Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Arizona Western College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/09/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 out of 7 people found this review useful. 1 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    AWC tends to have its doors open for any type of student. I have taken both the physical classes and online courses they have, using their WebAdvisor and BlackBoard. It makes taking classes and turning in your work very easy and removes a lot of stress.

    Tips for prospective students

    Start early. AWC has deadlines just like any other college, but they fill up remarkably quick. Don't get stuck waiting until the last minute, because the classes you want specifically will be filled! Unfortunately, like most things are, the books are very expensive - so don't forget to apply for Financial Aid!

    Bang for the buck

    Though AWC is one of the cheaper community colleges within Arizona, the price might still be a bit steep for the newcomer or someone out of residence. Be sure to look up their scholarships and any Financial Aid open to you.

    Am enjoying being here

    AWC allows for many different experiences. I have taken classes on the main campus in Yuma, and have also attended classes at the San Luis branch. Both campuses offer a range of people and learning experiences that fill up what you might miss just taking one of their online classes.

  • 10/12/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    AWC, I believe, is like any other community college. The prices all depend on the credits you take. The good thing is that you can save on books by buying them off other students for a lot cheaper.

    Am enjoying being here

    I enjoy attending AWC, because since this is my hometown I know a lot of the people here. I believe that this college has a great environment, and having a good environment makes a big difference in someones college experience.

    Am learning a lot

    I feel like I have learned a lot since I started attending AWC, because they have a wide variety of classes that are very interesting. They also have a math center and a writting center where you can get extra help. All of the tutors there are willing to help you out with whatever it is you need, and they make sure you comprehend the material before they let you do it on your own.

  • 03/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is at best at all time. AWC provides security all over campus for a better enviornment for students.

    Clubs and Activities

    AWC provides students with neat clubs and activities that help a student with success in thier classes.

    Great for these types of students

    AWC is great for any student trying to be successful in the future. Anyone with a educational plan.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    AWC has many fairs and parades that provide fun for the family and students. We can eat and children can ride rides.

    Bang for the buck

    AWC has a changing tuition every year. But it provides help for every student to achieve their educational plan.

    What to do for fun

    AWC has a pool room that welcomes students to stay and play. It has a good enviornment to be at and walk around.

    Food and Dining

    AWC provides very good food and dining. To all attending and living students.

    Dorm Life

    I have never lived dorm life, but it is a very reliable place to live at.

    Academic Rigor

    AWC provides every student the chance to create an educational plan. It helps you achieve your educational goal for a successful future. AWC helps students achieve their educational plan.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips for prospective students is to have an educational plan, to take good opportunities, and achieve their goals to be successful.

    In three sentences

    Arizona Western College is a great place to achieve your educational goal. It is a college with great opportunities for students. It can help you achieve your eductional plan to be very successful.

  • 01/06/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 4 people found this review useful. 4 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    a little bit

    Tips for prospective students

    study hardy what you whant to become

    Am enjoying being here

    i really dont enjoy being at awc

    Am learning a lot

    i learn in math 82

  • 05/09/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early, and talk to Financial Aid services-definitely get SCHOLARSHIPS.

    Bang for the buck

    It may be a little expensive maybe but with the scholarships, which they do provide, one can make it through.

    Did enjoy being here

    It is a great environment. People are very friendly, and one might end up talking to people one never expected to talk to. The Yuma campus is some what big yet small, but it is great.

    Did learn a lot

    Definitely. Although I only took a few classes, my English teachers were amazing and worked with all of us; I also took yoga, karate, theater and a fitness for life class-all of which I enjoyed very much. I learned lots of new moves and techniques; over all the instructors are great.

  • 02/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 69

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    eat.

    Tips for prospective students

    none.

    In three sentences

    great school. i love it. go your self and see.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 7 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    security mit not be visible but they are watching till broad day lights. very safe and quiet campus.

    Greek Life

    none.

    Clubs and Activities

    chess,arts,music,culinary,etc clubs filled with students just like you.

    Great for these types of students

    many clubs for any kind of student on campus. also game rooms and even ping pong really great.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the gym there are always games on wednesdays and mondays for some odd reason awc matadors go and support our athletes.

    Bang for the buck

    its not that big and the people are really nice and its easy to find your classes.

    What to do for fun

    there's not much i can say about fun but in yuma theres a lot of outdoor activities. studying is all you can do.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria is brand new with variety of foods and great staff they for sure make your day.

    Dorm Life

    it's not to shabby but dorms need improvement and the rooms are quite the best.

    Academic Rigor

    the professors are very linnet and modest depending on subject and times usually you get a good base of learning.

    Tips for prospective students

    go talk with the counselors and find out your academic plan. try not to show up late even thought the professors don't care it looks good. always try to do all work on time their is deadlines.

    In three sentences

    i think that awc has a lot to improve in academically and i feel they need to be more organized and structured either than it being like high school environment. either than that it's a good school for a.a degrees saves you money.

  • 03/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 8 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    they have emergency phones throughout the campus. campus is well lit and security is circulating throughout the campus frequently.

    Great for these types of students

    great for anyone looking to stretch their academic dollar. great for outdoor activities.

    Bang for the buck

    tuition is much less than universities and class sizes are much smaller, seems like a better deal to me!

    What to do for fun

    lots of events on campus. swimming, weight training, shooting pool, air hockey, close to shooting range and river.

    Food and Dining

    good prices and variety of food.

    Academic Rigor

    classes are difficult but not overwhelming.

    Tips for prospective students

    talk to a guidance counselor first thing. they can help you through the process and point you in the right direction.

    In three sentences

    i would rate it at 5/5 stars! it has small class sizes, knowledgeable professors, good variety of classes, friendly people and lots of extra curricular activities.

  • 03/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 9 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always campus security around.

    What to do for fun

    I see many fliers of activities there is to do for fun. So far I have done the salsa dancing I loved it!

    Food and Dining

    AWC has many choices when it comes to food, most importantly there is a Starbucks!

    In three sentences

    AWC is a small college and for that instructors have the time to help you with any questions you may have. Everyone is friendly and are willing to help all the time. Instructors don't want you to fail, they give a lot of chances and make life as easy as possible.

  • 04/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 10 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Low cost compared to universities, and get your general education.

    What to do for fun

    Yuma is a small town but the mall is decent, have the fun factory down the road. Many people travel into Mexico for the night clubs.

    Food and Dining

    Food is a little expensive for low quality but i guess there is a variety.

    Dorm Life

    Well i do not live in a dorm but heard its great.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are not really difficult but some of the teachers are not so great, have to take it upon yourself to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't get caught up in all the distractions, focus on school because i read the graduation rate of this school and is pretty low.

    In three sentences

    This is a small community college but with great atmosphere. There is only about 4000 students so there is not much traffic. Classes are not technically hard, but require some studying.

  • 04/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 11 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are security guards patrolling the parking lots and campus. The campus itself is far away from the city of Yuma.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are clubs such as Spanish, Student Government, Art, Drama and Music, to name a few.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for those who are in Yuma and are deciding whether higher education is something they want to pursue or not.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    the campus itself is not too large. It is very hard to get lost there after a couple of hours browsing around. There is a fountain at the center of the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    In State tuition is very inexpensive.

    What to do for fun

    Yuma has a lot of outdoor activities such as riding ATV in the dunes to jet skiing by Martinez Lake. For the young city slickers, San Diego and Phoenix are roughly three hours away from Yuma.

    Food and Dining

    A Cafeteria provides food such as meals or sandwiches. There is also a Starbucks nearby the Cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    There are dorms, but many students commute to the campus. It seems like the athletes occupy the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    As with any school, or anything in life, it can be considered as you get what you put in.

    Tips for prospective students

    General tips for students. Study at least 2 hours for every 1 credit hour. Keep your class syllabus in a folder and always go back through it every so often, this will give you a layout of how the entire class will be structured. Ask questions about things your unsure of, chances are someone else has the exact same question. Always submit work on time, missed work counts as zeros which affect your overall grade. Don't make excuses for missing classes or assignments, the professors have heard them all and excuses show your lack of responsibility.

    In three sentences

    Arizona Western College is a community college located in Yuma, Arizona with multiple locations in the surrounding areas. They have a variety of Majors which are transferable to the three state universities in Arizona. Arizona Western College provides the people of the, somewhat isolated, city of Yuma with a place to pursue higher education.

  • 05/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 2 people found this review useful. 12 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    For the most part I feel like the campus police do a good job, there are phones everywhere and they do presentations on safety and how to react during an emergency.

    Bang for the buck

    The credit hour prices keep going up, and I feel like it is due to the unnecessary additions to the school. For example, buildings with floor to ceiling windows and doors. Wow. Not needed.

    What to do for fun

    There isn't a whole lot to do in Yuma, much less campus. The school however does have job fairs, and family nights, and puts on shows in the theater.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria,or eatery, is awesome. Great selection, super nice staff, and good food. The area is open, with lots of windows, and usually very clean. Sometimes I stop and have lunch on days when I don't even have class. Very reasonably priced as well.

    Dorm Life

    At the end of the spring semester, a young guy got robbed by other students at knife point in his dorm room. This doesn't exactly shout great living conditions to me...

    Academic Rigor

    The level of students that go into this school is low, so in turn the school seems to lower its' standards to meet them instead of the opposite. I don't feel like this is any kind of a preparatory school for universities or the professional job market.

    Tips for prospective students

    Try to do all of the research regarding your degree yourself. The counseling department will tell you things that aren't true, like certain prerequisites that you don't really need, or will get frustrated at any questions that you have. They do not help at all.

    In three sentences

    The counseling department is worthless, and they do not care at all. The schools' website is always going down, and online classes become tough as a result. The teaching staff is impressive, and really take an interest in the students for the most part.

  • 05/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 69

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    What to do for fun? Arizona Western College has alot of activites for students who live on campus or not. The Department of Campus Life supports the College by providing , a variety of services, programs and activities designed to encourage growth and development in leadership, citizenship, collaboration and respect.

    Food and Dining

    Arizona Western College has a great food and dining service for students who live on campus or not. Students who live on campus experience by providing a dining program that offers high quality, nutritious and reasonably priced options with a commitment to excellent customer service.

    Dorm Life

    Arizona Western College has a great dorm campus. The dorm life is motivational experiences where the student learns to be on his or her own away from parents. At first they can get home sick, but once they get comfortable with there roommate, they get to meet new friends, and get to know their teachers well. It also teaches the students responsibilities while having fun and being successful.

    Academic Rigor

    the academic rigor is what is expected of the student who commits to the college life and learning. Arizona Western College has the combination of open-door admissions and student expectations, it is easy to appreciate the challenge of establishing and maintaining academic rigor.

    Tips for prospective students

    Arizona Western College has great tips for prospective students, it has great academic programs, such as academic counselors who can help you get what classed are recommended of the career you choose, Financial aide services, and much more. They can give you the help you need in order to succeed. The best thing is its cheaper than any other Universities.

    In three sentences

    Arizona Western College is one of the highest Community Colleges, known if Yuma Arizona.

  • 05/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel very safe at school, we have a full time cop on campus and there are call boxes throughout the parking lots. We also have a full time nurse, EMT's can be on site in approximately 10 mins, and the hospital is less than 20 minutes away, and this doesn't include all of the nursing students and their professors who are also on campus. I've never heard of any shootings, drug use, or other problems on campus.

    Greek Life

    There are no fraternities or sororities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several clubs around campus, and the school is frequently hosting job fairs and moral boosting activities.

    Great for these types of students

    The nursing program is very good, as are some other programs that they offer (haven't focused on them because I don't plan on taking them). This is a great school for any students, whether they wish to stop with an associates or plan on continuing on to a bachelors or higher.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Because I'm not a resident on campus, but instead live with my husband off campus, I'm not familiar with any unusual traditions or locations. The Starbucks located outside the bookstore is one of the few places I know of where people like to congregate.

    Bang for the buck

    While the school books are in my opinion very expensive, according to my husband that is common any place you go. I can't speak for the cost of the dorms, but the cost of tuition is very reasonable, and if your planning on continuing your education and getting a bachelors degree, then starting at AWC would be very worthwhile.

    What to do for fun

    There are several after school activities available on campus, to include the gym and a recreation room. Off campus, the town of Yuma is less than 10 miles away, and Phoenix and San Diego are both approximately 3 hours away. For those without a car (or to poor to spend a lot of gas money), there is also a transmit system that will take them out to town and back.

    Food and Dining

    I love the cafeteria. The food is well made, they change it up on a regular basis, and most of it is healthy. The food is relatively inexpensive, and its even cheaper if you put money on your AWC student card, which allows you to buy food without paying sales tax.

    Dorm Life

    I personally don't know, I live with my husband off campus, but from my few classmates who do live on campus, they claim that it is very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    There doesn't appear to any middle ground when it comes to academic rigor, some classes are incredibly easy (to me), where as others are incredibly difficult. Some of the difficulty with classes has to do with the material, the rest is due to the teachers; not even the best teachers can make truly difficult material easy, but a brutal teacher can make an easy class difficult.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your planning on using AWC as a stepping stone for NAU or another college, insure that the classes you wish to take will actually transfer. Sign up for classes as quickly as you can when registration opens, and order books as early as possible due to a significant difference in the price of used versus new books. Be prepared to bring a sweater or light jacket to class, even in summer, because many of the classrooms are so cold its hard to focus.

    In three sentences

    AWC is a good community college for a variety of reasons, to include several good associate degrees and its close association with NAU. On a scale of 1 to 10, I would rate AWC as an 8, with its only major failing being a shortfall of science teachers. The campus is beautiful and well organized, and the school staff is very helpful in trying to support the students.

  • 06/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 15 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always someone out watching for your safety. The campus police is very helpful and always there when you need them As they say we are just a phone call away.

    What to do for fun

    I enjoy the sports at the school.

    Food and Dining

    Arizona Western College food and dining is good! Their dining hall is very clean, workers are nice and helpful.The

    Academic Rigor

    The academic program here are excellents. I enjoy the lectures that are giving to us as students.

    In three sentences

    Arizona Western is local and convent for what you are looking for in a community college. Everyone at AWC is wonderful with helping you with what you need for school, transferring to another school and has a great tutoring program. I rated Arizona Western College with four star,

  • 05/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 16 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I see the Campus police going around frequently. One thing's for sure- they certainly do make you feel safe.

    Bang for the buck

    For me, this college is not that expensive compared to others. My parents paid for this years tuition. As for the books and other supplies, I am hoping I can get some scholarships to help my pay for everything else I need.

    What to do for fun

    I like to walk around, especially through the other buildings. It's nice to discover the whole campus and meet new teachers and students along the way. The library was pretty cool too.

    Food and Dining

    I've only been to the Starbucks. It was really good and the employees are really nice and cheerful.

    Dorm Life

    I have seen the dorms, and they are nice and clean, but sometimes the students get a bit loud. However, I live at home and commute to school, so I wouldn't know what it is like to actually live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    So far I was told the basics of what I will learn in my classes. They cover a wide range of topics, and I find them interesting.

    In three sentences

    I really like how polite the faculty and the students act towards new freshmen. The staff is very supportive and helpful. I look forward to starting my Fall 2013 classes.

  • 07/26/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 17 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    In the afternoons it can get pretty warm, even in the fall. Around here we say we have two temperatures...Hot and hotter.

    Tips for prospective students

    Enroll early. The workers in the financial aid and enrollment departments like to give one piece of info at a time, either ask for all the info up front or be prepared to make several trips back and forth to the school. I was late to make the deadline and several of my friends missed the deadline due to not receiving detrimental information.

    Bang for the buck

    I've gotten financial aid and I don't really know how much it is, but I feel satisfied that I have gained knowledge, and I think that's worth the money.

    Am enjoying being here

    School life is pretty neat. I think the campus is beautiful underneath all the trees, it's much nicer than town.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors are thorough and because of the small class sizes they usually are there for help during office hours.

  • 01/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 18 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food is easy to come by and you have a large selection of food to feast upon. All you have to do to grab a bight is scan your I.D. card , if you're on financial aid, or dish out about five to seven dollars per meal.

    Academic Rigor

    Easy class schedule and extremely helpful professors make studying here a very pleasant experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    The one thing i would suggest to incoming student's would be to sign up for classes as early as possible because of small class size they tend to fill up very fast.

    In three sentences

    Arizona Western College is an amazingly diverse school. A perfect starting point for those students who are unsure about where or what to do after graduating High School. The staff and students are very friendly and will easily answer questions that anyone might have, whether it be about navigating through campus or any other type of question you might have.

  • 01/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 19 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    i dont live in the dorms so i really couldnt tell you but from what ive heard, they are pretty nice.

    Academic Rigor

    the teachers are pretty good about working with you.

    Tips for prospective students

    awc is what you make of it. it an be a good experience or it can be a bad one. it all depends on you. my suggestion is get to know the campus before the first day of class. it saves you the embarrassment and time.

  • 02/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 20 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    the campus police station is always a big help with lost and found. i had recovered my phone twice from there, and there are frequent patrol cars which helps us feel safer.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are plenty of clubs to join and sports.

    Great for these types of students

    any student is welcome.

    Bang for the buck

    due to awc being the only college around, its prices are very amicable, the only thing you could really consider an expense are the textbooks.

    What to do for fun

    awc has a gameroom with two televisions where anyone can bring their game console and play. the gameroom aslo includes billiard tables and ping pong. recently, bean bags have been placed for a more comfortable stay.

    Food and Dining

    the awc chefs are wonderful at what they create. their food is made fresh everyday, and has a variety for your tastes.

    Dorm Life

    i havent lived in the dorms yet but they do have options such as having a room mate or living alone. there are two beds, bathroom with shower, a microwave, and two desks wich help you create the home-like study environment.

    Academic Rigor

    encouragement from couselors help you exceed your goals.

    Tips for prospective students

    apply for the keys program at the student success center, they will provide plenty of individual help for your needs.

    In three sentences

    has many opportunieties and programs to help easch student according to their needs. their transfer sessions help any student acheive their goals to transfer to another college or university. the northern arizona university (nau) - yuma helps students who cannot relocate to the nau campus in flagstaff by having a campus at awc.

  • 06/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 69

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The school and its clubs offer many things to do around campus. There is a game room as well

    Food and Dining

    The food is very good I really liked it.

    Dorm Life

    Some of the dorms get a little loud at times but for the most part its nice.

    Academic Rigor

    If you know what your doing and follow what the teachers tell you these classes will be no problem for most.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend this college it has many great programs and is much more affordable then a university.

    In three sentences

    The teachers are very helpful and knowledgeable. The staff is also very good at answering your questions. The campus is well taken care of and has a nice feel to it.

  • 06/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Very inexpensive and you will get much more than your moneys worth.

    What to do for fun

    You could take a stroll down the river or water raft. Very nice cafes and dinning areas. The dunes and off roading will catch your eye if an adrenaline junkie.

    Food and Dining

    Very good and affordable.

    Dorm Life

    I was not living in dorms but from what I have heard its pretty relaxing and comfortable.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers will sure challenge you and it is up to you to really succeed and become a better student. These classes are at University level and the teachers expect your work to reflect it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you talk with a counselor and ask about teacher student communication. There is more than one teacher per subject make sure the one you want is the one most suitable towards your learning style.

    In three sentences

    Teachers are very helpful and enjoy researching new opportunities with their students. There is a great learning environment and most teachers show their enthusiasm towards their subject. You will find a wide range of opportunities to choose one when transferring in and out of AWC.

  • 07/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have the blue light system here. There are blue flashing poles everywhere in the campus incase of emergencies.

    Greek Life

    Greek life is not to big here sadly.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a huge variety of clubs to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    For people that want a small school and desire a lot of support in their studies.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Mexican fo0d is big here!

    Bang for the buck

    It is very affordable. It is around 30 dollars for every credited hour. My fafsa covered all the costs and I got some extra left over!

    What to do for fun

    Clubs! They are big here in campus. The Colorado river id minutes away so there will be a lot of water activities.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is new and offers a different variety every day.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms have restrooms in the room and are big enough for two people to be comfortable.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging but not impossible since you will be getting a lot of help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Carry a water bottle! It can get very hot outside. Bring a bike.

    In three sentences

    The school is very small and easy to navigate from class to class. The classes are usually no bigger then 25. Since it is small you will get after hours help from the teacher himself.

  • 08/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    By the school administration, students who lack and disrespect to present the right type of conduct will be punished by student suspension, kicked out of class, and could be even expelled from school grounds. There is no cheating allowed, serious fights, vandalism, nor disruptive behavior at all. Arizona Western College keeps a well secured school to include all the students to participate with a well mannered behavior. At the first day of class, the teacher goes over the syllabus at all times. We have the campus police department to protect the school grounds at all times if anything unusual may occur. This campus provides safety from troublesome students, bad people, and others.

    Great for these types of students

    A lot of students like nursing. Arizona Western College provides all the nursing classes to earn an associates degree. Some students have not done very well in high school, but they still have the opportunity to go to college which is AWC. This college welcomes anyone. Also, it provides services for students with disabilities which has its own building in campus. Also, there are a lot of handicap parking areas and even doors for students with disabilities. Though you have not done well in high school, you still have a very good chance to do well especially in a community college like AWC.

    What to do for fun

    there a lot of places to sit around at to relax. There is a lot of shade spots around to even chat with your classmates.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria provides anything that would make you full at least. They sell fruits and vegetables as well to keep a nutritional diet.

    Dorm Life

    I have seen students who stay at the dormitories, and they say it is a very good studying environment. Also, there has been good student relationships there and they intend to help each other.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes may be quite difficult, but students make it harder than it really is. Math has been the main case of these problems. Anything dealing with numbers, formulas, and variables make it seem difficult but it isn't. That is why tutors have been available anytime to help students with math and writing as well. I think our academic student performance has improved since because there has been more help provided for students at the student success center. Arizona Western College would be a reliable school that I know at least.

    Tips for prospective students

    Beginning at a community college is a smart start for any student. Complete your associates degree and earn good grades to be accepted to a good university. Most students transfer as soon as they earn their degree in Arizona Western College.

    In three sentences

    This college makes a really great school. It does not ask a high GPA requirement to get in and anyone is welcomed. I rate it an A.

  • 08/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    This college's education is good as far as I can tell and it is definitely affordable. It is a great option for those of us who can't afford education elsewhere.

    Food and Dining

    Food and drinks are good in my opinion.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms.

  • 09/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 69

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I enjoy sitting under the trees and just relaxing there before and after class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study, study, study! The classes are not easy; the teachers expect you to know something.

    In three sentences

    The college is a community college, so there for fairly small. The teachers are constantly making an attempt to assist students. The counselors are very knowledgeable.

  • 09/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Here they have all kind of clubs and if they don't have a club you can start one and its very simple.

    Bang for the buck

    This college is not expensive it is worth coming here because it cost less then going to a four year university.

    What to do for fun

    Here there are a lot of things to do for fun but one of my favorites is to go to the game room and play pool. This is a very popular game here and it is always fun.

    Food and Dining

    There are a lot of food options here but not only on campus but near by of campus to.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are planning to attend this school all i can say is dress comfortably and try to pick your classes close together so that its not a hassle to get from one class to another.

    In three sentences

    Arizona Western College is a great school to start your career. This school has a small campus so you don't have to get lost the first day and has a lot of friendly people that always like to help. The school has small classes so you always have access to your professors and they are always willing to help.

  • 09/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 69

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    On campus there is a gym or if you perfer the arts there are always performances given by the drama department and students always advertise other events.

    Food and Dining

    I do not live on campus so I never eat there.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live on campus so I don't know.

    Tips for prospective students

    There is always help if you look for it, so don't be shy.

    In three sentences

    I like the college so far. i have only been there for a little less than half a semester ,but I like the faculty. The campus provides great education and students are provided with extra tools such as learning centers and the teachers offer office hours which makes classes easier.

  • 10/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    make sure to go the speed limit and stop at stop signs because the campus police are always watching.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a running club and anyone can join you don't have to be good at running but it's great if you want to clear your mind and get a good work out and meet new people.

    Great for these types of students

    AWC is a great place for anyone with an academic plan or anyone wanting to start off in a more economic college because universities are pretty pricey.

    Bang for the buck

    Although AWC doesn't have the same expenses as a University it can still get a little pricey so make sure you save up and apply for scholarships they help out tremendously and if you can get financial aid then go for that too.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the gym. Or hit up the star bucks with a bunch of friends.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good but don't over indulge and get all sleepy :P

    Dorm Life

    living in the dorm is awesome and a great decision.

    Academic Rigor

    If you study and do your work you'll do great

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the free tutoring offered it helps out a lot. Get involved in different events and just have fun but don't fall behind in class.

    In three sentences

    I am a freshmen here at AWC and I absolutely love it.

  • 10/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    We have a huge beautiful cafeteria and the food is good but a little pricey.

    Dorm Life

    I have no experience in this area.

    Academic Rigor

    Your teachers work with you and are usually punctual with their office hours.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is a great peaceful campus.

    In three sentences

    I know that Arizona Western College is a filled with well informed and helpful employee's. I have been attending here about three years and all the questions I have on any topic are answered by someone with experience. I also appreciate how I have access to a computer and printer when I need one.

  • 10/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    A police station is located on campus and they are seen regularly around campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have a nice variety for anyone to participate in.

    Great for these types of students

    The budget minded, they work with NAU, ASU and UofA to ensure credits transfer.

    Food and Dining

    They have a Starbucks and the normal cafeteria. The food is decent.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus, they do have dorms available

    Tips for prospective students

    Find a professor in the subject you want to study in, the counselors aren't the best.

    In three sentences

    I would rate this school an 8 out of 10 as far as community colleges go. They have a well built art program that has prepared me for my next college Northern Arizona University.

  • 10/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are call boxes all around campus and you'll always see security guards walking around.

    Great for these types of students

    Latinos and Hispanics. All students really, but there are great clubs for these students.

    What to do for fun

    There are all the sports games during the seasons, the fun factory isn't too far away, and during the summer there are a lot of river activities.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria available has a variety of food selections.

    Dorm Life

    I don't live in the dorms, so I would know first hand what they are like; however, I hear that they are homey.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors definitely teach you up to date information.

    Tips for prospective students

    The student resources is an excellent place to get help for your instructional needs.

    In three sentences

    A good opportunity to be better ones self. It has many clubs and organizations that are available. Lastly, the professors are very friendly and willing to work with the student.

  • 12/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe, and there is a police station in the college for any emergency or incident.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    AWC annually offers an event called Family night, in which all students can participate and celebrate a night with the people of Yuma.

    Food and Dining

    Arizona Western College has its own cafeteria where food is delicious. However, the prices are a little bit high.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is nice. Arizona Western College does not allow parties on the campus, but the colleagues are usually international students around the world, and many of them are either in sports or working within the institution.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers usually give intensive material during the course and a lot of homework. Time management is essential.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are going to apply for AWC, make sure to take your time and score a high grade in writing, reading, and math for the Placement Test.

    In three sentences

    Arizona Western College is an excellent place for students who wants to take their first two years of their major easily, and then transfer credits to an university. The tuition and material cost are usually convenient and teachers have great experience in their fields. Usually, the college offers all resources to study such as library, tutorial center, and computer laboratory.

  • 01/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    This is one of the cheapest colleges out there. I left for a while and checked out other schools and none are as easy to pay for as AWC, and they always have a payment plan available. Also the bookstore always has some kind of deal, and students are constantly selling their old books for cheaper.

    What to do for fun

    While Yuma is a barren wasteland to some, AWC does have choir concerts which are quite entertaining and there is usually a play or some drama project going on.

    Food and Dining

    AWC has a nice cafeteria. It's definatelty woth it to go spend your lunch hour in there, and you'll see that a lot of the students have their laptops and text books out working while they eat.

    Academic Rigor

    Some clesses do tend to be on the difficult side, but I think all in all AWC' classes aren't that hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do your home work. Most teachers will work with you on anything as long as you get your homework done.

    In three sentences

    This school may have some issues, but it has helped me immensly with starting out on my colege experiemce. I would recommend this colege to high school students who aren't sure what they'd like to pursue in life.AWC is definately a good place to start.

  • 02/20/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    35 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Never really ate there but they do have very friendly employees working in there starbucks

    Dorm Life

    never really looked into there dorm life.

    Academic Rigor

    seems legit

    In three sentences

    I love the school's enviorment it is very mellow! I would really recommend this school for students graduating from any of Yuma, Arizona's High schools

  • 03/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are call boxes all over campus and the campus police are constantly patrolling.

    Clubs and Activities

    Wide variety of clubs, including clubs like Gay/Straight Alliance, Psychology club, a culinary club, and many more.

    Bang for the buck

    Arizona Western College, for how small it is, is actually a good college. A lot of the instructors are caring and kind and are willing to be flexible in any case.

    What to do for fun

    We have a game room. :)

    Food and Dining

    The food is okay. There's a Little Caesar's across the street.

    Dorm Life

    There are old dorms and new dorms. I've been in the old dorms and they're not too bad. I'm not sure about the newer ones.

    In three sentences

    Arizona Western College is an excellent college for students who like the small campus lifestyle. It had partnerships with University of Arizona, Northern Arizona University, and others to ensure that students can transfer to universities. Northern Arizona University actually shares a campus with Arizona Western College, but doesn't have as much to offer as the main campus in Flagstaff.

  • 03/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 69

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The hub of Yuma is minutes and has a mall and theatre.

    Food and Dining

    I love the food and drinks available in the cafeteria.

    Academic Rigor

    Just hard enough to learn.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prior to enrolling check out the campus and speak with an advisor in the 3C Building. They are very helpful and will provide guidance.

    In three sentences

    AWC has teachers who strive to educate all of their students. I enjoy the facilities and extracurricular activities available. They have an excellent nursing program that is very competitive.

  • 03/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Variety of Clubs

    Food and Dining

    School food is okay :)

    Dorm Life

    Everyone knows your business and alot of drama goes on.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are somewhat hard

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are confused about anything or need help, seek guidance, i can guarantee that there will be someone there to help you with it.

    In three sentences

    The staff are very helpful when it comes to tutoring, scholarships or pretty much anything you need help with. It is a very calm environment.

  • 03/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    One thing is for sure this campus is very secure. I feel very at ease, and have not seen a situation on the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs are interesting, but not big. While they hold a lot of activities and field trips. They hold job fairs for every field.

    Great for these types of students

    for students looking for a smaller school and a calm place.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The School every holds el Toro Bowl a big football game that unites the school. Also Their soccer games are pretty intense people usually like to go to the games.

    Bang for the buck

    It is not expensive, it has the lowest tuition in Arizona

    What to do for fun

    The have many clubs and have many places to sit down and socialize. They have a game room and a music room to pass the time.

    Food and Dining

    The food is Great! It literally looks like a miniature restaurant.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorm but i have heard good and bad things about it so i would think its okay.

    Academic Rigor

    Depends which classes you take, most classes are not too hard. The College is just right I have not gotten too much homework, but the lectures are interesting

    Tips for prospective students

    Just like in anything in life, be ready. The school is compact so you will not get lost. Just make sure to take the classes seriously.

    In three sentences

    Arizona Western is a small college, but the programs there are very well run and organized. The campus very clean, professional, and easy to get around in. The teachers are very well prepared and have experience in their field.

  • 04/18/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    40 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus security is great. You are always safe and if you encounter any type of danger or you feel unease, there is always help around.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a lot to choose from(:

    What to do for fun

    There is always something fun to do. The clubs always try to come up with fun and family oriented events where everyone gets to participate and enjoy a great time.

    Food and Dining

    Great food, but nothing better than a home cooked meal (:

    Dorm Life

    I believe, the dorm life was the best experience I've had so far beside meeting new people.

    Tips for prospective students

    This is a great school and you'll definitely enjoy the experience. Never be afraid to ask questions, if you have any doubts or simply feel like making a conversation, the staff members and students in this college are excellent. Do not be afraid to express yourself and share new things. Arizona Western College is your second home.

    In three sentences

    Arizona Western college has been on of my greatest experiences throughout my entire life. More than an institution, it is a community where everyone is part of a family. I would definitely recommend this college for anyone.

  • 04/28/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    41 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Drugs are every where. The athletes are the worst offenders.

    Clubs and Activities

    Drama class puts on great plays.

    Great for these types of students

    Students with little money and want to go to college.

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, as long as you don't take classes you don't need.

    What to do for fun

    Great weather. We have the Colorado River, the Sand Dunes. We are less than 3 hrs from Phoenix or San Diego.

    Food and Dining

    Great and you can put money on your student ID for spending.

    Dorm Life

    NO! It is nothing but party's and drugs.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are very laid back. They will work with you to help you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    See a counselor and no your core classes. Ask about what is needed for your degree.

    In three sentences

    This is very affordable way to get all your core classes out of the way. They are not very good at directing you to taking only the classes needed. I have heard from students that they took classes and spent money when not needed for their degree.

  • 05/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    42 of 69

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Nothing, its Yuma, AZ.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring water, its hot in Yuma, AZ.

    In three sentences

    The staff faculty is really helpful toward the overall success rate of the students. I really like the campus environment. The instructors are motivating.

  • 05/22/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always an officer patrolling the campus.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of them!

    Great for these types of students

    The Nursing program is great if you are interested in it!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    Bang for the buck

    If you can get by with the Arizona heat, you will enjoy AWC!

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities and sport events to attend.

    Food and Dining

    The food is amazing and there is a great avriety.

    Dorm Life

    I did not ever reside at the campus but have been told it is good.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors challenge students but are there to help succeed those challenges.

    Tips for prospective students

    The only downside is the priority registration as I went 2 semesters without being able to register for Biology 201 so stay alert and be ready for your time to register.

    In three sentences

    I like the college very much. The only reason I would transfer is to receive my Bachelor's degree as they do not offer it. The staff is very kind and helpful.

  • 06/10/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    44 of 69

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Being at the college, I use to wander around by myself when I was very shy (still do once and awhile), however I found it entertaining to wander into the art museum that showed off the students works of art each semester. It shifted from painting mediums to clay models and 3d displays. Then there was the library that had variety of books to read such as mythology of greek and vikings to poetry and hungry games. Lastly, for fun I found it just stunning to look over at the scenery of the expanded college at dusk and night from the balconies. Those were one of my most cherished memories, especially sharing that sight with my friends and new love.

    Food and Dining

    Food was always a bit pricey but what the cafeteria provided was very excellent. Each day there was something new like some days of the week there would be italian food like spaghetti, raviollis, and other days would be vietnamese rolls or chinese foods. I believe the chefs and cooks at the college did well in reflecting the cultures and new flavors each day for all the students, both residental and those from abroad.

    Dorm Life

    I never lived in the dorms over at the college, however many of the students who did live in them tended to always wander about the college, finding things to do whether it was hanging at the cafe or cafeteria or help out with the theater students with their next project. The dorms, themselves, always carried a clean scent among the halls and a ping pong table along with a big hd tv use to entertain the dorm students there.

    Academic Rigor

    In the challenging aspect of this college, no matter what class you take, whether it be belly dancing, theater or even calculus and beyond; the classes anyone takes will always have its challenges but the beauty is as long as you're willing to push on, focus each day and take any advice and aid from the teachers, students and the study centers that the college supplies, you'll pass through easily and your work will definitely show.

    Tips for prospective students

    Anyone living in Arizona seeking a college for a career should have Arizona Western College as one of their options. All the teachers I've had in these past two years at the college have all been passionate in their teachings, even in the science and math fields. Their enthusiasm and different personalities has kept me motivated each day to return to class based on years of teaching, the teachers have brought their lessons to the simplest of forms for their students to comprehend and then build up from there.

    In three sentences

    I would rate Arizona Western College as a top 10 out of 10. Coming from a bit of a sheltered background due to the majority of my life being home-schooled, I was really worried about entering a public setting, however in taking this college I found myself making friends quickly who were very accepting of other's flaws, teachers who supported and challenge us, students, with our talents and knowledge. I would definitely recommend this college to anyone living on this side of the States.

  • 06/18/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    45 of 69

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends after class.

    Food and Dining

    Never had food there.

    Dorm Life

    I've heard it's ok.

    Academic Rigor

    I would say it's decent. As long as it helps you on what u want to do.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get registered to your classes on time! make sure not to hit the waitlist because there is a possibility you might not make it.

    In three sentences

    It's a community college which is much cheaper I believe than others. It's not very big which can be a good thing. The staff there is very nice and helpful.

  • 06/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 69

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Sports, Choir, Jazz Band,, Theater, and dance

    Food and Dining

    I once ate at the school cafeteria and it was amazing its very clean organized the food is great!! and the service is impeccable

    Dorm Life

    I personally dont have any experience in the dorms from what other classmates say its a very exciting experience

    Tips for prospective students

    Never slack off, Always be on track have an agenda make priorities and goals not big goals but realistic ones

    In three sentences

    Arizona Western College has a fine staff of teacher, willing to help and provide as much knowledge to us as possible. They have various programs to help out us improve our grades. They have study halls and many other helpfull activities

  • 06/22/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    47 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Wonderful! They have buttons everywhere on the campus in case in you need. Or if you have a night class you can just ring the buttons and they'll help you to your dorms or car in case If you feel unsafe.

    Clubs and Activities

    Everybody at the college seems to be in a bunch of groups. I never hear any negative comments about them .

    Bang for the buck

    It's a great afford school. Doesn't cost much to pay for your classes.

    What to do for fun

    They have a wondering gaming room in one of building where you can play ping pong,pool, or just watch tv. It's a wondering little place.

    Food and Dining

    Food is better wonderful here. They always a great price or deal when you want to get certain food you like.

    Dorm Life

    Heard its pretty fun. Great way to make news friends

    Tips for prospective students

    None.

    In three sentences

    I would AWC a eight. It's a nice small school,everybody knows almost everybody. The school has a nice and fun environment in the whole campus.

  • 07/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus police are constantly patrolling this school so it is relatively safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    I only know of the CRU group.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for people who are not interested in socializing but just focusing on school.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    AWC has a CRU grpup (campus Crusades for Christ) . This program is fantastic because it reaches out to people who may not know anyone.

    Bang for the buck

    I would rate this school 3 stars. I like the price of the school I don't like how filled up the classes get.

    What to do for fun

    AWC does not have very many programs so I really don't know what to do for fun here.

    Food and Dining

    AWC has a small cafeteria with a good selection of food.

    Dorm Life

    I have new lived in the dorms so I do not know enough about them to rate it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure you speak with an advisor who knows all about you're major. You must be very proactive with this college.

    In three sentences

    Arizona Western College is an inexpensive community college. They do not have very many openings in their science classes so if you are pursuing a science degree its a little challenging. I would rate this college a 5 out of 10.

  • 07/07/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    49 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Food is great and there is a starbucks on the library

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are comfy and spacious

    Academic Rigor

    Pretty tough on some material but it is college.

    In three sentences

    It's a great college all around. The students are very friendly and helpful if lost. The teacher as well help the students succeed.

  • 07/12/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    50 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Not a lot of choices, but you'll be able to find something

    Great for these types of students

    every type

    Bang for the buck

    Cheap and gets you the credits

    What to do for fun

    Sadly, Yuma doesn't have much.

    Academic Rigor

    Not too challenging, basic college level.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you do your work!

    In three sentences

    This is a good place to start out your college experience. I'm planning on using my credits here to transfer to another school. It's definitely not the best school, but a great transition to college.

  • 07/15/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who are busy or don't have a lot of money.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have an awesome football team!!

    Bang for the buck

    Some say this school is expensive, but it is not really all that expensive. The professors give you good one on one time if needed, some even give their personal cells out to help out students in need.

    What to do for fun

    Lots of fairs, massage, air balloons, gym, sports, a wide selection of things to keep you busy.

    Food and Dining

    Wide variety, Nice clean and big cafeteria with friendly staff...STARBUCKS!

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are big and clean. Lots of space.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make an appointment with an adviser. They will help you get headed in the right direction.

    In three sentences

    AWC is a great community college. A great place to start. Everyone is always helpful and willing to show you how to be successful.

  • 08/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 69

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    -Sports.

    Food and Dining

    Really good food and clean.

    Dorm Life

    I dont live in campus but I visited it and it is very clean and people are friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent workload. The push you to do your best.

    Tips for prospective students

    -Ask for help if whenever you need it. -Before starting any class learn how to use blackboard. -Communicate with teachers and classmates as much as you can. -Take advantage of everything this school has to offer.

    In three sentences

    -Excellent communication between teachers and students. -Easy registration process -Fast financial aid process.

  • 08/23/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 69

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs that students can join for fun or for educational purposes. There is also a small river in Yuma to go to on those hot days when you feel like going out. Students can also hang out with friends on campus and what not.

    Food and Dining

    I do not know how food and dining is on campus since I do not live their but their are good places to go to in Yuma, Az. If you live at home with your parents home cooking is always good. There are also many fast places in the shopping center.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life seems calm, although I have not had the opportunity to live on campus. If I were to will on campus I think I would enjoy it very much because then I would have access to more classes.

    Academic Rigor

    This college like any other is strict on the attendance policy because Financial Aid requires it and professors would rather you keep your financial aid and pass the class. Individual professors take into consideration that you might have other classes and a job so they allow late arrivals or make-up work as long as you talk to them.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend students to come to this college and stay in the dorms because all classes are available to students. Also, tuition-wise it is very cheap for a door and meal plan included.

    In three sentences

    I would give AWC a 3 star rating for the San Luis Branch because classes are limited. The only way to have access to more classes is a 50 minute drive to Yuma. Students can also ride the local bus to school, since AWC has provided students with a $5 pass to ride the bus the whole year.

  • 08/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Awc is pretty cheap to do your general ed. if you get financial aid it usually covers most if not all your classes and it puts you in a great position to transfer to a university if you want to continue to a bachelor degree program.

    What to do for fun

    There are the regular sports football,softball, soccer etc. There are various clubs to join also ranging from kendo to philosophy club.

    Food and Dining

    The eatery is small but nice has tv's, booths and table to eat at also starbucks is right next to it so that is always nice.

    Academic Rigor

    If your willing to do the work it is not hard to excel in your classes and professor are more then willing to answer any questions if your taking classes on campus or online and there's tutoring.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register for classes and get your books if early if possible like with any school because classes fill up pretty quick community college or not.

    In three sentences

    Arizona western college is a community college so it's small but it offers a more personal learning experience. Professor aren't overwhelmed with students so there always there to help. It's a great place to get your general ed. done and decide where you want to transfer if you want to do that and is overall a good school.

  • 10/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    Ton Available

    Great for these types of students

    Community and Service work

    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends and play games.

    Food and Dining

    Pretty much the same thing every now and then.

    Dorm Life

    Not fun at all

    In three sentences

    Many helpful tools and services available. A lot of good and fun organizations and clubs that you might be interested in. The professors will help you accomplish what you want to major in.

  • 10/26/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    56 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are police cars every where and anywhere. Every morning I walk by a building I have to find a cop driving inside the college. At night, I have seen them lurking in shadows and driving around campus. However, I rarely see cops outside of their cars. There's also emergency buttons all over the campus, and if you don't know where they are, just rake a look at the campus map.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs and activities are well active at AWC, and I can only say that I wish I have gotten to more of them in my first year there. I'm currently planning to join the writer's club, but there are some things that are holding me back, like classes.

    Great for these types of students

    I think AWC has a wide range of clubs for any type of student to join. There's the Philosophy club, the Writer's club; there are sports, too, just like any other college in the US.

    What to do for fun

    What I do for fun at Arizona Western College are several things. Even though it's a small college you can still relax and have fun when classes start to give headaches. First, I go to the gym; there I can workout and think of something else but homework. Second, I go to events. There's a movie night out coming up this October, and I'm going. And lastly, I write at the library.

    Food and Dining

    The food is quiet expensive at Arizona Western College! I personally think that the food is ok and not that much great. The college also has microwaves for you to heat up your own food when you decide to bring your own, like I do.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are peaceful, but there are time when students can go a little wild, making you to not concentrate in your work. There has been students who have told me that they personally don't like the dorms because of the noise. Even thought it's a small college, it can still get wild.

    Academic Rigor

    As for the difficulty of the classes, it depends on your level of knowledge, but AWC will help you get there in a matter of a few semesters! As you progress through your classes you'll find out that the classes will start to get difficult. But there's tutors, math centers, and writing centers to help you get the grade you desire in your class.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advise students to go to this college because it's very affordable, and because of that, you are able to save money for when you transfer. My other advice is to get enrolled with the college as much as possible. My last advice is to know what you want to study--be determined at the start of your college career!

    In three sentences

    Arizona Western College is very affordable to get your general education classes over with. Arizona Western College is very clean and peaceful. Arizona Western College is a small community college aimed to help you in your journey to get your degree.

  • 11/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    57 of 69

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Make new friends meet new people, sometimes from different countries.

    Food and Dining

    Have never tasted the food at AWC but rumors have it that it is actually really good food.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in the dorms

    Academic Rigor

    Push yourself hard in college and overcome difficult challenges.

    Tips for prospective students

    Register on time, get work and assignments done on time. It's no longer High School it' a step closer to the real world. And be kind and wonderful to your elders, and enjoy.

    In three sentences

    Arizona Western College, is a great college. Professors are kind and teach in a fun well way. I myself would rate AWC 1-10 i'd give it a 8.

  • 11/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    58 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is a good campus police there goal is to keep the campus and the students safe from anyone who tries to disrupt the peace. I feel safe when i'm on the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a enough clubs for every student on campus to take part of. Every new student should take part of a club to make their college experience a good one.

    Bang for the buck

    The price is low for a college i payed 800 dollars for 4 classes for a semester. I found that this price is good to start a university with same credits is a total of 20,000 a year.

    What to do for fun

    What i do for fun is go to the game room to play ping pong and pool. And i'am in clubs that i participate in events in and out of the college.

    Food and Dining

    The food at the college is good everything on the menu is cooked there. It is better than reheated food. The price is a little expensive but it is worth it.

    Academic Rigor

    There are times when you have to study hard because of having tests everyday in some classes. There midterm and finals are different from every university they are meant to be done out of remembrance.

    Tips for prospective students

    Tips i would give to new students is to use the free help center using this can help you increase your understanding of the class. And to take the entrance seriously this determines in what classes you starts.

    In three sentences

    The college is a good place to start your trip to to a university. The instructors try hard to help the students pass their class by being available for help.The class sizes are great you can get a feel for a university in a small class factor instead of starting in a large class.

  • 01/04/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    59 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Excellent

    Academic Rigor

    100% in everything. it is hard but its all worth it.

    Tips for prospective students

    My tip is to NEVER SAY NEVER. You may find the perfect school for you just like I did. it doesn't matter if you got rejected on other schools. Keep trying if you want to pursue your goal.

    In three sentences

    AWC has become a very important part in my life. I was accepted to the nursing program just when I had no other options. I am really excited to start the program. I had heard excellent comments about this program so I really hope it all goes good.

  • 01/09/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    60 of 69

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    AWC is trying to incorporate more fun things to do. They had a homecoming and a homecoming dance and there are different festivals that happen on campus. Yuma is also an interesting place and there are different things to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food was good! I spent most of my time in the starbucks but the cafeteria food is a lot better than what you would expect from your local high school.

    Dorm Life

    I didn't live on the dorms so I can't offer a fair score. I gave them a three because I had friends who lived in the dorms and they were fine with them but they were nothing special.

    Academic Rigor

    There are some really good teachers who make you work hard and help you learn but there are also teachers who really slack off. Most of my teachers were really good, my english teacher was the best I feel like she really prepared me for higher levels of schooling.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your a new student here make sure you get to the registration office and get to know the staff so they can offer you advice. You have to search for counselors and other people to get to know your way around campus and learn for yourself.

    In three sentences

    This community college is a great in between if you plan on going to a university at some point in your educational path. You have to really be proactive and get what you need by yourself, the staff isn't very good about offering help to new students. I started taking classes in high school and I feel like that gave me an advantage but I wouldn't stay here to pursue my degree.

  • 01/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    61 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a police station on campus. There's security throughout the campus so if you're taking night classes and are scared of walking to your car, you can call them and they can escort you to your car.

    Greek Life

    We are a small community college so Greek life is non existent here. Sorry!

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a few clubs that are active here at AWC but not as many as I hoped for. You can always start a new club though!

    Bang for the buck

    So cheap! It's cheaper than many other community colleges here in Arizona. Plus, payment plans are available so your wallet won't be in pain.

    What to do for fun

    Yuma is a small city compared to major cities but if you search you can find quite a few things to do here.

    Food and Dining

    The food has gotten so much better since the renovations of the cafeteria. You have WAY more options and the prices are pretty reasonable. We also have a Starbucks right next to it so that's a plus.

    Dorm Life

    I've never lived at the dorms here because I'm a local but I would say that if you wanted the full college experience including dorms, you won't get much out of it here. They're a bit old and small unlike other dorms I've seen.

    Academic Rigor

    Some teachers can be tough but if you do some digging, you'll find that many students enjoy certain teachers because they've either worked in the field or have a lot of knowledge about what they're teaching. If you get a great professor, chances are you won't find the class hard at all.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take advantage of the programs here at AWC. Often times, these programs are funded by the government so the services they offer here are free for the student. We also have our local transportation, the Yuma County Area Transit (YCAT) which is available at no cost to all AWC students.

    In three sentences

    Arizona Western College is a great school to attend. If you're looking for a smaller more peaceful college, this place is for you. Plus, our school has installed solar panelling in many areas so if you are all about the environment, you've come to the right place.

  • 01/30/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    62 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There isn't any.

    Bang for the buck

    The school tuition is affordable, what you would end up expecting to pay at a two year college. The max out for the semester is under 1.5k which isn't bad for 18+ credit hours. Plus you can always do a payment plan which helps a lot.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics of the school are okay, not the best but its a community college the expectations, for me at least, weren't high to begin with.

    In three sentences

    -Small Campus -Small Classes -Teachers are easy to talk to if there is a problem with a grade or if you need extra help

  • 02/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    63 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    Nice.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for every single student looking to save money and have a quality academic curriculum.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I like going to gym here at this college.

    Bang for the buck

    I like spending my time here in College.

    What to do for fun

    It has a nice gym and pool and really beautiful landscape with palms around it.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come and leave fast with a 2 year degree!

    In three sentences

    Arizona Western College is really a well-organized faculty. It has the all the basic fundamentals that you need. Is really worth the time.

  • 03/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    64 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I will rate cmapus safety five stars. For the reason that, our campus police are friendly, vigilant, and are always asking students if they are feeling okay and letting them know they have someone to talk to.

    Clubs and Activities

    The clubs and activities on campus are pretty entertaining and offer many opportunities. There is at least one club activity every week.

    Great for these types of students

    Arizona Western College is great for prospective Engineering, Math, and Science majors. For the reason that, we have a club for each subject and many grants. In other words you will not have to worry about paying for school. And you will get the education that you payed for.

    Bang for the buck

    Arizona Western College is very inexpensive and most if not all of their classes transfer to major universites. The education level is very good and their staff is always willing to answer your questions. Although you are provided with all the necessary tools to succeed, Arizona Western College will not baby you.

    What to do for fun

    Yuma is a small military town. With that said, there isn't much to do besides going to the mall or going our to eat. However, Arizona Western College does offer free movie nights and dances. The free movie nights are special nights where Arizona Western College picks a new release film at the Harkins theater and students have free admission to that movie. All you need to do is present your official student I.D.

    Food and Dining

    I should probably give our dining a three star rating. However, their salad bar is the best! The California BLT is the best salad you can purchase and the pizza is delicious! The people are nice and if you like tuna their subs are pretty astronomical.

    Dorm Life

    I have not personally lived in the dorms. However, most of my friends have and they do not have good things to say. For the girls the dorm life is okay; however, for the boys it flat out sucks, there are contant fights, parties, and arrests.

    Academic Rigor

    I have attended Arzona Western College for the past two years. I will be graduating this Spring and transferring to a 4-year university. I know that the academic rigor at this institution has prepared me for university level education. I am a Biochemistry major.

    Tips for prospective students

    If Arizona Western College is one of your options look no further. Arizona Western College offers that first year experience and has over 20 clubs and organizations. If you are looking for an institution that will open doors then Arizona Western College is the place for you.

    In three sentences

    Arizona Western College is a medium sized campus located on the outskirts of Yuma. It offers dorms, a library, and an eatery. The people here are energetic and friendly; not to mention we have two major universities on campus which means you can complete your major here in Yuma.

  • 03/27/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    65 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The college has a police station on campus and there are poles around the college which have a button to alert police officers for help.

    Bang for the buck

    Courses are lowered price than many other colleges and universities, since it is a community college.

    What to do for fun

    Since I do not live in the dorms this is difficult because most students who live in the dorms are usually the ones involved in extracurricular activities. Although, I do know that there are clubs and sometimes guest speakers have events in the college. Besides this the college usually holds job fairs and Agricultural Summits, each semester.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is usually good, but may sometimes be expensive. Some items like snacks, beverages and deserts are usually the higher priced items. The cafeteria in the college is big and has many tables to sit at and always seems to be kept clean.

    Dorm Life

    I have heard that living in the dorms can be fun, but I am not really familiar with this. Living in the dorms does not apply to me.

    Academic Rigor

    Every student needs to attend class daily and participate in class. Professors take academic learning serious, but are also able to help a students out. Midterm grades are very important to the college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Students should visit the main campus when planning to enroll and attend Arizona Western College. The college offers different clubs where students may become a member of and become involved.

    In three sentences

    Arizona Western College is a small community college, but a great place where to start. There are many classes offered here, which now include winter courses. There are several branch locations of the college that make it easier to attend at Arizona Western College

  • 04/06/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    66 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    living off campus.

    Greek Life

    living off campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    I am currently living on San Luis, AZ I used to practice some boxing when I was out of college, however I never had time to do activities or enroll in a club.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who will be full time students only I think this college will be good for you. There is always something going on.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am not pretty familiar with traditions from college because I am full time student and I have a full time job. It is hard to keep up with everything that is going on.

    Bang for the buck

    living off compus

    What to do for fun

    I like the main campus because of the big gym that it has. It also provides students with all commodities to practice sports.

    Food and Dining

    Living off campus.

    Dorm Life

    Living off campus

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes might need better instructors and counselors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Easy to apply for people who live in the surroundings. it is the best option.

    In three sentences

    AWC is nice college for students to attend, the main campus is located in Yuma, AZ. Also there are several branches all in different towns and cities which makes it more convenient.

  • 04/07/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    67 of 69

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Gym, soccer team, language club, nursing club, basketball team,

    Academic Rigor

    A great place to start

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the college as soon as possible Speak with the advisors Avoid generals, set a major since the beginning

    In three sentences

    A great place to start A college with great professors and staff In this college you can find knowledge, gain experience, and prepare yourself for university

  • 05/05/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    68 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus is always safe, Yuma campus has their own police station on campus near dormitory's.

    Greek Life

    I do not about Yuma and soritory or fraternity's

    Clubs and Activities

    Student Club! The voice of the students is just as important as the voice of the staff, and students are always given the opportunity to voice theirs.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for all students, the Nursing program and the Fire Academy program and probably two of the biggest programs that attracts the most students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Parker is a small campus and I have only attended for a short time, this information is unknown to me.

    Bang for the buck

    I love AWC, tution is affordable. Books are reasonable. And everyone is great in helping you get or find what you need.

    What to do for fun

    Yuma is a much larger town that Parker, so there are various activites to engross oneself in. Parker is a small town along the Colorado river, and the river has always been a major source of enjoyment for young and old!

    Food and Dining

    Starbucks! Any small town college that has Starbucks in the building is a winner!

    Dorm Life

    I attend on the off-site, Parker, we do not have dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    As with any college, academics is important and must always be focused and strived for. Classwork is light, more work is done away from the classroom.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for scholarships through AWC foundation board, because apparently not many propective students know that AWC has a scholarship foundation board, and they do not get many applicants.

    In three sentences

    AWC give everybody an opportunity to exceed. The many different campus throughout the state with a focus on smaller towns (i.e., Parker or Quartzsite), makes the student feel good knowing there is a college nearby and they will not have to travel far. AWC always conducts business with a smile.

  • 05/29/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    69 of 69

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    You can always find one of the police officers driving around campus or the parking lot, so that's always a good thing. Also the campus has a safety light system where you can push a button if you feel unsafe and campus police will arrive shortly. Also, you can dial campus police from any classroom in case theres any situation and they arrive within 2 minutes.

    Greek Life

    What is greek life?

    Clubs and Activities

    never joined any.

    Great for these types of students

    Its a good campus if you don't mind walking around in the heat.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Everyone like to hang out at the tables all the way in the back of campus. Since there are so many trees its very peaceful to study there.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is not as expensive as you would expect it to be. Lucky for me, I could afford it even when I didn't have financial aid.

    What to do for fun

    There is a game room where you can hang out in between your classes.

    Food and Dining

    I've never tried eating at the cafeteria. The only place I have visited is the Starbucks, which of course is awesome!

    Dorm Life

    I have never lived on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are set for a good pace. You can enough time to get your homework done and there are many resources on campus that you can use for help with your courses.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you know where your class is at, so you don't find yourself having to walk all the way from the front parking lots to the back of the school.

    In three sentences

    This is a great campus. The classes are not overflowed with so many students, so it makes it easier to have a student-teacher interaction. Everything is set up to where you can easily find your classes.