Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Antelope Valley College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 11/26/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 79

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Stay at home moms that need assistance to have a better future.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be on time, ask questions, and never give up.

    Bang for the buck

    I dont have alot of money to pay for school, so thank goodness for financial aid and grants!

    Will enjoy being here

    The campus looks great and I've been told that the classes are flexible.

    Will learn a lot

    I am hoping to gain more knowledge as well as self esteem.

  • 01/17/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 79

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who dreams of pursuing higher education.

    Tips for prospective students

    Community college is a great stepping stone for those beginning their college careers. It's cheaper than big name universities and you get the same quality education; as well as living in a tight-knit community that's friendly and enjoyable.

    Bang for the buck

    With the rising costs of tuition, community college is a wise start for those who can't afford to go to a University. You get the same education but at a cheaper price which makes going to school more efficient.

    Am enjoying being here

    The school is community friendly and feels warm and welcoming. It also helps that I can stay close to home without commuting. The school also has many options to get involved in clubs and community activities.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers at Antelope Valley College care about my education and are highly qualified to give it. I may be at a community college, but I still have to work just as hard to earn good grades as any other college student in a University.

  • 01/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 79

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are sherrifs and security guards that are constantly patrolling the school to keep the campus safe

    Greek Life

    There is only one Frat on campus but that is all that is needed.

    What to do for fun

    There are always activities and special events on campus that you can go to so that you may enjoy yourself.

    Tips for prospective students

    Dont get too caught up on the activities make sure to focus and use what you can to get good grade.

    In three sentences

    The professors are well mannered and professional. The atmosphere is great with many different activities. And there are always resources to help with classes and homework.

  • 01/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 79

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    read in the library!

    Food and Dining

    they sell naked juices in the cafeteria. don't trust the machines though. they take your money!

    Dorm Life

    i live with my parents. its awesome.

    Tips for prospective students

    be on your game no one will do it for you.

    In three sentences

    just okay. limited classes.

  • 09/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 79

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    listen take notes do not procrastinate

    In three sentences

    well so far Antelope Valley is a very good college, with very nice and helpful staff. people who are willing to help you with your needs

  • 02/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 79

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    the campus has all sorts of clubs as well as sports teams. all the sports fields have just been redone and going to see a game is a great college experience. there are clubs for every type of person and they usually do fun stuff on campus as well as off campus.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria on campus has amazing food! they serve all kinds of foods and they make them for you when you order. also the prices are not expensive which helps us college students tremendously.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms since it is a community college. yet there are many apartment complexes surrounding the campus.

    Academic Rigor

    the professors want you do to your work, do it in a timely manner, and pass their class. they don't like failing students, but they also won't help you if you don't show the interest or want in passing their class.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you see a counselor ever semester to make sure you are on track for transferring as well as graduating. also i suggest you use ratemyprofessor.com when choosing your professors. not all of them will met your learning needs and this website helps you find out which one does.

    In three sentences

    antelope valley college's counselors are very helpful. they want you to go on to a 4 year and succeed at life. also the campus is small but you feel like it's your campus when you step on grounds.

  • 09/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 79

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out at the learning center.

    Food and Dining

    Chicken Tenders and The burritos, and drinks

    Tips for prospective students

    Be serious about your education.

    In three sentences

    Very helpful for higher learning. The Professors are understanding. Set in a nice atmosphere.

  • 02/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 79

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    the food is awesome they have almost everything to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    i live at home

    Tips for prospective students

    go to rate my professor.com if you want to choose a good teacher. always be on time to class

    In three sentences

    generous campus large environment a lot of traffic when leaving class at night

  • 02/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 79

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    you should just plan things with a social group.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria is edible but other than that there are just snacks from the student store.

    Dorm Life

    i am in high school so there was no dorm life for me and there are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    some of the courses can be challenging, but the resources provided can help you pass with flying colors.

    Tips for prospective students

    see a councilor and get the right courses done fast to move on to a four-year university.

    In three sentences

    avc has been great for furthering my education during my high school career. this school has been generous to the high school students at soar. if you waste your time the school will be a waste of time.

  • 02/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 79

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    antelope valley sheriffs on campus patrolling

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there always building something new to expand the campus

    Bang for the buck

    its worth the money an will help u pursue your career

    What to do for fun

    i like to play sports and work out

    Food and Dining

    food is god an a good selection

    Tips for prospective students

    apply for bog grant it really helps

    In three sentences

    the teachers at the college really care about our future and are always there to help you when you need them

  • 03/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 79

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    well the antelope valley is definitely not the part town and although there isn't much to do in the valley itself, it is about an hour away from anywhere and everywhere you want to be. beaches, comedy clubs, and the best restaurants in los angeles.

    Food and Dining

    there are many different types of restaurants that surround the area. chinese, italian, mexican, indian, you name it.

    Dorm Life

    dorm life is non-existent but there are many nice town homes and apartments surrounding the area.

    Academic Rigor

    depends on the teacher and their work ethic. one thing that is definitely not tolerated is any type of cheating or plagiarism. students are responsible for themselves and should not expect to be treated like young children

    Tips for prospective students

    students need to understand that antelope valley college is there to help them as long as they are willing to help themselves. they need to take school seriously and not slack off because it is a community college. sometimes students tend to get stuck in a rut and i think this is probably why community colleges seem to have such negative reputations.

    In three sentences

    antelope valley college does a great job at propelling students into higher learning. it provides students with a great foundation in order to help students achieve their transfer goals. antelope valley college has an abundance of great staff members that seem to really care about their students.

  • 03/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 79

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    as the los angeles county sheriff's department does the security, there have been no serious incidents on campus. it increased safety significantly, and the deputies are very student friendly and helpful.

    Great for these types of students

    serious students looking for a less expensive option for the first two years of college, that will transfer well to a 4 year university.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the fine arts plaza has a sunken lawn that is surrounded by steps and makes a nice area to study or just hang out.

    Bang for the buck

    antelope valley college has some top talent as professors who will equip the students well. the campus is beautiful and peaceful. students on campus are very safe as the l. a. county sheriff's department does security, and have provided a very safe environment. this is a small school, where the students get to know the professors and other students easily, and the atmosphere is wonderfully conducive to learning. the office for students with disabilities is also one of the premier programs in the state.

    What to do for fun

    the associated student body card gives you discounts in local businesses as well as southern california theme parks and venues.

    Food and Dining

    they have a wonderful cafe with a wide variety of food available, and are sensitive to those people with allergies.

    Academic Rigor

    most of the professors are thorough, although they do have some that are easy. they cover the subjects and it really helps when you transfer. you are well-equipped to deal with university life.

    Tips for prospective students

    get into academic counseling services and financial aid office early to avoid long lines. get your books from a discount college seller early, however, they do keep copies of textbooks on reserve at the campus library where you can borrow them for an hour at a time, until your text arrives. make use of the resources in the learning center, and take hd 101 in your first semester to be wildly successful. if you are a disabled students, apply to the office for students with disabilities early, as they offer amazing services.

    In three sentences

    the faculty and staff are committed to providing a quality education. i have found the professors with very few exceptions are excited and currently knowledgeable in the subjects they teach. the campus is clean and safe and people are friendly and helpful.

  • 03/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 79

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Psychology Club, Star Program, EOPS

    Great for these types of students

    focused students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Location is nice, there is good weather.

    Bang for the buck

    Turn in all your financial aid information on time.

    What to do for fun

    Join as many clubs are you can or register for fun classes that fit your needs.

    Food and Dining

    The food needs to be improved; healthier choices, cleaner facilities.

    Dorm Life

    Antelpe Valley College does not offer dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    There is a well organized academic environment here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay focused and turn in your documents on time. Keep everything up to date and keep refer back to them to make sure everything is in line.

    In three sentences

    Antelope Valley College has a good education environment. It has tutors, good professors, and clean facilities. It does need to improve its Cafeteria food though.

  • 04/16/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    14 of 79

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The outdoors is always best.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and don't let yourself loose track of what you are going to benefit from to have a successful life.

    In three sentences

    Antelope Valley College has great teachers. It's easy to find your way around. The campus has plenty of resources.

  • 05/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 79

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The only place to dine at this school is in the cafeteria, where there is a selection of many different foods from burgers to salads to eat. There are also many vending machines around for a quick snack.

    Dorm Life

    This is a community college, so there really isn't a dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Most classes provide strict rules on turning in homework and completing test or quiz's, but this mostly depends on the teachers that are providing the learning experience.

    In three sentences

    Antelope Valley College is a school to go to if you need to save money and are not worried about graduating fast. Most of the teachers here are caring and want to help you succeed. Most of the classrooms are up to date on software and equipment that help make the learning experience better.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 79

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Antelope Valley College is a very secure environment patrolled by the Los Angeles County Sheriff Department.

    Greek Life

    Honors Society on Campus Alpha Iota.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several from which to choose from with possibilities in making your own.

    Great for these types of students

    Fun, loving, and are open minded towards Servitude Leadership and UNITY!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There aren't any unusual location for the exception of our Quad.

    Bang for the buck

    The Professors really go out of their way to make their classes understandable and easy to follow.

    What to do for fun

    Join specialized school activities, club, and or sports.

    Food and Dining

    Fairly decent.

    Dorm Life

    none.

    Academic Rigor

    Fairly Easy if you do the following mentioned in last question.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study, Stay positive, and work hard.

    In three sentences

    Antelope Valley College is total cool!

  • 06/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 79

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Do not sell your books the college, its a rip off, go on Chegg.com

    What to do for fun

    There isn't anything fun to do on campus

    Food and Dining

    Its getting better, they are putting in a subway so that is going to be great!

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Not a lot of classes and it is hard to get the classes you need

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to get priority with the programs they offer, like EOPS, it well hope you a lot!

    In three sentences

    It is a diversity college with the ability to be much better then what it is. It is also a good school to transfer from. They offer a lot of classes but its hard to get into them.

  • 06/10/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    18 of 79

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Strong police presence, I never thought once about my safety on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Honors Club, Christian Club, Alpha Iota all were great clubs.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The gym has some great old photos of all the old athletes over the years, maybe became pros.

    Bang for the buck

    This college was worth far more than I paid for it.

    What to do for fun

    Walk around the beautiful campus, and on the walking trails around the sports facilities. I love spending time in the library as well.

    Food and Dining

    A subway is coming, what could be better? The caf is good.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms! There are some off-campus housing for the athletes that come in from out of the area.

    Academic Rigor

    This was far more rigorous than HS, especially since I was in the Honors Program.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of all deadlines. Make sure you double-check with the school you are transferring to in order to take the correct classes you need. We involved in everything, if you can join the honors club.

    In three sentences

    Antelope Valley College is the best thing that ever happened to me. I learned to be a diligent student here, under the most qualified of teachers. I love the campus, the teachers, and the students, It was a great experience.

  • 06/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 79

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Their are many different organizations to partake in to help build a well rounded college student. The college does try to have the students involved in what is going on around the campus as much as possible. The institution has a good athletic program as well to help a student athlete reach greater horizons on their path to success.

    Dorm Life

    This a community college, not much dorm stuff going on

    Academic Rigor

    Majority of the professors have had some experience in teaching or in their related field of work related to their of study. They will push a student to their potential and want them to succeed in the class and future goals in life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enjoy the experience of a community college. For it allows one to put their feet in the water and get a feel of things without having to spend so much money when earning an education.

    In three sentences

    Excellent science professors. The majority of classes I have taken I have tutored and built a strong bond with the science professors.

  • 06/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 79

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is safe.

    Greek Life

    I'm not sure, but I don't think there are any fraternities or sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs at AVC, I am part of the science club, the physics club, and the rocket club. Next semester I plan on joining the Alpha Iotas which is an honors club.

    Great for these types of students

    The school is great for students who like the dessert.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I have only been at this school for 1 semester, so I wouldn't know of any unusual traditions.

    Bang for the buck

    You can do as many credits as you can at AVC before you transfer to a 4-year, because it's cheaper.

    What to do for fun

    You can read books for fun or workout.

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay, but it's too expensive for the quality.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at AVC.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of the professors are not the greatest in the world.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to www.ratemyprofessors.com to get an idea of which classes have the best overall quality of the class.

    In three sentences

    AVC is in Lancaster, California. The school is affordable. The books are expensive.

  • 07/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 79

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    works well

    Great for these types of students

    any student

    Bang for the buck

    there is so much opportunity if you look or ask for it

    What to do for fun

    live

    Academic Rigor

    great

    Tips for prospective students

    Have everything organized dont procrastenate

    In three sentences

    They have been very helpful and very kind they are a welcoming group, make you feel wanted

  • 07/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 79

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    The have great teachers

    In three sentences

    It has great professors. The tuition is a little high. There should be more financial assistance's.

  • 07/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 79

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who live in the Antelope Valley who look forward to transfering.

    Bang for the buck

    Bang for the buck is a really important factor to me considering I am a single parent with two small children, attending school full time.

    What to do for fun

    I enjoy taking my children to see and experience new things. I also enjoy being out doors, hiking, camping, fishing, bird watching,etc. Can't forget to also menchine my love for music and sports like basketball and softball.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is important to try and get the best date to register for your classes, stay focused and ahead of the game. Also help is only a question away.

    In three sentences

    I have had an overall great experience while attending Antelope Valley College. The teacher's and staff have all been helpful and encouraging to me as well as other students I talk to. Luckily I have priority registry because other students are always complaining about not being able to get the classes they need especially those in the Medical Field.

  • 08/02/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    24 of 79

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there is sheriff's department office located right in the campus area. 24 hours security on all campus area.

    What to do for fun

    big athletic departments, there is basketball team and football team, big theater, pool.

    Food and Dining

    food is ok. but, not that great. especially if you are a\n athlete.

    Dorm Life

    there is no dorm, unfortunately. it's a big minus for that school

    Academic Rigor

    Very good teachers

    Tips for prospective students

    big school, with great facility and nice teachers

    In three sentences

    It is a pretty big school, with good teachers. I went there only for one semester and all my classes was history with the same teacher. I didn't get any other classes, I can't say anything about other teachers. But, from that what I've got, I can say only positive things.

  • 08/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 79

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There is a lot of fun things to do at AVC if you look for it. Joining teams, dance classes and clubs. These are fun and can also add to the extra curricular that some universities look at.

    Food and Dining

    This college's cafeteria really is not the greatest. they sell fast food such as burgers, fries, among other. It could improve by adding more healthy foods to their main menu and not just salads.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms available

    Academic Rigor

    This college promotes academic rigor, but it is almost impossible to do for the lack of classes they have.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip for prospective students is that if you live close to AVC you will get the same education than if you were to go to any other college in Southern California. AVC professor's follow state guidelines and will give you the correct information. Be prepare to struggle to get into the classes, my best tip would be to join a sport team for they get priority registration making it an easy ride through college.

    In three sentences

    Antelope Valley College, is a developing college. They do not have enough classes for the mass of students that attend this school. They are developing a bigger campus with new equipment coming soon for prospective students.

  • 08/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 79

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We do have sheriffs from the local police department that patrol the campus.

    Greek Life

    None. There is one sorority and they don't have a house or a normal Greek life. They just meet in the student lounge once in a while.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are some. Not many, but most of them are either religious or very academic.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that don't mind going to class and just leaving. There's not much to do on campus between classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not really. Its pretty boring, nothing too special.

    Bang for the buck

    I don't really think it's all that special. Though, the campus has been getting quite the face lift last last few years.

    What to do for fun

    Not much. The school has some things around it, like a movie theater and some restaurants but the town and the college, for the most part, are pretty boring.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is good and the student store does sell snacks,

    Dorm Life

    No dorms at AVC.

    Academic Rigor

    Most classes are pretty easy and some instructors don't even care if you show up in class most days, but some teachers actually take it seriously and give a lot of work and are very strict. All depends on the class and instructor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Choose classes wisely. Definitely go on rate my professor before selecting classes because you can really end up with a class you hate.

    In three sentences

    This school is okay. It has some strange students but for the most part, very good instructors. There is one lady you have to watch out for, the dean of student services, Zimmerman, if you get on her bad side she can destroy you just like she did to me.

  • 09/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 79

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have a good way of protecting students and making sure that negative things that happen can be handled before getting out of control.

    Greek Life

    I am unaware of their greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    *Associated student organization *Hispanic heritage day *Student leader of the month *Soar (students on academic rise) *Rocket club *Student nurses association *AVC fire club *Physics club *Psychology organization

    Great for these types of students

    Some students may be interested in some of the activities they have available.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none that i know of at the moment

    Bang for the buck

    The school has excellent services that may be worth more than what you pay for at different educational campuses.

    What to do for fun

    The school have different activities for the students. Many organizations that the students can participate in and great spirit days for the students.

    Food and Dining

    The food is ok, but one of the greatest things is they have a subway restaurant in the schools health sciences department.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life is provided for this school

    Academic Rigor

    The school prepares you for transfers to university and prepare you for your career.

    Tips for prospective students

    *Make sure you study *pick your classes ahead of time *Study hard and focus

    In three sentences

    I would have to say that antelope valley college is a great school, for students pursuing a career. They provide many services for the students there. The faculty and students seem to create a positive atmosphere for the school campus.

  • 10/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 79

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    we have the sheriff s on campus so everything that goes for rule off campus app lie on campus 5

    Greek Life

    Im not greek so I dont know if we have any activities

    What to do for fun

    the have alot of activities that are cheap

    Food and Dining

    food is great 4

    Dorm Life

    We dont have dorms 1

    Tips for prospective students

    campus is friendly and helpful most of the time they offer the classes you need with good days and times

    In three sentences

    campus is close.Staff is very nice and helpful. classes have good time settings

  • 11/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 79

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The AVC campus is completely safe. They have instituted the blue-light out in the parking lot which helps maintain the safety of all students.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students who are just finishing high school with no real major in mind. They get the first hand taste of what college life is like.

    Bang for the buck

    You get the most for your money here. While close enough to home to save money while I get an outstanding education.

    What to do for fun

    There's a lot of interesting activities on campus. All sporting events.

    Food and Dining

    Not-applicable - I live at home

    Dorm Life

    Not-applicable - I live at home

    Academic Rigor

    The professors expect you to do the work and they do not hold your hand. You are accountable for all your assignments as it should be.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you check in with your financial aid office, and counselor. Keep updated on all school schedules, fees, dead lines.

    In three sentences

    Antelope Valley College is a good college to start all your general ed classes to save money and get them out of the way so you are ready to transfer to a University.

  • 11/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 79

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    pretty good, you see them everywhere all day everyday.

    Bang for the buck

    depending on how many units you're taking the more expensive it gets. financial aid and the bog waiver helps a lot!

    What to do for fun

    classes & activities are there for everyone.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria actually has really good food.

    Dorm Life

    there is none. so that isn't an issue.

    Tips for prospective students

    be persistent with the financial aid office, going on monday, friday, or wednesday mornings helps. helped me because on those days there was no real line so i got in & out pretty quickly. make a back up for your back up schedule because the later ur registration date the more unlucky you get to obtain the classes you want.

    In three sentences

    it's a good community college. it's very spacious and there are new things added every semester on school grounds. the plus is that a lot people from the high school go to AVC because of financial issues so people get to see most of their friends at college. on a scale of 1-10 i'd give AVC a 7.

  • 12/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 79

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always a staff member or officer to help you in anyway you can.

    Bang for the buck

    Well, I was assisted with financial aid but I really feel that the cost is worth the education.

    What to do for fun

    The bookstore and the cafe are really great places to chill out by yourself or with your friends.

    Food and Dining

    The cafe had great food and coffee to really help wake you up for those early classes.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms at this Community College.

    Academic Rigor

    All of the staff always wants what's best for your education.

    Tips for prospective students

    To any upcoming students, just make sure you know what classes you need so registration will be a lot easier for everyone.

    In three sentences

    Antelope Valley College is a great starting place for any college freshman. All of the staff at Antelope Valley College were really helpful. I would recommend this college to any high school senior who wants to further their education.

  • 12/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 79

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you stay focused as possible and stay on top of all your studies and exams. Don't go through the process alone. Don't be afraid to reach out for help. There are many people willing and waiting to help you with anything you need. don't be afraid to speak up.

    In three sentences

    Antelope Valley College is not a bad institution as long as students stay focused on their goals and keep their priorities in order, they'll be just fine.

  • 12/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 79

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I don't have time for fun, my focus is school.

    Food and Dining

    I am a bargain shopper. I get the most for what little I have.

    Dorm Life

    I am a single mother raising two girls on my own. I am 35 years old but it's never too late. My rent is about 700$ a month.

    Academic Rigor

    My Goal is to work with people with social and emotional disorders like myself.

    In three sentences

    Antelope Valley has worked with me in my struggle with learning disability. They made it possible for me to go to school even though I have Pschyziod Personality Disorder. Antelope Valley has made me feel like there is help for me, to never give up and I feel I have a future for once in my life!

  • 12/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 79

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are often events on campus between the library and cafeteria. The caferteria is always full of young spirtited rowdy students, thats a good place to make friends.

    Food and Dining

    There is now a subway and a cafeteria on campus. The food is good.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms but there are always flyers for wanted roommates by the student store.

    Academic Rigor

    There are some very good and very challenging teachers there, especally the science teachers.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do everything you can to get an early registration as soon as you apply. The sooner you get all your information in the better your chances of getting a better registration date.

    In three sentences

    School has been ful of postitve change lately. More classes are getting added which in very helpful considering all the students that attend. Figuring out how the school works is not a challenge.

  • 12/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 79

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security all over the place all of the time.

    Greek Life

    None

    Bang for the buck

    The school is cheap and you learn a lot. I think that it is worth it for sure.

    What to do for fun

    AVC is not really like a four year college or university. There is no room to play and have fun. There is a library for studying, a learning center for studying, a student center for special events during the week.

    Food and Dining

    The lunch room hires real students to cook and it is real cooked food. The ham and Swiss cheese fried sandwich is amazing. That is one of the only things I end up getting.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms but there are apartments all around the campus that many students go to.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers really push you to be your best and are always there to help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Before you go there, just make sure to make an appointment with a transfer counselor. These are the counselors who really know what they're talking about. 90% of the normal counselors have mislead so many people and have been the cost to why I have been here longer than I need to be.

    In three sentences

    AVC is a small college but is filled with very wonderful teachers. I have met some of the best professors while going here and I am hoping to meet more. People travel hours to get to school here and I can understand why. The theater department is newly renovated, the library is beautiful, and there is a learning center with very helpful tutors. I think that Antelope Valley College is a great school to start out at. It does not cost a lot of money and it is great to get your off of your feet and interested in your education.

  • 01/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 79

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety is pretty big. Nothing's really happened for a few years and there are cops that patrol the place. Safety is definetly a plus!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who dont want to spend large sums of money, and is below average or above on an school-wise scale.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Not that I know of so far. Although that's not to say you can't make one up. Except for a relaxation day when the semester is over, and the college offers a lot of free stuff. (such as massages)

    Bang for the buck

    It's relatively cheap and you pay for the school to learn which is exactly what they do! Anyone who doesn't want to lay the enormous amounts of money for a degree or for an class SHOULD go to AVC.

    What to do for fun

    The college doesn't offer much to do when classes aren't going on. Although there is excellent scenery to just relax and calm down. You can go to the cafeteria and just sit + talk to some friends.

    Food and Dining

    Food is pretty good! They have a cafe and a student store, which pretty much covers a lot of food. Ooh and there's also a subway. Nearby is a McDonalds, so food is basically already covered.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    The rigor is pretty high, but they do offer classes that are very simplistic. Although don't let that fool you because some of the classes can be pretty challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    Seem tips that you would want is to definetly know that you're ready to take on the class. Don't just take it to do waste time, because the teachers will sense that. Definetly prepre beforehand and always work hard.

    In three sentences

    It's very rigorous and the school pushes you too the full extent. The instructors vary because some are strict whole others are lenient, but either way they teach very well. I would recommend this college to anyone in search of a good school, and what's to learn.

  • 01/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 79

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Honestly, every school is going to have safety issues on campus. There has been one report of a student being assaulted in a bathroom late at night. Day time is very safe, night time gets a little creepy with the lack of light and security around. Never walk alone!

    Great for these types of students

    Everyday students who didn't do so well in highschool. Older adults looking to finish school and those wanting to get into either science or nursing.

    Bang for the buck

    Right now tuition has gone up over the last year, but finding the right professors for your money really pays off in the end.

    What to do for fun

    Most of the fun comes from weekly and monthly activities held by the school such as; Haunted House, Easter Hunts, Ceramic pottery shop day, blood drives, student appreciation day is the best day during spring time.

    Food and Dining

    A new Subway has been added, a great addition to a college. The main cafeteria is old and worn down, many people still sit in the new tables and chairs playing card games. Many snack and drink machines are held around campus, and the AVC Book Store hold little snacks, soups, donuts, candy, tea and soda for everyone to buy.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms on campus, most AVC students stay at home or rent a College Apartment across the street.

    Academic Rigor

    Overall, the college ranges from being super easy to very difficult depending on your major and classes you choose to take.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is not high school! Stay focused, come to class, get all your homework done. Study, study, study! Anyone can graduate from AVC if they put their mind and heart into it. There are many great students, and making friends here is very easy even for the timid.

    In three sentences

    AVC is innovative, growing, and getting with the times. Lots of students seeking high education, and the professors are doing a fantastic job at helping them. Great for low-income families who can't afford a 4-year university, bad for those who need a lot of classes in a short amount of time.

  • 01/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 79

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Many clubs to join and sport activities

    Food and Dining

    Food is okay little expensive for taste though.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    idk what this means

  • 01/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 79

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is not an issue while I have been attending AVC. There are full time police officers that patrol campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Antelope Valley college is extremely cheap especially when compared to four year universities. In addition, the majority of the teachers at AVC are very helpful and want their students succeed.

    What to do for fun

    Antelope Valley College has a variety of sports and clubs the students can join. Some of the clubs that I am involved in are Ultimate Frisbee and the Indoor Soccer Club. These activities provide a distraction from school and a stress free environment.

    Food and Dining

    Antelope Valley College has just introduced subway to their campus this past semester which provides a change of pace from their cafeteria.

    Academic Rigor

    The honors program is very demanding as the instructors expect a lot from there students. On the other hand, the regular classes are not as rigorous and require much less of your time.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply to the honors program, this allows you to obtain priority registration which makes it easier to get classes. When your in need of help seek time to meet with your instructor, most are very helpful and this allows for a better learning environment.

    In three sentences

    Antelope Valley College provides a sound education for those who can not afford to attend a four year university. Self motivated students do well at this school. It is not the most inspiring of educational institutions, due to lack of involvement by the student body.

  • 01/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 79

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Take an art or dance class the instructors all love their work and help all those who wish to improve.

    Dorm Life

    No Dorms

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early and on time for all paper work and financial aid. Always ask for information if you need help.

    In three sentences

    The teachers are great and although sometimes it is hard to get classes because they fill up fast they are all tought by amazing instructors.

  • 02/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 79

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are security guards walking at all times on campus as well as parking lots.

    Great for these types of students

    Students looking to save money and get general ed done quickly.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Everything is pretty easy to find. Except the administrations office is all the way on the street far away from the rest of campus.

    Bang for the buck

    If you are looking to get your general ed classes out of the way and not spend all the money at a 4 year, this is the perfect situation. They look to help you transfer as quick as they can.

    What to do for fun

    There are alot of clubs that look fun as well as sporting activities.

    Food and Dining

    The school has a great cafeteria with a great variety. Also just put in a subway.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms on campus there are only apartments across the street that some students use.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are good and filled with difficulty and challenges. Some classes are easier than others but you never know till you walk through that door.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come prepared to handle deadlines and assignments without teachers reminding you everyday.

    In three sentences

    The college is a nice, fun enviorment type college. We have great teachers that will help you on your way. Alot of working people as well, which sometimes makes it a less social campus.

  • 02/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 79

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are many sports to play and there are clubs including the honors society club.

    Great for these types of students

    Parents, people who have full time jobs, or people wjo want to save money.

    Bang for the buck

    It is expensive for a community college.

    What to do for fun

    People watching or studying in the library.

    Food and Dining

    They sell a variety of foods but it can be hard to find an open table.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Some professors are worth taking and there are others that are not.

    Tips for prospective students

    Join a sport or the honors program so you can get the classes you need.

    In three sentences

    Antelope Valley College is an overcrowded community college. It is possible to get all the classes you need by joining the honors program or playing a sport. Over all it is a good college.

  • 02/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 79

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    we have the sheriffs department on campus, we have campus cadets and security call boxes in the parking lots

    Great for these types of students

    criminal justice majors,,, all of our teachers are either still on the force or retired from the force.

    What to do for fun

    the dollar theater, dry town water park, the fair

    Food and Dining

    we have subway on campus now. the cafe is a little pricey.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms but isn't to bad to rent an apartment or room

    Academic Rigor

    the best

    Tips for prospective students

    do your research on the programs offered and what you want to take. make friends.

    In three sentences

    the best school i have been to. the programs that they offer are the best and most in-depth. the teachers are great and know what they are doing.

  • 02/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    44 of 79

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria has good food at good prices and they have a subway inside the health services building. there's also a lot of fast food places near the school.

    Dorm Life

    They do not have on campus dorms but there are apartments close to the school.

    In three sentences

    Antelope Valley College is good school that helps you get your degree. The counseling office is very helpful and they have a free learning center. All the staff and teachers are very nice and always there for you.

  • 03/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    45 of 79

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You're in the middle of a desert surrounded by mountains. There is nothing to do but study.

    Food and Dining

    Just a Subway and a lunchroom. So not much.

    Dorm Life

    I've never used the campus housing, but they are basically apartments and they are very close to the school.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers know their subject. Science classes are very intense.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to stay on task, as not all of the classes you need to take will be offered each semester.

    In three sentences

    Teachers are very enthusiastic and well educated. Councilors aren't that helpful. Very nice campus and environment.

  • 05/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 79

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There is a cafe and a Subway on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses can be challenging, but as long as you ask for help then you will most likely get it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you fill out all forms correctly.

    In three sentences

    Overall this is a pretty good college. Getting classes can be challenging though. The professors are very helpful.

  • 05/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 79

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    really good.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a lot of campus and club activities.

    What to do for fun

    I read on campus, or go to the computer labs. I sometimes go to the IMC and watch videos. The videos range from a number of titles

    Food and Dining

    Your average school cafeteria, only better than your high school and middle school. Now there is a Subway restaurant int he new HS building.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends on the class you take. Some are harder. While others are easier.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always show up to your classes. Be at least 20 mins before class start the first two weeks of class, or you will get dropped. Be prepared for anything.

    In three sentences

    AVC is a great school if you are looking to get your general education courses out of the way. They have great counselors that will make your transfer to another college or university very easy and understandable. Very great school like I said.

  • 05/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 79

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You could join a sport or a club. There is actually not much to do. I just focus on school so I can get out of there.

    Food and Dining

    AVC has a cafeteria and a Subway on campus. It would be nice if there were more options. However, I don't live far so it is not an inconvenience for me.

    Dorm Life

    Since this is a community college, there are no dorms on campus. There are some apartments close buy. Also, there are always houses for rent in the AV.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically, this school is doing just fine. It is the same education you would get at a 4-year, but at more than half the cost. Just keep up and do your homework.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would encourage prospective students to give it a chance. A lot of people disregard this school because it is local an worn down. However, you will get an excellent education here.

    In three sentences

    Antelope Valley College is the typical community college. It is convenient and affordable. AVC is a very diverse campus.

  • 05/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 79

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One of the greatest places to be (in my mind) would be the Health and Science computer labs. They are incredibly relaxing, well-maintained rooms, with fairly fast computers in them.

    Food and Dining

    Well, the cafeteria does make a very nice cappuccino, as well as some amazing french fries -- not to mention the on-campus Subway. Nothing too fancy will be found here though, as to be expected.

    Dorm Life

    This is not applicable, because there are no dorms. :)

    Academic Rigor

    I have personally not had too many difficult classes here, but I have had multiple friends who have had some pretty nasty science/math courses here.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would highly suggest using websites such as ratemyprofessor.com when going through the courses that you might be taking. Having a good professor can meant the difference between passing and failing a class.

    In three sentences

    Antelope Valley College is a very well-balanced school, throughout the arts, sciences, and humanities. Their science program has really grown in the past years that I've attended, and I have seen wonderful projects in theatre and music from the local clubs and classes.

  • 05/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 79

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are a lot of usless secruity gaurds that pretend tey have authority but probably couldn't outrun a chubby 2 year old. Carry some mase or something because well, you never know with those night classes.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    Sports teams, a few clubs none really caught my attention.But you could always start something up of your own!

    Great for these types of students

    Great for unsure students. Find yourself at a cheaper college not at a UC or Private!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The new science building is nice and they just put a subway in there. No traditions as budgets were cut so were must of the fun activities around school.

    Bang for the buck

    It's not too expensive to attend this school as long as you buy used books to keep the cost down you should be fine.

    What to do for fun

    The art quad there is very peaceful. I often find myself there taking in the beauty or in the music room playing piano.

    Food and Dining

    Bring your own food from home. The cafeteria is greasy and the healthy food is over-priced.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms, commuter school

    Academic Rigor

    It depends on your course-load of course but this school has amazing teachers! There are bad ones yes but that's what rate my professor is for.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply as early as you possibly can, don't PROCRASTINATE. Once enrolled get a meeting with a counselor so you don't waste your time in classes.

    In three sentences

    It is a great school to get you started, or if you are still unsure of what career you wish to pursue. It is over-crowded however, therefore classes are often filled up before you get a seat. I never encountered this problem but that is how many students get trapped in the AVC 15 year degree.

  • 05/26/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    51 of 79

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I've never felt threatened before.

    Clubs and Activities

    Clubs are abundant but seem to be more about fundraising than actually doing stuff.

    Bang for the buck

    You get great education at an affordable price.

    What to do for fun

    My friends and I like to play soccer in the grass fields on campus.

    Food and Dining

    Food is alright, they just put a subway in so that's everyone's lunch.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms here, its a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Just as good as any college, I would say the teachers here respect the students enough to give them the education they deserve.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be depressed about staying in Palmdale, it's really not that bad.

    In three sentences

    It's a great place to get your classes done. It's affordable, there are great educators who care about their students, and it'll give you a good head start into transferring. The education here is just as good as any 4-year.

  • 05/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 79

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    THere is safety people on campus

    Greek Life

    Ya im a geek

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many but im not to into it.

    Great for these types of students

    There are many clubs for students who enjoy it..

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Nothing to unusual; Parking by the football field is easy to park in.

    Bang for the buck

    Well there is a lot of financial assistance

    What to do for fun

    I like to play with my son who is 4.. I enjoy swimming and learning.

    Food and Dining

    There is a cafeteria and well its as good as it gets for fast on the go food.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life but i dont think its a good way to stay foucsed.

    Academic Rigor

    Well not to sure what this means.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students use this time to advance yourself at the young age you are.

    In three sentences

    Antelope valley college is a nice school.. There are many opportunities and help available.

  • 06/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 79

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Sheriffs department is on site

    Bang for the buck

    46 bucks a unit fairly affordable

    What to do for fun

    What I don't do for fun is a shorter list

    Food and Dining

    Lots of choices

    Academic Rigor

    Stay on top of it

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure your student education plan is on the board so you have the best priority registration

    In three sentences

    Antelope valley college offers some very good professors but it is extremely hard to get in to core classes ad during the times that fit your schedule.

  • 07/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 79

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have made upgrades for public safety. In the parking lot it is more accessible to call for help and police with towers that call campus police.

    Greek Life

    They have a few local sorority's and such but not many

    Clubs and Activities

    They don't have many clubs and activities. The selection is very generic and small.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who wants more knowledge.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't know any unusual traditions about this campus.

    Bang for the buck

    You do get value for you're dollar in the cafeteria.

    What to do for fun

    I leave campus for fun.

    Food and Dining

    It is you local cafeteria food, especially a public school. It rare the food has a great test to it and/or meals are appealing.

    Dorm Life

    Nor dorms are available at this college.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes do fill out fast but like most classes most people drop out of that class. Towards the middle of the semester, maybe half the class would be there.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be self-relate, communicate, and always make sure you have everything covered yourself.

    In three sentences

    The most administrators aren't very helpful specially the guidance counselors. The waiting times for any source for help in the main office are extremely long. The curriculum is getting smaller and smaller in recent years.

  • 07/04/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    55 of 79

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always Sheriffs roaming around, and a station, as well as emergency callboxes, are located at the front of the school to ensure that students are safe.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are unsure what to do with their lives, parents who want to go back to school, or people who want to use this community college as a cheaper way to get done with their general ed before heading to a UC or CSU.

    Bang for the buck

    Its a community college, so it is a good idea to go here first if you are unsure of what to study or what a cheaper stepping stove to a UC or four year university. Financial aid, work study, and fee waivers are also available.

    What to do for fun

    There is a selection of clubs to become involved in, such as the Alpha Iota society, Student body, Physics club, and much more! Also, the theatre department is regulary putting on productions, which look fun to go to.

    Food and Dining

    The snackbar and various vending machines offer a wide variety of scrumptious foods, from baked potatoes to pastrami sandwiches to cake! Yum. The cafeteria/ student union us also a great place to eat, relax, study, or use the wifi to check instagram :).

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any dorms here at AVC, but if you live close by or drive, you can still be a part of campus life. I live just down the street, and I already feel like a Marauder (the school mascot)!

    Academic Rigor

    I have not yet begun my classes yet, although I already know by taking a look at the textbooks, that I will be challenged and learn a lot. I will ve working just has hard as University students to get good grades and learn a lot.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you qualify, get accepted to the Honors program here as soon as possible! You will have first pick of classes, and be able to be in classes where you learn more. Also, try to arrive as early as possible to the Student Services building is you have questions about Financial Aid or counseling--you could be stuck in line for hours!

    In three sentences

    The campus of AVC is large, pretty, and is surrounded by trees. I have only just visited there, yet I already feel as if the the teachers and staff here care about me and my future. I am looking forward to learning and going to Antelope Valley College!

  • 07/10/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    56 of 79

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There's many things to do at college, to joing clubs, hanging out with your friends, to being involved with your community; the adventures are endless.

    Food and Dining

    I have never ate at the cafeteria but theres many great places to sit and eat- to the fresh outdoors or to the cozy indoors.

    Dorm Life

    Theres no dorms at avc

    Academic Rigor

    I don't know what the academic rigor is yet at avc college but it's college and i expect it to be very challenging.

    Tips for prospective students

    From what I experienced I would make sure you keep checking your online portal, meet all requirements for financial aid, and don't be afraid to speak to your counsel.

    In three sentences

    I have been to avc college a couple times preparing myself for the upcoming fall semester. Its very busy at the school -but well organized. Overall my experience was great, the staff was very helpful and welcoming.

  • 08/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    57 of 79

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The new Health and Sciences building has a Subway and is the only building with WiFi.

    Bang for the buck

    Classes are hard to get into and the size can get ridiculous. There is a waiting list for the nursing program and the prerequisites are almost impossible to get into.

    What to do for fun

    There is a small student lounge and plenty of seating.

    Food and Dining

    I hear the cafeteria is good, but there is a subway on campus.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms whatsoever. It's a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes aren't too hard once you get into them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get priority registration right away. Go in with all your questions at once. Crash all classes when you need to.

    In three sentences

    The staff is okay but it does get very crowded in student services before a big term. Class sizes range from small to incredibly large. Beware, science classes are extremely hard to get into as are most classes.

  • 08/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    58 of 79

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many dance and sport courses available that liven up your day.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has a surprisingly good grill. There is also a Subway on campus.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Greatly depends on the teachers you take. Some are a breeze to pass others are challenging yet rewarding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research your teachers, seek out financial aid, seek out counselors.

    In three sentences

    AVC is a great opportunity when used correctly. There is a great staff for the most part. You can easily reach your goals here if you stay focused.

  • 10/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    59 of 79

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    avoid this school.

    Tips for prospective students

    attend the lectures, avoid Botros.

    In three sentences

    Good teachers. Bad parking. he average gerbil has a higher IQ than about half of the student body

  • 10/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    60 of 79

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There's tons of clubs to join and dances several times a semester.

    Great for these types of students

    Any young and old.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Student week is the best! Free food, games, and music are offered.

    Bang for the buck

    BOG fee waiver can cover all of your expenses plus financial aid. Even if you don't qualify for aid, it costs close to nothing to take some classes.

    What to do for fun

    The library has all sorts of books, you can peek in on the theater and singing classes, and there's always the computer labs to surf the web.

    Food and Dining

    There's a Subway and the cafe has great quesodillas.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are amazing and very motivated.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of your studies. Apply for any aid you qualify for and use the extra tutoring programs and other resources. It could be the difference between a D and an A.

    In three sentences

    I give AVC an 8 out of 10 for excellence. Avc has great, very personal teachers who put their all into their class. The campus is used but they're improving all the time.

  • 11/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    61 of 79

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security officers are always walking around to ensure campus safety.

    Clubs and Activities

    AVC offers many clubs for people studying in different fields, for example: Physics & Engineering Club, Anthropology Club, AVC Math Club, and many more!

    Great for these types of students

    If you are considering to go to Antelope Valley College and transfer with two years, I would suggest you join the honors program. The honors program provides priority admission to many universities, and students are able to have priority registration for their classes at AVC. Honors program also prepares students for a four year university.

    Bang for the buck

    Going to a community college before going to a university is way cheaper! EOPS is a program offered by AVC that helps students afford their classes.

    What to do for fun

    ASO is a club on campus that provides fun activities for students during the holidays. For example, ASO held a Halloween Carnival, where they offered many games and prizes.

    Food and Dining

    The Cafeteria offers an array of different foods, and it is inexpensive. A Subway was also added in the Health and Science Center!

    Dorm Life

    Because Antelope Valley College is a community college, their are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors at Antelope Valley College makes sure students attend their classes. They do this because they truly care about the students' education and make sure they do not fall behind. The courses are not easy. Professors offer many homework and study guides to prepare students for their tests. All assignments are relatable to the course, and towards future courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you're having trouble with your writing skills, or is completely stuck and you have no idea what to write next, the Learning Center offers writing labs in order to improve students writing. Priority registration is so important! Make sure you complete all of your matriculations: counseling, assessment, student education plan, and orientation, in order to secure a spot in the classes you need. If a class you really want to get into is full, CRASH THE CLASS. Lenient professors may accept extra students to be enrolled in their class.

    In three sentences

    Antelope Valley College truly cares about the education of their students, and monitors their progress. They offer helpful services, such as the Learning Center, in order to encourage students towards achieving their academic goals. Antelope Valley College is also circulated around a friendly community, which makes studying much safer and peaceful.

  • 12/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    62 of 79

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Antelope valley college has a lot of clubs to join. Also they do activities during the weeks, for example; they have music, give free food.

    Dorm Life

    Antelope valley does not provide dorms

    In three sentences

    Antelope valley is a great school, from it's academics to their staff. They offer a verities of help if you need help with any course, I thing that is the best thing they have for us students, because some of us don't have the money to get a tutor.

  • 12/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    63 of 79

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    It's a great school! I love attending and I'm currently on the track and field team there. It's a great place to start my education.

  • 12/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    64 of 79

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    make new friends

    Food and Dining

    the food is really good because they cook it in front of you and on some days we have different specials.

    Dorm Life

    cant stay on campus which sucks lol

    Academic Rigor

    really good

    Tips for prospective students

    stay focused and do your best.

    In three sentences

    okay school wish it had dorms the teachers are really nice and fun to around the teachers love to help their students

  • 01/15/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    65 of 79

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    As far as the safety goes all the sutudents whether you are a new student or on your last year everyone gets along great and the campus has surveilance to keep you safe and sound.

    Clubs and Activities

    I personally LOVE the dance club and the competition from AVC, people that know and don't know how to dance have a great time and learn everyday. I have not experienced evry club but I do have friends that are in other activuties and love the ambient of the people in AVC.

    Great for these types of students

    Wheather you are a shy student or an extrovert in every way, you will find a club suitable for your style!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    A great tradition that AVC has is that all the sports and activities go hand by hand, by this I mean that everyone is invloved and if you don't want to be there is no problem you WILL find somethiing to be interested in.

    Bang for the buck

    The staff from the admission office, counseling, and even the maintenance are very friendly and kind. They keep in mind the furture of the student and do their best to make your way a little easier. There is no reason to not apply and at least take a look and verify for yourself that the kindness in this campus is not make believe.

    What to do for fun

    There are dance, art, singing courses, etc. Besides to distract yourself from all your hard work there are bowling alleys and movie theaters where you can go have fun out of campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take this college into consideration due to pricing, place, and people.

    In three sentences

    Quite and great ambient to do work around the campus. Friendly staff ready to assist. Easy steps to get in with helpful website!

  • 01/19/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    66 of 79

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Honestly not much but I make the most out of it with fiends.

    Food and Dining

    On camps there is only a subway but around campus there is plenty to eat and dine in.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms here

    Academic Rigor

    Nothing studying and excellent time management skills cant handle.

    Tips for prospective students

    Turn every assignment in and study!!

    In three sentences

    The college is affordable and has plenty of transferable classes. If your plan is to attend a cc and trafer out into a University then recommend Antelope Valley College. Your success in education is all on you though.

  • 01/31/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    67 of 79

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I take night classes and security is always patrolling.

    Bang for the buck

    Class fees are reasonable

    What to do for fun

    Sport events

    Food and Dining

    Typical cafeteria food.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    Academic Rigor

    The courses I have taken have been a little difficult (which should be expected) but the professors tend to be very hands on and willing to take time out for individuals

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to get priority registration (classes fill quickly). Meet with a counselor to discuss career plans and get an educational plan (will keep you on track).

    In three sentences

    Has good amount of resources and programs. Does not have adequate amount of classes for students. Small easy to navigate campus.

  • 02/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    68 of 79

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Always look out for yourself, and have your stuff in order. For you to get ahead

    In three sentences

    Antelope Valley College can be what you make it. In my years it has been helpful, but not somewhere I'd like to stay. It has a wide variety of students, but the teachers have made a lasting impact on my education. To be successful, you'd have to be on top of your studies, no one will baby you or give you handouts; you have to look out for yourself.

  • 02/01/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    69 of 79

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You will feel pretty safe on the campus. There is a police station located in the school itself. It's pretty interesting and assuring.

    Bang for the buck

    It's just a place to go get your education and maybe meet new people. It's a nice school too.

    What to do for fun

    Meet new people and hang out after class.

    Food and Dining

    I do not eat at the school, but I have passed by a few times. Nothing special.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms. It is a traditional community college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to register on time. Do not delay your registration. Make an appointment to meet with a counselor at least once each semester if not more. ALWAYS show up to class on the first day, if you fail to do so, you will get dropped. On the first day especially, come to class on time so that you will have a place to sit. NEVER hesitate to ask the teacher questions if you are unsure of something. Take time out of class to actually go over the material and study. Please make time for your self also, and try not to worry so much. Finally, stay ahead of everything. Do not fall behind.

    In three sentences

    The main campus is very spacious and offers a nice variety of activities and programs.

  • 02/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    70 of 79

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    chill with friends

    Food and Dining

    very yummy

    Academic Rigor

    .....

    Tips for prospective students

    focus on your goal

    In three sentences

    Antelope Valley college is a great school.The instructors are so helpful.Also they have a really nice health science building.

  • 02/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    71 of 79

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Join a club, sport, or participate in student government with mock trials those are fun.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great and there are a lot of variety of food available.

    Dorm Life

    I haven't experienced it yet.

    Academic Rigor

    Fantastic academic rigor , I truly learn more and more everyday.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get your classes close by each other so traveling is easier and always come on time you get better seats in class and better parking spaces.

    In three sentences

    The school is very large one of the largest community colleges I've ever seen. Great teachers they are very down to earth and respectful. Perfect learning environment for young adults.

  • 02/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    72 of 79

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus feels safe during the day, police officers are on campus all the time. At night though... Just go to your car with a trusted friend or park as close to a light as you can. Try to park in the huge lighted structures in front of the apl/buisness area instead of parking on the far right of HS where it's dark. It's worth the extra walk through the places were the campus is well lit.

    Greek Life

    THERE IS NO GREEK LIFE. I'm pretty sure previous reviews are confused on what greek life really is. There are no fraternities or sororities on campus. These previous reviewers probably thought Alpha Iota was part of greek life, but it isn't. It's an honors society that hosts events and membership is based on your activity on the school and your grades.

    Clubs and Activities

    STEM club is great fun for any science/math/engineering majors. There are little sub committees in it from everything to pre-med and rocketry. Alpha Iota is the local chapter of alpha gama sigma (a community college honors society)

    Great for these types of students

    Hard working students who need to save money.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The cleanest bathrooms are on the second story of the health and sciences building. Also, if you climb up and up the stairs, they lead to the roof (which is never open). Since no one goes up there, those stairs are a good place to hang out during breaks.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is excellent if you're trying to save up to go to a four-year. Especially if you're what would be considered poor. Apply for all the financial aid you can get! BOG fee waiver can pay for all your classes. Pell grant, cal grant, eops grant, and AVC foundation scholarships can all add up pretty quickly and if you save all your money you might be able to scoop up around $10,000 in a year.

    What to do for fun

    Just get involved! It's hard but rewarding. Apart from school clubs, there is not much to do in the AV.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the cafeteria is meh, to say the least. Unless you're craving soggy fries or any other form of greasy student prepared meals, nope. There is a subway on campus too, but that's not very healthy either. And you get tired of only having one fast food restaurant here.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life. I'm sure there is some sort of party life in the near-by houses, but if you're serious you should be way too busy for that.

    Academic Rigor

    I can't say much for the liberal artsy classes, but the higher stem classes like calc (math 150, 160, &250), chemistry, and physics are no joke. Most of the professors are really well qualified and they're good teachers. We have professors who got their Ph. D's at UCLA or masters at Berkeley. We even have some staff on school from Ivy League institutions.

    Tips for prospective students

    This college is a stepping stone into your journey to higher education. But that doesn't mean that you can't have fun while you're here. Really get involved in the school and you will reap the benefits, there are many good things to do here.

    In three sentences

    Many students treat AVC as a joke because it's a community college. Work as hard as you would if you were at a 4-year school. It'll make a difference (on your resume/application) in the end when you apply to transfer.

  • 03/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    73 of 79

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    The student fees are reasonable although the books are very expensive if you buy them from the college.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out in the library or science building to use wifi or be with friends.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria has vending machines and a small cafe area where you can get burgers and smoothies. There's also a subway on campus and the student store has snacks and drinks as well.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at this school.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are very thorough in whatever it is. All the classes I've taken so far have covered everything I need to know.

    Tips for prospective students

    Buy your books online, go to the counseling ASAP to get a better chance of getting the classes you want.

    In three sentences

    AVC is a nice college to start out at. So far I haven't had any problems there and I'm enjoying my time. The teachers are also very friendly and helpful.

  • 03/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    74 of 79

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Alpha Iota honor society, student government, stem club, plus more!

    In three sentences

    My experience at Antelope Valley College has been phenomenal, I have came across some of the most enlightening professors. I believe that I made the right choice to come to AVC, it has given me an experience that I wouldn't be able to receive elsewhere.

  • 03/11/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    75 of 79

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are securities here 24/7, so that we are very safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are club and activities for students all year long for us, so you will have a lot of activities to enjoy after class.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    This is a traditional college, so there is no unusual traditions here. Everything is very similar to other campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Financial aid is available for students who can't afford for college, so don't hesitate try to apply ASAP and get classes.

    What to do for fun

    Student lounge where students come hang out after class. There also have gym and tennis course if you want to be active, check it out.

    Food and Dining

    There are varieties of foods from breakfast, sandwiches, salads and its very priceable.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm in this campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Honor classes are rigor, but they are good for students who enrolled in honor program.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students first make appoint with counselor and do an assessment test. Then ask for campus tour and visit the library and learning center where you can use computer and do homework.

    In three sentences

    This is a good college for who those need a general education and transfer to four years college. You will learn and gain your knowledge here from our teachers and counselor would help you find a good college for transfering.

  • 03/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    76 of 79

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    My time here in the STEM and Honor society club has been great.

    What to do for fun

    Not much to do for fun here in the desert.

    Academic Rigor

    Your typical junior college difficulty although professors in the math and science department don't dumb things down. Well most of them at least.

    Tips for prospective students

    My suggestion would be to join a club such as Alpha Iota or Stem to meet other people who share the same interests and ambitions.

    In three sentences

    I feel that the culture here at AVC is its biggest deterrent. There are many great professors that are passionate of what they teach. Counselors aren't that great and classes get filled quick!

  • 06/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    77 of 79

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    They have cafeteria food but I mainly go to subway which is on campus! It's accessible and healthy!

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Courses that are intend for your can be difficult in any school, all it takes is a little dedication and anyone can pass their classes.

  • 06/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    78 of 79

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There have been threats from students to shoot up the school but the problems have been taken care of thanks to the sheriffs and security. In my time here I have never seen anything out of the ordinary or any crimes committed so I would say the school is relatively safe.

    Great for these types of students

    If you're a student who likes to be challenged in order to achieve your goals then this school is for you. This school has a great nursing program for those wanting an AS in Nursing degree so students who want to become registered nurses should check it out.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't much places to go since the campus is fairly small and it's located in the desert so you could imagine there aren't many things to do. There are clubs you could join though to meet new people with the same interests as you which will build friendships and then you can do activities together.

    Food and Dining

    The school has a Subway restaurant on campus inside the Health & Sciences building and a cafe by the bookstore. The cafe food is okay but the people working there sometimes take a long time to have your order ready. The food selection is good they have hamburgers, quesadillas, chicken tenders, sandwiches, salads, and more. Subway is just another Subway, nothing special about it.

    Dorm Life

    If you were expecting to live on campus in the dorms, well too bad because there aren't any. If you live at home then you will have to live at home but there are homes for rent near the campus. They're posted on the walls in the main buildings.

    Academic Rigor

    The work instructors expect of you isn't necessarily perfect but they do expect good college-level work. For example, when submitting an essay or research paper, check your punctuation, grammar, cite your sources correctly, and keep everything organized. The work can be challenging because of the amount of time needed to complete an assignment but the actual work isn't hard. Spending a good amount of time studying can go a long way which will help you in the long run.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared and stay focused because this isn't high school anymore where you can probably get away with slacking off. Don't miss deadlines that your instructor gives you to do an assignment because one late or missed assignment could potentially mean the difference between a passing grade or a failing grade. The instructors are actually really nice but expect to have lot's of essays and research papers which are very time consuming so manage your time wisely. Don't expect the work to be too difficult just because you're in college. I wouldn't say it's more difficult, I see it as more time consuming which requires more effort in your part to do well. Lastly, make sure you have a high GPA (2.0 minimum) if you are receiving financial aid because not only will it look bad on your transcript, it will put you on academic probation which may result in losing your financial aid. Good luck!

    In three sentences

    I am a current student at Antelope Valley College and so far I love it! The instructors are very nice and look like they enjoy teaching which makes for a great learning environment. The campus is not that large nor is it the most beautiful looking campus but it looks better than the average community college I would say.

  • 06/06/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    79 of 79

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    EXERSICE

    Food and Dining

    THE FOOD IS GREAT!!!!

    In three sentences

    AVC is a great school. Its really a calm and nice campus. The people thire are really nice and helpful,.