Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Arizona State University Online Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 06/13/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 1 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Online classes only, so it is very safe from the comfort of your own home!

    Greek Life

    Online only

    Clubs and Activities

    Online only

    Great for these types of students

    Great for working students

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Love it!

    Bang for the buck

    The degree that is earned does not state that all classes were done online which is a plus!!

    What to do for fun

    Only online classes

    Food and Dining

    Online classes only

    Dorm Life

    Online classes only, but may still stay at the dorms if you choose

    Academic Rigor

    Same classes as offered on campus in the comfort of your own home

    Tips for prospective students

    Make a good relationship with your counselors.

    In three sentences

    ASU online is a great program that ASU has come out with for the working students/parents/person. It's allows you to get a degree from a credited university while working or doing something else. The process is extremely easy and their guidance will walk thru every step in applying.

  • 03/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    the dining around tempe is excellent

    Academic Rigor

    online course are harder because the course has been condensed to eight weeks, therefore, it requires much more discipline and better study habits.

    Tips for prospective students

    online university courses require discipline and good study habits to achieve success, especially if you are taking more than one course at a time.

    In three sentences

    i am currently working full time, so the online courses are excellent because of their flexible schedule. the classes are shorter in duration, so you can complete you degree much faster than going to courses on campus. the course selection and availability is excellent, preventing you from having to wait long periods to take required classes.

  • 08/12/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Technical and academic oriented.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be yourself and study smart

  • 03/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Not on campus so I can't speak to this.

    Greek Life

    Not on campus so I can't speak to this.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm not on campus so can't speak to this, but there are some clubs you can still participate in online.

    Great for these types of students

    Excellent for non-traditional students, adults, those working that can only attend after work hours. Should be organized and able to manage your own workload. If you can keep yourself on track the load is very manageable.

    Bang for the buck

    Good quality education for a decent price.

    What to do for fun

    I don't live on campus (or in Arizona at all) so I don't have a review of this.

    Food and Dining

    I don't live on campus so have no review of this.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm so I have no review of this.

    Academic Rigor

    90% of my courses have been very rigorous. Generally a lot of reading, discussion boards, and papers. Quizzes vary depending on the type of course.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work with your advisor from the beginning to map out everything you need to complete in time! There are good offerings but not everything online is available to online students so you need to plan appropriately to design the degree you want.

    In three sentences

    I am a History major and the breadth and depth available online is impressive. I have received good instruction and good contact with faculty. Overall, the quality of instruction is very rigorous.

  • 02/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    various options to choose from on campus.

    Dorm Life

    unknown, i live off campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    apply for as many scholarships as possible. you must have good discipline skills in order to maintain good grades for online classes. make time for school even though you may work full time.

    In three sentences

    arizona state university online provides the convenience for single parents that work and still want to complete their degree. this program is a little more expensive however, you pay for convenience. arizona state university is a top-notch school!

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The online program is great for any circumstance. People with families or work full time or both!

    Bang for the buck

    Attending classes online saves you a huge amount! You don't have to factor in room and board at all. All you pay for is tuition for classes and some university fees. It is the same classes for a fraction of the price! Also, out of state students get the in state tuition price!

    Academic Rigor

    Since the online program is through the actual accredited Arizona State University, you get the same teachers and classes that the students who attend class on campus have.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of all the resources on ASU online and read everything before applying and after being accepted. Everything is laid out in a very easy to read and understand format.

    In three sentences

    Extremely friendly and helpful staff. Very budget friendly. Easy to use online program.

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The Tempe and Phoenix downtown area are known for many outdoor as well as indoor locations for fun.

    Food and Dining

    The area is full of wonderful great tasting restuarants.

    Dorm Life

    Do not live in the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    I have not started classes yet as school starts in late August.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are registering online make sure that you are constantly checking your emails. Online advisers are busy and answer questions at odd times of the day. In addition, be patient, you are not the only student emailing the advisor.

    In three sentences

    I have been in contact with my advisor online and via phone. In addition I have been to the campus and have found it to be user friendly. The staff were very helpful and eager to answer all my questions and concerns.

  • 06/10/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Being an online student, campus safety is beyond my line of sight.

    Greek Life

    Once fully indoctrinated into the school, I will join the National Honor Society. I am abstaining from doing so now to give myself time to fully acclimate to the university and my academic workload.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am actively involved in Future Teachers of America: an organization dedicated to the improvement of teaching and mentoring techniques. In addition, as a member of the honor roll section, I volunteer fifteen hours a month to various causes including, animal rescue, cancer research, feeding the homeless and clothing drives. Future Teachers of America is a great way to invest in yourself, the member community and those in need. I am also a member of the American Marketing Association. This club focuses on business process, promotional and marketing excellence. As a member, I actively engage in quorums where the hot topics of the day are discussed and the output eventually becomes a white paper. This organization has taught me a great deal which I hope to utilize once my post-secondary teaching career begins.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are dedicated to academia and embrace the rigor of a top-notch university, Arizona State may be a great fit. In addition to the academic challenge, you will find a staff, from academic advisers to financial aid, that are eager and responsive. In my opinion, ASU is an excellent learning experience.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    As an online student, I am not privy to traditions on the local campuses.

    Bang for the buck

    Based on the upfront research I have conducted, ASU is provides an elite qualty of education. US News & World Report placed the online program in the top fifteen in the nation: a most impressive statistic. In addition, the instructors are real subject matter experts that are dedicated to your success.

    What to do for fun

    A great outlet for students is the opportunity to collaborate with one another inside the online classroom environment. In addition, friendly banter is allowed and gives you the ability to really get to know your academic peers.

    Food and Dining

    I am an out-of-state student

    Dorm Life

    I am a full time online student

    Academic Rigor

    Unlike some other online educational institutions, Arizona State University challenges you through numerous media opportunities. Included are video lectures, heavy reading, online research, all in a compressed 7.5 week per session format. When beginning at Arizona State, I recommend taking the minimum number of mandated credits. This will help you understand how to manage time and organization most effectively.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. If you are transferring in, stay on top of the transcript requests you need from previous schools. I had difficulty with one institution that required three separate request before my transcripts were finally sent. 2. Get to know the staff. They are your lifeline when preparing to attend ASU. 3. Take care of processing as much of the required documentation early. Financial aid can take a few weeks, for example, to be processed.

    In three sentences

    The academic adviser's do an excellent job guiding you through the admissions process. The Financial Aid Department is very accessible for online students such as myself. The thorough degree of information provided on the website was one of the primary reasons I chose ASU.

  • 03/21/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Not an Arizona resident

    Food and Dining

    Not an Arizona resident

    Dorm Life

    Not a dorm resident

    Tips for prospective students

    If any desire to take online courses, do it! The staff is so helpful.

    In three sentences

    The faculty/staff at Arizona State University Online have been extremely helpful in all of their advice and guidance. I am excited to re-enroll in college because of how friendly the people have been. It should always be this easy to be involved with colleges.

  • 03/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Mill Ave.

    Food and Dining

    Mill Ave, near campus has fantastic dining.

    Dorm Life

    Cannot answer do not attend in person.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to check into the professors prior to taking course. Personally have had experiences with professors who are learning how to run an online course, which becomes difficult on clarity.

    In three sentences

    Potentially a great experience, with the right professors. Great for those who work and cannot attend school everyday. However, not applicable for the same financial aid assistance like the Barack Obama scholarship that students who attend in person are.

  • 05/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I work full time and take online classes am married and have 3 teenagers. Thankfully I have a pool available.

    Food and Dining

    I am online; I eat at home.

    Dorm Life

    No idea.

    Academic Rigor

    I was always very good in school work and I find the classes challenging. I have definitely had to work for my grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on top of deadlines and your schedule. Work ahead if you need to.

    In three sentences

    I have enjoyed finishing my degree online. The classes are challenging and informative. It is a good way to finish my degree while working full time.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who are serious about school, but like to let loose on the weekend!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Arizona State University Students show there school spirit my having tailgate parties before/after sporting events!

    What to do for fun

    Arizona State University Tempe is located just blocks away from Mill Avenue. Mill Avenue has several blocks of places to dine and shop! If you are over 21, you can enjoy a Friday or Saturday night on Mill Avenue at one of there very popular bars/clubs.

    Food and Dining

    Arizona State University has an assortment of popular food chains right on campus! Whether you want Starbucks, Pita Pit or Subway, ASU has a multitude of dining choices right on campus!

    Dorm Life

    The ASU Tempe campus is set in an excellent location. The dorms are all located within walking distance from the campus and a variety of places to shop & eat.

    Academic Rigor

    ASU Online and Arizona State University (Tempe Campus) offers a rigorous academic curriculum. The courses are designed to not only teach you the content, but also how to apply what you learned into practical, real-world situations.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attending school online can be a challenge; however, if you are disciplined and if you have the ability to pace yourself through completing your coursework, it is an excellent solution to obtaining a degree!

    In three sentences

    Whether you are attending ASU online or on campus Arizona State University offers you the entire college experience. ASU�¢����s online program is an excellent solution for students with a busy schedule. With a multitude of courses available online, you have the opportunity to customize your course schedule to suit your degree requirements and personal needs.

  • 07/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    ASU Online is EXPENSIVE, but once again, you are getting a great education and no amount of money can account for that!

    What to do for fun

    With online classes, you can schedule time to attend lessons and work on your homework whenever!

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining is great with ASU online. You go to your kitchen and eat whatever you want, whenever you want!

    Dorm Life

    Since I do not live in the dorms, I can't say!

    Academic Rigor

    ASU Online is extremely rigorous. The amount of reading each week is slightly insane, but the level of learning you take from it is unmatched by other online schools.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are prepared to work extremely hard. Arizona State University Online is not like other online schools; the standard and quality expected from students at ASU is much higher than any other online school I have attended.

    In three sentences

    Arizona State University online is a wonderful and interactive learning environment. All of the teachers have been extremely helpful and involved, not to mention exceptionally kind. I love Arizona State University Online and it has been the best decision in my college career I have made thus far.

  • 07/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Working adults, stay at home moms, disabled

    Academic Rigor

    Requires dedication

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk to counselors frequently. You have to be organized and budget time daily for school. Work

    In three sentences

    Convenient and flexible scheduling. World online instructors with easy student access. Online classes make returning to school possible.

  • 03/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    prices are going up for online classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    make sure you do not over load yourself.

    In three sentences

    asu online gives students the benefit of studying from home.

  • 07/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students who want to gain independence and go off to college. ASU will give you a top notch education, at a decent price!

    What to do for fun

    Mill Ave is down the street from the Tempe campus and is a lot of fun. The whole Tempe area is very fun and is a college-town.

    Academic Rigor

    I don't think ASU is a difficult university, although some classes can be more challenging than others.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay on track and manage your time. It is easy to get straight A's if you just focus and turn in the work!

    In three sentences

    I have attended ASU, online campus, for the past year and a half and I absolutely love it! It has been so convenient seeing as how I work full-time and have a family. The classes are challenging, and relate to my career. I love my program and I'd like to continue with the ASU MBA program online.

  • 08/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    ASU online is perfect for stay at home parents, those who work either full or part time, or anyone who wants to attend an amazing tier 1 college without having to pick up and move to Arizona.

    Bang for the buck

    This is a top 100, tier 1 university. The price is extremely affordable, they have so many things in place to really help students excel in their classes, and they provide you with a very high quality education.

    Food and Dining

    I am an online student so I cant speak to their food and dining.

    Dorm Life

    I am an online student, so I cant speak to dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    Make sure you are prepared to study, study, study. This is a top 100, tier 1 university, so you will be doing A LOT of work that requires study, research, and more study. But it's a rewarding and challenging experience that you will love.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are prepared to study, study, study. This is a top 100, tier 1 university, so you will be doing A LOT of work that requires study, research, and more study. But it's a rewarding and challenging experience that you will love.

    In three sentences

    ASU online has wonderful instructors, excellent programs, and tough but interesting classes. The quality of the work both provided and expected exceeded my expectations. The instructors are really there to help you and respond to any questions promptly.

  • 08/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    This isn't applicable in my case, but I've seen the dorms and they are nice.

    Academic Rigor

    The class I took was slightly challenging, but only because it was condensed into a six week course. So I just focused on each week at a time and this made everything go smoothly.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to communicate as much as possible with the Professor so you know what is going on. Don't stress about the workload and make a schedule for yourself so you can get the work done you need as you go through the course. Look at all of the information you need so that way, you're prepared and don't be afraid to ask questions.

    In three sentences

    So far, I have enjoyed ASU Online as it gives me flexibility in my schedule. Because of work, family, and where I live, going to Phoenix for classes is hard and ASU Online gives me everything I need in order to be a part of a classroom environment. I have really enjoyed the class I am taking and I am looking forward to the Fall.

  • 08/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The school seems to be safe because you can receive alerts via email or text of any fire, gas leaks, etc. Campus security patrols and you can call them at their number that is advertised on campus. Safety is a main concern and is controlled.

    Greek Life

    I don't know much about fraternities or sororities,but ASU has them.

    Clubs and Activities

    Intramural sports, politics, christian clubs, alumni membership, career expos,etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Online classes are great for students that are working and have families, or even busy lives.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The financial aid office is located in a weird spot on the Polytechnic campus of ASU. It is not what would be expected, since the cashier office and parking office are located off campus. Financial Aid is a building right of the library on campus, so that's weird.

    Bang for the buck

    Try to buy books used. If you are really lucky sites like Amazon or other students will sell text books cheap. If none of that works, rent your books. Renting saves money. Lastly, see if the books are at the library either in person or online texts.

    What to do for fun

    Fun things to do are usually provided on poster boards around campus whether it is sports,concerts, theatre. There is always something going on. There is also a college paper that lists events that are happening all over town.

    Food and Dining

    Food was great at ASU. It seems their burgers are less greasy than fast food, but meals can get expensive.

    Dorm Life

    I did not live on a dorm, so I really cannot elaborate on what it is like.

    Academic Rigor

    Most of the classes I have taken online have been moderate level difficulty. The main objective is to be organized, and attentive to due dates of assignments.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always check blackboard information online with the college of attendance for upcoming assignments and keep track by writing down dates in calendar. Don't be afraid to email teachers with questions on assignments online.

    In three sentences

    It's a great program for working students that do not have a lot of time to spend for in class instruction. I enjoyed taking classes at my own pace and having a calendar with due dates online. The one to one interaction with professors and students through email has been helpful with the classes provided online.

  • 08/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    It has been the perfect school and experience for me!!

    Tips for prospective students

    The tip I have for prospective students is to take advance of all the resource that Arizona State offers. In addition, learn to manage your time and you will be successful.

    In three sentences

    Arizona State University Online is a great school to attend. They make sure their students get all the necessary help they need. ASU online program is design for students to succeed...on scale of 1- 10 I give them an 11!!!

  • 09/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you don't think dorm life is for you, or you'd rather not spend the extra money, ASU Online is a really great alternative.

    What to do for fun

    Do whatever you normally do! As for meeting new people, there is an online app/community for students via Facebook, but it depends on if anybody lives near you.

    Food and Dining

    This is pretty much up to you... haha.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life! Everything is from home or wherever you chose to go online for your classes.

    Academic Rigor

    I have attended other universities before transferring to ASU Online and the rigor is the same level.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prepare to become very organized! Online classes are split into two sections per semester so it's a bit more fast paced than a traditional class. The benefit of this is getting more classes done in a semester than you'd be able to normally.

    In three sentences

    ASU Online is perfect for students of any age who work or travel constantly. You get a quality education as if you were attending a class in person. Everything is extremely flexible and you can access your classes anywhere!

  • 10/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Doesn't apply

    Dorm Life

    Doesn't apply

    In three sentences

    Easy and convenient. I work full time to make an income and need to go to school too. Everything can be done online and the instructors are awesome!

  • 10/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    I was a transfer from a college here in San Francisco, and there was almost a $300 drop in per unit tuition rates. It was a no brainer!

    Food and Dining

    I've never tasted anything from there.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on-campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Whether or not you decide to do the accelerated learning program (2 classes at 7.5 weeks twice a semester) or the Standard 4 class all semester is up to you. But you have to stay on top of it all because you're online and it's all up to you!

    Tips for prospective students

    You must stay motivated in order to be an online student. It's not for everyone, but for those who are able, the results are rewarding. It also requires the student to stay on top just a little more than in-class classes.

    In three sentences

    I absolutely believe that Arizona State University's Online program is unmatched anywhere in the country. I am thrilled with my current education possibilities!

  • 11/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to give enough time for the articulation process. It can take a couple of months.

    In three sentences

    Application process was easy enough and they are big on communication throughout the entire process. The teachers are great and understanding of different circumstances. This is the only online program I could find and only wish there were more like it available.

  • 11/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is always just around the corner. The campus police are able to answer calls at any point around campus within minutes. There are conveniently located emergency stations everywhere around campus that provide a convenient means of summoning emergency responders.

    Greek Life

    I am not certain.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are always upbeat events that are hosted by different clubs around the campus. There are a wide range of clubs that can be joined.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all types! Technology, Art, Business and many other students are all welcome and would feel at home in this community.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus hosts many university pride days and it's popular to go support the Sun Devil team at the Sun Devil Stadium downtown!

    Bang for the buck

    A very fun, upbeat campus!

    What to do for fun

    There are many options when it comes to ASU. The Phoenix area is a close metropolitan city surrounded by mountains. For those interested in the city, there are multiple options for large shopping, dining and entertainment centers. For the sportsman, there are the mountains which show off the desert beauty. If you don't like the desert, then pine forests are an hour and a half away.

    Food and Dining

    Lots of good food! ASU has many options when it comes to food and dining. There are usually many options as well.

    Dorm Life

    From what I have seen (which isn't much), dorm life seems pretty good. The dorms are generally conveniently located and have a number of options.

    Academic Rigor

    The class will probably be somewhat rigorous, but not extreme!

    Tips for prospective students

    Read the books! The readings and (sometimes) the video lectures will be your only means of learning. There is not much in-class, face-to-face time with the teacher that enables you to get questions resolved quickly. If you send an email, teachers will often answer back very quickly, but it does not take the place of conversing with the teacher. Keep in touch with the system to see all of the announcements!

    In three sentences

    This college is great for those who are trying to get a degree while working full time due to the flexible schedule and ease of access. Be prepared to put in a good deal of work and reading; teachers often have to make up for class times by inserting video, audio and power point lectures to supplement the chapters. Anyone who tries it will probably be on the computer for long periods, but overall it's a great way to go!

  • 11/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Online tuition and fees are commensurate with other online colleges and it cost the same for in or out of state students.

    Academic Rigor

    The shortened class meeting times make it more intense than attending on campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you plan on attending as online student suggest you plan on a minimum of 1 1/2 to 3 hours per day per class. Online classes meet for 7 1/2 weeks so it is a fairly intense schedule.

    In three sentences

    I am an online student working on my BA Political Science as an online student. High praise for student advisor, success coach and all that have assisted me with enrolling, financial aid, classes to take. Most of all I love all the choices available for different classes in my major.

  • 12/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Don't go out at night. There is a Police Hotline you can call, and they will walk with you to your car or wherever you need to go. They care for your safety!

    Greek Life

    Supposedly it is great, and when you ask for information they hunt you down... they WANT YOU IN GREEK LIFE!

    Clubs and Activities

    ASU West has tons... the Young Life club is awesome!

    Great for these types of students

    Fun, active students who plan on going to the games!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    PAINTING THE A ON A MOUNTAIN!!! That is in Tempe.

    Bang for the buck

    In the Education major, you are definitely getting what you pay for.

    What to do for fun

    There are TONS of clubs and Intramural sports... sign up to play, or just come to cheer them on!

    Food and Dining

    West Campus has gotten better over the year, and they are continuing to add on!

    Dorm Life

    I think it depends on what campus you live on and how much you are willing to pay.

    Academic Rigor

    My classes were difficult, but that is because I chose them. You can easily find out who the pushovers are where professors are concerned, but seriously it is not worth it. Challenge yourself and the good professors (in the hard classes) will be there for you!

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not bring your computer to class unless it is necessary (for an online lab, etc). They distract more than help. Write down your notes with a pencil and paper, then review them on the shuttle!

    In three sentences

    ASU has GREAT tech support. Their programs (specifically in Elementary, Secondary, Preschool and Special) are fantastic. Parking is not great, but when you go to such a large University, that is expected.

  • 12/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Online classes required you to keep on your toes and current with assignments as the semester is shoterm

    In three sentences

    Courses and curriculum is well written and interesting.

  • 01/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Online is great for full time workers an/or full time parents. I have three kids any I am still able to go to school full time. The flexibility of the online courses makes this possible.

    Bang for the buck

    Universities are defiantly more expensive than community colleges, but I enjoy the fact that the classes are challenging. The price is well worth the knowledge being obtained.

    Food and Dining

    Again I couldn't really honestly say because I am an online student.

    Dorm Life

    I gave it five stars because I am sure it is great. I am an online student and I live in CA so I really wouldn't be able to give an accurate rating.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging you defiantly need to stay on a scheduled or you will have a hard time keeping up and earning a good grade.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend doing a transfer program at a community college first. Doing so will save you thousands.

    In three sentences

    It is a great school. The online classes are challenging, but very convenient. The faculty all seem very qualified and not to one sided, which is good.

  • 03/17/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    30 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    I would tell students to plan time and schedule for everything on their calendar even though they may not be on campus participate with all the sundevils.

    In three sentences

    I would rate the online program as good. There online classes available every semester and the classes are easy to follow.

  • 04/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Just watch out for the bees.

    Clubs and Activities

    Many clubs to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    Online distance learners.

    Bang for the buck

    Good value.

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs.

    Food and Dining

    Can't taste it very well online.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in one.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic Rigor is at the perfect level.

    Tips for prospective students

    Succeed.

    In three sentences

    A fantastic school for students interested in any of its degree programs. High teacher quality and excellent opportunities abound for students. Modern online learning facilities make distance learning pleasant.

  • 04/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Since I'm learning from home, I eat here.

    Dorm Life

    Living at home in Sunny, California.

    Academic Rigor

    Extremely difficult if you slack off

    Tips for prospective students

    Online classes are not for the faint of heart, you MUST study and you MUST be disciplined.

    In three sentences

    ASUOnline is a wonderful school and the faculty and administration really looks after their students. I have been really impressed with the dedication and attention that they give their online students. Overall I have been extremely satisfied with ASUOnline and I'll tell anyone who is willing to listen.

  • 04/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 38

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I play soccer, and spend time with my son and husband.

    Food and Dining

    I don't attend school on campus I wouldn't know. However there's many places surrounding ASU that are good!

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in a dorm I live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Doing online classes is different, there has to be more focus but it's great because you go on your pace. You have to push yourself to excel because there's nobody reminding you of the due dates.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a great way to go to school if you don't have the time to go to campus classes.

  • 06/02/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They send emails about bees swarming and natural disasters/ unknown packages as if I am there right then! As stupid and annoying as it is, I guess it contributes to campus safety.

    Greek Life

    GYROS!

    Clubs and Activities

    Not in any and don't know if they are available to online students.

    Great for these types of students

    Those who can self-start and may be going through something and don't want a lot of interaction with people.

    Bang for the buck

    I hope when I graduate I can get a job that pays double what I'm paying in tuition.

    What to do for fun

    Organize, take notes, listen to music and eat while doing. I don't do many fun things because I have my own priorities to fulfill first.

    Food and Dining

    Can't really say because I'm not on an actual campus.

    Dorm Life

    I live with my dad and we have a pretty decent two bedroom apartment.

    Academic Rigor

    Going to school online is supposed to give you more free time to take care of your personal obligations. I have noticed that just because it's not a traditional brick and mortar school, does not mean that organization and using calendars and other tools to keep you organized is a must! The actual content of what is being studied is not terribly difficult after week one! Prepare to read ALOT!

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't expect an easy class. Be as prepared as possible in advance with school supplies, and raise hell if you have to to get all the information on ordering books AHEAD of time. Some professors are extremely forgiving, others are heartless. Prepare for battle.

    In three sentences

    It's administration seems incapacitated, however it's educators seem to have pretty impressive resume's. I feel it's internal systems would work better if it's workers had been trained better. The administration all seem lost and confused when you ask questions that are questions that they should be able to have a quick answer for and that told in whole.

  • 08/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    As far as what you get, for the dollar you spend... it's a fairly good value for the dollar. Especially in comparison to dealing with the applying the Cal State system. There was a year or more wait just to be able to be admitted to most campuses.

    Food and Dining

    As it's an online program and I do not go to Arizona from my home, It's pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    This does not apply to me, as it's fully online.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically, classes will vary according to the instructor. In one class I took, I was spending up to fifteen hours per week on studying. Including reading, reviews, practice tests, online journals and exams.

    Tips for prospective students

    Stay motivated when taking classes, as you do not want to fall behind. Classes move at a fast pace. Use the resources that are presented to you online and the staff. Counselors and other staff are in contact with you on a routine basis. They will present you with information, tools and strategies to help you succeed.

    In three sentences

    Arizona State University Online is an excellent alternative to traditional on-campus programs. It's integrity as an online educational institution is strong, as it is supported by Arizona State University. The instructors and staff at Arizona State seem to be dedicated to your success.

  • 10/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students that LOVE planners. You will fall behind if you do not use a planner!

    What to do for fun

    I wouldn't recommend it, but you can basically do whatever you want. I occasionally have the TV going in the background, check my Facebook, and eat meals during lectures or readings. Sometimes my friends are even over and being weirdos while I am in class.

    Food and Dining

    I can eat whenever and wherever I want!

    Dorm Life

    The best part: YOU CAN LIVE WHEREVER YOU WANT!

    Academic Rigor

    Studying and planning ahead are essential to success! These classes move fast and they will leave you in the dust without a passing grade if you don't pay attention!

    Tips for prospective students

    Schedule, schedule, schedule! If you fall behind even one day, the classes move so fast that you will find yourself struggling to keep up. Take thorough notes on readings, websites, lectures, and videos! Some professors use ExamGuard and you will be unable to view these things if the professor allows you to use notes. If they don't, then at least you had something to study from! Speaking of studying, STUDY! You do not have as many assignments as an in-person class, so you need to stay on top of your studying in order to make sure you earn the few points available to you!

    In three sentences

    I am grateful for technology! I do not have to worry about gas money or paying for parking at Tempe in order to receive the education I know I deserve! Arizona State University Online has been a great expereince!

  • 05/12/2014

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    37 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    If you're passionate about something, and wants to excel in your chosen profession, always take time to pursue higher education. It's all about time management and setting your priorities.

    In three sentences

    my pursuit for professional and personal growth were made possible, because of the hybrid format that ASU provides to its future students. Now I can work as a nurse and at the same time study for the DNP-Family Psychiatric Nurse Practitioner program.

  • 05/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 38

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Even as an online student I receive constant emails and texts updating me on campus issues and situations. That is very appreciated as a mom to an upcoming student.

    Clubs and Activities

    Online student but there are many things available for us too.

    Great for these types of students

    Online student

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Online student

    Bang for the buck

    As of right now, because I am still considered a non resident, it is pretty high.

    What to do for fun

    Online Student....but I spend my summer at Lake Havasu so there you go! Love AZ!

    Food and Dining

    Online studend....

    Dorm Life

    Online student.....

    Academic Rigor

    As an online student who has two kids and works a full time job...it is HARD but manageable!

    Tips for prospective students

    Ensure that you follow the tips, guidelines and timelines of all your required documents and everything will go smoothly.

    In three sentences

    This is the best school (out of many) that I have attended. Everyone, from admissions to the instructors are very knowledgeable and helpful with all of my needs and concerns. I would HIGHLY recommend this school to others (my kids plan on going in the next few years)!