Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Amarillo College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/01/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    High school seniors, low income students, continuing education student, students nervous about school

    Tips for prospective students

    Never register for classes late! It will be very difficult to get the classes you want.

    Bang for the buck

    All of the teachers at Amarillo College are wonderful and super nice. They are so willing to help out every student, and are willing to make time out of class for tutoring, and will do anything to help a student out. They make the learning experience fun!

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the atmosphere of Amarillo College, especially in the student activities center. It's a great place to go hang out and relax, with televisions, pool tables and the student government is always looking for different activities to have.

    Am learning a lot

    When i first started out i knew nothing about going to college, but thanks to all the employees at Amarillo College I have learned so much about attending school.

  • 05/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Great clubs with awesome officers

    Great for these types of students

    Any type of student A.C. has something for everyone

    Bang for the buck

    Great classes with a great tuition price

    What to do for fun

    Clubs

    Food and Dining

    There are several fundraiser's a month with great food

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here

    Academic Rigor

    Five star school

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your best to not miss class. Develope good study habits and become active in the clubs A.C has.

    In three sentences

    The best school for my educational needs. understanding proffessors who lecture with complete accuacy. A great school involved in community activities.

  • 07/16/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This is a great place to start for anyone. It doesn't matter if you can be full-time or have to be part-time, this is a great place to be.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you have any friends here, find out how some of the teachers are, I haven't found a bad one yet, but some are definitely better than others.

    Bang for the buck

    The classes might be harder than WT, but it's so much more affordable!

    Am enjoying being here

    I love the atmosphere of Amarillo College, it's small but there's always something going on. The student activities room is always a blast to be in.

    Am learning a lot

    I've learned so much already about different applications of my education here, but most of all I have come to learn more about myself while being here: Who I am, how I learn, where I really want to go.

  • 10/02/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People trying to stay close to home for their first two years to get on their feet before attending a University.

    Tips for prospective students

    Simple, do good on your TAKS/EOCs and go here! Don't forget to apply for financial aid! fafsa.gov

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely, one of the cheapest colleges I've seen.

    Am enjoying being here

    Yes, fun classes and friendly staff.

    Am learning a lot

    Sure, with new information being read constantly it's hard not to learn.

  • 12/28/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    5 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for everyone

    Tips for prospective students

    The staff and financial aid dept personell are amazing and always willing to help you

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, after applying at WTAMu and finding out how much a 4 yr school is, I plan on attending Amarillo college for a few more classes and getting the basics out of the way before entering WT

    Did enjoy being here

    Again I love this school.

    Did learn a lot

    I love Amarillo College. yes, I learned a lot from this school and I recommend it to everyone. I plan on getting a few more classes out of the way starting on my bachelor degree from WTAMU, because it is a 4 yr school and very expensive, Amarillo College classes are more affordable for me right now.

  • 01/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They show plays and movies and give cook out

    Food and Dining

    No cafeteria

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in droms so I don't know.

    Academic Rigor

    Every thing is great but always leave room for improvement

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions

    In three sentences

    The teachers are very helpful and understanding.

  • 01/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I am a full time student and a mother. Also I am having a very complicated pregnancy so my children are my fun right now.

    Food and Dining

    Eat a home so I can't answer.

    Dorm Life

    I live at home with my children so I couldn't answer that.

    Academic Rigor

    If, you study you will pass.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be to shy to ask for help!

    In three sentences

    Most of the teachers are very helpful. It has smaller classrooms so it is easier to feel more comfortable when asking for help. All of the other students are very friendly.

  • 01/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    go to the gym and play some basketball, or go lift weights.

    Dorm Life

    if they had dorms..

    Academic Rigor

    everyone will work with you when you ask for the help.

    Tips for prospective students

    always stay on top of your classes then you can transfer any where in the nation!

    In three sentences

    people there area really nice, with any problem you have they will help with it for school. atmosphere is real nice, always find something else to do after school. teachers are very hands-on with alot things for class so i really can not complain about there techniques during class.

  • 02/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus is very safe, though there are the occasional accidents in parking lots. the on-campus police do their job well.

    Great for these types of students

    students who want challenges in their classes, or many quiet places to study or relax would do well here. also those who are tight on money.

    Bang for the buck

    being a two-year college, it is quite cheap. the books may be somewhat pricy, but it's all worth it when you get that first a in a class.

    What to do for fun

    amarillo college offers a variety of clubs and activities, as well as hosting movie nights and small festivals. all of them are fun, and normally work to accomodate class schedules.

    Food and Dining

    there are many vending machines around, but as of late, the cafeteria has been more of a lounge since they took out the food lines.

    Academic Rigor

    most of the classes are challenging, therefore keeping a student's mind working, instead of being easy to breeze through. it is never boring, and the classes continuously keep students interest.

    Tips for prospective students

    study, study, study. the classes are much more challenging than one expects, but if you read the material, you will do well.

    In three sentences

    amarillo college is wonderful. the instructors are engaging and helpful. the classes are challenging, yet interesting.

  • 03/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    we have our own branch of the amarillo police department on campus!

    Greek Life

    there is none

    Clubs and Activities

    we have 40+ clubs and a good number of them are very popular, with events, meetings, and fundraisers going on often. there are also several campus leadership programs and honor programs.

    Great for these types of students

    non-traditional, adult, with children, unsure of their major- it is so diverse it ca be a really great fit for anyone!

    Bang for the buck

    very, very affordable classes (average is about $150) and you get an education from a college that is in the top 10 junior colleges in the nation.

    What to do for fun

    the intramurals program is one of the best in the state. the student publications are recognized every year in texas, and recently all over the south. we have 40+ clubs, most of which are popular on campus.

    Food and Dining

    we used to have a cafeteria, but due to funding cuts we lost it and now only have a vendateria. there is still seating and where the kitchen once was there is now a variety of vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    what a bigger, more expensive school can offer-- ac can offer it cheaper with more individual attention available.

    Tips for prospective students

    talk to your professors and instructors! if they know your face and have a sense of your personality then they will more readily assist you and can help you better, because they are familiar with you.

    In three sentences

    healthy sized campus. huge, diverse student population. awesome programs with great teachers!

  • 04/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Police are everywhere

    Clubs and Activities

    Great Variety

    Bang for the buck

    Excellent education for so much less!

    What to do for fun

    They have a large park area on the main campus! Other than that, they have a basketball team.

    Food and Dining

    They have a cafeteria available on the main campus, as well as vending machines on all campuses.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms available

    Tips for prospective students

    Always go to a career adviser to talk to first! :)

    In three sentences

    Amarillo College is a great overall campus, offering great programs and wants to just help you get in and get out successfully!

  • 04/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security is one of the most important aspects of AC. They are very friendly, always around you need a hand. and Always visible to you. You hardly go a day without seeing them on campus. They are there to help you, take advantage when necessary

    Clubs and Activities

    Their are a ton of things to do. Ac has many clubs, I myself am an active member of Phi Beta Kappa.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who dont have lots of money. They are very reasonably priced.

    Bang for the buck

    You really get what you pay for at AC and then some.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and several time a year they compete against each other in friendly competition.

    Dorm Life

    I do not use the dorms so I really cant answer this question.

    Academic Rigor

    I give Amarillo College 5 stars. They not only listen to you, they take pride in understanding your situation and will help you in anyway possible

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your advisor, They will save your life. Go to every class if you don't you miss an awful lot and you get behind very fast. and just Study Study Study.

    In three sentences

    Amarillo College is a wonderful Community College The advisor and Faculty are always willing to help in anyway and theirs doors always open to the students.

  • 05/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    No, there are not any traditions.

    What to do for fun

    Try intramural sports for fun.

    In three sentences

    Amarillo College is challenging enough to make me really work for good grades. The instructors are helpful yet strict. I enjoy AC.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is very safe if something ever happened they send out e-mails text messages and phone calls to ensure there is an emergency and evacuation is needed.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is this place in the campus that is called The Pit and they use it to show movies during the summer.

    What to do for fun

    I like to travel the world, I am currently in modeling classes, I also am going to attend a dancing class for fun also.

    Food and Dining

    There are a lot of church groups that usually have free lunch on certain days and the people are nice they talk to you they ask you if you need help in anything and they always invite to any church group activities.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here so right now I live with my single mother and my little sister.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always study no matter how hard the class may be. Reach for the impossible because the sky is the limit and learn about your professors in how they teach and what they require.

    In three sentences

    Amarillo college is one of the top junior colleges in the nation, the teachers here a amazing they take the time to listen to your needs and take action to make improvement. It is a place where you can have tutors for free and have access to computers calculator etc. to make you succeed in the classroom. The advisors here also help tremendously, they have helped me through my first year of college in getting use to the different types of teaching skills, learning skills and studying skills!!

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    15 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    This is the best starter college for anyone on a low budget!

    In three sentences

    Easy to navigate grounds. Staff is very helpful. Grounds are well kept.

  • 06/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Sorry I haven't had the opportunity to buy food or dine. But I do know they have many great sells.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live at a dorm, so I would not have any information on this.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor here is just what a student needs to get all the information in our heads.

    In three sentences

    There are great and helpful teachers. It is a great college with lots of tutoring if needed. They have many online classes available for those that prefer them.

  • 06/14/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always Police around making sure the campus is as safe as possible.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who wants to get a degree and have fun while doing it.

    Bang for the buck

    Super affordable compared to Universities.

    What to do for fun

    Visit the Carter Fitness Center and join Zumba or any of their programs. They are fantastic and motivational.

    Food and Dining

    The food is absolutely delicious.

    Dorm Life

    They don't have dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always visit the SSC building so that you're better informed.

    In three sentences

    Amarillo College is a great College that offers affordable tuition and helping hands. Advisers and Financial Aid Staff are always available for students and are more than understanding. I would highly recommend Amarillo College to any student who can't afford a University.

  • 06/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Amarillo College has employed our local police department that remain on campus and patrol our campus by foot and segway along with car patrol.

    Greek Life

    We do have Greek life for example Phi Theta Kappa (National Honors Society for a two year college) Mu Alpha Theta (Math Honors Society)

    Clubs and Activities

    HOLY COW! Amarillo College has over 42 different clubs and new ones developing over time, there is one out there for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone from the ages of 16 to the oldest adult willing to put forth the effort in a higher learning center.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    club clash and badgerama not to mention induction into the honors society if you qualify. The school also brings in outside guest lecturers as well as our common reader program and outside in the park movies and music.

    Bang for the buck

    To get your basics out of the way there is no better school.

    What to do for fun

    Join the clubs!!!!! They encourage not only fellowship but give you opportunities at not only community service but school service as well.

    Food and Dining

    but only on days when clubs are selling food for fund raising, but the campus is close to a lot of fast food places.

    Dorm Life

    Housing is available check through financial aid

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are very enthusiastic about teaching and will even stay for extra help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to Financial Aid first and foremost. Become familiar with the campus. Learn about the different clubs. And don't let school get in the way of learning.

    In three sentences

    I rate Amarillo College extremely high. From the prices of the classes to the number of professors with doctorates the school just cant be beat. The club activities encourage fellowship the friendly atmosphere is conducive to learning.

  • 07/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security/officers are frequently around and searching the parking lots as well as a number you call if you need anything as well.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many choices and always activities going on around campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Most students, especially those working or looking to save some money. non-traditional students fit right in with the freshman straight out of high school.

    Bang for the buck

    Considering the education and price you definitely get more than you pay for.

    What to do for fun

    There are intramural sports and many clubs to join.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria hours are strange and not very convenient, but the food is decent.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms but they do offer discounted apartments, especially to single mothers.

    Academic Rigor

    My classes were challenging without overwhelming me and prepared me for the real world.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go talk to someone at the school, they will tell you everything you need to know about if AC is the place for you. It is certainly cheaper, and has a very flexible schedule for those of us that work in addition to going to school full time.

    In three sentences

    Amarillo College offers many options for help from which classes to take and navigating their campus or websites. The instructors are very easy to approach and willing to help. Improved parking would be a great addition.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Alot to choose from

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Amarillo Texas

    Bang for the buck

    It is very affordable and give you a fantastic education, don't think that because its affordable that the education is tainted because it sure isn't Amarillo College is a great place to start your career.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs join sorority or frats Check out the many attractions around town such as the palo duro canyon, Cadillac Ranch, The Big Texan and manu more.

    Food and Dining

    No food or dining either.

    Dorm Life

    Since it is a community college there are no dorm rooms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register early. Declare your major or majors as soon as possible some are more competitive than others. If your not sure what you want choose general studies as a starter. Get social, join a club or study group.

    In three sentences

    Amarillo College is a small community college with alot of potential they offer many associate degrees as well as many certificate programs. The staff is great and ready to help lead you in the right path.

  • 07/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    That have jobs and lives outside of school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are a few different campus locations.

    Bang for the buck

    It is much cheaper going to a 2yr college to earn your associates.

    What to do for fun

    Get involved meet new people.

    Food and Dining

    I have never eaten here.

    Dorm Life

    There are not dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It is not to hard, depends on the effort you put in while attending.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be active in getting to know your advisor and have them help you with your journey while going to college.

    In three sentences

    The school administers are very helpful. The professors take a lot of time to help the students. It is easy to enroll and stay on top of school especially with their website.

  • 09/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Officers on campus

    What to do for fun

    I enjoy studying, and working,

    Food and Dining

    NO Dining areas

    Dorm Life

    I live on my own

    Academic Rigor

    Great Nursing Programs

    Tips for prospective students

    Studying is very important

    In three sentences

    I love Amarillo College, My Major is NURSING and AC has great Nursing programs.

  • 09/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Has ist own PD and this is Texas, and folks are friendly. those that aren't friendly are still usually cam since were armed.

    Greek Life

    Just national fraternities such as the honors fraternity.

    Clubs and Activities

    lots of student life clubs

    Great for these types of students

    local broke smart

    Bang for the buck

    exceptional value. You will walk into a transferring university well prepared and at least on par with the university students.

    What to do for fun

    intramural sports and student life clubs.

    Food and Dining

    There are always fund raisers and events going on plus several churches off feeds throughout the week, there isn't a cafeteria though.,

    Dorm Life

    no dorms 5 stars because housing costs in Amarillo are super low.

    Academic Rigor

    Its a tough school if you are just trying to milk it for credits, I've sen several people fail classes that i have aced. You just have to put in the study time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just jump right in!

    In three sentences

    Very high level school, don't be deterred because it is a community college or because it is inexpensive! Many of the professors here are Doctorates and have a very impressive CV. Small class size= personal attention= success.

  • 10/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They now have an officer on each campus, which is amazing, especially when you have an emergency on one and they used to have to drive 15 minutes to get there.

    Clubs and Activities

    They always have something going on, especially the student government.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students returning to school after long periods of time or career changes.

    What to do for fun

    AC has some awesome activities. Each student receives emails stating if something is going on, e.g. a Halloween dance is coming up. They always have lunches for students on Wednesdays and coffee some mornings, too.

    Food and Dining

    AC used to have a cafeteria but no longer does. They have vending machines but they keep marking the prices higher than the year before. I know it's because of the economy but they have to remember that they are feeding college students, and college students tend to be poorer than most.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are smaller, making the teachers able to make the curriculum harder on the students so they'll learn it correctly.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask questions. It may be a community college but they are just as good, if not better, than a university. They're smaller, which makes them more personable.

    In three sentences

    The staff is always friendly. It's really easy to register for classes. The classes are smaller than universities, making them more personal.

  • 11/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are willing to help.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Thriller every year.

    Bang for the buck

    Teachers and staff are willing to help. Just ask.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs like Student Government.

    Food and Dining

    Just machines.

    Dorm Life

    There isn't any dorms sorry.

    Academic Rigor

    Best.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask questions if you don't understand what is being taught. Stay on top of what is due. Get Involved.

    In three sentences

    I loved being at Amarillo College. All of my teachers and advisers were behind me all the way. Amarillo College is a great school.

  • 11/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police always patrolling, we have a call for emergency

    Greek Life

    Love it

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Big clock tower where we BBQ and set up lunch stuff or just hang out.

    Bang for the buck

    Free food and tutoring, smaller class for better learning

    What to do for fun

    Every week the college has cook outs and we go to a finishers club dinner lots of activity's going on all the time.

    Food and Dining

    Big food court but just vending

    Dorm Life

    do not qualify

    Academic Rigor

    I love the classes

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class and stay involved it makes for better grades and an awesome experience

    In three sentences

    Amarillo College is a great college. It offers awesome classes and wonderful hours and simple plans. It is mixed with young and older students with a great teaching staff.

  • 12/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 27 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    campus have a few police officers in it

    Great for these types of students

    it would be great if we would work on the cars more then doing papor works

    What to do for fun

    play football and go too gym

    Dorm Life

    i work hard for my family and try too keep them safe. i work in two places and i go too college at tyhe same time just too make a better life for my familly and reach my goal and having my own mechanic shop but i just dont make enogh money...

    In three sentences

    I enjoy going to college and i like my major and teachers are freindly and i would like too continue my college and get my degree

  • 12/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Amarillo college always has a lot of things to do for fun for example at the end of the year they have a bowling night...you can win prizes at the door they have food! They also give us free tickets to an amusement park, they have fundraisers, movie night! i love it

    Food and Dining

    Amarillo college has a lot of vending machines there awesome they now take debit cards! as for dining there is a lot of restaurants around!

    Dorm Life

    I have not yet experience the dorm life, but i love that they don't make me stay, i love that they give me the opportunity to drive and do online classes!

    Academic Rigor

    Amarillo college is pretty strict with grades and turning in assignments, but they are always willing to help and tutor!

    Tips for prospective students

    Dont be a afraid to ask for help! Amarillo college staff will always be willing to help!

    In three sentences

    Amarillo college is great!! Advisors,professors and students are always willing to help out! I have never had a problem, if anything amarillo college is by far one of the top colleges!

  • 12/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    AC has several clubs that are easy to get involved in and are great for helping you stay on track for your education.

    What to do for fun

    AC is always holding events for students like film screenings and art walks. They also have a common reader for all the students and have several events to attend to that are related to the book chosen for that year.

    Food and Dining

    I honestly don't know much about the AC cafeteria, but I know a lot of the groups and clubs are always offering free lunches for students.

    Dorm Life

    There is no Dorm at AC.

    Academic Rigor

    For a community college, AC still has some challenging teachers and great content in their classes. Their science programs are especially well known for being very informative and helpful if you are going for a nursing degree.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to not wait till the last minute to sign up for classes! It's best to check out the classes you want to take online on their course guide before you go talk to a counselor too. It's also a good idea to see if the counselor will greenlight you.

    In three sentences

    Amarillo College is a great way to get an education while you are working a part or full time job. It's very affordable, and it's in a great location for students in the Texas Panhandle. They have several programs to choose from, and you can even take Continuing Education classes there.

  • 12/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Amarillo is huge. There is always something to do on campus or not. There is always something going on at campus. Great shopping at the mall and cute boutiques throughout the city.

    Food and Dining

    It's a buffet style cafeteria. There is something for everyone to eat. For it being what it is , it's pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm and I'm also not sure if it is offered.

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent

    Tips for prospective students

    Be super organized and grounded. Though this isn't a univeristy these classes do require a lot of studying to be done. Don't skip any classes.

    In three sentences

    Amarillo College is a great school. It's perfect for someone who wants to go to a small school to get better one on one time with the professor. All of my professors know my by name. I know it's not likely for a professor at a university to know all students by name.

  • 12/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great police presence, I feel safe and secure. I have not heard about any problems, or crimes.

    Greek Life

    I don't participate in that.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of activities on campus, and many clubs to participate in.

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for everyone.

    Bang for the buck

    I think you get an excellent education here and the price is affordable.

    What to do for fun

    I am not much into the college life since I am married, work full time, go to school full time, and I am a mom.

    Food and Dining

    Not many opportunities on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I don't use dorms. I live off campus. I am honestly not sure if they offer dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging but doable.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have an open mind, be able to challenge yourself. With work and studying you can succeed here.

    In three sentences

    Amarillo College has excellent staff. The college is very clean. I really feel like I am part of something there.

  • 01/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    AC police are parolling at all times.

    Bang for the buck

    AC is very affordable compred to all colleges.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of clubs and extra caricular activities for all interest.

    Food and Dining

    Healthy options in vending machines.

    Academic Rigor

    Open staff who are willing to help. AC will prepare you for one's career.

    Tips for prospective students

    One should contact the advisers and take advantage of any and all opportunities. There are a lot of places in which one can go to get help on any subjects. Be in contact with the professors so they can help you as much they can.

    In three sentences

    Amarillo College's staff tries there best to help the students anyway they can. The Academic level will prepare you for everyday life and for one's future career. The Amarillo College staff is very open and friendly.

  • 01/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I checked into a couple of online schools, including Univ of Phoenix, and Devry, and found that Amarillo College is just as well thought of as they are, and about 1/5 or less the price.

    What to do for fun

    Amarillo is a great town. There is a lot to do at the school, as well as around town. Not being a kid, I think there is plenty to do. I also think there is plenty of ways to get into trouble if you want to.

    Food and Dining

    I do not know about this one. I have a home about 3 miles from the campus.

    Dorm Life

    I do not know about this one. I have a home about 3 miles from the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I rate the school at 5 stars because even though one of my instructors is my best friends, their is no favoritism. I get what I EARN.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for homework. I find that to be the hardest part of my work.

    In three sentences

    I am a Sophomore here at Amarillo College, and I feel it is the best return to school available anywhere. The classes are not easy for an old man (56) like me, but I did not expect that. The instructors are tough but fair.

  • 02/28/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    34 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have had no situations where I felt unsafe.

    Clubs and Activities

    If you want to get involved, there are places to get plugged in.

    Bang for the buck

    Not a lot in the way of dorm life that goes along with college, but it is prices well enough to have a life without all the high costs.

    Food and Dining

    Not a big priority of campus.

    Dorm Life

    Not a lot in the way of dorm life. It is great to live at home and be able to make the transition to adulthood a little bit smoother.

    Academic Rigor

    If you keep up with what's going on, it is easy to stay on track. Studying is necessary but not overwhelming. It is possible to have a life while going to school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get financing planned before you sign up for school.

    In three sentences

    Amarillo College is a great place to get your educational start. My plan is to get my basics done and learn what is expected from college before heading away from the safety of home.

  • 03/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is amazing. The police are all over the place and the office is really easy to find. They even help out with things that aren't necessarily campus related, like having your wallet stolen or lost.

    What to do for fun

    As far as Amarillo College goes there's not a lot to do. They have a gym that's good for passing time between classes if you have an hour or so. Otherwise you have the student Activities Center downstairs in the cub which has a ping pong table and a plasma screen TV.

    Food and Dining

    Amarillo College only has vending machines for lunch now. There's no cafeteria line or anything like that so the food and dining isn't great. There are restaurants like Dairy Queen, Taco Bell, and Subway in the area that are easy to get to from the school but if you have a full schedule and don't have enough time to get lunch it's not very convenient.

    Dorm Life

    I've lived at home since I started school so I don't know anything about dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on how many classes you're taking, the work load can sometimes be overwhelming. Midterms and finals are actually the most stressful but as long as you study they're fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to ask other students who have been there which professors are best. If you're a music major, don't procrastinate and get your work done ahead of time. It's too easy to fall behind, and that actually goes for any major.

    In three sentences

    The experience at Amarillo College is personal. I couldn't ask for better teachers that give the students one on one attention as they need it. The classes are wonderful too and I love the experience I've had there.

  • 03/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Brake out of your shell and join a club.

    Food and Dining

    Vending machines are always stocked.

    Dorm Life

    Doesn't offer dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Courses can be tough, but as long as you keep up with your work you'll do fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Don't take the education that you'll receive from for advantage. -Take class seriously -Have fun, open up and meet new people, and learn from the experiences you'll gain from here.

    In three sentences

    It's an excellent school for getting started towards a higher education. The education that you can receive from here is the best in the area. I highly recommend going here if you want to start out at a community college first before proceeding to a university.

  • 05/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 47

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    AC has one of the best nursing programs! I'm proud to be getting my degree from here.

  • 06/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have a cop that drives around non stop and sometimes had's out things to make you aware.

    What to do for fun

    They have a P.E. class or they have the gym you can go play and have fun. They have many different clubs to join and make new friends.

    Food and Dining

    They have a cafeteria and they also do a lot of different opportunities to eat there.

    Dorm Life

    AC does not have dorms. This is one reason I chose AC i didn't want to have to pay a lot for a room I had to share.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenge is the online classes they are 10x harder then in classes. Study a lot if you don't understand ask or you'll fail

    Tips for prospective students

    If you need help with things really got to find someone or know someone that will help or stay on top of your adviser. Even if you didn't study in high school college is a new ball game you will have to study.

    In three sentences

    I love the school they do a lot of active things. The classes are small and teachers can be very helpful. The only thing my new adviser has not helped me hardly on anything.

  • 07/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We haven't had very many accidents on campus.Campus police drive around campus every hour, and will even walk you to your car if you feel unsafe.

    Greek Life

    We have one Sorority on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a wide variety of clubs that students could join.

    Great for these types of students

    The best place about this campus is there is always someplace to go when you have to study, do homework, or if you just want to relax in between classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a few fundraisers and festivals we do, but nothing out of the ordinary.

    Bang for the buck

    Again, this is a university-like college campus. You're getting some of the best education offered in Texas and paying a small town college fee.

    What to do for fun

    We have a few block parties and the city fair during fall semester. And two amusement parks open during the spring and summer. There's three different movie theaters, numerous coffee shops, a mall, and bowling as well.

    Food and Dining

    We have all of the popular fast food places, McDonald's, Burger King, Taco Bell, but we also have affordable dine in restaurants near the school and in town. Amarillo is home to the world famous Big Texan.

    Dorm Life

    We don't have on campus dorms, but there are a few student apartment complexes in the neighborhood, perfectly affordable for a new college student.

    Academic Rigor

    There are amazing professors here with experience. The classes are ranked next to university level courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask your professors for help and advice. Also, a day before you start classes take a tour of the campus and walk through your schedule so that you're prepared for class the next day.

    In three sentences

    Amarillo College is a great school to get a head start on your college education! The classes are small enough to where you get a personal and intimate learning experience, but big enough to have a fair amount of diversity in your class.

  • 08/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    scooter cop on the scene locked your keys in the car Free Free to get them out

    Greek Life

    just one but check it out

    Clubs and Activities

    you name they got just look and see even a basketball and spinning class

    Great for these types of students

    need to get basic out of the way for cheap or even those trying to purse associate level degrees

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    gym opens at 6am for about 4 days a week nice

    Bang for the buck

    yes yes yes there is no better value i dare you to compare

    What to do for fun

    Inter mural sports baby you name it they got year round not to fail to mention insanity classes yoga Thai chi just to name a few

    Food and Dining

    few fast food chains in the area

    Dorm Life

    off campus housing is available but comes with a little bit of a commute don't worry this is not newyork you can any where you need to be 30 minutes tops

    Academic Rigor

    Syllabus and course out line if followed you will definitely have an easy life.

    Tips for prospective students

    SEC is a science tool that you should use if you are in AP i wont break the details because i want you to go ask use it you will move up at least a letter grade

    In three sentences

    This is great school to go to especially the nursing program. Big city vibe but small town price.Amarillo college i definitely recommend to anyone looking for bang for your buck.

  • 09/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I am a distance learning student, but I often get emails about activities that AC offers.

    Food and Dining

    Again, I am an online student, so I have not been able to experience this.

    Dorm Life

    AC is a commuter college, and I am an online student, so this is not applicable to me.

    Academic Rigor

    I have had to work fairly hard to get good grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you don't know about something, ask the staff at AC! They work there because they know answers to your questions.

    In three sentences

    Amarillo College has been an excellent experience for me. The staff there has been very helpful in helping me figure out what classes I need to take, how to register and what to do next. They always have answers to my questions!

  • 10/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Not certain. I am a distance learning student

    Dorm Life

    No dorm availability at college.

    Academic Rigor

    Teaching is very well done. Students must be willing to do the work assigned by the professors. Most professors are willing to help students when needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enjoy the slower paced junior college life and take advantage of the many opportunities Amarillo College has to offer.

    In three sentences

    Very good, top ranked junior college. Staff is very knowledgeable and provide an environment conducive to learning. Many options available for students to learn and go to college from on-campus education to distance education.

  • 11/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    With an on-campus police department, cameras in the parking lots, and constant patrolling, you'll always feel safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    I have been involved in three separate clubs since attending, they have a large variety for every type of student.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone starting back to school after a break can find the help and guidance they need at a very affordable price

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have this amphitheater that they sometimes show movies or have events in, its a really fun area to be in. Its even nice to just sit out there on a nice day to study.

    Bang for the buck

    You really can't get a much better deal than at Amarillo College

    What to do for fun

    There are a couple of museums on campus, and a performing arts center that frequently has productions, as well as prominent guest speakers and debates.

    Food and Dining

    Unfortunately the only food available on campus are vending machines for the next couple years until the exclusivity contract runs out.

    Academic Rigor

    Amarillo College is actually a really good school, especially for anyone who is interested in Nursing

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the resources! There is a math tutoring lab, the Science Enrichment Center, a writing center, computer center etc... if you need help in your classes, there is help available! Don't be afraid to ask questions! Believe it or not, most teachers actually enjoy when students ask lots of questions.

    In three sentences

    Amarillo College has many teachers who genuinely care about your academic success. They have study/tutoring centers for just about any class you could take, with very helpful and knowledgeable staff. The concern they show for the well-being of the students helps to get past the hurdles that can sometimes get in the way.

  • 11/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 47

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hockey games, Intramurals

    Food and Dining

    have to go off campus a lot for food unless you like the vending machines

    Dorm Life

    no dorms at Amarillo college

    Academic Rigor

    Very good Especially when it comes to having a personal problem like per say not having access to a laptop or a computer at home and per say that the student has to submit stuff online they can make arrangements with the professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    A lot different then high school learn good study tips and DONT PROCRASTINATE!

    In three sentences

    Professors truly care. Interested in helping benefit their students as needed.

  • 11/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Washington Campus seems to be pretty safe. I usually see 3-4 Amarillo College Police patrolling the grounds when I've been on campus. They frequently roam parking lots to ensure no one tampers with another's car or their personal belongings.

    What to do for fun

    Washington: There are 2 different museums on campus as well as the theater. The theater department puts on a few plays a semester typically. There are a lot of clubs to keep you involved on campus, as well as off campus in some cases. And if you believe there should be a club that everyone has neglected to start up, you can always get the paperwork to start a new club to be reviewed and granted/denied.

    Food and Dining

    Depending on which campus you have different choices. I personally have never eaten on campus as the Subway is a mere 3-4 blocks from the Washington Campus.

    Dorm Life

    There isn't really Dorm Life per say at Amarillo College, but there are plenty of housing opportunities in the area surrounding the school. May not be right around the corner, but the opportunity is still there.

    Academic Rigor

    They really seem to know what they are teaching and try their best to ensure the students pick it up as well. Their courses leave you with a good grasp of the subject matter.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be discouraged by the mandatory classes, we have all taken them and survived. The teachers are really good about explaining things if you are confused. And if you still seem to be confused after they explained it the first time, take a break after class and try to catch them during their office hours after, maybe they can explain it better without the pressure of keeping to the time allotted for class.

    In three sentences

    Amarillo College is a great starting point to ease into the college lifestyle when you're fresh out of high school or returning to learn a new skill. There is a wide variety of people from different walks of life in each class. The staff really know what they are teaching and truly seem to enjoy it.

  • 12/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Amarillo College Police Department is always patrolling the campus, and each classroom has a way to contact them. They pick up the phone immediately, whether you called the emergency line or the regular line. They'll help you if you locked your keys in the car, your car won't start, or whatever!

    Clubs and Activities

    There's lots of great clubs here! Find one you have a interest in! There's also plenty of on campus activities each week. You usually get an email once or twice a week telling you about what's going on.

    Bang for the buck

    Amarillo College is much cheaper than many other colleges, including West Texas A&M in Canyon. You get a excellent education for a fraction of the cost.

    Food and Dining

    While there's not really a place that serves food on campus, the cafeteria has plenty of snack food options in the machines (which do take cards). There's also plenty of cheap food events each week where you can get homemade sweets or nachos w/a drink for a few dollars. Each building also has plenty of vending machines, if you need a quick bite.

    Dorm Life

    I cannot really rate the dorm life here, considering there's no dorms!

    Academic Rigor

    Classes here are tough, but there's plenty of help around. They want you to know the material, and if you study and attend all the classes, you'll know it and do great on exams.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard for exams! Don't let them get the best of you. If you need help, ask for it! All the professors here are more than happy to help you whenever you need it, even if it's outside of their usual office hours. There's lots of resources here to help you in your classes, use them! The Science Enrichment Center will help you with any science related problems you have. The Math Outreach Center will help you with any math problems. The Writer's Corner will help you with any sort of essay (not just English). The library also has many helpful resources. Take advantage of the cheap food events around the campus! It's good food, and it's cheaper than leaving campus to eat.

    In three sentences

    Amarillo College is a great public college to get started at. The teachers are tough, but they want you to leave their class knowing the material you need. If you can do well here, you can go anywhere.

  • 10/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 47

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Excellent classes and education for the price. Extremely affordable.

    What to do for fun

    Study? Amarillo is a bit of a black hole of fun.

    Food and Dining

    Vending machines only, save for a few food fundraisers.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms whatsoever. Community College.

    Academic Rigor

    Very hard, Very informative.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't underestimate this place! Some courses are difficult, especially Math and medical courses. Don't be afraid to talk to your advisers, they're incredibly helpful.

    In three sentences

    Amarillo College can function wonderfully as either a springboard to a more rigorous four-year institution, or an suitably academically rigorous facility to obtain an Associate's Degree or Certificate in a myriad of disciplines.