Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Alpena Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/24/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    ACC is great for people who enjoy small towns and people who don't mind if there aren't many large events going on. Introverted students do very well here, as well as those who are good at creating their own fun and being positive. This college is also a smart choice for those with financial difficulty because of the low cost and large availability of financial aid.

    Tips for prospective students

    ACC is not the lame school that people claim it to be. Don't listen to those who say it is. It is a very smart choice financially and academically. If you're looking for the college experience, this probably isn't the place for you due to the small setting and lack of social events. It is, however, still an excellent college and known across the state as one of the best community colleges to transfer from. Your education won't be lacking at all, but keep in mind that it does get much harder at universities with larger classes (less personal attention and harder to focus) and higher degrees offered (therefore more upper-level classes).

    Bang for the buck

    The various student services and helpful staff members provide a pleasant atmosphere. This college comes with career counseling, tutoring services, financial aid, excellent advising and instructing, clean facilities, modern technology, housing and lounges, free parking, a cafeteria, a bookstore, a fantastic library, and more. However, the campus could use a little more parking and a lot more social events to connect the student body and make us proud to be Lumberjacks. No one really knows each other or cares to besides your few friends, and it's sad. Overall though, considering the low cost to attend, the bang is very good for this buck.

    Am enjoying being here

    I definitely enjoy staying close to home in a small town, and the education is excellent. However, the social scene could use a little perk. There is not always a lot to do, and I don't feel unified with the rest of the school. At times it can feel lonely, disconnected, or boring because of the lack of major social events that unify the student body. The campus is nice, the people are extremely helpful, and student services are abundant. ACC is an enjoyable place... you just need to be able to create your own fun so you don't feel disconnected.

    Am learning a lot

    You wouldn't think that a community college would have the same quality education as a university, but this one really does. We have the same textbooks, follow the same fast-paced schedules, cover the same topics, and receive the same homework. Plus, the smaller class size allows instructors to focus on the needs of each student... something you can't get at a university. There are plenty of office hours, and you get more attention in a smaller setting. From lectures, labs, and textbooks to real-world applications, the amount of information I am learning is incredible.

  • 05/10/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People from small towns and people who want small class sizes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't think that it's going to be blow off classes. They make you work for your grade just like any university.

    Bang for the buck

    It's not too expensive, and there are lots of scholarships, grants, and loans.

    Am enjoying being here

    Coming from a small town, ACC is a great place to start your education. You have small class size and teachers truly do care about your education instead of sending you to their class aids.

    Am learning a lot

    Teachers are there for us. If you have a question, you talk to them,not their teacher aids.

  • 03/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 10

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    i don't usually stay on campus when i'm not in class. i know they offer free fitness classes for students.

    Food and Dining

    i usually just bring a lunch from home. i don't generally eat in the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    not many people live in the dorms, seeing as it is a community college. i have never been in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    i try not to miss any classes because i never know what i will miss out on.

    Tips for prospective students

    don't be afraid to ask questions. the staff at alpena community college are all so willing to help. the students are all pretty great, too.

    In three sentences

    i enjoy going to alpena community college. seeing as i still live at home, i feel like i have been given to the chance to firmly plant my feet in the ground before i move out. acc is a great campus with great faculty.

  • 03/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    fairly safe, other than the campus is so spread out so you really have to decide where to park and whether to drive or go against the unpredictable weather conditions by walking.

    Greek Life

    not a whole lot of greek life at acc.

    Clubs and Activities

    none that applied to me.

    Great for these types of students

    freshman, returning students, untraditional students, and students that are unsure of what they would like to go into.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    acc owns a lot of woodsy property.

    Bang for the buck

    as long as you are in district (which they are expanding), you get a reasonably priced education, and it really beats starting out at a university.

    What to do for fun

    not a whole lot...it is a rather boring town for younger people. you can go to the beach, go bowling, go to the movies, or go skating.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure that everything will transfer before taking a class.

    In three sentences

    the college offers a wide variety of transferrable classes. the instructors are usually well-experienced. the college staff does not have good communication with eachother.

  • 01/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 10

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many student activities year round. Last year, the college sponsered Zumba and Turbo classes once a week. Also the students could ice skate for free every Tuesday for a month.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria on campus and another snack place located in a different building. Vending machines are also available in every building.

    Dorm Life

    I haven't lived in the dorms, but I have friends who have and they would endorse it.

    Academic Rigor

    I love my classes at Alpena CC. The teachers are very knowledgeable about the course material and are willing to explain it multiple times until you understand. The grading system is very fair and there are many opportunities for extra credit.

    Tips for prospective students

    Utilize the student support available. The tutoring helped me improve my grades in a couple classes and helped me pass another.

    In three sentences

    Small classes, so the teachers are readily available to ask questions. Free tutoring to help you understand a difficult topic or to reassure yourself you know the material.

  • 05/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is great, a little high for a college budget, but definitely good.

    Dorm Life

    I've never stayed in a dorm, but I hear they're very nice.

    Tips for prospective students

    Consider ACC because it's a great college that has many different programs available and the instructors are the best.

    In three sentences

    Great school. Excellent instructors. Offers many programs.

  • 08/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is the safest school in the country in my opinion. I have been there in the early morning and late nights and never felt unsafe. They have great security plus the local sheriff's office is only a couple blocks from the campus.

    Greek Life

    We don't have any fraternities or sororities as the school is small but they do have clubs such as Honor Society and Student Nursing that students can participate in.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs to join. If there isn't one that you are interested in just talk to the college president (who by the way is excellent and very approachable) and he can help you find the right college staff to help you get something started.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that love a small town feeling, who like to be close to their professors and not feel like a number. It is the perfect beginning for any student and if they wish to continue on to get a Bachelor's degree, there are a couple of Universities that offer those degrees right on ACC campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have many special events for all nationalities, ethic custom and fun activities design not only to entertain students but teach them about different cultures.

    Bang for the buck

    Alpena is a nice, cozy town in Northeast Michigan and along the Lake Huron Coast. The people are friendly and love to show off their town. Students will feel right at home and school will be a very positive experience for them at Alpena Community College

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of fun things to do especially within walking distance or short drive. The beaches on Lake Huron are wonderful, they have go cart businesses, canoeing and they are one of only a handful in the country as a designation Underwater Reserve Historical site for Shipwrecks. They have a wonderful museum and boat tours and have many new events coming in the near future.

    Food and Dining

    They offer a great selection of meals in the cafeteria and the prices are very reasonable

    Dorm Life

    They do have a couple of dorms available for people coming from out of town. They are walking distance to all classes, very affordable and very safe.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a great school with a wonderful reputation that graduates students with high class education.

    Tips for prospective students

    ACC has many fields available and even has an additional campus in Oscoda. They are now offering some classes on line and I even took one and it worked out great for me. If you are looking for a well rounded, small and personal college, this school is for you.

    In three sentences

    ACC is a great school especially in the nursing field. The professors and staff are friendly, helpful and always willing to answer any questions. I am so glad to be attending this school to earn my nursing degree.

  • 02/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 10

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Since it is a small college there is not a lot of things on campus too do.

    Food and Dining

    The food is actually always fresh and DELICIOUS!

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life unless you live in the small apartments.

    Academic Rigor

    It is great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure you know what you want to do, or you will feel like you're drowning soon enough.

    In three sentences

    Alpena Community College is a great place to start your education, the small class sizes help you transition into college life without overwhelming you.

  • 07/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 10

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Its in the middle of a city so it has great supervision by the police.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs and activities like basketball and other sports that im not in.

    Great for these types of students

    If you like the outdoors there is a boat launch and river close to campus and lake huron just 5mins away for the nearest beach.

    Bang for the buck

    Its cheaper than delta and offers better programs lil pre-vet and med and other great hands on opportunities.

    What to do for fun

    You can hang with friends go to the gym and do sports. There is always something to do on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Haven ate on campus.

    Dorm Life

    You have to apply for the dorms but you share a house with three other people and you have your own room. Great prices too; you can choose if u want it fully furnished or not (your room.).

    Academic Rigor

    Very nice class sizes and easy to learn areas.

    Tips for prospective students

    The small class sizes make it easy to understand and ask questions with the teacher. It is one on one base school.

    In three sentences

    I think Alpena is awesome with easy access to tutors and a free gym. You can go to the library almost all the time, and it makes for easy studying. Finally the other students, teachers, and staff are always willing to help with directions.

  • 09/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 10

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There aren't very many clubs there, but there are groups of people who will meet up and go do something fun. Basket ball, volleyball, disc golf, and gaming are pretty big pastimes here.

    Food and Dining

    The dining there is very limited if you choose to not eat from outside restaurants. The cafeteria food is all right, but some of the choices they provide could be improved apon.

    Dorm Life

    With this being a community college close to my home, I have been able to commute. The drive to the college is very short and not stressfull.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses here challenge the student to think very proficiently and sometimes out of the box. The professors are wonderful at explaining the subjects and more than willing to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't procrastinate! You will regret it. Don't be afraid to use the student services, they are there to help you.

    In three sentences

    Alpena Community College is a great and inexpensive college loaded with opportunities. The academic community is close knit and always acceptive of all individuals. This would be a great experience to take at a community college.