Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Aquinas College - Michigan Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/21/2009

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    8 out of 9 people found this review useful. 1 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Aquinas is good for students who like a peaceful atmosphere. It's also good for those who like to take part in community service, as there are many different clubs. As stated before, it's good for students who have a plan on how they will pay for tuition. Those who attend should also not mind the ever changing weather of Michigan including a lot of snow and ice.

    Tips for prospective students

    Aquinas college was an amazing experience for me, though I felt the tuition alongside the room and board was a bit extreme. The atmosphere found at Aquinas is relaxing and a great place for those who find a sea full of trees a great place to study. If you are pretty sure you know what you want to major in, this is a good school for you. There are plenty of majors and minors, but most are very similar. If you plan on attending here, I would stay on campus, as Aquinas does not fail when it comes to its campus. Just make sure you have a good job or plenty of scholarships, because this school isn't cheap.

  • 12/28/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The small school types, not a lot of people attend here but that is what makes it great.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved with any clubs you are interested in, this will really help you enjoy your experience.

    Bang for the buck

    The education here is great and you can really tell the teachers care for you. It is a little bit more expensive to attend here but the small classes are really worth it. The teachers learn your name really quickly and it creates an atmosphere that encourages participation in the class.

    Am enjoying being here

    There is always something to do at Aquinas; either going downtown or hanging our around the cafe. The clubs that are offered here are great and cover so many bases. I run cross country and track, and the teammates have become my family, and it was thanks to joining the club. It has a very relaxing atmosphere and I can't think of a better place to go to.

    Am learning a lot

    The teachers here are really focused on helping students learn and are always open to discuss any problems you have. Also, the classes are stimulating and very interesting. Classes are small and everyone knows each other in the class and this helps people be able to talk during class and actually encourages learning.

  • 01/12/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Use the faculty and staff, they are here for you and are easily available with offices on campus. Get involved in a club, get a campus job or join an intermueral sport so that you stayed involved and become an active member to the Aquinas community. Stay active and take advantage of the Fitness Center. Your body is important to maintain in order to keep a good balance of school and health.

    Bang for the buck

    The food is awesome whether you want something kind of like home, a salad or even popcorn shrimp. The price may be high but I believe it's worth paying for. I am a student putting myself through college and without my parents assistance because I wanted the best education possible at a place that suites me best. I can definitely tell you, it's worth my 3 part time jobs.

    Am enjoying being here

    Aquinas is the perfect size for me. It's not like a big ten school where you see someone once and never see them again. Also, when you meet a friend in a class and want to study together; the campus isn't too spread out that you have to take a bus to meet up. Faces easily become familiar and friends are easy to make. The faculty and staff are what make the Aquinas community so genuine because the truely have interest in making your education more positive. Oh and one more thing, the landscaping and location is my favorite. I've lived in Grand Rapids my whole life and it's mainly highways, skyscrapers, roads and parking ramps have always been the same ol' same. However ever since I've been at Aquinas I realized we have our very own Central Park in GR! Which is here, home at Aquinas. This is the place where you can find every native Michgan tree, a million squirrels and alternative hiking trails through the forrests to go to class.

    Am learning a lot

    I love having the opportunity to learn about subjects in a whole new angle. Classes are a challenge but they challenge you so that you may become an overall well-rounded individual.

  • 01/12/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Face value, Aquinas is an expensive school being 31,000 per year. But in reality, lots of people receive big scholarships, making it LESS than most other schools in Michigan, which is extremely surprising to most prospective students.

    Am enjoying being here

    Aquinas has an amazing campus. The land was owned by a former lumberjack many, many years ago, and his beautiful forest is still a wonderful sight, just on the outskirts of Grand Rapids. Being only one short bus ride from the city, I can go to the huge events, malls, and public library in addition to the tons of events that are hosted here right on campus! Many people believe that having such a small campus would be boring, but it's simply more concentrated!

    Am learning a lot

    The professors here are amazing. Because of the smaller class sizes, they actually learn your names and can interact with you and help you with whatever you need! I would feel SO lost in the crowd if I went to a larger school that classes the size of auditoriums. I have the opportunity to speak my mind and ask the questions that I need to.

  • 02/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    - Students with a desire for knowledge - Students who want to feel safe and comfortable on campus - Students that prefer smaller one-on-one classes - Students with a drive to succeed

    Tips for prospective students

    OK. I know that most prospective students are nervous about the tuition. But, I'm honestly saying that I come from a family that is tight with money. Do not let it scare you or hold you back. There are loans and scholarships (like the ones on Cappex.com) that are here to help you pay for your education. Never let money hold you back from the education you deserve. There are ways to pay. I will say that you can trust in AQ College to accurately prepare you for your future. And lastly, you can do anything you put your mind to.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, I will be blunt. This college is costly. However, you will not meet people like the individuals here on campus, students and faculty. Everyone is so helpful and very caring. Also, the education here is extremely beneficial. The job turnout is on the higher end of the scale. AQ also offers many helpful programs to learn how to interview, achieve success, protect yourself, better your health, and have fun. This college is definitly worth every penny I own.

    Am enjoying being here

    In the summer the trees are changing to beautiful fall colors and in the winter the campus is gently covered in glistening snowfall. But, no matter what the campus is covered in smiles. The people here are very accepting and I've never felt out of place. The classrooms are small enough that it is easy to be close to people and make friends. I also highly reccomend living in the dorms because there are tons of activites to participate in year round. In the winter the snow is always shoveled and plowed before classes so you don't have to worry about your brisk morning walk to class being hectic. I have never been happier in my life than attending the Aquinas Campus.

    Am learning a lot

    Aquinas has broadened my perspective on the world. The professors are great, yet challenging. Each professor has their own way of educating, but they all make sure you're understanding the material and are always available for help and questions. They never underestimate you or make you feel as if you cannot achieve your goal. I have never once felt stupid asking a professor a question. All the encouragement has provided me a stable learning environment where I can believe in myself. Also, the classes only have about 30 or less people in them. That allows for quality time with your professors. They really get to know you and understand you if you have any problems. This made the transition from high shcool to college a lot easier for me. I have certainly learned a lot here at Aquinas.

  • 02/04/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Aquinas is great for students who love small class sizes, volunteering and the feeling of a close knit community, because that is what you will get at Aquinas!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are thinking about Aquinas, visit the campus! Once you see the campus and meet professors and students, you will love it! Other than that, apply for a lot of scholarships!

    Bang for the buck

    Aquinas certainly offers a lot of scholarships to help out with the tuition, but if you are paying for the majority of the tuition, it's worth it. The classes, opportunities and individual attention is worth the little extra cost!

    Am enjoying being here

    Campus is small and cozy. Everywhere you go, you feel like you know someone. I often have classes where I see at least one familiar face. The familiarization and comfort make Aquinas feel like home.

    Am learning a lot

    Classes are always kept interesting through the professors' use of updated technology and techniques. My classes are hands on and encourage every student to interact not only with each other, but the community as well.

  • 02/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Aquinas is a well rounded school, many different programs make up this campus. if you like to learn things hands on and like to establish one on one relationships with professors Aquinas is the place to be. They have a great nursing program and you can start off learning directly about nursing as a freshman which is amazing all in itself.

    Tips for prospective students

    Aquinas is an amazing school to be apart of. Don't be afraid to go to your professors and ask for help, they are your friends and they want to see you succeed so they will do what they can in order to help you. Participation is key, professors like to see you get involved and be passionate about the things they are lecturing on. Aquinas has many great programs and the small class size is ideal for establishing relationships with your professors and for ensuring your comfortable with what you have learned

    Bang for the buck

    Aquinas is a rather expensive college, however, the education one leaves here with is definitely worth the money spent to go here. The professors educate in a way that makes you feel comfortable taking what you have learned out into the real world and putting what you have learned into practice.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy being at Aquinas. The campus is so beautiful, all the older buildings and the work that went into them is breathtaking. In the Fall the campus is gorgeous, Aquinas is known for its trees and in the fall when the trees change colors the campus is breathtaking. There are so many different activities that you can be apart of and the people who are apart of the campus both the students and faculty make it a comfortable place to learn.

    Am learning a lot

    At Aquinas I am a student in the nursing program. This is an amazing program to be a part of. The nursing program at Aquinas is through the University of Detroit Mercy. Not only do we get to learn about things that are directly related to this field of study in class we get to see things hands on. The professor at Aquinas are extremely helpful they go above and beyond their call of duty to help their students become successful. The smaller class sizes allows for the professors to work with us on an individual level and allows for a relationship to be established, making it easier to get involved in class lectures.

  • 02/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    great campus safety, but maybe some updated accessories would be nice and a new building.

    Clubs and Activities

    getting involved in the future.

    Bang for the buck

    it's fairly expensive so scholarships and other financial help is nice but it's certainly worth it!

    What to do for fun

    aquainas has a beautiful campus. get outside and enjoy it, go for a walk or have a picnic.

    Academic Rigor

    it can be difficult so spend the time you need on studying and don't give up.

    Tips for prospective students

    stay on top of things, be organized, ask questions and follow orders, which definately includes homework.

    In three sentences

    the college so far is great. it's very well organinized and the saff and students are welcoming to new people. i look forward to the next two years there.

  • 05/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    It is worth every penny!

    In three sentences

    I love Aquinas College! They are the only institution that put me in the classroom my first semester to see if education was the correct choice for me. They have a great faculty and student body.

  • 06/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety officers work around the clock to make sure that students do not have to walk alone in dangerous areas and that they can easily receive necessary medical resources.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are numerous clubs that fit with the academic majors and with other extracurricular activities. If there is not a club for a student's particular interest they have the opportunity to start that specific club.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are interested in smaller class sizes and innovative thinkers will do well at Aquinas College.

    Bang for the buck

    Aquinas College students can receive scholarships of about 10,000 dollars for previous community service or academic reasons. There are numerous endowed scholarships and other memorial scholarships for students to apply for on a yearly basis as well.

    What to do for fun

    This small campus makes it easy for students to attend various club activities, meetings and other fun entertainment events. The lighting at night could be improved but a majority of activities are in well lit areas of the campus. There are numerous homecoming activities, a weekend for siblings and many activities for various holidays.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are not just an overview of a topic but are made up of professional discussion, personal insight and professional instruction. The classes are more than a teacher in a classroom but give the students insight into the world around us and current world issues. It is easy to double major and pursue various minors because of the setup of academic programs.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are seeking a school with a smaller student body but abundant opportunities, Aquinas College is for you. It is located on acres of forest within the big city of Grand Rapids. This gives the campus a relaxed and homely vibe but also a big city feel.

    In three sentences

    Aquinas College professors provide reasons to think critically and the campus provides a reason to appreciate the real beauty of nature. I have been challenged to further understand my religious and political beliefs which in turn has led me to further understand myself. Aquinas College faculty and the small student body, all contribute to the relaxed academic environment of Aquinas College.

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Not a huge fan of them but there is a team of Campus safety available 24/7/365

    Greek Life

    Not that I know of.

    Clubs and Activities

    Countless.

    Great for these types of students

    Need to like being in the woods.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It's a campus in the woods. Always finding new and interesting things.

    Bang for the buck

    Money well spent.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of club and organizations. Close to East Grand Rapids and downtown. Sporting event and theatre as well.

    Food and Dining

    Not too many choices but what's available is alright.

    Dorm Life

    Haven't lived in the dorms but I've heard great things about them.

    Academic Rigor

    Tough classes but great professors willing to help their students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look into scholarships and financial aid available The school is great at finding ways to make attending affordable to prospective students.

    In three sentences

    A beautiful campus with small intimate class sizes that allow professors to establish a connection with their students.

  • 06/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety does a great job.

    Greek Life

    No Greek life

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of sports like soccer, lacrosse, baseball, softball, track, cheer, dance, etc. but there is no football. They also have clubs for about anything you can think of and if they don't have what your looking for it's fairly easy to start one.

    Great for these types of students

    School focused. Religious. Sports oriented.

    What to do for fun

    They have tuns of social event for incoming freshmen. It's a great way to get to know people. East Town and Down Town are close too.

    Food and Dining

    The food is great for AQ Days but it becomes less exciting throughout the year.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are a bit small but so are all dorms. The freshmen dorms are shared between two people and the bathroom is shared with four people.

    Academic Rigor

    The assignments given are important to complete because they are things that the student will need to be able to do in order to get a job in the field they are striving for.

    Tips for prospective students

    Each student needs to make sure they stay on top of their work. Even though it seems like high school its not. Do your homework.

    In three sentences

    Aquinas is a great college for students searching for a smaller school. The professors here are more personable and help each student succeed the best they can. Since it is a smaller College it does have a high school feel to it which may help with the student transition from high school to college.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of different and unique clubs to join. Constant activities to do.

    Great for these types of students

    People who like a small, quiet campus.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Painting a large rock to advertise for events.

    Bang for the buck

    The classes do provide a wonderful education for the cost. However, they can get difficult.

    What to do for fun

    Walk the trails through the beautiful trees and nature surroundings. Located by the wonderful Gaslight Village and Grand Rapids. Lots of sights and places to go to.

    Food and Dining

    Alright food.

    Dorm Life

    Small dorms with no air. Gets hot and crowded fast.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging. The professors expect you to do your best.

    Tips for prospective students

    Classes can be challenging, but don't get overwhelmed. The professors are always available for assistance. Very small campus with beautiful outdoor settings.

    In three sentences

    It is a nice, small campus with beautiful surroundings. The classes are challenging, but the professors help get the students through. Gets your money worth with qualitity education.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There is no greek life at Aquinas College.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities for everyone. They offer a great SIFE (Students in Free Enterprise) Club as well.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who are interested in a smaller school.

    Bang for the buck

    You most likely get scholarships from Aquinas, so while it may seem pricey initially, wait until you get your scholarships and grants.

    What to do for fun

    If you have a car you have all of Grand Rapids to explore. If not, there is a bus system. Otherwise, nearby is East Grand Rapids, where many Aquinas students go and hang out at the many restaurants and stores.

    Food and Dining

    Wege Cafeteria doesn't always offer the best quality food. However, the Corner Cafe and The Moose Coffee House have pretty good selections.

    Dorm Life

    I did not experience freshman dorm-life, but I hear its alright. You have to stay on campus your sophomore year as well, but your selection is expanded to the nicer dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors will make you do work. However, the faculty are very welcoming and are more than willing to assist any student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure the majors you are interested in are offered here. Also make sure the program has a good reputation. Not all colleges have the best programs in everything, and Aquinas is no exception, although Aquinas has many great programs to choose from.

    In three sentences

    A small college with a mostly great faculty. Most programs are great as well as several great clubs to get involved in. A tighter-knit college, everyone is pretty friendly to everyone.

  • 07/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I always feels safe on Campus. There are many officers around Campus making sure there is no unusual or threatening activity going on. They are there 24 hours a day to assist anyone in need.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life at Aquinas.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs and activities within Aquinas. If you have an interest in almost any subject there is something for you here!

    Great for these types of students

    Its a great school for people who like to know their classmates and professors. Aquinas is really small, so it is really easy to get involved and meet new people.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is rather small, but I am always finding new places and discoveries to spend my time and study.

    Bang for the buck

    It's a little pricey for College being a private school, but it is worth every penny! Aquinas offers a lot of grants and scholarships for the students which has been a big help/

    What to do for fun

    Aquinas' campus is seldom quiet at any time during the day. There is always some kind of event or activity happening every day of the week which makes for a great break in between classes to hang out with friends and be social.

    Food and Dining

    The food is very routine in Wege cafeteria. You will be able to pick up on the food schedule very fast, but it offers 3 meals a day with a lot of variety for each meal.

    Dorm Life

    I only lived in the dorms for my freshman year, so I am not very experienced in this area. The dorms are a little small and need some updating, but the social and community aspects were great!

    Academic Rigor

    Each and every class I have taken at Aquinas has provided me with a challenge. Between projects, homework, and semester long activities I have been able to grow as a learner and as an individual.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always, always, always seek help from professors. They are their to help you learn as much as possible and offer as much support and guidance for you to recieve. Try to balance your time as best you can with school, but always make time for some fun!

    In three sentences

    Aquinas College has an atmosphere unlike any other college I have heard about. The staff and students are warming, welcoming and all ready to learn from one another. I have earned the best possible education at this school and would recommend it to anyone who wants to better their education.

  • 08/15/2012

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 16 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Gaslight village is right down the street and has so many cute little shops.

    Food and Dining

    It's cafeteria food

    Dorm Life

    From what I've looked at the dorms are really nice. Especially if you dont want to have community bathrooms

    Academic Rigor

    Don't go there yet so I don't know

    Tips for prospective students

    the feeling you should get on a campus is the feeling of home. Once you get that feeling you know this is where you should go

    In three sentences

    It's a very small school. It's like a close knit family. Right next to Gaslight village so really good shopping!

  • 09/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Awesome! They are always there to offer a ride after dark if you want.

    Greek Life

    Non-existent

    What to do for fun

    ummm....depends on the person. I head too the Moose (coffe place), grab a cup and then head up to my room to read.

    Food and Dining

    It's usually great...then there are the days when it's not.

    Dorm Life

    I like it, cause I can decide how social to be; I can be friends with everyone on the floor or stick with my roomy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be scared to say hi to a stranger.

    In three sentences

    Aquinas is a beautiful place. The alumni support and school spirit speaks for itself that this school creates great memories. The small campus is great, because you always walk by someone you know; on the other hand, you can always walk by someone you aren't fond of.

  • 10/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    it's okay. You have to stay together. Never go by yourself.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    volley ball, soccer, bowling, basketball, baseball, cheerleading,

    Great for these types of students

    All students. Mostly students who like small campuses.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Ghost stories.

    Bang for the buck

    Aquinas is a Catholic College. We have mass. Everyone is welcome to attend. I live in St.Joseph's hall and we have a haunted house in October for Halloween. It's awesome! I love the gym! It's open and spacious. Mass on wednesdays, saturdays, and sundays. Adoration. Prayer at 3pm at touch down Mary.

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends by surfing the web and watching movies. Sometimes we have movie nights or some special activity. We go to volleyball, basketball, and soccer games to watch. Also we go downtown to party at the clubs, movies, hockey game, and various other activities.

    Food and Dining

    We have the Wege, Moose Cafe, and the Corner Cafe. I go to the Corner Cafe because I don't want to eat to much at Wege.

    Dorm Life

    I have a great roommate. It's important to contact your roommate before to get to know them and make any arrangements. Don't buy toilet paper for your dorms. It's free! Go up to the front desk and ask.

    Academic Rigor

    Honesty and working hard on everything you do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard on your grades.

    In three sentences

    Aquinas is a beautiful open college. The students and faculty are friendly and helpful. We care about the environment.

  • 12/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have only had a few incidents on campus, but our security does thier best to keep people safe. Don't want to walk alone at night? Give them a call and they will escort you.

    Greek Life

    We don't have sororities or anything but that's no big deal.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are always clubs to join and activites happening. If there's not something for you, it only takes a few people to create your own club.

    Great for these types of students

    Aquinas is great for students who really want to find themselves.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I don't find anything unusual, they just like to keep things fun.

    Bang for the buck

    It is definitely worth what you are paying.

    What to do for fun

    There are always events going on throughout campus. Even if there isn't we are 5 minutes from downtown and not even a minute away from East Town. There is always something to do!

    Food and Dining

    I like eating in the cafeteria, but they don't always have something you want.

    Dorm Life

    I don't mind living in dorms, I just can't wait to apply to live in an apartment and be a part of the Living Learning Communities (LLC).

    Academic Rigor

    All the professors are great and very helpful. Everyone is very understanding here and it helps things be less stressful.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't worry about knowing your major right away. The advisers really help you decide what is right for you, and you will find yourself in the courses you're enrolled in.

    In three sentences

    I love Aquinas College. The people, the classes, the teachers, everything is great and I couldn't have asked for better. I would definitely recommend it for high school students back home.

  • 12/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They do a good job patrolling, providing escorts, and unlocking buildings. However, some of the officers go on a little power trip every now and then, though hopefully those officers are being phased out.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a large number of clubs and organizations. And if there isn't one you want to see, start it. I did. It's an easy process and they give you a couple hundred dollars to start out.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who are going to take an initiative to get involved, whether that's in the improv team, clubs or organizations, academics, or getting an internship.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Sustainability is a big part of the school. They have a Sustainable Business major, a Center for Sustainability, a Zero Waste Initiative, etc. Also, there are some great traditions such as Stomp during homecoming (ask around when you come if you like to party), the Spirit Rock, and other great events.

    Bang for the buck

    Depending on your financial position and academics coming out of high school, Aquinas can be much less expensive than state schools. However, each student's financial aid package is different. For me, I couldn't have received a better education for the price I paid.

    What to do for fun

    There are many fun activities sponsored by Campus Life, as well as many of the clubs and organizations on campus. These range from a drive in movie on Holmdene Lawn, to a hilarious comedian/ magician in the Wege Ballroom. Also, there are plenty of house parties off campus for those who drink as well as a great nightlife downtown and in Eastown (a 5 minute walk away).

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is alright. There is always something to eat, whether it's salad, pizza, pasta, or burgers. The main dishes are sometime hit or miss. However, the Corner Cafe and Moose Cafe are great options for when you don't want to eat at the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    The friends you make in the dorms many times turn into the friends you have for the rest of your time at Aquinas. The RAs do a good job at programming with different activities/ events throughout the year.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers will challenge you, especially if you show interest in the topic. However, there are many students that attend Aquinas who don't necessarily have the desire to be engaged and therefore take the attention of the teacher away from the students who are there to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Use the resources provided for you. This means talk with teachers after class, go to the Writing Center, and use their Career & Counseling services. All of these will help you succeed at Aquinas and get a job.

    In three sentences

    Aquinas College resides within a beautiful setting in the city of Grand Rapids. It is a great college, but (like most colleges) you need to seek out what you want. Overall, my educational experience has been fantastic!

  • 01/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 21 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety team at the school is awesome. They work around the clock to make sure that every student feels as safe as possible. They also provide a free service where they will pick you up from anywhere a mile or less from campus, no matter what time of day.

    Greek Life

    Unfortunately, there is no Greek life at Aquinas.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs and activities are awesome and there are so many to choose from. The only downside is that the school does not have a football team. There is a school about 5 minutes away that does have a team though, and many people choose to go to these games.

    Bang for the buck

    The school is expensive but do not let the initial price scare you off. The school gives out TONS of money for scholarships. Scholarships have actually cut the price nearly in half for me.

    What to do for fun

    As stated, the school puts on many fun activities throughout the year. There is actually something going on every night. The city of Grand Rapids is practically down the street which provides many opportunities at night. There are clubs, restaurants, and bars downtown for those who are old enough. There are also many lakes and parks nearby which provide much entertainment in the summer.

    Food and Dining

    While I enjoy the cafeteria food, many others complain that there are not enough options. We have a main cafeteria, a corner restaurant, and a cafe known as The Moose. There are many food places off of campus, but it would be nice if there was another food option on campus. The food options at night are limited, so many people get food delivered to the dorms.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life has proven to be the best experience for me at this school. Although the dorms for freshman are somewhat small compared to many other colleges, I have made friends with most people in the building. My floor hangs out together all of the time and we have become very close. We also have a lounge area on our floor that we decorate for every season and that people spend much time in. I absolutely love living in the dorm, and I am looking forward to moving into the on campus apartments next year.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor at Aquinas really does depend on the classes you take. The school offers a great honors program which requires you to take some challenging classes, but these have proven to be my favorite so far. The school also offers many fun electives which are not as rigorous as general education classes. While the classes can be challenging, the professors are always available to help when needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do the research to make sure a small, liberal arts college is for you. While this type of environment works for many, others do not find a smaller school appealing.

    In three sentences

    Aquinas offers a great learning environment on its campus; just outside the city of Grand Rapids, this enclosed, wooded area is simply beautiful. The professors are here to help and show great enthusiasm while teaching. Even though it is a smaller college, there are always fun activities being planned, such as concerts, sporting events, and speakers.

  • 02/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 22 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You always see Campus Safety everywhere you go! They are always willing to give you rides in golf carts or walk you place-to-place.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life at Aquinas.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am personally involved in BRAVO! (drama club), the environmental club, the writting club, and student council. There is always an opportunity to start your own club- I know there is a Zombie Apocalypse club and Polish Appreciation club on campus!

    Great for these types of students

    We really embrace individualism here at Aquinas! It is pretty much for anyone- there is a variation of different clubs on campus. Anything you are looking for you can find here, and we encourage the formation of new clubs as well.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Before Aquinas was a college, a prominant rich family lived in the Holmdene building. They were so prominant in fact that President Roosevelt stayed a night here! It is rumored to be one of the most haunted buildings in Michigan, so it is fun to go ghost-hunting!

    Bang for the buck

    I simply love this college! The people are extremely friendly and it is infectious to get involved in different clubs and events.

    What to do for fun

    Grand Rapids is a great area! Aquinas is great because it is in the city but it seems far enough away because we are surrounded by woods. For fun I personally enjoy going out to nightclubs, hitting up Art Prize, testing new restaurants, joining in on on-campus events, and thrift shopping.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is... edible most days. You will, without a doubt, grow tiresome of eating at the Wege Center. Orders are made fresh at The Corner Cafe, and that is a much better alternative than the cafeteria food at Wege.

    Dorm Life

    The Freshmen dorms are depressing, I am not going to lie! However Living Learning Community houses and apartments are available to upperclassmen, and those are extremely nice!

    Academic Rigor

    As long as you are willing to work hard, this school shouldn't be a problem for you! Professors notice if you put in effort, and they are always willing to help. Free tutoring is great as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't let the religious affliation scare you off! Aquinas is a very open-minded college and we encourage individualism. This college is great because of its size and you feel that home-like connection.

    In three sentences

    I absoutely love Aquinas College! It is a small school and you get the feeling of a close-knit family on campus here. All of the teachers that I have had have been great- they really care about their students!

  • 02/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 23 of 34

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    East town and the downtown area of Grand Rapids are so close, students should (if they have the time) visit here. On campus athletic options have changed with the newly constructed Sturrus Fitness Center.

    Food and Dining

    Gluten free, organic meals are seen with a high regularity.

    Dorm Life

    Aquinas recently upgraded some of their dorm room facilities.

    Academic Rigor

    4 stars.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tip 1 - Live on Campus, make friendships. Tip 2 - Seek out scholarships.

    In three sentences

    Centrally located between East Grand Rapids, East town, and Ottawa Hills lies the campus of Aquinas College. Rooted in Catholicism (Dominican), Aquinas College offers the traditional liberal arts approach towards higher education. With graduating classes smaller than most modern day high school graduating classes, its appeal is obvious to the student who enjoys the best parts of an urban social environment combined with a private school feel.

  • 03/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 24 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Non-existent

    Clubs and Activities

    many different clubs and opportunities to get involved around campus!

    Great for these types of students

    students looking for a small college with a close community

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    painting the spirit rock!

    What to do for fun

    great events for free around campus, very close to downtown grand rapids

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard

    In three sentences

    Aquinas college is very small. However this provides a close community. It has great teachers.

  • 04/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 25 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Sometimes they are overbearing.

    Great for these types of students

    Catholic and non-Catholic both. Teachers. Nurses. Business and political science majors. German program is awesome.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Spoon Lickers is a great ice cream shop with non-dairy options. Yesterdog has delicious food.

    What to do for fun

    There are students events, but not at night or during the weekends. ArtPrize in Grand Rapids is fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is not a strong Catholic school, and fairly free thinking for a religious school.

    In three sentences

    The professors are amazing and care, but the student life is a little dead, the administration is too controlling, and there is nothing going on for the weekends. They need visitor parking and better housing opportunities.

  • 06/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 26 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is amazing. The cooks are always trying to improve the menue for all the liking for the students.

    Dorm Life

    Aquinas college sets you up with people with simular interests. Other students are very respectful and easy going.

    Academic Rigor

    Aquinas college is challenging academically. Constantly using critical thinking skills, and improving your skills in your major. Professor willing to help you with any kind of problem.

  • 08/07/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 27 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The moose. It is a small Cafe that is full of fun things to do and events throughout the year.

    What to do for fun

    There is SO much to do for fun! With Grand Rapids right next door there is so many fun festivals and activities throughout town to do. Not to mention the athletics and clubs at AQ to join.

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students I would check out the campus! I think it will win you over.

    In three sentences

    In three sentences Aquinas College is exactly what I have been looking for in a college. Set in east town grand rapids it has a retro small town feeling and ten minutes away you have the great town of Grand Rapids. The campus is smaller and full of promise and exciting new people.

  • 01/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 28 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety are constantly walking around. They have individuals working all times of the day and night. If you need help with your car, they will help you. If you don't want to walk alone back to your dorm from across campus they will give you a ride back.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs here that everyone could find one that they're interested in.

    What to do for fun

    The best thing to do if find some friends to go off campus at have a movie night, etc.

    Food and Dining

    For myself, I don't very much like the food. It upsets my stomach everyday I eat there. It's quite expensive for the meal plan too.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life, I think, depends on the RA you have. I was in a bad situation at the beginning of the first semester and had moved to a different building. The RAs I have now are so much more interactive.

    Academic Rigor

    Some if the classes here for general education are super easy, and kind of annoying, but yo have to take them. Other classes are super hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a small school, so if that's what you like it's a good choice for you. If you don't, then it's probably not.

    In three sentences

    It's really is a great school. The professors are here to push you to do your best. The campus life is a little bit dead, especially on the weekends because people go home a lot.

  • 04/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 29 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life

    What to do for fun

    You can always go to downtown Grand Rapids, there are lots of museums and restaurants. Also there are a lot of great places for college students to hang out.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know what you want to achieve at college/know what you want to major in.

    In three sentences

    Aquinas is a close knit community. The professors and fellow students are great. I love it so far.

  • 05/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Aquinas College is inclusive. Yes, it is a Catholic college, but there is such a variety of students of different faiths, ethnicity, sexualities, personalities, interests, and so on. If you like community, nature, and peaceful atmosphere, Aquinas has all of that and more.

    Bang for the buck

    While it is expensive, I honestly feel like it is worth it. The classes are smaller, so your professors can get to know you better and you can easily get in touch with your professors. Also, it makes it easier to get in touch with your classmates because you do not have one hundred something other classmates in your class. The sense of community is not just outside the classroom.

    What to do for fun

    There are a hundred and one things you can do for fun. There is always some campus, club, promotional, or volunteer event on and off campus. Eastown is not a far walk and there are many shops and restaurants down there. You can feed the squirrels and even pet one if you are so inclined (I came close). Downtown Grand Rapids is not a far drive and there are a hundred and one things to do down there alone! Get your friends together and watch a movie, start a band, go plant hunting. It is up to you!

    Food and Dining

    Okay, Wege Cafeteria is not THE greatest home for great food, but it is not as horrible as people make it out to be. Sure, sometimes the variety is not has hoppin', but the people work hard all day, every day to feed the hungry college students. There is always a salad, pizza, and dessert bar as well as vegetarian options. There are many options. Also, the Corner Cafe has great food if you do not mind that almost everything is fried or grilled. There is a deli with a variety of sandwiches, salads, yogurts, etc. and lots o' snacks. The Moose Cafe is the place for coffees, quick sandwiches, salads, and evening delights. It has an amazing atmosphere that is overseen by the giant Moose head on the wall.

    Dorm Life

    I was lucky to live with a second family in my dorms. Granted, the dorms are old because it is an old school, but the people who you live with or by really determine life in the dorms. You do not need a whole floor of friends to call the dorm life good. If you have a handful of them nearby, you can hang out, study, and branch out to other dorms like many others do. There are nice apartments too, but they are generally occupied by upperclassman.

    Academic Rigor

    It is college. You are going to have to work for the desired good grades. College is late nights and long days of homework (with a few breaks every now and then), but it is not horrible or excruciatingly painful. It takes perseverance, patience, time, chocolate, and coffee.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not be afraid to ask for help. There are multiple people you can go to for help whether it be to professors for homework, advisers to talk about your classes and progress, resident assistants to talk about your living conditions, counselors to talk out your stress and worries, friends to talk about classes and homework, you name it. Seeking help does not make you weaker. It actually makes you stronger and then you can pass on what you learn to others who are in need of help. Try sticking to groups of people who are fun AND studious, that way you can still hang out, but you all understanding the importance of academics. Aquinas College cultivates this kind of active learning and is very accepting.

    In three sentences

    Aquinas College is the ideal second home for all students. Because of its small size, there is more of a familial or community-like feel to the college thanks to the resident assistants, professors, mentors, etc. All of this allows one to easily immerse themselves in the academics, extracurricular activities, and other on-campus events!

  • 05/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety does their best to continually support the school and keep everyone safe.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek Life at Aquinas.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a multitude of sports teams along with several different clubs of almost every kind.

    Great for these types of students

    Driven students who are looking for a rustic yet urban college.

    Bang for the buck

    Although the tuition is high, many scholarships are offered and financial aid is given to those who need it. In my opinion it is well worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    Exploring Downtown Grand Rapids is always a good time. Being only about two miles from campus it is just a short walk or run and is always a delight.

    Food and Dining

    From Wege Cafeteria to the Corner their are little options for food but they are both really good. In some cases it takes some time to adjust to the new food but overall you can't beat Wege.

    Dorm Life

    Very well kept dorms with a great view from every window no matter where you live. The rooms are cozy and everything is very clean when you move in.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on the courses you take the work load can be big, or rather small. All around Aquinas' teachers do their best to challenge the students to work hard and outside their comfort zones. It is challenging but very useful

    Tips for prospective students

    The transition from some high schools to college can be hard but because of the small class sizes and very friendly and helpful teachers and students, adjusting is very simple.

    In three sentences

    Aquinas College is a beautiful school with an all around inviting atmosphere. From the staff to the surroundings Aquinas has much to offer in terms of academic success and serenity. The multitude of trees makes it feel like a college in the woods but is only two miles from downtown Grand Rapids.

  • 07/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety doesn't really do much but give parking tickets and call 911 if something bad happens on campus.

    What to do for fun

    I love to longboard around campus for fun. The roads are so smooth and the perfect difficulty for my skill level. My friends and I also like to go to Yesterdog and the hookah lounge.

    Food and Dining

    Wege is the name of the cafateria. They always have an option for everyone, and if for some reason the main dish doesn't sound good, there is always the salad bar. My favorite part is the dessert counter!

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life I had was amazing my first year. But I was one of the only floors that was co-ed. Not saying that I wouldn't have liked to live on a floor with all girls, but we had such cool RA's and with the perfect mix of guys and girls my first year was a blast.

    Academic Rigor

    Aquinas has a fairly difficult curriculum, and professors expect a lot. You don't always get homework, but when you do it feels like all your classes pile it on at once.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure that you want to attend a small college where you know EVERYONE. Pick a good roommate if you can, and if you get stuck with a bad on, CHANGE IT! You'll be so much happier. Lastly, don't overload your first semester, get a feel of how it works here first, then pile on the classes!

    In three sentences

    Aquinas is small, but with a lot of big opportunities. The professors are so passionate about their teaching, I actually like to learn now. It has a great atmosphere and the campus is the most beatiful around.

  • 11/06/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    33 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    This college is definitely worth the money. Aquinas has a lot of aid to offer, and they are a great school. My sister got her pre-vet degree from Aquinas and went on to Cornell the next year!

    What to do for fun

    Down Town Grand Rapids is great, and so close to Campus!! Aquinas has everything to offer. It's a small campus right in the middle of a city with a great atmosphere.

    In three sentences

    Aquinas is a beautiful college with the best atmosphere I've seen. The people are wonderful, and the college is great about getting their students where they want to go. Aquinas really takes care of their students and is a wonderful place to be.

  • 03/17/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 34

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Though there are not many clubs on campus, any student is welcome to get involved in the ones that are! It's a great way to meet new people and to build a network both on and off campus.

    Great for these types of students

    The one's who value knowledge and that really want to come some where to get the most out of their education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is an improv group on campus and they're really popular. It's great to go see and it's something that everyone enjoys!

    Bang for the buck

    The on-campus coffee shop and eatery, The Moose and The Corner Cafe serve some great things, and they both have character. If you get the smallest meal plan, you'll get the most flex-cash - which means you can spend more at the two places mentioned. They're both great places to hang out with friends, to study, or to enjoy some down time.

    What to do for fun

    Downtown Grand Rapids is walking distance and there is something to do there almost every season! East Grand Rapids is such a great town with lots to do as well!

    Food and Dining

    There is only one cafeteria, but the food isn't too bad. They usually have a really good selection of healthy food. With the green push in the school, there are more and more organic and gluten-free choices. I actually really like it!

    Dorm Life

    Though the dorms are small, there really isn't a bad place to live on campus. The intimate setting makes for meeting new people but also gives you a chance to be on your own.

    Academic Rigor

    I felt very prepared coming here. Professors are really good about explaining things to those who weren't, and the classes that are required for freshman are tailored for the Aquinas Freshman so that they can get the most out of the academic experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to look around at your options for getting involved, meeting new people, and getting to know your advisors, professors, or even your tour guides! If you end up here, they'll help you with whatever you might need in the future.

    In three sentences

    Aquinas is such a great place! There are so many caring people and professors thorughout the community. It's so amazing to be in such a beautiful environment with so many opportunities around you.