Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Alverno College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/27/2009

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    6 out of 6 people found this review useful. 1 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who do well in groups and those who prefer a small college.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your going into nursing, this is a great school. If you want to be a pre-Professional student (pre-med, pre-pharm, etc.) I suggest going into another school that specializes in such.

    Bang for the buck

    Alverno is a private college so it costs lot more than a public college, like say the UW-Milwaukee. It does help that all the class rooms are small so you can really get in contact with your teachers easily. But for someone like me who wanted to get into graduate school it was pretty difficult. Alverno does not give out letter grades so the GPA requirement for Grad school is fufilled by teachers giving an individual grade for each student who will one day apply for grad school. Also if you transfer out of Alverno you stand the chance of losing many of your hours because Alverno has such unique classes.

    Did enjoy being here

    Everyone is really friendly and all the teachers stay on a first name basis. The fact that it is a women's college gives the sense of comradeship to the school.

    Did learn a lot

    Since I only experienced my freshmen year here I did not not experience their upper level classes so I can't say much there. But due to their unique system based on communication and group work I did learn a lot about giving speeches and presenting proper papers.

  • 12/13/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that like smaller, more hands-on classes. Those who would not like to be in a 300-student lecture hall, but rather a 20-student classroom.

    Bang for the buck

    It is more expensive since it's a private school, but I think in the long run it'll be worth it!

    Am enjoying being here

    Everyone is very friendly, and with it being an all women's college, everyone is very supportive!

    Am learning a lot

    They definitely challenge you & push you outside of your comfort zone! It may seem awkward at first, but I just finished my 1st semester here & I look back and realize how much I've grown already.

  • 10/29/2009

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 out of 5 people found this review useful. 3 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for the students who want a better future what to pursue there dreams and are looking for a school that is welling to help them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Is a great school I recommend it.

    Will enjoy being here

    Ill enjoy for real to be attendint this school. I go there to field trips with the school all the time. I enjoy it.

    Will learn a lot

    What I have heard about this school everybody tells me is a great college I want to apply here due to the fact that I know if i need help they will help me. This school will help me learn a lot. Thats why is teh school that is my first choice,

  • 01/31/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are used to or need small class sizes (no more than 30 people), students who work hard and take accountability of themselves, and students who aren't afraid of a challenge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Carefully plan out your finances before you attend school. Calculate how much you would need to take out for loans (if applicable) and save as much money as possible. Also, buy all of the books that you can online-it will save you a lot of money!

    Bang for the buck

    The cost of tuition, books, fees, room and board is very stressful-I realize that private schools cost more, but there are times when I feel that the cost is too high.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy most of my classes, which is more than I could say about my high school! I live in the dorms, which has also been a great experience.

    Am learning a lot

    I feel well-prepared for my field (teaching). I've been in schools doing field work and have had current teachers tell me that they wish their colleges required them to do more field work in order to prepare them.

  • 11/09/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Alverno is great for students (girls) who are looking for an all girls school and enjoy small class rooms and hands on classes. Dorming is available to students who live far from Alverno.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommend for undecided education and nursing majors. I was a transfer student who was between nursing and education for my major and found out that it was easy to change to the other because I knew that Alverno had two great programs!

    Bang for the buck

    Being a private school, Alverno is a bit on pricier side of the spectrum. You are guaranteed to be pushed to succeed and in the long run you fill find out strengths and weaknesses!

    Am enjoying being here

    Alverno is in a great area and close to downtown Milwaukee. Considering that Alverno is an all women's school, I feel like you are able to focus on school and succeeding rather then boys and having to dress to impress. Everyone is very nice and helpful. Also, teachers remember your name and the staff is very friendly. I am enrolled in the nursing program and love it. They offer a four-year degree so I can go further with my career.

    Am learning a lot

    I enjoy the small classrooms and the discussions we can have in them. Once you get to know everyone, talking in front of class and making speeches is easy to overcome. In my opinion now when I'm out in the real world talking I have a higher confidence. Another great aspect of Alverno is they allow to give yourself self assessments to compare them with your teacher. You learn what you can improve on and they are right by your side to help you!

  • 07/20/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Women who like to communicate in groups, like a small community and small classes. People who also want a one-on-one attention with their professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you don't like to work in groups and interact with others, its ok because as you start, you also start to get loose and get involved with others. It is just a process that you have to go through in order for you to like working in groups and communicate. For those who have no problem in communicating have an advantage because as they start, they will be in a much higher level.

    Bang for the buck

    When I started attending this college, I really didn't mind about how much it would cost me because I think it will also be worth it. If you need help with money, there's financial aid that can help you and Alverno, I believe gives a scholarship, that can help you through your four years.

    Am enjoying being here

    I like when you email a professor they answer you fast and they are always there for you. If you have questions or have any concerns, you can make an appointment for the next day.

    Am learning a lot

    When I arrived to this college I was very scared in making speeches but once I got to know everyone, talking in front of class and making speeches became easy to overcome.

  • 03/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    they do not have very prominent greek life on campus. but if you would like to join there are some options available.

    What to do for fun

    they offer the mug events hosted by one of the campus organizations every wednesday night. if you do not have a car though there are options within walking distance for dining and the shopping mall is one bus away.

    Food and Dining

    the hot food line has different options every day that may or may not fit what to want. they are very flexible to fit people dietary needs whether they are vegetarians or lactose intolerant. they also offer a grill that has a consistent menu and a deli style line.

    Dorm Life

    staying in the dorms is quite convenient especially for those 8 a.m. classes and late night courses. they also have a very effective system of how to run things to be organized and safe.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you do a lot of research on this school before making your final decision to attend. also, keep in good contact with you admission counselor prior to entering and you advisor once accepted.

    In three sentences

    this is a great school for students who can adapt to an all women school. they are excellent for nursing majors. they do offer spacious and convenient dorms for those who want to stay on campus.

  • 05/19/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Last summer I decided to go to Alverno College and I absolutely loved it. I will continue to go to Alverno this coming fall. Alverno has showed me that my teachers really care about me and that I'm not just a number. The teachers take the time to give you feedback on every paper that you complete. I love going to Alverno because I am becoming more confident in myself and I feel that I am not so self-conscious. Alverno has helped me find myself and I know that I can be the best if I keep working hard. Life is only as good as the effort you put into it.

    Am enjoying being here

    I absolutely love Alverno! It is a great community, everyone is extremely friendly, and you always see smiling faces. I will be a sophomore in the fall, but I have already made a transition into being an over achiever!

    Am learning a lot

    I have learned so much from all of the teachers; they give me feedback on every single paper that I have written, they refer to me by my name other than a number, and they take time out of their busy schedules to have a one-on-one conversation with me.

  • 08/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who want to go into Nursing, Education, and those who like small class sizes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and study abroad.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is very high but There are many scholarships available and it is worth the cost.

    Am enjoying being here

    The environment is perfect. It's confortable and the professors are very helpful.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are a challenge but It is helping me to grow as a person.

  • 02/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security makes sure that this school is safe!

    Greek Life

    there are greek groups here, but not a lot.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are many clubs and activities that you can get involved in on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    students who plan on going to school for nursing. this school is well-known for their nursing program. students are looking for smaller class sizes, there are no grades. you either receive a p for pass or a u for failing.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    they have something called convocation. this is when new students get inducted into alverno!

    Bang for the buck

    expensive college! but worth it!

    What to do for fun

    there are always activities going on on-campus. but most of the time during the weekday. during the weekend, it can be kind of boring.

    Food and Dining

    we have two different places we can eat. the first place is the commons which is the cafeteria. they are variety of foods they can make there, but when you live on campus. you can really get tired of it! the other place is the mug, which is very limited with how much food they have present. they have more homemade drinks there, but really limited on food.

    Dorm Life

    i enjoy the dorm life here! i live in austin hall which is the least expensive dorm hall. i have met so many nice people and made friends.

    Academic Rigor

    i thought that classes will be easy, because its pass or fail. classes are harder, but they can be easy if you really take heat to teachers feeback. so take your teacher's feedback serious, it can really help you .

    Tips for prospective students

    when entering alverno, please become aware of the student leadership opporunities that we have on campus. it is great to get involved leadership opporunities early in your college career. also, take the time to get to know your resources. we have a science, math and writing resource center that is here for you!

    In three sentences

    alverno college is a great, well-respected school. tuition may be high, but you get your money worth.

  • 03/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is there round the clock around campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all types of students willing to take advantage of all areas of their education. Alverno is very diverse.

    Bang for the buck

    Though, Alverno is a private institution, it is worth the expense. You're in a community that is garnered to help you succeed in your education and future.

    What to do for fun

    There are various student organizations and sport groups that offer a wide variety from black student union to soroities. Alverno has a very diverse community.

    Food and Dining

    The Alverno cafeteria offer great food and healthy choices for all cravings.

    Tips for prospective students

    If considering Alverno College, consider that you have a chance to grow into the woman that can be prepared for all areas and aspects of life and that no stone goes unturned at Alverno. It will challenge you to be the best.

    In three sentences

    Alverno is a great institution that has allowed me to fully engage in the success of my education. I'm granted the ability to reach my full potential in all aspects of my life. Alverno is the best school in the midwest!

  • 03/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety is a plus. There are always security guards walking around and checking on the well being of the students and the campus.

    What to do for fun

    Alverno offers a lot of student activities. You can choose to become a part of a student club or you can participate in any of the fun and educational events the Student Activities Board has going on.

    Food and Dining

    The food is always good. They have healthy options for everyone and also vegan options that I heard are very tasty.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life here is great. Very caring and helpful resident staff, fun activities, a peaceful atmosphere, not to mention the other great students in the dorm hall are all of the perks you'll receive if you chose to stay in one of the two halls.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic criteria here is a lot different for students coming from high school or another college that received letter grades, but once you get used to the helpful feedback that you receive instead, you'll definitely get used to the change.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply and get all of your paperwork in early. All of the important offices (business office, financial aid office) are helpful and willing to work with you as long as you do your part.

    In three sentences

    The best choice in colleges I have chosen since graduating high school. This college is uniquely different in some academic areas, but it is all for the best of the student.

  • 04/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Alverno campus is extremely safe. It is well lit and there is plenty of parking close to the buildings.

    Clubs and Activities

    For a small college there are plenty of clubs and activities. There is something for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Alverno is great for students who prefer to be judged based on performance of what has been learned rather than just on written exams. You can really excel if you can show you have grasped the material rather than just memorizing long enough to regurgitate the answers on a test.

    Bang for the buck

    Alverno provides a quality private education for a very competitive price.

    What to do for fun

    I live off campus but belong to a few groups. There is a theater with many performances of various kinds. There is a coffee shop in the dorms. There are also numerous scheduled student events.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is very good. It is a bit pricey though.

    Academic Rigor

    Alverno has a very academically rigorous curriculum. However, it still allows you to work part-time and still complete all your classwork. There are a lot of group projects in the business major.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take a tour and visit some classes Be sure an all female college is for you Research the ability based curriculum Talk to some of the current students and ask questions Meet with an admissions counselor

    In three sentences

    Alverno is an all female student college. It has a unique ability based curriculum. Alverno has very caring and accessible teachers and staff.

  • 05/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is always all over campus, you cannot go walking a long without seeing a campus security walking around or driving around the campus parking lots. I personally think that they do their best to keep the campus/students safe.

    Great for these types of students

    I think that this school is great for all kinds of students. Its a well diverse school and it has so many location that can help any student, with what ever is going.

    Food and Dining

    I personally think that the schools dining is way to expensive and I have also heard it from a lot other students. As for their food options its quite well they are getting better at not repeating the food as much as they did before. Overall the food is good but the prices are getting to pricey for students.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms, i personally do not stay in the dorms. The dorms are a way to get to meet new people, and they do there best to have plenty of events for those who leave on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I believe that the school strives to do its best to have students do well in there classes. They strive to give students all the help that they need, so that they can successfully pass and graduate top of the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    I think that if you dont know what you are going for (Major) dont panic, take your time. Alverno has many locations were you can go and ask questions so that you can get a better look at what your really want to focus on (major). If you are having trouble in any of your classes please ASK a lot of questions and GET HELP. If you are one of those students, like me, who are more reserved and dont like to ask questions in class, please request a one on one with your instructor. If you still do not get the material even with your instructors help, seek a tutor. If the help you are getting from your tutor/instructor does not help, please talk to someone about what is going on, I personally found out that I had a learning disability. Talking to someone about my troubles comprehending the material really help, as of now I am receiving all the help that I can. Trust me there is nothing wrong with a learning disability, I just had a different way of learning, and honestly I now get it and it works for me.

    In three sentences

    I think that it is a nice and friendly environment to be in. If you need help and seek it, you will receive it, I did. they have so many resources for students and instructors are sure to have one on ones with students so that they can better understand the material and ask as many questions.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security does their upmost to help students feel safe at school. Not only is security constantly seen patrolling the campus, they are all nice individuals.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club for any interest and any person. From business clubs to going green clubs, there is something for everyone. There is also no shortage of activities such as round table discussions or wellness classes.

    Great for these types of students

    Women! Alverno is an all women's college so any young girls looking to attend college should check out Alverno. Although it may seem weird, there is less competition and stress being surrounded by strong, Alverno women.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition for Alverno is not cheap, but it is completely worth it. Alverno does everything in their power to help students succeed in their lives, academically and personally.

    What to do for fun

    Located in Milwaukee, there is rarely a time where there is nothing to do. From on-campus activities to off-campus adventures, students have a wide range of things to do. Campus events include group discussions or documentary screenings. Off-campus activities include shopping at Southridge or going to the lake.

    Food and Dining

    The meal plans offered to students living on campus, and to those who don't, are affordable. Quality and satisfaction is very important to those who cook and serve the students of Alverno.

    Dorm Life

    Living on the dorms, students can create relationships from people from all parts of the world. There is a strong sense of community within the dorms that makes students feel safe and at home even though they may be hundreds of miles away.

    Academic Rigor

    The small class sizes give all students the chance to succeed. The real world class work and group work provides students with the experience they will need when they start their careers. Alverno sets students up to succeed in future careers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take it seriously. College is what sets you up for the rest of your life. Don't waste time in college by partying or blowing off classes.

    In three sentences

    Alverno is ranked the number one school in the midwest. The small class sizes and personal relationships with instructors really pushes students to do their best. Alverno classes also provide a real world experience.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is 24/7 security on campus at all times.

    Great for these types of students

    I believe Alverno is a great school for mothers that haven''t been to school in awhile. I feel that Alverno caters to all student but especially to mothers of all ages.

    Food and Dining

    I must say that the food and dining is not that great or tasty. The food is okay but over priced. If you''re going to over price food it better be worth it because college students are poor. And the food is definitely not worth it!

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life at Alverno I believe really depends on which building you stay in either Austin or Clare. I have not had the chance to experience Clare Hall because it''s for older students and upperclassmen. But I have lived in Austin Hall and the visitor rules seemed quite strict to me especially when applying to male visitors. Their are also good qualities about the dorm life: 1. No curfew! 2. Easier to get to class in the morning. And 3. easy access to computers if you don''t have one.

    Academic Rigor

    I think that the rigor Alverno is very exceptional. The class sizes are small which makes it easier for students to connect with their professors. And The professors are all highly educated in their field of study. Alverno was also, ranked the #1 college in the Midwest last year 2011.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend that future students should make sure that they always have time for their studies and don''t let them get overwhelming.

    In three sentences

    I believe that Alverno is a very inspirational school for the students attending. It provides a lot of opportunities for students to get involved with the community and extend a helping hand to those in need. Also, Alverno is a a very friendly and welcoming environment to be in.

  • 06/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    No weapons are allowed and security officers always roaming the parking lot structures.

    Greek Life

    No sororities allowed in the school, but they allow you to join other sorority group from other schools.

    Clubs and Activities

    Alverno has many clubs for pretty much every major in the school and others extra fun clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    independent, determined, and dedicated women.

    Bang for the buck

    Alverno is a fun all girls college. Teachers are awsome and understandable. I love this college its the right fit for me!

    What to do for fun

    Organizations are available for everyone they are fun and interesting. They also organize events for the students living in the dorms.

    Food and Dining

    Meal plans are pricey, but the meals are tasty.

    Dorm Life

    Im not familiar with the dorms but from others i've heard that are very neat and comfortable.

    Academic Rigor

    I love how the Alverno faculty teaches. I like working with others and being able to improve my communcation skills.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to study hard and work with others.

    In three sentences

    Alverno College, great classroom set-up and size. Campus safe and comfortable parking structure. Teachers are great because they take time to explain everything in detail and they actually care about the students needs.

  • 07/17/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Many shy students begin at Alverno and end up confident and self-assured. This is because Alverno College focuses on making individuals more fit for the world (both the working world and the world in general).

    What to do for fun

    I do not know as of yet, but there are many student organizations and volunteer opportunities. Besides this, there is a fitness room and music opportunities for all majors (not just music majors).

    Food and Dining

    The dining service works with students' needs such as food allergies and vegetarianism. Also, the alumnae who gave the tour said that the food was very good especially compared with other colleges. She had attended a different college before attending Alverno.

    Dorm Life

    There are many people to meet and many activities to get involved. From what I hear, dorm life will be very interesting and fun.

    Academic Rigor

    There are no grades given at Alverno College. The only person with whom you will be competing is yourself. You are given the gift of self-improvement.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look into scholarships early. There is a scholarship for knowing someone who attended Alverno.

    In three sentences

    Alverno College is enlightenment. The staff work very personally with each student and it is nearly impossible to be lost in the application process. Also, Alverno College teaches its students to think and be an active participant in life, learning, and sharing.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Non-traditional, Traditional, adult returning students, commuters

    What to do for fun

    Alverno College is moments away from the downtown area and lakefront where many fesitvals and events take place. A myriad of cultural activities are available year round including the performing arts center, concert halls, and entertainment venues.

    Food and Dining

    Eco-friendly and sustainable resources are used in the main dining area. Healthy food options are available, in addition to grill favorites. Economically priced to meet any budget.

    Academic Rigor

    Students and instructors work in partnership to master abilities. Far beyond the pages of a textbook, real world solutions and applications are in play enabling to student to influence her family, local community and global community.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to compete with yourself. Alverno pushes commitment, integrity and honesty. The ability to do more and be more is cultivated in each student.

    In three sentences

    Alverno College has a unique 8 ability-based curriculum that challenges its female undergraduates to demonstrate mastery in each core sections. Bachlor degree programs are available traditionally throughout the week and non-traditionally offering weekend and weeknight classes. US News & World Reports ranks Alverno No. 1 in educating undergrads for both 2011 and 2012; totaling 27 listings since 1983.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's all gated off, and feels like you are in your backyard at home. I love the campus. It has security guards for at night. They also have lights everywhere, and every building is within less than half a mile from each other.

    Clubs and Activities

    Just about every sport that any girl could want to play, at a a division III competition level.

    Great for these types of students

    Girls that are outgoing and love to meet new people. Girls that are open to new experiences.

    What to do for fun

    IT'S MILWAUKEE!! WHAT ISNT THERE TO DO?!

    Tips for prospective students

    I think you should really take the time to tour the school because it's incredible for what it has to offer. The teachers seem like they love what they do.

    In three sentences

    It feels like I am right at home there, and fit in perfectly. All the girls seem welcoming, and I think its going to feel like one giant family of sisters. The school spirit seems tremendous, and Im thrilled to add to it!

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is very important, at Alverno you will feel very secure. If the student is looking to live in the dorms and worried about the location of the college no need to worry all the dorms are equipped with locks and to use the stairs or elevator you will need a student id badge.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is always a club or activity for anyone at Alverno! No matter your personality type whether it be shy or extroverted Alverno College has something that you will fit into!

    Great for these types of students

    I would say Alverno is great for nontraditional students or students that do not ordinarily test very well. The nontraditional students have the on site day care and classes that can either be weekday or weekend to work with a more booked schedule. Alverno is great for students that don't test well because of their nontraditional grading system. This type of grading system does not degrade the average student but helps them understand and work with whatever their specific problem might be.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of the most unusual things that Alverno College is known for is their high percentage of nontraditional students. Alverno has a very vast spread of ages of their students. Because of this Alverno is one of the only colleges that provides on site day care for the college student's children.

    Bang for the buck

    To some Alverno's sticker price is expensive. However with the help that the Alverno staff gives each student finding money shouldn't be too hard. The money that the students pay for the education at Alverno is well worth it! They specifically design your classes to your precise major and make sure that their students maintain above average grade point averages. When an Alverno student searches for a job after graduation high percentages of them found their career within a few months.

    What to do for fun

    Alverno offers a great campus life. Every Wednesday in the Austin Hall there is a fun experience waiting to be done. In addition there are many clubs for whatever the specific student is interested in doing. If you get bored there, well then there is always one of the other dorm mates waiting for something to do. A student will never get bored solely based on the community companionship that Alverno offers.

    Food and Dining

    So far so good! Alverno has demonstrated a impeccable taste for wonderful food! Their catering is something that I highly recommend. Not only does the food taste flawless but I feel like a queen every time I eat. There are always multiple dishware for the different servings for the meal and fancy drinking glasses as if we were always sitting down attending a tea-party.

    Dorm Life

    First year students at Alverno College between the ages of seventeen and twenty are required to have a roommate in the Austin Hall. This is one of the many qualities that Alverno teaches its students right from the beginning to work as a community. All dorms are equipped with a mini fridge, microwave, and a sink. In addition the Austin Hall has a community center on the first floor where all the dorm members can lounge. I would highly recommend living in the dorms for the first year of college to get more involved with the community of Alverno.

    Academic Rigor

    Within Alverno College grades do not exist! Instead they use a system of satisfactory. This will help any student to not feel so competitive and to work with any size of a group. In addition this grading system helps the student have a more personal relationship with their mistakes along with their professors. It teaches students to evaluate themselves along with having one on one sessions with their professors to review their academic progress.

    Tips for prospective students

    The one thing a prospective student should know about Alverno College is not to be afraid of it's sticker value. Alverno's financial aid and business offices are more than willing to work with any type of person with financial aid difficulties. Do your homework, find scholarships, and apply! It is well worth your efforts!

    In three sentences

    The atmosphere of Alverno College for a first year student is everything any young woman would dream of having. Alverno College has clearly demonstrated how their staff and students are so willing to help any person on their future endeavors. With this small community not only is there a wonderful support system but you truly feel like you are home.

  • 08/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are walking security guards on campus at all times. There are cameras in and outside of campus. And emergency call-phones located throughout the campus. I feel very safe!

    What to do for fun

    There are many programs Alverno offers, my two favorites are the 'Idol' contest which students sing and win MONEY towards tuition and the other program I love is the 'Beauty Pageant'. So fun and you get to cheer your friends on or be a part of the programs if you choose!

    Food and Dining

    There is a huge cafeteria in the center of campus with all kinds of fresh foods that anyone will enjoy. It's average priced and if you live on campus you get a meal plan. There is also an on-campus coffee shop. YUM!

    Dorm Life

    I personally didn't live in the dorms, I drive to school everyday. There is one dormitory at school and the people I do know that live on campus have a more positive attitude and seem to have more on-campus friends.

    Academic Rigor

    We do not have a grading scale at school. You either pass or fail, because of this program, you are less stressed about getting that ideal grade, and rather, you are more in tune with your class/subject matter. The facilitators are great with helping you achieve your goals.

    Tips for prospective students

    You don't know until you try, apply! Financial aid is very easy to apply for as well, first apply for FAFSA then talk to the financial aid office for further opportunities for FREE money!

    In three sentences

    I've been to three other colleges in Milwaukee area, and this is by far the best school I've been to. The professors know you by name and want you to succeed. The students are very outgoing, very approachable and friendly.

  • 08/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe on campus. Having grew up in a small town, Milwaukee was a huge change and I felt 100% safe on campus as there was always security patroling.

    Greek Life

    Personally, I am unaware.

    Clubs and Activities

    There seems to be a club for everything! Also, there are so many free events on campus it would be a shame to not attend them.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The chapel is beautiful and a great, quite place to study.

    Bang for the buck

    Alverno is one of the cheapest private colleges in Wisconsin. My experience at Alverno was well worth every penny I spent.

    What to do for fun

    Go off campus. Milwaukee has so much to offer!

    Food and Dining

    Great food yet expensive if you are not a dorm student on a meal plan.

    Dorm Life

    There are tons of activities and events that make living on campus fun. After 3 years on campus, I moved out on my own. I wish I had stayed around as all the resources I need for class are on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    While there are no grades, you don't have to compete with classmates, you compete with yourself. Each semester you have to do better and better to prove you are the best you can be.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be in communication with your classmates, departments on campus, professors, etc. Everyone wholeheartedly wants you to succeed.

    In three sentences

    Alverno has an ability based curriculum verses the typical grades system. At first this way of grading was confusing to me until someone kindly explained that Alverno teaches you to compete with yourself, not others. Demonstrating abilities and further developing and growing in those areas over time tells you more about your education and yourself than grades ever could.

  • 08/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is on campus 24/7 and has a phone number you can call anytime if you feel threatened or in danger. They will also escort you to your car during the evening when it is dark. A safety report is sent via email to all students and staff and is available via Alverno's website. Doors are locked at 2200.

    What to do for fun

    Fun can be defined in many different ways. Alverno is highly involved in the community and employs opportunities for getting involved via email, posters hung around the campus, and word of mouth. There are always activities that gain the interest of the diverse population, whether it is on campus or off.

    Food and Dining

    There is a variety of food choices that can be selected from a deli, salad bar, grill, and/or a hot entree choice. There is always a vegetarian option and the sodium content is minimal. The disposable utensils are made from recycled material and food scraps are composted.

    Dorm Life

    I have not experienced this, but have talked with other individuals about their experiences. My rating is based off of what they have told me.

    Academic Rigor

    Alverno's learning experience is based on eight abilities that are essential for success after earning your degree. Educational courses are designed to help students achieve these abilities with confidence and using their critical thinking skills. Professor and student feedback are important for success in available courses, as well as self-assessment.

    Tips for prospective students

    You will benefit from the challenges you face throughout you time at Alverno. Your will be molded into someone who learns from multiple sources (self-assessment, feedback from others, personal experience) and someone who is confident about being successful in the future despite previous failures.

    In three sentences

    Alverno is a college of excellence with a variety of opportunities for students. The warm atmosphere at Alverno supports open minded individuals willing to share ideas with each other to attain goal achievement. Class size is small compared to other universities, so there is a greater opportunity to meet with professors on an individual basis.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Very diverse and looking for fun.

    Bang for the buck

    If you're a student that likes to work hard and learn Alverno is worth the cost.

    What to do for fun

    Alverno hosts events every night that range from plays to live bands.

    Food and Dining

    Alverno has the best food options on campus, but food can be a little expensive. There are great dining options around campus as well.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are very nice but freshmen dorms don't contain AC which can be very hot in the summer.

    Academic Rigor

    Alverno is very challenging because you don't receive letter grades everything is treated as an assessment which can become difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work,learn,speak in a group and analyze everything you read!!!

    In three sentences

    If I had to rate Alverno college I would give it an eight. Alverno has a very high rating in academics and you will be challenged. However Alverno can be very costly.

  • 09/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hardworking

    What to do for fun

    There are hundreds of student clubs and activities, get involved!

    Food and Dining

    They buy locals and have a good selection of food.

    Dorm Life

    No air conditioning in Austin hall, no other complaints!

    Academic Rigor

    Very hard but fair and fun teachers!

    Tips for prospective students

    Be afraid of nothing here.

    In three sentences

    I love that Alverno's learning is ability based, because it's more challenging. The atmosphere at this college is very welcoming and comfortable. I have never wanted an education so badly, and I know I will get it here!

  • 09/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always an officer on stand-by.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am planning to be apart of the Black Student Union, Wisconsin Education Association, and Women in Business.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    For new students, there is a Convocation and Welcome Picnic! which I am attending.

    What to do for fun

    bible study, sporting events, and homecoming!

    Food and Dining

    No need to complain. The food is well done!

    Dorm Life

    Everyone is friendly and very welcoming! There are always study sessions and movie nights.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors really do care to ensure that every student isn't left behind and that we fully understand. There is also outside classroom help that Alverno provides if tutoring is needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! Ask questions. Take advantage of the endless opportunities!

    In three sentences

    Alverno College is Women Empowerment! Everyone assists each other to make them feel welcomed and understanding of everything. There is always student involvement that is very interesting.

  • 09/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    We have two sororities.

    Great for these types of students

    Women not focused on a grade point or A-B-C grades.

    Bang for the buck

    Alverno is expensive, but provides academic scholarships as well as other forms of aid.

    What to do for fun

    The Mug always has events on Wednesdays! Getting involved in student events as well as organizations is a great way to make friends and have fun!

    Tips for prospective students

    Utilize feedback for a more successful semester overall.

    In three sentences

    Alverno expects more from you. Teachers give feedback and are personal. You feel empowered to succeed.

  • 09/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The dorms are always locked with a sensor, and each floor requires a key to enter. There are blue lights located all over campus, and security is always making rounds in and out of the buildings. There is a hospital just blocks away. Alverno is in a very quiet, safe neighborhood.

    Greek Life

    There is no on-campus Greek life, but there are opportunities at other local colleges.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many things to get involved with. There are athletics, like tennis, softball, volleyball, dance, basketball, and soccer. There are also the weekly performers and bake sales. The clubs are diverse, including a nursing association, pre-professional club, green team, equestrian club, anime club, college mothers club, volunteer club, among others. And, it is so easy to join or even start a new group!

    Great for these types of students

    To be an undergraduate, you must be female, but males are allowed in the graduate programs. Alverno is great for those who want intimate in-class relationships that extend outside of the classroom, and also for those who prefer smaller class sizes. It also is a very diverse population, with students from Japan, Ireland, Kenya, and more.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a beautiful garden at the entrance with an outdoor stage for summer shows, a water fountain, and plenty of spots to meet with people or study.

    Bang for the buck

    Alverno is a reasonably priced school, at about $22,000 per year. The price includes all the free activities, extra tutoring, and on-campus parking. The dorms are only around $3000, and that includes an extensive meal plan. Books are relatively cheap, running about $300 per semester, and the bookstore offers buybacks. Alverno is also very generous in awarding scholarships, as almost every incoming student receives one.

    What to do for fun

    There is so much going on around campus! There are exercise classes a few times a week, sports games, bake sales, and much more. Every Wednesday there is a special performance, and there are always groups of girls watching movies. There are club meetings to attend, guest speakers to see, and there are many objects available to rent, like bikes and sports balls. In walking distance, there are many restaurants, including a great custard place, and beautiful parks.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria offers many choices. There are the basic snacks, like chips, soda, cookies, and nachos. Then, for breakfast there are muffins, eggs, bacon, pancakes, waffles, oatmeal, fresh fruit, yogurt, and more. During lunch and dinner there is a build-your-own sub bar, salad bar, and grill station that serves made-to-order burgers, paninis, fries, and tenders. In addition to that, there is an entree of the day that differs for lunch and dinner, ranging from fish to pasta to stir-frys. There is also a coffeehouse that serves custom drinks from Alterra Coffee, such as frappes, mocha, and smoothies.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm rooms here are HUGE! They comfortably fit two twin beds and come equipped with two desks, a microwave and refrigerator, two spacious closets, and a sink. The environment is friendly, with an open door policy that invites you to meet new people. There are lounges with full kitchens and an entertainment system on each floor, and they have air conditioning with wireless Internet. There is also a coffeehouse in the basement, and many activities take place here, such as magic shows and musical performances.

    Academic Rigor

    Alverno has one of the top nursing programs in the nation, and it has been recognized as the top private school in the Midwest by US Weekly. There are many class options and majors and minors offered, such as music therapy, pre-professional, and education. The classes can be challenging, but the professors are very helpful and provide feedback to improve. Also, Alverno does not use traditional letter grades, the only college to do so. Instead, the curriculum is based on 8 core values, like analysis and communication, that every graduate must meet.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! There are so many diverse groups to join, like the equestrian club, environmental club, or multicultural club. There is a board that sponsors weekly activities, like concerts, magicians, and trips to the beach. Alverno also has numerous sports teams, but there are also free exercise classes like Zumba and yoga. I also recommend asking for the emails and numbers of a few classmates so you can ask them questions. Living on campus is also a must, since it is nice to be able to go back to your room if class is done early or you forgot something. Plus, it is the best way to meet new people and enjoy activities!

    In three sentences

    The girls are so friendly, outgoing, accepting, and diverse; it is so easy to meet great new friends. The professors are all very helpful and want you to succeed, offering extra help and availability and providing criteria for each homework assignment; the office workers and counselors also keep in contact and are very knowledgeable. Finally, the campus is lush with fauna and there are so many quite, secluded areas to study; it is also a small campus and is easy to navigate while being located in a safe neighborhood.

  • 09/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Alverno has 24 hour/ 7 days a week security. They will even walk you to your car at night!

    Clubs and Activities

    Many Many clubs. I cant even begin to say how many but most related to areas of study .

    Great for these types of students

    Those who hate grades (A, B, C) someone who wouldn't mind figuring out their strengths and weaknesses.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Convocation is every Fall for freshmans, you receive a pin stating that you are like a citezen of the Alverno community. Very welcoming, along with homecoming, dances and so forth.

    Bang for the buck

    Alverno is not cheap, but it's not expensive for a private school. Less expensive than the U W system but also a private, Catholic, all woman's school. Alverno has a lot to offer and is # in the Midwest.

    What to do for fun

    ALOT of activities planned on campus , you can never get board. Every Wednesday in the dorms there is a performance or activity. And almost everyday, there is some kind of meeting or club to attend.

    Food and Dining

    Not the best, but if you'd rather eat fast food be my guest. Some nighse are better than others and you have a lot of options.

    Dorm Life

    Not everyone you meet will impress you and you may not get a long with everyone, but there are a lot of activities planned on campus. It is also way more covenant to take 2 minutes to go to class from the dorms. A lot of international students so it's a really eye-opening experience.

    Academic Rigor

    Yes, the classes do get harder the longer you are here. But Alverno makes sure you understand the information before you move on to the next area. It is challenging at points, but it makes you a better person and professional.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are someone who likes to feel empowered and want to be in an all women school, this is the place. Alverno does the best at preparing you and the small class sizes help tremendously.

    In three sentences

    Makes woman feel powerful and focuses on 8 abilities that will be necessary to not only function in society but in a professional job. Alverno does a great job at teaching the material and alleviating pressure against GPA. The campus is small and so are the class sizes.

  • 09/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You can get through any building through the inside. There really is no spot that is unattended, the parking lots are close and have lighting with call booths in case of emergencies. There are security guards and drivers.

    Clubs and Activities

    ENDLESS opportunities and when I say that, I mean it.

    Great for these types of students

    ANY type of student.

    Bang for the buck

    You are DEFINITELY paying for the attention, help, atmosphere, teaching style, activity opportunities, and all the academic opportunities.

    What to do for fun

    there are SO many activities it is endless. There is something going on everyday and there are so many groups that you can be a part of with no commitment.

    Food and Dining

    GREAT food. Alverno had a lot of healthy stuff and good junk stuff if you really like! They have a coffee place on campus and other vendings around. Occassionally they have groups that cook food such as french, mexican, etc.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms, I have not heard anything. The peope that do live there, like it.

    Academic Rigor

    It is challenging just like any other school, but it is a different type of challenge. It's almost easier because it's more related to life skills and they know that reading a book and taking a test and recieving a grade will do nothing for you in the future, but it is still a challenge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't let the all-girl thing throw you off. I didn't want to go because of that so I went somewhere my first year. BIG mistake, I transferred to Alverno and would NEVER take it back. GO to Alverno your first year even if you leery about some ideas. You don't want to waste any time or money at another college to realize you hate it. And you might like it because it's the only college you been to, but TRUST me you'll LOVE Alverno, love going to school, and be proud to be their student.

    In three sentences

    Alverno College is like NO other school in the country. It is amazing the way they teach and instill life skills, morals, and values. They don't just make you memorize stuff, take a test and give you a score, it's more than that. It's more about value and each student is treated like their child.

  • 12/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many things someone here can do for fun. If a girl lives on campus, there is always some kind of event happening whether it be a comedian coming to the coffeehouse or a magician. There are also many different clubs and activities a student can get involved in.

    Food and Dining

    They have a couple different options for food and dining. The commons is located in the school and that is where most students dine. There are many different options to choose from so one shouldn't get bored while eating here. There is also a coffehouse located in Austin Hall which sells delicious beverages of all sorts and food.

    Dorm Life

    I also live in the dorms and they are located very conveniently on campus. They aren't too far from anything and most everybody in residence life are great to work with. The only downfall of the dorms are that in, Austin Hall, the dorms do not have air conditioners so make it a priority to bring one for the end of summer and beginning of fall!

    Academic Rigor

    They are very flexible with the students learning capabilities. The professors are always looking out for the best interest of the student. Also, revision is almost always an option after doing a paper or assessment.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advise prospective students looking to go to Alverno, to be prepared to self-assess oneself. Students here have to assess themselves on most every speech, paper and assessment. This is not bad though because it helps the student become more comfortable with evaluating the job she has done.

    In three sentences

    I am currently a Freshman at Alverno College and it has been such a great experience thus far. The grading scale is completely different from any other college i've looked at or heard about. The school focuses on the student's abilities instead of just a letter grade.

  • 12/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never had an issue with campus safety, I feel comfortable walking to class at night and to the parking structure with no worry.

    Great for these types of students

    Alverno College is not your typical college persay, the community is much older and a lot of mothers. Its an all girls school and the focus is school work, for sure.

    Bang for the buck

    Alverno College is a private school and is expensive. They do help with in school scholarships and financial aid is always an option. I do believe that Alverno is a quality school so I definitely think you get what you pay for.

    What to do for fun

    As a full-time nursing student and a part time employee and the local hospital I do not participate in any activities on campus. However, I do know that they have a lot to offer as far as clubs and activities to get involved in.

    Food and Dining

    Food is good, but expensive like most colleges. Nothing spectacular or anything just the average salad bar, sandwiches and grill.

    Dorm Life

    I dont live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Evaluation in the curriculum of Alverno College is done on the basis of student demonstration of specified abilities, which consist of eight abilities. Academics are tougher here than at the four year university that I attended, Alverno college is based off of a pass/fail curriculum and standards are set high in order to achieve successful grades. A Lot of homework and a lot of studying!

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for prospective Alverno College students would be to stay on top of homework. I am a nursing major and classes are busy and have a lot of content in them, if you stay ahead of studying, reading and assignments you will be successful. Another tip I would give to a prospective Alverno College student would definitely be to attend class, unlike most colleges attendance is required and it is hard to be successful if you are not attending classes.

    In three sentences

    Alverno College is such a wonderful school. I am a transfer student therefore I do have another experience to compare it too and I would have to say that my experiences at Alverno College have made me grow and that its a school that will push you and make you the best person that you can be.

  • 12/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is HUGE here. Security guards patrol the campus 24/7. You need a card key to get into any of the dorm halls and on Austin a key to get on your floor. You also need to sign in/out any guest (they do monitor this) and there is always someone at the front guest. Also if you need anything security is always there for you to call on (they respond fast) even if you just need someone to walk you to your car in the middle of the night to get something. Since its an all girls school security is a big deal here. They are also very nice and friendly, you will know most by name by your first semester.

    Greek Life

    There are a couple but there are also off campus ones that you can choose from as well. There isnâ??t specific housing for Greek life that I know of.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are too many to list. If Alverno doesnâ??t have it you can create it easily. There is an activity going on campus at least once a week. Yes they also offer sports.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are shy, different, like community, ambitious woman, creative, loud, friendly.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are many. This college is very diverse. We have the ball in December (our theme this year was Bollywood). We have a hi-jab day, a day of fast, etc. There are many group discussions that you can attend which actually are very informative and fun, they invite professors and/or speakers to lead them such as feminism and sex trafficking in the world, even dating.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a private school so it is expensive for what you get and they try to charge you for everything. I still wouldn't choose to go anywhere else.

    What to do for fun

    Alverno is in Milwaukee so there are many different options no matter what you like to do for fun. Brewers stadium is down the street. There are many great museums within driving distance (or you can take the bus) public, art, the domes, childrenâ??s, etc. the list goes on. There are also no shortage for clubs and bars of any kind.

    Food and Dining

    Andre is a great chef and offers great meals, the commons also has many different options to choose from. If living on campus you choose from 3 meal plans, I would suggest option 2 if planning on eating a lot in commons. Otherwise there are many great food options off campus that are very nearby.

    Dorm Life

    Austin Hall: is for freshman or those who choose to have a roommate. Its cheaper. Its bigger than your typical dorm room and there is tons of storage space. Like the rest of Alverno, its a community atmosphere so its very open and forces you to socialize. Below the dorms is the pipeline (a great hangout/study spot) and the mug (cafe complete with stage and books). Male guests are allowed until 2am. Clare Hall: for upperclassmen. All are single rooms, still bigger than the normal dorm room. Still very much a community (especially on the floor that I was on, we all became a family) but you have a choice to bee open or private. Each floor has a lounge (big TV and couches) with a complete kitchen also with a separate room: 2nd floor has a workout room, 3rd has a computer lab with scanner and printer, and 4th has a study room. Clare is also attached to the rest of campus (very nice in the winter). Also male guests are allowed overnight and alcohol is allowed in your room (over 21).

    Academic Rigor

    There is no grading at Alverno, it's pass/fail. You may think that makes things easier but you would be wrong. It actually makes you work harder, but surprisingly that's OK. You do it for yourself not for the grade. It really forces you to know everything about your field. You learn through your teachers feed back and self assessment. They believe in learning by doing.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to your teachers often they will help you not only understand the information you are learning but will help you know where you stand in your classes. They will also continue to support you and offer you advice way after your classes are done. Also get involved in the Alverno community. You never know who you will meet or what knowledge you may gain, all while having lots of fun!

    In three sentences

    Alverno is a school that offers great community and diversity. It is also a school that makes you a leading woman in a mans world. It offers a different method of teaching and education in the collegiate world.

  • 01/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It is expensive looking from the outside, but after I applied I was amazed at how many scholarships they offered me and I am not an exceptional student.

    What to do for fun

    Probably 15 minutes away from downtown Milwaukee. You also get discounted Brewers tickets and a bunch of other goodies around the area.

    Academic Rigor

    It's tough, but it's college nothing the normal person can't handle. They have a different grading scale. It's more pass fail than grades. Although certain programs do have grades such as nursing.

    In three sentences

    The atmosphere is unlike any other college I have ever attended. Everyone is warm, welcoming and always has a smile on their face. The Academic advisers are the most helpful people I have ever come upon at a college level.

  • 02/05/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    36 of 51

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Alverno is a very friendly campus. You always see people, who smile and say hi to you. I love the overall atmosphere at Alverno.

  • 02/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've left my purse in the cafeteria and lab twice on accident and as find in untouched. You always see security around on foot and in cars. Very safe!!

    Greek Life

    We have two sororities, contact someone in them and decide if you want to join, it's a big part of college you don't want to miss out on.

    Clubs and Activities

    Be sure to check out the two sororities we have on campus, you won't be disappointed.

    Food and Dining

    Way too EXPENSIVE!!!! If you can, always bring a lunch or buy from the many restaurants around campus, although the food is good but just not worth spending the little amount of money college students have.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms so I couldn't tell you how it is.

    Academic Rigor

    Alverno forces you to be everything you could be, makes you think outside of the box in every way no matter the class, you'll grow as a person in just 1 semester.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Get INVOLVED!! Join a club, Alverno has 2 sororities look into them, contact someone in them, you won't be disappointed. -Don't be afraid to contact professors -Use the resource centers, they are there to help!!

    In three sentences

    Everyone is always very helpful, nice and caring.

  • 04/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is everywhere at night and give you the sense of security.

    Great for these types of students

    Excellent for non- traditional, older students, as well as students that want an excellent education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Mug coffee house is a great place to unwind and hang out with friends

    Bang for the buck

    Alverno is costly, like most private colleges. The weekend program is very competitive to the traditional college tuition though.

    Food and Dining

    Food is not horrible, but there isn't a lot to choose from at the college. Due to the location, there is a lot of different restaurants and grocery stores in the area

    Dorm Life

    I did not live in the dorms, but they seem nice and the students do not complain at all about them.

    Academic Rigor

    I am so happy I attend Alverno. I tried the more traditional approach in college at first and I have learned WAY more at Alverno than in my lecture halls of 300+ people and teacher's aids that do not understand your questions. I would have attended Alverno from the start if I knew the environment they produce for their students.

    Tips for prospective students

    You have to enjoy writing papers and giving speeches. There isn't multiple choice or true/ false exams. You will be applying what you have learned throughout the semester in one BIG project. Group work is a huge part of the way the classes are performed.

    In three sentences

    Alverno is a wonderful college for traditional and non-traditional students. You learn to work in a diverse environment. It gives you real- life projects that you will naturally apply to your work environment and socially.

  • 04/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    1.Talk to Dave the maintenance guy. He is pretty cool and way friendlier than the rest of the maintenance guys. 2.Call Jason every time you need to take out the trash. 3. Go study in the stacks in the library. 4. Ride the elevator in Christopher Hall, it's pretty much like the tower of terror.

    Food and Dining

    Ew. They try, but fail. The commons food is over-priced, over-cooked, and unhealthy. I hated that I was required to spend $2000 on a meal plan for that crap and then had a ton of money left over at the end of the semester to buy bulk with.

    Dorm Life

    You need to learn to make your own fun in the dorms and get to know the people on your wing. Don't be afraid to leave your door open and get to know everybody, you may end up meeting your best friend on the way to the bathroom like I did.

    Academic Rigor

    It really depends on the teacher. As an education major, I have had some teachers that practice what they preach by teaching for different learning styles but I have also sat through endless classes of copying things from a textbook.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Make friends with the staff and don't be afraid to ask for their help. If you are like me, you will be there a while so it will pay off to have a support system on your side when you need it. 2. As freshman, especially if you are living in the dorms, get involved and take advantage of free activities on campus. Living in the dorms can suck at times so you need to make the best of it by getting out and eating as much free food as you can. 3. Get a flash drive and organize it by semester and classes so you can easily go back and access past assignments.

    In three sentences

    1.I love how Alverno is laid back with small class sizes and no formal tests. 2.The eight abilities may seem obnoxious at first but they actually are beneficial life skills that will set you apart in the professional world. 3. I am really disappointed with the financial aid department, they aren't much help if you are a traditional white student.

  • 06/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe, secure campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Athletics - Volleyball, soccer, basketball, softball...

    Great for these types of students

    Students who have goals and are willing to work to reach them.

    Bang for the buck

    The Alverno campus is pleasant and pretty. Professors really want to get to know students, provide encouragement, and acknowledge excellence. Focus on academics and you will be well rewarded. The biggest challenge for Alverno College students is affordability. If you come from a middle income family, financial aid is limited and the cost of an Alverno education is high. It is worth it, if you can make ends meet.

    What to do for fun

    Join an athletic team.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is not too bad, but lacks a consistent selection of vegetarian entrees.

    Dorm Life

    Nice dorm atmosphere. Both dorms are clean, cheerful and recently updated. However, heating can be an issue...sometimes too warm, and other times too cold.

    Academic Rigor

    Alverno College uses a variety of approaches to assessment. Competence is determined via papers, presentations, portfolios and tests. You will not find classes where the semester grade is based on just midterm and final exams. Therefore, competent writing and presentation skills are a must. Alverno has a unique competency based grading system that relates well to real life job requirements. Be prepared to write research papers and self assessments.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in extracurricular activities. You can meet students with similar interests and have a richer college experience through athletics and service.

    In three sentences

    Alverno is an amazing college! The professors are really concerned about helping students to be successful. If you are looking for a small college with a personal approach, Alverno College could be right for you.

  • 07/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are so many things to do. Comedy Sportz, Henna Tattoos, Alverno Idols (similar to American Idol), Miss Alverno 2013, Homecoming Week, We have so many organizations to be involved in History Club, and BSU... The list goes on...

    Food and Dining

    There are many options at Alverno for it to be a private college. There is a salad bar and a sandwich bar. Also, they have the burgers, wings, and all that good stuff. They also serve fish and meatballs depending on the day.

    Dorm Life

    Small, but very clean and convenient. I thought living on the dorms kept you more involved and everything was so convenient.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically, this school is phenomenal. If you do not understand there is no way that you can get lost unless you are just refusing help. There are so many resources. Our communication lad. The media hub. Options! You cannot fail here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Remember that this is not the typical school and we do not get grades here. Everything is based on feedback so it takes a little getting use to, but you will get use to it.

    In three sentences

    a great place to be! there for you! involved and true to the students!

  • 07/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Expensive but in the end it is totally worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to your teachers and counselors if things get overwhelming. They are a GREAT support!

    In three sentences

    The best school to teach a person to become a leader and confident in their field. Small class sizes and group work greatly contribute to help a student learn how to work with others as they would in the real world.

  • 08/04/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    43 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Come take a look at the campus. See for yourself the difference a Alverno education will make in your life path.

    In three sentences

    Alverno is welcoming and inviting. Woman feel like they can take steps to success in their future by completing their education at Alverno. The schools provides many resources to foster success in their students.

  • 08/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Decent food they serve.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of everything they offer.

    In three sentences

    The school is very warm and welcoming. The school faculty is willing to help with anything. The school also offers many things that other schools do not.

  • 09/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 51

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Explore! Get involved with a club! Work out!

    Food and Dining

    Good cafeteria food, and lots of vending machines etc.

    Dorm Life

    Close and easy! Though a bit expensive!

    Academic Rigor

    There are no letter grades, you are worked with on a personal basis and helped to succeed, not worry about a percentage.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! Know your professors and explore the campus, it's beautiful!

    In three sentences

    Alverno is diverse, open-minded, and extremely liberal. I have never experienced judgement from a single professor, administrator, staff member, nor student. Growth in knowledge is priority number one.

  • 09/22/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    46 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I was happy to see how many different things there are to do on the campus and the amount of transfer credits I received in order to save money.

    Food and Dining

    The food is fresh and good and the facilities are very well kept up and clean.

    Dorm Life

    I don't have to live in the dorms but from the tour they look amazing and comfortable.

    Academic Rigor

    They strive hard to make sure that students have the tools that they need in order to successfully function in the work world.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are struggling with enjoying school and are having a hard time then I suggest going to Alverno College. They help you every step of the way and make you so comfortable. I was not happy with my school and when I went to transfer I was so nervous but just talking with an advisor and touring the school I felt so much better.

    In three sentences

    This is a very prestigious and engaging school. I have enjoyed learning about the different things that are offered and the staff has been amazing. I am happy with the feel of this school and it fits me and my schedule.

  • 10/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I want my money back, the nursing teachers I've experienced so far don't do their job well. They aren't knowledgeable about the material and seem unprepared. Myself as well as my peers agree that we are left on our own to teach ourselves the RIGHT material from the textbooks and that the teachers are useless and don't do all that they could do to help us learn the material.

    Food and Dining

    They don't have that many options. It's like high school cafeteria food. At the Mug (the on campus coffee shop) the workers are lazy and have poor work ethic. The food is terrible, the coffee is terrible, and it's all over priced. The dorm students only get a 10% discount at the Mug where a sandwich and a small coffee can cost you $8 AFTER the discount. In the cafeteria most of the cashiers have poor work ethic. They don't always tell you how much the food costs before putting their hand out asking for your meal card. You have to ask for a FULL receipt that includes the listed items if you want to make sure that they're not ripping you off (and believe me, they do that often). You shouldn't have to ask, the point of a receipt is to see what you' paid for. The only good thing is that dorm students get a 40% discount at the cafeteria. Unfortunately, if you don't use up all your money on your meal plan by the end of the semester your options are to buy overly priced bulk items or your money will just disappear. You won't get it back, and it won't roll over to next semester.

    Dorm Life

    Clare hall is a great dorm. Nice brand new looking single rooms, twin sized bed, air conditioner, microwave and refrigerator, a decent sized closet, dressers, a desk, carpet, a large door mirror, and a sink. I think it might be unusual for dorms to be this nice!

    Academic Rigor

    As far as the nursing program, so far the curriculum is terrible and I'm so disappointed! They could utilize the time better instead of just showing powerpoints but they don't. My Health Assessment Skills class is twice a week for 3 hours each and all they do is show us powerpoints. They should allow us to practice the skills with the teacher assisting us but they don't do that.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't go to this school, because if you see how crappy the nursing program is and decide you want to leave, your credits won't transfer so good luck starting over somewhere else. I wish I could leave because I am not getting what I'm paying for and more importantly, I'm not getting the best education because I'm relying 95% of my education on self-teaching figuring it out as I go.

    In three sentences

    So far the nursing program is disappointing. My teachers are terrible, they keep telling us we're a test group for everything we do and they are never prepared. Right now, one of my classes is being taught by an unsupervised student teacher in her Masters program. She doesn't know anything and constantly teaches us the wrong way to do our skills.

  • 12/12/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    48 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security is always around driving in parking structures, walking thru dorms thru the college watching the cars. Everywhere you turn campus security is there. thanks

    Clubs and Activities

    sports, clubs, plays socialites, alverno offers everything, and if they don't have something that you like, you can ask that it be started.

    Great for these types of students

    Women that want to be leaders, and Men in the graduate programs that want to move up even more.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none that i know of.

    Bang for the buck

    Although Alverno is on the pricey side, it's worth it. The accreditation and course material is very informational, and alverno's curriculum is based on real-life situations, not just keep your head in the book and book learn. Everything that we do is something that you will use in the future wherever your career work-life school life family life takes you.

    What to do for fun

    There is a coffee house, clubs, organizations, meetings, speeches, plays. Alverno pretty much has everything that you could ask for. It's a close knit school so we all love getting together and doing school activities as a group. Everyone is very friendly so it's not hard to make friends, and as soon as you walk through the door you immediately feel welcomed.

    Food and Dining

    Food is good, there are many selections, and variety.

    Dorm Life

    i am not apart of dorm life but i have heard it's great.

    Academic Rigor

    I give a five star. Alverno has small class sized that allows one on one attention between professors and students. Academic program is different that most and is very easily followed, and makes for an enjoyable learning. Just don't get over yourself. Don't do what you feel you can't. Take the time to do the classes that you know you will be able to do without feeling overwhelmed. COME IN PREPARED.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to work, do not come into college and think that it's all fun. It can be fun, but it is a lot of hard work and if you are not prepared you could fail. Make sure you come in knowing that YOU will be working.

    In three sentences

    Alverno is an amazing school that offers small size class and individual one on one learning with teachers. The interaction among all Alverno students and staff is incredible, and very open. It's a close knit school that strives in the success of it's students.

  • 01/12/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Alverno is an extremely diverse institution and there are clubs for almost any interest. Anyone who is looking for access to faculty and one on one attention.

    What to do for fun

    I am a member of two of the seven athletic teams here on campus and there are always events for students to attend including athletic and other activities.

    Academic Rigor

    The non-grading system may seem easier, but it is not. Faculty require that students understand ALL criteria for a successful completion of the particular course.

    Tips for prospective students

    Give Alverno College a chance, it has been ranked as the top school in the Midwest for 3 years.

    In three sentences

    Alverno College creates a student-focused classroom setting that encourages communication and teamwork. The non-grading system and small class sizes allow students exclusive access that is seen rarely at other institutions. Alverno College creates an atmosphere that engages and provides students with real world issues so that they are prepared upon graduation.

  • 01/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We receive text message alerts regarding school closures, lock-downs, or general changes to rules regarding our safety.

    Clubs and Activities

    The rigorous schedule of the nursing program requires a lot of time that would be fun to be able to join a club. It is stressful if you join a few clubs and try to keep up with a full-time load of homework and studying.

    Great for these types of students

    All women from the world can benefit from Alverno.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Alverno students are community participants. They give back and support local businesses and help anyone in need.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is very expensive! Apply for scholarships!

    What to do for fun

    Join a club, or start your own.

    Food and Dining

    The commons food is mediocre and expensive. The dining area is normally rather crowded and can be obnoxious.

    Dorm Life

    I never lived on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    There are soo many wonderful teachers that will go the extra mile for your education. As well as many student study groups to join to aid in being successful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for every scholarship known to man...WOman! Keep looking and keep applying! This tuition is not cheap! Free money is great money!

    In three sentences

    A great environment to obtain an incredible education while building important skills that will assist in everyday occurrences.

  • 07/13/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 51

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus overall is a really safe place however just like all campuses there are small things that happen.

    Greek Life

    There really aren't any greek life on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a few clubs. Every Wednesday night SAB throws activities for the students, which are really fun.

    Great for these types of students

    Alverno is great for all students. It's very diverse and there is room for every type of student.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a underground tunnel connecting two building together.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities on campus. They just aren't advertised much.

    Food and Dining

    The food choices could be better. The grill and mug where my favorite.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are pretty good, many things to check out as well as 2 community adviser on each floor.

    Academic Rigor

    Alverno challenges it's students academically. They also challenge it's students by thinking outside the box or get your opinion and thoughts on a certain issue pertaining the class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Going in to Alverno, every student should practice time management. It will be an important tool when starting classes.

    In three sentences

    I would rate Alverno College an 8 out 10. They teachers challenge you academically as well as treat students as adults.