Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Student Reviews

Athens Technical College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 02/05/2010

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Adult learners. And lots of health care jobs.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go to class and do your reading/ homework!

    Bang for the buck

    There are no federal student loans but the pell grant and hope scholarship but these don't help me. I need more federal aid!

    Am enjoying being here

    The campus is small and easy to get around.

    Am learning a lot

    I feel the professors are highly knowledgeable about the subjects they are teaching and always willing to talk after class or meet for office hours to help with concerns about the class. A great tutoring program too.

  • 03/01/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 2 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    there is no cafeteria at the athens campus how ever there are plenty of restaurants that you can reach in less than a minute around the campus.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    athens technical college is thorough with the material you learn. i love that they are firm believers in learning through hands-on experience as well as standard read and write methods

    Tips for prospective students

    humility is what you need to see the gold when you check out athens technical college. the fact of the matter is that athens technical does not have all the fancy bells and whistles that a traditional college shoots to advertise to you to get you to attend. what athens technical college has is the priceless experienced instructors that have been where you want to go and can give you awesome advise. you are the one that has to make an effort, like you should out of humility, to ask them what you would like to find out.

    In three sentences

    i love athens technical college because of the individual attention that i receive from all of the instructors. the instructors consistently make an effort to help you understand what you are dealing with and how you will come across a certain situation in the particular field that you are studying. the best part of it all is that they are constantly updating job posts in the local area for you to apply for.

  • 05/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 3 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is safe and secure with officers available if needed.

    Great for these types of students

    New graduates, people returning to school, and transfer students.

    Bang for the buck

    The fee schedule is lower a and many of the classes at Athens Tech transfer to other colleges.

    Food and Dining

    There is an on campus coffee shop.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms available.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes are small so there is plenty of help if you are struggling.

    Tips for prospective students

    Attend a Tech on Tuesday event, it is informative and if you apply that day they waive the applications fee.

    In three sentences

    Athens Tech offers a large variety of classes and degrees. The class sizes are small and the Professors are helpful. The college is well situated in Athens and offers additional satellite campuses.

  • 06/01/2011

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    0 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Will learn a lot

    Make good grades!!!!

  • 01/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    5 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    none

    Great for these types of students

    don't want to travel far

    What to do for fun

    they have some interesting classes sometimes that are fun

    Food and Dining

    they have a jittery joes but that's it.

    Dorm Life

    no dorms

    Academic Rigor

    some classes are really hard and others are really easy

    Tips for prospective students

    don't just rely on athens tech to get things done, do it yourself.

    In three sentences

    an okay school for starting out. wish they would make things seem more like any other college. easy campus to figure out

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    6 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Great for non traditional students, as there are no dorms, and very flexible class hours.

    Bang for the buck

    I feel like education is expensive, but well worth it.

    Food and Dining

    Only has a Jittery Joes.

    Tips for prospective students

    It's a great school, and I would definitely check them out.

    In three sentences

    The advisement offices are nice, and the people are helpful. Financial Aid has been a little less than helpful. The classes themselves have been challenging.

  • 06/20/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    7 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Tips for prospective students

    Fill out a FAFSA application.

    In three sentences

    The teachers are excellent. The class sizes are small. The teachers love to assist us students.

  • 07/04/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    8 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    They have security all over the place and they have numbers posted everywhere if you need security.

    Clubs and Activities

    They have several great clubs

    Great for these types of students

    Older students

    What to do for fun

    They have many activities going on on campus all the time.

    Food and Dining

    Not much at the school but great resturants in the area.

    Dorm Life

    Not offered

    Academic Rigor

    Very rigorous

    Tips for prospective students

    Take time to study and be willing to participate in class and ask questions.

    In three sentences

    So far the school is exceptional with great professors and very helpful advisors.

  • 07/18/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    9 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus if very safe. It is small, so you will same some of the same people daily. There are campus police on patrol too.

    Great for these types of students

    Students that are going back to school after a number of years. Single mothers and/or fathers. Students getting core classes done before transferring. Student staying at home or alone and want to save money.

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition is very cost effective. If you plan to save money while working on a degree, this is the place to go.

    What to do for fun

    There are a lot on organizations to join at ATC. There are student council, dance team, and choir; just to name a few. There are always options to start a new organization too.

    Food and Dining

    The is not a cafeteria on campus but there is a cafe shop located on campus. They sell a variety of cold sandwiches, chips, coffee and etc. However, there is a McDonald's, Zaxby's and Burger King in walking distance.

    Dorm Life

    There aren't any on campus dorms. There are apartments around the area. There are cost effective and are close to the school. There are bus transportation also.

    Academic Rigor

    Classes at ATC are challenge. Like any other technical college or university, the staff's goal is to prepare student for their major and the workforce. There is also free tutoring offer in every subject.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective student should apply early as possible. They should also calculate the cost of tuition and books before applying. Students should reach academic requirements for their desire major before choosing.

    In three sentences

    Athens Technical College has been very helpful and efficient for me. The campus is small, making the student to teacher ratio great. I can always reach someone in administration, registration, etc to answer any question that I might have.

  • 08/09/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    10 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Notifications about weather and such get sent to the email, in the event of something drastic.

    Great for these types of students

    Ones that want accociates degrees.

    Food and Dining

    Food is alright. Dining is very quite.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    In the classes, you need to actually put forth some effort to pass.

    In three sentences

    The financial aid department is a bit difficult to get straightned out. Most of the teachers are amazing. The president of the college, Mrs. Tidings, is extreamly helpful.

  • 08/13/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    11 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe and secure

    Clubs and Activities

    Delta Epsilon Chi

    Great for these types of students

    This is great if you have a life outside of school, or children.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    Building B

    Bang for the buck

    This school costs less than other schools in the area

    What to do for fun

    Go to the park Go to the movies

    Food and Dining

    Mexican American

    Dorm Life

    None

    Academic Rigor

    It is expected that you maintain a 3.0 as most students are funded by Hope, Pell, or self pay.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask alot of questions Have all of your transcripts Be honest and open about your career choices

    In three sentences

    Great opportunity to get a degree in less time. Recently got AHIMA certified and improving. Excellent tutoring program available for students.

  • 08/29/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    They have little festivities every now and then.

    Food and Dining

    There are a few restaurants close by.

    Dorm Life

    There is none.

    Academic Rigor

    Study and strive for all A's. Not hard.

    Tips for prospective students

    Look for your books at another book store before purchasing all of the required books at the ATC book store. It could save you alot of money. Also, strive for all A's.

    In three sentences

    The school offers hands on experience within programs. There is free tutoring if a student needs help. You are more likely to get a job after you finished just because you finished and passed your program at Athens Tech.

  • 11/05/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    I haven't had any problems with safety yet and I have been at Athens Tech for over a year now.

    Great for these types of students

    Great for students in all areas of Georgia because they offer satelite campuses.

    Bang for the buck

    They are reasonable for tuition/fees.

    What to do for fun

    Mingle and meet other students.

    Food and Dining

    They offer some snacks in the bookstore as well as have a pizza place on campus.

    Dorm Life

    I live off campus

    Academic Rigor

    Everything is being offered online and a classroom setting.

    Tips for prospective students

    Ask as many questions so you fully understand what is expected (financially, as well as for your courses).

    In three sentences

    Excellent staff. Good prices. Poor communication.

  • 11/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    You can be involve of clubs

    Tips for prospective students

    They have Fafsa so you can have ways to help pay your intuition.

    In three sentences

    Athens Tech helps me understand what my teachers is saying in my classes by giving me a note taker and having a tape recorder too. I can fast forward and rewind back what my instructor is saying.

  • 12/15/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    there are security people constantly seen all the time walking all over campus.

    Greek Life

    there are none.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are alot of clubs on campus.

    Great for these types of students

    people who dont want to travel far, adults, freshman, there are people of many ethnicities and ages attending here.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there are many places to study and often empty classrooms are used by students also.

    Bang for the buck

    scholarships help alot but most people get pell and hope grant.

    What to do for fun

    there are clubs to join. they have a nice library. the foxs den is open most of the time and they serve coffee.

    Food and Dining

    mcdonalds, burger king, the foxs den, subway, and zaxbys are nearby resturaunts. there are several snack machines and drink machine on campus also.

    Dorm Life

    there are no Dorms. there are houses and apartments for rent nearby.

    Academic Rigor

    do your work and you will often do well in the classes. Many staff will provide extra help and extra study time.

    Tips for prospective students

    choose your major ahead of time. majors can always be changed later. Be early for classes because there aren'tmany parking spaces.

    In three sentences

    It is clean and nice. It has very nice andd helpfull staff. Very good Programs.

  • 01/01/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    16 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    I don't know on this one. I work full time while going to school so I didn't get involved with any of the student organizations.

    Food and Dining

    There is only one place that sells food on campus unless you use the vending machines. They do not provide microwaves so that you can heat up your own food. There are a few places to eat within a block of campus though.

    Dorm Life

    This is not applicable for me since I lived in my own home and Athens Technical College is only a 2 year college and does not offer Dorm living.

    Tips for prospective students

    Always stay in constant contact with your instructors. They realize that life gets in the way sometimes and most of them are willing to work with you if you are unable to attend class for whatever reason. Never be afraid to ask your adviser to substitute classes when needed. I was unable to go into the degree program when I ran out of classes to take for the diploma program. My core classes didn't match up but my adviser understood my circumstances and allowed me to sign up for the math and english classes that were required for the degree program instead of the diploma program.

    In three sentences

    My adviser has been awesome and so have the instructors. I will be graduating this May and have applied to attend Piedmont College here in Athens. I feel fully prepared for the upcoming change.

  • 02/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Athens Tech has a good security everywhere in campus such as parking lot, inside each building. There are also many camera in some location at campus.

    Greek Life

    There are many students come from another state and other country studying at Athens Tech.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are a lot of club and activities in Athens Tech such as International Club with an International Festival.

    Great for these types of students

    For students who want to save money the first two years in college, and also for students who like some major such as radiology, nursing, etc. However, Athens Tech is also a good decision for anybody who want to come back to school after a long time out of school in order to enjoy learning what they want.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is an Academic Support and Tutoring at campus where very student like to have a help.

    Bang for the buck

    Financial Aid at Athens Tech always available to help students.

    What to do for fun

    Student will have a lot of fun in class. There are also some activities about culture, health program in Athens tech that student can enjoy into. Furthermore, students can participate in some club that they are interesting in.

    Food and Dining

    There are coffee, chip, some kinds of breakfast food in the cafeteria.

    Dorm Life

    There is not Dorm in campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Every lessons are very exactitude, and student will understand easily, logically through instructor's help. There is also an advance for student to have a small class rather than a big class as in University with at least a hundred students, so students have an opportunity to have question about the lesson and ask instructor about what they do not understand.

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students, there are several opportunities for student to enjoy studying in Athens Tech. Student will have classes with very nice instructors at Athens Teach who are always ready to help very student. Moreover, There are many services, tutors, and studying group that help students with their work. Athens Tech also helps you to find a good job after graduate if you doing well at school.

    In three sentences

    As a senior year in High School, there are many students who do not have any idea about what college will they apply. Most of people say that University is a best choice helping them to have a good future; however, Technical College is also a good place where we can save money for first two year to study some general education class, and those who want to have an associate degree in radiography, nursing, etc. There is a good decision to choose Athens Technical College as a step for you get a good future.

  • 03/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Campus safety is good. They have security guards on all campuses.

    Clubs and Activities

    There is different clubs depending on your likeness.

    Great for these types of students

    This college is great for students that want to better themselves. Good for full-time or part-time workers, or anything that falls in between.

    Bang for the buck

    Classes may cheap or expensive depending on your financial obligations. But unlike big universities you have the small classes.

    What to do for fun

    Make sure to attend the various activities around the campus that they hold at different times of the year. Good time and a great way to meet new people.

    Food and Dining

    Small coffee shop on the main campus, but that is it.

    Dorm Life

    There is no dorms on this campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on your program of study you may have a lot of classes that need to be taken or just a few. For most classes studying is essential!

    Tips for prospective students

    Make sure you utilize the tutor center, do your homework and ask plenty of questions. Most classes are small and there is time for one on one with the teacher.

    In three sentences

    This campus is built around those students who need to go to school as well as holding a part-time to full-time job. The teachers are wonderful and very willing to help as much as possible. Most classes are offered and various campuses and at various times of the day.

  • 03/21/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    So far I have gotten very far with the classes I have master this far. Looking forward to the many more to become a RN.

    Food and Dining

    Haven't ate at the cafe yet but hear its really great!

    Dorm Life

    Don't live in Dorm

    Tips for prospective students

    study, stay focused, get to know your teacher, ask questions and join study groups!!

    In three sentences

    A little confusing at first since its been a bit since I was in school. Lots of determined counselors to help get you on your way. Dedicated to the well being of all their students.

  • 04/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    I have not eaten campus food but so far, I've heard the food is divine!

    Dorm Life

    I am not an on campus student, I have a place of my own 40 miles away from the college.

    Academic Rigor

    Grades are earned! So to be successful you must take the time to study and apply what you've learned to quiz and exams. It will show!

    In three sentences

    I am a newly registered-transfer student at Athens Technical College. So far, going through the Admissions process has been very easy. I completed an online orientation, passed the required final assessment, and am now awaiting Advisement Day!

  • 05/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 27

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Not much to do for fun...

    Food and Dining

    There is no cafeteria...

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorm...

    Tips for prospective students

    Be very disciplined!

    In three sentences

    Athens Technical College is a great school. The classes are small and intimate. Also, the staff is very helpful and informative.

  • 05/28/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The safety on campus is awesome, small college town, I have not had any bad experience there yet, with crime, I think that it is a safe campus. 5 stars!!

    Greek Life

    I do not think they have Greek life,,,,

    Clubs and Activities

    Social Work Assistant Association, I am a member of that, as I continue to go to ATC, I will get involved with more activities. 4 stars

    Great for these types of students

    All types of student, students just getting out of high school, and if you are 16 or older, you can take college classes there also, But as a misplace worker, the older students Athens Technical college has something for all ages. No matter what age you are , you are never too young or old to learn!!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There is Spring Fling, Different groups to belong to, and they offer work study jobs on the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    If you go to Athens Technical College and receive your degree form there, you will find a good job, because ATC will help you to get a job, and sometimes where you do your internship you may get offered that job!! 5 stars

    What to do for fun

    I like to read, go to movies, dining out and having fun.

    Food and Dining

    Athens Technical College has different foods you can eat, located in the Student Center. 3 stars

    Dorm Life

    You will have to live off campus, if you attend Athens Technical College, the college does not have on site dorms, but there are a lot of different places for students to live in Athens, GA. 0

    Academic Rigor

    Athens Technical College requires a lot of hard work and studying, it is just as good as a Four year College, and you will learn so much, it is a great starting place for a student that wants to get a great job and you will know what you are doing when you graduate from Athens Technical College!!

    Tips for prospective students

    Athens Technical College is a accredited school, and you will always get a great job, if you graduate from Athens Technical College. If you work hard, and get good grades you will get a better job!!

    In three sentences

    Athens Technical College is a great school. It has so many different majors to receive there now; and Athens Technical College offers free tutoring and the teachers will always be there to help you!

  • 06/03/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    23 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Public safety is a bit of a joke. They really need a real law enforcement officer to watch the campus.

    Great for these types of students

    Working students. Students who need to get a fresh start in another academic field.

    Bang for the buck

    Depends on the program you focus on. If you're paying your own way through nursing it'll hurt trying to pass a single class 3 or 4 times. Again, though, other classes like Phlebotomy are set up perfectly and you'll be on your way to certification in no time.

    What to do for fun

    Go see Athens. It's two minutes away.

    Food and Dining

    Basic lunch room fare. Not the highest quality ever, a little on the pricey side, but okay if you're in a pinch and starving. The credit card machines for the drink vending machines don't work with debit cards.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms. This is a technical college.

    Academic Rigor

    If you pay attention, come to class on time, and ask questions when you need help you will be rewarded with great grades.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not go to Athens Tech for the nursing program. Their testing system is one of the most backwards things I have ever seen. One person makes up the final exams for all teachers in all nursing classes and will not tell those teachers what is going to be covered on the final. Hence, if you've spent an entire semester under the guidance of one teacher you may have missed giant portions of information necessary to pass the final because your teacher did not know that they needed to cover that particular area. Many students take Pre-nursing courses 4-5 times before passing well enough to move on to the nursing program. Come here for other technical degrees like Phlebotomy, which is under a different program and testing style than nursing.

    In three sentences

    Ineffecient Nursing program. Perfect Phlebotomy program. Lots of difficulty testing out of unnecessary classes.

  • 07/31/2013

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    24 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very, very low crime rate. I read most of our reports are due to people smoking cigarettes in the parking lot.

    Greek Life

    There is at least one sorority/faternaty at ATC. I can not remember the name of it!

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am really not to sure about traditions but orientation day is always worth it! It is very informative and they serve pizza! =P

    Bang for the buck

    ATC is a great choice for getting a degree especially if you qualify for HOPE or PELL. I was able to attend ATC without paying a dime, besides for some books.

    What to do for fun

    Upon attending ATC you get a student email. Usually once a month ATC would send out an events calendar for things to do around or for campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food and dining were great! I you were in-between classes the dining area was in the middle of campus. It was a great way to get work done and enjoy a Chi tea latte!

    Dorm Life

    I find it hard to rate dorm life because there are no dorms at ATC. There are, however, many places to live near the school and it is not very expensive.

    Academic Rigor

    Some class are less strenuous then others. It all seemed to matter if the teacher cared about teaching their subject matter or not. The teachers who seemed to care had better attitudes and made their class more interesting then a teacher who did not care as much. The teachers who did not seem interested in what they were doing had boring, harder classes.

    Tips for prospective students

    Get as much help as you need. Attending the FREE tutoring sessions, availability in the library, and/or talking with a financial aid officer really helps. The schools hours help a lot with those of who need to work during the day. There are classes available multiple times a day.

    In three sentences

    ATC has an interesting staff. Some are there because they have to be and just want you to move on to ask someone else questions. Then you luck out and have very charismatic staff members who want to help.

  • 11/25/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    25 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    It's pretty good so far. Can't complain.

    Clubs and Activities

    Awesome! there are so many great clubs to choose from and there is always something going on.

    Great for these types of students

    Athens Tech is great for Students that work and have families.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    There are not any.

    What to do for fun

    Spring fling, and join student organizations.

    Food and Dining

    Not much of anything to choose from.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms available.

    Academic Rigor

    The classes are pretty good and very flexible.

    Tips for prospective students

    Work hard, pay attention and most of all enjoy yourselves.

    In three sentences

    I would give Athens Technical College 4 stars. Athens Tech is a great school with flexible class scheduling. Athens Tech is very accommodating to people with diverse backgrounds.

  • 02/20/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    26 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    Very safe! Lots of security, rent-a-cops, and local police force strolling through

    Greek Life

    None

    Clubs and Activities

    Loads of things to get involved in!

    Great for these types of students

    Any type of student belongs at Athens Tech!

    Bang for the buck

    Great education, low prices. They get you with the occasional overly priced book.

    What to do for fun

    The purpose of Athens Tech is to continue your education without all the fuss. There are plenty of clubs and organizations to get involved in. The college is located just a couple of short minutes from downtown Athens, home of UGA, where you will find plenty of fun!

    Food and Dining

    There are plenty of vending machines and an okay low key coffee joint.

    Dorm Life

    No dorm life. Lots of local student apartments.

    Academic Rigor

    Teachers are excellent at providing creative and challenging assignments that become more of an experience.

    Tips for prospective students

    APPLY EARLY FOR EVERYTHING!! It feels wonderful to have it out of the way, plus it gives the staff plenty of time to accurately process your requests.

    In three sentences

    Athens Tech is always extremely attentive to every student's situation. Athens Tech has wonderful, experienced advisers and counselors. Athens Tech really needs more parking.

  • 04/16/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    27 of 27

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Fast food places around, but none on campus.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms.

    Tips for prospective students

    Go after what you want, and do not quit.

    In three sentences

    I am pleased with the Medical Assisting program. I am pleased with the new adviser over the Practical Nursing program. I am not pleased with the lack of communication some advisers have with students who need help.