Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Anoka-Ramsey Community College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/05/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    all. adult learners, pseo, new students, etc.

    Tips for prospective students

    take a few classes to get started, and add more once you feel comfortable with what you have.

    Bang for the buck

    lowest tuition in minnesota.

  • 11/20/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to finish their generals without paying too much for tuition. This college is for students who are looking to stay at home, because it is so close.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would say go to this to do your generals, so that you do not waste your money at an expensive school. And then just transfer to the college you want to graduate from after your general credis are done.

    Bang for the buck

    Anoka Ramsey Communtiy College is one of the cheapest colleges in Minnesota.A semester can cost two thousand dollars for 14 credits.

    Am enjoying being here

    Since, this college offers PSEO to high school students, there are a lot of juniors and seniors that attend, which I think takes away from the college experience.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes that are given at Anoka Ramsey Community College are as top notch as any university. There is also a lot to do, like the multi-cultural club and psychology club.

  • 01/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I do like how cheap it is, about two thousand dollars per semester.

    What to do for fun

    They do offer a lot of clubs, and there is sports.

    Food and Dining

    The best part is, is that they have it. It's not the best food and it's expensive.

    Dorm Life

    Doesn't offer dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I feel like it could be a little more challenging in some subjects, and some of the teachers could be more excited and knowledgeable about their classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you ask questions to other students on what type of teacher you're going to have. Sometimes having a teacher who doesn't get into what their teaching and just teach using power point make you not want to show up. Also, make sure you go!

    In three sentences

    I find Anoka Ramsey Community College to be rated average. It's a place to get your generals done for cheap. Plus they also offered PSEO for me during my senior year, so that's probably the best thing about it.

  • 02/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    wide variety of clubs and activities.

    Great for these types of students

    students preparing to transfer to a four year school.

    Bang for the buck

    i expected to get mediocre professors with how inexpensive this college is. i was pleasantly surprised with how personable the professors were.

    What to do for fun

    go and hang out down in the student center.

    Food and Dining

    good food, just a bit expensive for college students who are already trying to save money.

    Dorm Life

    i am a commuter.

    Academic Rigor

    this is a great get your feet wet college. it lets you get a feel for college work, without crushing your college gpa.

    Tips for prospective students

    take advantage of the student tutoring center! create a learning relationship with your professors.

    In three sentences

    some of the best professors i have ever had. great learning community to be involved in. incredible student tutoring service!

  • 04/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There are a lot of restaurants very close to campus.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life that I am aware of.

    Academic Rigor

    Courses are on the tough side but you learn a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to learn the unique art of glass blowing this is definitely the place to go. This college is a lot of fun and you will learn a ton. Just be prepared to do the work and you will be successful.

    In three sentences

    Anoka-Ramsey has a fun atmosphere. The people and teachers are very nice. There is also a high expectation for the students to do their best.

  • 05/17/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    6 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is an incredibly safe area. There are very few crimes on campus, there is an elementary school down the street and it is right near wonderful neighborhoods. This school is definitely a very safe school to attend.

    Greek Life

    There are no sororities or fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Currently there are not a big variety of clubs and sports and activities. There are many clubs but not like if you were attending a university.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students that are unsure about what career path they would like to choose. Also great for low income families. Great for anyone that is looking to both work and go to school. I would recommend Anoka-Ramsey for anyone wanting to get a quality education for an affordable price.

    Bang for the buck

    Anyone can get a great education and degree from Anoka-Ramsey, and like they say that Anoka-Ramsey has the cheapest tuition in the State and I have seen that this is true.

    What to do for fun

    Anoka-Ramsey is very right down the street from Riverdale shopping center in Coon Rapids, and next to the Coon Rapids ice Arena, as well as the CR Dam. There are also many events planned by the school so students can always find something to do when not in class.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is small but the staff is very friendly and the chef makes fresh food each day. However, it is slightly over priced in my opinion.

    Dorm Life

    This is a 2-year school so there are no dorms yet.

    Academic Rigor

    Many of the classes are relatively easy because most of the classes offered at Anoka-Ramsey are general education requirements. The 2000 level and higher are much, much harder however.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is very easy to get wrapped up in different jobs and doing various activities even sleeping in and skipping class because this is a 2-year college and the stakes seem low, but this is a real college and how you do in your classes does reflect your work ethic and how well you will do at the next school, so it is important that even though you are not studying at a big university that you still do well in the classes you take here, it is a lesson I had to learn the hard way.

    In three sentences

    This school was very affordable, and convenient. The professors are absolutely amazing, and extremely helpful due to the teacher to student ratio. It was low stress and easy to meet a variety of people in class and on campus.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Repairs are being made, and there are security guards on duty for any reason.

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many to name, and more being started all the time.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    New art buliding, and a fitness area is being built. The theater is great.

    Bang for the buck

    Lowest tuiton in MN, credits transfer nicely.

    What to do for fun

    The student life at ARCC is amazing, and there are many many many clubs to join.

    Food and Dining

    Taher is a little spendy but the food is good.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms but the college comes out with a letter every few months with a list of renters around the area.

    Academic Rigor

    Credits transfer easily.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get signed up early, classes fill fast.

    In three sentences

    Great college to start at for generals. Lowest tution in MN. Great student life activities.

  • 06/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are escorts and since it's a smaller school, people tend to look out for each other.

    Greek Life

    There isn't much. I think Phi Theta Kappa may be it.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is lots to do! Everything from Theater and Arts to Math and Science clubs.

    Great for these types of students

    Traditional, Transfer, Non-traditional

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It's a pretty typical institution.

    Bang for the buck

    Some of the lowest tuition in the state, and most credits will transfer to other state schools!

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of hands on classes that are really enjoyable, as well as many clubs and activities. The area around the school provides a lot to do for entertainment.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria, but no dining plan.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    As with all schools, some classes are harder than others. On average I have found the classes to be just as challenging as a 4 year school.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are looking to transfer to another school, check with that school to see what classes they want you to take and are willing to take.

    In three sentences

    This school is a great place to learn. The teachers and student body are focused on succeeding and the tuition is affordable. I would highly recommend this school.

  • 07/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    - There are services available to students who want to be escorted to their cars for safety reasons or who lock their keys in their cars - Campus security is always around and available whenever you need them

    Greek Life

    - Phi Theta Kappa, Alpha Delta Alpha Chapter -- an academic honor society for guys and girls - I know that there is also a psychology honors society

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a lot available to you here! Our soccer and basketball teams are epecially awesome and have won more than a few titles!

    Great for these types of students

    - Trying out college (not sure if they want to go, not sure what to expect, ect.) - Non-traditional students - Not sure what they want to major in - Intend to transfer

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The back of the building overlooks the Mississippi River. I love sitting on the patio, in the cafeteria, or in the student center to study because you can watch the river change throughout the seasons!

    Bang for the buck

    Great deal for the low cost!

    What to do for fun

    Check out the free yoga class that is available to all students and staff, you won't regret it! The instructor is fantastic!

    Food and Dining

    Not shabby! Very accessible and lots of healthy choices available alongside the sweets

    Dorm Life

    No dorms available here, but there are plenty of nearby apartments you can rent out

    Academic Rigor

    As with any academic work, you get what you put into it

    Tips for prospective students

    - Stick around after class! The people who only come for class and leave right after don't benefit from all that the college has to offer. - Get involved in something! Check out the astronomy club or go running with the running club! - Take advantage of the library! There are a ton of great resources just waiting for you. Check out the inter-library loan system if your doing research, it gives you access to all of the MN State Colleges and University's libraries! - If you have questions about anything, just ask a staff member, they can always point you in the right direction!

    In three sentences

    Anoka-Ramsey has a very friendly atmosphere, the staff are super-helpful, it is in a great location, and the tuition prices are the lowest in the state. This is a great place to start if you find the idea of plunging into a four year program daunting because it allows flexibility to try out college without a large financial obligation, and you can still have the choice of completing a two-year program or continuing on to a four-year program. Plus, lots of great places to study all around campus.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I see campus security either walking around or in a car more then once a day that I am on campus.

    Greek Life

    I am not a part of Greek life, but I see a lot of posters advertising it.

    Clubs and Activities

    You will be able to find someone who has similar interests to you.

    Great for these types of students

    Budget friendly, working while attending school,

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Commuting is the biggest tradition that I am aware of.

    Bang for the buck

    Classes/tuition is cheap compared to a four year college.

    What to do for fun

    Join a club or take a class that seems fun.

    Food and Dining

    I personally don't buy food, I usually bring my own, but I haven't heard too many bad opinions!

    Dorm Life

    This is a commuter college, there isn't any housing.

    Academic Rigor

    Some programs are harder then others, you can find classes that will kick your butt or classes that you can sleep through.

    Tips for prospective students

    Even if you don't know what you want to do you can find a class that will spark a interest. And if you know what you want to do take a fun class that might not relate to that field.

    In three sentences

    Anoka Ramsey is a small commuter school that has a great art program. There are online, night, evening, weekend, and morning classes. It's an easy in between school for students who are just graduating from high school but want to continue to a four year college.

  • 09/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I hang out in the student lounge with my friends. I am in the Psychology Club. There are a lot of clubs, sports, and other activities to get involved in at Anoka-Ramsey Community College.

    Food and Dining

    Never expected to get great food in a community college cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of all the help that is available to you. Don't ever be afraid to ask for help form staff or other students.

    In three sentences

    Anoka-Ramsey Community College is not the average community college, it is so much more. The staff and other students truly care about helping you reach your education goals.

  • 12/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Safety is always first and foremost in the adminstrations mind!

    Greek Life

    There are no sororities or fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and organizations to join!

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for students that are not sure what they want to major in. They can complete the general education credits and still have an opportunity to explore many areas of study to see if it's a good fit for them!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is the lowest in the state for a 2-year community college. However, this is NOT a cheap education! The instructors and professors really care about how well their students are doing and will go out of their way to assist!

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs and organizations to join! We also have a great junior college sports program for both men and women!

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria on campus along with a coffee shop. Can be expensive.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on your area of study. However, there are may free services for students to take advantage of to help them be successful in their studies!

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of all the services you can. There is an Academic Support Center with peer and professional tutors. There is also a Math Skills and Advising Center also with peer and professional tutors. the more you take advantage of these services along with others, the more successful you will be.

    In three sentences

    Great for students that want to get their general credits done. A great place to explore different areas of study if you are not sure what you want to major in. A wonderful and caring staff that makes time to assist you with your needs.

  • 02/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never needed campus security even while taking night classes, but I do always see them patroling the grounds. The school is very tolerant and I don't think there has been a fight of any kind on school grounds as long as I've attended.

    Greek Life

    Anoka-Ramsey offers one fraternity. Phi-Theta-Cappa. It involves your academics and also focuses on students with a psychology major.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of clubs on campus that meet during various times during the week. It is also possible to keep adding new clubs if you don't want to join an already existing club. It's a great place to make friends and get some exercise (body or mind).

    Great for these types of students

    Anoka-Ramsey is great for people who don't know what they want to do with their lives yet. It's easy to try out several different types of classes for a low cost, so it doesn't feel like wasted money if the student ends up in a different field of study.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The school just had the Music area remodeled and added a skyway connecting to the Visual Arts building. There is also a common corridor on the first level of the school where students of every kind will go to play video games and watch some tv or play board games in between classes.

    Bang for the buck

    Because Anoka is a community college it is less expensive. I have been enrolled for two semesters and haven't had to pay anything more than my FAFSA has covered. It's really great to get generals done here.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of different clubs on campus. I am in swing-dancing club and I love it! It's easy to make friends and if you want to try something out that you don't know if you'd like, people make you feel welcome. It's hard to not stay in a club once you join.

    Food and Dining

    The food is delicious! There's different options every day, and also vegetarian options. I feel like I can eat healthfully and as much as I'd like. It's about the same price of a fast food restaurant if you pay out of pocket, but there are meal plans available as well.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are set up to meet your needs as a student, academically. I have been challenged in some classes, and passed very easily in others. The only thing I dislike is that higher level classes are not offered.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't expect to graduate at Anoka. It's a great school to get generals done, but there are not a lot of upper level classes that can be used towards a bachelors degree.

    In three sentences

    The school atmosphere is very friendly and well organized. For a community college, the academics are well placed and there are many options for several different levels of learning. It's easy to fit in and find a place at this college.

  • 02/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. I have not heard of anything bad happening.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life that I know of.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities at Anoka Ramsey.

    Great for these types of students

    It is great for any student, who is willing to work for their grade. College is not for slackers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The building is shaped in a square. In the center of it there is a courtyard, which is great to study and relax at in between classes.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a community college, so you get your classes a lot cheaper than what you would get with a University.

    What to do for fun

    There are many places to eat around this area. You can also go on Main St. where there are many great restaurants to study at. Also there are many places to shop on Main St.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has decent food there.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms for ARCC, but there are apartments right next door.

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on the class you take. Some can be very intense while others go at a slow pace.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are there to make friends, you must speak to the people first. Generally, most people are very nice and looking for a friend too.

    In three sentences

    Anoka Ramsey Community College is great for people who are looking to save some money on their education. Many of the people are there are not there to make friends. There is a variety of ages at this college.

  • 03/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    They are the lowest cost tuition school in Minnesota.

    What to do for fun

    They are located right near the Mississippi River and have many trails nearby. Geocaching is fun. Also, the school offers a lot of fun things like plays, workout classes, etc.

    Food and Dining

    They are located in a quiet part of Coon Rapids. The closest food is McDonald's. Nearby is Dairy Queen, Arby's, Subway and the Riverdale shopping area with many sit down restaurants.

    Academic Rigor

    They really do their best to help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out their website. Read the testimonials. Visit the campus.

    In three sentences

    They have a very helpful staff. They are located in a great part of the state. They have many options of extracurriculars.

  • 03/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is patrolled by campus security.

    Greek Life

    No fraternities/ sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs and activities provided for students.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who may have had a rough senior year in High School. The staff really help you find your hidden potential and help set you up for success in your college career. Also gives you an academic challenge without the financial stress and worry.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not really anything that I have heard thus far.

    Bang for the buck

    Great education for a incredibly reasonable tuition.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of student activities during the day in the student lounge. There are also a lot of Art and Music-related programs put on in the theatre.

    Food and Dining

    No dining hall, but there is a great coffee shop in the student lounge.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms or campus housing.

    Academic Rigor

    Provides an academic challenge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Staff are very supportive and want to help you succeed. Second year students are also very helpful, so do not be afraid to approach them for help.

    In three sentences

    Anoka-Ramsey Community College provides a very supportive and intimate learning environment. Staff and fellow students are very helpful. Building is easy to navigate and pleasant.

  • 03/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 25

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Anoka-Ramsey is a great school. The teachers are very nice and helpful. The students are also nice.

  • 04/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 25

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I am a singer in my church choir and I teach sunday school. I mainly play a lot of music in my spare time.

    Food and Dining

    The food tastes good but is very overpriced for the quality.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live on campus

    Academic Rigor

    The hardest thing that I have found at Anoka Ramsey was keeping motivated to read the readings. There are many in each class and if you do not read them, you will not have an easy time.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you read the readings that professors assign and keep up on your homework, you will do fine! Don't worry!

    In three sentences

    Anoka Ramsey has taught me a little bit about how college is going to go. It is a lot like high school though, and that is not how it should be. The professors sometimes treat you like a high schooler instead of a college student.

  • 04/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have security guards all around campus. Either in the building or in vehicles in the parking lots driving around.

    Bang for the buck

    It's the cheapest in the state of Minnesota

    Tips for prospective students

    Have fun, try some of the many activities they have there. Challenge yourself a little.

    In three sentences

    Anoka-Ramsey Community College is a great place to either start or to finish your degree. It is a fun environment to do homework or to hangout and meet new people.

  • 06/12/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    20 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    everyone there are all ages of students

    Bang for the buck

    Affordable and financial aid dept is super helpful

    What to do for fun

    Hang out in study groups drinkin coffee

    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria has great food.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    classes are smaller and teachers are willing to help and answer questions.

    Tips for prospective students

    You will love anoka ramsey lots of nice people and it's affordable. Many classes to choose from.

    In three sentences

    Very easy to register staff in administration are awesome, friendly and helpful. College is easy to get to and has good parking. Lots of class options.

  • 06/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Just remember at this point you're paying for it so study hard, ask questions, and don't procrastinate.

    In three sentences

    Anoka Ramsey is the most affordable community college in MN which is a big plus. The teachers at the school seem to be dedicated. The only downside is sometimes class sizes are too large.

  • 06/17/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    22 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are a lot of car break in's.

    Great for these types of students

    Kids who don't want to leave high school life yet.

    Bang for the buck

    Lowest tuition in MN.

    What to do for fun

    sit on the patio and look at the Mississippi River.

    Food and Dining

    Prices are crazy and food is sometimes old

    Dorm Life

    They didn't have dorms at this school

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you go to ratemyprofessor.com because some of the professors at this school are terrible and couldn't care less if you failed.

    In three sentences

    I think Anoka-Ramsey Community College is a good place to go if you are not ready to get out of high school.Great transition school from high school to a University. Good school for just finishing your generals because it is so cheap here.

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None

    Tips for prospective students

    Always ask question even if you think it does not make sense.

    In three sentences

    Friendly environment, Great Teachers, Hands on learning experience

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    24 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Join one. Doesn't matter which one. But you'll be happy you did.

    Bang for the buck

    I was PSEO, so it was free for me, but the tuition is super cheap.

    What to do for fun

    Go to a play! They're free with your student ID, and they're always well done! You could see a game, too, if that's more your style.

    Food and Dining

    Eh. It's pretty good if you're willing to spend the money. I think it's pretty spendy, and if you have any night classes, the cafeteria will be closed. You're better off walking to the McDonalds down the street.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at AR

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on your teacher. Some are super easy (Interpersonal Comm with McArthur. But she retired) Some are really challenging (Ed Wehling's classes, Patrick Shal's English classes...Bruce Homann's history classes) There's a nice variety. Try to spread the easy ones among the hard ones.

    Tips for prospective students

    Find your classes ahead of time so you don't get lost. Use the tutors, please! No seriously, they're there to help you. They don't bite. (Trust me; I was one. We get bored when you guys don't visit us. So come say hi). Go to class. Don't slack off or procrastinate, especially in online classes. Talk to your professors. They're not as scary as they look. Join a club or two. Try out for a play or join swing dancing. You'll make more friends that way.

    In three sentences

    There's a ton of diversity. You can learn just about anything here. It's super cost effective and a ton of fun.

  • 09/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 25

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Expensive food, but it is good.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are alright

    Tips for prospective students

    You are on your own, so if you want to do well, you have to work on it.

    In three sentences

    I give it a B. Good teachers, Cheap tuition , bad parking.