Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Arkansas Tech University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/27/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 out of 14 people found this review useful. 1 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Students looking for relatively small class sizes, rural area

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved on campus. This is a small community, so the best way to meet people and really enjoy your college experience would be to get in some organizations, sorority/fraternity, or other clubs.

  • 09/04/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People that like to learn and have fun at the same time!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get applied early!

    Bang for the buck

    It's a good school.

    Am enjoying being here

    If I could increase the number of stars more, I would. People at Tech are very friendly, and everyone makes you feel very welcome!

    Am learning a lot

    Even though I've only been a student here for a few weeks, I'm already very impressed with the classwork and the professors in general!

  • 09/22/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Always be energetic! lol =)

    Tips for prospective students

    Never procrastinate! lol =)

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I feel totally safe when I'm on campus. They have made many new security measures that make the campus even more safe. The campus police patrol almost constantly and they have added additional safety phones around campus. They will even escort you to your vehicle at night if you feel unsafe.

    Greek Life

    There are many sororities and fraternities throughout ATU.

    Great for these types of students

    Best for international and non-traditional students because of the cost.

    Bang for the buck

    Most of the professors at ATU have their doctorate and when I leave at the end of the semester I really feel as if I have learned something. The teachers make learning interesting instead of just nap time for the students!!

    What to do for fun

    They have numerous activities set up by the Student Activity Board such as movie nights, concerts and of course homecoming activities. Students can been seen almost all year long enjoying outdoor activities like frisbee golf, bike riding and tossing around footballs and baseballs. All of which are free with your student id.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria isn't the greatest but the Bas-Tech food court is amazing! You don't just have boring cafeteria food but more options plus they have a take out lunch and a Starbucks!! Which makes it convenient and perfect for finals!!

    Dorm Life

    I give dorm life a 3 out of 5 just because I didn't stay in a dorm myself but from everyone I have talked to they really enjoy the dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are tough but the teachers are very helpful. The library aids are very knowledgable when helping you find a book or article for your classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    My best tip for any student attending ATU would be to buy a good pair of rain boots, the campus tends to flood when it rains. Also, get to know some of the upperclassmen in your field of study that way you can find out what kind of classes you need and what the teachers are like.

    In three sentences

    Arkansas Tech University in my book rates about 7 out of 10. The campus and people are great and classes are small, the teachers really get to know their students. However, the accessibility features are outdated and need improving.

  • 06/15/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The music department is sensational. We have a great computer science department with some outrageously intelligent teachers. The business faculty seem to know what they are about and the Golden Suns girls basketball team went to some awesome championship game this year. I think we have a place for just about everyone!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you don't know something, ask. Anyone walking on the sidewalk is usually friendly in their own way. Do not expect college to be like high school. Be open to new people and new ideas.

    Am enjoying being here

    Although Russellville lacks a huge amount of entertainment, Tech keeps me entertained. There are annual inter-mural sports and TechFit (a gym) that keeps any athlete moving. The Student Activities Board (SAB) gets recently aired movies from the movie theater to play for students for free every month. They also put on a lot of random parties and give away a TON of free stuff.

    Am learning a lot

    Every teacher I have come across knows what their plan for teaching. As long as the student receives the information, they should learn more than they ever expected to.

  • 07/11/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I think that Tech has something for everyone. I am definitely glad that I chose to attend this school.

  • 08/22/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you come to college focused and not wanting to go out and party whenever they have a party. It may be okay for the first week, but every weekend wouldn't be a good idea.

    Am enjoying being here

    I think it may be good for those that are from out of town depending on what they like to do.

    Am learning a lot

    It's easy to learn something while on campus all you have to do is pay attention to your professors. Not only that, but you can learn something from the students that are on campus.

  • 09/08/2011

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Check out all the school has to offer. There is stuff for the jocks as well as the artsy students. I loved attending both football games and the theater.

    Did enjoy being here

    The environment on campus is both friendly and fun. I can't say that I have had a better experience on a campus before and I have attended quite a few colleges.

    Did learn a lot

    The professors made learning interesting. I enjoyed going to all of my classes, honest.

  • 03/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there have been many instances on campus where safety has been an issue. but over the past two semesters campus has put in more lighting, removed bushes close to buildings, as well as putting emergency calling stations on the outskirts of campus and around many of the less populated areas to ensure the most safety for the students who attend the university.

    Food and Dining

    the cafeteria on campus does have a lot of varieties of food including a cereal bar, salad bar, pizza, soup, sandwitches, and many more. it does sometimes get repetitive and can get old fast, but the meal plan is a must for college students on a budget. there is the food court on campus as well that has starbucks, chick-fil-a, byob, chinese, and which witch. all are very delicious and my favorite place to hang out and do homework in between classes!

    Dorm Life

    living on campus really isn't as bad as everyone says it is. there are many sides you will only know if you have actually lived it. meeting many people, as well as having friendships that will last you a life time. there are a variety of students that live in dorms, so many in fact that just within my first two years of dorm life i have met people from uganda, africa, europe, china, japan, arabia and so many more. many people are nice and considerate. just like any places of living.. there are some people who don't get along, but for the most part dorm life is exceptional!!

    Academic Rigor

    academics is, of course, a high priority for the university. there are many colleges on the campus that are the only accredited programs in the state of arkansas. one of the biggest is the parks, recreation, and hospitality administration.

    Tips for prospective students

    join as many curicular activities as you can. meeting people, or future business partners,is one of the best parts about college.

  • 04/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    The food is great. We have regulars for people who do not like change. But then you all have the specials every day.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are a great place to stay. So you can get to class on time or even know what is going on around campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Arkansas Tech is very stand strong on their teaching. And that is wonderful. Because it makes you want to work hard for your education.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Any one can be comfortable here, even older generations.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good and portions are large for the price you pay.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live in a dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Very compatible with other schools in the area

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend talking to financial aid and an advisor if you have any problems what so ever. They are very helpful with the overwhelming process of registering.

    In three sentences

    ATU-Ozark Campus is an awesome school for people who have been out of school for years and decide to go back. They are very helpful and friendly. They offer many choices of careers that you can earn a degree for.

  • 07/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public Safety will give you a ticket almost 100% of the time if you are not parked in the right color

    Greek Life

    GO GREEK!!!!! Do it!! It is so worth it!! It's not just paying for friends like people think. You gain life long friends, you learn so many new things. And you help the community.

    Clubs and Activities

    So many!!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The library

    Bang for the buck

    Cheap school!!!!

    What to do for fun

    Hang out, go to sporting events

    Food and Dining

    Can you say...Chick Fil A

    Dorm Life

    Get active and involved in your dorm life

    Academic Rigor

    Its pretty easy

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring rain boots because when it rains it floods

    In three sentences

    Sports teams that win!!! Professors that care! Small home town campus!!!

  • 05/25/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are flashing blue lights at every corner in case of an a emergency which doesn't happen hardly ever. It's a great place to be. You'll always feel safe!

    Greek Life

    Lots of Greek life! For sure check it out! All the activities are great, but your GPA will be better too. They host study parties and study hour every day.

    Clubs and Activities

    The activities are endless! They have quidditch like on Harry Potter and also some kind of zombie game they do. Maybe strange, but hey something different.

    Great for these types of students

    Any type of student. Especially someone who loves the outdoors. Also people who possibly want to go for Greek life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Sorry don't think there are any doesn't mean the campus isn't fun. Although its rumored one building is haunted but it's a floor not really used any more.

    Bang for the buck

    For the campus and the learning you will establish here you for sure get every penny worth.

    What to do for fun

    Anything and everything you can do for fun. The lake is right near by as well as hiking and walking spots. The movie theater is around the corner, but you don't even have to leave if you want. Doc Bryan building shows movies on a regular bases for tech students for free!

    Food and Dining

    With everything you could ever need to relax with in the lounge right before a big test you'll get it where of course all the foods at. Chick fil a, Chinese, and a typical Ala cart line you'll get whatever you want. There are even soft furniture to kick back on.

    Dorm Life

    I personally don't know much about dorm life but people I know seen to love it. Yes some of them party and that may be for you. Something to really consider is the great study buddies you can have to cram for those exams.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic life is astounding! With all the wonderful and quirky teachers you'll be happy to get a start in learning here.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go look at the campus! Once you have set eyes on all the wondrous nature that wraps you up you'll want to stay. Not to mention the grand classrooms where you will fill with knowledge. A great importance to come and at a cheaper price.

    In three sentences

    Arkansas tech has the most beautiful campus you could see. Filled with over growing trees to study under and the unique architecture of the buildings. The class rooms are smaller and more likable also.

  • 01/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Not been an issue yet

    Clubs and Activities

    A Great Christians Club

    Bang for the buck

    Great education for the money.

    What to do for fun

    ATU has a Rec. room and other activities to pass free time

    Food and Dining

    Good

    Dorm Life

    Good

    Academic Rigor

    Steady

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't wait till the last minute. Use your advisers wisely.

    In three sentences

    ATU offers a great place to obtain a education. ATU offers a wide range of degrees. ATU has great programs to help those that are having trouble with classes.

  • 01/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 person found this inaccurate. 15 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    For women it is not all that safe.

    Greek Life

    I was a Phi Mu,but the direction that the organization has taken is for the worst.

    Bang for the buck

    There are problems with campus security they are not very helpful. I have heard of 3 different attacks on girls and they have done nothing to help.

    What to do for fun

    There is little as far as entertainment, but that is a good thing. That means less distractions.

    Food and Dining

    The food in the area is good. There are a lot of options.

    Dorm Life

    I never lived in a dorm.

    Tips for prospective students

    New students must always go to class. Always keep in contact with your professors; they are very helpful.

    In three sentences

    The professors are very helpful. The president of the school does not like the Theater department and they are some problems in that area. the campus grows every year.

  • 01/23/2012

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    16 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    pretty safe

    What to do for fun

    play ball or participate in other activities.

    Food and Dining

    pretty good

    Dorm Life

    pretty good

    Academic Rigor

    on a scale of 1-5, ar tech receives a 3.5.

    Tips for prospective students

    study hard and you will graduate.

    In three sentences

    good enviroment for college students.

  • 02/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    good food and dining.

    Dorm Life

    i do not know. live off campus.

    Academic Rigor

    great

    Tips for prospective students

    do not do your general education classes first.

    In three sentences

    the teachers are nice and courteous. they love to help out side of class. the university is not to hard and not to easy.

  • 02/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    all!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    several places with space around campus

    What to do for fun

    there are religious organizations' events, student activities board events, and school events all the time!

    Tips for prospective students

    freshmen may get good rooms, but sophomores get the worst rooms. apply for scholarships- early!

    In three sentences

    i have loved going to tech. there are many opportunities and i have grown as a person and student. it was one of the best decisions of my life.

  • 03/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I go fishing, movies, and volunteer for the Red Cross on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is good and there are alot of choices to dine in close to campus.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is fun and exciting.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are challenging but the faculty is more than willing to help when needed.

    Tips for prospective students

    Check out Arkansas Tech. You will be glad you did.

    In three sentences

    Arkansas Tech is a great university. It has many opportunities here, that are not offered at other universities. The school as a great faculty and staff willing to help in every way.

  • 04/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Techinical classes are a lot cheaper than the general ed.

    What to do for fun

    Fire Dept. Volunteer

    Food and Dining

    Unknown.

    Dorm Life

    Unknown.

    Academic Rigor

    Just about right.

    Tips for prospective students

    Research which teacher and classes you take.

    In three sentences

    Decent classes depending on your teachers.

  • 04/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    good

    In three sentences

    Wonderful school to attend. Friendly environment. Great and wonderful staff.

  • 04/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can play basketball in the Hull Building. Really its pretty much up to you to create your own fun.

  • 05/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    These guys are helpful and friendly if your respectful towards them. I have personally had to call them now on more than one occasion for a variety of reasons from locking my keys in the car to needing a jump for a dead battery.

    What to do for fun

    My children and I bbq, swim, read, play baseball, and do different arts-n-crafts projects. I personally like to get a little fishing and hunting done when I can as well.

    Food and Dining

    Expensive!

    Tips for prospective students

    Spend time learning the library and dress professional if you want to be taken seriously by your peers. If you do not take your own education seriously the educators will not take you seriously. The point is if you want to be treated like a respectful adult then act and dress the part.

    In three sentences

    Tech has a friendly environment as long as you are friendly, and has plenty of activities to attend and enjoy. The parking can be confussing however, just make sure you look for the small signs that let you know if your tag can park there or not.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    24 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Make up your own fun.

    Food and Dining

    There are a lot of options when it comes to where to eat.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are really nice.

    Academic Rigor

    All the classes seem really interesting.

  • 05/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can go off campus to the movies, bowling, shopping, and bike riding!

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! Getting involved will help you make friends and have a better college experience. Be yourself!

    In three sentences

    Arkansas Tech University is the best! I have never had a bad experience. Go Wonderboys and Golden Suns!

  • 05/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The Student Activities Board is always throwing fun things around campus as well as the Multi-Cultural Students Committee. Unfortunately, I have not been able to enjoy most fun things on campus due to working two jobs.

    Food and Dining

    BazTech and Chambers have actually a great selection of food at good prices. I love to eat at Which Wich, they have the best sandwiches! Even if you aren't going to one of them to eat, they are a good place to hang out with friends during breaks.

    Dorm Life

    I personally do not live in a dorm, but I have been in many of the dorms at Tech. Honestly, there are only a few nice ones such as Nutt, but they come at reasonable rates and the RAs are always very nice.

    Academic Rigor

    I believe the classes offered at Tech are reasonably challenging. You learn a lot without an overload and it being too difficult. They pace things just right, so it's easy to grow knowledgeable and also balance a busy lifestyle.

    In three sentences

    Arkansas Tech is perfect for local students looking to stay in the area, or knock out one of many degrees. Staff, students, and other personnel are all very helpful and goal-oriented. Personally, I feel very comfortable and at home with Tech; however, it's not a school for students that want to make a big name for themselves.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    SAB or student activites board usually plays a movie every week or every other week.

    Tips for prospective students

    Complete the assignments given to you quickly so that you can enjoy all the activities that various groups have going on.

    In three sentences

    Arkansas Tech University is a affordable college that allows me to pursue my intended major. The staff who work there are very professional and easy to talk to. It is also very open to international students/

  • 09/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    We have a on campus officer and the campus is small so thqat helps. It is also very well lit if you are there in the evening.

    Greek Life

    I think PBL is the only one at Ozark campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    Arkansas Tech has a lot of different clubs to get involved in if you have time for it. PBL, student government, chancellors commission, and many others I can't remember!

    Great for these types of students

    Great for alternative students. I think the majority of the poulation is alternative rather than traditional.

    Bang for the buck

    The price for tuition is cheaper than many other colleges and is one of the reason I chose to go there.

    What to do for fun

    I attend the Ozark campus so there are not too many things to do for fun.

    Food and Dining

    Good food at a reasonable price!

    Academic Rigor

    I think the courses are just right for learning what you need to know in todays world and job market.

    Tips for prospective students

    Arkansas Tech has knowledgeable, friendly advisors that will be glad to help you plan your future education.

    In three sentences

    Is a great place to learn. Is a great place to make new friends. Is a great place to start or finish your education.

  • 09/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety around campus is great. There are many public safety alarms located all around campus and for me its good to know there is an alarm always near by. Also the town itself is already a good community, so it is nice to know the people here are friendly and a threat for your own safety is always the last thing on your mind.

    Greek Life

    I am not Greek myself, nut the Greek life here is very good, I know many people who are in the Greek Life and all of them are fun, helpful, and great to be around. They also are the spearheads to many of the cool stuff around here.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many diverse clubs and activities here. It can range from fishing to chess, or CSU to Ultimate Frisbee. Everyone should be able to find a club or activity to do here.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student who likes get involved or even just hang out with friends while pursuing a good education and degree.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a very little cost college here especially if you are local.

    What to do for fun

    There is almost always something going on around campus. There are parties, school board activities, and many places to just hang out with friends.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is great with a lot of variety and if that does not suit you we have other fine places to grab a bite to eat. Like Baz-Tech in the middle of campus that has many recognized chains such as Chick-fil-A and Starbucks.

    Dorm Life

    All the dorms here are good especially the people in it. In my hall, they always have something going on and truly wants everyone in the dorm and even around campus to join in.

    Academic Rigor

    There are many courses to choose from in every major field you can think of. The professors are people who truly want you to learn and succeed in class.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always try to get involved in something, anything so you can meet new people, make friends, and have a great college experience.

    In three sentences

    Arkansas Tech is a great college to pursue higher education. It is very diverse in many subjects and activities. It is definitely a fast growing, attractive college that is awesome and will only get better as you get involved.

  • 09/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Greek life is where most of the parties are per say but there is a ton of other things to do as well. Campus clubs always have socials and free food going on! The student activities board also offers free movies every Thursday and tons of fun parties and free food too!

    Food and Dining

    Breakfast, lunch, and dinner and you never have to cook? That's what I'm talking about! Tech has pretty good meals and they are fresh. The social life in the cafeteria isn't too shabby either!

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are always going to be small and stuffy of course! Arkansas Tech has the usual tradition of Freshman getting the oldest dorms and Seniors getting the best or the campus apartments. They aren't the fanciest but they are safe and there is always a ton of fun and activities going on!

    Academic Rigor

    Freshman year is a repeat of high school basically, giving you Algebra and English and History. Sophomore and Junior year get a little tougher with more in depth assignments. Your Senior year you will be pushed to maximize your success and help you land your dream job!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to dot your I's and cross your T's when it comes to financial aid, registration, and any other paperwork you need to fill out. Get involved with the clubs, organizations, and even the cheesy welcome week; You will meet some of the best people while you are at college. Don't forget to try to classes and experience new cultures; Never limit yourself on what you can do!

    In three sentences

    Arkansas Tech University is a relaxed school but it very demanding at the same time. They expect excellence from each student and push everyone to give the best of their abilities. It is a medium sized campus with beautiful landscaping and picturesque older buildings with a few twists of new added in.

  • 10/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are street-light type objects all around that have cameras on them. If you are being pursued, simply run to one and press the button. The police will be called there and a picture will be taken of anyone near it. Campus police roam the roads of the university at all hours of the day. Even the graveyard hours.

    Clubs and Activities

    Close to the beginning of the semester there is a campus activity where all of the clubs present themselves to the students who can then join or learn more about the clubs themselves. There are a lot of clubs around, most have meetings or activities every week or semi-weekly.

    Great for these types of students

    Those interested in getting a further education than high-school, interested in technology, arts, etc.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The main thing is the zombie walk. Tech has been doing this for a few years. Anyone interested in it will gather with the rest of the sponsors of it, and will go to a public place dressed as a zombie and pretend to be one.

    Bang for the buck

    Tech is a great decision for those living in Arkansas. The place is not too big, but is large enough that you never have any problems finding something to do. For those who don't like the campus owned food places, the campus itself is right across from several restaurants and fast food places for those on a budget or even seeking a job close to the school.

    What to do for fun

    Introduce yourself to your dorm-mates, there are some good lifelong potential friends there. Join a club! There's something for everyone. Go to campus sponsored events. Go out of your way to find others who share your interests.

    Food and Dining

    Other than being stuck to the meal plan you picked at the beginning of the semester, it isn't too bad. There are a few places to get food on campus. The main caffeteria is great and has great food, but you can only go in 1-3 times a day, they are also closed on weekends except for one hour periods twice a day. The other places are much better, but you have to either have a meal plan to accommodate eating there, or have extra money to spend.

    Dorm Life

    There are several dorms to choose from upon applying. Some are obviously better than others, but even the lowest tiered ones aren't too bad. The RA's are easy to get along with, and sometimes go out of their ways to introduce themselves to everyone.

    Academic Rigor

    It is difficult, much like any college would be. The difference is that there are tutoring sessions freely available to anyone who needs help here, and it isn't hard to find peers to help as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't come with a high-school mindset. Do all of your work. Don't get behind. Do not procrastinate. Remember that school always comes first.

    In three sentences

    The professors are helpful and not too hard on students. There is a wide range of class choices; something for everyone. Upon moving in, you are given mentors who you can come to with any problem and they will help you through it.

  • 10/06/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The college offers many opportunities for fun and games. There are many different clubs and organizations on campus, along with multiple fraternities and sororities.

    Food and Dining

    The Arkansas Tech Campus has a cafeteria with many varieties of meals to choose from. There is also a Chick-Fil-A, Build Your Own Burger, Japanese choice, and Which-Wich sandwich shop located in the Baswell Techinary as well as a convenience store in the Doc Bryan building.

    Academic Rigor

    The college offers exceptionally well Academic opportunities at a great price!

    Tips for prospective students

    Always read textbooks and notes given by the professors. Studying outside of class is expected in order to perform well on exams. Also, keeping up with the current material and not falling behind is very important.

    In three sentences

    Arkansas Tech University is a respectable school with great opportunities. The staff are well educated and teach on a basis of knowledge. The college has numerous degree options and terrific schedule options as well.

  • 10/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    At the Ozark campus, there is an awesome cafe to get some great food from! They serve all kinds of food, including breaded chicken strips, burgers and fries, fried mushrooms, cheese sticks, and a pretty good selection of breakfast food, as well. The people serving the food are really nice, as well!

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms at Arkansas Tech University, Ozark campus.

    Academic Rigor

    The work isn't easy, but if you don't understand, the teachers will work with you and tell you where to go to try and understand. there is a great math tutor at the college, and he is typically around the college at great times. Just ask around and you'll find him.

    Tips for prospective students

    Have the financial aid adviser fill out your fafsa every year! Don't just decide to do it yourself a year, or you might just mess up and get less than your supposed to in financial aid. And, memorize what times which parking lots are empty or full, so your not driving around for a spot for five minutes.

    In three sentences

    The campus I attend is the Ozark campus, and I love it there! It is a great college, and the teachers really care about your success! It's a small town, but it's definitely a college worth attending!

  • 10/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    34 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    ATU's tuition isn't too expensive (about $6000 or so a semester), and it's a great college. The campus is beautiful, the faculty is awesome, the food is great, and the dorms are nice. If you can get scholarships, its even less money out of pocket for you. Definitely worth the money.

    What to do for fun

    There are free movies pretty often on campus. During October, there are lots of Halloween activities. SAB sponsors lots of free events on campus throughout the year.

    Food and Dining

    Chambers, the cafeteria, has so many food options. During lunch, you have all of the usual options, plus a guy in a side room that makes burritos or stir-fry, depending on the day. The side room also plays music during lunch. There are also options like Chic-fil-a and Which Wich on campus.

    Dorm Life

    Living in a dorm gives you an opportunity to meet new people. The laundry is free. Depending on which dorm you live in, you may have a community style bathroom which can really stink. Overall, the dorm life is great though.

    Academic Rigor

    I have homework almost every night, and if I don't, I'm reading or studying something for the classes I have the next day. As long as you go to class, read the chapters, and study, it isn't hard. Most of the faculty here is great about helping students when they don't understand something in class or need extra help.

    Tips for prospective students

    Bring an ethernet cable because most of the dorms either don't have wifi or have really bad wifi connections. Don't be afraid to try new things while you're here; college is supposed to be the best time of your life. Try to meet new people, especially people in a class you're struggling with. Don't buy your books from the bookstore.

    In three sentences

    The faculty, for the most part, is wonderful and always willing to help you out with anything you need. The campus is beautiful. There are several opportunities to meet new people, especially during your first few days as a freshman.

  • 11/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    35 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Paint wars Homecoming week Zombies verses Humans

    What to do for fun

    SAB other wise known as Student Activities Board host pleanty of free events though out each semester to keep the stress off and the fun rolling!

    Dorm Life

    Depending on which dorm you get (Most of them are nice) you will absolutely love. Lots of things that happen within a dorm that will make cohesion like movie nights or doing some random art project!

    Academic Rigor

    Great courses at ATU!! We have tons of professions that anyone would want to go into!!

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Dont be shy!! Get out there and meet new people! 2. Dont just stick to eating at the caf or baztech, on campus churches fund meals at different times in the week! 3. Dont worry to much on room mates or suit mates most college people are respectable of your space as well as their own! They all are wanting to make friends just like you! 4. GET INVOLVED 5.Plenty of free entertainment for your enjoyment so no need to spend any more money than you have to!

    In three sentences

    It is a wonderful community involved school. Lots of new people willing to make new friends. Tons of academic and extra circular activities that anyone can participate in on Tech Campus!

  • 11/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    36 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is at its best at Arkansas Tech University. It is by far the safest campus that I have ever attented or looked in to.

    Greek Life

    I do not participate in greek life so I don't know much about it.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are several clubs and all of these clubs put on activities. People can even start their own club if they want. It's really simple.

    Great for these types of students

    This university is great for students who really want to excel in their education.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    One very unsual event that takes place is a Zombie war. I do not participate in it, but its a real game where statistics are actually kept and posted online.

    Bang for the buck

    Arkansas Tech is slightly expensive. As far as academics the price is alright, but once living and meal plan is added in it gets a little pricey. When it comes to the price for education, one is garuanteed to get more than what was paid for, but I believe the meal plan and living is a little to much money.

    What to do for fun

    The clubs and different organizations and Arkansas Tech always have fun things to do! There is dances, paint wars, intramurals, festivals, and all sorts of other things to do!

    Food and Dining

    The food is great! There are so many options! There is a Which wich, Yan can cook, Chic-fil-a, B.Y.O.B., Starbucks, the cafeteria, and a lunch to go place.

    Dorm Life

    There are always activities that the dorms put on. There is hardly ever a dull moment and I haven't met a single rude person at the college.

    Academic Rigor

    Arkansas Tech is a great with it's academics!

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Make sure to have an open mind and do not be afraid to be outspoken and make friends. 2. Study more than ever, but do not stress out. It is very easy to do.

    In three sentences

    Arkansas Tech University is an incredibe college for academics. I am in the art program here and it is a very welcoming enviroment and a great place to learn. With all of the positive things that Arkansas Tech University offers I will rate this college a four out of five.

  • 12/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    37 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for students wanting to gain there degree online.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a little pricier than some other colleges but the price is well worth the convenience!

    What to do for fun

    Study :)

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent! You really have to learn the material to pass the classes which I think is really Important!

    Tips for prospective students

    Contact Ruby Knoch

    In three sentences

    Awesome School! Great Advisors! Easy Enrollment!

  • 12/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    38 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe, there are 24/7 public safety officers on duty. There are also telephone booths of sorts all around campus so if you feel threatened or in danger you can push a button and the public safety officers will be there shortly.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and activities on campus, whether you like to fish, or make goody bags for football players, there is a place for you at Tech.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who like being in smaller classrooms with on average about 25 students or less in a class. Student who want to go away from their hometowns for college. Students who enjoy making new friends.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Every time we have a home football game the band plays across the campus before making their way to the football field.

    Bang for the buck

    For the most part you get exactly what you pay for. A good education and decent housing. The only part that could be better is the food aspect. It is required to have a meal plan if you live on campus and the cheapest one is 1,189 dollars a semester. And that price would be fair if the food was up to par everyday.

    What to do for fun

    There is always something fun going on at Tech. The Student Activities Board, SAB, usually does something every week that caters to the student, whether it be a paint war, watching a new movie that has come out, or playing a nice game or Humans Vs. Zombies.

    Food and Dining

    At Tech, we have a cafeteria that has its ups and downs. Some days the food is good, some days it's less then desirable. We also have a food court with 4 different choices to eat at. The dining aspect is good, the tables are always clean and there isn't random trash being left behind.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is good, Tech is and old school so many of the Halls are to, but there are always renovations being done. The RA staff is usually pretty good about making sure the hall is being kept clean and maintained.

    Academic Rigor

    The teachers are good about not asking way to much from you, and understand that each student has multiple courses and will have homework in each class. Not to say that they don't make you work, because you do, but in my experience all my teachers give you adequate time to turn in a complete assignments.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not skip class, many teachers factor in participation and attendance into the grade that they give you. Skipping a couple of days could be the difference between getting an A or B.

    In three sentences

    Arkansas Tech University has a great atmosphere. The faculty and staff work hard to make sure that the incoming freshman feel at home, since most are from out of town. The campus is beautiful and easy to navigate, it does not take long to learn all the building,

  • 01/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    39 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Arkansas Tech is great for small town people.

    What to do for fun

    Going to campus events is a really fun thing to do because of the fact that the people here are great!!!

    Tips for prospective students

    I would advise all prospective students to join organizations and to not procrastinate in work that they do here. Living on campus is also a good idea to get to know people.

    In three sentences

    Arkansas Tech is great for students who like small class environments. Teachers really take the time to get to know their students and really care if their students pass or not. Tech is also a great place to get to know new people at.

  • 02/18/2013

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    40 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    One of the safest campuses I've seen yet. State of the art cameras and alert systems all over the campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you've researched the campus life. Check for things you're interested in outside the campus as well.

    In three sentences

    Good school campus and still growing.

  • 02/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    41 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The campus has many things going on at once like SAB with movie night, or some other program with their activities.

    Food and Dining

    You can eat at the cafe and they have good food from time to time. Or you can eat at this place called baz-tech which has restaurants like Chick-Fil-A.

    Dorm Life

    All dorms are different, and they all have or try to have a sense of community.

    Academic Rigor

    Tech has many majors and minor you can go for. The teachers are helpful if you ask for help.

    In three sentences

    The campus is a nice environment. The classes are smaller than other universities. The teacher help you if you ask.

  • 04/10/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    42 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    If you ever feel in trouble they have emergency boxes to call campus security

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs and activities. Even if you dont like that sort of thing, they have something for everyone

    Food and Dining

    They have so many things to choose from

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are a little small for freshmen but its only one year.

    Academic Rigor

    Awesome place to go

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early and take a tour!

    In three sentences

    When taking my tour everyone was friendly. Its a smaller campus and easy to get around. The people there are very helpful.

  • 04/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    43 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    If your going to eat out of campus take your Student ID with you!!!!! MAJOR DISCOUNTS!!!

    What to do for fun

    Everything!!! like i said the have events 24/7. there is stuff to do out of campus. Bowling, pool, movies, ect.

    Food and Dining

    THEIR CAFATERIRA IS AMAZING!!!!!! not only is the food great but you get the buffet breakfast, lunch, AND dinner. but if you want something on hte fly they have a little food court place called Baz-tech and they have a campus stop and go in Doc Bryant. You'll never go hungery!!!!

    Dorm Life

    Ok so most of the dorms are legit getto. no lie. Nutt is the newest building and one of the nicest. If you've got money to spare, get into the Nutt house because you'll get plenty of leg room even with a roommate. NUTT!!!

    Academic Rigor

    Tech's got a little bit of everything here. Some Courses are challeneging. What makes the difference is who's teaching the course. keep that in mind.

    Tips for prospective students

    That first semester is hell because you're having to transition from having your hand held through most of your life to suddenly being on your own. No one here is going to call the shots to your personal and academic life, it's all on you kid!!!

    In three sentences

    Great students AND staff, so helpful and kind!!! The canpus is a decent size, nothing too vast or too small. Events going like 24/7!!

  • 05/09/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    44 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have these pole things EVERYWHERE that insure, with the push of button, help will come, and the campus police are always patrolling.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a LOT of clubs. If you like something there's probably a club full of people who enjoy it too.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Doc Bryan, you can get a pizza for a meal swipe there and play pool or ping pong while you're at it. The Hindsman Bell tower is where a lot of events tend to happen.

    What to do for fun

    Oh there's lots. They always have intramural sports games going on. You can see people playing frisbee or Quidditch. S.A.B likes to have things going on for students to do. There's a bowling alley, theatre, skating rink, public pool, and more nearby in town.

    Food and Dining

    There's Baztech where you can get Asian food, Chik-fil-a, Which Which, BYOB (Bring Your Own Burger), and Starbucks. So if you don't like the Cafeteria food. . .

    Dorm Life

    It has it's ups and downs. Just depends on who you get for a roommate, but I suggest living in a dorm. They always have something going on to help you get to know the rest of the people in the dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    Challenging, unless you really like the subject, then you probably won't have to try so hard. The professors are all willing to help you out.

    Tips for prospective students

    STUDY, It's not high-school.

    In three sentences

    Arkansas Tech isn't incredibly big, but it's not small either. It's decent sized. It's also cheaper than most while having nationally known professors. Everyone's very helpful. All you have to do is ask.

  • 05/15/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    45 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are emergency phone station throughout campus; I never had to use one, but I like the fact they are there just in case.

    What to do for fun

    Most of my time at Arkansas Tech, I spent driving back and forth to Russellville because I lived an hour away except during one year of school. While in Russellville, my friends and I went to Front Street Grill & Bar (across the river in Dardanelle), the movies, and one of our friend's house. There are some very nice hiking and running places around Russellville and lots of water around.

    Food and Dining

    I was a hospitality major while at ATU so the food and dining was always delicious at Williamson Hall. I never ate in the cafe, but there is a great burger place (with a veggie burger), a which wich, and Chik-fil-A in a newer building on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I cannot rate this; I did not nor have I ever lived in a dorm, however, off campus housing is close and pretty standard. I was required to give this a star rating and since i was unable to give a legitimate review I chose one star.

    Academic Rigor

    I learned a lot while obtaining my bachelor's degree in hospitality while at ATU, but my professors also helped me learn about myself.

    Tips for prospective students

    When a professor offers open door office hours, take that opportunity and do not neglect the chance to learn more about your studies and to ask questions.

    In three sentences

    ATU is a beautiful campus. It is a close-knit community type of school. It is affordable.

  • 05/30/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    46 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    A very important part to a good college is the feeling of safety. Arkansas Tech has a very good Public Safety program that allows all students to feel comfortable when walking across campus even late at night. The officers patrol all day and evening, with students at the office to take calls and questions. That does not mean you abandon all caution, be ready to defend yourself at all times, especially women. Be wary, be confident, and be calm. Tech is a very safe campus, and I feel comfortable most times on my own.

    Greek Life

    Among the numerous groups and clubs at Tech, there is also the Greek life. I am not personally in any sororities, but I have heard many positive things about the groups. They are so close-knit it feels like family by the end of the year. Many groups do activities throughout the year and make appearances to every sporting event. Greek life is very supportive of Tech and its members. Feel free to try one out at the Involvement fair at the beginning of the year.

    Clubs and Activities

    We have many clubs and activities at Tech, most that are low-cost or free to students. There is plenty of clubs that I cannot name, but a few stick out such as: the Go Bold camps for freshman, SAB group, the Student Life program. All of these programs are mostly free to all students and are solely to brighten your college experience. I encourage all freshmen to attend the whole orientation week, for It has multiple activates and involvement fairs that help you to start mixing with new people and understandings. It is well worth it.

    Great for these types of students

    Arkansas Tech is great for all and every type of student. From every walk of life, every religion, every orientation, and every race are welcome to connect. Our international program is wonderful and allows deeper connections between languages or cultures. You forge wonderful relationships with so many different people that it is a great experience that you will hold dear for the rest of your life.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There a few traditions within Tech that I am sure most colleges have, like a homecoming parade or holiday events, but there are a few unique to Arkansas Tech. Like the tradition to silly string the whole campus on April fools day, or dressing up for costume contests in October. Many traditions can only be shared with personal experience, so why not come find out for yourself?

    Bang for the buck

    Being a college, Tech is of course expensive, but the programs within do their best to ensure the students have a great experience without draining their wallets. Programs such as SAB put forth events almost weekly for free to all students. Movies, holiday events, giveaways, auctions, and activities are available for all to participate and have a great time throughout the school year. So despite the actual tuition and fees within, Tech is good for your wallet.

    What to do for fun

    There is plenty to do for fun at Tech. Outside of classes and work, you can either relax in a friends room or your own residence hall lobby. If the weather is great, walk down campus to the Techtionary to meet up with friends and socialize, or stay outside to throw a Frisbee in the grass. If campus is still too stuffy, you can journey off-campus to one of the many parks or fields for some fun in the sun. You can go to the lake to swim, go fishing or one of the athletic fields to practice. There is plenty on, and off-campus to entertain yourself in your free time.

    Food and Dining

    Arkansas Tech has several dining options for you throughout the year. There is the food court area called â??Baz-Techâ??, the campus cafeteria, which also has a to-go counter, and a small convenience store in Doc Bryan called â??Docâ??s Place.â?? Baz-Tech uses DCB, but other than being slightly expensive, it is delicious food and a great change of taste from ramen cups. Docâ??s Place has more choices for DCB, but the highlight is that it serves pizza and a drink for one swipe of your Tech ID. This and the cafeteria carry-out counter are great for to-go meals between classes. If all the on-campus places get old, then you can always walk off-campus to McDonalds or Taco Bell for late-night fun with your friends.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life at Tech is over all quite excellent; most of the dorms are very nice and well kept. All community bathrooms are cleaned daily by janitors, or in the suites you can share cleaning responsibilities with three other people. The few private dorm rooms are wonderful, but the most expensive to live in. Despite the smaller rooms in Tucker or Critz, they are still decent rooms. All are clean (if it stays that way, is up to you), have storage spaces, and desks to work upon. I always look forward to living in one of Techâ??s residence halls for another year.

    Academic Rigor

    Arkansas Tech is a well-balanced college for academic goals. Teachers and classes expect the best from their students, but also recognize the need to have fun along the way. Each class presents the material in a fun way that most students can relate to in a way that will not put you to sleep.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not procrastinate...too much. It will happen, but motivate yourself to get the work done and you will feel much better when grades come out later. Make sure you also balance relaxing and socializing with alone time to focus on your work.

    In three sentences

    This college is an invigorating, creative experience for any student fresh on their own and away from home. Arkansas Tech is beautiful, motivating and a perfect environment to blossom as a young adult and into your educational career. As a third-generation student from Tech, I fully encourage students to experience this college, for the memories and friends are worth it.

  • 05/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    47 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always on top of things, 24/7

    Greek Life

    Excellent if you choose the right group of people!

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many to list!

    Great for these types of students

    Small hometown, simple, dedicated to furthering their education without giving up their small-town lifestyle.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Tech Idol is excellent!

    Bang for the buck

    Great value compared to other universities in the state.

    What to do for fun

    Russellville is fairly limited on activities outside of the campus, but I highly recommend inter-mural activities. Great way to meet people!

    Food and Dining

    Chambers cafeteria has a great selection and friendly staff!

    Dorm Life

    Tons of activities in a very friendly environment.

    Academic Rigor

    Difficult classes are the norm, but I prefer classes that you ACTUALLY learn something compared to other universities.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take it seriously, this is an enormous leap from high school. This will determine the rest of your life. But do not take this time for granted, make sure to get out and have fun!

    In three sentences

    This is an excellent, beautiful university. Great professor/student ratio, and a staff that actually cares about their students. I would highly recommend this university to anyone.

  • 06/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    48 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Academic Rigor

    Courses are intense full of material but manageable.

    Tips for prospective students

    If interested call today you will be glad you did.

    In three sentences

    Arkansas Tech University has very efficient administration. The campus is very beautiful and active. All faculty and staff are great.

  • 07/08/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    49 of 56

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Russellville has plenty of stuff for outdoors people. mountains, river, hiking, ext..

    Food and Dining

    Chic fil a, starbucks, and which which. enough said. :) Also the cafeteria food is all right.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm rooms will be dorm rooms. Not terrible, and not excellent. Just dorm rooms haha

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved! I know you hear that all the time but its so true! also be yourself! You'll make friends in no time.

    In three sentences

    Arkansas Tech is an amazing university! The size of the school is perfect for anyone not wanting to be swallowed up by a huge campus. The people here are awesome and I'm beyond happy with this school.

  • 07/27/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    50 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Join an activity. There's many things on campus to do like sports and fine arts. There is also a paranormal team and an e-sports club.

    In three sentences

    Arkansas Tech University is the best college in Arkansas. You can walk across campus in about ten minutes. The band is the best thing on campus to be a part of.

  • 09/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    51 of 56

    Categories Comments
    In three sentences

    Arkansas Tech is a great school. It has faculty that is willing to help you in anyway possible. The campus is just the right right size.

  • 11/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    52 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus safety individuals watch parking closely, since there is not enough for all the students on campus. Always make sure you park in your own lot. The campus also has safe-boxes spread throughout which call 911 with the press of a button for emergencies. Not that there are many emergencies on this campus, it is quite safe.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are plenty of activities for the extroverted students.

    Bang for the buck

    It is one of the less expensive colleges. You get what you pay for here, basically.

    What to do for fun

    There are various greek organizations, and the Student Activities Board often plays movies and schedules carnivals. There are always events occurring which students can attend to improve their social lives.

    Food and Dining

    Although the cafeteria was just renovated, the food is still poor in quality, and breakfast is not served until 10:30, which is not practical for students who are in class from 8:00-1:0.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are relatively clean and quiet.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are usually interesting, and I enjoy attending them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Choose Arkansas tech, but ensure you have either scholarships, or a job lined up, since businesses in Russellville do not usually hire students, and working on campus is a hassle.

    In three sentences

    The teachers with whom I have studied at Arkansas tech are competent, and teach their respective subjects well. The living conditions are acceptable, although the cafeteria leaves something to be desired. The amount of campus activities is fantastic, students are never bored.

  • 11/16/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    53 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is really good! Always feel secure!

    What to do for fun

    For fun my friends and I get together and have movie night or go out on campus and ride bikes and enjoy the outdoors.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would get ready to live in a dorm and have to share stuff with your roommate. I would also get good study habits started.

    In three sentences

    I absolutely love Arkansas Tech University. It is a wonderful school and I am thrilled that I chose this college. It has a great environment and a wonderful staff.

  • 12/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    54 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Countless emergency stations scattered across the campus and the campus police are always making rounds keeping an eye on the safety of the students and faculty,

    Great for these types of students

    Students who don't like big schools and who are seeking a major that Tech offers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The back of tech is flanked by a huge cattle farm and the college's agricultural green houses. It makes a peaceful place in the hustle of the city.

    What to do for fun

    On campus are countless activity fields and there are always other activities having on campus such as movies, games, and gatherings. Off campus there is a movie theater, walking trails, a wall climbing place, a lake for fishing and picnics, countless parks, a bowling alley, and lots of shopping.

    Food and Dining

    A large variety of dinning establishments and foods are available on campus. Most of the food is fairly good. Healthy food is available.

    Dorm Life

    I stay off campus but of my friends who stayed in dorms say its not bad. A lot of security and always something to do whether it be the game room or a planned activity such as movies or parties.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are great if you get the right teacher. There are a few that you need to watch out for. But the classes are great and you learn a lot. It you work hard and keep on schedule with the out of class work and/or reading, you will pass the class. And if your worried about it, talk to your professor, most will try to help you.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always double check what you are told just to make sure you understand everything. Also never be afraid to ask questions. Also do not procrastinate because time will pass quicker than you think and those deadlines will be on you before you know it. If your unsure of your major, take a semester and take a different classes and resolve any uncertainty about you major and give you a other ways of thinking. It also might save you from switching majors two or three years into a degree.

    In three sentences

    This school is a great school when it comes to the professors. The nature included on campus makes it truly beautiful. Its a relatively small campus which is easy to navigate and doesn't cause students to become overwhelmed with the academic load and new environment.

  • 12/31/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    55 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    fresh out of school or apparently foreign exchange students cause there is plenty of them already attending.

    Bang for the buck

    Go somewhere else

    What to do for fun

    not much in RussVegas for fun. Its a dry county for heaven sakes. Plenty of Churches!!!

    Food and Dining

    New cafeteria and plenty of close by fast food joints

    Academic Rigor

    Easy if you go

    Tips for prospective students

    Good community, small town compared to San Diego anyways lol

    In three sentences

    Compared to my community college I attended before ATU, I hate this school. There classes are to big, the teachers are not personable with each student simply because there are to many students. ATU is more for traditional students.

  • 04/03/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    56 of 56

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    They have the cafeteria which has a good selection but tends to be loud. They also have a Chick-Filet which is great if you get tired of the louder cafeteria.

    Academic Rigor

    Average to above average depending on your department. But overall still very good.