Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Arizona Christian University (Southwestern) Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 10/12/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The campus is small so you can walk to every class, and the landscaping is beautiful! Walking to class is relaxing, especially since in Phoenix the weather stays beautiful and rarely gets cold. There are about 500 people so it almost feels like one big family. The dorms are new and the teaching is Bible-based. If you are looking for a Bible-based education, a beautiful campus, and a smiling friend everywhere you look, Southwestern is for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are thinking about applying here, visit and go to a couple classes if you can. My visit is what sealed the deal for me. Once I saw where I would be living, I couldn't believe it. I visited a class and got to see the teaching styles of a few of the professors. There are a few times a year where you can come to an experience and stay in the dorms and go to classes. I highly recommend it. I also recommend getting good grades and working hard now, because it will pay off later in scholarships. Also, if you are interested in music or sports or any extra-curricular activity, check and see if there are scholarships for it! You can audition into the music program or try out for a team during an experience.

    Bang for the buck

    Southwestern College is inexpensive for a private school. There are also many scholarship opportunities. So even though it is definitely worth the full price, many people end up getting scholarships. You definitely get what you pay for here. The campus is awesome, the professors are amazing, and the students are some of the nicest people you will ever meet.

    Am enjoying being here

    I have never been to a more friendly place. Everyone is so nice! I instantly made lots of friends because everyone is so open and accepting. I haven't felt judged or unwanted once since I have been here. There are lots of activities constantly to be a part of and plenty of opportunities to be involved in. With more sports teams being added every year, there is always something to do. In addition to that, there are leagues within the school that are a blast all throughout the year. So far my favorite has been bowling, but I am really looking forward to sand volleyball in the spring. There is a coffee shop on the third floor of the residence hall and it's such a fun place to be. There are always people hanging out there and in the lobby right by it. There are also various concerts, plays, and recitals to go to throughout the year. Most people have a great relationship with their roommates and many of them have become best friends already.

    Am learning a lot

    I never feel like I am wasting my time by going to classes. I look forward to school for the first time in my life! All of the professors are very intelligent and willing to answer any questions, and if they don't have the answer, they will find it. They are helpful and they genuinely care about their students. They are passionate about what they are teaching and they know what they are talking about.

  • 05/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Southwestern is great for people who are looking to learn more about God and the Bible while pursuing degrees in business, music, medical science, political science, communications, education, behavioral studies, and theology.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have a trusted individual and friend as a mentor who can constantly guide you in your spiritual walk. Be challenged and challenge others to draw closer to God, in order to push forward the community and unity of students on the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    The price to attend Arizona Christian University is much lower than most Christian colleges and universities in the United States. The housing on campus is well-organized and fit for the comfort of the students. The quality of education is also worth the cost of attending the school. The food in the cafeteria is of decent quality and is always prepared clean and tidy. Included in the fees are activity fees, which allow the student to attend any of the sporting events, banquets, and other events planned out by Student Leadership. Overall, the price is worth paying for if you are looking to establish longtime relationships and grow deeper in your walk with God as a college student.

    Am enjoying being here

    Students will have plenty of opportunities to be involved on campus and to fellowship. Inside the three-story dorms on the campus, each floor has a separate bible study that will engage students who participate. Student leadership also organizes various events such as intra murals, steak dinners, banquets, etc. that will allow for the students to grow closer and enjoy the college experience with each other.

    Am learning a lot

    Students attending the college will learn so much about the Bible. Each student is required to take at least 18 hours of Bible courses. The teachers at the college are also willing to be of assistance to the students outside the classroom, whether they need help with assignments or simply need prayer.

  • 01/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    completely safe, secure, and without incident.

    Greek Life

    it is just starting but already well in the works.

    Clubs and Activities

    if there isn't already one you can always start one for whatever subject you'd like to.

    Great for these types of students

    any type of student whether christian or not.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    we always start off the year by traveling in a bus to a restaurant with all of the students who attend the school showing up wearing ties just so they can be cut in half due to the restaurants strict no formal dressing policy. there are also always fun activities to partake of such as visiting jumpstreet!

    Bang for the buck

    this is the most genuine and worthwhile christian colleges i have ever even looked into let alone attended. the staff really practices what they preach, and so do the staff and everybody involved strive for academic as well as christian-living excellence. anybody working there will bend over backwards to help you out and always goes above and beyond. they are working on building themselves up to be a prestigious university and are already well into the process of doing so.

    What to do for fun

    various clubs to be a part of, as well as developing sororities, sports activities, fun trips, etc...

    Food and Dining

    the food could use improvement occasionally but overall is great and the dessert is fantastic!

    Dorm Life

    such a fun and unforgettable experience! a must for incoming students.

    Academic Rigor

    challenging but rewarding.

    Tips for prospective students

    give the school and yourself a chance to have a once in a lifetime experience by attending.

    In three sentences

    it is a constantly growing and improving university that has captured the hearts of many as well as trained (and continues to train) many to be spiritually active and grow up well-balance spiritually, emotionally, and even sometimes physically.

  • 04/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is very safe, they have worked very hard to make it a secure campus.

    What to do for fun

    We all hang out together in the dorm a lot. Its really good to get out of your comfort zone and meet new people.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take fun courses, but remember the boring ones are important and don't procrastinate!

    In three sentences

    ACU is a very encouraging place full of wonderful people. My professors are always helpful and insightful. I feel very blessed to have found this school.

  • 05/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is always patrolling and always available. Little to no crime on our campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who is desiring to grow in a relationship with Christ and honor God in their career

    Bang for the buck

    I would not choose to go back and be a part of any other college. ACU has shaped an amazing part of my life and I have no regrets. I am looking forward to the time I still have to be a part of ACU.

    What to do for fun

    There are activities on campus every week. We often have events such as bowling or movie nights off campus.

    Food and Dining

    The dining hall is computer/wifi accessable and there ar great options including a vegetarian option, open grill, and salad bar.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms have been recently remodeled and are in excellent condition. Resident director is very open to hearing from students and helping to improve the dorm experience.

    Academic Rigor

    Teacher are excellent and pressing students to think critically and excel in all areas of academics.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to be fully committed to virtue and morals in addition to academic performance.

    In three sentences

    Phenomenal teacher interaction with students. Excellent academic courses. ACU is a great environment and community to be a part of.

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Expensive but cheaper than other private Christian Colleges and this one is actually focused on God.

    What to do for fun

    There are always on campus activities and inter murals. everyone's so involved so it really fun!

    Food and Dining

    Food is cheap and beautifully good

    Dorm Life

    The Dorms are ginormous. Literally like apartments but bigger, Four to a dorm but theses Two bedrooms an equally large living room, a kitchen , and full sized bathroom.

    Academic Rigor

    Very thought provoking but if you pay attention and share the passion you will do great!

    Tips for prospective students

    Mingle and don't be afraid everyone is so friendly and loving. don't be shy to share your thoughts.

    In three sentences

    Arizona University is a fabulous place for passionate Christ loving believers to get prepared to transfer Culture with Truth and make an impact for Christ in our world.

  • 07/14/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    7 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Most of the time, my friends and I for fun we would watch movies, go watch the rain, go for walks down the street, take random rides around town, or just talk. that was when there was nothing going on but when there was stuff planned by the school there were parties, festivals, bowling, and other random fun.

    Food and Dining

    to be honest the food there is not the best, but the workers there try and do what they can. the area with the food is nice the dining hall is almost like a second home to most of the schools students. there are people in and out of there all the time, most of the time if the library is closed the students that do not live on campus do their homework or study in the dining hall, which is a welcome change to the quietness of the day.

    Dorm Life

    At A.C.U the dorm life is never boring, there is always something to do. there are three floors, on every floor there is something going on week from week. The first floor there is a piano, the second floor there is a t.v with very comfy sofas, as well as pool tables and ping pong tables, and on the third floor there is a coffee shop and lots of sofas, as well as a beautiful balcony that looks out for miles over the houses and the bottom of the mountains. That is on the outside of the rooms, on the insides rooms it is just like having a apartment, there is so much room.

    Academic Rigor

    Arizona Christian University has one of the highest academic studies program, they really take pride in what they do. Not only do they put the students first but they also, think and keep in mind the athletes that may have trouble with a certain subject.

    Tips for prospective students

    The only tip that i would have for in coming students is, do not worry about things around you, the people there are very sweet, and caring. also do not stay by yourself make friends stay active. The last thing, find what your good at and go for it.

    In three sentences

    It is hard to rate A.C.U in just three sentences, there is so much more to say. Arizona Christian University is a college that everyone should look up, yes it is pretty expensive but it is worth every penny.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    One thing that resonates with me was a conversation I had with my pops one day on the way home from school. I was expressing my doubts whether I should continue my studies here since the school did not offer many career options. His response was something along these lines: The school may not necessarily provide a means to make a living, but it will definitely teach you HOW to live. My walk with God has grown and improved since I enrolled here.

    What to do for fun

    There is a shopping mall no more than two miles. I love to shop. There are also many convenient and affordable restaurants close to the university. Sport events at school is also fun to engage in.

    Food and Dining

    I have eaten like for times in the dining hall. The last semester I was here, the food seemed to improve. I love days when they give cookies!

    Dorm Life

    Although I do not live on campus, I have gotten the opportunity to spend some nights in the dorms. Some girls could get their own privacy if desired. During the days, the dorm rooms are empty.

    Academic Rigor

    General classes are engaging and fun. As for me, I enjoy the Bible classes much more than those general classes. I feel truly challenged and pushes me to think beyond the norm.

    Tips for prospective students

    Never give up. There will be times when the student will want to quit and drop out. Just remember, however, there is a reason you are there.

    In three sentences

    Arizona Christian offers more than six degrees and is considered a higher learning institution. Professors truly care and pray over the students. Not only are students academically challenged, but they are encouraged to dig deeper in God's Word.

  • 08/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Never felt at risk at any time yet, and don't expect too. Just got a security chief who has a huge background in police and detective work, huge advances here.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Leadership takes the groups seriously, and activities are planned regularly.

    Great for these types of students

    Seeking God and an Education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Smaller campus, nothing special or undiscovered to speak of, in fact a tradition is yet to be carried forward.

    Bang for the buck

    You go to college for a degree and to find where you want to go. This will get you both with awesome support.

    What to do for fun

    Events and Groups keep me busy, but for more action you'd have to leave campus. You can be as busy as you want to, or spend free time in your own way.

    Food and Dining

    On campus cafeteria is alright, and reasonably priced. Plenty of eating options nearby too.

    Dorm Life

    Affordable, and great A/C! Room checks and security help keeps things safe and manageable. Party life won't be happening on campus here.

    Academic Rigor

    They push you to strive for more, and give you all the help and tools you need to do so. Professors are there to see you succeed and there is help when you need it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring those resumes'! Volunteer work, church work, awana, work history, lots can help you out in financial aid. You never know about that ambiguous scholarship that you qualify for.

    In three sentences

    Professors focused on seeing you succeed. Class size allows true collaboration. Friendly faces and attitudes.

  • 09/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    5 stars, every one looks out for each other

    Clubs and Activities

    5 stars

    Great for these types of students

    Religion, sports oriented, really any one

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I really don't believe there are any out of the ordinary on out campus

    Bang for the buck

    4 stars, it is not government funded

    What to do for fun

    I play softball for the school

    Food and Dining

    5 stars

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus. But everyone I talk to loves it.

    Academic Rigor

    5 stars

    Tips for prospective students

    Be well organized, and prepared with all the proper paper needed, it will make things go so much more easier.

    In three sentences

    Arizona Christian University has been one of the best experiences I have encountered with colleges. The office employees are very helpful. The professors make classes enjoyable, and educating at the same time.

  • 01/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Our campus is super safe and everything is close. It takes less than five minutes for me to walk from my dorm to the campus. There is always security around.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have a ton of great clubs, and they are always welcoming to having new members.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for anyone who is open minded and wants to not only educate themselves on a college level but also religiously.

    What to do for fun

    My life is pretty much tennis, school, and hanging out with my roommates. I am so busy with tennis that it takes up a majority of my day, but there are plenty of fun stuff to do around ACU.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, but the hours to eat aren't that great and can cause some problems if you are an athlete or have classes at the wrong times.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is great! The dorms are really like mini apartments and everyone is really nice so you don't have to worry about anyone stealing your stuff. Girls and guys are separated.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers challenge you, but if you are focused and ask the teachers questions when needed than the classes aren't too hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    All students going into college should know that it will be harder than high school and your grades are more important. Study hard, stay focused, but also have fun and make new friends.

    In three sentences

    The school has a small population, but all the students and staff are so friendly. The teachers here really want you to be successful in life and in their class. It is a great school and I am so glad to be going here!

  • 04/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Newsletters and Virtual Chapel experiences.

    Great for these types of students

    Virtual University experience great for Committed Christians as well as those seeking a holistic experience in the course of their education.

    What to do for fun

    Get Involved virtually with fellow Students the world over through the school Online Social media.

    Tips for prospective students

    Grand Canyon Online University is one place where your individuality of faith is respected. There is a listening and caring person on the other side of either the phone or computer willing to help you succeed.

    In three sentences

    Online Study at Grand Canyon University is a very fulfilling experience in itself. The online Discussion Forums allow your individuality as well as help you embrace diversity. Lecturers and school faculty as a whole are open to meet your individual online needs .

  • 07/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone looking for a school where you won't feel lost in the crowd, this is the school for you. Small town feel in the major Phoenix metropolitan area.

    Bang for the buck

    Not only are you getting a great education, but you're also receiving a great student life experience. The small size means a closer learning experience with instructors. ACU is fun, educating, and caring.

    What to do for fun

    Plenty to do on campus: fun in the dorms, sports in the Student Activity Center, or chilling with some coffee at the Phoenix Shop. With the Paradise Valley mall right down the road, Dutch Bros close by, and may other shopping and dinning options, you will never say there is nothing to do.

    Dorm Life

    Students are great! Rooms are spacious. And the energy level is high. Great place to socialize, study, or just relax.

    Academic Rigor

    Some of your classes may be tough, but you learn so much from them. They will truly prepare you for your future professionally, personally, and spiritually. The academic standards are set high here at Arizona Christian University, but that's why we attend college, right? To be challenged and prepared for life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get on campus, get involved. Soak up as much as you can from your instructors. Find a mentor on campus and just learn as much as you can from their past experiences.

    In three sentences

    Arizona Christian University is a great college. The students are warm and welcoming, and the staff truly cares about your success academically and personally. It's a great place for fun and learning.

  • 10/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    My first day of an education class at Arizona Christian University, the enthusiastic professor began explaining how a P90X move can be applied to teaching children. He went on to describe that psychology is the â??power behind the educationâ??. He continued to show this â??power behind the educationâ?? so much that I still remember it today. I share this story with you as just one example of how the education professors as ACU inspire their students to develop a passion for teaching that will last for decades.

    Food and Dining

    The small cafeteria can kind kitchen staff make the meals at ACU better than meals at home. The cooks care about the customers and often take requests from the students for meals. Birthdays are also celebrated as the kitchen staff loves to be involved in the students lives.

    Dorm Life

    The small classes at ACU allow for that unity and building each other up. The relationships build in the classroom create a community that is involved in the lives of each other. However, the real community takes place in the dorms. The majority of the dorm rooms are designed as suites, thus placing 5 or 6 students in one living area with several bedrooms and a kitchen as well as a bathroom. This setup is much like a family home and the connections between the roommates soon become as close as family.

    Academic Rigor

    To begin, the education classes are small. Small classes create a community within the students. At the moment I am in a class of 9 students who are learning and growing together. We praise and encourage each other as we get to see our fellow classmates become more comfortable in sharing their thoughts and passions. In addition, the professors care about the success of the students. Attendee is always taken and the professors and enjoy hearing about the lives of their students. This relationship allows for the students to put forth their best to learn. The professors are able to individually challenge their students because they know where the student is academically. Learning styles are catered to and creative projects are assigned. Academics at ACU are challenging but intrinsically motivating to develop a lasting and passionate education.

    In three sentences

    Arizona Christian University does a great job at building individual confidence. The ways the classes are set up allows for realistic practicing of with the career will ask of them. At ACU different personalities are accepted and used to establish a confidence needed to be passionate for any career. Through a community that allows for their classmates to feel free to be themselves and be passionate, great growth takes place.

  • 02/03/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 16

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I am sure they are a lot of activities to attend on campus and even off campus. There are pools and a gym to attend. There are many different clubs that you could attend on the specific night.

    Food and Dining

    Again I'm not currently going to school on campus, I am doing online classes but I do know they offer a really great cafeteria for the students living on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Im currently doing online classes so I wouldn't know exactly how their dorms are, but it would probably be like other college dorms. They probably are really nice and cozy as well.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes at Grand Canyon are really fun, and the teachers/professors will always be there to help you when you are in need of any help. There are many classes that you could take to obtain your degree.

    In three sentences

    Grand Canyon is one of the best colleges to attend, because they will take time out of their own time to help you with anything you may need. Even if you are only doing online classes the counselors and faculty will always be there if any help is needed. In my opinion I would recommend this school to anyone because one it is a Christian University but also because they are accredited and have reliable teachers and staff members.

  • 03/04/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    16 of 16

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    apply during Feb. the generally waive the application fee.

    In three sentences

    The people I talked to are very nice. There application proccess is a little differnt, you need to write two essays and have a spiritual life recomdation.