Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Angelina College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 11/17/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    students on a budget, religious students, students who want to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not wait until the last minute. A lot of teachers give out long term assignments in the humanites classes, and you'll find yourself pulling all nighters a lot if you don't dole out a little of your time to doing these projects on a day to day basis. The teachers are also very helpful, so if you need to ask a question, feel free to go in during office hours.

    Bang for the buck

    You do get your money's worth when you go here, there is no doubt about that. It is inexpensive, most everyone is on some sort of financial aide or pell grant that pays tuition/books in full, and transfering is easy because of Angelina's good reputation. If you are on a budget, Angelina is the place to be.

    Am enjoying being here

    Sunny California is what I am used to, so being in east Texas is a bit of a stretch for me. The expansive grass fields, the very green trees, and the mild yet defined seasons make it a pleasant environment. The campus is average aesthetically. Everything is functional, but the ceilings, walls, and desks remind me of highschool.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers at Angelina are very dedicated, and extremely credentialled. There is at least one doctor in each department, and all teachers have actual field experience (my set design teacher used to be a professional theatre set designer, my sociology teacher was a social worker for 20 years, etc). That being said, there are some teachers here who tend to teach their own religious, economical, and political opinions rather than the subject they are supposed to be teaching, and it can become irritating.

  • 04/06/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 3 people found this review useful. 1 person found this inaccurate. 2 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Will learn a lot

    I think that i will learn alot at this college. Because I'm a very bright student.

  • 01/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    great security, make sure you have a parking pass!!!!

    Clubs and Activities

    phi thetta kappa was a great start to earn scholarships.

    Great for these types of students

    outgoing, willing to learn.

    Bang for the buck

    great place to attend and start a career.!

    What to do for fun

    fishing, water skiing, all outdoors sports.

    Food and Dining

    great food with a great staff

    Dorm Life

    did not live in a dorm during my attendance at this college.

    Academic Rigor

    held a gpa of 3.5 or higher. great professors that took the time to explain the subject matter.

    Tips for prospective students

    get involved with the school. appy yourself, and speak up!!!!

    In three sentences

    this college has been a great experience. the professors at angelina have given me the tools i need to transfer to a 4 year university. enjoyed the experience that angelina has to offer.

  • 01/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    angelina college was the cheapest oppurtunity for my education starting out by far and it gives more people a chance to make something of themselves.

    What to do for fun

    p.e. and boot camp seem to be gruelling but i've heard it gives you great results. there's also programs put on at the temple theater every year and it is very enjoyable to see the college's own productions.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria is awesome if you need to grab a snack or some breakfast in the morning. if you have later classes, mcdonald's, burger king and starbucks are very close by.

    Academic Rigor

    some teachers will push you more than others, but it's not more or less difficult than any other starter college. the history and law classes are very informative.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure your credits will transfer if you plan on enrolling. just because you have to start at a community college doesn't make you less of a person; you will go on to do great things with your education.

    In three sentences

    the campus is very sprawled out, but it is managable. the teachers are usually very kind but take their job seriously. the college is extremely simple overall.

  • 03/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    i don't live on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    get organized fast! classes that are face to face on campus are great but expect delays with the distance learning courses.

    In three sentences

    angelina college is convenient for me to attend because it's close by. the tuition rates and fees are so affordable. they have a very competitive nursing program.

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for any kind of student. Whether you are older and returning to get more education or coming straight out of high school.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't miss out on the chance to save money on good education. If Angelina doesn't offer what you want, taking the basics then transferring is an option to consider.

    In three sentences

    Angelina College is a great community college. You can get a quality education for a lesser price than most universities. Great professors and students.

  • 06/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is a top priority here at Angelina.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are all kinds of clubs and activities here. The Angelina Auditorium hosts a slue of people such as Earl James Jones, Larry Miller, Kenny Rogers, Moulin Rouge The Ballet, STOMP, and much more.

    Bang for the buck

    Angelina is definitely the place to go to get your prerequisites and core classes out of the way before going on to get your degree. Inexpensive and they also offer a lot of degree programs here. I've also heard their nursing program is excellent.

    Food and Dining

    I only ate there once, but I thought it was very good.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus, but I have a known a few people who have and they really enjoyed it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely take advantage of the counselors. They will be the most helpful in planning your career path.

    In three sentences

    Angelina College is a great community college to start at. The faculty are extremely helpful and the professors are very interested in your success as a student.

  • 08/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Since Lufkin is a small town, there's not a whole lot to do. It has a very little to do. Shopping and mini-golf are the only fun things to do.

    Food and Dining

    There are many places to eat in Lufkin, where the college is located. It has plenty of old and new fast food and dine in restaurants.

    Dorm Life

    I have not stayed in the dorms myself; I have heard that they are like all dorms. They are small, of course, but will suffice for any student.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are somewhat difficult, but they are not as hard as other nearby colleges and universities.

  • 10/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Intimate campus, but it is located in a nice, safe city with friendly people.

    Bang for the buck

    Great prices for the basics and classes.

    What to do for fun

    Attend baseball or basketball games, there are also great performing art line ups throughout the year at the campus' auditorium.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good, and Lufkin has great restaurants to offer the college students.

    Dorm Life

    I did not stay in the dorms but the campus is nice and small.

    Academic Rigor

    The content I learned in my dual- credit classes were right on level for me, I learned many new things.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to apply and to take advantage of their dual- credit college courses, I took two courses my last two years of high school and made A's. Great way ti utilize the community college.

    In three sentences

    I have taken two online courses through my high school and the website is easy to access and the courses are challenging yet bearable.

  • 10/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for students who are wanting to get basics done and then transfer to a different college. The prices are low and it is a small, friendly school.

    Bang for the buck

    The price of tuition at Angelina is what originally attracted me to it. Tuition is very low, but the classes that you get for your money are good.

    Academic Rigor

    Angelina definitely doesn't have all easy classes, but I wouldn't say that the classes are ridiculously hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    To those who are looking at signing of for classes at Angelina, be sure to schedule an appointment ahead of time and know what classes you are trying to sign up for. It is a good idea to look at the class schedule online before going to the school to sign up for the classes.

    In three sentences

    Angelina is a good school especially if you are only interested in getting your basics done. It is a small school, so it is a good choice for college freshmen. If you are looking for a two year degree the college has quite a few choices.

  • 12/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    depending on the classes you take it can be tough, but just work through it and you will make it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring your A game and they will help you achieve your goals. Come to class on time everyday and you will go far. The teacher make learning fun, so come to school with a great attitude.

    In three sentences

    It is a good school to get your basics. The administration staff work with you to make sure you succeed. The instructors work with you to make sure you understand the materials.

  • 01/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We dont really have security.

    Greek Life

    No greeks.

    Clubs and Activities

    I havent heard of any so far. I guess i should look some up.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student !

    What to do for fun

    Not much really.

    Food and Dining

    Food is excellent !!

    Dorm Life

    I dont have a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    They do grade fairly here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Remember that college is college no matter where you go.

    In three sentences

    I actually dont mind attending. Its true what they say. THIS IS REALLY a great place to start.

  • 04/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I play softball at Angelina College.

    Food and Dining

    The food was also okay.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms were not great, but was worth living there because of the people that I met and friends that I made.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just try your hardest and get involved if you can!

    In three sentences

    Angelina College is a great place to start. Their teachers are great here. Also their athletic program was great to be a part of as well.

  • 09/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    If you want to have fun they have a mall downtown. It's near all the resturants.

    Food and Dining

    I love the food. Some times if you're on the rush you can stop by the vending machines that are located every where.!!!

    Dorm Life

    I am still in High school so I'm not really sure but it sounds pretty great.

    Academic Rigor

    The Academics at Angelina College is one of the best. They may seem to have hard teachers but in the end your ahead of others.

    Tips for prospective students

    When you go to the College locate the Student Center (this is sorta like a life line if you know where this is you can survive). When you go to your class also make sure you have your book by the second class or your in big trouble. When you get your book they sometimes forget to tell you to read the Introduction before you go to the next class.

    In three sentences

    I would give Angelina a 9. I really enjoy this college but there are times when you could get kicked out of class for asking to use the restroom. I would give it a 10 if they didn't punish you for a natural thing.

  • 12/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    NOt alot

    In three sentences

    Is a great school to atten

  • 01/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food and dining is satisfactory.

    Dorm Life

    I personally have not tried their dorm but from what I saw, it looks fairly decent but they have too few dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    From my experience thus far, i have encountered instructors that are rather lazy. They act like they are teaching in high school. However not all of them are like that, I personally had one instructor that is strict yet does his best to give proper techniques to make sure his students learn.

  • 02/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 18

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    This has been a positive experience for me. The college professors continue show great concern about their students and their success. I would encourage any high school graduate to attend this college to complete their basic studies before transferring to a major university.

  • 04/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is very very very safe always squad cars on campus.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    hmm theres a bible club and others, but I don't know all of them.

    Great for these types of students

    The education is great for any and every student!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Well I don't know any traditions besides go to the opening home game for the Angelina College RoadRunners baseball team!

    Bang for the buck

    Angelina is pretty cheap for a Jr. College and is well equipped with teachers who will provide you with the education you need to be successful in your future careers.

    What to do for fun

    Honestly there isn't much to do here in Lufkin, but if you meet some people and get well acquainted it's not that bad. You can find stuff like the theaters or go to Sam Rayburn or the mall.

    Food and Dining

    Ehh it has some good food not all great but it's better then HS.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life sucks and it's small that is all.

    Academic Rigor

    The education is great here and the teachers care deeply about your education and future goals.

    Tips for prospective students

    Hmm well be sure to study, because you have a lot of time on your hands and its hard to keep up in class if you don't get ahead. Also make sure you talk to some people or advisors before you start college so you can find which teachers are legit and the ones that are not.

    In three sentences

    Angelina college is cheap and efficient with the students. I like the college even though there isn't that much people the education is suburb! Very friendly teachers who care deeply about a person success Angelina College is great college for anyone.