Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Ashland Community and Technical College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/23/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    The programs that prevail at the Main campus of this school are Associates degree Nursing and those going for their teaching degree and transfers to Morehead. The Roberts Drive campus is more geared for LPN, Heating and Cooling, Mechanics, Culinary Arts, and Cosmetology. The Technology Drive campus has Welding, Electricity, and other industrial/construction programs.

    Tips for prospective students

    It has been a very good starting point to get my pre-reqs and Associates degree at a reasonable cost. The employees try to help in any way that they can to help you through. You should consider this school if you live close and want to get college credits at a cheaper cost to transfer to a 4-year college. Make sure they transfer first though.

  • 08/25/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Anyone that wants to stay close to home and have an affordable education. This school is also for anyone wanting to transfer to a bachelor's degree, or anyone wanting to get the education they need to prepare them for an entry-level job.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want a great education at a great value and don't want to travel far from home, this is the perfect school for you. This school also offers many degree's and credits that can transfer to a bigger school later.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is a great value, less than half the other schools I was considering going to. The financial aid office is really helpful too, they worked with me to help find as much financial aid as possible.

    Am enjoying being here

    I really enjoy going here, it is only a five minute drive from my house. The classes are small so you can learn more one on one with your professors. The campus isn't big and intimidating, it's small and you feel welcome when you go here.

    Am learning a lot

    The professors here are really good at helping you understand the material, I actually like going to class and learning something new everyday.

  • 06/05/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety at the campus is very good. it is well lit and the parking lot is well lit. There is security guards and even a police officer on site. I feel every safe at this campus.

    Greek Life

    I am not aware of any Greek Life at this school.

    Clubs and Activities

    The college offers several activities and clubs. I am not up on any of them,yet, but I do plan to seek the best ones out for me to get involve in.

    Great for these types of students

    I feel that all types of students would fit in at this college.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I really don't know of any.

    Bang for the buck

    The cost for the tuition is very affordable considering the cost at other colleges. I feel it is very reasonable.

    What to do for fun

    I really don't know what they offer for fun. I know the college has several outside events that they offer, but I have not participated in any of them. Maybe this semester I will seek out some out the fun stuff to do at the school.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is equipped with well balanced diets for the needs on their students. It is keep very clean and organized with laid out schedules of the menus each day. The dining area is equipped with enough seating capacity to feel the need of the students.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic rigor is very intense. Keep your mind focus on your education, Set the goals that apply to you and stick to them.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you are ready to focus on your studies and define your goals you have set for yourself. Follow up on your interest, such as your counselor for all your class schedules and requirements, your financial aid officer to assure that all the paperwork on your financial needs are submitted and check your emails daily to see what changes if any from your instructors has posted. Make sure your double check everything about your studies and your aid because this is in your best interest, always remember it is your responsibility to take care of your educational needs,

    In three sentences

    I would rate the Ashland Community and Technical College a 10 on a 1 - 10 scale range. This college has a great reputation for assisting students will all their needs with their class schedules, financial aid, their academic needs. The college is not too big and not too small, but the right size to make every age of students feel like they can succeed in their education.

  • 01/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    4 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    ashland has a great team assigned to campus safety.

    What to do for fun

    i have found just going to ashland college is fun and exciting.

    Food and Dining

    ashland has a great food court that is affordable for students.

    Academic Rigor

    ashland college has a challenging program that with determination and hard work you can complete the courses with no hesitation.

    Tips for prospective students

    i would recommend any new student to join the ashland community.

    In three sentences

    ashland has made going to college the greatest experience of my life. i expect to be able to go into the working field with the confidence of achieving a great future. the instructors at ashland have given me the confidence needed to join the work force with the tools to needed.

  • 05/08/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    ACTC has one restaurant in it's student lounge and cafeteria. However the restaurant is Giovanni's and although sells decent tasting food is very unhealthy, contributing to the unhealthy lifestyles of the area. They have recently installed a vending machine with healthier snacking choices, it is a little more expensive then the other vending machines, but a good alternative.

    Dorm Life

    ACTC is a community college so it does not offer dorms. Most students live at home and drive to school, which in some cases is as far as two hours away. I personally live one hour away from the school.

    Academic Rigor

    ACTC is mainly a school for those aspiring to be in the nursing program. However they do not offer many other options for students aspiring to major in another field.

    Tips for prospective students

    For any future students of ACTC I would say to make sure they apply for financial aid early and participate in as many extracurricular activities as possible without ignoring their studies. If any problems occur to stay in contact with the professors, they are there to help you pass.

    In three sentences

    Ashland Communtiy and Technical College, or ACTC, is a very affordable community college that will work with students with financial needs. The faculty is very helpful and accommodate students as best as they. However ACTC would improve immensely if they offered a more diverse academic spectrum and more extracurricular activities.

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The parking lots are well lit, as well as security can be seen everywhere. If you do not feel comfortable walking to your vehicle security would be happy to walk with you. .

    Greek Life

    Im sorry, I am not greek.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have an honors society and a variety of other clubs, and diffrent activities throughout the year. The school actually sends you a calandar monthly with all the different events.

    Great for these types of students

    If you are a college senior just starting out and dont want to pay the big money for a university this is the place for you. I am a father, I have a family to provide for, I was able to create time for school without missing my family time.

    Bang for the buck

    This school is relatively cheap. It is only a two year school, but the rates are not bad.

    What to do for fun

    We have a city park and two state parks within 39 miles of the college. You can enjoy boating, fishing, camping, and much more. If you enjoy shopping we have two malls locally, and for your night life you can go to Huntington, WV. Huntington is also home to Marshall University where you can interact with other college students.

    Food and Dining

    Some of my favorite restruants in the area are Ihop, out 23 north, right past the steel mill, Rose's is off I64 towards Grayson. If you want a study spot they have two places in town that are open all night.

    Dorm Life

    I have two children and a wife at home, living at a dorm is out of the question. I do know that there are apartments and small houses across the street that will rent to students.

    Academic Rigor

    My classes were challenging. I took four online classes this semister and they kept me at the computer atleast four hours a day. (sometimes longer) The best part of the online clasess is that the professor was only a click away.

    Tips for prospective students

    Some of the classes can be challenging, I would suggest to keep your credit hours basic, that way you can focus on getting the best grades possible, without spreading yourself out too thin.

    In three sentences

    The college is a great start for me. The class sizes are small and the online classes are also excellent.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are on-campus security guards that mostly take care of monitoring parking. However, there is general feeling of safety at ACTC. It is a small campus, with most buildings connected. There are always other students and/or employees going about the hallways during day time schedule. Evening classes the campus is not as well populated and offices are closed.

    Greek Life

    There are no sororities or fraternities other than honors programs.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are few clubs and activities at ACTC.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition at ACTCTuition Rates (per credit hour) Returning Students* New Students In-State Students $130 $135 Out-of-State Students: From Contiguous Counties** $260 $270 Out-of-State Students: Other Out-of-State Students $445 $465

    What to do for fun

    There are limited student activities that are available. The theatre department has open auditions for community plays. There is a Baptist Student Union that meets once weekly and is open to all students. Outside of school, Ashland has movies, bowling alley, beautiful park, concerts on the river, The Paramount Arts Center which is a venue for concerts, plays, ballets, etc. There are free community festivals throughout the year. There are 2 medium sized indoor shopping malls. Hiking, fishing, camping, swimming, horseback riding, shooting range, golfing, Zumba, Yoga and a state-of-the art YMCA and Hospital based Fitness Center are available to public. Ashland, Ky is at the point where West Virginia, Ohio, and Kentucky meet, so it is a 20 minute drive to Huntington, WV where there are dance clubs, shopping, and many other activities.

    Food and Dining

    ACTC has a limited dining situation. There is a student lounge that has vending machines and a microwave. Adjacent to the vending area is a Giovanni's Pizza (common Italian restaurants in the Ashland area) that offers a limited menu of hot pizza and bread sticks. Lots of major restaurant chains are within 10 minute drive from campus.

    Dorm Life

    There is no on-campus living at ACTC. Everyone is a commuter. There are apartments nearby for students coming from out of town or those that are living on their own, but they are not owned or managed by ACTC.

    Academic Rigor

    The Academic Rigor at ACTC has a reputation for being less than at a large university, however, when comparing my experiences I disagree. The only thing that might be easier about it, is that you don't have the inconvenience of noisy dorm life, temptations to party more than study, or waiting in line to do laundry!

    Tips for prospective students

    Even though ACTC is a community college, it is important to take your coursework seriously! Since there are no sport activities and no Greek life activities, there are no excuses for not being able to focus on your studies. Stay on top of your assignments so you will not have to be rushed at the last moment!

    In three sentences

    I started out at a 4-year university living in a dorm. I transferred to Ashland Community and Technical College because of some health problems and I needed to move home. I like ACTC and will complete 2 Associate Degrees in the Spring of 2013 before transferring. I recommend ACTC.

  • 05/31/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    they have a giovanni's pizza downstairs in the cafeteria and vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    never was in a dorm with this college cause u dont have to stay on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    they have a great academics but there were a few that i would of love to be in that they dont have like the ultrasound program

    In three sentences

    this school is a great school and i enjoy going to it. everyone that works there is so friendly and helpful when you need there help. i recommend everyone to attend this college. they need to have more programs though.

  • 09/26/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe. There are security guards at all locations.

    Clubs and Activities

    Philosophy Club and Student Government and various other groups.

    Great for these types of students

    Nontraditional students and beginning students planning to later attend a 4 year traditional university. Also great for students who may need a second start from attending a previous institution.

    Bang for the buck

    At $140 a credit hour- this is a steal!

    What to do for fun

    Body County is beautiful and located in Appalachia. You are close to several state parks and many outdoor activities. There are several area malls within close proximity.

    Food and Dining

    The Main Campus has a Giovanni's. The Industrial Park Campus has a kitchen with food prepared by the culinary school.

    Academic Rigor

    I found the classes to be very challenging. ACTC does not skimp you on your education! Great value for the services provided.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be sure to complete the compass test if you haven't completed the ACT. Complete application, fill out FAFSA and include school as option; then meet with an adviser and go to class! Be sure to check out all student student organizations especially SSS (Student Support Services) if you qualify.

    In three sentences

    Small campus with qualified teachers who are available to assist you. You can get to know your professor and the administration because of the student body size. One of many Kentucky Community and Technical Colleges.

  • 09/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They are security guards on staff at all times while classes are going on at all three locations.

    Great for these types of students

    People who have kids at home, who don't have the option to go away to a university, and for people who have to pay for it themselves or don't get much aid.

    What to do for fun

    They have student lounges at each location with T.V.'s and a game or two along with vending machines.

    Food and Dining

    Each campus has a cafertiera and the food is great at each location.

    Dorm Life

    They are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    The academic here is good.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't goof off. Pay attention. Study hard.

    In three sentences

    I have enjoyed my time here at Ashland Community and Technical College. In my opinion it is a great school and has great staff. This college has three locations around Ashland to make it convient for all ACTCS students.

  • 09/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They do a really good job with the campus safety. There are guards on campus the whole time students and staff are there. They do not leave until late after night classes and get there early in the morning before classes.

    Greek Life

    There is none because of being a community college

    Clubs and Activities

    There are not that many clubs. We have a student government, Student support services (which is great), We have a drama club, and just random groups of people that get together and do the same type of things and hang out.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for lower income students, students that are undecided, if you want to go into a profession in a shorter amount of time, if you are wanting a technical type job. They have several programs that take less than 2 years and you can get a job doing what you went to school for, and at a great price.

    Bang for the buck

    I think it is a great price for the education you get. The credits will transfer to universities or other colleges so, you are getting classes for a cheaper price then at the larger schools. The staff are all very nice and helpful, and they want you to do your best.

    What to do for fun

    There are groups that get together and do computer stuff on the lunch hour or between classes. You can also join the drama club or be apart of the plays. There are no sports.

    Food and Dining

    There are not a lot of options at the school for food. Vending machines and Giovanni's pizza. The vending machines are convenient because the ones in the cafeteria take debit cards, but the pizza is cash only. I never carry cash so it is a pain.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorm life since it is a community college.

    Academic Rigor

    The professors I have had, put a lot of effort into making sure you know and understand the information. They take the time for you to ask questions, and you can contact them threw email, phone, or office visit.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take your general education classes, they transfer to universities and it saves you money.

    In three sentences

    Is a great school, with a great price. Many different options to study, and credits transfer easily. Several opportunities to get involved in the school.

  • 10/10/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    There is a Giovannis Pizza there. It's pretty good!

    Dorm Life

    No dorms!

    Academic Rigor

    Very good academic lifestyle.

    In three sentences

    It's a good school. The people there are friendly and very helpful. All around a good place to be.

  • 03/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 13

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Pretty good safety, they have guards walking, and a security booth out front in the parking lot.

    Clubs and Activities

    I never joined any.

    Great for these types of students

    Mostly for students who aren't used to college, and want a smaller one to get some certificates or an associate's degree.

    Bang for the buck

    All in all, ACTC was a great school to start off on, and I don't regret it. And staying close to home the first few years really helped me save some money in loans, since out of state is like tripled tuition.

    What to do for fun

    Unfortunately, there isn't much to do around the campus for fun, except join a drama play.

    Food and Dining

    I honestly didn't even realize they had a lunch room until I started getting e-mails. I usually brought my own lunch, or ate out of the vending machines.

    Dorm Life

    Can't say since I've always commuted.

    Academic Rigor

    Totally depends on the classes you take. Say, if you get all the classes you're bad at in one go, its way stressful. Its much easier to talk to a counselor and try to string out the classes that make you want to cry with frustration.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always put time in to study, at least an hour a day. It always helps to go to the library or someplace quiet where you don't have distractions and temptation like the TV or roommates. If you just take an hour a day to read up on your textbooks and assignments ahead of time, it really saves you on exam days, or when days when teachers just decide to tack on work all at once.

    In three sentences

    ACTC is a very good school to start at, seeing as it has a smaller campus that isn't overwhelming but still has a good number of classes to choose from. I've definitely enjoyed going there to get my college legs. Thanks to them, I will soon have an Associate's degree that they've helped me get to!