Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Alvin Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 11/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that would prefer an environment with less distraction.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep up with deadlines, and keep on your study schedule and you should do fine.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is pretty inexpensive and has definitely given me my money's worth.

    Am enjoying being here

    The student council provides plenty of activities on campus for relieving stress and having fun, while still leaving plenty of time for study.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers really know what they're doing and the classrooms are smaller than on a lot of large campuses so you can get individual attention from the teacher and learn even more.

  • 04/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    For fun you can go to the library, hangout in the cafeteria, go to the gym and socialize with new classmates.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great and there is a wide variety of food to select from.

    Tips for prospective students

    The best tip is to follow your heart and do what you love to do and don't let anyone can stop you from achieving those future goals in life.

    In three sentences

    Alvin Community College is a great school to attend and get magnificent experience. I have learned a lot of important things in the Pharmacy Technician classes I am currently taking at Alvin Community College. There is a lot of hands-on training which is the best way to learn more towards your future career.

  • 04/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    dance club, anime club

    Food and Dining

    the food tastes really good.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you've procrastinate before, don't think about doing it here because it will cause you to stress out majorly due to all the homework and what not.

    In three sentences

    it's a great campus. the teachers really know what they are teaching here.

  • 04/16/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    What to do for fun

    study

    Food and Dining

    none

    Dorm Life

    doesn't apply

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared and work hard.

    In three sentences

    The faculty has been very friendly and helpful during my orientation at the college. They have an excellent, competitive nursing program and I can not wait to start. The college's standards are high and I am sure when I graduate I will be well prepared for the work place.

  • 05/06/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 24

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    They are so nice and helpful here. Especially for me since it has been 20 years since I've been in school.

  • 12/05/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    It's great for students who need to save money, aren't ready to travel far from home, interested in nursing, or enjoy a small college.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's really beneficial to attend Alvin Community College. You save alot of money.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is wonderful. You have great teaching and learning experience for such a small price.

    Am enjoying being here

    Everyone is really nice here.

    Am learning a lot

    All the teachers are great. They follow really close to a syllabus and explain things well.

  • 12/10/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    close to home and cheap tuition compared to a big university

  • 10/12/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Someone who wants to be involved in something - there are so many clubs and groups to join

    Tips for prospective students

    The campus is easy to get around because it is fairly small. You will save so much $$ and love every minute you're here.

    Bang for the buck

    $1200 for a 12 hour semester...Heck yeah!

    Am enjoying being here

    Everyone is so nice, and the Student Activities group always has something exciting going on. The Dance Club is totally awesome, and now there is a competition team!

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers are truly committed to helping you succeed.

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    9 of 24

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    It is good school,professors are all there to help the students when they need it.If you are not aware of which path to take, Advisors are always there to help.They are very attentive when it come to the students.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have their own police station right on campus so the police officers are always there. They even have a police academy thing where new people are training to become police officers every day.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    The amount of clubs and activities is crazy! There's something for every person out there, and I'm not kidding.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's regular sports just like at any other school, and we cheer them on every game. You're not required to attend, but they are fun!

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely worth it if you're going for a few years to get an associates or finish up some pre-reqs.

    What to do for fun

    There's a gym, book store, and cafeteria to hang out in but there's not much on campus. Right down the road are a few fast food places to go eat if you have time to leave campus!

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria and food are fantastic. I've spent some early mornings in there, and the staff are genuinely nice.

    Dorm Life

    There is not dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Most classes are about the same as a normal university, but some are lacking in the difficulty area. They could step it up a notch or two.

    Tips for prospective students

    I know most people just go here because they want to finish there 2 year degree or pre-requisites, but it's quite an amazing school to finish up other degrees as well. Their broadcasting teachers, psychology teachers and Nursing program are superb.

    In three sentences

    Alvin is a great school to attend for completing pre-reqs and associate degrees, but if you want to go farther than that you'll definitely have to transfer. The teachers are cool and relaxed and will help you if you're not doing so well in their class.

  • 07/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Everyone registers their cars with campus security. There are security cameras around campus for protection. Many lights around campus to keep you out of the dark.

    What to do for fun

    They have many clubs to join or activities during the week to get everyone involved.

    Food and Dining

    There are several places around the campus to catch a meal or visit the dining hall for some great snacks for in between class cravings or a great full lunch menu.

    Dorm Life

    It's a Community College, so dorm life doesn't exist unless you are sleeping in your car.

    Academic Rigor

    The curriculum and instructors have great expectations for everyone walking through the doors for everyone to thrive and succeed to their end goals. You learn so much and before you realize it, the semester is gone!

    Tips for prospective students

    Whether you are just wanting to get the basics out of the way before you transfer to that big university or getting a full degree, this campus is organized for it all! You will feel right at home, well school!

    In three sentences

    The class size is big enough to have many study partners while being small for everyone to participate in class discussions. The teachers make many efforts to see their students succeed.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a lot to do for fun, the fitness center has around 100 equipment for workout and trainers that help you with it. There are 4 squash courts, 3 tennis courts and a soccer field. The college also holds fun activities every month.

    Food and Dining

    The school's cafeteria is called Mr C's, and there is absolutely no words of how good the food is. They improve their menus every month and add new mouth watering stuff everybody craves for.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is amazing, and fun, the recreation center is open late. The cafeteria is like a meeting spot for all my friends, we hang around and chill. The rooms are pretty big and filling.

    Academic Rigor

    It's well established , teachers are always helpful, the staff is very friendly, academic honesty prevails and most importantly they teach great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep your GPA as high as possible, engage in school activities, participate in school conferences, there is so much to do in here. Volunteer for organizations like Phi Theta Kappa.

    In three sentences

    I am a student at Alvin community college, and I love being one.ACC has been ranked in the top 10 % twice in a row, I m glad something like this is only a mile away from my home.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Amazing

    Greek Life

    There is only the kind for the straight A students

    Clubs and Activities

    I am apart of the anime club, and i love it

    Great for these types of students

    The average low income college student

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Open house is fun, and what ever Student Activities plans out

    What to do for fun

    I like to hang out with friends, because there is really nothing to do on campus.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at this school, just apartments around the area

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip is to ask a lot of questions

    In three sentences

    The school is a great school with great academic possibilities. The only downside is that the financial aid process is a hassle. Other than that, being here for the past three years has been great.

  • 08/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has some good food options. They're also pretty cheap.

    Dorm Life

    There isn't any dorms because it's a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging, but not too difficult. The teachers are good about challenging you. It's a good experience.

  • 09/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The parking lots a usually well lit at night, but I still walk with people just in case.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are quite a few clubs and activities going on. I am part of the SGA and they always have plenty to do!

    Great for these types of students

    This is great for students who did good in high school but maybe didn't have the best study habits (like me!), or for people who need a heaper option but still want a good education. It is not easy just because it's a community college.

    Bang for the buck

    It is very inexpensive but you have so much at your disposal! The new science building is one of my favorite places to be and there are plenty of places to tuck away and study in a quiet place. The library has a ton of new books and databases after the hurricane.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of trails to run and bike, the baseball team is fun to watch, and the Student Government Association usually has something fun going on (usually with free food and goodies!).

    Food and Dining

    It's a small cafeteria but the food is really good. The people who work in it are very nice.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home and commute.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't underestimate ACC just because it's a community college. I graduated 8th in my class of over 300 people and I love it here. Definitely get involved with a club or study group. It makes the transition so much easier.

    In three sentences

    The campus is very clean and beautiful. The professors are all very knowledgeable and are always willing to help. I didn't expect the work to be so intense (in a good way) but I was pleasantly surprised.

  • 10/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    small campus with police on campus.

    What to do for fun

    many clubs available here on campus.

    Food and Dining

    small cafeteria, but ok food

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    depends on the teacher and subject.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early, classes fill up quickly.

    In three sentences

    We have small classes. We have instuctors that care. We have many programs top rated statewide.

  • 01/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Alvin College has their version of the SWAT team, called BIT.

    Clubs and Activities

    A student that would like to help out other students and be involved with the college community, should check out the new club ACC Peer- Educators.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who is serious about their education and getting what they pay for.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    When I think of unusual, I think of exam week. Alvin College Student services, provides puppies to play with to relieve stress. In addition, student services also have a ginger bread house decoration contest.

    What to do for fun

    When I am not studying, I play billiards and visit with friends.

    Academic Rigor

    Alvin College is in the top 10% of community colleges in America for the 2nd year in a row.

    Tips for prospective students

    A student must be proactive. This goes for any college, a person may attend. It is easy to be invisible in a class room. However, being noticed in a positive manner is beneficial to a student.

    In three sentences

    The college is friendly and helpful. The teachers and administration want a person to succeed in his/her educational goals.

  • 01/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    We have almost the variety of clubs and student activities that big universities offer, just on a smaller scale. I think I have more fun to be around the same 20 or so people in my club, where we all get to know each other, than I would if I sat alone in a crowd of 250 other students.

    Bang for the buck

    I was really worried about paying for books and required software programs, since people always talk about how they are more expensive than the classes themselves. But even after paying for six classes, I was able to use my remaining financial aid in the ACC bookstore to get textbooks and online access to my classes and still ended up with a $600 refund; and direct deposited at that!

    What to do for fun

    There are basketball, baseball, and softball teams for the folks who like sports. There is also a fitness center on campus that is pretty well equipped and an outdoor track. The YMCA facility is new here in Alvin; it's practically next door and the pool and classes are great! My kiddos can go to swim lessons while I do my yoga class and by time we leave, we are all relaxed and in great moods, just for different reasons.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafe on campus that is much better than what I expected and a coffee bar in the college store that has desserts that rival Starbucks!

    Dorm Life

    We do not have dorms here on campus, as it's a community college, but there are several apartment complexes very close that are full of students, so it's a good substitute.

    Academic Rigor

    I am enrolled in the paralegal program and so far the curriculum had been fairly challenging, to put it mildly.... No one was kind enough to tell me that Legal Research and Writing is one of the hardest courses, and of course I took it my very first semester! But the professors are great, the paralegal department has it's own tutoring sessions, and we also have a Learning Lab to help out with all subjects.

    Tips for prospective students

    The ladies at the Enrollment Center are great! They are very patient, thoroughly and unpatronizingly! explaining anything that you don't understand but they stay very busy. My best tip is to go in person, in the late afternoons/ evenings on a weekday. There are less crowds and I felt like the in-person process went much more quickly and smoothly than online or over the phone.

    In three sentences

    I am attending my second semester at ACC and it has been an interesting and fun experience. I was pretty nervous about being a single, 30 year old student with children! My professors have all been awesome and the other staff all help to try and make the process as painless as possible.

  • 01/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Incredibly safe. Not only is the ACC Police Force extremely obvious and dutiful in their jobs, but ACC also has a Police Academy dedicated to training law enforcement officers.

    Clubs and Activities

    As I stated earlier, the Student Activities group is extremely active and involving.

    Great for these types of students

    Everybody. ACC is a great place for students who don't want to waste money, but who do want to receive a great education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The most unusual spot on campus is the Nolan Ryan Center. Because Nolan Ryan is from Alvin, a community center with an exhibit dedicated to the former Astro is present on campus. Not only is it used for the exhibit, the center also is used as a community center for multiple events, including Board of Regents meetings.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a junior college so there is no better option for the first two years of college. You get the same quality education at a much reduced price.

    What to do for fun

    As I mentioned earlier, the Student Activities group has multiple opportunities to join in the fun at ACC.

    Food and Dining

    The on campus diner serves almost everything you could want. Not only is the food good, it is fairly cheap which is always a plus.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes at ACC are not necessarily difficult, they just require work to complete, which is to be expected. If you do find a class difficult, just ask the professor. For the most part, the professors are incredible helpful and easily accessible out of class.

    Tips for prospective students

    One of the most important tips I have to offer is get involved with the available student activities. I would also offer that it is very advisable to make use of all the facilities at your disposal. From the library to the full gym, ACC provides a very high class experience in a small town atmosphere.

    In three sentences

    Alvin Community College is a fantastic junior college to attend for a wide variety of degrees or certificates. Not only is the student body the envy of every junior college in Texas, but the faculty is incredibly exceptional and incredibly helpful. Throughout the many on-campus activities and clubs students can enjoy their first two years at college with an incredibly large discount as opposed to a four year institution.

  • 02/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are interested in studying and low key.

    Bang for the buck

    For the quality of education you receive the cost is relatively inexpensive.

    Tips for prospective students

    Remember to always pay attention to deadlines for registrations. Stay on a study schedule.

    In three sentences

    Alvin Community College is a nice smaller college. The student to professor ratio is low compared to larger community colleges. ACC has strict scholastic program and qualifies for transfers to major Universities.

  • 08/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 24

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    ACC Fall Festival ACC Night of Big Band Music Annual Party on the Patio Back to School Bash ACC Club Social Sports Tournaments Constitution Day Annual Student Leadership Conference Fall and Spring Alcohol and Drug Awareness Weeks President's Forum Study Skills Workshops Job Readiness Week BlueFit

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay. Just the normal cafeteria food but just a little better.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life but they have apartments surrounding the school.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Make sure you do your work and ask for help from the teacher, student, etc..(Remember two heads are better than one!) 2. SURROUND YOURSELF with people who are SERIOUS about their work and graduating. Trust you do not want to get involved with the wrong person who isn't serious about school. 3. Get involved! Their is a lot of clubs to be involved in any it looks great on a job application. 4. Have fun in school and make sure that it's the right school for you.

    In three sentences

    Alvin Community College is a great school academically and social wise. They teachers are very helpful and will make it there job to help you pass but you have to make sure to put in the work also. Everyone is very helpful at ACC and I'm proud to go here.

  • 08/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a campus police building on the campus, and staff riding around in golf carts for student safety.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs throughout Alvin. No matter what you are interested in, there is something for you. There is even lists of different clubs posted throughout the campus.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are a morning student, you can get all your classes in the morning and be done for the day.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    For orientation, Alvin places plastic flamingos over the entire campus.

    Bang for the buck

    By going to Alvin Community College, I have saved so much money. I've done my research,and this college is so much cheaper than four year colleges.

    What to do for fun

    On the first day of school, there is a 'party on the patio', but once school has started, you can join one of the many groups at Alvin. There is also a gym, which has free membership to anyone enrolled at the school. Around the campus is plenty of fast food places, and shopping areas.

    Food and Dining

    Alvin Community College has a cafe, and every day there is a new menu. If you have a favorite meal, you can just ask a cook to make it for you and they'd be happy to. The food is good and not a bad price, and the cafe is spacious and has entertainment in it.

    Dorm Life

    Alvin doesn't have dorms, so if you live around the campus, you can just live at home. Which, is a lot cheaper. Dorm life is just staying at home. If you aren't from the area, there are places to rent nearby.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are pretty easy, you have to study, but it's not that bad. You can do it!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to class earlier than you think you need to. Parking is very limited, so unless you want to walk across the whole parking lot and end up late to class and sit in the back, leave your house a little earlier.

    In three sentences

    Alvin is a small town, surrounded by small towns, and it's easy to get to. I like the college so far. It's easy to get around the campus and remember where your classes are.

  • 01/22/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus police always make sure the campus is secure, and their office is just about in the center of the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are always interesting things going on around the campus, and there are a lot of cool clubs to get involved in.

    Bang for the buck

    You definitely get your money's worth here. The classes are also relatively inexpensive, which is a big plus.

    What to do for fun

    Alvin is a pretty small town, but there are a lot of clubs and campus activities to get involved in.

    Food and Dining

    There is one place to eat on campus, but they serve a variety of good foods.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The classes here aren't just simple courses you take to get them out of the way. The teachers make sure you know everything that you need to know before leaving the class.

    In three sentences

    Alvin Community College is a great place to go if you want to take your basic classes, then transfer into a University. But the associate degree programs that are given here are also exceptional, and can also be specific to what you want to do with your career.

  • 03/29/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 24

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It is very affordable here because the books are not too expensive and the classes are not as demanding as a 4-year institute either.

    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of activities here at ACC and many different clubs that you can participate in to give you the full effect of the college experience.

    Food and Dining

    The food that they serve in their Student Center is both delightful and inexpensive. It's not as bad as one might think school food to be.

    Dorm Life

    I don't know how the dorm life is because I attend here from my parents house, but there are some apartment complexes literally next to the school which I'm sure are probably the dorms. Even though I've never been in a dorm I'm sure it's fun.

    Academic Rigor

    This is not a very hard school to attend and the pressure isn't as much on the school work as it is on the amount of classes you want to take or what you want to balance with your school life, be it a job, a family, a hobby, and just life in general.

    Tips for prospective students

    Although ACC is not like high school, it isn't a very strenuous school right out of high school and can serve as a great stepping stone for those students who are a little scared of college and can show them how college will feel like for the most part. A 4-year institution could be harder but it really depends on your professor and how demanding or particular they are in a subject. For people wanting to go back to school so they can make more money at their current job, a community college is both affordable and not as time consuming as a 4-year college, so coming here to take some courses and to get an associates is also a very viable course that someone should take since it would only take 1-3 years depending on how determined you are and enable you to make more money at what you do!

    In three sentences

    Alvin Community College (ACC) is a great post-secondary school for people needing to knock out their pre-requisites who also live near the institution (Alvin, Pearland, Rosharon, Manvel, Sugarland(maybe), and Missouri City(maybe)) and is also very affordable. ACC has a variety of classes for people that either want to obtain their associates degree, a certificate, or it can be a nice way to budget yourself before transferring to a 4-year institute. I have enjoyed my experience here at ACC so far and am looking forward to transferring over to a 4-year college to continue my education!