wears a traditional kilt uniform and the pattern, or tartan was actually purchased and owned by Alma College. We also have a bagpipe band, which you can hear them playing over the lawns when the weather is nice. There is also a traditional Highland dance program and students can enjoy watching the performances of these traditional groups throughout the year.

    Bang for the buck

    Alma College is a private, liberal arts school and tuition costs a bit more than that of a public school. While there are scholarships and financial aid packages for more than 90% of the students, it can still be difficult. The reputation of the education is nice, but make sure to include other charges such as textbook prices or travel opportunities that they offer when making the financial decision.

    What to do for fun

    Although we are a small college, there are many things to participate in. Throughout the year there are many different activities, such as movie nights, guest speakers and performances, and game nights hosted by the Student Union Board. The Greek system has events for prospective recruitment's that include games, food, movies and a great social aspect to meet more friends. There are stores and a movie theater in the local area or students drive to Mt Pleasant 20 minutes away if they want a big night out.

    Food and Dining

    Our food services are the school's weakest aspect in the view of many students. Our main eating facilities, Hamilton Commons aka Saga has had many complaints over the quality of its food. While there are other places on campus to find meals, they lack being healthy options.

    Dorm Life

    Alma is an older college and as a result some of the dorm building are old and have some maintenance problems. We do have a maintenance crew that constantly tries to improve the conditions to make living more comfortable for the students there. That being said, the upperclassmen living across the street from the campus is top quality.

    Academic Rigor

    We constantly hear about the success of our students, whether that be our Model UN organization, SIFE business organization, or individual Fulbright scholars, our students are proving the success of the academic program. Students are expected to do a lot of work in their courses but as a collected whole we take this expectation and overpass it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely come for a tour, that's what sold the college for me. The beauty of the campus combined with the potential abilities for students to take advantage of, including research, internships and study abroad opportunities, made my final choice easy. Take advantage and spend the night there as well to get a more accurate feel for the campus and students.

    In three sentences

    Alma College is a great school for academics. The professors are excellent when it comes to their jobs, and the small class sizes means that the students have the ability to personally know these people. It's a beautiful, quiet little campus in the heart of Michigan.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Bagpipes

    In three sentences

    I really enjoy Alma and am very happy I chose to attend this small college. The campus is beautiful and the people are always willing to help. There's something here for everyone.

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe. Campus security is always on patrol and dorms and most buildings can only be opened by a key card.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life is HUGE on campus. I would say at least 1/3 of the students are involved in a fraternity or sorority. These groups are very safe, friendly and lots of fun!!

    Clubs and Activities

    So many to choose from. There's a club for almost every department/major, service groups, equestrian team, numerous sports, etc. Most students are a member of more than one club.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who come from a small town and don't really want to leave, people who love sports but didn't get recruited by bigger schools, students who wish to be doctors, physical therapists, lawyers, and enter any other graduate program. Students have to be ready to work hard. There is social partying aspects but is not really the focus of students here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is centered on Scottish heritage. There is bagpipes, the band wears kilts and we have Highland Scottish dancing team.

    Bang for the buck

    Alma comes with a big price tag but they offer so many student help services, plenty of extracurriculars, free printing and a friendly environment. It was a great choice!

    What to do for fun

    LOTS of clubs, intramural sports, service, athletic events and plays and musical performances. Most students are involved in either music, dance, or athletics, or greek life.

    Food and Dining

    Most students complain about the food, but there is definitely a lot of choices and there have been changes in the past year to really improve students' dining experience. No cafeteria food tastes like home, but this is pretty close.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are not the greatest, but the community bathrooms aren't as bad as I thought they would be. The RA's and hall mates are fabulous and really easy to make friends with. Facilities are clean but a little outdated.

    Academic Rigor

    The majority of student's time here is spend studying. Deadlines are enforced and material is covered quickly. Tutoring is free and definitely helps.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you truly want to go here. It is a big money investment, but is totally worth it if it matches your goals and desires. Go on an overnight visit during the fall or winter. It definitely helped me to see what campus was like. Also, take advantage and ask questions to the tour guides and just other students. They will tell it like it is, where the admissions tends to embellish the facts.

    In three sentences

    Alma College is a small town college that has very strong education and health-related programs. The atmosphere is very diverse, friendly and cultured. There are many world traveling opportunities and the professors are accessible and awesome.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    In a small town in mid-Michigan, Alma has a very safe campus.

    Greek Life

    Alma has a very active Greek community on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Everything from a squirrel club to a video game club, a knitting club to a triathlon club. Alma has it all. If by chance there isn't a club for something you are interested in, than you can start that club!

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone! Come check us out, the choice is up to you.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Kilts, bagpipes and highland chicken.. Need I say more?

    Bang for the buck

    Alma may come off expensive at first, but after financial aid and scholarship it is almost at par with public schools in Michigan. But at Alma, your dollar will go so much further. You are not just a number, but a name, a face and a friend. With small class sizes, and lots of intelligent professors, students will get a quality education.

    What to do for fun

    Alma Michigan is home to a bowling alley, movie theatre and a campus that always has activities going on. ACUB brings in magicians, new movies, singers, and also takes students on trips. There is always some soft of concert or performance in Presbyterian Hall. Also, just 10 minutes away is Mt. Pleasant, home to Central Michgan University and much much more. Mt. P has stores, a mall, a roller rink, and all sorts of other things to do.

    Food and Dining

    Food is not the best thing about Alma's campus, that's for sure. However, in the past year it has really been improving. The chefs are buying local produce and cooking fresher, healthier recipes. They are asking parents to send in their child's favorite home-cooked meal and they chose a few to prepare each week. While Alma doesn't have fast food on campus, that is expected with a division 3 school. Most students enjoy the 5 minute walk/drive downtown to subway, McDonald's, burger king, KFC, and pretty much any other fast food joint.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms at Alma are a blast! They may not be new, or fancy or even all that updated (they're working on it) but they are a safe place that quickly becomes home. They have co-Ed buildings by room, hall or floor. Some with community bathrooms and some have suite style bathrooms. You WILL make so many friends in the dorms, as these people are around you all the time. These friends will last a lifetime.

    Academic Rigor

    Alma is tough. If you want to take the easy way out and expect to get good grades, this is not the place for you. Students at Alma are challenged and pushed to the extremes, but as long as they have the want to succeed, they do. Faculty backs each student 100% and wants to see them achieve great things. Classes are small and personal and it is an ideal setting to set the foundation for the rest of your life. Also, the opportunities at Alma are endless.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are considering attending Alma College, take some time to explore it. Come take a tour, do an overnight, or check out our student blogs! (blog.alma.edu) there is no better way to decide a college than going to the school and seeing how you feel right in the heart of it all.

    In three sentences

    Alma is a place of unity. Everyone comes together as one.. One school, one family, one Alma. Where else would you see a marching band wearing kilts?

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never once felt scared or anything of the sort walking anywhere alone. The campus is very well lit and there are security guards available at any time.

    Greek Life

    Our greek life is fantastic! About 30% of our campus is greek and it is a strong community. We do a lot of community service and philanthropy hours. We also host things for greeks and non greeks to hang out and have fun. Greek life is incredibly inclusive and tries to make everyone feel at home.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have a club for pretty much anything you can think of. There is not a single student on campus that is not involved in SOMETHING. Even if you don't like any clubs, you can create your own club.

    Great for these types of students

    Pretty much anyone. Alma College has a huge variety of students and almost everyone gets along just great.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Our marching band wears kilts and our College President has his own kilt that he wears. We also have a spirit rock that gets painted almost every other day by different groups of people. We also host AlmaCon every year that is always a big hit.

    Bang for the buck

    I absolutely love Alma College. I got involved in Greek Life and I have never felt more at home. Even before joining greek life, Alma has felt like home. It's this feeling of being inside the Alma Bubble, as we call it.

    What to do for fun

    I love to attend the shows they have in the Heritage Center. They bring in lots of different forms of entertainment that are always interesting. Also, ACUB brings in a lot of cool things to watch as well. Just last year ACUB brought The Neon Trees to our school and all the students got to attend for free! Almost all the entertainment is free for students.

    Food and Dining

    We have four different options but my favorite is Van Dusen. It's a stir fry bar! We also have Joe's Place that has burgers and nachos and any little snack you could ever want. Hamilton commons usually has a good entree as well. Stucchi's is a bit of a walk but always worth it!

    Dorm Life

    I love living in the dorms! Everyone makes you feel welcome and each hall has different programs every week. I lived in Mitchell so there were lots of sports related programs but you are allowed to visit any halls programs.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes take effort. There are no easy classes. Every class has tutors though that are free and are willing to help you! The professors are also extremely available for extra help after class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a tour! Our tour guides are students that got to Alma so they know all the ins and outs. You'll also probably see plenty of people they know along the way. Some people even get serenaded by Phi Mu Alpha.

    In three sentences

    You always have this incredible feeling of home. The students and faculty are very nice and always helpful. Beautiful campus that is always improving.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    12 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    it's there if you are interested

    Clubs and Activities

    on-campus radio,

    Great for these types of students

    enjoy a smaller campus; better opportunity to know the professors

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Kiltie Marching Band

    What to do for fun

    student activities, outdoor and nature activities, community involvement

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the time to speak to as many people as possible about their experiences at the school you are considering, especially those students in your intended field.

    In three sentences

    Alma is a small, student centered college. The admissions team goes out of their way to make prospective students feel welcome. I am looking forward to attending this fall.

  • 08/03/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    13 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety doesn't seem to be around much. If you're in a building too late they'll come and kick you out, and they can be seen driving around on the golf carts, but that's about it. Their response time isn't great. When a student in one of the apartments set off a smoke alarm while cooking, the fire department got there first.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is huge at Alma. Six national fraternities, four national and one local sororities, a music sorority, and a service fraternity. All but the last two have houses in the neighborhood around the college. They put on events throughout the year to raise money for their respective charities, and relay for life. There's no pressure to become Greek though, and relations between the different fraternities and sororities and the rest of the student body is always friendly.

    Clubs and Activities

    Alma has a ridiculous number of clubs. No matter what you like there's something for you. Christian? There's about 5 or 6 different Bible studies and two different services. Muslim, Jewish, Buddhist, or any other religion under the sun? Check out the Interfaith council. Atheist? How about the Alma College Hypocrites (yes that's really the club name). Gamer? There's AC Otaku and Gamers. Swing dancing, knitting, rock climbing, journalism, community service, chemistry, and more, Alma College has it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Alma's mascot is Scottie. The town of Alma is known as Scotland, USA. Our marching band wears kilts (in the school's personal tartan), we have a bagpipe band, and highland dancers. You know it's spring not when you see the robins, but when you hear the bagpipes practicing outside. Even President Abernathy will pull out a kilt once in a while. Alma is a Presbyterian school, a denomination that started in Scotland, and we are proud of that heritage.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition keeps going up, probably to pay for all the construction they've been doing on campus. Then there's the hidden class fees that you can't plan into you're financial aid because you aren't charged them until the semester starts. A lot of labs, art classes, and music lessons have extra fees that you need to watch out for.

    What to do for fun

    On campus there are a lot of clubs. On the weekends there are the frat parties if that's the kind of thing you like, but after a fire in one of the houses parties were severely restricted. Off campus there is basically nothing: a movie theater down the road, a few restaurants, the bar that doesn't let anyone under 21 in after 9 pm. Alma is a small town. If you want something to do, you need to drive to Mt. Pleasant, 20 minutes away.

    Food and Dining

    The food in Saga (aka Hamilton Commons for those unfamiliar with the school) is generally unhealthy and tastes awful. Once in a while they have something good, but most of the time the only good options are the salad bar and the sandwiches (that sometimes aren't available).

    Dorm Life

    The rooms on North campus are nice, with a decent amount of space. The community bathrooms are always dirty, no matter how hard the janitors try to keep them clean, and the pipes can be unreliable. Over on South campus the rooms are tiny, although you get one bathroom between two rooms. Certain dorms are known for partying, and can get really loud. Most of the RAs are really nice.

    Academic Rigor

    It just depends on the teacher. Some classes you're working constantly on assignments through the semester. Other classes you barely do any work besides reading and going to lectures, but your entire grade depends on two or three tests and a final paper. I've never heard of an easy class though.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't stretch yourself too thin. When you first get to Alma they encourage you to become involved in as many organizations as possible. They do this because they think less students will drop out their first semester if they get involved right away. It's great to get involved, but look around, find one or two groups you really like, and stick with that. Otherwise you'll find yourself constantly studying late into the night because you spent all day in classes and meetings.

    In three sentences

    Alma is a bubble: once there you're basically cut off from the outside world. Within the bubble the student body consists of cliques made up of the numerous clubs and organizations on campus. Once you're in one place, it's difficult to fit in somewhere else.

  • 10/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Alma is a small, quiet town: not much in terms of safety precaution are needed here!

    Clubs and Activities

    Alma is bustling with organizations: Language clubs, Science clubs, and even our very own Scottish Arts Society.

    What to do for fun

    Visit the shops downtown or take a bike ride or jog on the Meijer Heartland Trail.

    Food and Dining

    Hamilton Commons feeds students, faculty, and campus guests everyday with interesting meals with an unnoticeable food rotation of courses. The workers are especially nice, too!

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are clean and RAs are easy going. Our RA program is helpful in terms of financial assistance for paying for room and board.

    Academic Rigor

    Alma College is a moderately prestigious school that is affordable and easy to work with in terms of student loans, scholarships, or grants. Alma has also sent graduates to study at such graduate study schools as John Hopkins and Oxford, UK.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you play bagpipes, then apply at Alma! We have a pipe band that is 100% (except for the instructor) student based. There is no other college or university that has the same specifications. Interested in the UN? Alma has a highly accredited Model UN team that has won on multiple occasions.

    In three sentences

    There is only one Alma. Alma College provides great opportunities to travel abroad beginning Freshman or Sophomore year. Alma College has a terrific sense of community among students, faculty, and local residents.

  • 10/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I haven't had any problems or heard of any problems about the safety here on campus.

    Greek Life

    I'm not personally involved in Greek Life, but I go to events held by Greek organizations and always have a good time.

    Clubs and Activities

    So many options, it's crazy!

    Great for these types of students

    Any student who likes to learn about things outside of their major. Yeah, liberal arts college!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There aren't any that come to mind.

    Bang for the buck

    It's very expensive to attend here, but I guess for a private college, it's worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many things to do. I personally enjoy being in marching band, but there is also activities like ultimate frisbee, movie nights at the frats, and open mic night are also things I like to do in my spare time. Joe's Place is also a really nice place to chill with friends and eat yummy food.

    Food and Dining

    It's pretty hit or miss when it comes to food. Hamilton Commons is okay, but Joe's Place is a lot better. The dining hall in Van Dusen is pretty good as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    STUDY!!! Do not procrastinate on homework, papers, or projects.

    In three sentences

    Alma is a great community to study and live in. The professors really care that you succeed and all the staff members I've met so far are really great peoples. I can't imagine going to any other college.

  • 12/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They're kind of mean.

    Greek Life

    I like it! It's really not that bad.

    Clubs and Activities

    Sooo many to choose from, and they are all accepting!

    Great for these types of students

    dedicated, self-driven, spontaneous, intelligent, small-town

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I love the kilts our band wears! And we have bagpipes! We also have one less type of tree on campus than Harvard does; this makes our scenery BEAUTIFUL!

    Bang for the buck

    It's quite expensive, but I have a feeling it will be worth it in the end.

    What to do for fun

    At first, Alma doesn't seem to offer much to do. But as you dive into the college and the community, there are plenty of things to keep you busy with. I love it and I am always having fun!!

    Food and Dining

    Not the best, but if you search, you'll find something you enjoy.

    Dorm Life

    I love the dorm life! I am an RA, so I'm still in the dorms, but I wouldn't change it in the least.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a VERY difficult school, but so worth it!

    Tips for prospective students

    Find a college that seems to fit your personality. Don't worry about how good it is, or if it is the best in your field of interest; you will most likely change your interests. Look to how you will fit with the college. It will be the best decision you will make.

    In three sentences

    Everything I wanted in a college. Difficult, but worth every second. The best schooling I could have asked for.

  • 05/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    If anything happens, it will be taken care of. Alma, this year, did have some situations happen that were extreme. The moment it happened, however, the offices who are in charge of discipline got on it immediately. The people here care about the students more than anything else. They want you safe and they will make sure that you are as safe as possible. Plus, it's Alma. Nothing really happens in this small town.

    Greek Life

    Greek Life here is pretty chill. There's this webbing of sisterhood and brotherhood throughout the campus that's admirable. I'm a member of the Kappa Iota sorority, and I was worried at first. What I noticed, however, was that hazing is near non-existent. There's this bond throughout the greek community that goes beyond just your own frat or sorority house. We do things together, have our own friendly rivalries. It's great and it's accepted throughout the school. There isn't this wall keeping everyone apart.

    Clubs and Activities

    As I said before, we have any club you can think of. I'm a part of a swing dancing club, a gamer's club, an interfaith club, and oftentimes jump in to see what else my friends are doing with their plethora of activities that they participate in. That doesn't even start on all the activities that the clubs put on, like Almacon that ACOG puts on in February. That alone is a massive thing that we're pretty proud of.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who is going into Pre-Med or the sciences will thrive here. On the other end, those who are artistic or musical or theatrical will find some of the best programs in Michigan here at Alma.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have kilts and bagpipes. Come on, tell me that that's not original. Our band doesn't have a typical marching uniform but instead have Scottish wear that they have. We have the highland festival, something to celebrate our heritage. We are pretty awesome, if I do say so myself.

    Bang for the buck

    For 40,000 a year, Alma better be worth it. Thankfully, the college gives great scholarships and grants so you won't be paying for it on your own. The grad-school acceptance rating is massive, which is why we have a lot of science majors here. We are also a liberal arts college, so you don't get stuck learning about just your major. There are ways for you to learn about nearly everything you can think of.

    What to do for fun

    If you ever get bored, just walk outside. There will be people playing music, sports, hanging out. There are clubs for everything you can imagine and if there isn't one for you, write up a constitution and get one going. It's super easy to get people together here because Alma works together. People here are more accepting than I've seen anywhere else and it's definitely something I admire. We have a Rec Center that has a track, multiple courts, and a gym. We have nearly every sport imaginable. There's something here for absolutely everyone.

    Food and Dining

    Personally, I like the food. They're redoing our cafeteria, Saga, this summer. We have a place called Joe's which takes Munch Money and Meals, along with a place across the street called Stuuchi's which has great ice cream for cheap. The food's good too, but it's kind of pricey. They both take Munch Money, along with a great pizza place called Pizza One. We don't know how the new Saga is going to be, though. We'll see.

    Dorm Life

    Other than Gelston Dorm, all the dorms are pretty clean. As a freshman, you have to go to North Campus first, but then you can move to South Campus your sophomore year. The RA's here try to make your dorm life as great as possible alongside the cleaning staff which do their best to keep the dorms in perfect shape. Hint: Go to Bruske. It's the farthest one out but it tends to be the cleanest. Or, go to Newberry. It's in the center of campus and near everything. Campus is really small anyway.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are hard. The professors will work with you and there are tutors available, but if you want an easy-float-by school, this isn't it. There are easy classes and such, but if you get a B here, it took the work of an A. If you get an A, you were on it and did all that you could, so congrats.

    Tips for prospective students

    The first year is going to be hard, no matter what college you go to. If you talk to the Student and Opportunities center here, I promise you that they will do everything they can to help you. If financials are a problem, talk to the financial aide office. Everyone here wants you to stay, but more than that they want you to enjoy your stay and get as much from the college as you can.

    In three sentences

    Alma College works hard to make sure all the students are taken care of as best they can. The school works together in a harmony that I've never seen; bringing together Greek Life, academics, and everything else in between. The classes are mostly small with professors that try to do what they can to help students, but do remember that they're just as human as you.

  • 05/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Apparently theft is a problem in certain dorms, but otherwise I've never felt scared walking around campus alone at night. It goes against common sense to attack someone where everyone knows everyone, you know?

    Greek Life

    I don't know much about this. I know a bunch of people in Greek Life, and stereotypes do exist about each Sorority and Fraternity (which are kind of true). They have their parties every week, but I've only been to Theta Chi (Fraternity). They're pretty chill and accepting. I like them.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is literally a club for pretty much every hobby there is. We even have a Squirrel-Watching Club. I think it's kind of weird. I am currently in the Alma College Otaku and Gaming club (ACOG), which is for nerdy people who like reading manga, watching anime, and playing video games. But there's really something for everybody.

    Great for these types of students

    Hard workers, people who like the smaller type of school, people who like actually talking to their professors, but really, anybody.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    You'll have to join us to learn our traditions =3, but there's no weird area on campus. Currently they're making SAGA (cafeteria) bigger.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, you're going to pay through the nose, but it's for a really good education. By the end, you will be well-rounded, since this is a Liberal Arts college and you have to take every subject. It's definitely worth it.

    What to do for fun

    In small towns, it's easy to say that there's nothing going on. On campus, this is NOT true. With all of the clubs and organizations, there is NEVER a weekend without something going on; in fact, sometimes these events bleed into weekdays during busy spells.

    Food and Dining

    The main dining hall, SAGA is often made fun of for sub-par food. It's really not that bad -about high school cafeteria quality. If it does mess with your stomach, just drink some Vernor's (ginger ale) and it's be fine.

    Dorm Life

    Each hall has it's own people, and so does each hall. I got into Bruske, which has strict no drugs policies. The rooms aren't five-star hotel quality, but not usually a dump either. They also have a questionnaire to pick the right roommate for you. Didn't work out for me, but I know two guys that were MADE to be roommates.

    Academic Rigor

    You're going to work. Hard. Get over it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be conscientious; sleep, eat right, study, go to (and pay attention during) class. Work hard. Also, if you're going to be in Marching Band, do not fear the kilt. Alma in general is not as scary as it may seem.

    In three sentences

    It's a small, close-knit school, which is good because everyone (including professors) knows you, but bad because everyone knows you. Classes are not going to be easy, which is a good thing because it makes you more prepared in the long run. I am very happy with my decision to become a Scot!

  • 08/01/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    19 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is probably the safest campus in America. Alma College is rather small and everything is very close together. Security is roaming both sides of campus 24/7 and are on call all night long. They ride around in golf carts to make it easier accessing all the grounds. Also, they have emergency telephones all over campus in case something is wrong. Honestly, in my four years there I never heard of any incidence ever occurring.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is really big at Alma because it is a smaller school. However, the greek life here is run by the school and not by the chapter's national groups. The houses are owned by the college so they are a little bit smaller than a Big Ten's campus houses. There are also greek organization for different clubs like theatre, dance, and academic groups.

    Clubs and Activities

    As mentioned before there are over 100 groups to join: greek life, religious clubs, varsity sports, athletic advisory committee, club sports, theatre, dance, honor societies, gaming clubs, cultural groups, etc. There is seriously a group for everybody. There is literally not one person on that campus that doesn't belong to at least 2-3 groups.

    Great for these types of students

    This is a perfect school for those that need a small number in the classroom (around 14-20 people on average). Also, this is a perfect school for serious academic attention because since the class sizes are so small, you get to know the professors very well and they can help you whenever you want!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Alma College is in Alma, MI, also known as Scotland, USA. On Memorial weekend there is the Highland festival in which there is a large Scottish parade and the whole weekend is dedicated to traditional Scottish food and competitive games and Highland Dancing. Alma College is well known for their bagpipers and you hear them all the time on campus. I recently graduated and when I heard those bagpipes at my graduation it made me want to sob because they are so unique and I will miss hearing them all the time.

    Bang for the buck

    Alma is a private school so it can be a bit expensive, but my time there was priceless. I believe every dollar was well worth it. I couldn't imagine going somewhere else for my undergraduate.

    What to do for fun

    There are over 100 different organizations(greek life, religious clubs, varsity sports, athletic advisory committee, club sports, theatre, dance, etc) you can get yourself involved in on campus and they are all worth your time. Also, you live 15 min from a big city with shopping, casinos, and good restaurants. If that doesn't work, you live about 45 min from Lansing, MI and Michigan State and there is a TON of stuff to do there!

    Food and Dining

    It's like every other college cafeteria out there. They have quite a few options and the food isn't that bad! There are days I head straight to the sandwich bar, but then there are days I don't want to leave!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is so much fun! Doors are always open and have a ton of people to meet. I moved out of the dorms after my sophomore year and I sort of regret it because I missed the dorm living so much!

    Academic Rigor

    I put 4 out of 5 because Alma is very difficult academically, but it's not impossible! The people there definitely push you to do the best you can!! I have attended more classes after graduating and I was receiving A's in all my classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in a ton of different activities such as: greek life, sports, religious organizations, club sports, dance, theatre, etc. After joining, you don't have to continue to do all those things, but you will have met a ton of different people that could be your friends for life. Also, stay in touch with your professors! These are some of the smartest people I have met in my life and they will be excellent sources for contacts and letters of recommendation after you graduate.

    In three sentences

    Alma College will give you an unforgettable college experience with a close-knit campus atmosphere. Professors there are not only your mentors, but your close friends. There is no where else in the world I would have gotten amazing opportunities and done as well as I did at Alma College; I definitely left my fingerprints there forever.

  • 01/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus is pretty small and super safe. I have no problem with going places by myself or even walking around after dark. One of the safest places I know.

    Greek Life

    Alma does participate in Greek Life. We have 5 fraternities and 4 sororities on campus that are very big into helping out in the community.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and activities that there is no way I could list half of them. Here at Alma there is definitely something for everyone to spend their free time doing.

    Great for these types of students

    Alma is great for the types of students that want to go to a small college and still get the great opportunities that come with a large university. Alma is also a great place for those who want to expand their minds and experience new things.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    As far as unusual goes Alma College has a Scottish history. So our marching band wear kilts, we have bagpipers and the kiltie dancer. But, this is a part of what sets Alma apart from the rest and definitely a part of the fun here.

    Bang for the buck

    Even though Alma is very pricey, they offer a ton of scholarships to help out. Yes it really is worth the money though. The Alma experience is unlike any other and the opportunities they offer is out of this world.

    What to do for fun

    Thanks to the many organizations on campus there is always something going on. From comedians to trips to games such as the redwings or tigers, along with skiing trips, concerts, informative speakers, game nights, movie nights, and many more. Our campus is fun and enjoyable, the only time your bored is when you are in your room refusing to come out.

    Food and Dining

    Alma's food has very good food considering that it is cafeteria food. The dinning hall was just completely remodeled this past summer and is awesome. Lots of choices and there is something for everyone no matter your preference or diet.

    Dorm Life

    Just your basic dorms. Some dorm halls are older than others but living here is actually quite enjoyable. The RAs are great and everyone is willing to help make sure that you get matched with the right roommate so every persons expirience is enjoyable.

    Academic Rigor

    Alma courses are rather challenging and make you learn instead of memorize. The professors come up with creative and interactive ways to learn. The small classes and one on one time with the professors is always a plus.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is challenging. Though the courses are hard there is a ton of people and sources available to help you get through it and be successful. A wonderful college with amazing opportunities!

    In three sentences

    Alma is a great, small, friendly college. Everyone on campus is great and the courses challenging. Everyone on campus is willing to do their best to help you succeed. Alma really does become your home.

  • 02/26/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Alma is a Scottish heritage school, which is really cool! The entire marching band wears kilts of the Alma tartan and even contains bagpipers. There is also a Highland dance program which is very unique. We are the Alma Scots and we have a lot of fun playing off of this. It isn't unusual to hear bagpipes around campus especially during the fall.

    What to do for fun

    Alma has quite a bit of activities on campus that anyone can attend. To start off there are various sporting events around campus that are free to students. The Alma College Union Board (ACUB) also creates various activities for students to do like casino night. There are All-hall events, my hall has done hall Olympics, Christmas decorating competitions, Just Dance night, and a Halloween Party so far. There are also fitness options on campus like Zumba and yoga. There are also spiritual activities like chapel and the many bible studies that go on every week. There is plenty of clubs to get involved in as well. Alma has a lot of opportunities to do fun things. But if you ever get bored on campus there is bowling and a movie theater in Alma and Mount Pleasant is only 20 minutes away.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Alma really varies from day to day. There is the regular cafeteria, Joe's Place, and Stucchi's on the far end of campus. I would have to say Stucchi's is my absolute favorite they have great food and is probably the best place on campus to eat. Joe's and the cafeteria are more convenient and offer some good options as well, there just is not a lot of variety in the food on a daily basis.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms at Alma are not the absolute best, considering they are older buildings. However, it did not take me very long to adjust to it. It becomes part of your daily routine and you really adjust to them rather quickly. One thing I do like about the Alma dorms is the community that is built there. Since the rooms are smaller you find students reaching out to their hallmates and hanging out in each other's rooms. I am really close with a majority of my hall and feel completely comfortable going into their rooms at any time of the day. You become really close.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes at Alma College are definitely difficult and the professors push you to really learn and apply what you learn on a daily basis. But having said that, with it being a smaller college, professors are almost always available outside of class to give you additional one on one help during office hours. Many of them go out of their way to help you out when possible. The academics at this college are fantastic.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! Do not shut yourself in your room. The best time to make friends is during the week-long orientation before classes start. Everyone wants to make friends too so don't be afraid to reach out to people and get to know them. Also be sure to double and triple check that you have what you need before you move in, but this doesn't mean bring a bunch of unnecessary items your room will fill up quickly.

    In three sentences

    Alma College is a small, private college that has many opportunities. Don't let the size fool you, as a current freshmen I have already had several hands on experiences with actual clients. Alma is a great little school that focuses on preparing students for the next step in life.

  • 06/11/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    22 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food on campus is good. They have one big cafeteria almost in the middle of campus that has a buffet bar which changes everyday. The food they serve isn't the same as yesterday, it changes each day. Very great food, always enough.

    Dorm Life

    Alma has many different types of dorms, and I loved almost all of them. They are a really good size with two beds, and depending on the dorm they are close to the food.

    Academic Rigor

    When scheduling for classes and getting ready to attend Alma the admissions counselors were a great help. They showed me what classes I would need, but they also pushed me to take harder classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    When looking at colleges look at everything the school has to offer. Don't just look at the food and dorm room size, you want to make sure you like the campus life, and also that the college is for you and not your parents or a friend that you want to be with.

    In three sentences

    Alma is a very pretty little campus. Everything is fairly close and within walking distance. I love the classroom size, they are about twenty to thirty students per class and the professors know everyone by name.

  • 06/18/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    23 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to have all of financial needs and scholarships.

    In three sentences

    I rate Alma College as a top school in the country in academics. Alma College has the family atmosphere on campus. Also Alma College is the best school to go to for true education and high possibility of success once you earn your degree.