Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Anna Maria College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/16/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anna Maria is great for students who like a small campus. If your not use to the big areas then this college is great for you.

    Bang for the buck

    I had no prolem getting money for Anna Maria College. My award letter covered everything.

    Will enjoy being here

    If you like a small campus, this is the college for you!

    Will learn a lot

    The student to teacher ratio is 15-1!

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We are in the middle of a very small and quiet town, making it very safe. Our public safety department is staffed every moment of each day, all throughout the year, even during the summer, and they patrol campus constantly simply for precautionary purposes and because they really do not have much to do. All of us here at Anna Maria are very friendly people. And, because we have people majoring in such fields as fire science, criminal justice, nursing, and paramedicine, we have knowledgeable people to help keep it safe and help in the event of any emergency that could arise. Quite a few of our fire science students work and volunteer for local fire departments, including Paxton Fire.

    Greek Life

    We do not have any Greek life at Anna Maria, and that is how many of us like it. We are one big family on campus, and in our residence halls.

    Clubs and Activities

    Especially during the 2011 and 2012 academic year, our clubs and organizations have grown to over thirty clubs, organizations, and groups that you can be a part of. Make sure you explore each and every one of them. You will likely find many that interest you. Students at Anna Maria have the opportunity to be involved in more than they even have time for. I know that, because that is how I am.

    Great for these types of students

    Anna Maria College is excellent for people who love to be involved in something. You can come in and just go to classes and then leave, but what we do here is so much more. There are so many clubs, organizations, community service opportunities, events, and programs to be involved in to make for a special holistic experience that will be significant to who you are.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    My favorite traditions on campus are during the holidays! We have a campus nativity scene followed by a tree lighting ceremony. Yes, our facilities department actually decorates the trees and buildings on campus. We also have a very special Christmas dinner hosted by our college president, which includes an amazing and fancy meal, class tree decorating and song competitions, prizes and gifts, and a special guest. It is the best time! As for special locations, did you know that we have two gazebos on campus? One is behind Saint Joseph's Hall, our science building. Oh, and did you know that a big part of our 192 acre campus is wooded trails that surround it? It is so beautiful! Oh, and thanks to the Sisters of Saint Anne, there are tunnels running under our campus, some that are usable and others that are not. We do use one from the Campus Center to Trinity Hall when the weather is harsh. We seem to have a spirit in the Zecco Performing Arts Center, who I hear is named Teresa and I have witnessed likes to play with the lights. I hear we also have a spirit, or some, in our music building. For me, this is really cool, and is an excellent example of our history.

    Bang for the buck

    It is all worth it. It is too much money for many people, and we are working on that, but it is all worth it. You'll never believe how amazing this experience will make your life and who you will become through it. Make the most of each and every day. And, if it does seem too expensive for you, be sure to ask for help.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many things to do for fun that I could not write about all of them here. Our campus activities board, AM(CAB), has programming at least every weekend, in addition to all that our other clubs and organizations put on. Every day there is something to do. Just on campus, to name a few, we have dances, singers, comedians, hypnotists, and many more throughout the month. Many days of the week, there is something going on in the Campus Center when you walk in for lunch. There is always something and you simply need to get involved and make it happen.

    Food and Dining

    Beginning in the fall of 2011, we now have SAGE Dining Service, and they are wonderful! Each person comes with his or her own preferences and background of food, which makes it difficult at any college to please everyone, but we do the best we can at Anna Maria. They are always open to suggestions and will be honest with you if it is possible to make a particular change. The dining hall is my absolute favorite place to be on campus. It is an amazing feeling to come have breakfast, lunch, and dinner with your friends who you care about.

    Dorm Life

    We are a family in my residence hall. That is the environment that I make for, and it is reality for many of us. We currently have five residence halls, with plans to build more if we increase enrollment. Madonna Hall, built in 1958, is our oldest and houses most of the freshmen year students. Saint Anne Hall, built in 2011, is our newest suite styled building, with suites of four or six people. Alumni Hall, our substance free residence hall, and Coghlin Hall, our quiet, more studious residence hall, are both connected. Alumni Hall was once our art building and was renovated into a residence hall, and in 2008, Coghlin Hall was constructed attached to it. We also have South Hall, which a more temporary housing unit, located to the rear of Saint Anne Hall. Our Residence Life staff is amazing, with resident assistants who care and provide weekly programming within.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor certainly depends on what your major is. Some of the most challenging majors are nursing and the music majors, music education, performance, and music therapy. Those students have busy schedules with classes for sure. It is all worth it, as each is very passionate about the field they are in. Some of our other majors, such as fire science, which is my own, are not so challenging in the classroom. This is a plus, though. It allows for time for education and experience outside of the classroom, such as clubs, internships, and community service organizations on campus and within the community.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come take a tour of our campus. Especially on a bright day, it is so beautiful because we take good care of it. When you get here, talk to everyone and anyone you find. If I find you, you can be sure that I will say hi. Find out about all of the different opportunities we have here. Most likely, there will be many things that interest you. Get involved as soon as you can. Lives change for the better here at Anna Maria, and I know that because the people I have in my life from Anna Maria and the experiences I have here are a significant part of who I am.

    In three sentences

    Anna Maria College is a beautiful small campus college in the town of Paxton, Massachusetts. We are a family here, and through daily interactions and events and programs, we truly get close to each other. There is always something amazing and new happening.

  • 01/05/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Wants a small college community and wants a great student-professor relationship.

    Tips for prospective students

    DON'T SLACK! Keeping up with work is a fool-proof way to succeed!

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive, but if grades are kept up, merit scholarships help with the cost. But definitely worth the money!

    Am enjoying being here

    Good, small campus and great students and faculty.

    Am learning a lot

    Great teachers and teaching techniques.

  • 05/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    3rd safest in the country when I started here!!

    Greek Life

    none, sadly

    Great for these types of students

    focused, goal-oriented

    Bang for the buck

    It is pricey, but it has what I want with a lot of personal attention. Your professors really know you.

    What to do for fun

    Depends on what you like to do: we have gym, college sports, intramural sports, clubs, events, and the worcester nightlife is close by..as are several other colleges to go hang out at too.

    Food and Dining

    I am not objective here as my parents taught me froma young age how to cook cuisines from all over the world. It's massed produced healthy option food. Not a fan.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are small, so everyone knows everyone. It is a Catholic school, so it isn't a party college....but that doesn't mean there aren't any!

    Academic Rigor

    Many of my friends wold say a five, but they don't manage their time as wisely! LOL

    Tips for prospective students

    Come visit the campus. It is a small community, but has large amountof offerings for academics and extra-curriculars. Still, it may be too small for some.

    In three sentences

    The smaller-sized classes are conducted by engaging professors who really care about your leaning and learning experience. There are an abundance of sports opportunities (with new sports facilities!!), as well as clubs and events to participate in / ateend. I love it here!!

  • 01/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are actually Paxton Police. Feel safe but watch out because they WILL ticket your car if you are not in the right parking lot.

    Greek Life

    NO GREEK LIFE!

    Clubs and Activities

    active minds, habacats, visual arts club, theater, student government

    Great for these types of students

    There is no one type of student that would like AMC. The football and basketball boys love it though!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    10 meals a week vs. 19 meals a week. If you get 10 meals, you get more money for the Hub downstairs that serves food all day.

    Bang for the buck

    Scholarships are available to pay the tuition

    What to do for fun

    Athletic center and there are a lot of clubs to be a member of. There are musicals every semester. Class can be fun too!

    Food and Dining

    The dining staff cares about students and accommodate as much as possible to their needs. The food is decent. There is always a bowl of fruit, lettuce. and bread if you don't like the main dishes. Lots of options though.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms have a lot of rules, especially about guests/visitors. It does not feel like college sometimes. Some dorms are in better condition than others but they are all unique and great in their own way,

    Academic Rigor

    It could be harder, not that I am complaining. Students learn a lot over the course of their education. If you want to succeed, you will.

    Tips for prospective students

    Definitely visit and check out the location. It is close to Worcester, but AMC basically makes up the town of Paxton. Plus it gets super cold.

    In three sentences

    AMC is a small Catholic college in the middle of nowhere, north of Worcester. It is well-renowned for programs for music, sciences, and art. The teachers are knowledgeable and care about their students.

  • 03/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    one of the safest campuses in america. however, the downfall to this is that campus is patrolled by the paxton police department rather than a private public saftey. this has cause more problems on campus than it has cured.

    Clubs and Activities

    international film club, band, jazz band, sga, alana, amongst others. there's a wide variety

    Great for these types of students

    those looking to study fire science or criminal justice. those are the college's two strongest departments.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the music building is haunted. there's creepy tunnels that travel underneath the old campus, most are blocked off now.

    Bang for the buck

    no bang, lots of bucks

    What to do for fun

    nature walks, campus events, free pool, and worcester night life.

    Food and Dining

    i recommend bringing a bagged lunch.

    Dorm Life

    i've never been a resident. they just built a new dorm, saint anne, where every room is a suite.

    Academic Rigor

    i take two classes through the worcester consortium in order to fulfill my desire for wisdom. that is one positive thing about amc, the advantages of being a member of the consortium.

    Tips for prospective students

    it is your job to get everything you can out of the faculty members. anna maria does not consider it their job to educate you, but your job to learn and seek guidance yourself.

    In three sentences

    in order to get a fulfilling education out of anna maria, students must be self motivated. anna maria is run more like a for profit business than an educational institute. though this school has it flaws, if a student is dedicated- the faculty has a lot to offer.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 11

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I usually just hang out in the hub and play pool. There isn't much else to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food is all you can eat, but it is not very good food.

    Dorm Life

    Freshman dorms are not the greatest and even the suites for upperclassmen are cheap.

    Tips for prospective students

    Before thinking about Anna Maria, be sure you really want to go there. Many students transfer out because it was not what they thought it would be. The school is very expensive, so just be sure it is the right school for you before you decide to attend.

    In three sentences

    I feel like Anna Maria is too expensive, but they do offer courses and majors that other colleges do not. It has a very small campus. They have a good art program.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have police officers on campus, and no major incidences have occurred.

    Food and Dining

    The food is improving

    Dorm Life

    This is a suitcase school. Most go home on the weekends. The dorms are clean.

    Academic Rigor

    I found the classes too easy for the most part.

    In three sentences

    AMC is a small, Catholic college. The classes are small and the teachers care. Sports are a priority to the college.

  • 10/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is excellent, campus safety is the police dept. with office on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Good , solid education, but on the expensive side.

    What to do for fun

    Various sports and on campus clubs.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining is excellent.

    Dorm Life

    No comment, I commute each day. However, dorming is kind of pricey

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging and engaging. Homework is substantial.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be active in class, participate, take part, get involved.

    In three sentences

    Great School. Great learning atmosphere. Challenging and engaging professors.

  • 11/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are always on call and are willing to drive you to your dorm if needed. They are the Paxton police but they are always on campus.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    All the clubs work really hard to be amazing and help the students as much as possible and you can also start up your own club.

    Great for these types of students

    People who like to party and people who like to get and easy education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It is a Catholic college.

    Bang for the buck

    High cost but the view is worth it.

    What to do for fun

    Get involved, try everything, don't just sit around there is always something going on.

    Food and Dining

    Not a lot of healthy or vegetarian/vegan/glutten free options. Salad bad always looks sad and everything else is that good.

    Dorm Life

    A lot of partying no matter the day or your year,

    Academic Rigor

    Its like a tougher highschool but it still teachs you everything you need.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you come here try and get involved with as much as possible.

    In three sentences

    The small, welcoming campus is stunning no matter the weather. People are extremely poilte and willing to help. The down side is that there are a lot of parties and the food isn't all that good.

  • 04/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is always at the top of its game. We have a very safe campus with Paxton police officers patrolling the school around the clock. I have always felt safe at home, and now I can say I feel just as safe at my home away from home.

    Clubs and Activities

    Anna Maria College has many clubs, activities and organizations the students can be apart of that keep us busy round the clock. From the philosophy club, down to multicultural affairs, we always have something going on. So if you're bored in your dorm, there is no reason to say there is nothing to do, beacause we always will have a way to keep you entertained.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining at Anna Maria College has a vast variety of options that are applicable to every food craving someone may have. Whether you want pizza and pasta, or salad and tacos we've got it all. We also have the HUB which is famous for its quick and easy grab and go food.

    Dorm Life

    Living in a dorm is one of the greatest experiences a college student will have. It is one thing to go to college, but it is another to live it! Our halls are always clean, neat and will make anyone feel at home.

    Academic Rigor

    Of course there is always the occasional distractions that occur while you're trying to be serious at school. Tests and teachers will be hard and throughout the years your experience will get harder. But don't worry, because you can do it! Just because your friends want to go out, doesn't mean you have too! Finish your work and go out later. You can have fun while you're in college, but you need to remember that the work comes first!

    Tips for prospective students

    Always stay focused, no matter how hard your semesters may seem they will always get better. College is only as hard as you make it! If you need to relax, just take a step back from your studies and lay down or go for a walk. College is a time to be serious but you can also have fun while you're being serious!

    In three sentences

    Anna Maria College is an amazing environment for all of it's inhabitants. We are an equally diverse campus, that accepts all cultures and differences between each other. We are the amcat nation and we will always stand by each other, for the improvement of not only ourselves, but as a community.