Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

American International College (AIC) Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/09/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 9 people found this review useful. 1 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who like the city, a small campus, and are self-motivated. Don't expect other students to motivate you to want to learn. In order to get a solid education, you have to be able to focus on what you want.

    Tips for prospective students

    AIC is known as a party school, so if you aren't into the party scene, room in Pouch (a girls-only dorm). It is the quietest dorm. Guys, make friends with someone in Pouch to get away from Hines. Or the library is a good place to get away. But it's only open until 11pm. If you have a car, bring it on campus. There are lots of things to do in the surrounding area. On weekends when the campus is dead, you'll be glad you brought a car. The professors are awesome. Make friends with them. They do care if you are learning in their classes.

    Bang for the buck

    While it is cheaper than most private schools, for the $35,000 that they charge, I did expect more. The dinning commons closes at 7pm (making it hard for people who work to eat) and there is not much access to up-to-date technology (the library only having about 25 computers). The entire campus shuts down at 7pm. The dorms aren't as cozy as they could be. However, the school is in the process or remodelling, so perhaps in a few years this will change.

    Am enjoying being here

    Like at any school, there are mature people and immature people. Unfortunately, many students accepted into AIC only have partying and having fun on their minds. The location is not the best, but I am sure it could be worse. There is not much to do on weekends or at night. But, there are numerous extra-curricular activities and job openings to keep you occupied. Also, for about a 5-10 minute drive, there are many things to do in Springfield.

    Am learning a lot

    Honestly, everything that I did in my intro-level classes was a review from high school. But once I got into my classes that were the core of my major, I began to learn. I have had two amazing professors, and the rest were mediocre. If you want to learn, you will. But in my experience, most students are not there to learn.

  • 02/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the actual campus itself is very safe...there are always campus police walking around and there are several emergency buttons. dorms are electronically protected in several ways. however, the neighborhood surrounding the campus is horrible and very unsafe. gangs and murders...

    Greek Life

    there is some, but not many.

    Clubs and Activities

    i have to say, aic has just about any club you can imagine. if they don't have a club that you are interested in, it is very easy to start one yourself. sports are huge here.

    Great for these types of students

    it is good for students who need more individualized attention in their classes. not good for someone seeking a party school...

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    on campus there is a center called the hive where you can purchase actual good food, coffee, and even subway. it is a good feature at the school and a lot of students use it.

    Bang for the buck

    aic provides a lot of financial assistance. for all the flaws it has, it is worth the money because you won't be paying much to go here. the reason you're going to school is for the education and aic provides a great one at a small cost.

    What to do for fun

    to be honest, not much. there are not many activities on campus and the neighborhood is not safe to roam. better off staying in your dorm.

    Food and Dining

    the food itself is not that bad although i wish there were more healthy options. most things are fried and the menu is very repetitive.

    Dorm Life

    not much goes on in the dorms. the building for freshman is old and not very clean to be honest. the walls are paper thin and you can hear anything from a phone conversation to very loud music. however there are quiet places on campus to study.

    Academic Rigor

    i love my classes. they are small and easy to participate in. work load is nothing that is un-manageable and professors are always available to help you as well as tutoring programs.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you are looking at aic, keep in mind that it is a small school and is not located in a safe area. stay on campus!!!

    In three sentences

    i enjoy the small campus and class sizes. it is easy to communicate with professors and they know you by name, not a number. they really do care about your success.

  • 01/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the school has security guards walking round during the day and more at night. The security office is easily located. The way the campus is set up it feels like its own little town.

    What to do for fun

    Volley ball, frisby, football in the quad. Watch tv or read a magazine in the hive.

    Food and Dining

    They have a cafeteria for everyone who has a meal plan and also a buildng with other places to eat; it has a grill, subway and a starbucks.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus but here dorm life is fun. There are co-ed dorms and an all girls dorm.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join the ACE group. Become friends with one new person and you'll have ten friends by the end of the week. Take advantages of the acedemic upport the school offers.

    In three sentences

    A very close knit school. It's a great school for acedemics and sports. Everyone who works there is very nice to new students who need help.

  • 06/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    hey are very interesting and interactive

    What to do for fun

    Go from dorms to dorms, participate in activities planned by the recreational department

    Food and Dining

    You will love it

    Dorm Life

    Awesome.. Quiet hours so that you will be able to study and get work done.

    Academic Rigor

    It will be difficult if you do not settle down and get your work done on time and pay attention and also participate in your class exercises

    Tips for prospective students

    Always keep in contact with professor about your classes and you will breeze through easily

    In three sentences

    This college is quite diverse and fit for an individual looking for a small school to fit in. small classes and lot of attention from professors

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I live 15 minutes away, so I know many things about the area. Around campus there isn't much to do, but outside of campus, there are many fun things.

    Food and Dining

    The freshman 15 exists. Don't let the food get to you.

    Dorm Life

    It depends on which dorm you're in, who lives around you and if you like to party or not. I am not one to party, therefore Pouch Hall was prefect for me my freshman year. Hines, I have heard, can get a little crazy.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of my classes have been easy, but at the same time I have learned a lot from them. Don't let AIC's reputation stop you from having a great learning environment!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're looking for a work study, look for one ASAP. They run out very quickly. Check out ratmyprofessors.com to see how each of your professors are, it really helps!

    In three sentences

    AIC is a small, four-year private school with a lot to offer. There are many clubs and activities around that allow students to get involved. Everyone is very nice and accommodating.

  • 08/11/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I can't complain

    What to do for fun

    Its a college town there's another colleges up the road n down the road always something to do

    Food and Dining

    Good food

    Academic Rigor

    I like ut

    Tips for prospective students

    Welcoming talk to everyone find your way around

    In three sentences

    Yes easy to find places. Helpful staff very welcoming and happy to help. Great place to be.

  • 08/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 12

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They have plenty of activities and clubs you could joing.

    Food and Dining

    I have not yet had the opportunity to eat there.

    Dorm Life

    I will not be living there.

    Academic Rigor

    It has been a bit difficult to find the right resources to pay for this college, even though financial aide helped greatly I have still found myself to be in a financial burden.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to go to the schools website to get the information needed before going to the school its easier to find the right help.

    In three sentences

    This is my first year attending so far the help from the faculty has been great! I have had no problem with finding the help that I needed regardless of the problem. Everyone there was extremely nice and helpful.

  • 11/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is alright. It's not to bad but also not all that. Some days the food taste just like a home cooked meal.

    Dorm Life

    I live in a all girl dorm. It's really cozy and quiet. Everybody respects the meaning of quiet hours.

    Academic Rigor

    I am a chemistry major and so far chem is going well. The professor is very friendly and easy to talk to. Class sizes are decent size making it much easy to have that one on one connection with the professor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be yourself. There's always something to do on campus. Join clubs and meet some really nice people.

    In three sentences

    American International is a private college. Everybody at the school minority is black or Hispanic. I would rate it 6 out of 10.

  • 07/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 12

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    AIU has been great thus far. They have been very helpful and made it easy to enroll. The online campus is very easy to navigate.

  • 10/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Their are always campus police around that can walk you to your car or walk even to class.

    Clubs and Activities

    LASO- Latin American Student Organization.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Bradley Room is where a lot of meetings are held or the Griswold Theater.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out in the Hive, all commuters chill their and go to the stinger or even hang out at the gym.

    Food and Dining

    Food is great! I wish they had a little more to the menu like Spanish food night or something.

    Dorm Life

    I am currently a commuter at AIC, but I would like to see what the dorm life is like.

    Academic Rigor

    They challenge me to my full potential and make sure I am in the necessary classes to graduate.

    Tips for prospective students

    Engage yourselves in the right organizations which will bring out the best in you, surround yourself with great people and work on time management to get your work done. Study hard for tests but don't stress yourself out and speak up when you need help.

    In three sentences

    American International College is one of the most diverse and welcoming schools I have ever set my foot on. This campus not only invites and welcomes their students but guides them in the right direction and encourages their students to be the best. Not to mention that they would not let you fail a course but they help assist you with all the tools necessary to reach your full potential.

  • 01/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Greek Life is always present.

    Great for these types of students

    ATHLETES

    What to do for fun

    NYC is two hours away. Boston is about 1 1/2 hour, away. If you make friends there would always be something to do.

    Food and Dining

    The Food in the Dining Commons or DC varies time to time, not very good. The Hive gives you the choice of Starbucks and Subway.

    Dorm Life

    Depending on the Hall that you live on, its the experience you will get. Pouch Hall it's a girls only Hall, its quite not a lot of noise. Magna Hall- Loud, Co-Ed Hines- Freshman only, can get very rowdy. Edgewood- typically upper class students.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the major, typically the classes won't exceed 30 students, which is a good thing because it creates a better learning environment and the professor can help each student individually.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you visit the school first. A vehicle will be extremely handy, due to location of the school. Keep an open mind.

    In three sentences

    It is a small a school. It has a good athletic programs. Despite the size of the college, it gives you the ability to stand out, if you allow it, AIC can help you get where you want.

  • 03/04/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    12 of 12

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    They have a wide variety of clubs to join

    What to do for fun

    I am looking forward to all the events they have and especially the Basketball courts they have available near by which is great!

    Food and Dining

    They have two area one that seems to me like a buffet style and the other has some local name likes Subways and Starbucks so they are alot of variety.

    Dorm Life

    Didn't get a tour of it because i will not be staying at Dorm's i leave a street away from AIC.

    Academic Rigor

    Can't say much about until i actually attend a few classes once i do so i will update my review to inform you of the Academic Rigor

    Tips for prospective students

    If your looking for a local college with alot of different cultures they is a great college to attend they welcome anyone with open arms and have worked with me threw day one to get me enrolled.

    In three sentences

    The college has a very friendly feel to it. Everyone is willing to help you get the hang of college life and everything is very local! which is what i find the best