Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Athens State University Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 04/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 1 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has a great security office where all of the campus security staff is very helpful when dealing with new students and helping them find their way around campus.

    Greek Life

    I know that there are some greek clubs on campus. However, I have never been part of one. Some day I would like to be more involved with school clubs but right now while I am living so far away from campus I am just focusing on my studies.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are different clubs to choose from on campus and even tough I have not been a student long enough or live nearby to join any right now, i fully intend to in the near future. I personally would love to see Athens State University have an ASL club for students such as myself who want to learn American Sign Language.

    Great for these types of students

    The Bear Cave is best for students who are interested in participating in various campus clubs as well as just taking a break from classes, exams, homework, and just take a book and simply sit and read.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I would not call it unusual but one of the local hang out spots on campus in in the student center in the commons room called The Bear Cave. It's where club meetings for the SGA are held as well as there is a foosball table, pool table, a large flat screen tv, a coffee shop, and plenty of seating for students to get together and communicate.

    Bang for the buck

    The school itself is great and I highly recommend to anyone thinking of transferring to go to Athens State University. The classrooms are a good size and have state of the art technologies with innovating teaching styles from the professors which make the learning environment fun and interesting.

    What to do for fun

    At the moment I do not live in Athens. However, so far when I have visited Athens I found there are some of my favorite places to shop and dine out at. I hope to experience more of what Athens has to offer.

    Food and Dining

    I have not had the experience in eating in the dining hall at the school but have walked by numerous times on my way to class or to take exams on campus and the food smelled great.

    Dorm Life

    Athens State University does not provide on campus dorms; which for students like myself who live over an hour away and have to make nearly a 120 mile round trip to and from the school is very inconvenient. I have waited to transfer to a University that has dorms for a while in order to fully experience the college life.

    Academic Rigor

    I have been excelling as best as I can as a student at Athens State University. All of my classes are interesting and challenging at the same time. I have enjoyed getting to know my professors and being apart of their curriculum.

    Tips for prospective students

    One thing I would tell new students transferring to Athens State University is make friends with time management. As hard as it is to be a full time college student, it is even harder when you are taking a full time class load with assignments due every week at specific times and days.

    In three sentences

    The school has history and character. The town of Athens is charming and has a very small crime rate. Athens State University has wonderful faculty and staff that go above and beyond to meet the needs of it's students.

  • 05/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Fiddler's convention takes place every October.

    What to do for fun

    The square has local amusement.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you have your credits in order to transfer.

    In three sentences

    ASU has a friendly staff. The campus is large and welcoming. The have a great selection of curriculum.

  • 06/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Excellent security on site.

    Great for these types of students

    Transfering from a two year community college Athens is right for you It has that atmosphere at a university level.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Has the oldest building on campus(historical)

    What to do for fun

    school clubs and organizations.

    Food and Dining

    Lots of places in the area to dine at fast food restaurants and down home cooking.

    Tips for prospective students

    Talk with your advisor they are excellent and well informed

    In three sentences

    Athens is a great school.It has excellent instructors who are actually concerned about your education. Friendly staff and high tech education

  • 07/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 11

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Read

    Food and Dining

    Excellent

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms. I live off campus. It is easy access.

    Academic Rigor

    Its tough but rewarding. The teachers really make things challenging. The text books are easy to dispell.

    Tips for prospective students

    You have to study hard. You must make a connection with the teachers. You must be on time.

    In three sentences

    Athens State is rated high on my charts. It provides a college atmosphere second to none. They also make school accessible for me seeing as how I am handicap.

  • 07/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    have never heard anything bad

    Clubs and Activities

    there are plenty but I do not live close enough to attend

    Great for these types of students

    distant learning students

    Bang for the buck

    it is expensive but there are many ways to get financial help

    What to do for fun

    there are always activities that are posted

    Food and Dining

    do not attend campus classes

    Dorm Life

    I do not stay in a dorm

    Academic Rigor

    It is hard but not so hard it can not be done. The instructors are very helpful.

    Tips for prospective students

    look for and talk to advisers. They are there to help and they help making the right choices easier.

    In three sentences

    I like ASU very much. This school has been very good to me. I only have two classes left at Athens and one class at WCCS Selma to graduate. ASU has worked well with me.

  • 08/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    does not apply to me

    Dorm Life

    does not apply to me

    Academic Rigor

    I love it

    Tips for prospective students

    I would just apply you will get all the help needed.

    In three sentences

    It is a wonderful school. It is an easy transition from a community college. The teachers are awsome!

  • 12/02/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I read the safety statistics before I finished enrollment. Although I cannot remember the exact statistics, the campus was rated very safe.

    Bang for the buck

    Athens is a very highly recommended school. Many of my high school teachers obtained their degrees from Athens.

    Food and Dining

    There is a coffee shop in the student center. I have only went there once, but my coffee was delicious. Also, it was not too expensive.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you talk to your advisor and know what you need to do to get the degree you are seeking.

    In three sentences

    Athens State is a very professional college located in the historic district of Athens, Alabama. The atmosphere there is comfortable, and the teachers are well educated. I feel like I will have learned a whole lot at the end of my two years there.

  • 03/29/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's a very quiet campus with great security.

    Greek Life

    There aren't sororities or fraternities.

    Clubs and Activities

    There aren't a ton of clubs and activities, but there are good ones if you want to be really active. For example, the Athenian Ambassadors are always active and are currently hosting Zumba on campus once a week.

    Great for these types of students

    Because most of the classes are either offered online or only meet once a week, it's great for working students and students from far away.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    The oldest tree in Alabama is on campus.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is very low compared to other upper level institutions, and you get a great education out of it.

    What to do for fun

    It's a small college town, so there isn't much to do. There are Frisbee golf sites around campus, though.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria is not open very long, and there are only a few things offered every day. The coffee shop is great, though.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms at ASU.

    Academic Rigor

    The courses are quality and in-depth. The teachers are knowledgeable and really care about the kind of education that is being offered. The classes aren't always the easiest classes, but they are very informative and prepare you for your career.

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure to sign up for the scholarships early.

    In three sentences

    ASU is a quality university. The teachers are very knowledgeable and passionate about their subjects. The schedule and availability of distance learning courses make it easy for anyone to attend.

  • 05/17/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Since I am enrolled as a distance learning student, I am unable to comment on this request.

    Greek Life

    Since I am enrolled as a distance learning student, I am unable to comment on this request.

    Clubs and Activities

    Since I am enrolled as a distance learning student, I am unable to comment on this request.

    Great for these types of students

    ASU is great for students like me who are possibly parents, working full time and trying to complete their degree.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Since I am enrolled as a distance learning student, I am unable to comment on this request.

    Bang for the buck

    I definitely feel that I am getting my bang for the buck through the classes that I'm taking at ASU. The rates are reasonable, the online training portal is very user-friendly and the staff are always very helpful.

    What to do for fun

    I do not live near the campus so I am unable to comment on what to do for fun.

    Food and Dining

    I do not live near the campus so I am unable to comment on food and dining options.

    Dorm Life

    I do not live on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Currently, I am enrolled in the ASU distance learning program. I've found that the online classes are just as (if not more) challenging than the face-to-face classroom offerings. The assignments require students to provide technical and practical fundamentals when working towards a solution.

    Tips for prospective students

    I would recommend finding out who your advisor is and making a point to introduce yourself and speak with them on a routine basis. Your advisor can help to make the entire academic process smoother by providing you with suggestions, advice, fielding questions and much more.

    In three sentences

    This university is great for working parents pursuing and/or completing their degree through distance learning. ASU has always provided me with fast and efficient service when I've needed assistance. The tuition rates as ASU are very reasonable compared to that of other similar institutions in Alabama.

  • 10/21/2011

    Reviewer is Researching this school. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    10 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    This is the hard one. what you LEARN is worth a large fortune - what you PAY is an entirely different matter.......

    Will enjoy being here

    ..........Also, it has a magnificent campus.

    Will learn a lot

    Based on the studies and research I have conducted, Athens state is an excellent school for learning, and has numerous well - educated professors.

  • 11/08/2011

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 11

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    nontraditional students, those pursuing a bachelors degree, those to whom a small and personable school appeals

    Tips for prospective students

    If you take online courses, but sure to utilize the supplemental materials the teachers provide - videos, power points, etc.

    Bang for the buck

    Definitely! The cost is only $153 per semester hour! I feel like I am getting more than my money's worth.

    Am enjoying being here

    I am taking online courses but it has been very enjoyable. I have been able to visit the campus and it's beautiful.

    Am learning a lot

    The information in the classes I'm taking have been integrated so learning is reinforced.