Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Arkansas State University-Mountain Home Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/15/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    If you are looking for fast degree and wnat to finish within two years then this University would be a great choice. Also If you do not have a lot of money to spend on your education it would also be a great school. Finally, if you are looking for a small school in a great location with lakes and trees then the University of Arkansas-Mountain Home is the perfect choice for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would look into this university because you can get all your necessary classes and maybe even your degree cheeper than most nearby schools.

    Bang for the buck

    The saying you got what you paid for is an understatement. Arkansas State University-Mountain Home offers great classes and opportunities for a great price.

    Am enjoying being here

    The location and scenery of the campus is spectacular and there are so many career opportunities.

    Am learning a lot

    The classes are well put together and the instructors are very informative and are willing to help you when needed.

  • 10/27/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Arkansas State University - Mountain Home can provide a great education along with an experience of a lifetime while still leaving money in your pocket. What's better than doing your homework surrounded by great people with a beautiful view of a fountain?

    Tips for prospective students

    This is definitely a great place to go whether you just want an Associate's degree or a Bachelor's. It provides a beautiful environment and a tuition price that can help anyone sleep at night. There are plenty of choices for classes and it's easy to find something that interests you.

    Bang for the buck

    I must say that if someone is looking for an education while still wanting save their money, this school is a perfect choice. It is much cheaper than any nearby schools and it still gives you a great education. I suggest for anyone to go to this school even if they are planning on extending their education past two years. I am planning on transferring to a four-year college and I can now have a transfer scholarship that will pay for a lot of my tuition. I can not have to worry too much about my future thanks to Arkansas State University - Mountain Home.

    Am enjoying being here

    ASU-MH is a beautiful school that provides a comfortable environment. It is perfectly fit for me in that it isn't too big and I can still meet plenty of interesting people. The classes are interesting and the teachers are great.

    Am learning a lot

    From the classes that I have been in, the teachers are well-organized and have plenty of useful and interesting information. In many of my classes, I would never miss a class not because I don't want to fall behind, but because I'm actually interested in what is being taught.

  • 01/24/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Honestly, Arkansas State University is the perfect school for anyone who wants a head start in their career. This school not only covers the younger generations of just-out-of-high-school students, but as well as older students who just need an advancement in life.

    Tips for prospective students

    Just remember to keep in touch with all teachers. It's best to get your financial business taken care of as soon as possible. Stay on top of your classes, even the easier ones. Online classes are a plus but remember to take some in-class classes as well. Teachers love to see your pretty faces!

    Bang for the buck

    I'll begin this by telling future students that this is an affordable and respectable college. The teachers here are not only friendly as can be but they definitely know what they're talking about. With the courses being affordable and comfortable, I have honestly no complaints with the campus. The courses taught here are varied from nursing to funeral science. There are even a few four year degrees like criminology. Personally, being a business management student, the courses here make it easy to maintain a healthy grade point average and the workload isn't too overbearing. It's a perfect first time college experience.

    Am enjoying being here

    Overall, this is a wonderful college. It's laid back and it's small yet it's absolutely beautiful. The campus is classy and it's not too far away from home. I go to school three times a week and I love it. Taking a few morning classes and mixing them up with online classes really does the job. I couldn't be happier with my first college decision.

    Am learning a lot

    I can say that I am learning a lot more here at this small college than I did in high school. The teachers are well-educated in their fields and some of the teachers are actually friends of mine on facebook. They're there to help you anytime that's needed and they're more than willing to set up appointments with students to help anytime.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    if you are a non-traditional student this is definitely a college that you should look into.

    What to do for fun

    located between bull shoals lake and norfork lake most water based activities are available. the vada sheild community center offers a variety of different performances evething from rock and roll to ballet.

    Food and Dining

    there is a subway restaurant located roller hall.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms at asumh, the school is not large enough to have them.

    Academic Rigor

    plagiarism is strictly forbidden. you must do your own work and accept the grades you earn, there are no free rides.

    Tips for prospective students

    if you are looking for a small campus with one on one interaction look into asumh. located in mountain home, arkansas the campus is composed of friendly staff and students. i feel it is an excellent choice for a two year program.

    In three sentences

    generally speaking asumh is an excellent school for both non-traditional students and traditional students. they have a high focus on educational excellence as well as student needs. the staff are always available to assist students in their endeavors.

  • 05/03/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    5 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The campus it's self is beautiful. You can enjoy study time by the fountain or play friz bee on the green. They always have speakers in Gaston lobby, and with the addition of the Veda Shied there are many activities to enjoy.

    Food and Dining

    The subway is great. I love having a place to eat lunch on campus because it saves me from driving all over town looking for something and I can study between classes.

    Academic Rigor

    Some teachers are harder than others, just like any other college, but if you show up and listen, you'll learn what you need.

    Tips for prospective students

    Got to the lectures! That's the best way to learn, which is what your paying for. Recorders are very useful, invest in one.

    In three sentences

    ASUMH is a great school with smaller class sizes which means more one on one time with teachers. It is also close to where I live and since gas prices keep climbing, proximity is a must. You get alot of bang for your buck.

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    6 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is campus security.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of organizations to choose from.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for people who are wanting to return to school and cannot necessarily take classes in a classroom due to jobs. They offer many online classes.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is fairly low compared to other area schools.

    What to do for fun

    There are always community get togethers and a lot of organizations to choose from.

    Food and Dining

    There is a subway restaurant on campus as well as places to get other things like nachos and snack foods.

    Academic Rigor

    There are a lot of challenging classes, but I just wish there were more to choose from.

    Tips for prospective students

    Listen to what the advisors and staff have to say. They are very helpful and can help you with anything.

    In three sentences

    The admissions process is a breeze. Everyone is very helpful and seem genuinely interested in helping you get on the right track. The students are even helpful, which is very refreshing.

  • 07/11/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    7 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I don't know of any incidents ever occurring on campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    A couple of student organizations and mini-frats and sororities on campus. None of them are very outgoing.

    Great for these types of students

    Introverts who want to go to class, go home, pass, and move on.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    None to speak of.

    Bang for the buck

    Decent price, but the quality of education vs. what you pay is off.

    What to do for fun

    Go to the lakes. There's not really anything else in Mountain Home, and nothing on campus.

    Food and Dining

    A couple of reasonable quality restaurants in Mountain Home, but you will get tired of going to them all the time. Subway and gas station food/coffee on campus.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms to speak of.

    Academic Rigor

    Biology with Dr. Dry was a good, challenging class. The rest were nothing to write home about.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to continue your education beyond this school. Having an Associates' degree is not a huge advantage. The real benefit is paying less overall for your higher education.

    In three sentences

    Best to get in and get out quickly. In all honesty, not a fun or engaging experience. The price is right, much cheaper than taking state required core classes at a four-year institution.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Study

    Food and Dining

    Wonderful subway

    Dorm Life

    Unknown

    Tips for prospective students

    Always do your homework1

    In three sentences

    I find the university to be a great place to study my degree. They have a clean and well maintained buildings. The instructors are always willing to help if you need it.

  • 08/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are a lot of events that are held during the school year.

    Food and Dining

    Subway is the only dining located on this campus. There isn't much food choice through out the school but I think that it is okay considering it isn't a very big school. There are also vending machines in the Subway that offer a few more snack choices.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor isn't far off from what I'm used to. You are more on your own than high school but I think it shows the students that they need to take more responsibility. I do think that it is fair enough, though. Students can work ahead and take care of things on their free time so that is also a good thing.

    Tips for prospective students

    I think overall this is a great school and it can be useful when you're looking to save money. Universities aren't necessarily needed when just completing general education.

    In three sentences

    Arkansas State University-Mountain Home is a great college to start off with furthering your education. It provides a lot of opportunities and it can help you save money in the long run. I don't think that more courses to choose from would be a bad thing, though.

  • 08/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 15

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are plenty of clubs to join and they have different events that go on through the year like, concerts and other special events.

    Food and Dining

    They do have a Subway in their student center. There are many places to sit to eat or to even study when needed.

    Dorm Life

    This campus does not have any dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    The only tip I have would be to never be afraid to ask anyone for help.

    In three sentences

    Arkansas State University-Mountain Home is a great college. It has a wonderful campus, small campus, but my kind of campus. The teachers and everyone else are really nice and are edgar to help the students out in anyway they possibly can.

  • 11/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have campus Security that works very hard to keep a safe environment for all who enter.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have over 20 clubs for students to be involved in, and campus activities are going on weekly. It's a great way for us to stay involved.

    Great for these types of students

    ASUMH is appropriate for all types of students, both traditional and non-traditional.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have alot of campus events that promote community involvement.

    Bang for the buck

    ASUMH has changed my life in such a positive way by showing me how important it is to succeed. I plan to be there as a student and work study employee for a few more years.

    What to do for fun

    We have an awesome student lounge that's fully equipped with a large television. It also has a gaming system for students to relax when they aren't studying. The couch is very comfortable and it's a nice atmosphere all around.

    Food and Dining

    We have a Subway in our Student area. We also have vending machines and soda. Coffee is available at all times.

    Dorm Life

    We don't have dorms at ASUMH.

    Academic Rigor

    Our school is challenging in a very positive way. The study material has an even balance to enhance learning. The staff encourages us to excel in all ways.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work very hard and do your best in all areas. Enjoy your time and get to know your instructors. Allow your classmates and teachers to be your friend.

    In three sentences

    ASUMH campus is beautiful and fully equipped with an amazing faculty and staff group. I love the criminology department. Our recruiting and student services office is awesome!

  • 12/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always a security officer on campus and he is very nice. He really cares about everyone's safety.

    Clubs and Activities

    I'm apart of Circle K, a wonderful club to help orphans and I love it.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel I learn a lot more than what I'm paying for,that's for sure.

    What to do for fun

    There are many clubs you can become a member of. There are always activities going on. It's never a dull moment.

    Food and Dining

    Arkansas State University provides a subway restaurant, which i believe is very healthy. The atmosphere there is wonderful.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms here.

    Academic Rigor

    The way the instructors teach their course promotes student growth and their knowledge in many ways. They want the students to succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply for as many scholarships as possible. Do not skip any classes. Stay in contact with your instructors.

    In three sentences

    Arkansas State University Mountain Home is a very down to earth college. All the the instructors that I have had really seem to care about my education. This college strives for excellence

  • 05/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is one of the most important things.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's a lot of clubs and activities to keep you busy

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    They have many things going on campus. Concerts, fire works, and many other things

    What to do for fun

    Just about anything you would want to do you can do it

    Food and Dining

    Mountain Home offers all types of food. On campus there is a Subway.

    Dorm Life

    We don't have dorms so it is all off campus living

    Tips for prospective students

    I would strongly recommend this college to all who are serious about changing there lives for the better

    In three sentences

    Arkansas State University Mountain Home is a small and beautiful campus. All staff and employees go above and beyond to help each and every student.

  • 09/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety man is always around, I see him everywhere!

    Clubs and Activities

    Lots of clubs to be a part of!

    Great for these types of students

    First timers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Love the DO's and DONT's fashion show!

    Bang for the buck

    I Love this Place!

    What to do for fun

    There is always something going on, something for everyone.

    Food and Dining

    Got to love Subway!

    Dorm Life

    None

    Academic Rigor

    Great!

    Tips for prospective students

    Fill out fasfa as early as possible

    In three sentences

    Great teachers. Great learning atmosphere. Perfect location.

  • 01/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    In my experience security at the college is tight and organized. I feel so safe there that i actually take my nightly runs around the campus (in which there are always active security guards).

    Greek Life

    No greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is always an activity being planned or held by some organization somewhere on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    People looking for a serious but still laid back approach to their college degree. Great for first time students who need some adjusting before transferring to a 4 year Uni.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I cant think of any oddities.

    Bang for the buck

    While Arkansas State University - Mountain Home wont offer you the youthly over-hyped 'university experience' that many 4-year schools tout, this university will offer you an engaging place to start or finish your college career and is staffed by incredibly knowledgeable, pleasant people.

    What to do for fun

    Arkansas State University - Mountain Home offers a pretty amazing outdoors rental program, which offers outdoor equipment (canoes/kayaks, tents etc) to rent for free to any student interested. There are also many events held all year long by some of the several organizations that call the university their home.

    Food and Dining

    Arkansas State University - Mountain Home has only a Subway on campus. If you wish to have a more fulfilling lunch, you will have to bring it with you, or go elsewhere.

    Dorm Life

    As with most 2 year colleges, there are no dorms on or near this campus.

    Academic Rigor

    I have had decent experiences so far in my classes at Arkansas State University - Mountain Home. All of the professors i have studied under have been engaging and friendly, and seem to genuinely hope for your success academically.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to do most - if not all of the financial paperwork yourself. There is also no online registration, so for the best administration experience, be sure to have done your homework on what you intend on taking and when.

    In three sentences

    The campus is lovely. The staff is wonderfully friendly. The classes are well taught and engaging.