Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Aquinas College - Tennessee Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 04/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    As a very small school we know everyone. People leave bags and computers in the lounge or in hallways and they are never bothered. We do have security but it's incredibly safe.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are looking for an older population or want a degree in nursing, education or religion Aquinas is great. Most of the students are between 23-50 years old, not the typical 18-22.

    Bang for the buck

    The nursing program is expensive but worth the education.

    What to do for fun

    Aquinas is slowly getting more activities but most options come from the Catholic programing or small students groups.

    Food and Dining

    There is no cafeteria on site. We have a cafe that is super cheep but we can walk to the hospital cafeteria next door and many students actually go and study there.

    Dorm Life

    There are currently only a handful of students who live in Aquinas dorms in a neighboring facility. They are working to expand campus housing but it is really a commuter school.

    Academic Rigor

    The nursing programs are competitive and very difficult but we have a fantastic reputation with surrounding hospitals and a very high NCLEX pass rate.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know that Aquinas doesn't have the traditional college atmosphere. This is a very small school so extra-curricular options and elective classes are very limited but the nursing programs, education programs and religion degrees are worth it if that is what you are looking for. And t is a Catholic school so there is mass available daily.

    In three sentences

    Aquinas is great for older student and non-traditional students. It is starting to get a much broader first-time student population as well. Aquinas is not well known but it has an amazing reputation in nursing and I know my degree will go far.

  • 06/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have 24 hour campus security that really is great especially when you need somebody to help with car problems or directions. It is like having an uncle on campus.

    Greek Life

    Aquinas is starting that this year FA 2012

    Clubs and Activities

    Business club is a strong very active group. The activites provided by student affairs is fun and interesting.

    Great for these types of students

    Faith based such as christians, catholics and followers of God.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The student affairs is always having a celebration for regular holidays and celebrating many unique accomplishments in the surrounding community.

    Bang for the buck

    The value is with the professors and the resources available to each student.

    What to do for fun

    There are intramural sports, clubs, and social activities to keep what spare time you have entertained.

    Food and Dining

    The food available is very healthy and the surrounding areas have many choices as well.

    Dorm Life

    The student dorms are starting this next school year FA 2012 and hoping that will encourage many to attend a faith based college and apply those values in everyday life while learning.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are very difficult at times but the extra help provided through services at school allows one to overcome those challenges.

    Tips for prospective students

    One tip is to have a self known idea of who you want to be and then become it with the ones that are surrounding you in your life. Aquinas College is a school that nurtures ones ideas and enjoys their students as people rather than a student.

    In three sentences

    Attending Aquinas College has just been a blessing in my life. Learning is such a fulfilling experience but the best part is having a personal relationship with God and knowing that the staff and students care about the same values as I do. The values of integrity, truth and faith.

  • 06/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Extremely safe!!!

    Great for these types of students

    Catholics and students who like a lot of attention from professors.

    Bang for the buck

    Aquinas isn't a cheap college but the small class sizes, friendly students, and safety on the campus are well worth the price paid for tuition!

    What to do for fun

    Downtown Nashville is always fun.

    Food and Dining

    No cafeteria

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm.

    Tips for prospective students

    Meet with your advisor. He/she is there to help you with your educational goals.

    In three sentences

    Aquinas is a great college! I love the small class sizes and the students are friendly. This is a very safe school.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    4 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is safe as security guards are always present. Student and Instructor badges are to be worn at all times.

    Greek Life

    none

    Great for these types of students

    all types

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    If you are Catholic you can go to Mass everyday and confession once a week.

    Bang for the buck

    I have attended Aquinas College in Nashville for 2 degrees and enjoyed my experience so much, that I am wanting to attend again in the Fall 2012 for my Masters degree.

    What to do for fun

    You can join sports available on campus or you can join groups and go out and assist others in the community

    Food and Dining

    Monday through Friday in the Carriage House, you will be able to get cheap yet good food.

    Dorm Life

    At the current time there are no dorms available on campus

    Academic Rigor

    You will be given many academic challenges and at the same time, these challenges make working and learning possible

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep an open mind even if your not Catholic. Take advantage of all the learning opportunities that you will be given.

    In three sentences

    Relatively small, faith based, and committed to helping students accomplish their dreams. You will leave here and feel great about your educational experience.

  • 08/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe, college in a great neighborhood.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    Business club and a nursing club.

    Great for these types of students

    Everyone, they don't push catholicism on people who are not Catholics

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It is a Catholic school

    What to do for fun

    They have many different activities and games

    Dorm Life

    None

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early and explore all of their financial aid and scholarship programs.

    In three sentences

    A great small college, that offers highly respected programs in business and nursing. Professors are friendly and always there to help.

  • 08/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 8

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    What fun? It's nursing school! :-)

    Academic Rigor

    It's tough! Grab a buddy support system and get through it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved in a steady study group to help keep you on track and up-to-date on study topics and deadlines.

    In three sentences

    I am so proud to be a student of one of Nashville, TN's best nursing RN programs! We have the most clinical hospital hours, fantastic instructors, and an amazing class of students. At Aquinas College, the motto is - no one gets left behind, everyone is encouraged to join a study group, ask for help, ask another if they need help.

  • 06/01/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It is a catholic school so if you are uncomfortable praying before every class and being taught by nuns... this isn't for you. BUT I LOVE IT!

    Food and Dining

    I haven't had any of the food yet.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus

    Tips for prospective students

    My tips would be to study hard for the program you want. If you don't get in the first time, try again. If you love small campuses, you will love Aquinas.

    In three sentences

    So far, everyone seems really nice and helpful. I love that the campus is small and easy to find your way around. I believe I have a bright future with Aquinas College.

  • 11/11/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 8

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None

    Food and Dining

    Never had it.

    Dorm Life

    Not a lot of rooms, but they are nice.

    Academic Rigor

    Their nursing program is amazing!

    In three sentences

    I love it here. It is a very close knit school, and small, so if you don't like that then this school isn't for you.