Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Alvernia University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/16/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 1 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    From what I have seen and experienced Alvernia is for the laid back traditional type of person. Although, Alvernia has a lot of activities to offer the students it is not as hectic as some of the other colleges that are out there. Fortunately, Alvernia is not a party school; so if that is what you are going to school for Alvernia is not the choice for you. Alvernia is also not the type of school for the student that sports are very important too. There are sports available but the college is no where near a Penn State or a Duke when it comes to thier athletic programs.

    Tips for prospective students

    My words of wisdom is apply in the beginning of your senior year, visit the campus, and apply for the merit scholarships the school offers!

    Bang for the buck

    Unfortunately, it is to soon for me to tell but I have high hopes for the school. So all I can do is go in with a open mind and hope for the best.

    Will enjoy being here

    I am very excited for the fall and for all the things that Alvernia has to offer me!

    Will learn a lot

    I believe that by attending Alvernia University I will learn many things; about my major and about life itself.

  • 02/05/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great if you are serious about your education. If you do not care about your grades then you will not get good ones. The teachers are sympathetic and reasonable and will help you in any way that they can. This school also has great Occupational Therapy, Athletic Training, Criminal Justice, and Nursing programs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit the campus and check it out before you apply. I suggest checking out the campus schedule and coming on a day where there is either an activity or a game going on so you can get the true feel of what it is like here.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is a little high but it does have more of a private small school feel. It is a small campus so you get to know a lot of people and overall the people are friendly. Overall, it is a great school and you definitely will have a tough time finding another campus that is as laid back and comfortable as this one.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love it here. The dorms are comfortable, the staff is wonderful, and because the campus is so small, you can get from one side of the campus to the other in five minutes. There is always something going on, be it a game, a comedian, or just a coffeehouse singer in the crusader cafe.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers here are great. They help you reach your goals and they enjoy seeing that you care about your education. I have learned a lot from my teachers and have gained knowledge both in and out of the classroom.

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Alvernia has several field trips planned during the school year. There is also game night, bingo, and many more activities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't waste your life. Study and make good choices.

    In three sentences

    Alvernia University is a very well organized institution. Staff is very helpful and I've learned a lot my freshman year. It is a great place to study and make friends.

  • 01/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    From going there in the past as well as currently just starting back, I think the safety on campus appears to be of high priority.

    Greek Life

    I have no comments here.

    Clubs and Activities

    I remember being in the club for drug & alcohol which helped others in the community. There are many clubs and activities for the students available on campus and in the surrounding area.

    Great for these types of students

    All types of students can benefit from what is offered at Alvernia.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    When I went to Alvernia in the past, you were required to do community service of some kind which I found unusual but a great idea and I am so glad that I did it. I continued doing it once that I got my bachelors degree as well.

    Bang for the buck

    I think the money that I spent to go to Alvernia for my bachelors degree was worth every last penny. I got more than an education at Alvernia, I learned what the most important values in life are and right living.

    What to do for fun

    I am a retired female returning to Alvernia for my masters degree, so I don't do anything there as far as my social life. I enjoy spending time with my family, reading, gardening and learning as I am obviously a life long learner! I do plan on getting involved on some groups that will help the community since I did this in the past and it was very rewarding to me.

    Food and Dining

    When I went there in the 90's, it was good in the area of food & dining. I have just started back there for my masters degree and have not eaten there as of yet.

    Dorm Life

    I was a commuter then & I will be a commuter now. I am basing my rating on what others who are in the dorms have told me.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically it has much to offer. I think it carries a lot of weight when going for a job.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be open minded and stick to your educational goals. Since Alvernia is not known as a party school that is actually a benefit to the students attending the college.

    In three sentences

    I think Alvernia is one of the top colleges in PA. It has excellent instructors who are great role models and has a high set of morals. I have gone to Alvernia for my bachelor's degree and I not only obtained an excellent education but I learned much about life's values.

  • 07/07/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    -Students interested in the arts. They are building a new theater. -Looking for a good education -Expand on their learning and have good options for the schedule -Looking for a safe and beautiful campus -Like baseball and basketball

    Tips for prospective students

    -You will have no problem fitting in. There is so much stuff to do, you will find a place -Although there are no frats and sors, they do have academic clubs where it's almost the same thing, but you don't have to pay fees like frars and sor. -Don't let the religion part of the college keep you from applying or visiting the campus. They are open to all religions and don't force you to practice one type of religion. -Eat at the caf. The food is actually pretty good. -Students at the school is pretty big on drinking and drugs too.

    Bang for the buck

    Although the price is typical for any private college/university, they offer so much. They do so many things there and are always traveling to different countries. The campus is very pretty and well kept. Laundry is free and free IT support for your computer. They are always expanding the campus to make it better. If you want something done, all you have to do is suggest it, and most likely it will be done. There are so many class to choose from too. I'm taking a class where you can learn how to play the guitar and earning credits for it.

    Am enjoying being here

    Dorms are very roomy compared to other dorms. Freshmans have 3 options to choose from housing options. One is even a suite, which I will have in the fall of 2010. People are very friendly. I made 5 friends on Connection Day just from the group activity thatwe all did. Also, they help keep you on campus to make feel more homey there. They have so much activities to do.

    Am learning a lot

    Teachers are very caring. I went to Connection Day a few weeks ago and the teachers are very enthusiastic about teaching. The school shows that they strive for excellence and will help you be the best you can be.

  • 06/12/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It is good academically but if you're already in a financial bind I wouldn't go to this school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you visit Alvernia on a Friday and the weekend as well as other times so you can see what the dorms look like during the school year. Also, even though you have to park in Kengrill a car is highly recommended if you go to this school

    Bang for the buck

    If you are lucky enough to get a GOOD financial aid package and a lot of scholarships then financial aid should be no problem but at $34,000 a year and with it going up this upcoming school year I found it too stressful. Also, you almost have to pull teeth to get anything done because they run all over the place to get one simple answer to your questions.

    Did enjoy being here

    I did like it and yes they have many clubs but I always found that every time I wanted to join a club it conflicted with my schedule which was frustrating. Also while it can be a nice quiet campus it usually is filled with a lot of parties and if you're not a partier it might be somewhat difficult to find people who are not partiers either.

    Did learn a lot

    As far as academics go Alvernia definitely has so good teachers and I felt as if I learned a lot while there. However, sometime the classes felt as if the professors were trying to fit in so much in a little time though this was mostly the 50 minute classes.

  • 12/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you want a small campus that is walkable in 10 minutes then this campus is for you. Also many students that come to alvernia go home on weekends or commute so the campus is usually pretty empty on weekends. It is in a good area and about 10 minutes form the mall and about an hour and a half away from Philly and New York. This school has great views and you will always feel safe, and its defiantly not a party school. People here are way more dedicated to their studies then anything else. And the class sizes are small and the teachers are always willing to help a student that needs it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Great tips for new students would be: do not procrastinate on any assignment. In college teachers are different then in high school they will not cut you slack if you are late on a paper you will pay the price, take advantage of the library and the free paper because you are paying for them to keep supplied and you might as well take advantage of it, also keep an open mind and always try new things because without experience you may never know what could have happened.

    Bang for the buck

    Although Alvernia is a costly school, it has great teachers and small class sizes so each student is known by his or her own name and not a number in the class. also if any student is having a problem in with their dorm mates then you can easily switch at the office of Residence life who will let you search for an open place that would be more suitable for you. Do not worry about the hallways being loud, in every dorm building there is a room dedicated to studying and the library is open until midnight every night and the walk is very short. Alvernia is a very safe campus and I have never felt uneasy walking the campus alone, although you should always go in pairs.

    Am enjoying being here

    There are always fun and discounted activities to do here and if the activity you want is not here you can add it by getting a group of friends together with he same interest as you to make the club. One activity that I enjoyed at a discounted price was the trip to Times Square New York City. It only coasted twenty dollars being a student to attend the New York City trip. The best part was, since we are adults we did not need to be chaperoned, we were just required to meet up at the dedicated bus boarding place so the bus would not leave us.

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned so much being at Alvernia University. Here i have not only learned a lot about the classes that I have taken my first semester, I have also learned how to fend for myself and be responsible. Although this college is a Catholic University, they do not enforce being catholic on the people that attend here. Every student gets a fair chance at succeeding and are also given a good environment to learn at the same time.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    When getting books for class, go for the rental books because you can save money.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be calm with the college when talking to them and be open minded. Save as much money as possible to afford to go to any including community college.

    In three sentences

    I went to Alvernia in middle school and treated me fair. I get help when I ask for some from the admissions. I would rate this college as a 5 out of 5.

  • 09/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Super safe!

    Great for these types of students

    Who love a small campus, with a large amount of kids.

    What to do for fun

    I am always attending campus activities on campus. The movies, trips, and sporting events.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips are to get in contact with your future roommates, get out and do things offered on campus, and do not be afraid to ask questions to any mentor around you.

    In three sentences

    This is a small school. This school has a growing incoming freshmen rate. This school has a variety of students.

  • 11/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is everywhere, and it is really comforting. Reading is not the safest place to be at, but you can always count on campus safety to be around.

    Bang for the buck

    Alvernia is definitely not a cheap school, but after taking everything into account it is worth it. I am certain that I will have a job right after college. I am also certain that I am receiving the proper education to fulfill by future role of being an occupational therapist.

    What to do for fun

    Alvernia is a catholic university and campus ministry does an awesome job. Campus ministry keeps everyone involved through emails and flyers all around the school. They do everything from having fascinating guest speakers to school dances.

    Food and Dining

    Alvernia has dining areas in almost every building. This is useful for when classes are close together, and there is no time to go to the opposite side of campus. There is also a variety of choices, including healthy choices.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter, but every apartment or room I have been in has seemed very nice. All of my friends that live on campus have no complaints and appear to be content with their surroundings.

    Academic Rigor

    I am in the occupational therapy program, and it is certainly challenging. This is expected due to it being a masters program, but teachers will do anything to help you. Alvernia is a an accredited school that has a high placement rate, so the faculty is carrying out their duties as educators.

    Tips for prospective students

    Alvernia is a great school and has so many majors to choose from. Even if you are unsure of your major, faculty will assist you in this important decision. You will feel welcomed and comfortable at Alvernia no matter what.

    In three sentences

    After I transferred to Alvernia from reading area community college, I saw a huge difference. The campus is much quieter and the teachers really get to know you. There are so many great majors, and with the help of the great faculty, I am sure I will succeed.

  • 12/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are soooooooo many clubs!

    Food and Dining

    Again, I don't live here so I don't eat here much, but when I do eat here the food is pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live here but the dorms look really nice and a lot of the RAs are good.

    Academic Rigor

    Staff is very involved in the student's academic life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you really want to go here, I know many people who came and decided it wasn't for them.

    In three sentences

    A great school to attend if you want some place small. Administration is great and willing to work with you. All around great place.

  • 01/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is good. There are different types of food you can choose. The people in the dining are always helpful.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is very good. In clare hall you have your own bathroom with your roommates which I really liked. You make new friends on different floors.

    In three sentences

    Alvernia University is a great small school. The professors are always willing to help you in whatever you need. There are bunch of ways to get involved and meet others.

  • 04/25/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 31

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    I think the campus is very nice. Also, I believe that Alvernia University is very educational based. This campus is very secure and clean.

  • 08/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They seem to be very safe. No worries about walking at night, just don't go alone.

    Greek Life

    No frats or sororities

    Clubs and Activities

    They seems to have tons of clubs and everyone there is crazy friendly, so even if you want to try something new like theatre or knitting, people will welcome you and help you out.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to learn, have small classes with good teachers, meet caring and decent people, and do community service and such. If you really like baseball and basketball.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    You need 40 hours of community service to graduate. Sound like a lot? No way. By doing ONE day of community service, your WHOLE college career, you're done. Seriously. That is what they told us. So don't fear.

    Bang for the buck

    It is pretty darn expensive for a kid who had neither parents graduate college and only one has a job, but if you're well off, then go for it!! But the less fortunate, don't fear: I got lots of aid. And if you go crazy looking for scholarships, then you'll probably be fine!! However, I do think that this school is going to be worth every penny because of all the events, trips, services, and everything pays off for the big tuition.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of community service stuff. There's trips to Philly, New York, and a few other localish places. They have the Alvernia Olympics in the spring, and they quad is usually busy. They also have people come like comedians, and musicians to perform. If you want your favorite to come, all you have to do is ask someone and they'll try their best to make it happen.

    Food and Dining

    So much variety. If you go, try a little bit of everything. There is a pizza station, sandwich making station, salad bar, cereal dispensers, fruit, fries, burgers. There is so much to get! If you don't like one thing, try another! Oh and there's also an ice cream cart thingy.

    Dorm Life

    I'm going to have a triple in Veronica. I've seen pictures, and it seems alright so far. But for the sophomores and up, there are these beautiful pods where around nine people have a pod, and there is a washer and dryer in the front, two hallways on the sides (one has double rooms one has singles) and then a double kitchen with two sinks, stove, stovetop, dishwasher, and a fridge, then there is a beautiful living room with couches and the giant window. So lovely. Then there are also townhouses and apartments. I have a feeling that they're all quite expensive, but totally worth it.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors seems very serious about teaching you and making sure you know what they're teaching you, yet they aren't so high strung or busy that they wouldn't talk to you or listen if you're having trouble.

    Tips for prospective students

    If something seems weird or mixed up, email people!! You really have to take responsibility for getting everything in to them and making sure they have it. Visit the campus and stay the night if possible and attend a class.

    In three sentences

    Alvernia University is helpful and positive. The staff really cares and wants you to become a better person. This college is going to be exciting and enriching.

  • 03/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Athletics are the main attraction on campus. Many students come out and support the various teams. Also, Student Activities provides trips to NYC, the movies, shopping, etc. It is safe to say, there is something for everyone.

    Food and Dining

    Sadly, Alvernia only provides one main dining hall. However, there is always something to choose from. they serve everything from pizza to deli sandwiches, everyday. There are also two cafes located throughout the campus allowing students to use bonus bucks to purchase a quick sandwich or snack.

    Dorm Life

    Alvernia is constantly building new housing. Living on campus provides the awaited college experience. The dorms are all very accommodating, varying from standard rooms to apartments and townhouses.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics vary depending on one's major. The health care majors tend to provide more challenging experiences and classes. However, if looking for more of a challenge the honors program and other organizations could help.

    Tips for prospective students

    The smaller campus allows students to develop great relationships with professors. The faculty and staff are great and very accommodating. There are countless opportunities targeting the interests of everyone.

    In three sentences

    Alvernia provides large opportunity within a small campus. Professors are great. The campus is constantly changing and growing.

  • 04/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Alvernia is not located in a college town, meaning you have to drive if you want to go to restaurants or the mall, etc. However, most places are no more than 10 minutes away.

    Tips for prospective students

    Alvernia is a Catholic university so they incorporate religion into the curriculum. Theology class is mandatory for everyone. However, they in no way try to change or push religion onto you.

    In three sentences

    Alvernia is a small community filled with love and dedicated teachers. They truly care about the success of the students. I give Alvernia five stars because they make me feel like an important individual rather than just another member of their community.

  • 07/01/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Crime is not an issue and it is very small and safe in the school area.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have many sports teams and they also have a board you can check that provides you with every activity available on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Students interested in a small school.

    Bang for the buck

    It extremely affordable for a private school.

    What to do for fun

    Play sports, join clubs, start clubs, hang with friends, or go to the do something board and get involved in anything.

    Food and Dining

    The food is usually good but the variety is not always the best.

    Dorm Life

    From my overnight visit it seems great. It has a perfect mix of fun and seriousness.

    Academic Rigor

    They have great majors for all students and really push the education aspects.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply if your interested in a small school with a big university tradition.

    In three sentences

    It is a very loving and welcoming family. The staff and students truly assist you in all the changes that an individual is going through. Finally, it is an outstanding school, family, and community.

  • 09/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Attend the free events and join clubs. Go to sporting events.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good. The Kestral Cafe and Courtside Cafe have great wraps and muffins!

    Dorm Life

    I have not experienced dorm life. I commute to campus, but many of my friends like the dorms, especially the new apartments.

    Academic Rigor

    The Nursing program is difficult but not impossible. The professors do everything in their power to help you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have fun and get involved in many things. There are so many opportunities and clubs on campus. Its such an easy way to make friends.

    In three sentences

    Alvernia is a great school to attend, especially for Nursing. They are currently remodeling many different buildings and even building a few more. This school is going to be great once all the work is finished!

  • 10/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus is very safe, security always around campus and in the event you are not on campus you can register to receive text in case of emergency.

    Great for these types of students

    Love the fact that mass is held on capus for those students who practice our faith.

    Food and Dining

    Food is awesone, great cafeteria with many different choices each day of healthy and good food!!

    Dorm Life

    have not experience dorm life at Alvernia but heard form other classmates that there are many activities held for students who live on campus,

    Tips for prospective students

    Very comfortable school, teachers are very friendly and easy going as well as the staff

    In three sentences

    Alvernia is a great catholic university. Professors and staff are very friendly. Best of all classes are comfortable in size.

  • 11/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    go out and meet people!

    Food and Dining

    the food is okay. nothing like home!

    Dorm Life

    the dorms are very home-like . i find it very comfortable living here

    Academic Rigor

    academics are hard depending on how hard you work or not

    Tips for prospective students

    you will like alvernia, it is a very small campus and stay focused on your studies do not be afraid to ask older students they are here to help

    In three sentences

    Alvernia is a very friendly campus. The professors develop personal relationships with students and care about our success. There are opportunities to get involved on campus and a bunch of activities to do off campus.

  • 11/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public safety is on call on campus all hours of the day. There are call boxes outside buildings where they can be contacted or emergency personnel can be called.

    What to do for fun

    Alvernia's campus activity board is always coming up with new ideas for students to try. Whether it's midnight bowling, a free trip to see the newest movie, fun photo booths, or a giant obstacle course in the gym, students will never be bored and will make memories with new friends.

    Food and Dining

    A few options are given to students for dining but all of which are excellent choices. The cafeteria has a daily salad bar, pizza and pasta station, deli station, home cooked meals, and a show cookery where students can try something new. Also, two cafes are located on campus where flex dollars can be used.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm rooms are comfortable and with a personal touch, students will feel at home. RAs do their best to get to know each of their residents so that a smooth transition will occur.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors at Alvernia challenge students to learn new information and are willing to help. There are many on campus resources, including the learning center and a wonderful library.

    Tips for prospective students

    Before applying, sign up for a tour or overnight stay to ensure that the school is a perfect fit. Enjoying where you go to school is crucial to the college experience.

    In three sentences

    Alvernia University is a private school, where you feel comfortable and can adapt to the college lifestyle quickly. Class sizes are smaller than most other universities, allowing the professors to get to know the students and their individual needs.

  • 01/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    All the events that student activities plans are always fun and exciting especially their New York trip in the winter and Washington D.C. trip during the spring time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Alvernia does not have the 15 minute policy.

    In three sentences

    The professors here are great. They are all very helpful. I believe that I will graduate from here with my Bachelor Degree of Science as a Chemistry major, and fulfill my dreams here.

  • 04/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I think it is good.

    What to do for fun

    Spend time with my kids and going to their sporting events

    Food and Dining

    I do not eat there. 0

    Dorm Life

    Live off campus

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to challenge yourself. The professors make you think outside the box.

    In three sentences

    Alvernia has small classes and that is great. I rate Alvernia as an 8 on a 1 to 10, and 10 being the best. They have the major I want with professors in the field.

  • 05/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Every student has the number for our public safety and they are on call 24/7.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a wide variety of clubs and activities on campus. I am currently the treasurer for the psychology club on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who loves to be involved and who is serious about their education.

    What to do for fun

    There has been a new building just built called the Commens. There is a new gym for students to work out in. And there is a common room where comedians and other events are held.

    Dorm Life

    All the housing on campus is extremely nice and comfortable.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors do their best to help students achieve their needs.

    Tips for prospective students

    If one was to attend Alvernia, I would advise the perspective students to be involved in the campus as much as possible and to go after what one is interested in. Being involved and receiving good grades will help one out in the long run when looking for a career job.

    In three sentences

    Alvernia is a small school which is perfect for me because I am able to know most of the students in my class. This also allows the professors to help students in need during their office hours. The campus activities board does an excellent job with creating events and activities that allow the students to stay out of their dorms and stay involved with the campus.

  • 06/21/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    25 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Alvernia offers weekend trips to sports games, such as the Philadelphia Phillies and other local attractions. Also weekly the college's sports teams have games on campus to attend, club meetings and games such as bingo to immerse yourself in the campus lifestyle and make lasting friendships.

    Food and Dining

    The food is amazing but there is a wonderful fitness center to help keep students in shape after eating from the never ending array of treats.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuting student and will not live on campus. But while taking the tour on campus they offer secure and beautiful and spacious dorm spaces for the students that will live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    It may seem intimidating taking five classes every semester, but there is a tutoring center on campus to help you better understand any class material you may have a hard time learning while in the classroom.

    Tips for prospective students

    If coming as a transfer from another college register and attend a Transfer Tuesday event to receive appropriate care. And visit sporting events to become more acclimated with the layout of the college. Ask the questions as they come you, to make sure that you are receiving the attention you deserve as a student.

    In three sentences

    I am a transfer student from Reading Area Community College. I registered and attended the campus on a Transfer Tuesday and immediately fell in love. I was treated as a family member and not like a business deal.

  • 06/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They have trips that they offer to students at a discount, along with sports.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to walk in the rain and snow, if you buy your books, remember you can sell them at the end of the semester!

    In three sentences

    Alvernia is one of the few colleges I like. A small friendly campus, that is dedicated to educating their students.

  • 07/15/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 27 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public safety is ridiculous and thinks there cops

    Greek Life

    none.

    Clubs and Activities

    none.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to really learn with no fun.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Franciscan traditions are practiced here.

    Bang for the buck

    Typical catholic school price.

    What to do for fun

    nothing.

    Food and Dining

    Food is nasty.

    Dorm Life

    clare hall is nice but anthony and veronica are kind of dirty.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are small so one on one attention is always available.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dont come here if your looking for diversity. Dont come here if your looking for fun. Dont come here if your looking for friends.

    In three sentences

    Good for students who do not want to party. Good for students who want a serious academic atmosphere. Good for students who want a small campus and class setting.

  • 07/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 31

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are so many options! You just have to make sure you know what is going on and get involved. If you want to do something but aren't sure, take a friend along and check it out. The more the merrier.

    Food and Dining

    The food is not the best, but there is nothing you can do but bring your own.

    Dorm Life

    Alvernia has wonderful dorms for each year of students.

    Academic Rigor

    Alvernia is a good challenge but is nothing you cannot excel in. Professors are more than helpful when needed, you just need to make sure you see when you need help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to get involved! Don't stay in your dorm with your roommates all the time. Meeting others outside your roommates is key. Get involved and enjoy!

    In three sentences

    Alvernia University has a beautiful campus. It is nice and small which makes it great for getting around. It has a wonderful up beat social scene.

  • 09/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food and dining is average.

    Dorm Life

    The housing at Alvernia Univeristy is great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you want to go to a small school before committing to Alvernia University.

    In three sentences

    A medium sized school in Reading, PA. The classes are small and are great if you want individualized attention.

  • 11/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on campus. We have campus safety officers who do rounds all day and night. We also have E2Campus emergency alert text messaging system and several call boxes around campus for emergancies.

    Greek Life

    Alpha Phi Omega! Brand new this semester as a petitioning group, hoping to be a chapter by the end of this year!

    Clubs and Activities

    There are lots of great clubs and activities, but it can be difficult to find something to fit your class schedule. Bingo Cure-sader club (fundraising for cancer) Alpha phi Omega (service fraternity) Circle K Hooked on Helping(crochet and knit) Student Government Association Campus Activities Board most major associated clubs (Students of Occupational Therapy Association ect.) environmental club sports(basketball, baseball, soccer, field hockey, track, most others,but not football) intramurals And many more

    Great for these types of students

    Occupational Therapy Majors in the PA NJ DE NY VA area one of very few schools offering a 5 year program for this major, and one of the best programs! Anyone who likes to help other people. There is a really strong emphasis on service here! Those who want a small school feel, but a university degree.

    Bang for the buck

    I think this school is very worth the money, especially for healthcare majors!

    What to do for fun

    There's always something fun to do on campus. From dances to basketball games, comedians to music, and everywhere in between! Bingo is a big deal here for some reason, and there's always opportunities to win prizes!

    Food and Dining

    One main cafeteria, a commuter cafe, a cafe for special events, and a to go style cafeteria open late in the physical education center. It's not momma's food, but it's college, no where has mom's food. Upperclassmen dorms also have the capability of cooking, so if you don't like the cafeteria food, you only have to deal with it for a year or two.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are set up pretty well, and get nicer as each student moves forward in her academic year (freshman, sophomore,ect.). Residents life is really activin in finding fun activities on campus, the RA's are great resources.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors really push every student to his fullest potential, and all classes are taught by professors, not grad students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a tour of campus and ask plenty of questions. Be prepared to do community service hours, as you can't graduate without 40 hours. Don't be afraid to ask questions, you're paying for school, might as well learn something! :-)

    In three sentences

    Alvernia University is great because it has all of the benefits of a university on a small, close knit campus. The professors get to know the students and make themselves available to them. Great five year combined BA/MSOT program!

  • 12/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 31

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    All of the food I have purchased from the Courtside Cafe was very good, but it was more than what I would normally pay for food.

    Dorm Life

    I am a commuter.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are very dedicated to ensuring their students get the most out of every lecture or lab. All of my professors knew me, and that made it very easy to contact them for extra help with material covered in class.