Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Anderson University - Indiana Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/23/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 out of 14 people found this review useful. 1 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who like a small-town, small school feel. If you want close, deep relationships with people, AU is the place! Also, if academics as well as fun (drug and alcohol-free) campus life are important to you, look into Anderson. Lastly, this school is good for students who value small class sizes and professors who know their students on a name-by-name basis.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're just not sure about AU, get up and VISIT! The school offers Discovery Days for prospective students on various dates. This school visit was the very way that I chose AU as my college. I got to meet current students and other prospective students, and learn what campus life was really like. These Discovery Days offer contact with an admissions counselor, question and answer sessions with both school administrators and students, campus tours, and also free food! This is the best way to find out if AU is right for you!

    Bang for the buck

    Since AU is a private institution, it's very expensive. However, it's totally worth it! The experience I've gained has been worth the hard work and sweat. Anderson also offers a variety of merit scholarships, as well as grants based on financial need, so few people have to pay the full cost of tuition. The high level of education and the friendly, safe environment make Anderson University worth every penny.

    Am enjoying being here

    I absolutely love Anderson University! There's so much to do on campus, and the Campus Activities Board makes sure every single weekend is packed with fun (and free!) events for everyone. Additionally, the campus environment is overwhelmingly friendly and inviting. Since it's small, everyone seems to know everyone, and the people here are so welcoming!

    Am learning a lot

    The professors at Anderson are all top-quality. Each professor is fully knowledgeable about their subject matter. I was especially impressed my my first history teacher, who bombarded me with everything anyone could ever possibly know about Rome's rise and fall! Small class sizes also help you stay connected with the professor and know them at a personal level. When you're having trouble, they're always happy to help out and make sure that you really understand the material. Living on-campus has also taught me a lot about life in general. I've learned how to develop deeper relationships, manage my time between classes and social events, and how to become a better me! There are so many options at AU and dedicated people that can help you choose the best path in life and make the right choices.

  • 07/21/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 10 people found this review useful. 2 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students that went to a smaller high school or want to get to know more people in a small amount of time. Also if you are from a church it is easy to find more students that have the same religion as you and they will want to talk to you about it. The professors will as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Yes, its a very expensive school and you might have to take out a few loans but I say that it is definitely worth it. I have grown in every area of life and I know that I have learned what I need to know and more for my major.

    Am enjoying being here

    I know a lot of my friends enjoy being at a big college but I enjoy being at this one because I went to a smaller high school so that is what I am used too and it is really easy to get to know the people and the professors are always there to help. I enjoy the smaller class sizes as well.

  • 03/29/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 10 people found this review useful. 2 people found it offensive. 1 person found this inaccurate. 3 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Shy people or students that aren't very outgoing. Make one or two friends and you'll be set. People are stuck in their ways, and don't really care to diverge themselves with other cultures, or even people that think in a different way. If you miss class a lot, do NOT go here. Professors take attendance, and some even count tardies. If you are like me, and quite often sick, this will bite you in the butt. It actually counts against you if you miss more than three classes a whole semester. Small school students that enjoyed high school. This is the school for you. I went to a small high school and hated it. This is exactly AU. Everyone still talks and gossips as if they have nothing better to do. It is college. Get on with your life, and quit acting like you know everyones business. People that like the idea of being sheltered in a Christian environment. I am Christian, don't get me wrong, but I don't like how AU shelters you from all aspects of reality. I have had friends graduate from here and warn me to transfer while I still can, because they all had a case of culture shock once they left AU and got jobs in the real world.

    Tips for prospective students

    Discovery Days are very different from actually being on campus. They often sugar coat these days to make AU seem much better than it actually is. YOU will have to constantly check on your student account. Don't expect your financial counselor to contact you. Food isn't good here. Stock up on what all you can. For girls, if you don't want to be in Rice hall, then apply VERY early to be in Morrison or Martin. I do suggest being Rice. That is where I met most of my best friends to this day. If you are a freshman, it's good to be in the freshman dorm. Beware of open hours and read the student handbook BEFORE you tell AU you will be a student. There are a decent amount of rules that you must abide by that most colleges don't require. I encourage you to visit other schools (Hanover, Butler, Franklin), and even ones that are complete opposites of AU, such as Ball State, IU, and Purdue. I fell in love with school, but that's only because it was a college.

    Bang for the buck

    Professors are okay, but it's just too expensive. I look and think, I'm paying $32,000 a year to live with crappy food, fake people, and get told what I can and can't do like a middle schooler???

    Am enjoying being here

    Nope. I hate Anderson University. The last two years here have been hell on earth. As I said before, the students here are very cliquey and really don't care to meet new people.

    Am learning a lot

    Professors are pretty good at what they do. Don't take Astronomy. It's not an astronomy class, it's astrophysics. Much harder than a general ed class should be. Music school is stuck up an cliquey.

  • 06/08/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    4 out of 5 people found this review useful. 4 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    good students, but you don't have to be the top tier to be successful here, and to get merit aid

    Tips for prospective students

    AU has generous merit scholarships, starting w/ ACT scores as low as 22! don't let sticker price scare you

  • 06/11/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Start early and take advantage of your admissions advisor. They are a super group of people who want to help you in your college search, wherever you plan on going.

    Bang for the buck

    A little pricy, but it is a private school. Stock up on scholarships!

  • 11/29/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Partyers, chronic class skippers, and the unmotivated need not apply! This school clearly holds students to a higher standard, which I greatly appreciate and respect. If your looking for a smaller college with a Christ-centered curriculum, great programs in many areas, and a tight-knit sense of community, then I highly recommend Anderson University.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you take advantage of your peer mentor group the first few weeks of school. The peer mentor group is an assembly of about 15 freshman and an upperclassman leader. The more you hang out and get to know these people the more you'll have a built-in friendship group for the rest of the year.

    Bang for the buck

    You pay for experiences as much as you do education. In that respect, Anderson does very well. It truly is a community. That being said, it is a private school, and is well out of the price range of some. However, they give out many scholarships and financial aid is good for this type of school. The programs and smaller class sizes are worth the extra tuition in my estimation. Like another reviewer said, where they stick you is the meal plan. Make sure you figure out what works best for you food-wise, long before you sign off on that.

    Am enjoying being here

    This school, like all colleges, is what you make of it. Sure, Anderson isn't a huge city, but it's not far from Indianapolis if that's your thing. I have a few friends who think this campus is dead on the weekends, but I have not found that to be the case. If you get a group of people together for a movie party or a game night, or you go to one of the MANY campus activities, odds are you'll be very busy and not so bored. The only thing I wish was different was the dorm atmosphere. There are far too many stereotypes of how each dorm functions and the people who live there (sadly, they are often true).

    Am learning a lot

    Although I'm only finishing up my first semester here at Anderson, I feel like I am well on my way to bigger and better things. Because of the smaller class sizes, I definitely get more individualized attention. Also, you really get to know your classmates which helps when it comes to studying and projects. Though a small school, Anderson has great programs in music, business, education, nursing, theatre, biology (pre-med option available), political science and many more! I'm in communications which has many different tracks, and I really feel that the professors care about getting me to where I need to be. When I looked at other colleges, I felt that they were saying to me, What can you do for us? whereas Anderson said, What can we do for you?

  • 07/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are emergency towers to call security or 911 at any time. Campus has Safe Havens. These are door ways that lock you in bullet proof glass and automatically call security over an intercom. Security is constantly patrolling around the parking lots. Each building has cameras around the perimeter. My parents were the most impressed with the security than anything.

    Greek Life

    There is not a greek life per say, but there are social clubs which are very similar.

    Clubs and Activities

    social clubs swing dance bands orchestras choirs prayer groups campus ministry groups study groups

    Great for these types of students

    If you love worship, then this is the school for you! Volunteer worship is 2 days a week, chapel, and a community that is addicted to it is the perfect set up for the most random and best encounters with Jesus you'll ever have!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have mysterious traffic cones that end up on top of buildings on Mondays after the weekend. Never caught on camera or by the security officers, no one knows who does this... but it's always a site to see!

    Bang for the buck

    You really get what you pay for at Anderson. Yes, it is pricey, but our sports facilities are some of the best in the U.S. The Colts actually train at our gym during the summer, and the track we have inside our gym is the same material that was used in the Beijing Olympics. We have one of the best music programs(schools) around, and our broadcasting/productions majors work on actual televised projects. Our nursing program is one of the best, and if you want a church then you came to the right town. Anderson should be the capital of churches. Any and every church you can possibly imagine is located in town and welcomes college students!

    What to do for fun

    There are many different events hosted by different clubs/social groups around campus. There's comedy shows, IM games, musical performances, Dorm Hall Olympics, Deluxe Donuts runs, and much much more. It helps that we do not have a curfew, because if we really want to have fun, we go off campus to Fort Wayne or Indianapolis. There is always something to do over the weekends. Our campus activities board (CAB) plans different events every weekend that a large majority of the campus comes out to. It's really nice to know that if you do not go home on the weekend, that you have something to do instead with friends.

    Food and Dining

    The food/dining that is available to the students at Anderson is very diverse; however, I have had better food at other campuses that I have visited. Because it is a smaller university, they do not have quite the selection that a larger university would, but I am impressed with what they do have.

    Dorm Life

    I love the dorm life at AU. The dorms are a place of unique community and friendship. There are strict rules about what students can and cannot do in the dorms, but these rules are only in place with best interests in mind for the students. There are not crazy parties every night, but you can have fun without any of that. For the girls there is an all freshman girl dorm that helps build community with your class. There are not co-ed dorms any more, but there is plenty of time set aside for both boys and girls to visit one another in their dorms. I loved the dorms so much that I applied to be an RA (resident assistant) next year. I am going to be an RA in the all freshman girl dorm! I am so excited!! There is something about dorm life that is irreplaceable.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are not too difficult, but do require work on the students' part. You cannot pass your classes if you do not go or do your work, but the homework does not take hours and Anderson provides their students with the correct/appropriate resources to help them with their work if they need it. If you've taken AP or ACP classes in High School, then you are well prepared for the courses offered at AU.

    Tips for prospective students

    The students at Anderson University are real. They are real people with real lives and problems. They do not put on a fake Christian smile and pretend things are okay when they are not. Be ready to make friends that will last a life time, who support you through things you never knew people would be willing to support you through. Anderson University is the most accepting and encouraging campus you will ever step foot on, so be ready to feel loved. Come with an open mind!!

    In three sentences

    Anderson University is a great Christian school for young men and women who are looking to pursue majors in Education, Business, Nursing, Music, or Ministry. Not only are the students welcoming, but the staff is very personable and supportive. I would recommend Anderson University to any and all of my friends who are looking for a school that challenges their students academically as well as spiritually.

  • 07/07/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    No Greek Life

    What to do for fun

    They have tons of campus activities! Their calendar had something going on almost every weekend, which is awesome for those of us who aren't bringing a car!

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask them tons of questions, even if they seem stupid and measly. Visit campus, it's the only way you can really get a feel for the campus and know how you will fit in. Ask yourself could I live here happily for 4 years? If the answer is no, it's probably not the school for you, keep searching

    In three sentences

    I'm super excited about going to AU. The process of applying, getting accepted and registering was super easy. They were always happy to answer my little questions, my admissions counselor gave me her cell phone # and told me to text her or call her any time if I had any questions! They don't just look at your GPA or SAT/ACT scores, they look at you as a whole. Which is good for those of us who have terrible ACT/SAT scores but a really good GPA! They gave me a better scholarship even though my ACT/SAT scores were too low for it!

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have several safety lock-down areas with alarms as well as round the clock security. Girls are given a whistle as freshmen and a phone # to call if you need/want to be escorted from a building to your car or dorm at night.

    Great for these types of students

    They have many outstanding programs including Theatre, Dance & Music, Nursing, Business, Theology, and Pre-Health.

    What to do for fun

    I have several dance practices after school during the week while holding down 2 part time jobs as well as commute from home, so my fun time is limited. I do enjoy spending time with my dance friends when I have a chance and just hanging out with them.

    Food and Dining

    They food is really good with lots of options each day. There are 4 places to get food ranging from a sack lunch to a cafeteria style all you can eat sit down dining room.

    Dorm Life

    I really cannot rate this as I am a commuter student, but since it's required I'll give it a 4 from what I've seen of my friend's dorms. They vary from an actual dorm to dorm apartments depending on which year you are attending.

    Academic Rigor

    The professor's have high expectations of their students but are also available to help you with anything you need. They are concerned about your life and well being and will do what they can to help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to ask your admission counselor questions. Share your thoughts and feelings with them and with the student guides. Make an appointment with the area you wish to major in to ask even more questions.

    In three sentences

    I love attending this University! The atmosphere is friendly and the professors really care about you. The campus is gorgeous.

  • 05/22/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Although Anderson costs quite a bit of money, it is SO worth it! There is nothing better than having a professor who knows you by name and is willing to work individually with you. The campus is full of love and I truly feel like I belong.

    Am enjoying being here

    This campus is beautiful! Everyone is very friendly and I always feel comfortable wherever I go. There are fun activities to participate in and new things to try.

    Am learning a lot

    The information is extremely relevant to your major, but most classes also help build up your faith as well. What you learn helps you to not only grow as a student, but as a person.

  • 09/27/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anderson is a wonderful place for Christian students who are interested in going to a smaller college, that will have smaller class sizes and where the teacher will actually know your name and care about who you are as an individual. If you are looking to go to a school in which you can grow not only within your field of expertise, but also closer with Christ in the wonderful Christian atmosphere, AU is your school.

    Bang for the buck

    The only place I really feel as though I am getting ripped off money wise from Anderson is in the meal plans. The point system for two of the campus eating locations is quite ridiculous and eats away our money. I understand that this seems to be an issue at almost any college though, so it is to be expected.

    Am enjoying being here

    I really enjoy the Christian environment here at Anderson. The professors are all very personable and greet you when you run into them out and about on campus, as well as out in the community. I love that many of the professors ask for prayer requests at the beginning of some of the class times and say a prayer before starting the class session. We are required to attend a certain number of chapels each semester. Each chapel is different which makes it more enjoyable. Even the worship team and music is different, whether it be contemporary with a full band, or lead by an acoustic guitar.

    Am learning a lot

    I am an education major. I am definitely learning a lot. Some of the information overlaps from class to class, which can get repetitive, but I understand the reasons behind this because the information is important and they want to make sure we fully understand this before entering our own classroom.

  • 01/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Traditional and non-traditional students

    Bang for the buck

    Compared to some public universities, the tuition is a little higher but it is well worth the money

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are tough but prepare you for real world situations.

    In three sentences

    Anderson University has given me the tools I need to succeed. They have programs specifically designed for working adults as well as traditional college students.

  • 03/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a lot of frisbee and random activities you can do with friends. There is also a group called CAB which is a group of people who plan events for the whole campus to participate in.

    Food and Dining

    The food is very repetitive and sometimes not very edible. Every once and a while there is a good meal it is rare.

    Dorm Life

    In the dorm there is a definite community between the people living in the dorms. It is a very fun environment to be in.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors challenge you but not to the point where the assignment is impossible. They want to make sure you know the information and are willing to meet with you to help you be the best.

    Tips for prospective students

    The food is not always the greatest and the wireless tends to go out. However, the dorm life is great and the RAs really try to make everyone feel welcome. It is easy to get involved in different things if you are willing to try new things.

    In three sentences

    It is an excellent university for those who are wanting a Christian environment to further their education. The teachers are interested in their students and furthering their education, not advancing their research. It creates for a great social environment with many people who genuinely care about you.

  • 04/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Anderson University has their own security, which to me is good, in addition to Anderson, IN police force.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are various clubs and activities. I do not know much about them.

    Great for these types of students

    It is a good school for Christian students.

    Bang for the buck

    I have only attended one semester. I do not much more than what I have already said.

    What to do for fun

    Anderson has football, basketball, baseball, track, soccer, and other sports for competition with other colleges/universities. There is also intramural sports, however, I do not know much about that.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria available for students. There is also other places on campus where a student can get food. If a student so desires and has available transportation, there is restaurants a few blocks away.

    Dorm Life

    I am not able to properly rate dorm life, because I do not know anything about dorm life because I already live within commuting distance from Anderson.

    Academic Rigor

    There are some courses that are tough. As stated in the rating, the instructors are more than willing to assist the students, when needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend Anderson University to any Christian man or woman seeking a college degree. The field can be business, nursing, ministry, or other areas of study not mentioned.

    In three sentences

    The staff and instructors have been very encouraging. There areas that my skills are weak in, and they are teaching me much. I am grateful for having chosen Anderson University.

  • 05/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The adult education program is absolutely WONDERFUL!

    Tips for prospective students

    Enjoy yourself and work hard!

    In three sentences

    I enjoy the adult continuing education program. I love the small class size and getting to know other adults that are working towards their bachelors degree. The professors and staff are very caring and supportive.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There have not been any major security issues while I have been at AU and they staff has been good at responding when needed. Fire safety has been the only issue and all these issues have been resolved with very minimal damage.

    Greek Life

    There are no sororities or frats. Social clubs are the closest thing. There are social clubs for men as well as for women; they are still seperate. To join, students must surge (a.k.a. rush) to be in the club.

    Great for these types of students

    I already would recommend this school to any student wanting to get involved in the science field. But friends of mine also highly recommend the music programs and dance programs as well as the psycology program!

    Bang for the buck

    Anderson has great programs for music and dance as well as many other fields. Personally, I am a science major and one of the factors that has made AU the right choice for me is the opportunities that the science departments have given me. The ability to be a TA, to do work study, even internships as a first year student are values that you probably won't get at a bigger school, at least not all within year one. But they do not give them to just anyone; you have to show them initiative and ability.

    What to do for fun

    Intramurals are great fellowship and competition. There are a handful of social clubs on campus that do service projects and put on various shows for the campus. We have good athletic teams that usually compete for conference championships. There are often good shows to see at the campus cafe as well (Mocha Joe's).

    Food and Dining

    On campus there are 3 main choices depending on what you want. There is a cafeteria that has a good daily variety of options that is open for breakfast lunch and dinner. Also there are 2 grab-and-go options: The Haven & Cafe O'le. Both are good. The Haven is more like a grill, deli, and pizza place that allows you to select items on a point system. O'le is similar but the food is either a salad, deli sandwich, or something more home style generally. O'le is only open for breakfast and lunch.

    Dorm Life

    The residence halls have fun social events but restricted hours for when visitors of the opposite sex can be around.

    Academic Rigor

    It's really all on the students. The professors have a passion for their field and they want you to learn but it's not their job to make sure that you can teach yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get a feel for the people around campus to see if these are the kind of people you would make friends with. Don't be afraid of trying new things and meeting new people.

    In three sentences

    Anderson University is full of wonderful students and staff. It is a great place to learn. It is well worth the cost if you make the most of your time here.

  • 05/19/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    17 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    5 stars

    Greek Life

    Not an option

    Clubs and Activities

    5 stars

    Great for these types of students

    Christians. Students wanting a smaller more intimate college experience. Students wanting a variety of service opportunities and oversee studies.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a moderately pricey school, but the smaller student population allows for counselors and staff to know you personally and help you get the classes you need to ensure graduation in a timely fashion.

    What to do for fun

    There are collegiate sports, intramural sports, cheerleading and dance team, lots of clubs and social groups. Indianapolis is less than a 45 minute drive for the arts and professional sports.

    Food and Dining

    There is one main food area with unlimited food servings. The times I've been there there have always been 3-4 selections. There are smaller cafes and coffee chops on campus as well. The meal plan is accepted at all locations.

    Dorm Life

    There are several dorms of small to medium size. Freshman floors are available. Resident Assistants and Disciplining Counselors are on each female freshman floor. There was a feeling of sisterhood in the dorms I visited.

    Academic Rigor

    5 stars

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus. Meet the staff. Meet the students. Ask questions!

    In three sentences

    Anderson University is a small liberal arts college with strong Christian values that permeate through their faculty/staff and students. They offer a wide variety of educational studies and have set the bar high for personal and academic success. The physical location of the school affords the student opportunities of a small town as well as a large city.

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe!

    Greek Life

    Lots of clubs!

    Clubs and Activities

    Many!

    Great for these types of students

    Musicians,nurses,educators.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A special location on campus, is the music department's recording studio. It was so much fun recording my first CD!

    Bang for the buck

    Anderson is worth the tuition cost!

    What to do for fun

    For fun,I joined several clubs and hung out at Mocha Joe's.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Anderson is good and their are a variety of choices to meet any one's pallet.

    Dorm Life

    I had some challenging experiences,however , overall dorm life at Anderson was fun and I many friends from the mid west.

    Academic Rigor

    I found my professors always willing to assist me when needed!

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused, organize your time for study,and join campus activities.

    In three sentences

    Great school! I am enjoying my classes and find them both challenging and exciting. My professors are always willing to advise me,write recommendation letters and guide me when needed. Also,I have gained life long friends and have fostered life long friendships too.

  • 06/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is great. The Market Place is more for an actually diner that seems home cooked. It makes you feel comfortable and at home. The haven is perfect for on the go and for wraps, burgers, fries, and such things like that. I stocked up on cereal and it lasted me a long time. They also have some awesome Italian food to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is awesome! I am a female and I lived in Rice Hall which is an all girls freshman dorm. The relationships that I made with the girls in my floor and in my hall will last a life time. There is always an activity going on in the hall, and you will never get bored. Another plus is that each floor has a brother floor, so more chance to meet some boys!

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor at Anderson University is difficult and it challenges you. It's perfect because it sets you up for problem solving and gives you a better knowledge of your major that you study.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should try their hardest in high school because it will benefit them well when transitioning into college life. They need to keep their mind open when it comes to meeting new people, because if they are then their experience in college will be a delightful one.

    In three sentences

    Anderson University is the perfect place to grow as a student and also as a person. The relationships that you make are close, and are very beneficial. The greatest part about attending Anderson University is that you grow closer to God while getting an excellent education!

  • 06/22/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safely at home there.

    Clubs and Activities

    Never a dull moment.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want Christ-centered education, but challenging work as well. Students who want some freedom that many other Christian colleges don't offer.

    Bang for the buck

    The price is pretty steep.

    What to do for fun

    Indianapolis is just 30 minutes away, so you can imagine the possibilities! There is also always something going on at the campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great there!

    Dorm Life

    Great dorms. Great people.

    Academic Rigor

    Very challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you visit the campus! You need to see it for yourself.

    In three sentences

    It's very welcoming. It's got the freedom of a secular university, but is Christ-centered. The people there are awesome.

  • 06/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus is very safe. Students still need to take caution, especially at night, because you never know what will happen. There have been very little, if any incidents where a students safety was compromised.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many different options for clubs and activities. There are a few social clubs and there are many activities that are offered. Some of the activities include CAB events, intermurals, campus ministries, etc.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are a few interesting locations on campus. There is the rock that every freshman takes a walk to to touch on their registration weekend. There is also the eternal flame that is not always lit.

    Bang for the buck

    Anderson University is an expensive college but like I said before, I would not trade it for anything. There is financial aid and scholarships available. I still have to take out some loans but I know that my experiences and the knowledge that I am gaining will be worth it in the end.

    What to do for fun

    There are many things that you can do for fun. There are CAB events just about every weekend, intermurals, social clubs, community service opportunities, campus ministries, and many other opportunities for fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food can be really good but there are times when it is not so good. It really is a hit or miss thing.

    Dorm Life

    I absolutely love living in the dorm. I have made some great friends on my floors and I would not trade it for anything!

    Academic Rigor

    I feel like I am pushed to work hard at Anderson. I am not given an easy way out but rather, I am pushed to my greatest potential.

    Tips for prospective students

    The number one thing to do at Anderson is just to get involved. Do everything that you possibly can and have fun. I would also highly recommend going on a Tri-S trip, it can be life changing.

    In three sentences

    Anderson University is a fantastic university with high priorities for quality education, good, helpful experiences, and academics that also give glory to God. I feel like I am getting the best quality experience at Anderson. I could not have chosen a better place to go.

  • 09/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus security patrols constantly, making students feel very safe.

    Food and Dining

    They offer a variety of cuisines in a wide range of prices. There are healthy choices along with vegetarian menu items.

    Dorm Life

    I commute to campus but the dorms look neat and well taken care of.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics of Anderson University are some of the highest standards in the state. They accelerate in the nursing program as well as in leadership. They also offer tutoring services for students who need assistance with multiple subjects.

    In three sentences

    The campus of Anderson University is small, clean, and secure. The staff are pleasant and willing to help whenever a student has an issue. The Christian aspect is rewarding and very fulfilling.

  • 09/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We are pretty close to an inner city, so there are some sketchy, random people who walk through campus.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a very wide variety.

    Great for these types of students

    Socialites who have a lot of money and high reading comprehensive skills.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every year there is a trip to the anderson raceway. It's really fun to see the people in the community. We also have activities led by social clubs having to do with a talent show (Encore), a cheap neighborhood activity (Cheap Thrills), a game show (The Price Is Right), and many more.

    Bang for the buck

    Many things are over charged. Hefty fines for minimal things. ($20 dollars for parking your bike in the wrong place). Not worth a tuition of $34,000.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of interest clubs and many having to do with community service. Perfect for those who like to reach out. There are also many concerts that occur in our coffee shop and auditorium. We also have dance clubs, like swing, and singing clubs, like gospel choir.

    Food and Dining

    Typical mediocre high school lunch room food.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms, for the most part, are tight knit.

    Academic Rigor

    Very reading and writing intensive.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find your group of friends fast because after a short while, many people already have made up their minds about who they wish to spend their time with.

    In three sentences

    They have a very select few of very good professors. These professors actually care that every single person understands what is being taught. I would not recommend going here if you don't learn well by simply listening.

  • 09/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are many safe havens which are inside buildings. If you're in trouble, you run to a safe haven which will have a blue light and you hit a button right inside, which will lock the outside doors so no one can get in. Then, you call the campus police and they will come straight to you. All the girls have whistles and were given instructions on what to do in certain situations.

    Greek Life

    They have social clubs, which are technically frats and sororities. For a week, the people who are trying to get in to those clubs, have to do weird and funny things. They wear a sign the whole week with their picture and their code name and they have to get up early and stay up late everyday for the entire week.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are always things going on, on campus. They have activities almost every Friday that are a lot of fun to be a part of. I went to square dancing, dressed up in overalls with braids, and learned how to square dance! It was so much, I just wish they had more things to do during the week.

    Great for these types of students

    Anderson is great for Christian students. Its a christian school and there are a lot of opportunities to go on mission trips, help in the community, go to church and chapel, and just serve others. If you want to go to a school that is involved in giving back, Anderson is the place to be.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There aren't any unusual locations, but a tradition would be the synchronized swimmers. The swimmers are all girls, they dance in the fountain and put on a show to folk music. Its very cool to watch and its a tradition of Anderson's to gather around the fountain and watch it the few times a year they have a performance.

    Bang for the buck

    There are ups and downs with the prices of things. An up would be the raven dollars we get each semester to spend on the coffee shop or the bookstore. We get $150 per semester and that goes a long way if you don't spend it all in the beginning. The down would be the meal plan. One meal is 5 points and if you only want to use 3 of those points, the others go to waste and they don't roll over for the next semester. Bummer.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, I like to go just out of the campus where there are shops and restaurants. There is a donut shop that is amazing, there are golf courses and other activities to do. I also like to walk through the valley which is in the middle of all the buildings and its beautiful; its relaxing and it reminds me of a little fairyland.

    Food and Dining

    The food can be a hit or miss. There are only a few places to choose from. If you go to the dining hall, there are always things you can get if you don't like the main course they're serving. If you go to the fast food area, they always have the same things that will most likely hurt your stomach later that day. Its something your stomach has to get used to.

    Dorm Life

    I live in an all freshman girls dorm and its great, but most of the girls try to connect with just the people in their hall, instead of everyone in the dorm. I love the girls in my hall, but I wish I knew more of them.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are great. The teachers are all fantastic; they want you to succeed, so they'll help you with anything. If you need help after school or between classes, they're there. The work is tough, but you learn things you never knew you wanted to know. I've learned a lot already and its only been a few weeks.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips would be to be yourself. Pretending to be someone else will get you into the wrong crowd and you won't make your real friends if you pretend to be someone you're not. Also, get involved in anything free they have on campus. There are many opportunities and you will meet so many people if you go out of your comfort zone and just have fun with the crowd.

    In three sentences

    Anderson is a great college to attend. The atmosphere, the people, the environment, and everything about it is amazing. I would recommend attending Anderson if you're looking for a school that is small, beautiful, and if you want to have real relationships with teachers and others around campus.

  • 10/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have an open campus, so no fences that cover up the campus. However, we have AU campus police guard 24/7. There is really not much that goes on as far as on campus goes.

    Greek Life

    none that I know of.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's obviously the Honor society, the International Student Association, The Student Government, The Student Board, SIFE, many different clubs according to major.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who want to study hard, make meaningful relationships, and follow their dream.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Helios, our glass artwork that is in the center of the campus, is really beautiful. It is surrounded by fountains and whenever you walk past, it's turquoise color is relaxing.

    Bang for the buck

    I think AU is quite cheap compared to many colleges. They are quite generous in giving scholarships too.

    What to do for fun

    The campus is the bomb really. The campus activity board plans many fun events through out the year. Along with it, there are lots and lots of restaurants. you can go bowling, shopping, etc.

    Food and Dining

    I must say the food is edible, but not sublime.

    Dorm Life

    Actually, it gets better and better as your grade goes up. Freshmen dorm? not that awesome. But completely livable. Sophomore and up? it's all gooood.

    Academic Rigor

    You will not get a satisfactory grade unless you study like you mean it.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's a great place to study and create some lasting relationships. The professor-student relationship here is really one of a kind. Although we may lack some areas due to geography, the community here is amazing. The school definitely is academically challenging and motivating.

    In three sentences

    quite good actually

  • 10/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have safety alarm post all over the campus. They also have campus security that patrol during the evening classes. I have had some late classes and always felt safe. It is very well lighted as well.

    Greek Life

    I am not familiar with these as I am an adult learner and do not live on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am not familiar with these as I am an adult learner and do not live on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is wonderful for the adult learner because they offer several night classes and online options for those with working obligations. It is also an ideal campus for anyone looking for a quiet learning environment, and person attention.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They host the Indianapolis Colts training camp on the Anderson University campus every year. This draws a lot of attention.

    Bang for the buck

    After looking into many schools I decided on this one partially because of the affordability in conjunction with what I wanted to do.

    What to do for fun

    I am not sure what there is for fun as I commute and am in my forties so I am unsure if my idea of fun would be the typical students idea of fun.

    Food and Dining

    A very nice dining hall and the food is always good and there are plenty of selections.

    Dorm Life

    I commute so I am unsure of Dorm Life. However the dorms seem to be fairly new and some of my classmates have stated they are very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    With the requirements of the liberal arts portions of the degree the classes are challenging. There is a lot of Bible study and Faith classes. These are challenging but very rewarding.

    Tips for prospective students

    College is a commitment so prioritize your time and get everything out the the classes that you can. You will need it out in the working world.

    In three sentences

    It is a wholesome christian college. The campus is accommodating and has great resources. The professors are knowledgeable and very talented.

  • 11/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a campus activities board that plans events throughout the whole year. There is always something going on, whether on or off campus. They provide safe environments and are inexpensive.

    Food and Dining

    There is a wide variety of food choices. There are unhealthy and healthy choices. Also, they have vegetarian and vegan options as well to cater to the people's needs.

    Dorm Life

    The community in my dorm is absolutely amazing. However, our dorm is the only one that hasn't been remodeled, and it has experienced many problems. Overall, I love the atmosphere though.

    Academic Rigor

    Anderson University is amazing when it comes to academic rigor. The courses are challenging, interesting, and rewarding. The professors see you not as a number but as a person, and go above and beyond to provide you with the skills, knowledge, and life lessons needed for the future.

    Tips for prospective students

    Everyone should definitely apply for as many scholarships, even if you don't meet all of the requirements! Get involved in as much stuff as you can, because you meet so many people and make amazing memories. Also, your studies are so important; make sure that you keep your grades up!

    In three sentences

    The atmosphere is so lively and warming. There is always something to do on campus, and everyone gets along really well. The professors see you not as a number but as a person, and go above and beyond to provide you with the skills, knowledge, and life lessons needed for the future.

  • 12/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have personally never had a reason to call them, however the campus itself seems very secure. Anderson the town in which the college resides I could not say the same for.

    Greek Life

    No Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    Mostly christian faith based. Discussion groups.

    Great for these types of students

    Students going into religious studies or fields.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I found it unusual that the football team was referred to as a gang and not a sporting team. There are prayer circles and dub-step parties of the christian music genre. It is a lovely campus. The activities leave a great deal to be desired.

    Bang for the buck

    At 37,000 a year and no financial help for athletes I would say that with all the religious rhetoric that is required as a freshmen and the faith based driven fun activities that Anderson encourages there is not any bang for your buck at this private Univeristy unless again you are planning on serving God as a career path.

    What to do for fun

    I am focusing on my gpa, but others have been involved in activities such as Praise Week.

    Food and Dining

    My Mother over paid. The food is not very good and the hours are worse. I am not starving.

    Dorm Life

    I am in the Dunngeon at Dunn Hall. It has not been redone in I do not know how many years. My roommate left college at the Thanksgiving break and did not return. I have heard that some of the dorms on campus are nice, but have not experienced that first hand. Internet connection is impossible and many professors use the Internet to put up assignments and study schedules.

    Academic Rigor

    Freshmen year many courses that are mandatory are religious baised.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend you do a great deal of research before attending this school. If you are looking into ministery degrees then this is the school for you. If you are an athlete and a serious one, I would look elsewhere.

    In three sentences

    I am transferring at the end of my first semester from Anderson to Butler Unversity for my second semester as a freshmen. I played on Anderson Unversity's football team and I have retained a good gpa. I however would not recommend Anderson University to anyone, unless the major is religious based beliefs or some form of.

  • 12/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe opt to the dumb things that you hear happening every once and awhile that you would never think would happen. Christians aren't exempt from sinning. Security will get on your nerves though. All they seem to be good for is writing parking tickets.

    Greek Life

    Well unfortunately our greek life does not exist. We have something called social clubs though that are pretty much just like the real deal. Either way you get the chance to form a brother or sisterhood.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a lot of things to be a part of at AU. Whether you're an artist, dancer, musician, athlete, extrovert, or all of those things. There's always volunteer work and committees as well if you don't want a year long commitment.

    Great for these types of students

    What's so great at being at this school is if you're somewhat of an easy going person who doesn't like being around smoke or drinking, this is probably the place to be because of the rules. Everyone accepts you no matter what you do though.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The spot to hang is usually Mocha Joes, which is basically our Starbucks equipped with pool tables, ping pong, tv, lounge, and sometimes shows. Other normal hangouts is dorm and apartment lobbies and the eating place, Haven.

    What to do for fun

    There's always something being put on by the CAB organization. Plus there's some leisure activities like pool or ping pong. And if you're a partyer, Ball State is only about 30 minutes away probably closer. Just remember AU's drinking policy.

    Food and Dining

    There are only a couple of places to eat, one being a buffet style that is closed on weekends. You eventually will get tired of it like any other college student. The great thing is that there are a ton of restaurants located near the school, seriously a ton.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is interesting because of the open house hours. Once you accustom into the campus life though all of that stuff eventually just becomes a habit. You just have to deal with the rules if you decide to come here.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your major really in truly determines your work load. But you can always depend on the fact that even the liberal arts requirements will teach you some useful information.

    Tips for prospective students

    You have to realize that this is a Christian University, so mostly everything gets looked at from a religious point of view. However, they are very open to what you may choose to believe. Come with an open mind to not only get an education and work towards a career, but to also become a better person.

    In three sentences

    Anderson is a great life changing experience. The faculty get very involved with their students and find some way to know them inside or outside of classes. And because the campus is small, you can really take in the full beauty of the environment.

  • 04/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is discussed with all new students on campus. All girls are given a rape whistle and there are many safe spots on campus. The security team is great and is always there when you need them.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of options for such a small school.

    Great for these types of students

    This is a great school for students wanting more individual attention. I also like the faith-based school that isn't as strict as most Christian schools.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    As soon as freshman arrive on campus, all 500+ of them are taken off campus to do a service project. What a great way to start the year!

    Bang for the buck

    My freshman year I had major knee surgery. The nurse was like my Mom away from home and everyone on campus was so helpful and understanding. I never would have gotten such good treatment on a large campus.

    What to do for fun

    Our student life activities board has fun activities planned each weekend so there's always something to do.

    Food and Dining

    Because of the size of the school, there aren't many food options.

    Dorm Life

    A dorm is a dorm! I will be moving into a campus apartment next year but have met a lot of great students in the dorm and made a lot of friends.

    Academic Rigor

    I am constantly being challenged in my education but know that they are preparing me for a great career. The liberal arts makes me a more well-rounded person.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of all the prospective student opportunities and ask questions of current students.

    In three sentences

    Anderson University is a wonderful faith-based school that has helped me grow in my faith, grow as a person and study what I love. I love the small school atmosphere because it has given me more opportunities in my area of study and I feel like I'm part of a big family.

  • 04/09/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    31 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the Campus. The school is wonderful, the people are friendly, and the views are many and noteworthy.

    In three sentences

    This university has a wonderful campus. The school is a Christian college, and it has a home-like quality to it. Definitely a recommendation

  • 05/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel safe on AU campus and have never needed to use my safety whistle. At night, the campus offers shuttle buses for safety and there are lots of Safe Havens in the entrances of buildings. A Safe Haven is a place you can go if you are in danger or are being pursued. You run in and can push a button to lock the doors, and another button to summon campus security to your aid.

    Greek Life

    I do not know much about Greek life, except for the social clubs available for students to join, such as Alacrius, Boosters, and Dativus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of social clubs that students can get involved in and lots of campus activities, such as Fill the Hills, Rooftop Dance, Hall Olympics, Zombie Apocalypse, Cheap Thrills, and Encore.

    Great for these types of students

    Independent and hardworking students do best at AU. You have got to be self-motivated and ready for college life. Stay on top of assignments and only take 18 credit hours if you are sure you can handle it.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are lots of strange dorm traditions that go on at AU, some of which are best kept secret. One weird tradition is for the graduating senior guys to urinate - yes, urinate - on the campus' historical founding rock. Ironically, this same rock is the one that incoming freshman must touch as part of orientation week!

    Bang for the buck

    Anderson University is very expensive but, if you are determined and hardworking, it is so worth it. I made many mistakes this year that might mean I have to transfer, but I would go back and change what I did this year. If you get to go to Anderson, do not waste it. Even one year changed my life.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something to do on campus. Talent shows, scavenger hunts, midnight frisbee golf, late-night vollyball, Fill the Hills in the Valley...I could go on for a while.

    Food and Dining

    The food tastes great, but after a while, the body tends to reject it because of its greasy quality. The food in the Raven's Haven is mostly greasy, but the food in the Marketplace is sometimes like a home-cooked meal. Most students prefer the MP to the Haven.

    Dorm Life

    I have made life long friends at Anderson University. My roommate, who was selected at random for me, became my best friend. The girls I have spent this first year of college with will always be my pack of friends and I hope to never fall out of communication with them.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are not easy. They are challenging and I found out fast that I was still thinking like a high school student. My grades suffered and I would go back and change my mistakes if I could.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not procrastinate! If you procrastinate, your grades will suffer. This is the time to act like an adult and understand that your professors will not be reminding you of upcoming assignments. The responsibility is in your hands, so do not waste the chance you have been given. Don't let yourself get on academic probation if you can help it. Always give 100% and study weeks in advanced for tests and exams. This is not high school anymore, this is real life. Don't treat it like a game or a vacation.

    In three sentences

    Anderson University is an environment that nurtures academic and Christian discovery. While it is a Christian institution, the campus life as a whole is very accepting of other beliefs and backgrounds. Anderson can help you discover what your true passions are and where you want to be in the future.

  • 05/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 33 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's alright could be better at night around the parking lots.

    Greek Life

    None, which sucks

    Clubs and Activities

    SGA Social Groups

    Great for these types of students

    Country kids Kids that keep to themselves Weird people

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    People playing mid-night ultimate frisbee and hitting cars, trees, windows, and doors.

    Bang for the buck

    If I could get more money to attend Anderson University as a minority that would be great. Anderson University is just too costly for nothing and it puts people in debt afterwards.

    What to do for fun

    Can't compare to a state school. Go to Indianapolis, IN Go to Muncie, IN Go back home

    Food and Dining

    You get what you paid for and what we paid for to attend Anderson University does not show on our plates! Too much money goes into Anderson University for nothing.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is terrible that's all I'm going to say. Trust me!

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are good.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't come just because it's a Christian School. Have other options. Work study is a rip off you are not guaranteed the full amount of work study which is $3,500. I'm a witness. If you are looking for a fun college experience Anderson University is not it but it's chill.

    In three sentences

    Anderson University is a alright school to get away and it's pretty calm. The college life and college experience is beyond terrible all the activities are targeted to just one race and that's all the white kids and nothing for blacks or minority students. Anderson University also cost way too much money for nothing to actually give back to students expect a huge debt.

  • 05/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 40

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Campus life is great. Get involved in all you can do!

    Food and Dining

    Not the best but I think it's about the same or better than most colleges.

    Dorm Life

    Be prepared for diversity. Get to know your dorm mates. These are some of the friends you will keep in contact with for a long time.

    Academic Rigor

    College is hard but good study habits learned in high school will carry over. Some majors require more studying than others.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved. Learn study habits in high school.

    In three sentences

    Anderson University is a small college just north of Indianapolis. If you are looking for a small Christian college I would strongly suggest looking at Anderson. The campus is amazing!

  • 08/28/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    35 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus has the best safety I have seen on campus they make sure that there students are always put first when it comes to safety. they have emergency phone booths all over campus and safe havens also.

    Bang for the buck

    the school is really expensive that's what you get for a private school but even after all my struggles Im really enjoying it here.

    What to do for fun

    there is sooo much to do. Welcome week you never want to miss a thing they do so much. then as the year continues they try to keep adding things on the weekends so no one gets bored. the even do laser tag in the library!

    Food and Dining

    I have to wait to give the food and dining anymore we are just getting a new food service this year so this year is a test year. we are just getting a chick-f-la on campus so yay.

    Dorm Life

    I LOVE my dorm its such a weird shape but it works for me. if you like character Rice hall is the dorm to be in yeah you may not me able to bunk your beds or loft them but its still worth it in the end. and the missing star is because the tallest dorm is 4 floors but you have to carry everything up stairs.

    Academic Rigor

    I started my year with a Music theory Camp because I wanted to become a music teacher it is 4 days of 6 hours of music theory its crazy. but after that the year cools down.

    Tips for prospective students

    This school is the best College ive been. I visited the school and just fell in love. there are three things I can tell every student who is thinking about attending. Take risks, make friends with your RA and Enjoy being away from home no matter how home sick you get.

    In three sentences

    This School is small enough for a close knit group of people yet, large enough to know how to fill a Meijer. this is the only college I have stayed in that has unique shapes to there dorm rooms/ dorm halls. getting anywhere you want on campus in in walking distance but when getting through rice hall have fun finding your way as a freshman.

  • 11/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is a safe place!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    - football field late at night. - where my friends and I sit at chapel

    What to do for fun

    - chapel - concerts - Friends

    Food and Dining

    Food is great! Almost reminds me of home!

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is amazing, but at the same time it can be stressful. Doing your own laundry, and keeping up with chores, and being quite during quite hours. But its fun! I can't say that I have had huge issues with the dorms. I love living on campus, I believe it's something everyone should experience.

    Academic Rigor

    Business Major - Management with non-profit organizations. Anderson offers many majors, and Anderson is the only University that I have found that has what I want!

    Tips for prospective students

    Study, study, study! I know you want to have fun with friends, and you can just make sure you save time for your study time. A lot of people say it but it is so surreal. I didn't study when I first started and I didn't know what I was going to do. It's important. Have faith in the Lord.

    In three sentences

    Anderson University has changed me as a person, I am closer with God, I am content with life, and I have so much more love for myself. Anderson University was very loving, and helpful to me when I was going through some stuff. They have so many opportunities for people.

  • 01/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is quite safe and the police officers that work security are great. We have various blue poles located around campus that we can press at anytime of day and a security officer will come find us to make sure that we are okay, every female is equipped with a whistle that she is to use whenever she feels that she is in danger, we can sign up for the Raven Alert System where we will receive a text, call, and email, if the campus is in danger whether the danger comes from weather or persons, every dorm door has a lock that works if the student wishes to use it and every residence hall is equipped with a system wherein only the student id's of the current residences will work to open the door, and there are also multiple buildings on campus that are marked as a safe haven where any student can enter through the first set of doors, press a button to lock the doors, and use the telephone to call campus security.

    Great for these types of students

    Anderson University is a great college for students who are looking for a homely university. There are no frat groups or sororities, but you make your own family. Anderson University is not a party school and no alcohol is allowed on campus at all, but not many people are interested in that so we do not feel as though we are missing out on anything.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One thing that unique to Anderson University that is great is worship in the BOD, Bottom of Decker. Decker Hall is one of our buildings on campus and every Sunday night that we are on campus, there is an hour long worship service that was established by students, is run by students and is attended by students. There is just a group of people, anyone who wants to come, and we share in basking in God's glory by singing praises to Him, fellow-shipping with others, and praying with others.

    Bang for the buck

    Anderson University is worth every penny. All of the people and professors are fantastic, the programs are great, and the campus activities are fun. I have never experience anything quite like what I have experienced at Anderson University.

    What to do for fun

    For fun, my friends and I will generally make a trip to Deluxe Donuts that is right across the street, stick in a movie, or order pizza. There is also CAB, Campus Activities Board, who plans some campus event almost every weekend. There is the square dance, disco, dancing, and donuts, Encore, Theatre Productions, Zombie Apocalypse, and intramural sports for every season.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining at Anderson University is great. The best part is that we have so many options that you never grow bored or tired of a food. The multiple options include the marketplace/cafeteria with a fruit bar, salad bar, deli bar, two main entrees, and a dessert bar, the raven express for when you need to quickly buy something to go with you, Cafe Ole with soup, salads, and sandwiches, Chick-fil-a, and Olives Bistro.

    Dorm Life

    I could not have asked for a better dorm life;I life in a dorm of all freshman and it is a blast. I have never met someone quite like my DC, Discipleship Coordinator, before; She is one my biggest inspirations because like me, she is a nursing major and Spanish minor, but she is always available for advice or even just to listen. All of the girls in my hall are fantastic and I can only sit in awe at God and how he placed each of us on the floor for a purpose.

    Academic Rigor

    My academic situation is quite difficult because first of all, I am a nursing major. I am also a Spanish minor; this minor is not greatly difficult, but because of my nursing major, my four-year plan includes all 17 and 18 credit-hour semesters. Though my schedule and work load is difficult and sometimes overwhelming, all of my professors, friends, and advisers have been very encouraging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Anderson University is an amazing university and though it is the university that God has planned for me does not mean that it is the perfect fit for everyone. The professors at Anderson University are some of the greatest teachers that I have ever had and I would not be able to succeed so well without them. One of the greatest parts about Anderson University is that there are no cliques like there are in high school or other colleges/universities; Everyone is friendly to everyone, accepting of everyone and it is very rare to come across any discrimination or bullying.

    In three sentences

    I have never felt like a belonged anywhere as much as at Anderson University. All of my professors are the greatest; they are personable, helpful, and eager to see us succeed in our area of study. I truly believe that God has Anderson University marked in his big book for me because He has done some incredible things since I began school there.

  • 02/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security personnel on-call at all times and that are patrolling at all times. There are security stations that are scattered throughout the campus. Also, the campus is well lit so vision is not an issue.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like having small classes and more time with the professor should look into this school. Anyone who appreciates having a close-knit group of friends and can be known by faculty would be at home here. Also, if being well rounded in education (Liberal Arts) is what a student wants, this is the school.

    What to do for fun

    There is so much to do on and off campus. The school has I.M. teams during the terms, sports teams, weight room, track, and gym open to anyone, and the school schedules campus activities. Off campus there is the mall, movie theater, a roller rink, doughnut shop, and some other places for students to just hang out.

    Food and Dining

    With a new food service, the dining has changed. There have been upgrades such as Chick-Fil-A, Olive's Bistro, and some reconstruction on previous dining areas. There are also some downgrades like how many meals can be used per day, no sharing meal swipes, etc.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm/floor becomes the home away from home and the students and RA's become life family. The noise is not a huge issue, but don't be afraid to tell the RA's or RD is there is an issue with people or noise.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are tough, but manageable. The professors are willing to answer any questions students may have; whether it be during or outside of class. Notes are necessary to succeeding in class, so find a way to take notes that is quick and suits you best. Study before quizzes and tests, because they impact the grade significantly.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be willing to manage your time and know that studying is a must. The tests and classes are very much different than in high school and require more time than one expects. Be willing to ask for help when it is needed and raise your hand if you are unsure about a topic.

    In three sentences

    The staff is willing to sit down and help any student with any problems they may have and are willing to give all the time that is needed. The community that the school has formed within itself is close-knit and making friends is easy. The campus is small enough that walking is not an issue, but large enough that one doesn't feel crammed.

  • 02/28/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    39 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    AU has very good security! Every time I drive through the parking lot, there is always a Campus Security Officer patrolling the campus, which makes me feel safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    AU has a Wind Ensemble, which my girlfriend plays clarinet in, and it's truly fascinating to go and watch them play! They are so talented! Also, there are recitals and voice performances which are also great to watch, either in the York Performance Hall, or the Reardon Auditorium.

    Great for these types of students

    AU is not a very stereotypical school. They accept all types of students and every type of students graduates with a honest degree in their profession of choice.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    AU has a tradition that I enjoy attending, which is Chapel. You get to go and meet new people and learn something new everyday.

    Bang for the buck

    Anderson University is a great school, but very expensive! But, for the price it's definitely worth it! The sensation you get out of attending there, and the creditability that you achieve in the degree that you pursue, is just great.

    What to do for fun

    Anderson University has a lot of fun things to do on campus! They have Chapel every Tuesday and Thursday for the majority of every semester. There's the Kardatzke Wellness Center on campus, where you can swim, get a good workout on the track, or lift some weights.

    Food and Dining

    Anderson University has good food at the food emporium on campus! They also have a Chic-Fil-A on campus right next to a Olives Bistro, which are both AMAZING!

    Dorm Life

    The freshman girl dorms are awkward in shape and not very appealing on the inside, but the lobbies in every building have T.V's, and couches and tables to study at and they all have a great environment for homework or relaxing.

    Academic Rigor

    My girlfriend currently attends Anderson University for her Music Teaching degree, and she is only a Freshman. Let me tell you, she works her butt off just to maintain a 3.65 GPA to keep her scholarships from the school. But, she always tells me that her professors always tell her to listen in class, do her homework the way its supposed to be done, and get in bed before midnight, and you'll do great!

    Tips for prospective students

    Anderson University isn't a very high demanding school to get into, but if you keep your grades up and chin up like I did, and I'm someone who did not do to well in high school, you should get accepted if AU thinks you will make the school a better place.

    In three sentences

    Anderson University (AU) is a private Christian Liberal Arts university. AU is a small college, yet, a very well build and conventional school. AU is known for its small class sizes for more student interaction with the professors and instructors, and is personally, one of the best schools I know of in the Midwest.

  • 04/29/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 40

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    no greek life. We only have social clubs

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The eternal flame and Helios are two places that is nice to go especially at night. they are very peaceful.

    What to do for fun

    There is not much to do on the weekends, because Anderson is a small town, but the Campus Activities Board will have stuff for you to participate in on most weekends

    Food and Dining

    Our current dinning services is not that great, but there are a lot of options! We have Chik-fil-a and other places to eat

    Dorm Life

    It is a great chance to meet new people, especially in Rice, but it is not the most interesting and definitely not the most wild dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    You will be challenged in your classes! But the professors are willing to work with you and so is the Kissinger Learning Center

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking for a Christian university where you can worship freely and be who you want to be this is the place. If you are a freshman girl, live in Rice Hall! It is not the best hall because it is old, but it is the best place to meet other girls

    In three sentences

    I love AU. They have a very welcoming community and have interesting clubs and activities that one can do. The faculty and staff are very nice people that are more than willing to work with you and help you whenever you need it.