Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Asbury University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 01/18/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 out of 8 people found this review useful. 1 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Equine, Media Communications (and all Communication Arts), Missions, Education, Languages

    Tips for prospective students

    -Step out of your comfort zone and don't be afraid to meet new people and share your heart with them -Participate in activities and leadership roles to better enhance relationships and self-confidence -Apply for scholarships -Have an open mind and be willing to obey God and His calling for your life, even if it doesn't go according to your plans!

    Bang for the buck

    Yes, the finances are expensive. But with all the added benefits from the wonderful relationships, educational options, and spiritual growth, you pay a price absolutely worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    Asbury is all about being a community. From dorm life, to activities, to the classroom, a huge priority is to grow in a Christ-centered community. It is an amazing experience! I love how faculty, staff and students alike all share openly that anyone is welcome to come talk to them about life and/or personal issues. They don't even know you, but as you begin to build those relationships, they are incredible. Everyone is so caring. Of course, there are rules Asbury sticks to, but I believe the majority of them are beneficial and out of genuine care to help prevent students from going down a wrong path and making decisions they would later regret. And not to mention, the scenery and college are both beautiful!

    Am learning a lot

    Although it depends on the class and the professor, you will definitely walk away with more than one thing you never knew from each course. Each of the professors have their unique touch in the classroom, and it fascinates me to know how educated these individuals are and what THEY have learned in their lifetime. I not only learn strictly educational facets, but also how our spiritual life interacts with all the subjects.

  • 08/07/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 2 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Education Majors, Media Comm Majors, Art Majors

    Tips for prospective students

    Just be yourself, the studnets and teachers will accept you for you.

    Bang for the buck

    It may be pricey but it's worth it!!!

  • 01/14/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Asbury is great for students wanting to major in areas such as communications, education and equine programs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be honest and have a good time. When you come here at the beginning of the school year go to all the events this way you can meet a lot of people and start building friendships fast.

    Bang for the buck

    Asbury's financial aid office really tries to help and accommodate students in any way that they can.

    Am enjoying being here

    I love attending Asbury! The atmosphere is welcoming wherever you go on campus.

    Am learning a lot

    I am learning so much here! Not only is Asbury a great school when it comes to academics, it is also great for building your life skills and strengthening your Christian faith.

  • 04/21/2010

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 4 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    I believe this college is great for any type of student but especially ones who are looking for a way to build up their faith and are willing to learn how their faith goes with everything else they will learn!

    Tips for prospective students

    - Apply early - Apply for scholarships - As soon as you get there open up and meet new people - Let others help you - Grow as much as possible in your faith while your there

    Bang for the buck

    Although its a little pricy for me I know that it will be worth the money. Its hard not having enough to cover the costs this minute but either way it will definitely be worth the effort and money put into it.

    Will enjoy being here

    I will most definitely enjoy attending Asbury. I already know some people there and I know i will know many more in the future! It is a very beautiful campus and nice town.

    Will learn a lot

    From what I have seen on campus and in the classroom and what I have heard from current and graduated students this is a place to learn a lot! You not only learn about the academics but you learn how your faith works together with the subjects you take.

  • 06/19/2009

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 5 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Looking for someplace to bring your horse(s) and have a relatively small class sizes.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want to learn anything about the equine industry without dealing with large class sizes, this is the best you would want to look at. There is a little over thousand students going, but it is truly worth it.

  • 03/22/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 6 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Asbury is great for Media Communications majors, Equine, Education, and Worship Arts. Asbury has great opportunities set up in all of these programs. An example of these would the Media Communication program that gives students the chance to work the olympics and several professors have graduate students working with CNN, ABC, and other major networks.

    Tips for prospective students

    There are several opportunities to join clubs and outreach programs on campus! It will help to be involved, but don't be overwhelmed! I would also make sure you know all the rules of attending Asbury. I can remember being a freshman and being overwhelmed along with frustrated with all the new rules I was not aware of.

    Bang for the buck

    Even though Asbury is expensive, the school is definitely worth the extra money. Since we have smaller classes, the teachers really get to know you and they care a lot about you, the student. This was really shown to me when my grandma was diagnosed with brain cancer. Living four and half hours away and with gas prices on the rise, it was impossible for me to travel home as much as I wanted to. On top of everything occurring back home, I was in a class, working on a movie. My professor was willing to let me go home multiple times along with taking his final early just so I could go home to be with my grandma before she passed. As a result of my grandma being so close to me and her passing, my grades dramatically dropped. Little did I know, my professor had talked to the Dean of Media Communications about what had happened. Such a true blessing!

    Am enjoying being here

    Most of the time I like being at Asbury. It is hard for me to be living somewhere other than Indiana for the first time in my life, alone. I try to stay actively involved with campus activities such as intramural sports like softball, ultimate frisbee, and basketball along with being a cheerleader and a mentor.

    Am learning a lot

    Depending on the course and professor, but most of my classes are great! I love being at a smaller school where my professor gives out a cell phone number. I attended Purdue University during a program in high school where I placed in a lecture hall of 600 students. In order to even ask my teacher a question, the question had to be asked through four teacher aides! It was ridiculous! I enjoy being in a smaller class room where my professor actually knows my name.

  • 10/27/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who want to strengthen (or build) their relationship with Christ.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the school in person if possible. The admissions office gives you free stuff.

    Bang for the buck

    Well worth it.

    Am enjoying being here

    Surrounded by Christians, it is safe to ask for help.

    Am learning a lot

    The profs expect you to take care of business.

  • 06/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    still figuring that out myself.

    Tips for prospective students

    It is harder than highscool. Just sayin.

    In three sentences

    Asbury is great community. It is smaller environment with big oppurtunities. Asbury's spiritual focus is very encouraging.

  • 01/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    no greek life.

    Great for these types of students

    growing in the christian faith.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there is this event called the 'tv drop'. and basically a bunch of guys just drop tv's off of the second floor of the guys dorm and everyone comes to watch.

    What to do for fun

    wilmore has nothing to offer, but lexington is only 15 minutes away. there is plenty to do in lexington.

    Food and Dining

    the food can be ok some days, but at least there are a lot of choices.

    Dorm Life

    i absolutely love the dorm i am staying in. it really feels like home to me.

    Academic Rigor

    the classes are challenging, but not too strenuous.

    Tips for prospective students

    make plenty of friends the first week, and put your self out there to be noticed and make a difference.

    In three sentences

    asbury is very welcoming. it has a beautiful environment. the people are very nice and caring of your opinion.

  • 03/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have always felt very safe. Especially walk back to my dorm late from the library.

    Clubs and Activities

    Good amount of clubs on campus. Just wish there was more money to spend in the History Department, so that more classes could be taught.

    Bang for the buck

    Dr. Reynolds is an amazing History professor. So sweet in a grandfather so of way. Have learned so much from him.

    What to do for fun

    There is always an event going on campus. Of course, Lexington is only 25 minutes away. Would recommend playing a game with some friends in the Student Center.

    Food and Dining

    I think the food it standard. It is better than some place though. The cafeteria is trying to expand and offer more options which is very nice.

    Dorm Life

    Since Asbury emphasizes on community it is very easy to meet your peers and become close with them. Personally would recommend traditional dorm of Glide-Crawford. Really like that it is all girls gives life a here a safe feel.

    Academic Rigor

    Some classes are more demanding than others. One definitely learns to stretch their mind and think in a different way. Personally have learned more than I thought was possible.

    In three sentences

    Asbury emphasizes community which is very beneficial to a person. There are many opportunities to get involved. Great Christian school.

  • 07/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    there is something for everyone here at Asbury University

    What to do for fun

    we workout that the Luce center.

    Academic Rigor

    the academic rigor is superior.

    Tips for prospective students

    embrace every moment of learning that is given. Utilize all the counseling and academic advisory

    In three sentences

    Asbury University is an excellent place for spiritual growth through diligent teaching of God's Word. Asbury University is a fast-growing,stable environment for the young mind. Asbury University is a life long journey for the students as well as the staff.

  • 12/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Nothing bad ever happens in Wilmore. Enough said.

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Many Clubs and activities for a variety of wants and desires

    Great for these types of students

    Fun loving, hard working, goal oriented

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Moose Hall has the most unusual traditions. Every finals week there is the TV drop from the guild. Many more

    What to do for fun

    There are tons of on-campus groups that organize activities and have many fun weekend adventures. As well as many halls perform events that the whole campus is invited too as well as every class is very close and puts on many class events per semester

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is always edible. That is all I will say

    Dorm Life

    I love dorm life, some of the greatest guys I have ever met. Great community of freshman through seniors who all do not judge

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are challenging but not too hard

    Tips for prospective students

    Get as many scholarships as you can, Asbury does not offer many. It is a very conservative university so watch out.

    In three sentences

    Asbury University is a well rounded university offering many opportunities to grow spiritually and they offer many opportunities within the media society. The Media Communications major is unsurpassed and has many connections that prove to be beneficial.

  • 12/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends, go to see the plays (they're really good!), watch movies, jam with friends if you play an instrument.

    Food and Dining

    Hey, you have food to eat. Don't complain.

    Dorm Life

    Best part of college.

    Academic Rigor

    Do not procrastinate. Period.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know upperclassmen on your hall. They'll be there for you if you ever need someone older and wiser to help you out.

    In three sentences

    Asbury has taught me more than just academics but life skills and has helped me grow immensely in my faith.

  • 01/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This campus really feels safe. There are security officers always on patrol, and they make everything feel really comfortable.

    Greek Life

    There isn't any greek life at Asbury. There really is only greek life offered for Asians, African Americans, and Hispanics.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are a lot of unusual traditions on campus, but they are absolutely amazing. We have the TV drop during finals week at the Trustees dorm. This is where the men of Trustees drop TV's from the 3rd floor of the dorm, and the whole campus comes to watch. We also have the goat roast at WGM. A goat is roasted for the whole campus to enjoy, and we just have a ton of fun by playing games, and eating great food.

    Food and Dining

    The food at Asbury can be pretty good, but sometimes it can be bad. During the week, we have a lot of selections, but on the weekends, we don't have a lot of selections. We are also offered many places to choose from to eat on campus.

    Dorm Life

    At Asbury University, there are two boy dorms, and there are two girl dorms. There are no co-ed dorms. This makes living much easier, and less stressful. I don't have to worry about boys being in the hall when I go shower. I also don't have to worry about sharing a bathroom with a boy. I am able to live in my dorm without worry. Also the RAs, the SLAs, and the RD are absolutely wonderful. They make living at Asbury great.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes at Asbury University are challenging, but they challenge you in a way that will make you want to learn. The professors are really passionate about what they are teaching you, and they are also passionate about helping you succeed.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would tell prospective students to really pray and take time to make your decision about a college. Even if this college may be for you, you truly never know where God wants you to go. Also, you should visit the schools that you decide to apply too. You never know how you will feel about the school until you walk on the campus, meet the students, and attend the classes.

    In three sentences

    Asbury University is a school with an amazing community. We have amazing faculty/staff and students here who help you not only with your academics, but with your relationship with the Lord as well. It's truly a home away from your home.

  • 03/12/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Those who are diehard Christians, wants a change of scenery from the high school partying life, or those who just want to feel like a person instead of a number.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There's nothing out of the norm.

    What to do for fun

    There's nothing to do in Wilmore but Lexington is only 20 minutes away.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come prepared. This is the kind of school where it's either meant for you or it's not.

    In three sentences

    Asbury is a school that has a good sense of community. The school may seem strict, but it isn't bad as people would think. The classes are challenging but not overwhelming.

  • 06/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Lots of security. Small town, low crime.

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    Sports, academics, clubs, lots of options. No Greek.

    Great for these types of students

    Religious (Christian)

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Attend Chapel 3 times a week, Last man standing competition, Legacy games.

    Bang for the buck

    Great academics and great people. Typical private school tuition.

    What to do for fun

    Sports, movie nights, bonfires, student center, horseback riding, pool, etc.

    Food and Dining

    Good food. Lots of options.

    Dorm Life

    I commuted this semester but have lots of friends who stay in the dorm and love it.

    Academic Rigor

    Excellent academic studies.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get to know your professors. Get involved.

    In three sentences

    Asbury is a great university full of friendly people. Asbury has an amazing religious and academic integrity. Asbury's education program is outstanding.

  • 01/08/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 18

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are different things that the students do for fun like organizing games or different activities that students can participate and enjoy. Our communications department are great and sometimes put on plays or movies for other students.

    Food and Dining

    The food here is good, and they try to provide a variety so that it suits each student and their different needs.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is really good. The students are very friendly and cooperate with each other. They also consider others and try to respect each other's privacy.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor can get very stressful just like any college, but it is all worth it at the end. The professors are ready to help at any time to help reduce confusion over the work. Very and beautiful nice environment which helps serve as a stress reliever.

    Tips for prospective students

    Are you looking for a nice, small, Christian college? If yes, then this is the perfect school for you.

    In three sentences

    Asbury University is a great place for students looking for small colleges. It is a place that encourages spiritual growth in Christ. It also is in a small and very sweet community.

  • 03/26/2014

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 of 18

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I did not see any police officers, but it looks like Asbury does not need any police officers because the campus looks calm, nobody picks on other people, and it is a great atmosphere.

    Greek Life

    No Greek Life!

    Clubs and Activities

    Did not get a list of clubs or activities.

    Great for these types of students

    Rural. 20 miles from Lexington where the good stuff it at. Small school. Small class size. Everyone is friendly and nice.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The week before finals, guys throw TV's off of the roof of either Trustees or Johnson's. This is not unusual but it is historic, Asbury College is a 2 story house and it is in the middle of the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is $33,000 dollars a year. You are required to spend 6 nights in another country in order to graduate, which is awesome. People are really nice.

    What to do for fun

    Go to Luce, which the athletic building (you do not have to be an athlete to go to Luce), play intramural sports, head to Lexington which is not far from Wilmore, head to Louisville, visit museums, etc.

    Food and Dining

    The Cafeteria is all you can eat, but it is not open 24 hours. The Cafeteria will be open for 2 1/2- 3 hours then closed for the rest of the day.

    Dorm Life

    For guys there are two dorms: Trustees and Johnson's. They were both nice. A downfall that I had was that inside your dorm you don't really have anything. You have to go downstairs to use the kitchen, and you have to go down the hall to use the bathroom (with showers). Also there is no Greek Life.

    Academic Rigor

    I got to view and class and it looks like the professors know what they are doing.

    Tips for prospective students

    I am a prospective student. I never heard of Asbury until the Lacrosse coach contacted me. The lacrosse team will have its inaugural season in Spring 2015. I went to the campus on Monday March 24th 2014, and I was in love. I was thinking about committing to the school right then and there because of the atmosphere, the students, the admissions staff, etc. but I going to wait for a little bit. Some tips: If you like the rural setting then this university is for you, There is small class sizes also. Also everyone is friendly, so you will have friends at Asbury!

    In three sentences

    Asbury is beautiful campus. Very friendly. In a rural area.