Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Assumption College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 07/28/2009

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 out of 9 people found this review useful. 1 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hard working Social Religious Non- religious Volunteers Non- volunteers Athletes Music- lovers Shy (We'll get you out of that shell!) Interested in substance free housing

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are nervous about anything, please do us all a favor and remember to breathe. There is no problem that cannot be fixed and at AC everyone is willing to help, even students for that matter. The courses are challenging, but its college so that is to be expected. When and if you apply here... we'll fill you in. AC has a great community and you are bound to find the right freinds whether they are in your field of study, dorm, residential hall, or club you are bound to find the right fit here.

    Bang for the buck

    I am not quite sure what exactly this question is asking, but I will try my best in answering. The tuition is expensive. Housing is guaranteed for all four years. The food is alright, but the employees at the cafe are eager to help. There are many clubs and activities. There are student tutors available for that Calculus exam, but beware you must come prepared. There are free services that would otherwise cost a fortune such as counseling and even career help. When I applied to AC, the percentage of students who had a job before they graduated was 97%. I am not sure what they are now, but at the Career Center they work hard with and for you. hmm... College really is all what you make of it. If you are not enjoying yourself at a certain college and you have tried everything to change that maybe that college is not the right fit for you after all. At AC, its your experience everyone there is eager to help. YOU have to make the moves. The faculty says something like that too. Another reason why I decided not to transfer.

    Am enjoying being here

    Personally, I had a tough time adjusting because I made the wrong decisions, but I guarantee that AC has something for you. There are many ways to get active on and off campus. For example, there are many nights when Charlie's (one cafeteria at AC) is packed with students waiting for the student- run concert to begin. AC also has many clubs and if you do not find one you like it is very easy to start your own. The campus is in a secluded area and transportation off campus is hard to come buy especially when they offer a bus serivce to the mall only on Friday. There are always taxis, but those are expensive. And finally for those late- night trips to where ever AC has serivce called Safe Ride.

    Am learning a lot

    You might think that all you could learn at a Liberal Arts College is art appreciation and how to analyze someone. Assumption College does offer that and much more. At first, I did not want to go here, my mother encouraged me to, but then I got to the classes. They are well rounded, the professors are personable outside the classroom, very knowledgable, make themselves available and definetly in the top of their field. There are required classes every student has to take, but these are not that hard to fill in and they do not interfere with the classes you need to take to complete your major. Finally, I must mention that the reason why I am staying at AC is because of the fine academics. You cannot get the same education any where else.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 5 people found this review useful. 2 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Nothing. Is a Catholic school so they think we should not party. RA's will make your life impossible.

    Food and Dining

    It is okay, the thing is you just get tired of it. But I imagine that happens in all colleges.

    Dorm Life

    It's okay I guess

    Academic Rigor

    It is medium. People actually think it is easy because is not a very recognized school, but it is!

    Tips for prospective students

    If you are into having fun, do not come here, is not a party school and there is nothing to do around here.

    In three sentences

    Small school perfect for personal interaction. People are sort of narrow minded. It is a Catholic school where there is a lot of white people.

  • 05/30/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    3 out of 3 people found this review useful. 3 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Campus is pretty safe

    Clubs and Activities

    So many clubs for all different types of people. Activity board in my opinion is the most fun.

    Great for these types of students

    All types but especially those who do not mind studying a lot.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The woods are scary and the hill dorms seem isolated but not much else.

    Bang for the buck

    It is a expensive school, i believe a little to expensive.

    What to do for fun

    There are so many activities to do on campus that go on constantly and there are so many clubs to join.

    Food and Dining

    Many options and open late

    Dorm Life

    Many things and activities that can be found in dorm life. You get to know people very quickly.

    Academic Rigor

    It is a hard college but worth trying

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard and follow your passion. People will be there to help you if you can find those who are willing.

    In three sentences

    Assumption is a well known respected institution. Classes are hard, but worth trying. A close knit environment woth people willing to help.

  • 09/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 4 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It is a gate campus. There is a cop at the entrance to the college 24/7. The campus is well lit. I am never scared to walk alone at night. Campus police are friendly and helpful.

    Greek Life

    We do not have Greek life on campus, but everyone goes to the frat parties at Worcester Polytechnic Institute which is right down the street.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are so many clubs and activities! Definitely something for everyone!

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want a friendly and personal environment where people will know you as an individual.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have a duck pond, and every year there is a ceremony where the ducks are brought back to the duck pond in the spring and walk out on a red carpet. It is called duck day, and although it is essentially pointless, it is a big hype on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    Assumption is very good about giving scholarships. They have need based scholarships as well as merit scholarships. Many school do not give as many merit scholarships as Assumption.

    What to do for fun

    There is so much to do on campus! Every weekend there are events that are put on by various clubs and organizations. There are singers, comedians, dances, interactive game shows, bingo, and many other student run events! There are buses to take people off campus.

    Food and Dining

    The company that provides meal services on campus is very open to student suggestions. I appreciate that they care about what the student body has to say and will actually modify things to accommodate the students!

    Dorm Life

    There is a decent amount of choice in terms of what type of dorm room you live select. I am happy with my residence hall.

    Academic Rigor

    I am challenged by my courses and pushed to new limits. It makes me a stronger student.

    Tips for prospective students

    Embrace the idea of general education requirements! You will learn interesting things and become a more well rounded person. If you keep an open mind you might find a new passion. If you find something out side of your major you like, minor in it! It will make your experience more exciting and you will stand out on a job application.

    In three sentences

    I am very happy with Assumption College. It is a friendly environment where I am viewed as an individual. I am extremely impressed with my professors and am learning a great deal!

  • 11/13/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Assumption is right for every type of student. Most people here are very nice, and are serious about getting a great education, but that doesn't mean that we don't know how to have fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Keep yourself organized early. Keep track of your awards, activities, leadership positions, volunteer work, etc. Taking AP classes is a great way to get ahead in college. Make sure your admissions essay truly comes from the heart. Most importantly, don't put too much pressure on yourself.

    Bang for the buck

    There are many opportunities offered that people probably wouldn't get to experience if they weren't in college, like musical performances and guest speakers. The great thing about it is that mostly everything is free. Some examples are career services, the gym, and intramurals. Some bad things are that the Internet is not that great and my dorm is pretty old and in need of repairs.

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus has a beautiful suburban feel, but its also right in the middle of the city. There are various clubs, sports, and other activities for everyone to enjoy. Campus events are always fun; we often have concerts and comedians.

    Am learning a lot

    We are required to take classes in a variety of subjects so there are great opportunities to learn about things that you might not have considered before. My professors have done a great job with making sure that the students understand the material. Professors often have convenient office hours if you need extra help.

  • 04/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are always evemts going on sometimes they are lame though.

    Food and Dining

    Truly it is hit or miss at Taylor Dining Hall.

    Dorm Life

    There are very nice dorms for upperclassman.

    Academic Rigor

    Once done with the liberal arts courses your field of study calsses are difficult yet interesting.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared for a rigorous academic experience.

    In three sentences

    A college that provides many academic opportunities for its students. The college also offers gropus that can help students branch out. Overall a typical college experience.

  • 06/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is good.. you always see them around. They're almost too good. They really ruin a lot of parties on the weekends and it seems to be getting worse each year. Who is really to blame is the RA's, often they go out of their way to get people in trouble but it depends on the person. We have a 3 strike system- if you get written up 3 times over the course of your 4 years at Assumption you get kicked out of housing. When you get a second strike however, you are able to work it off with community service. It is pretty ridiculous and students really don;t like the faculty involved in res. life and student conduct.

    Greek Life

    There is no greek life

    What to do for fun

    There are lots of clubs and activities to get involved ion and if there isn't something that suits you, you can always start a club with the right amount of people. There isn't much to do in the city of Worcester, it is not a nice place to just walk around so I am always on campus unless I need to go to the grocery store or something.

    Food and Dining

    To me the food is fine. However, like anywhere, eating at the same place everyday gets old. There is only one cafeteria and one more on- the- go kind of place.

    Dorm Life

    Nearly everyone at Assumption lives on campus and stays for the weekend so it definitely isn't a suitcase commuter kind of college here. The dorms aren't great space wise but everything is kept clean and organized. There is only air conditioning in the nicer apartment style dorms and even some of them don't have it but it's never really a problem because the weather doesn't get too hot while you're actually in school.

    Academic Rigor

    I am in the library everyday for a few hours. There is quite a bit of hard work but you really learn to appreciate it and it makes you proud of what you can accomplish.

    Tips for prospective students

    Know the size of school you want! I thought I wanted a small school due to classroom sizes and I didn't even give bigger schools a chance however, I regret not looking at bigger schools because they can have small classes and bigger schools have a lot more to offer in regards with things to do and school spirit. Assumption tends to feel like high school because you see the same people everyday and everyone knows who everyone is even if you don't actually know them. Honestly, if I had to apply for colleges all over again, I would go to a bigger school with more comradery.

    In three sentences

    Very good school education wise. The campus is small which definitely takes away from the ideal image prospective students seem to have of what college will be like. Overall, I enjoy the school, the people I have met, and the things I have learned and I plan on completing my bachelors degree here.

  • 06/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I have never once worried about my safety anywhere, at any time on the Assumption Campus.

    Greek Life

    This is a Catholic College with no Greek Life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is a club and program for everyone, with traveling and work opportunities in most of them.

    Great for these types of students

    Assumption is not a place for reckless or crazy students. It is far more reserved than most colleges, though it is still fun in small group settings rather than major parties.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Club Charlie's is a new program to give students a safe, fun place to go on the weekends.

    Bang for the buck

    Compared to other colleges I have visited, Assumption is far more student opinion-orientated and students are seen more as people than as numbers.

    What to do for fun

    The student recreation center is always a useful place to go when looking to use free time. It has racquetball, intramural competitions, and almost any sports you wish to play with your friends in your free time.

    Food and Dining

    Charlie's always has excellent food. Taylor food is good when an effort is taken to use the students suggestions, but Fridays during Lent are usually terrible so most of the campus orders takeout.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm Life can be excessively strict at times Freshman year, especially in the housing with double-rooms. However, after a few months and finding the right people in upper class men dorms it becomes more relaxed and reasonable.

    Academic Rigor

    The challenge you choose to take at Assumption results in the one you get. I found my first semester at Assumption to be extremely easy so i decided to take more challenging classes and join the Honors program so It is now at my academic level.

    Tips for prospective students

    Freshman year can be difficult without transportation to go off campus, but give it the benefit of the doubt because staying on campus benefits you socially and academically in the end.

    In three sentences

    Assumption College provides a safe environment for all its students. It specializes in individualized classroom attention. It is a laid back atmosphere with a genuine concern for the well-being of the students who go here.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The Campo (campus police) are very diligent about their jobs. There is a gate at the front entrance guarded at all times and you can not get in unless you have a parking permit or visitor pass. There are also blue lights everywhere on campus. The campo also ride around in their cars or bikes all day and night for extra safety.

    Greek Life

    No Greek Life here.

    Clubs and Activities

    Assumption has a club for everyone and everything. If you dont then you are given an opportunity to create it with the help of an advisor and Student Government Association. I thoroughly enjoy the 3 singing groups I am involved with as well as the Reach Out Center which has many volunteer opportunities suited towards my interests. Activities fairs are held twice a year so everyone has the opportunity to explore what we have here.

    Great for these types of students

    A student who wants a small, home-like environment. Everyone is so friendly here and you really do get to know everyone. We like to have fun but we are not a major party school. Located in the heart of Worcester, it provides many opportunities professionally and culturally.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    DUCK DAY! Duck day is the most celebrated day on campus. The pond in the front of the campus is the home to many ducks. On duck day, all the local schools in the area come to watch the ducks be released into the pond. Everyone is walking around in duck t-shirts and hats to celebrate this day. It may sound like the weirdest tradition but ask any Assumption student about it and they will instantly beam with excitement.

    Bang for the buck

    I do believe Assumption gives you what you pay for. The classrooms, for the most part, are beautiful and enriched with MAC computers. The professors have been some of the best I have ever had. The upperclassmen dorms are beautiful and worth every penny spent. I believe you get the best bang for your buck here.

    What to do for fun

    Assumption is located in the beautiful part of Worcester. There are various malls around Worcester. Shrewsbury Street and The Hanover Theatre often have events going on. Union station is also in the heart of Worcester providing cheap travel to places such as Boston and New York. On Campus, there is always something going on as well. CAB (campus activities board) always has something planned to keep the interest of students.

    Food and Dining

    Taylor is the dining hall that has sodexo food. There are many options from sandwiches, to grill, to culturally inspired food. My favorite part being the dessert bar. The other dining option is Charlies. It is a step up from dining hall food and also has many options. There is a sandwich station, a grill, a pasta bar, soups and salads. delicious milkshakes as well! Dunkin Donuts is also located on campus, with a full variety of drinks and treats.

    Dorm Life

    The freshman dorms are your run of the mill dorm. Small, 2 beds, 2 bureaus, 2 desks and a big window. Each floor is separated by gender. During your sophomore/junior year, the LLC is the most popular living option. The outside has the appearance of a hotel, and the inside is just as nice. A living room, kitchen, bathroom and rooms are within each suite. To live here you must complete a community service requirement of your choosing/interest. As an upperclassmen you have many living options; there are suite styles and apartment styles (2 floors). Both options have living rooms, kitchens, bathrooms and bedrooms. Friday and Saturday nights do consist of people having parties; small get togethers or big get togethers in the upperclassman areas. Assumption does provide alternate activities; movies, club charlies, and busses to various shopping malls.

    Academic Rigor

    At Assumption, we take 5 classes a semester. This may not sound like a lot, but the course work is quite difficult sometimes. Homework, projects, essays and tests tend to pile up. It is important to manage your time wisely and utilize the resources given to you. Some classes are easier than others, but tend to get more difficult as you get into the 300/400 level classes. It makes a huge difference having the best professor, I would advise looking up reviews of professors before deciding on a class.

    Tips for prospective students

    1. Get involved in the various clubs and activities that Assumption provides. 2. Use the tutoring center and you professors office hours, it may be the difference between an A and A-. 3. Make friends with more than one group of people, its nice to have multiple options for plans on the weekends. 4. 8:30 AM classes are worth it if your taking a class with the best professor. 5. Manage your time effectively and efficiently.

    In three sentences

    I transfered into Assumption College at the start of my sophomore year. The welcoming enviornment has provided more opportunities than I could imagine. My professors have been helpful and inspiring in pushing me to succeed.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is excellent. You normally will never feel like you can't walk anywhere alone at any hour of the day. There are always police cruisers driving around campus, and checking in at the dorms. If you ever do encounter any trouble, there are emergency blue light boxes, that a student can press, located around the campus. It really makes me feel like I don't have to watch over my shoulder all the time, which gives me a much better feeling about living on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    In all honesty, Assumption takes some time to get used to. If you came from a big high school, it will be culture shock, so be prepared for that. I found that a lot of the aspects of high school were carried on into college during my Freshman year. But overall, you will makes some great friends and you will learn a lot.

    What to do for fun

    Worcester is a great place for fun, because it's a big city. However, sometimes its better to be an upperclassmen than a freshman or a sophomore. As an underclassmen, you can go to 18+ clubs in Worcester, as well as many off campus parties at the surrounding schools. Assumption also creates many activities to do on campus directed by the student government.

    Food and Dining

    Taylor Dining hall has its good days and bad days. Sometimes the choices are so good, that you can't help but go up for seconds. However, there are those days where eating a hamburger for lunch and dinner just might throw you over the edge. Luckily, there is a suggestion board, where students can suggest the food that they want to see more of, and the cafeteria staff takes it very seriously. You can usually see a change of menu within a week. The eating area is usually well maintained and cleaned, considering Taylor does feed over 1,000 kids a day. I've never had a problem with the utensils or cups. Taylor is your typical college cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is great! You really get to know the different people that you live with, pretty well. This results in making good friends that live 2 feet away from you. Here at Assumption, there is a Tagaste Program for first year students, which encourages freshmen to make friends with other people in their class because they live with them, as well as have 2 classes a week with each other. It's a great experience, and I would highly recommend being apart of the program.

    Academic Rigor

    As mentioned before, each professor has different demands for their students.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to do a lot of walking across campus from one building to the next. Worcester gets really cold in the winter, and has a lot of drastic weather changes, so be prepared to wear your winter coat. Like any college, some professor and classes demand different work ethic out of their students. Be prepared to work hard.

    In three sentences

    Assumption College is located in a nice area. The professors are excellent, and really work on spending time with you. The campus is small, so the student body really gets to know one another during 4 years.

  • 07/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Safety is exceptionally important at Assumption College. There is a building designated for the Campus Police and they are always looking out for the students. They are there for when you want a guest from another school to stay overnight, in which you must sign a slip and bring it to the campus police. There is also a number that you can call for any emergency on campus. There are also these large posts around campus with a blue light and a button and if you are ever in danger, you press that button and someone will be right there to help you immediately.

    Clubs and Activities

    Since ssumption College is a Catholic college, there are many activities that students can take part in which involve the use of the church and also in order to benefit the community. This is where SEARCH, SEND, and START come into place. These clubs are basically groups of students that travel to different states and take part in activities which may benefit the community as a whole such as building houses or visiting students from other schools. If that does not interest you, don't worry because this college also offers many types of intramural sports, and other organizations involving the student government and organizations which students are able to plan activities on campus. There is also a group called RHA, or the resident Hall Association, in which students can come together and try to improve their dorms or just come up with great activities that each dorm can take part in.

    What to do for fun

    Although Assumption College is a small school, there is so much that students can do during their free time. For example, Plourde Recreation Center offers tons of intramural sports that students can take part in. From ultimate frisbee to ice hockey, there a sport for everyone and everyone seems to really enjoy themselves. The recreation center also offers zumba, yoga, spinning, and more for a very low cost which many students enjoy taking part in. If sports is not your thing, you can take part in the Student Government Association, the Campus Activities Board, START, SEARCH, SEND, the Reach Out Center, and more!

    Food and Dining

    Taylor Dining Hall and Charlies are the main locations on campus where students are able to eat. They are both small which allows students to intermingle and meet new faces. The food is great and the great part about these places are that there are endless options of food being served daily. Also, both locations offer student employment which is very beneficial to students with a work study. As a student employed at Taylor Dining Hall, I am able to surround myself with great workers and such a warm atmosphere of students all of the time.

    Dorm Life

    It is common to feel nervous when living in a dorm because you have to share a small space with 1-3 other people. But when a person finds out who their roommate(s) are, they should contact them immediately and start talking to them, along with meeting people who live in their hall. I have made many incredible friends in my dorm and we were all able to connect even more through our Hall Council organization.

    Academic Rigor

    At Assumption College, teachers truly admire when students put much effort into their school work. They encourage students to email them, go to their office hours, and even go to the Academic Support Center with any academic help that they may need. If a student chooses to do these things, their academic experience at Assumption College will become more of a smooth task.

    Tips for prospective students

    The great thing about the size of Assumption College is that all of the main buildings are very close to ine another. With that being said, take advantage of going to the library to complete your studies. Also, venture to the dining hall in your free time so you are able to meet new people and have a great meal on top of it.

    In three sentences

    Assumption College is a small community filled with an exquisite faculty and hard-working students who are striving to prepare themselves for the future. The college is full of many activities that students enjoy taking part in which brings the college together. Assumption College is a terrific school because it is a place that every student could call their home.

  • 07/27/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 12 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    An amazingly safe school. Campus police does a great job. Plus, it's in a good part of Worcester, so it's safe as it is!

    Clubs and Activities

    Soooo many activities and clubs. Look into it while you're at the school!! They're all great!

    Great for these types of students

    Hard workers Athletes People who don't want a hardcore party school

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Duck Day! There's a pond in the front of the campus with ducks in it. Well, during the spring, the ducks are placed back into the pond, which (for some unknown reason) is a huge deal at our school.

    Bang for the buck

    After financial aid, I have a really good deal for going to this school. It is amazing and I love all my friends and every minute I'm there!! :)

    What to do for fun

    There is always Bingo throughout the year and there are also other fun activities that certain groups put on. Just get involved!! And you'll definitely have tons of fun.

    Food and Dining

    College food is college food. Let's get real here, none of is it amazing. The food is okay, but there are these bistros that the dining services do, which are absolutely amazing!! :)

    Dorm Life

    As I said earlier, all the people (including students) are nice. You will make friends in your dorm, which will make dorm life amazing!!!! If you're a partying person, then this probably isn't the place for you because there aren't many parties

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are very important at the school and teachers want you to do well and will try to help you. Try your best and use the Academic Support Center, office hours, etc.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go on a college visit! Take a tour! Stay overnight with a student and go to some classes with them! Definitely would recommend this school to anyone!

    In three sentences

    Assumption College is an amazing small school that has a bunch of majors for those who do or don't know what they want to do. Placed right outside of Worcester, Mass, students don't have to worry about inner city problems, but any store is within 5-10 minutes of the school. Most importantly though, everyone there is nice/kind -- professors, students, administrators, staff, coaches -- literally, everyone there is amazing!

  • 09/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 13 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Cops take their jobs way too seriously, Super into parking tickets for not enough parking spots. Carry guns.

    Clubs and Activities

    Very few options. Most groups are church related, no opposite side to the conservative spectrum.

    Bang for the buck

    Not better than any other college. Football players get full rides even though they fail their classes and our team sucks.

    What to do for fun

    Not much. Enclosed campus. Extremely tough on drinking.

    Food and Dining

    Food is pretty good, but vastly overpriced.

    Dorm Life

    Dorms are average, not many fun activities other than random short and unattended arts and crafts with religious overtone.

    Academic Rigor

    Some courses are harder than others, all teachers have mandatory office hours for assistance.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be conservative, catholic, and rich and you'll love it

    In three sentences

    Assumption College is a pretty good college, it has a very pretty campus and there are many inspiring teachers here. One downside is that it is extremely oriented towards religion and this permeates all aspects of the culture. No meat served on Fridays during lent, extremely harsh on gatherings, religion in non-religion courses. It doesn't have that fun college atmosphere where people discover themselves and push their personal boundaries. Very rich cliquey kid vibe, and a drastically higher percentage of girls.

  • 05/16/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 14 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    People who want a small school

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Duckday, Pupcup

    What to do for fun

    Go out in worcester

    Tips for prospective students

    Get involved

    In three sentences

    Asumption is a small and closely bound school. If you need help professors are always available. The academics are very good.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always police on campus 24/7. Assumption hires retired/younger actual police officers that have served in the worcester area or surrounding areas that are looking for a change. There is only one way on and off campus. This gate is guarded 24/7 as well. All guests must check-in. On the weekends there are a variety of students checking-in visitors (including students living elsewhere on campus or off) into dorm-halls. Overall the campus is a very safe place. Campus police also offer safe rides in case there seems to be a dangerous situation.

    Clubs and Activities

    A large portion of the community comes from campus recreation. There are regular sports and then there are recreational sports that are fun and only semi-competitive.

    Great for these types of students

    Serious about their education. One who wants to attend a great school but doesnt want the price-tag of WPI, etc...

    Bang for the buck

    Tutition is overpriced

    What to do for fun

    pretty much everything. downtown worcester isn't too far away

    Food and Dining

    A lot of variety but the same variety throughout the year.

    Dorm Life

    Very interactive depending on the RA in charge.

    Tips for prospective students

    Be prepared to study study study!

    In three sentences

    Assumption has created a great community for all attending students. The recreational opportunities are endless. The educational benefits are highly potential if taken advantage of.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Always campus police around.

    Greek Life

    none.

    Clubs and Activities

    Numerous options and you can create your own club if it doesn't already exist.

    Great for these types of students

    Friendly, outgoing, hardworking.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    We have duck day every year, where people dress up as ducks and watch them cross the pond in the spring time.

    Bang for the buck

    Great individual attention to each student. Small classes.

    What to do for fun

    Sports. Clubs. Volunteering.

    Food and Dining

    I really like the food at Assumption. There are two places you can go to eat. Taylor always has many options, as well as the main dish of the day. Charlies has many options as well and you can get things customized to your liking there.

    Dorm Life

    There are many options of places to live on campus, and you get rewarded based on how well you do academically as well.

    Academic Rigor

    For my major and concentration, Assumption provides a very rigorous program where I learn a lot but most complete a lot of work.

    Tips for prospective students

    You should get involved in many clubs on campus in order to meet new people and keep yourself busy. You should stay on top of your school work and not be afraid to use the Academic Support Center for help!

    In three sentences

    Assumption College has well-educated faculty members who genuinely care about their students. Assumption College provides a friendly enviornment for students. Assumption College has numerous extra-curriculatr activities in which to participate.

  • 07/12/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    VERY safe campus. Safest out of all of my friend's schools that I have attended

    Greek Life

    None, but at WPI there are frats which are very fun.

    Clubs and Activities

    TONS. Literally a club for every interest and tons of club/intramural sports.

    Bang for the buck

    So expensive, don't go here without a lot of financial aid or scholarships

    What to do for fun

    Parties, frats at WPI, shuttles to Holy Cross and other colleges, Worcester has a ton of stuff

    Food and Dining

    Fresh-soph year stinks, upperclassmen is awesome.

    Dorm Life

    A bit of a party school but most people do take grades seriously. Kind of crappy sophomore housing.

    Academic Rigor

    A good amount of work but worth it if you want to do well

    Tips for prospective students

    Apply early-decision to get the most financial aid

    In three sentences

    Assumption is a small school in Worcester. This is a college town so there is always stuff to do. The professors are helpful and the classes are challenging but worth the work.

  • 07/13/2012

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has been to campus.

    18 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Charlie's and Taylor are 2 dining options at Assumption College. They are both delicious!

    Dorm Life

    Make sure you bring shower shoes!

    Academic Rigor

    Be smart. Work comes before play.

  • 07/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    There are no sororities or fraternities on our campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Any student can fit in, and thrive in this college. Everyone gets along and there are never any problems.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is a yearly event called pup cup weekend where the entire campus gets together at Hagan Hall and there are events and a cook out.

    What to do for fun

    Anything that you may think of you can do. We have sporting events, hanging out with friends or RA's. Then there is plays, or even classes that you can attend for free or a slight fee.

    Tips for prospective students

    Learn your teachers and support systems. These people are very useful and are willing to help you anyway that you might need.

    In three sentences

    This college is for a student who wishes to feel comfortable at all times. While dealing with some strict rules while having a great time. With something for any student from theater to sports, and anywhere in between.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Assumption College has their own police. The campus police is always patrolling. We have a gate at the front of the school that checks every car before they drive onto campus.

    What to do for fun

    Assumption has many clubs for students to join. There is always an activity going on and entertainment every weekend. There is almost every sport available to play on a team.

    Food and Dining

    Assumption offers a wide variety of food. There are two dining halls with different food choices. There is even a Dunkin Donuts on campus!

    Dorm Life

    The dorm life is excellent. You meet amazing people and everyone is friendly and welcoming.

    Academic Rigor

    Stay on top of your work and don't fall behind.

    Tips for prospective students

    What advice I would give to prospective students would be to join clubs and participate in activities as a freshman.

    In three sentences

    Choosing to go to Assumption College was the best decision of my life. The campus is small and beautiful and the faculty is amazing. The campus life is fantastic and I wouldn't want to attend another school.

  • 07/19/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    This is a very safe and clean campus!

    Greek Life

    No greek life.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities on/off campus, every night of the week!

    Food and Dining

    There are two dining locations with many options.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are fun and a great way to study with classmate!

    Academic Rigor

    I feel challenged by nearly every professor, it is not easy to glide through classes without giving a lot of effort.

    Tips for prospective students

    Coming from a small high school, Assumption seemed like a second high school with similar sizing.

    In three sentences

    Assumption is a very small, community based college. Students have very close relationships with faculty. Due to close relationships, students have a sense of confidence when preparing for the post-graduation job field.

  • 07/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Great! This was one of the initial attractions (for my parents at least) to the campus. They have their own police force patrolling at all times. I feel very safe on campus, especially since we are kind of secluded and the only way on and off campus is through a guarded gate.

    Greek Life

    None.

    Clubs and Activities

    Hundreds of clubs, for whatever you can think of.

    Great for these types of students

    Need more academic attention from professors, love a small, tight-knit community, looking for a homey campus, want to be very involved on campus, religious students.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Duck day! We have a pond out in the very front of campus, and every spring one of the professors lets his ducks out loose into the pond. Everyone gathers around and watches--there is also a BBQ and free T-shirts! St. Patrick's Day is huge on campus, but with a large Catholic population, this should come as no surprise!

    Bang for the buck

    Give out great scholarships, making school there very affordable.

    What to do for fun

    Loads of clubs on campus. However, it is hard to get off campus as a freshman (not allowed to have cars, unless commuting). There are buses on the weekend, however, that are able to take you down to the city, where there's anything from movie theaters to Target to food places.

    Food and Dining

    Not bad, better than most that I have tried. Can get a little repetitive at times, though. They LOVE making fish, if that's your thing! They spice things up every now and then with themed dinners, which are fun.

    Dorm Life

    Amazing! Everyone gets very close. There are many room options, so you never feel like you, as a Freshman, are getting the bad rooms. The RA's try really hard to get everybody involved.

    Academic Rigor

    Not a very academically rigorous school for the overachiever. A best fit for the B/B+ student in high school, and the students who like or need personal interactions with professors.

    Tips for prospective students

    Don't be afraid to interview! The admissions officers love to meet you and it allows you to show off some of the things that you might not have been able to put in your application--like a great personality!

    In three sentences

    Assumption is a great campus, especially for a student looking for a smaller, friendlier community. Everyone is super nice, and the professors really go out of their way to help, especially with the smaller class sizes--a definite plus! I have been very happy here: highly recommended.

  • 07/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 33

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hanging out with other students is big on campus. Over 89% of the students live on campus, so spending time with each other and getting to know each other is an added bonus for students living on campus. I am an employee at our recreation center and enjoy going to the weight room everday where I meet people with the same interests; while sharing lifting tips and giving advice to others.

    Food and Dining

    Sodexo is our food caterers at Assumption College. On almost all special occasions and holidays the Sodexo staff dresses up as well as decorate the dining hall festively. I have made a lot of friends with the Sodexo staff because of my allergy to peanuts but they also understand my concern for the nutritional value in food.

    Dorm Life

    Monthly meetings are attended by every student initiated by their RA's. The meetings help bring together your fellow students in on your floor. Assumption is not a big campus at all so walking distance to any dorm building is not far.

    Academic Rigor

    Academically, Assumption is very thorough. A syllabus at the beginning of each semester is given in every class, explaining what each day will entail. Each teacher teaches with their own styles but also relates to students, so each student has the ability to do well and understand the material.

    Tips for prospective students

    Give Assumption a chance. Students will be able to balance the school work and also have a fulfilling social life. Every student will feel welcome by other students and faculty. Students are guaranteed to belong in a sport or a club that will make them feel welcome.

    In three sentences

    Assumption College provides students with the tools and skills for an independent and bright future. Classes are challenging but not intimidating because professors are always accessible to help. Assumption College is a small but comfortable community striving to make students reach their full potential.

  • 08/17/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    24 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Gated campus with great Campus Police to keep you safe.

    Great for these types of students

    Friendly, want a good teacher-student ratio and relationship, excited to learn and have fun.

    Bang for the buck

    It is an expensive school, but if you deserve scolarships, they wiol certainly give you them. They cut my tuition in half. It still may not be the easiest school to pay for- but the campus, opportunities, location--- it all makes it so worth it.

    What to do for fun

    The whole city of Worcester is in your back yard! 15 colleges. Sports, concerts, clubs, restaurants, shopping, community service- what else could you want?!

    Food and Dining

    great selection in a very nice dining hall. Charlie's and Dunks is great too!

    Dorm Life

    So many options for dorming and things to do with people!

    Academic Rigor

    In a good way! You get a great education without drowning in stress.

    Tips for prospective students

    Visit the campus, It will give you a great feel that you'll love. When you visit EVERYONE is so inviting and helpful. You;ll leave with a great feeling.

    In three sentences

    Assumption has a beautiful, friendly, campus. The people are so kind. It is

  • 09/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 25 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    None

    What to do for fun

    Activities every weekend, clubs, intramurals, sports

    In three sentences

    A friendly school with great professors. Love the food, sports complexes and people. Go hounds!

  • 12/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's very safe. We have campus officers at the door of the school who check people in and out, and I feel very safe at Assumption.

    Clubs and Activities

    Don't partcipate much on activities in school.

    Great for these types of students

    Study hard and have fun while learning.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Haven't seen anyting unusual. Again, I don't live in dorms so I don't know.

    Bang for the buck

    I am a very dedicated students. I worked very hard to be where I am today. I am from a very small country in Eastern Europe, from Kosovo to be exact, and to achieve and learn this much, it's a dream come true.

    What to do for fun

    Personally I like sports, soccer. I like hiking etc.

    Tips for prospective students

    Love what you do. Stay focused, and remember yourself that you're doing this for a better future.

    In three sentences

    Awesome school, awesome professors. I learn more and more every day.

  • 02/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    Its very easy to run out of money in a college campus. So its best that people get a work study job.

    What to do for fun

    There are many activities during the weekend. For example club charlies which a mock club for college students. There are also many clubs and activities you can be a part of.

    Food and Dining

    The food options are limited. The main dining hall has the same food but the other dining hall which has more of a fast food feel to it is better The only problem is that its not free.

    Dorm Life

    The dorms are very spacious. Only problem is some are located far away from the main dining hall.

    Academic Rigor

    Assumption College is academically challenging. There is a lot of reading involved.

    Tips for prospective students

    You must go out of your comfort zone when coming to college. Don't be afraid to take risks and challenge.

    In three sentences

    Assumption College is a very sociable and small campus. The faculty is willing to help there students and help them in whatever they need. It is located in a college oriented city.

  • 03/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    28 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Not awful but you can get sick of it.

    Dorm Life

    It is great !! Great dorms and RA's and fun events within dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    It isn't a joke school but you can maintain a good balance of friends, class, and fun.

    Tips for prospective students

    Take the Gen Eds seriously, or kill your GPA

    In three sentences

    Assumption College is great. It is a small enough school to not feel lost in class. Great relationships can be made between students and teachers and it is a good quality education.

  • 06/10/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    29 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There is plenty to do at Assumption. A lot of activities, both indoor and outdoor!

    Great for these types of students

    Great for everyone. Assumption is a very well-rounded school, and there is a lot of diversity.

    Bang for the buck

    Assumption is a bit pricey.

    Food and Dining

    The food is excellent! There are two areas to eat.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life is nice. Comfortable and there is enough room.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study hard! It will certainly pay off.

    In three sentences

    Assumption College is worth the money. It gives you a strong background in academics as well as enough extra-curricular activities to keep you busy. It is a great, well-rounded school.

  • 07/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    30 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus Police does its job well and if call they'll be there.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a great deal of clubs here but I wish they had a cooking club. There are also a ton intramurals and club sports, not to mention a series of one day activities. Every student should definitely get involved in some type of activity.

    What to do for fun

    Go out, meet people, try new things explore your interests, party on & off campus, and have upperclassmen connections.

    Food and Dining

    Taylor Dining Hall, can't say it without laughing a little bit. Taylor's food is good until you get used to it and that happens at every school. If you do switch it up, eat from deli, grab a burger, just eat where you typically haven't. Charlie's is good too, but remember that it does cost money.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life depends on the people your with and Assumption can't do much about who's in your pod, floor, building, and room because people are people. The dorm rooms do run small for, freshmen at least, and with that be grateful and be friendly.

    Academic Rigor

    You'll be challenged but not overwhelmed, unless of course you procrastinate (like me). If you need any assistance go to the library and set up a meeting with someone who's been where you are, contact your teachers, there are tons of ways to get help.

    In three sentences

    You'll get a great education here. Be positive and out going and others will follow. Go to pup cup.

  • 08/14/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    31 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus police are some of the few on any college campus in the country that have an actual gun. If something bad happens they're always there to help.

    Greek Life

    There is no Greek life.

    Clubs and Activities

    There's over 60 clubs and it's easy to make one of your own. We just started a martial arts club recently too.

    Great for these types of students

    It's great for people who like sports, and partying. But it's also good for quiet smart kids who want to get a good experience with their schooling.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The Valley is where all the sports seniors live and is the biggest party area on campus. However, most parties are broken up by 9pm because of how hectic they get. Every year in April before finals we have something called 'Pup Cup' where freshmen and sophomores compete in sports to see which class is better. Plus there's a mini carnival during the day and good food.

    Bang for the buck

    It's expensive but worth it. I would've never survived at a state university. Assumption is small and cozy but just big enough to get away from the people you don't want to see. The professors are a saving grace there, they're awesome.

    What to do for fun

    I run the Art club at Assumption as well as infrequently attend Philosophy club. Residential life puts on monthly programs on a Saturday night and the Campus Activity Board plus SGA put on things nearly every weekend.

    Food and Dining

    It gets better every year but as a first year you will get sick eating the food no matter how strong of a stomach you have.

    Dorm Life

    I'm a resident assistant for the residence halls, we do our best to make sure everyone's comfortable. Residential life tries to keep everyone happy with their situation and will help you find roommates if your last one(s) didn't work out.

    Academic Rigor

    The school is easy enough for people with higher grade point averages like 3.3 up and a real challenge for those in the 2.0 range.

    Tips for prospective students

    The school is very party oriented on the weekends, if you don't want to party you should request to live on the Hill. The Hill is the quietest place on campus. You should also always ask the professor for help when you need it and tell them when you'll be absent they'll help you out the best they can and sympathize.

    In three sentences

    Too religious despite their downplayed advertisements. Great professors who want to help you. Besides the religion aspect the school is really nice.

  • 12/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    32 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Clubs and Activities

    There are many activities to join on campus from campus ministry to intramural sports and club sports to choir and band and much more. Everyone finds an activity that they love to do.

    What to do for fun

    There is many activities to do on the weekend and always something to do.

    Food and Dining

    The food is alright. This is expected because it is college food.

    Dorm Life

    There is a great sense of community in the dorm.

    Academic Rigor

    The academics are rigorous, which is expected for college. The professors are willing to help in the classes they teach. There are many ways to get help for a class too, like the academic support center.

    In three sentences

    Assumption College is a wonderful place to be, where a person can grow as an individual. There is a great sense of community, and everyone is welcoming. The academics are rigorous, but there are many activities and clubs to do on the weekend and weekdays to relax.

  • 01/10/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    33 of 33

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There is never a moment I feel unsafe on campus. It is well lit with only one entrance/exit, the Blue Light System, and a highly trained campus police team.

    Clubs and Activities

    So many options. There literally is something for everyone.

    Great for these types of students

    Anyone interested in a smaller school with a close-knit group of students where the professors are interested in the student as a person.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Duck Day....don't ask, you'll love it.

    Bang for the buck

    Compared to other schools in the area, $47,000 a year is not too bad. Financial Aid is so generous and everyone I have talked to is paying about half for tuition. That being so, the college has a beautiful updated state-of-the-art science center, a new Campus Ministry Center, new computer labs, and updated technology in every classroom. Also, we get free unlimited printing, free laundry, and free transportation throughout Worcester, along with a free gym membership.

    Food and Dining

    The food is really good. I am really picky so its surprising that I am saying that. There always is something for everyone and the Kitchen Staff is eager to make you something you'll enjoy.

    Dorm Life

    I love living in the dorms at Assumption. I had a bad roommate situation at the beginning of the year (we requested each other over the summer) and my RA and RD were so helpful and got me to a new room with a roommate that is awesome.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are so challenging but you are always engaged and the professors really take an interest in you as a person and what your interests and goals are.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look at this school, tour the campus, and go for open houses and accepted students days-they really shed light on how great the school is.

    In three sentences

    Assumption is a beautiful school with a close-knit community of students. The classes are challenging but interesting and you are never considered a number. The school offers something for everyone.