Dismiss notification

Interested in this school?

Please type at least the first 4 letters of the school name.

Atlanta Metropolitan State College Reviews

Check out reviews left by other students or leave your own review. You could win a free scholarship.

  • 02/23/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 1 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    it is impossible to go five steps without seeing security. there is a guard everywhere and you cannot move around campus without your school id to show that you are apart of the college. this keeps the undesirables out for the most part, but, like every school out there, not all of them can be kept from coming onto the campus.

    Clubs and Activities

    there are all kinds of clubs that can be joined while there and each one is always looking for new members. and if there isn't a club there you would like to join, the school is very open to the prospect of a new club.

    Great for these types of students

    science and math majors, also a great school for anyone just starting out going to college. its a good starting point, because it is cheap and easy to get into (for now anyways).

    Bang for the buck

    it all depends on the teachers and the classes. i know i had trouble with one of my classes and its still kind of rocky when it comes to organization in the classroom.

    In three sentences

    nice school very organized and helpful whenever needed. growing and expanding campus as i type this, because it has just become a four year college for science and math. in the metro atlanta area and easily transported to through bus services

  • 02/24/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 2 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Bang for the buck

    the school is under construction right , an is being turned into a four year school , and will be offering more majors and classes . they also are adding an remodeling buildings .

    What to do for fun

    the basketball games , and joining a club.

    Food and Dining

    the food is alright , they need more variety.

    Dorm Life

    there are no dorms . but i wish they did , but i think they are planning to build some in the near future .

    Academic Rigor

    the academics is they have a academic center where you can go for extra help in any subject. they aslo offer free classes to help you adjust to college life .

    Tips for prospective students

    i would advise to do early registration , because if you wait to late you will be stuck with a bad school schedule . get in good with your advisor and teachers because they are really helpful if you use them.

    In three sentences

    atlanta metropolitan college is a good school to attend to help you prepare for a four year . i really enjoy some of the teachers because they care and they do not mind you coming to their office hours to ask for extra help.

  • 08/25/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    2 out of 2 people found this review useful. 3 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    the food is nothing to complain about its even at good prices as well.

    Dorm Life

    Metro does not have dorms at the point. They are building more buildings to expand the campus

    Academic Rigor

    the academic rigor is not that bad. everyone is pretty good with following the rules. i personally do not have a problem with following rules because at the end of the day thats how everything stay in tack.

    Tips for prospective students

    Come into the school with an open mind giving there techniques a chance because it is different from other universities but i promise you wont regret it once you have taken the courses you need.

    In three sentences

    I think Metro is an AWESOME school. I thought because I was enrolling to a 2 year school that it would be pointless. On a scale from 1 to 10 I give Metro an 8. My friends that went off to 4 year school and now considering coming to Metro because believe it or not there teaches are way ahead of what they are learning.

  • 03/07/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 4 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Dorm Life

    there are no student dorms. i think there's only something there for the basketball players.

    Tips for prospective students

    right now this college is just a two year college and it's meant to prepare you for a four year college or university. it's relatively an easy way to get your core classes out of the way and get directly into the stuff you want to get into.

    In three sentences

    it's easy to pay for if you have pell grant. the classes are easy if you choose your teachers wisely. if you don't have transportation to the school, there's a marta bus that takes you straight there.

  • 03/22/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 5 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go home. There's a REC center with pool tables, I guess you could go in there and shoot some pool. I just go home.

    Food and Dining

    I love the food. Most of the time. They have a wide variety. Salads, fruit, burgers, wraps, chicken, you name it, they can probably make it.

    Dorm Life

    There are NO dorms. So if you plan on moving out, yeah, that's not going to happen unless you move somewhere in Atlanta.

    Academic Rigor

    Some professors don't teach all that well. Some. A lot of them do. Just prepare yourself for DIFFERENT teaching styles.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you do go to Atlanta Metropolitan College make sure you have a purpose. It's not a hang out spot, it's not for fun, actually go there and do the work. Use your time wisely.

    In three sentences

    Atlanta Metropolitan College is full of drama. The workers at this school are unreliable. Atlanta Metropolitan College is affordable but definitely not the place for me. Don't let what I say influence you to maybe miss out on an oppurtunity of a lifetime. Remember, this is a review which means that I am entitled to my personal opinion.

  • 03/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 6 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    4 stars. Available 24/7.

    Greek Life

    small groups.

    Clubs and Activities

    Phi Theta Kappa, Dance, Basketball, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    AMC offers personal trainers.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none available.

    Bang for the buck

    4 star for residential students.

    What to do for fun

    AMC is a small college so not much to do. If available join clubs or sports.

    Food and Dining

    4 star. I love soul food Wednesdays.

    Dorm Life

    none available.

    Academic Rigor

    4 star.

    Tips for prospective students

    AMC parking is not the best so get there early or take MARTA. Study, study, and when your done study some more! Take your education serious and never be afraid to ask for assistance.

    In three sentences

    AMC has been a good experience so far for me. I graduate Summer 2012. I mostly appreciate the help/understanding from the professors.

  • 04/03/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 7 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    There are always campus security patrolling at all times on foot, car, and bike.

    Clubs and Activities

    Psychology club, book club, dance, cheer leading, basketball, etc.

    Great for these types of students

    Students with jobs or kids, or other side priorities.

    Bang for the buck

    The teachers are very helping. Even if in reality they don't care about you, they act as if they do. They answer all questions to the best of their ability, stay at school after their hours to work with you, use via email and phone wisely.

    What to do for fun

    For fun Atlanta Metropolitan provides sports teams like any other school. Every other week or so there are different little festivities to engage in, such as talent shows, Opera's, etc.

    Tips for prospective students

    For prospective students i would recommend that you get all yours application pieces in before the deadline, because they have a lot of last minutes that are trying to get in. Also, register for classes ahead of time.

    In three sentences

    Atlanta Metropolitan, overall, is a good school. It is not a very big school, which is nice and very good because the teachers don't have 100 students plus per class to deal with, and you can get a hold of them. It helps every one in every way possible.

  • 07/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 8 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus is very safe. Security is always visible all around campus. I have never seen any disturbances.

    Clubs and Activities

    There are honor clubs and sports. I am a member of Phi Theta Kappa Honors Society.

    Great for these types of students

    Students who want a great school schedule and a variety of classes.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I am unaware of any unusual traditions and locations on the campus.

    Bang for the buck

    The tuition is very affordable.

    What to do for fun

    There are always activities at the school so read boards, websites, and posting that will be located all around the school.

    Food and Dining

    The cafeteria food is pretty good.

    Dorm Life

    There is no housing on campus.

    Academic Rigor

    Many of the classes can be very challenging; therefore, study...study...study!

    Tips for prospective students

    Communicate with the students and faculty to find answers to any questions you may have. Make sure to have all financial responsibilities taken care of prior to the first day of class. Make sure not to take class that is irrelevant to your major.

    In three sentences

    Atlanta Metropolitan State College is a great school because of the flexibility of the classes for the students. This college is expanding and now offers four year degrees. It is a great college to attend if you work and have a family. I love my school!

  • 08/21/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 9 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    When it comes to campus safety,there are absolutely no worries.There are securities and and police officers all day long on and around campus.Even if you visit there as late as 11pm, you will see an office.

    Clubs and Activities

    Atlanta Metro has lots of interesting clubs and activities for students.There are couple of them I will really join as soon as I'm tuition stress free.

    What to do for fun

    Another thing I love about Atlanta Metro and every other student will also like is the Game room.There's a nice game room where students can be entertained with different games and musics.

    Food and Dining

    Oh yes,this is one of my favorite things about Atlanta Metro.The food is well prepared.Atlanta Metro has very good food and a nice and clean environment to enjoy meals.

    Dorm Life

    Well,I have not live on the dorm but I know some friends that live there and they like being there.Even though some of my friends said there's curfew ,but it's a place to be.

    Academic Rigor

    Atlanta Metropolitan college,academics come first before every other follows.The entir Administration is very strict when it comes to academics at Metro college.

    Tips for prospective students

    Atlanta Metropolitan State college is one of the best choices any college freshman will make to begin their educational journey in the life.Beginning at Atlanta Metropolitan State college is a decision that a freshmen will never regret.

    In three sentences

    Atlanta Metropolitan State college has a very beautiful campus. Atlanta Metro provides a conducive learning atmosphere for It's students. Atlanta Metro's faculties and staffs are very coorporitive and interested in their students academic success.

  • 09/11/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 10 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Greek Life

    i wouldnt know

    Clubs and Activities

    they have them here. i dont attend any

    Great for these types of students

    low income not sure of what you want to do with your life

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    there are no dorms here

    Bang for the buck

    great to start college as a freshman

    What to do for fun

    socialize or join a club

    Tips for prospective students

    register for classes early

    In three sentences

    amc is a great college to attend. i would recommend student to attend this school if they are having financial problems. the classes fit my schedule

  • 10/20/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review useful. 11 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Students are encouraged to become involved in campus activities by joining a club or organization or by attending a seminar, program, show, or other campus activity. The school has a very good girl and boy basketball team, and is now considering to get a football team. Everything is to be considered during the course of the school's transition.

    Food and Dining

    The school is still in transition. It will be a while before the quality of the food and dinning to be upgraded. They still came a long way. The cafeteria has been remodeled but I believe it sill needs more improvement. It does have enough room for the students to eat. Nothing fancy.

    Dorm Life

    Unfortunately, the school does not offer housing.

    Academic Rigor

    In my eyes, the campus is a safe zone. The universe that surrounds this place is very comforting for you have very intelligent and nice students, staff, and faculty. The teachers are realistic and very understanding and the students are following the rules and very intuitive as well, so most can adapt even if you may expect a different result. Of course there will be a few misunderstandings.....but that's all they are....misunderstandings. By far I like this school.

    Tips for prospective students

    BE INNOVATIVE! AMSC has just received their accreditation for STATE. This means the beginning of a new era. Why not help it along the journey? Every college needs leaders. The best place to start is at AMSC. Spread your feathers and flop until you are flying. STUDY! STUDY! STUDY! It is imperative that students study more often than they attend to their hobbies. Yes, this school does offer more interaction with the teachers individually, but students should also put in the effort. The teachers are friendly, but will help students realize their potential, whether they like it, or not. The student must first WANT to learn, and enjoy it. BE YOURSELF! The last thing that any teacher would want to happen to their students is that the students become uncomfortable. The student must be an individual and not try to be anyone else. If anything, better! They should find out what they like and seek advice from their teachers, advisers, and colleagues that have been there the longest. It is good to be involved and getting along.

    In three sentences

    I give the school an A- for students who are going to college for the first time. It is the best place to start before choosing to go to the prospective 4-year institution, and it is a high transferable school, which is very good for transfer students. Here at AMSC students can have the advantage of small classes, receive one-on-one help from teachers individually, and also be able to have a flexible class schedule (Day, afternoon, and evening classes; weekdays, and weekends).

  • 06/28/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    12 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Hang out with friends on campus.

    Food and Dining

    The food is Southern style and is very good.

    Dorm Life

    We have no dorms.

    Academic Rigor

    Academic courses are very rigorous.

    Tips for prospective students

    Submit all of your required information on time. Register for classes that you only need. Only apply for financial aid that you need.

    In three sentences

    The professors welcome their students to their office. The college campus is nice. The president has an open door policy.

  • 12/14/2012

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    13 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are different clubs at the school depending what your interests are.

    Food and Dining

    The food is pretty good if your not used to home cooked food. but you will need to add your own seasoning for taste.

    Dorm Life

    They do not have dorms because the campus is not big enough for it.

    Academic Rigor

    Depending on what your major is you would have to determine if its a good school for you.

    Tips for prospective students

    If you want a school where you don't want to travel so far this is the school for you. Or if you just want to get through your first two years of college and don't want to spend much then this is a good fit.

    In three sentences

    It is an all-around good school, for just about anyone to attend. Whether they are a traditional, non-traditional, or transfer student. As well as being a school that is easy access to.

  • 01/04/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    14 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Food and Dining

    Cafeteria food is expensive

    Academic Rigor

    Small classes are the best.

    Tips for prospective students

    Please read reviews for Professor

    In three sentences

    Atlanta Metropolitan State College has an affordable tuition for students who want to pursue their Associate degree. The staff at AMSC is unorganized when it comes to processing paperwork.

  • 01/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    15 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    The campus has full security and police officers. It is very safe and secure!

    Greek Life

    Im not aware of the Greek life yet either.

    Clubs and Activities

    I havent been involved in any of the clubs or activies yet, so Im not 100% sure yet.

    Great for these types of students

    This school is great for students who have been out of school and now know what they really want to go to school for.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    As of yet I havent come across any unusal traditons. The campus is not to large, so everything is within walking distance.

    Bang for the buck

    I believe that Its great that AMSC offers Hybrid classes and select online clases, so if you work full time or you have other things going on the school is very flexable in helping you still acheieve your goals despite any set backs.

    What to do for fun

    For fun there is a student activity board that always post new activities to do and be involved with.

    Food and Dining

    The food is ok. It could be healthier but it is readily available to everyone

    Dorm Life

    I dont stay in the dorms at AMC

    Academic Rigor

    Most teachers are flexable and willing to work with you. They are extremely helpful and attempt to help you as much as they possibly can. So even in the toughest of classes there is help available. The Rigor comes from the amount of classes you have and your focus towards your studies.

    Tips for prospective students

    I recommand that every student attend orientation. Orientation helps you start off your year balanced. It gives you structure and a standard to stick by. I also advise students to complete all fafsa and financial aid as early as possible. It helps students to be able to focus on they're studies rather than any financial issues that can become frustrating.

    In three sentences

    Atlanta Metropolitan is the school of Redemption. It gives student from any age, race, and background to come and make their dreams com true. It offers balance, while pushing students to their fullest potential.

  • 06/08/2013

    Reviewer is Accepted here and planning to attend soon. Reviewer has not been to campus.

    16 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    very safety

    Greek Life

    a small frat somewhere... nobody really knows about them because they don't do much.

    Clubs and Activities

    Theatre department.

    Great for these types of students

    Take the opportunity to utilize this resource close to home.

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    nope

    Bang for the buck

    nope

    What to do for fun

    just hang out with friends -- go over to their dorms, maybe play some video games, hang out at the on-campus pool hall, go to a fun school event if there's one going on (like a swing dance or a movie night). Just figure out what you enjoy doing.. and do it. That's about all there is to it.

    Food and Dining

    Campus dining rankings based on student ratings of dining halls, variety, and quality of food.

    Dorm Life

    Dorm life at college can be exhilarating, and it can be exasperating. Most of the time, though, it�s somewhere in between. You get the picture. Dorms are sort of a benign boot camp for young, idealistic freshmen. Every year, all across America, millions of strangers are asked to share their lives and living habits for nine months during a year of stress and adventure. �Almost sounds like a recruiting ad for the Navy, doesn�t it?

    Academic Rigor

    Rigor is pushing yourself beyond what is easy. We push ourselves beyond our individual limits in order to get better at something. No, that is not a brilliant definition, but I think it's worth explaining this clearly and often to our students. Sports, reading, math, anger management, dieting -- to make progress in anything there has to be an element of rigor. Plain and simple.

    Tips for prospective students

    1.Recognize the environment -This is often difficult to do depending on your background. If you grew up in a city or attended a large high school, this will likely be easier than it will be for students with different experiences. 2. Adjust to the changes in the academic requirements

    In three sentences

    I like this school. It will help me to become what i want to be in future.

  • 08/07/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    17 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    There are quite a few organizations to take part of on campus.

    Food and Dining

    There are a few vending machines. Take food with you or learn your way around for fast food.

    Dorm Life

    The are no dorms at Atlanta Metropolitan College.

    Academic Rigor

    Keep up with your assignments. Most professors will not continually remind you that you have something due. The mini-mesters are a bit more challenging. Classes that only last eight weeks move very quickly, If you miss a day or two you may fail.

    Tips for prospective students

    Prospective students should make sure they have all their documents such as immunization records and transcripts.Pack your patience. During peak times the lines are long in the financial aid, admissions and registrars office. Register for classes as so as possible. Classes fill up quickly, especially online.

    In three sentences

    Enrolling is a fairly easy process as long as you can provide all the documents the admissions department needs. The different departments need to do a better job of coordinating information. The best feature of AMSC are the online classes which are inexpensive, easy to access and a great way to go to school if you work full time and have a family.

  • 08/13/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    18 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    I found myself working out at the gym on campus before attending class its a nice stress reliever when school becomes uneasy for me.

    What to do for fun

    what I like to do for fun is anything athletic as well as new and healthy.

    Food and Dining

    the food to be interest, but I much rather come in with my own lunch.

    Dorm Life

    the school has not been able to provide dorms at the moment.

    Tips for prospective students

    for potential students try to remember no one else will sit in class for so everything you decide to do will reflect on Your Grades so you think responsibly at all times.

    In three sentences

    Atlanta Metropolitan College has the potential to be a great school, but like everything else everything has a starting point. for me the college feels more like a high school despite the school becoming a four year college.

  • 09/11/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    19 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    Go to the workout room or game room

    Food and Dining

    Havent tried it yet.

    Dorm Life

    No dorms

    In three sentences

    Its very affordable, diverse, and cool

  • 09/24/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    20 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    The student center is new, big and nice! The game room is fine, but it could be better. There needs to be a tv or radio in the game room for students.

    Food and Dining

    I have not experienced food in the cafeteria as I bring lunch from home, but I have heard good things about the food; and from what I see the good looks appetizing.

    Academic Rigor

    I am a science major at AMSC and the courses seem to be on the same level as any other college. It all depends on the professor you get. Of course some professors are easier than others, but for the most part the academic rigorous is fine.

    Tips for prospective students

    Any tips I would give to a future student would be to get your financial aid done on time and do not wait for financial aid to clear to get supplies for school. Especially if you are not expecting to get supplies and textbooks outside of the book store. Another tip would be to register early for classes and be sure to print your schedule once you have registered because they are know on for dropping classes due to a glitch in the system.

    In three sentences

    Atlanta Metropolitan is growing into bigger and better things. They have a lot to learn as a new state school and need to re-staff some of their financial aid as well as their admissions staff. I would give this school a 7 out of 10. That is because I am noticing good changes happening to this school during the two years I have been their.

  • 12/09/2013

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    21 of 23

    Categories Comments
    What to do for fun

    School related clubs and organizations of all sorts!

    Food and Dining

    The food is good, well prepared and served.

    Dorm Life

    There are no current dormitory.

    Academic Rigor

    All credits are transferrable and you get a full understanding of the course.

    Tips for prospective students

    Study and do not get distracted. The better you do the quicker you get things done.

    In three sentences

    To begin with, Atlanta Metropolitan College is an extremely affordable institution. This college is the best to start off and transition from high school to a four-year university. You will love the new atmosphere from recent upgrades and the professors work with you as much as they can!

  • 03/18/2014

    Reviewer is A current student here.

    22 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Campus Safety

    police patrol parking lots and halls frequently

    Greek Life

    none

    Clubs and Activities

    Various science and business clubs for your intended major

    Great for these types of students

    Great for nontraditional students who need classes for evening or weekends

    Share any unusual traditions or locations on campus

    none

    Bang for the buck

    Tuition and fees are very cheap

    What to do for fun

    Join clubs or go to the basketball games. This campus has weekly activities for various student.

    Food and Dining

    There is not a lot of variety on the food, and the cafe closes a bit early

    Dorm Life

    This college does not have any dorms to offer as of yet

    Academic Rigor

    Small lecture settings for a more one on one focus with students

    Tips for prospective students

    Time management is the key to success! Be prepared for every exam and assignment! Please keep in mind, every grade counts towards your degree.

    In three sentences

    Vibrant learning environment

  • 08/04/2014

    Reviewer is A past student here.

    23 of 23

    Categories Comments
    Great for these types of students

    Hoodlums

    Bang for the buck

    Very cheap but now that they are a new 4 year school they are going up in price.

    Food and Dining

    Food is okay . sometimes very dry. The school is trying to bring variety.

    Dorm Life

    There are no dorms and the area is horrible.

    Academic Rigor

    Academics are ok.

    Tips for prospective students

    Do not get consumed by this type of environment.

    In three sentences

    The staff is very rude and inconsiderate. The students are very wild and out of control. The summer time is when everything is fairly calm. I started off at this college in 2011. The school is not in a good area either. Many of the students are prostitutes or want to be thugs. Very few of the professors are excellent teachers.