Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Art Center College of Design Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 08/04/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    7 out of 10 people found this review useful. 1 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Graduate Independent Art-Oriented Passionate Determined Rich Wealthy

    Tips for prospective students

    You should already be moving toward your professional goals when applying to attend the Art Center; its the only way to get the full experience out of the school.

    Bang for the buck

    I have no problem being independent, in fact, I consider myself self-sufficient. But if I pay $90,000 in tuition, I expect the BEST service and resources in every way possible and I just did not anticipate I would receive it if I attended. Don't get me wrong, the Art Center most likely does one of the best jobs at helping the students become some of the greatest prepared professionals in their certain abnormal industries. Before you even start one class they demand a lot from their students, from the portfolios to the 5 written statements and application they make mandatory to be accepted. High expectations and demands for you students are not a bad thing by any means, but for one of the highest tuitions I have ever seen, I also have high expectations of which it doesn't seem like they have enough resources to meet.

    Will enjoy being here

    For a while I thought Art Center was the place for me. Living in the Los Angeles area and knowing Pasadena as being arguably the most beautiful city in Los Angeles probably helped me reach this decision before even visiting the campus. The Art Center's Hillside campus is of course a reflection of the city's beauty. All of its facilities are perfect in every way. While visiting I learned that it was a commuter school (meaning basically everyone commutes from different areas to attend everyday). That didn't bother me at first but as the tour went on, it seemed to set the lonely, unsocial mood that I gathered from the rest of the campus. The worst part being the commuter attitude seemed to overtake the whole staff's personalities. Most of whom I met seemed withdrawn or borderline rude. It seemed as if I attended, I would be on my own to fend for myself. When looking for a college I look for personality; it should be an environment that promotes collaboration and social interaction.

    Will learn a lot

    I only took the tour which was about 2 hours long. The Art Center without a doubt has the resources to help the determined student excel in their chosen career. With things like a full library (only dedicated to the arts), two auditoriums to show finished projects, and extensive equipment to get industry experience in any major it is definitely hard for other vocational type schools like the Art Center to compete.

  • 07/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 out of 4 people found this review useful. 2 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Security here is great. They're chill and relaxed. Students like the Art Center security team and feel legitimately safe on campus.

    Greek Life

    Not much here. Then again, you probably won't have time for this.

    Clubs and Activities

    The Student Government at Art Center is awesome, 'nuff said. There are a multitude of activities and events held year-long, every term. You won't find a hoard of clubs like you would at a larger college but Art Center holds its own, offering plenty of clubs for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who love what they do, enjoy working hard and want to be the best.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The campus is absolutely gorgeous. Hidden and secluded on top of a beautiful hill, the school overlooks all of Los Angeles. It's funny that even local residents are unfamiliar with where the school is and what it is. Deer and other wildlife wandering about are the usual. Art Center is also renowned for bringing in the best guest speakers consisting of well-known and distinguished people in the industry.

    Bang for the buck

    Art Center was recently named the most expensive art school in the U.S. It is pricey, no joke. It's easy to say it's not worth it, but when looking at how successful students are upon graduating, it kind of is worth the price. Artists here become the best of the best. The connections and opportunities made possible here are priceless. If you can afford it, you won't be disappointed.

    What to do for fun

    You're in Los Angeles. What can't you do? Easy access to near any attraction and entertainment.

    Food and Dining

    On-campus dining is overall satisfactory. They serve breakfast, lunch and dinner all day long and all week excluding Sunday. There is a wide variety of food and whereas at first it may seem pricey, in retrospect, the prices are appropriate.

    Dorm Life

    On-campus housing is not provided here unfortunately. But there are plenty of housing options within Pasadena and all of Los Angeles.

    Academic Rigor

    Don't expect to sleep. One of the reasons why Art Center is one of the premier art schools is the amount of work and time you're required to put in. The homework load is vast, intimidating even. The instructors here will push you and push you because they understand that DOING is the only way you'll surpass that gap from amateur to professional. It's not easy. Developing a tough skin helps as well.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be good at what you do and love what you do. If not, you'll be devoured alive. Understand that talent isn't produced here, rather talent is honed and perfected here. Maintaining that fire to be great is a must because it is taxing.

    In three sentences

    Art Center is comprised of some of the most talented up-and-coming artists ranging in a variety of fields. As a student, you're surrounded by an atmosphere of immense creativity and brilliance. Here, you'll discover a beautiful network of life-long friends and allies as you uncover and refine your artistic voice and style; it's near-impossible not to.

  • 09/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    First off, no one can every find the campus. Its a long drive up a road hidden inside plantation on the mountain. We have great security who constantly guard the premisses every second of the day. Also the wild life around us seem to protect us!

    Great for these types of students

    Any type of student is warmly welcomed. We have student from the age of 17 to the age of 56. All different ethnicities and interests, there is no such thing as a minority. I never thought I would fit into this school when if first drove out here from New Jersey, but I was wrong! I've met the best types of people here. Everyone truly cares and helps each other out.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    It's a must that after every midterm or final, we all get together and celebrate. The choice are very firm. It's either Korean BBQ or Taco Trucks. You can not break the tradition!!!

    What to do for fun

    Having a campus in such a beautiful location, there is not much else you would want to do, beside watching the beautiful landscape. There is a basketball court on campus which allows us to interact with other majors. We have tons of clubs catered to a variety of different interests. Remote Controlled vehicles have been a recent hit. There is a hidden little trail which contains an awesome track for off-roading a little monster truck. Mountain biking is a must! Beautiful scenic trials within a small distance. If your not working throughout the night, then you'll definitely having fun otherwise!

    Food and Dining

    There is an onsite cafeteria and the hours are from 8am-8-pm. (and the food is great) Vending machines are equipped with a variety of drinks and snacks. The only problem is being located on the hillside of a mountain, any other type of food requires a lengthy commute.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dormitories for our campus. The school focuses on utilizing their time solely on education. This can be a Pro or a Con for some, but for me it's a plus. As a designer you want to explore the world around you, not confine yourself to a little campus in the beautiful city of Los Angeles.

    Academic Rigor

    Art Center College of Design is known globally for there fundamentals. If you ever heard the saying learn to crawl before walking? Well, this is the department where Art Center specializes. Countless all-nighters and coffee, but the results of your work will make other's jaw drop.

    Tips for prospective students

    Practice, practice and more practice. At first everything may seem overwhelming, but remember the best of us started out as amateurs. Do not be afraid to fall, because when you do, you will stand up taller. School is meant to make mistakes, because if not, then you won't know whats right or wrong.

    In three sentences

    Art Center has provided me with not only the skills to excell in my profession, but more of a life lesson. Our school takes pride in simulating the real world. Currently working professionals to state of the art equipment, this is the place to not only learn but to pave your future.

  • 04/10/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Creative, hard-working, work well under pressure.

    Bang for the buck

    Expensive, but provides a world class education that employers take note of. If pursuing fine arts, gallerists are also taking notice. While attending, exploit the great resources of the campus!

    Food and Dining

    Food on campus is available. Finer dining is available in Pasadena's affluent Old Town, adjacent to the South Campus.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms, but Pasadena has a good amount of young people and is close enough to L.A. to offer other social life options.

    Academic Rigor

    From what I hear from my undergraduate friends and graduate students in the program that I am starting, that the rigor is quite strenuous. The staff and students advise against having any other job while attending. Be prepared to immerse yourself in the academic lifestyle.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to the campus, talk to faculty. Making the physical connection to the place and the staff will give you the best understanding of the program and give the staff an opportunity to match your face with your application when it comes time to apply. I applied for a graduate program and started investigating the curriculum, the staff and the students a year before applying. The caliber of work at graduate level is quite good, and portfolios and essays are required, so give yourself ample time to research before applying.

    In three sentences

    The best art school on the West Coast. Great faculty, great campus, great resources. Expensive, but at this private non-profit, you get what you pay for.

  • 09/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Results may vary. Art students are poor students. when funds get tight supplies goes missing. Aside from theft there seems to be no problem other than attacks from wildlife i.e. rattlesnakes, bobcats and mountain lions

    Clubs and Activities

    Too many to mention them all. But one more interesting program the school has developed would but Design matters and their project Safe Agua. Where a group of students went to a town in chile that had no running water. They studied all issues people had with getting safe drinking water, such as people with disabilities, or lack of filtration so on and so forth. They researched the data and designed solutions for the town that were cost effective and with products that were easily accessible.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone who is focused and willing to put full effort into any form of art.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The whole facility is unusual. Built on a hillside with unique architecture, a ravine that runs under the building, Hiking trails around the campus, and wildlife that consists of deer, bobcats, mountain lions, coyotes, and rattlesnakes.

    Bang for the buck

    Its not cheap. But if arts what you want to do its the place to be. So its the price you pay to get the best possible education in you field.

    What to do for fun

    Its an art school everything is fun! There are so many activities to partake in from study abroad programs, yoga, hiking, to school activities. The best part is that we get to go to school to learn how to turn our passions into our careers.

    Food and Dining

    Ive have one meal there so far but from the turkey sandwich that i bit into it was very good with fresh ingredients and they kept good nutrition in mind. Plus the cafeteria is open 24 hours on school days due to the intensive programs.

    Dorm Life

    We are not offered Student housing at Art Center College of Design in Pasadena. Which is the another reason i need help funding my education there. If you are not familiar with Pasadena it is located just north of Los Angeles and rent is not cheap. most single room apartments range from $1000 to $2000 a month

    Academic Rigor

    I am currently in orientation week, where the staff and host students have made it very clear that my time at Art College Center of Design will be rigorous. In my few times having toured the school i have seen students intensively working away on projects often times pulling all nighters and it is not rare to see students sleeping on couches in the halls of school.

    Tips for prospective students

    check it out!

    In three sentences

    Very impressive alumni list. great career opportunities and connections for students. High level of education from instructors that are currently working in the disciplines that the teach.

  • 09/16/2010

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    1 out of 4 people found this review useful. 1 person found it offensive. 6 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Will learn a lot

    Its my biggest educational dream

  • 04/30/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    1 out of 3 people found this review useful. 7 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Most of the food in the cafeteria is pretty good. They have a salad special every day and lots of variety every week.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm.

  • 10/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe, security is on top of things and will notify you of any activity you need to look out for.

    What to do for fun

    Yoga, contests around school, clubs, school events. There's also a hiking trail behind the school. Old town is also full of shops and diners if you get bored.

    Food and Dining

    Food it okay, sometimes they do something new every week. Culture week is when the cafeteria introduces international dishes like Korean BBQ or sushi.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms available!

    Academic Rigor

    Very challenging, so be prepared to work 40 hours a week or more! You may have to pull all nighters, but once you're settled, you'll get used to the work load.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus and schedule a meeting with a counselor to go over your portfolio. They are very helpful and will let you know what you need to do to improve or if there's a scholarship deadline.

    In three sentences

    At Art Center you will get a massive bill for the education. However, it is worth it. Your skills will be top quality, most people graduating from here get jobs before they graduate or immediately after, and the experiences and friendships here last for a lifetime.

  • 07/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is always security available, and being on small campus really makes a difference.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    There are many clubs to join, all worth the time and effort.

    Great for these types of students

    Dedicated, honest, hard working, and self sacrificing for their craft. Ready to spend long hours in labs and in studio. Ready to give up the usual social life.

    What to do for fun

    Go out, hang out in the studios, make art.

    Food and Dining

    The food is expensive but the quality is much better then when i started.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life, there is no on campus or off campus student housing.

    Academic Rigor

    Professors expect technical ability as wel as intellectual ability to be up to par with people that are well out of high school. Often times returning to finish another BFA or BA.

    Tips for prospective students

    Wait until a year or two after high school. The rigor of this school is not like the one of high school, you are responsible to yourself and there are not set classes where you will have someone looking over your shoulder and holding parent teacher conferences if you are not keeping up with the work. If you wait to come and attend for the last couple of years and finish a BA after junior college there is a better chance you will graduate with better grades and not be overwhelmed and drowning.

    In three sentences

    Art Center is an amazing education opportunity, the curriculum is rigorous. Professors expect only the best and at times it seems difficult to keep up with standards expected of you from your teachers, classmates, and even yourself. But, in the end you wil emerge a polished and well versed artist, ready to take on the job market and establish a practice.

  • 11/04/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    0 out of 6 people found this review useful. 2 people found this inaccurate. 10 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    sure

    Will enjoy being here

    sure

    Will learn a lot

    sure

  • 03/29/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    11 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    At the end of it, any education pays off.

    What to do for fun

    It's outdoors so you can do so much when you have free time. From playing a little bit of sports, to picnic, to photography to painting/drawing.

    Food and Dining

    Food and dining is great. There's food dispensaries and machines all over campus. The cafeteria makes awesome food.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It seems like academically, it will be extremely demanding.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work on your portfolio and take it serious. Work hard but dont worry too much.

    In three sentences

    I am not a student yet, I got accepted. I'm an now working on the hard part, paying for it.

  • 05/19/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe, security guards are everywhere, and willing to help.

    What to do for fun

    Sports, hobbies, school events, sight see in LA, clubs in LA. Clubs and organizations, eating in downtown Pasadena.

    Food and Dining

    Mediocre food, for an above average price. Only place to eat is the cafeteria since the hillside campus is located up in the mountains. While south campus is surrounded by or close to places to eat and shop.

    Dorm Life

    Sadly no dorms but there are rumors that they will be building one next to the south campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Hard work pays off, Teachers are are subjective and are open to different styles. They know what they're doing to make students into successful artists.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be strong willed! Make friends and connections Take a break when you need to

    In three sentences

    Rigorous curriculum, high standards Rewarding outcomes of work of art through critical thinking Passionate students and teachers that motivate

  • 08/06/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    art, creative students

    What to do for fun

    go out to eat with friends.

    Food and Dining

    pretty good food most of the time.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    swell

    Tips for prospective students

    cost a lot of money, go to a jr college first.

    In three sentences

    it's an amazing school. i've learned to much in just a year. My lighting techniques have improved a lot.

  • 01/15/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Looking for a serious design education, creative, and open to anything.

    Bang for the buck

    While tuition is pricey, you do get one of the best educations in design by professors who are industry professionals themselves and still practicing.

    What to do for fun

    Visit old town Pasadena, which is where Art Center College of Design is located. Many small business shops and cafes to relax, study, do home work. Many historical museums nearby as well.

    Food and Dining

    Art Center has their very own dining staff that cook the food fresh everyday. Other options available for the vegan and sensitive persons.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms, but accommodations for nearby housing are available.

    Academic Rigor

    A lot of work, but work that resonates from your creative mind, your ideas, and your energy.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come prepared. Come with an open mind. Be yourself, and you'll make it.

    In three sentences

    Art Center is a place for the serious students only, where only the best creative minds come together to partake in what is a top notch education in the design field. A serious school for serious designers, there is a constant wave of motivation and energy both in and outside of classes. With many resources, Art Center College of Design is the best in giving a student a special insight into the design industry.

  • 01/22/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    15 of 15

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The only danger to you at the school would be what happens to your bank account after school.

    Clubs and Activities

    I always wanted a pet club. No animals allowed on campus though. Not even the parking lot. But the eco coucil and hiking clubs are good.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I think the most unusual tradition at Art Center would be the parade of lined up cars that happens almost every day for afternoon classes. This happens because there is no parking for all the new students accepted. You might be 30 mins late to class! There's also the off-roading show! if your one of the lucky few, security might have you park under the bridge! If you'r luckier you might be able to get out of there without crashing your car or popping it's tires! I've seen it happen to a few students!

    Bang for the buck

    WAYYYY to expensive! $50,000 a year! You will not learn enough to compensate that! No way! The service by the staff is equivalent to the DMV. And soooo many crummy students are being accepted now. Might as well goto the Art Institute for the education your going to get at Art Center. But if you want to be $200,000 in debt - go here.

    What to do for fun

    I didn't know that fun existed at the school. Guess I never found it.

    Food and Dining

    Some days its good, some days its bad. But everyday its expensive. One whole term I didn't eat there b/c the choices were consistently bad.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms but they're being built. They're going to be over priced like everything else about the school . I'm happier to live on my own so I can have a doggy and a kitty!

    Academic Rigor

    They push you thats for sure. buttttt they push you over the edge! You will definitely learn a lot but at the cost of hating what your doing.

    Tips for prospective students

    If your in Illustration or are at all Fine Arty don't go here. It's really a waste. I graduated here and don't ever want to see a canvas again.

    In three sentences

    Rather than describe Art Center in 3 Sentences I'll describe it in 3 words, Corrupt, Greedy, Expensive. There are only a handful of good teachers. As good as they are they are not worth $200,000.